HLB Credit card"Guaranteed Gift Program" CHEATING, HLB credit card cheating

TSjovin
post Nov 15 2009, 07:59 PM, updated 17y ago

39 posts

HLB credit card organized a programme for only invited credit card holders its so call "GUARANTEED GIFT PROGRAMME" was not guaranteed with any gifts . Really feel cheated by HLB, please read details below.

It have very attractive prizes including:

first 10 fastest SMS'er- 1set 42"Philips LCD TV
first 100 fastest SMS'er-1set Philips Portable DVD

I felt cheated by HLB bcos they stated "guaranteed gifts" meaning prizes was guaranteed for us. They use to invited selected card holder to join this prg, u have to swap at least RM1500 within that month and u can claim the gift.They need us to SMS and reg. first b4 u sent in the 2nd SMS. I do the first SMS to join and when I fulfill my RM1500 swap, on the first day to be the first fastest 10 SMS'er I sent in my SMS to 36600 on 12.01am on the 1st (date), my message was succesfully send out. 10minutes later, I received a SMS reply from 36600 (HLB SMS) mentioned this service are not available by HLB SMS service provider,so what the hell are going on???I send another SMS, few minutes later 36600 also returned that this service are not available.
I write and called to log complain with HLB. Their customer service which return a call few days later with a very root sound...and said this is your HP provider MAXIS problem, what the hell are HLB trying to push their problem to my SMS Networker MAXIS ???

OK then have I asked my HP provider to investigate it...below are the report.

MAXIS detailed investigation report
--- On Mon, 4/13/09, Customer Service wrote:
From: Customer Service Subject: Fault/Netwrk Trouble - SMSTo: xxx@yahoo.comDate: Monday, April 13, 2009, 9:45 PM

Dear Mr. xxx,

Thank you for contacting Maxis.

We appreciate the time you have taken in writing to us concerning the SMS confirmation issue. We have done a detailed investigation and found that the two SMS sent from the mobile number 601243xxxxx to the short code 36600 have been successful.

The record of transaction from our system as per below:

6012431xxxx 36600 171 01.04.2009 00.11.14 01.04.2009 00.11.14 M Delivered (4)
6012431xxxx 36600 171 01.04.2009 00.00.57 01.04.2009 00.00.57 M Delivered (4)

On this note, we would like to clarify that there is no SMS network disruption for the above duration.

Mr. Teh, hope the above has served to clarify your concerns. Rest assured, our customers have always been the focal point of our business. If we can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us at 1800 821 123 from your Maxis Mobile.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,
Lukman Abdil Hakam bin Hazman
Customer Relations Unit
Customer Operations

BUT THE PROBLEM IS HLB STILL ADMIT IT AND KEPT WHAT THEY SAID BEFORE, YOUR HP NETWORK PROBLEM!!!
I even complain to BANK NEGARA, but also tarak guna...cant help at all!!
I hope any Lawyer or whoever can HELP ME...thanks!!!

This post has been edited by jovin: Nov 15 2009, 08:02 PM
tgeoklin
post Nov 16 2009, 08:20 AM

1,230 posts

If i am not mistaken, the service is run by an independent provider such as Gold IS or equivalent. Problem is their server are not able to cope with such load. SCB used to run such a program and the same issues were encountered but they were at least able to resolve it with the service providers. Plus unless you write in to the Senior Mgt at HLB, the ignorant CSO will just be giving you the runabout tongue.gif
cic.lemur
post Nov 16 2009, 10:17 AM

376 posts

I had issues with HLB when applying for house load as well, they are not beneath being dishonest with you as long as they get your business.

I'm never going to deal with them again, even when they give me free stuff, I said I don't want.
Juggernout
post Nov 16 2009, 10:24 AM

61 posts

hlb such a big company cheating
this should be taken an action
santaclaus
post Nov 16 2009, 11:47 AM

310 posts

to my experience . HLB is a "kiasi" n "kiam" bank lo ... look at their cc benefits usually one of the worst u can get ...

even on BNM policies , if the policy lower their revenue , HLB is the last to implement ( usually when almost due date set by BNM ) ... if the policy benefit HLB , they r very efficient

i canceled everything at HLB from cc to CA juz bcoz their service n benefit sucks ... i remember they got complain thru BNM when they printed a misleading brochure stating home loan + saving gain certain interest ( they din include the terms + conds and their sales doesnt bother to explain ) so when someone kena , HLB oso kena liao

Their share margin services oso once kena boycott by most remisier n lastly kena warning from BNM coz they put out a list on which company shares r not elligible for their loan ... its illegal to do so ...
MilesAndMore
post Nov 16 2009, 01:25 PM

9,301 posts

Public Bank please swallow Hong Leong Bank ALIVE !!!! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Nov 16 2009, 01:25 PM
jphlau
post Nov 16 2009, 01:37 PM

1,202 posts

Public bank would not want a third grade company which will downgrade their reputation.
MilesAndMore
post Nov 16 2009, 05:29 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(jphlau @ Nov 16 2009, 01:37 PM)
Public bank would not want a third grade company which will downgrade their reputation.
nod.gif laugh.gif There is a rumor they might takeover Bank of East Asia. Bank of East Asia is Hong Kong's third largest bank. Feel sorry for those at Bank of East Asia if it happens doh.gif

winner
post Nov 16 2009, 05:37 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(santaclaus @ Nov 16 2009, 11:47 AM)
to my experience . HLB is a "kiasi" n "kiam" bank lo ... look at their cc benefits usually one of the worst u can get ...
To me, I feel that HLB is a loan shark who always misleads innocent people by giving unrealistic information such as personal loan over TV and newspapers. Its hidden T&Cs for home loan are one of the most stringent and cunning in town.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 16 2009, 01:25 PM)
Public Bank please swallow Hong Leong Bank ALIVE !!!!  laugh.gif
I don't think so, at least in near future. In fact, there are rumours that HLB is proposing to take over Affin Bank.
MilesAndMore
post Nov 16 2009, 06:58 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Nov 16 2009, 05:37 PM)
I don't think so, at least in near future. In fact, there are rumours that HLB is proposing to take over Affin Bank.
That is just a dream of my own. Public Bank has said it over and over again that they are focusing on organic growth for domestic market as well as overseas expansion. So taking over another banking group in Malaysia in kind of not in the book but i still hope someday somehow they will reconsider this decision as there aren't many choices anymore. Right now the options are only either Hong Leong Bank, EON Bank or Alliance Bank as all other banking groups are off-limits to them smile.gif

The rumors of Hong Leong Bank taking over only started circulating when Guoco Group upped their shares in Bank of East Asia last week and Bank of East Asia is holding 20.5% stakes in Affin Bank. The take over of Affin Bank is only likely to happen should Guoco Group decides to buy over Bank of East Asia. This is because Guoco Group, which is related to Hong Leong Group are only allowed to control one bank in Malaysia.

I personally however, do not think this will happen mainly because Affin Bank is a Bumiputra controlled bank. We all know what kind of government we have. Therefore i don't think the government will allow it. The take over of either EON Bank or Alliance Bank are more likely as both banks are Chinese majority controlled banks.

If miracle does exist and Hong Leong Bank is allowed to take over Affin Bank. Then they would be couple made in heaven as both are equally sorry banks laugh.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Nov 16 2009, 10:13 PM
bingozero
post Nov 16 2009, 09:44 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

Perhaps you can make a police report, since the bank didn't settle the problem for you?
ETEAM TRADING
post Nov 17 2009, 09:52 AM

1,246 posts

ambank also got tis type of programs... can send got replied..
the thing is, u really can win the stuff or not, nobody knows.. coz at the same time i think got a lot of ppl do so..LOL

This post has been edited by ETEAM TRADING: Nov 17 2009, 09:55 AM
ahnien
post Nov 17 2009, 01:02 PM

PanDA Enthusiast
2,308 posts

QUOTE(santaclaus @ Nov 16 2009, 11:47 AM)

even on BNM policies , if the policy lower their revenue , HLB is the last to implement ( usually when almost due date set by BNM ) ... if the policy benefit HLB , they r very efficient

i canceled everything at HLB from cc to CA juz bcoz their service n benefit sucks ... i remember they got complain thru BNM when they printed a misleading brochure stating home loan + saving gain certain interest ( they din include the terms + conds and their sales doesnt bother to explain ) so when someone kena , HLB oso kena liao

Their share margin services oso once kena boycott by most remisier n lastly kena warning from BNM coz they put out a list on which company shares r not elligible for their loan ... its illegal to do so ...
highlighted + bold in red: no worries. after working in banks. HLB is by far not the most kiasi + kiasu + kiam bank
winner
post Nov 17 2009, 03:23 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 16 2009, 06:58 PM)
The rumors of Hong Leong Bank taking over only started circulating when Guoco Group upped their shares in Bank of East Asia last week and Bank of East Asia is holding 20.5% stakes in Affin Bank. The take over of Affin Bank is only likely to happen should Guoco Group decides to buy over Bank of East Asia. This is because Guoco Group, which is related to Hong Leong Group are only allowed to control one bank in Malaysia.

I personally however, do not think this will happen mainly because Affin Bank is a Bumiputra controlled bank. We all know what kind of government we have. Therefore i don't think the government will allow it. The take over of either EON Bank or Alliance Bank are more likely as both banks are Chinese majority controlled banks.

If miracle does exist and Hong Leong Bank is allowed to take over Affin Bank. Then they would be couple made in heaven as both are equally sorry banks    laugh.gif
Nothing is impossible. From business point of view, this is a good time to do M&A as the valuations are not high compared to last year level. If Guoco Group successfully buys over BEA who owns 20.5% stake in Affin Bank, Guoco will indirectly become one of the major shareholders in Affin. However, the challenge is that these 2 banks have so much difference in management, system and culture. One being extremely Chinaman while the othe one being very Malay style. It would be a weird combination and definitely take long effort to merge their operations. biggrin.gif
MilesAndMore
post Nov 17 2009, 04:36 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Nov 17 2009, 03:23 PM)
If Guoco Group successfully buys over BEA who owns 20.5% stake in Affin Bank, Guoco will indirectly become one of the major shareholders in Affin. However, the challenge is that these 2 banks have so much difference in management, system and culture. One being extremely Chinaman while the othe one being very Malay style. It would be a weird combination and definitely take long effort to merge their operations. biggrin.gif
Before Guoco Group proceeds to buy over Bank of East Asia, they must resolve the issue with Affin Bank first as this is a clear violation of the banking law in Malaysia. They would have some serious antitrust issue. It's either they proceeds to take over Bank of East Asia and quickly dispose Bank of East Asia's stakes in Affin Bank or convince the Malaysian banking regulator to allow them to merge Hong Leong Bank with Affin Bank.

One of the reasons why not much is happening with the possible merger of Hong Leong Bank and EON Bank is because major shareholders of both banks want to control the merged bank and Quek Leng Chan simply would not let that happen. The share price of EON Bank is also another issue.

If Hong Leong Bank is marrying Affin Bank, the current owner of Affin Bank (Lembaga Tabung Angkatan Tentera) will emerge as a substantial shareholder in the merged bank and Quek won't like that idea either.

Anyway, it still remains a question if the Li family is willing to sell off their family's legacy. I hope they won't as Guoco Group will just screw up the bank. Besides, Hong Leong abandoned Hong Kong just barely 10 years ago by selling Dao Heng Bank to DBS Bank. They better just sell it to a banking corporation that is committed to the Hong Kong market.

freestyler_jg
post Nov 17 2009, 05:05 PM

37 posts

Bro,

U = solo
HLB = big organization

There is ntg u can do bout it pal, better stop it right thr and dont waste any money to get a lawyer for this case. Police might be will listen to ur explanation and im sure u wont get any reply from them after all. Jz take it as a lesson, u r in Msia k, Msia apa pun boleh!!
ETEAM TRADING
post Nov 18 2009, 10:31 AM

1,246 posts

QUOTE(freestyler_jg @ Nov 17 2009, 05:05 PM)
Bro,

U = solo
HLB = big organization

There is ntg u can do bout it pal, better stop it right thr and dont waste any money to get a lawyer for this case. Police might be will listen to ur explanation and im sure u wont get any reply from them after all. Jz take it as a lesson, u r in Msia k, Msia apa pun boleh!!
LOL, tis matter also wan lawyer? i think lawyer sh*t also no time...just kidding..

This post has been edited by ETEAM TRADING: Nov 18 2009, 10:32 AM
freestyler_jg
post Nov 18 2009, 11:45 AM

37 posts

Dun make fun of him laa.. he is frustrated enough, pity him enough.

Well as wat i mentioned, take it as a lesson pal. Cheers.
derictsl
post Nov 18 2009, 11:48 AM

Complain to HLB HQ and Bank Negara Malaysia and Financial Mediation Bureau

I have wrote to HLB regarding the SMS investigation report from my network provider MAXIS which confirmed my SMS succesfully delivered. But until today HLB do not make any reply and HLB asked their contest organiser XXXXX Technology S/B to call me for explanation. I do rejected the contest organizer explanation due to Im not dealing with them, Im dealing with HLB.
Im so suprise why HLB ask their contest organizer (the sms provider for HLB) to call me.
Infact I have a feeling that HLB are not proffesional, sincere and not loyalty to their customer.
Why HLB didn't direct explain to me and kick the ball to others. At last after I reported to BNM, HLB senior used to reply a mail to me (attached) and close case.

I have wrote in a complain to the BANK NEGARA MALAYSIA and the FINANCIAL MEDIATION BUREAU but this BNM and FMB also a sleeping organization.

Added on November 18, 2009, 11:52 amso my SMS tele provider MAXIS confirmed my SMS been send with prove details report,
and HLB SMS contest agent XXX company said they didn't received it, but without prove!!

so who is rite and who is wrong???

This post has been edited by derictsl: Nov 18 2009, 11:52 AM

MilesAndMore
post Nov 18 2009, 03:28 PM

9,301 posts

@ derictsl,

You should consider writing to the press.
freestyler_jg
post Nov 18 2009, 04:58 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 18 2009, 03:28 PM)
@ derictsl,

You should consider writing to the press.
Wat u mean bro? Sry english not that gud.. blush.gif

MilesAndMore
post Nov 18 2009, 05:58 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(freestyler_jg @ Nov 18 2009, 04:58 PM)
Wat u mean bro? Sry english not that gud..  blush.gif
No worries. I mean you can write a complaint letter to Star Newspaper. There is a section reserved for the public to voice their thoughts or complaint.

freestyler_jg
post Nov 18 2009, 08:45 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 18 2009, 05:58 PM)
No worries. I mean you can write a complaint letter to Star Newspaper. There is a section reserved for the public to voice their thoughts or complaint.
Ooo.. get it now heheh...
cic.lemur
post Nov 19 2009, 10:54 AM

376 posts

Better yet complain to Malay Mail, Malay Mail will ask the person you are complaining against to give their response instead of just printing your story.
freestyler_jg
post Nov 20 2009, 10:44 PM

37 posts

Malay mail? Wat is it actually?
bingozero
post Nov 21 2009, 01:57 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

QUOTE(freestyler_jg @ Nov 20 2009, 10:44 PM)
Malay mail? Wat is it actually?
Malay mail is one of the local newspapper
freestyler_jg
post Nov 21 2009, 12:42 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Nov 21 2009, 01:57 AM)
Malay mail is one of the local newspapper
Shit man!! Ur avatar and signature nvr let u gettin banned?

0.0274sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:51 PM