5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

v5.0 - The OFFICIAL 3G/5G Honda City 2009 thread, The EXCITEMENT in the CITY never SLEEPS!

jytanx
post Nov 16 2009, 11:43 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(sysh @ Nov 16 2009, 10:15 PM)
Can, everybody's welcomed smile.gif actually what I meant was previous and current (old and new) City owners are welcomed to join. Just a night to yumcha and chit-chat
Good to hear =) Own a City '07 model. 4G if I'm not wrong right?
jytanx
post Nov 26 2009, 07:46 PM

176 posts

Normally when I drive and need a sudden pick up, will use the 7 speed mode and lower a gear. But recently I try playing with the S mode instead, and whenever I wan to overtake, I change to S mode and amazingly the effect is almost as good. Will it harm the car by any chance?
jytanx
post Nov 27 2009, 01:30 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Nov 26 2009, 11:33 PM)
No. Not at any chance. It's designed to be use like that. It wont cause any damages on your car, if it does. You can sue Honda @ anytime.. Btw, why didn't post @ midnight club recently?
The post u replied yesterday was the only time I came online recently. And wanted an quick answer on my driving technique. Will take a break from studying at midnight later. Waiting to see the TT pictures. Enjoy, pal. tongue.gif

Added on November 27, 2009, 1:31 pm
QUOTE(sysh @ Nov 27 2009, 04:06 AM)
Yup, more or less smile.gif I did that once, maybe 1/2 way after E. Even doing so I still had 4 litres in my reserve tank.

Mokhzaini: I woul need to check tml with my car

jytanx: u driving a 4G? Cos I see the 7 speed in your post. Shouldn't be a problem switching, not that I know it was a problem smile.gif
Yes. A 4G indeed. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by jytanx: Nov 27 2009, 01:31 PM
jytanx
post Nov 28 2009, 12:28 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(de.crystal @ Nov 27 2009, 11:02 PM)
when u changed it to S. do u play with the gear i.e. peddle swift? or just push to S and press the accelerator?
push to s and press the accelerator? made any difference if i play with the paddle shift? enlighten me?
jytanx
post Nov 28 2009, 01:48 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(mokhzaini @ Nov 28 2009, 01:35 AM)
if lets say at stand still and u changed to S WITHOUT first engaging the paddle shifter, yes it will auto shift for u. but only until the third gear. i know its kinda confusing but believe me, in S mode, the difference in pick up and 'beaufitul sound' are very significant, compared to D mode.

so what we do or most of us do is that, after u change it to S, engage the paddle shifter. u can do this by clicking the (-), left paddle with ur finger. this, will sort of activate the paddle and u are ready to manualised ur auto after that. i click the (-) because if u click the other one (+), then it move the gear to the second gear. imagine the car getting off the way from standstill in SECOND GEAR  hmm.gif  in manual cars oso i dont do that!
hey! i truly understand everything u said except this part.

i click the (-) because if u click the other one (+), then it move the gear to the second gear. imagine the car getting off the way from standstill in SECOND GEAR hmm.gif in manual cars oso i dont do that!

But what I was saying is while overtaking car. Means I don't start the car at the 2nd gear. I just OVERTAKE by engaging the S mode without playing with the paddle shift.

Are u saying that :

1. S mode will automatically reduce ur gear to the 3rd eventhough ur at the 7th gear?
2. there's 2 side of (-) and (+). no matter which side (left/right) i press the (-) and (+), it's the same right?
3. Can u tell me at what speed do I need to change from 1st to 2nd to 3rd..............and lastly 7th? Cause I once press the 7 speed mode without pressing the (-) and (+)... means semi auto. and see how the system change the gear for me. it's confusing. mind teaching?

by the way, in D mode I can manipulize my gear a well. don't need to go S mode too. I'm blur now.

This post has been edited by jytanx: Nov 28 2009, 01:49 AM
jytanx
post Nov 28 2009, 06:29 PM

176 posts

So what's the best way to need a sudden boost in overtaking for a 4G?

1. activate manual mode in D mode.
2. activate manual mode in S mode.
3. just engage in S mode without paddle shifter

how come i wouldnt wan to trash 4G like 5G? mind for some explanation?
jytanx
post Jan 11 2010, 12:35 AM

176 posts

sifu-sifu,

they said that vTEC engine are for hard revving. Is it true? What's the logic behind it? (ignoring the fuel consumption issue of course). As long as we dont rev till the redline, it's fine right? cause vTEC are suitable for hard revving.

Advance thanks for clarifying.
jytanx
post Jan 12 2010, 07:30 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Jan 11 2010, 07:43 PM)
DOHC VTEC are suitable for high revving.
How do you know if ur engine is DOHC, btw? Mine is a 4.5G City. High revving range is till 6000RPM?
jytanx
post Feb 18 2010, 11:03 PM

176 posts

Was cruising around NPE just now and spotted a Mini Cooper S if I'm not mistaken. Mini Cooper is a 1.3 turbo right? How come HC can't beat it in terms of acceleration and top speed? Any enlightenment, please? Details.

Both Honda City only managed to reach a top speed of 150kmph due to the traffic.
jytanx
post Feb 19 2010, 12:00 PM

176 posts

@aarex Oops. Wrong information. Haha! Sorry about that. What seems to be main factor that make this 2 car so different? Because it's turbo charged? Turbo charged ise useless in terms of high end torque or low end torque? Kinda blur about the whole turbo concept even after reading from some googled article.

@kenji thanks, mate. read it and learn something from it smile.gif
jytanx
post Feb 23 2010, 07:57 PM

176 posts

Am going to get a NHC S Spec. Although the Paddle Shift in the E Spec is really something worth drooling for, unfortunately the ''bank'' turn me down. Sigh. cry.gif
Anyone here owned a S spec City? Heard that in the S spec, they have this ''D3'' to compensates the paddle shift. s D3 efficient so far?
jytanx
post Feb 25 2010, 10:27 AM

176 posts

What are the freebies that I can asked from my SA? (the previous city I bought, didn't ask for any freebies at all). Gonna place my booking within this 2 weeks.
jytanx
post Feb 25 2010, 10:40 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(barney @ Feb 25 2010, 10:33 AM)
Those Honda merchandise like the foldable seat, unbrella, key chain those thing. You can try and dig deeper into the SA pocket if you're feeling lucky that day!
Got a couple of key chain as I owned a 4G City. Now getting a NHC. City family smile.gif Might try getting a full tank of petrol. What about tint voucher, voucher to tint ur ride in Honda or outside?
jytanx
post Feb 27 2010, 03:20 PM

176 posts

Negotiated with my SA this morning.

Got a RM500 discount, RM1900 v-Kool (original price was RM2.6k)(RM700 subsidized), Auto-car lock worth RM200. Good deal?
jytanx
post Feb 27 2010, 11:10 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(JasonKing @ Feb 27 2010, 05:54 PM)
hmm the auto car lock does not void warranty???
Technically, no. as long as you have the prove that Honda fix it for you.
Just like tinted v-kool. if something is wrong with your windscreen (damaged), warranty does not cover if you do the tinting outside.
jytanx
post Feb 28 2010, 01:37 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(MoNnY @ Feb 28 2010, 10:02 AM)
nice deal. any idea how long is delivery time?
April like the others. To be exact, everyone will be getting on mid April (unless ur SA super efficient la).
Anyone have any idea how much V-Kool Elite cost outside? Honda doing mine at RM1.9k. Dunno if i should do it with honda or outside.
jytanx
post Feb 28 2010, 08:49 PM

176 posts

OMG! All of you are getting E spec. Sigh. I'm getting S spec instead. Will be getting my car on April. Polish metal smile.gif
jytanx
post Mar 2 2010, 08:15 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(MoNnY @ Mar 2 2010, 12:34 PM)
i agree with the first sentence. the one where you won't get used to the conventional gearbox

I like CVT. i like the smoothness and the way you can rev it. but, and this is a very big but, nothing beats the pull of a conventional gearbox. cause when u change gears, you drop back into the torque band and you feel the surge. IMHO CVT is not so good for spirited driving la
I agree. Listening to the conventional gearbox types of revving really is fun. I drove a 4G city and am placing my booking on the NHC tomorrow. I was SO happy when I noticed about the changed of gearbox. 2 thumbs up.

Added on March 2, 2010, 8:29 pmBtw, just asking before getting the car. What's the proper way of breaking in a new car? There's 2 saying. Trash it after the 1st service, another saying is trash in before the 1st service. Sifu help?

This post has been edited by jytanx: Mar 2 2010, 08:29 PM
jytanx
post Mar 3 2010, 08:44 PM

176 posts

Anyone know the max % of tinted JPJ allows? 50% I heard?

Wonder if I should tint it 50% since they dropped it from 60% to 50% last year. Maybe next year only 40% then I'll be in deep trouble.
jytanx
post Mar 3 2010, 09:25 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Mar 3 2010, 09:04 PM)
yes
front and rear is 70% and side is 50% i think.
Anyone care to justify this?

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0446sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:32 AM