122 Pages « < 67 68 69 70 71 > » Bottom

Model Kits SD BB Gundam, D-style V6 thread, Welcome to World of Super Deformed (SD)

madmoz
post Oct 12 2010, 01:12 PM

4,250 posts

There's something that's been bugging me a bit of late... well not as in really bugging - more like somethings got me thinking...

The SD thread is rather quiet nowadays. I remember there was a time when it was rather active, with people like Zoidx, Kukubeh, 8tvt etc posting their work. These days (no offense to anyone, k?) mostly snap fitters jer. Everyone is entitled to their own preference i know, but SDs look utterly crap unpainted. Plus, it does nothing for the modelling community - people outgrow toys (well most people sweat.gif) but modelling is a different story.

Instead of ranting and complaining though, I wanna try doing something about it. A GROUPBUILD. I will also sponsor a prize - Koto's D-Style AV-98 Ingram. I do not own a shop pr anything so I am not looking for publicity - I just wanna see more models! brows.gif Anyone else wanna chip in, feel free.

It won't work if no one's interested. I would need your help. Am thinking of limiting it to first timers (i.e people who have never painted before - which means the 'old timers' can join, but cannot contest whistling.gif) and kits must be painted - be it with markers, hand painted or AB-ed. We'll get someone experienced (Vince or some zero-g fella mebbe). Not sure if we should limit it to SD - the main gundam thread also got many snap fitters. Let's time it to coincide with Litt Tak's Gundam World Cup as to get a sense of 'kan cheong'-ness nod.gif

Our Zaku GB at lenny's a few years ago worked great, let's replicate that!

Any takers?
shauno
post Oct 12 2010, 01:58 PM

249 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Oct 12 2010, 01:12 PM)
There's something that's been bugging me a bit of late... well not as in really bugging - more like somethings got me thinking...

The SD thread is rather quiet nowadays. I remember there was a time when it was rather active, with people like Zoidx, Kukubeh, 8tvt etc posting their work. These days (no offense to anyone, k?) mostly snap fitters jer. Everyone is entitled to their own preference i know, but SDs look utterly crap unpainted. Plus, it does nothing for the modelling community - people outgrow toys (well most people sweat.gif) but modelling is a different story.

Instead of ranting and complaining though, I wanna try doing something about it. A GROUPBUILD. I will also sponsor a prize - Koto's D-Style AV-98 Ingram. I do not own a shop pr anything so I am not looking for publicity - I just wanna see more models!  brows.gif  Anyone else wanna chip in, feel free.

It won't work if no one's interested. I would need your help. Am thinking of limiting it to first timers (i.e people who have never painted before - which means the 'old timers' can join, but cannot contest whistling.gif) and kits must be painted - be it with markers, hand painted or AB-ed. We'll get someone experienced (Vince or some zero-g fella mebbe). Not sure if we should limit it to SD - the main gundam thread also got many snap fitters. Let's time it to coincide with Litt Tak's Gundam World Cup as to get a sense of 'kan cheong'-ness nod.gif

Any takers?
aww.. didn't know my lack of photos are disturbing you madmoz.. i'm in! in fact, am working on the GP02 sanguo now.. biggrin.gif lets go! rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif as for someone experienced, i suggest Rayloke! biggrin.gif rclxms.gif

and as for pictures, here is some of my work.. shiba-i sazabi done a few months back.. nothing fancy, just some seamline covering, and 100% handpainted

yes, i do realize my pictures are photographed poorly. i beg your pardon tongue.gif

This post has been edited by shauno: Oct 12 2010, 02:03 PM
8tvt
post Oct 12 2010, 02:10 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

i always here.. but so much to do now refrain me to gunpla.. sad.gif
TSstriderozy
post Oct 12 2010, 02:39 PM

57 posts

Thanks madmoz bro for taking up the initiative to bring up this event.
This thread is so inactive lately, basically I just can see jayster that still keep up with his hardwork. And NokCha with his limited edition SD.

We have 2 GBs done before that (1 is the Zaku GB and another is Sanguo GB).
Zaku GB is still ok (we still see a few nice Zaku completed) but Sanguo GB turns out to be a 'failure' as not much ppl completed the 'well-planned' work. (including myself blush.gif )
Our plan is good but ...

Prize is a good motivation to make this GB/contest to be successful. Let me go find 1-2 boxes of SD from my stock. (We will look for more volunteer, let us know if you have something in your stock and you want to clear it smile.gif)
Sorry, it might not be that expensive one. Dont expect too much coz I am not rich after all. It just serves as some motivations for the forumers to get started with painting.

But honestly, I believe we dont have the experience in organizing this. For example,
1. Who will be the judge?
2. How do we judge who will be the winner?
3. Theme for this GB?
4. Timeline? As most of the forumers are kinda of like 'part time', I myself has been stopped building kits for months.
5. Of course, we encourage as many as participation but we need to have a control as we dont want to end up 100 participations, but only 3 model kits being submitted.

Some of these are from the past experience from our Sanguo GB.
I strongly recommend this to be a SD one. But I am open to any grade, I just think that may be first timer can use SD as experiment since it is cheaper.
But on the detail, we got to sit down and have some discussion on this. (May be among a few organizers.)

But I would want to give full support on this GB. And I want to participate. Can I participate in the contest? smile.gif

Thanks madmoz for bringing this thread alive. smile.gif

madmoz
post Oct 12 2010, 02:49 PM

4,250 posts

Well, some of the hobbytiamers seem keen as well. Looks promising this.
As for judging, we can always ask the more experienced forumers here (ppl like Chris and Vince etc) or Zero G kaki to help.

But we need to see how many people are interested 1st. I will definitely have something to show (not participating whistling.gif) - the Plum's Pangya kit that i am working on.

shauno
post Oct 12 2010, 03:08 PM

249 posts

well, i for one would not mind helping out with organization as well.. i share your sentiments on how people now just buy, and snap fit at most.. maybe one of the guidelines could be to at least have the kit painted, or seamlines covered?

agree with striderozy about prizes as well. good way of clearing the stash. i can prob offer one or two sd kits. likewise, please don't expect too much.. prob a Sanguo kit or keropla...

with regards to timeline, i would think something like 2 or 3 months? a single SD is not too time consuming, if all you do is just normal handpainting, so i reckon 3 months is plenty even if you are a real slow worker.. what say you guys?
madmoz
post Oct 12 2010, 03:13 PM

4,250 posts

well, since i am thinking of encouraging more people to start painting, lets keep it simple - as long as you paint and panel line i suppose you're in...

now we need to actually drum up some interest... lets start with the snap fitters in LYN nod.gif
TSstriderozy
post Oct 12 2010, 04:02 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Oct 12 2010, 04:13 PM)
well, since i am thinking of encouraging more people to start painting, lets keep it simple - as long as you paint and panel line i suppose you're in...

now we need to actually drum up some interest... lets start with the snap fitters in LYN nod.gif
You might want to get the list of ppl who is interested in this.
I would like to join.

Once we have update, I will paste it to the first page....

kukubeh
post Oct 12 2010, 04:24 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Oct 12 2010, 01:12 PM)

Instead of ranting and complaining though, I wanna try doing something about it. A GROUPBUILD. I will also sponsor a prize - Koto's D-Style AV-98 Ingram. I do not own a shop pr anything so I am not looking for publicity - I just wanna see more models!  brows.gif  Anyone else wanna chip in, feel free.

Any takers?
waa my friend i like your spirit there! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif i can donate some SD as prize also no problem. smile.gif

now days (actually a few years already. lol) very lazy to do painting.... really need something to spice up the painting passion back. lol.

psss.... can i submit this as entry? the shoulder shield is still not completed after dunno how many years already. lol.

8tvt
post Oct 12 2010, 07:37 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

haha kukubeh, tu cantik sgt.. tak boleh..
TSstriderozy
post Oct 12 2010, 09:33 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Oct 12 2010, 08:37 PM)
haha kukubeh, tu cantik sgt.. tak boleh..
Haha itu too pro dy...
Different level...
kukubeh
post Oct 12 2010, 09:52 PM

27 posts

blush.gif blush.gif

ok i'll start with new kit then.
madmoz
post Oct 12 2010, 10:00 PM

4,250 posts

i seldom make SDs nowadays though hmm.gif unless if you count koto's hoihoi san series and megaman series as SDs...

My Pangya Kooh 50% done though... can consider as SD right? The older more experienced forumers all fired up it seems, but no newcomers sad.gif
HoNeYdEwBoY
post Oct 12 2010, 10:25 PM

1,762 posts

can i join?
madmoz
post Oct 12 2010, 10:27 PM

4,250 posts

why not?
HoNeYdEwBoY
post Oct 12 2010, 10:30 PM

1,762 posts

so long never paint, any suggestion? i guess need to use sangou as our theme.
gaiachronicler
post Oct 12 2010, 10:32 PM

58 posts

must be sanguo series meh??? sweat.gif i dun wan... sad.gif
HoNeYdEwBoY

1,762 posts

then 00 series? xD...
madmoz

4,250 posts

eh, no theme yet lor. i am inclined to go "Free Style"?
HoNeYdEwBoY
post Oct 12 2010, 10:40 PM

1,762 posts

free style, this sound great .

122 Pages « < 67 68 69 70 71 > » Top

0.0491sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:14 AM