91 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

Recommended GPS App For iPhone , Q&A Discussion Thread

koo1988
post Apr 13 2011, 09:32 PM

QUOTE(zaff1984 @ Apr 13 2011, 07:09 PM)
im using M8 Papago... searching for satellite is fast compared to dedicated GPS device. btw im using M8 on my iP4. very satisfied.
Ya, so good for u~~iphone 4 processor must faster than iphone 3gs wat.....

sicklad77
post Apr 13 2011, 10:28 PM

532 posts

I have tom-tom and Papago,
Overall I'll say both is good but I'm more relying towards papago.

Easy and fast to navigate and very accurate smile.gif
whoopa
post Apr 14 2011, 06:39 AM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

one thing tho abt papago is that its not optimize for retina lol
sirap_limau
post Apr 14 2011, 08:51 PM

QUOTE(whoopa @ Apr 14 2011, 06:39 AM)
one thing tho abt papago is that its not optimize for retina lol
any body had offline map install to iphone...
azbro
post Apr 14 2011, 10:53 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(sirap_limau @ Apr 14 2011, 08:51 PM)
any body had offline map install to iphone...
If you mean map updates...of course...you can get them from here:
http://www.malfreemaps.com/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=10653
I respect MFM..latest maps..

How to install them?
http://talkatkeong.blogspot.com/2011/02/ho...o-map-into.html

Remember to backup the original maps in your computer first just incase you dun like MFM latest version which cuts out the UI voice (yeah...the noisy background voice)
lck
post Apr 17 2011, 05:47 PM

~^happy^~
591 posts

I have see that they Sygic Southeast Asia: GPS Navigation new apps released for Iphone currently price at $34.99, updated 15 Apr 2011 is updated on the Itunes apps store. Anyone have bought the apps and mind to do some review about the new GPS apps?
Just wanted to know if the iphone 3g connection is turn off, does Sygic GPS still continue to work and gets the signal using the internal GPS of the iphone like the Tom Tom GPS apps?

Link @ http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sygic-south...d319359565?mt=8

This post has been edited by lck: Apr 17 2011, 05:47 PM
azbro
post Apr 17 2011, 09:20 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(lck @ Apr 17 2011, 05:47 PM)
I have see that they Sygic Southeast Asia: GPS Navigation new apps released for Iphone currently price at $34.99, updated 15 Apr 2011 is updated on the Itunes apps store. Anyone have bought the apps and mind to do some review about the new GPS apps?
Just wanted to know if the iphone 3g connection is turn off, does Sygic GPS still continue to work and gets the signal using the internal GPS of the iphone like the Tom Tom GPS apps?

Link @ http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sygic-south...d319359565?mt=8
Well, I'm so used to GarminXT on my WM phone....other GPS programs simply pale in comparison...anyway, since this is iphone forum here is my opinion on Sygic.

I tried Sygic Mobile maps (on my friends Iphone), well I must say...while papago and TomTom are a no brainer to use...MobileMaps UI are seriously troublesome...I really dunno how to go to addresses or even stop the Navigation easily.
Taping on the arrow make more confusing options which are not really user friendly while on the move....and the speed alert function is over protective to the driver

Just maybe Synic Mobile Maps are tops in Singapore, but I'm not so sure here in Malaysia..I'll stick with Papago on the iphone...but even Papago could do better with customize POI and better search function.

Regarding the Iphone 3G off..If I'm not mistaken, only original Iphone Maps use this feature...other with preinstalled maps like Papago, TomTom and probably Synic doesn't need AGps functions...but I could be wrong.

This post has been edited by azbro: Apr 17 2011, 09:36 PM
Lanujang
post Apr 22 2011, 10:40 AM

261 posts

has anybody tried garmin street pilot? can we buy this apps if it is only found in appstore US?

TQ

** ok. found the answer to my curiousity after reading more into this thread. so disappointed with garmin

This post has been edited by Lanujang: Apr 22 2011, 10:49 AM
FunnyGuyonly1
post Apr 22 2011, 11:13 AM

142 posts

>_< still waiting for the Garmin Street Pilot to come over to malaysia..
Faris97
post Apr 23 2011, 03:34 AM

25 posts

i just update my PapaGo to version 8.1.5 for the iphone..

I noticed that, there is no triangle to locate our current position.. usually, it will show a triangle of where u are..

but with 8.1.5 ... it doesnt show any..

did u guys experiance this?
azbro
post Apr 23 2011, 10:45 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(FunnyGuyonly1 @ Apr 22 2011, 11:13 AM)
>_<  still waiting for the Garmin Street Pilot to come over to malaysia..
Yeah..need to wait for a Telco to have that features....but then again..if I'm not mistaken, Streetpilot is a watered down version of the GarminXT...and maps / POI wont be as good as the MFM versions.
And if you are at kampung area no 3G...i dun think it will work either

QUOTE(Faris97 @ Apr 23 2011, 03:34 AM)

I noticed that, there is no triangle to locate our current position..  usually, it will show a triangle of where u are..

Yes, after I read your post I tested it out...Yes the triangle is missing...will try out this version later on

This post has been edited by azbro: Apr 23 2011, 10:46 AM
reawakening
post Apr 23 2011, 01:22 PM

31 posts

Sygic Southeast Asia price dropped to $14.99. Is it a good buy? Maps updated? and is UI as good as Tom Tom?

lck
post Apr 23 2011, 05:35 PM

~^happy^~
591 posts

QUOTE(reawakening @ Apr 23 2011, 01:22 PM)
Sygic Southeast Asia price dropped to $14.99. Is it a good buy? Maps updated? and is UI as good as Tom Tom?
Just bought the Sygic Southeast Asia price $14.99...will update and feedback to u guys when i used it..
As well as Sygic MobileMaps 3D Singapore & Malaysia GPS Navigation also priced dropped as of now $12.99

thumbup.gif

Added on April 24, 2011, 12:30 pmJust bought and tested the Sygic SE Asia v11 and here my feedback. As tested in Penang area. Lots of POI and maps very accurate better comparing to TomTom. Fast GPS lock. Easy search of locations and user friendly. Nice GUI and even have weather forecast. Lots of language for the voice navigation, Malay, Chinese, English(US, UK, Aus and many more). Do not need to have any 3G data connection and still works fine..
MAPS INCLUDED
Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore with 6 digit postal code search, and Manila in Philippines.
Finally, have tried papago M8, TomTom and im using Sygic now....starting to like Sygic....

thumbup.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by lck: Apr 24 2011, 12:32 PM
danielwoo
post Apr 24 2011, 05:46 PM

227 posts

I noticed that, there is no triangle to locate our current position..  usually, it will show a triangle of where u are..

QUOTE(azbro @ Apr 23 2011, 10:45 AM)
Yes, after I read your post I tested it out...Yes the triangle is missing...will try out this version later on
Gosh! Did Papago screw something up this time? Difficult to use it without the triangle! sad.gif
azbro
post Apr 24 2011, 08:43 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(danielwoo @ Apr 24 2011, 05:46 PM)
Gosh! Did Papago screw something up this time? Difficult to use it without the triangle!  sad.gif
OK, i did a test on the latest Papago 8.1.5..with the original maps it came with.

But before i go to there.....I must say, 8.1.0 was a bit Cuckoo..the background voice was noisy and simply calling out road names like it had a mind of its own...we don't need that....we also dun need big font road names...end of the day....the screen was messed up...

Now comes the 8.1.5.....yes, they took out the arrow and noisy voice, who needs an arrow when the car we are driving is actually the arrow?...good idea by the developers...screen looks 'cleaner' now, but...seriously, its kinda difficult to estimate which road to go into without the arrow. Its not that the GPS is super fast...there is a slight lag...and we need arrows to compensate this.

Well, end of the day, I recommend 8.1.0 + the latest downloadable free MFM maps....why?...
We get back the arrow...+Latest MFM maps have smaller icons and Road names and none of the noisy background voice...it makes the screen just as what we want.

But thats just me...

This post has been edited by azbro: Apr 24 2011, 08:48 PM
antukecik09
post Apr 24 2011, 10:08 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Apr 24 2011, 08:43 PM)
OK, i did a test on the latest Papago 8.1.5..with the original maps it came with.

But before i go to there.....I must say, 8.1.0 was a bit Cuckoo..the background voice was noisy and simply calling out road names like it had a mind of its own...we don't need that....we also dun need big font road names...end of the day....the screen was messed up...

Now comes the 8.1.5.....yes, they took out the arrow and noisy voice, who needs an arrow when the car we are driving is actually the arrow?...good idea by the developers...screen looks 'cleaner' now, but...seriously, its kinda difficult to estimate which road to go into without the arrow. Its not that the GPS is super fast...there is a slight lag...and we need arrows to compensate this.

Well, end of the day, I recommend 8.1.0 + the latest downloadable free MFM maps....why?...
We get back the arrow...+Latest MFM maps have smaller icons and Road names and none of the noisy background voice...it makes the screen just as what we want.
But thats just me...
how to install malfreemaps? anyone had any guide?
azbro
post Apr 24 2011, 10:37 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(antukecik09 @ Apr 24 2011, 10:08 PM)
how to install malfreemaps? anyone had any guide?
just look at my post above numbered #1128
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=41554520

But take note, while most will like it, some might prefer the original one that came with Papago! ...just try it out..

Remember to check out the two links I gave.
1 is for downloading the latest April map...and another link is for how to customize it to Iphone (need to rename 5 files)
Might be tedious at first...but later it will be very simple when you get the hang of it.

This post has been edited by azbro: Apr 24 2011, 10:41 PM
Faris97
post Apr 24 2011, 11:43 PM

25 posts

i use the pre set for the papago map that comes with the version and currently using (8.1.5)... din download the map yet from free MFM map..

i read the tutorial posted by azbro.. quite tedios i have to say, i might screw up something...

to be safe, im still using the latest version of papago... maybe might swith back to 8.1.0... hmm...or wait till papago dev rectify the triangle issue in the next version ....

Added on April 25, 2011, 12:00 am
QUOTE(azbro @ Apr 24 2011, 08:43 PM)

But thats just me...
maybe later... i need ur help to guide me on the MFM maps... sweat.gif .. read the tutorial tho but not quite really familiar with it.. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Faris97: Apr 25 2011, 12:00 AM
YoNgZ
post Apr 25 2011, 12:38 AM

320 posts

bro... any tutorials or tips on how to get the free MFM maps?

Added on April 25, 2011, 12:39 amso basically... which version for m8 is recommended atm? 8.1.5 or 8.1.0? any advices?

This post has been edited by YoNgZ: Apr 25 2011, 12:39 AM
azbro
post Apr 25 2011, 06:56 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Faris97 @ Apr 24 2011, 11:43 PM)

maybe later... i need ur help to guide me on the MFM maps...  sweat.gif .. read the tutorial tho but not quite really familiar with it.. laugh.gif
Hey, sure bro, just PM me...but on weekdays I'll only reply nite time.....in office cannot access internet.

91 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0510sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 01:21 AM