Fergie is the best manager in da world so far..
English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 05/12 West Ham v Man Utd | 22:55 | ESPN
Nov 13 2009, 01:22 PM
2,694 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: KL |
Fergie is the best manager in da world so far..
Nov 13 2009, 02:31 PM
36 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
QUOTE(Wan @ Nov 13 2009, 11:00 AM) I see not much wrong with what he said. It's true it's hard to build form if you're in and out of the side. And it's not like he's criticising SAF. He just commented on how SAF deal with things. He can be very nice when everything is great, but he can also be ruthless if it's not going the way he wants it to, which we've already known. i think nani pressured by the title of 'the next Ronaldo'.There's still plenty of months to make it work in regards to Nani's chances. But if he doesn't take it, soon Obertan will. And then there's Ljajic in January.. this guy will be a serious goal threat. |
Nov 13 2009, 02:37 PM
2,162 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
Nov 13 2009, 05:09 PM
256 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Nov 13 2009, 05:25 PM
12,754 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Rooney hopes for new Man Utd deal
QUOTE Manchester United striker Wayne Rooney has indicated he would like to spend the rest of his career at Old Trafford. Barcelona are reportedly interested in Rooney but the 24-year-old England forward does not envisage leaving the club he joined from Everton in 2004. "It is nice to be noticed but I am really happy at United," he said. "I can't see myself leaving. I have two years left on my contract after this year and I'm sure we'll be negotiating a new deal in the next few months." Rooney, who lives with his wife Coleen and recently-born baby Kai in Prestbury, added: "I love the place. It is 30 minutes from home and all my family, and I have got a great chance of winning trophies." Since his arrival from Merseyside, Rooney has won the Champions League, three Premier League titles, the Carling Cup and Fifa Club World Cup. "Although I was an Everton fan, I loved watching United play," he said. "It probably started watching them from about 1994. Eric Cantona was brilliant in that team. "He had something about him. You looked at him and he was so fearsome. And that was just on the television. Imagine playing up against him? "They won a lot of trophies too. But it was more than just that. It was the way they played and attacked. The way they played right to the end. They scored all those last-minute goals, which showed their desire to want to keep going. "Now, I am there and I have won trophies there myself. I just want to win more." Meanwhile, Rooney insists he cannot be regarded as a truly great player unless he wins the World Cup. He is set to play against Brazil, the world's top-ranked nation, for the first time when England take on Dunga's men in Doha on Saturday. "There are players like George Best and (Cristiano) Ronaldo who are geniuses," said Rooney. "But if you want to be compared to players like Romario and Ronaldo and be up there with them, I feel you have to win a World Cup. "Ronaldo was one of the best, if not the best, forward ever. When he was at Barcelona, the things he did were incredible. "In later years, Ronaldinho and Kaka were both world player of the year. "For me to be considered among that group of players, I must win the World Cup with England." http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/t...utd/8358195.stm |
Nov 13 2009, 05:31 PM
1,633 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Cheras, Selangor |
QUOTE(alien2003 @ Nov 13 2009, 05:25 PM) "Ronaldo was one of the best, if not the best, forward ever. When he was at Barcelona, the things he did were incredible. That's my boy, and he was talking about my idol too ! Glad to hear he's staying. At least he clarified it publicly. |
Nov 13 2009, 06:34 PM
626 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
QUOTE(Wan @ Nov 13 2009, 11:35 AM) We do have an outstanding midfield(talking about the centre.. wings still in work in progress mode). Vs Chelsea. We dominated that area when everyone played down our chances against their diamond citing our lack of midfield talent to theirs. Yet it was the opposite in the game. Nani finding a functional brain LOLYou know you don't need to be scoring to be considered great. Carrick-Scholes hardly scores in 06/07, yet they dominated the ball so much that it allows the others to play and do damage(scoring goals and whatnot). It's become a bit of a myth that our midfield is weak because they don't score goals. Look at Barca's midfield.. look at their stats. Hardly amazing. Don't think Anderson will improve much on the shooting bit. He will get to around 5 or so, but not more. Just look at Carrick since his move here. He improved a little, but not more. That's just the way it is and we have to accept that. I've always maintained that for goals we must look at the wingers for the bulk of it from midfield. And I've always said that those goal scoring midfielders all play in advance positions(wingers, behind the striker or part of a 3 CM setup). It's like what Ronaldo did last two seasons.. no defensive responsibility, which our CMs must peform each game since we don't have anyone else to cover them like the others. Lampard play in that diamond, Gerrard plays behind Torres, Fabregas have two players next/behind him doing all the work.. go find a player that is scoring goal consistently playing in the centre of a 442, and then tell SAF about it. We play 442 most of the time which means our CMs are a bit restricted in that respect and we have no place for an AM. We do have a very good midfield. Fletcher-Carrick-Ando(any of those two in 442) Giggs, Scholes, Hargreaves as back up. It's the wings which is a bit problematic since we're waiting for Nani to grow up, but unfortunately it hasn't happen yet. Giggs have been very good playing there this season, and hopefully Obertan play like he does in his cameos most of the time.. that will help us greatly. Valencia have been steady progressing.. I like what I've seen from him so far.. and he look pretty good against Chelsea the other day. Hoping for a better performances in this area after new year.. with Valencia settling in, Obertan becoming another regular piece there and somehow Nani finding a functional brain. He doesn't criticise SAF for it, nor does he shed any light or something controversial behind the scenes. He just said that SAF can be kind when it's good, but also can be hard on you if you're not doing your job properly, which is true. And he's not the first player to have said that. Added on November 13, 2009, 11:44 amHaving read the full quotes(only read bits of it before), I sympathise with him on not getting regular run in the side to build his form, but he's wrong if he expects to start the important games. If your not in form, you don't play.. simple as. It's a bit of a problem with the big squad we have nowadays. On one hand you have to think what's best for the team, but on the other hand we have the players form to think about.. which one would we sacrifice? |
Nov 13 2009, 06:39 PM
4,050 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(mizivincible @ Nov 13 2009, 05:31 PM) "Ronaldo was one of the best, if not the best, forward ever. When he was at Barcelona, the things he did were incredible. That's my boy, and he was talking about my idol too ! Glad to hear he's staying. At least he clarified it publicly. This post has been edited by MADReaLJL: Nov 13 2009, 06:39 PM |
Nov 13 2009, 06:43 PM
140 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
could be same thing happen
Nov 13 2009, 06:46 PM
1,372 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Yes, we have the set of midfielders that are capable of dominating midfield, what i see lack is the scoring ability. Our midfielder dun have good finishers (sometimes got), but most of the time they miss chances. Thats why we always win by 1 or 2 goal (except against wigan). We need those that have finishers like in Arsenal's
Nov 13 2009, 07:26 PM
2,162 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
I don't see how Rooney will ever leave United. Not now, not any time soon. He might when SAF retires but that's only a slight chance, at least if compare to other non-English United players
Those players that I don't see will ever leave (I hope they don't proof me wrong This post has been edited by s[H]sIkuA: Nov 13 2009, 07:26 PM |
Nov 13 2009, 07:35 PM
O'shea, Brown and Evra will only leave when they're old. just like denis Irwin. Fletcher will finish his career here. Ferdinand might be moving to another club if that club offer him more massive wages than MU. Anderson have the potential to be snatched by Real Madrid.
Nov 13 2009, 07:43 PM
140 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
legend title means for me is..
the player from our academy/youth player from other club still in the club retire with the same club.. just like giggs/scholes/neville. |
Nov 13 2009, 07:49 PM
Nani might have realize that he could be facing Fergie's wrath. so he did another interview.
Outspoken Nani played down row with Sir alex Got fined by FA now Wiley wanna sue SAF too. Alan Wiley could sue Sir Alex for Defamation |
Nov 13 2009, 08:03 PM
1,372 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
QUOTE(kamkamparadise @ Nov 13 2009, 08:49 PM) Nani might have realize that he could be facing Fergie's wrath. so he did another interview. whats wrong with this Wiley fellow? He got nothing better to do than wasting his time to fight for something that is like so long ago. or maybe... just maybe.. some *erm* payed him to do thatOutspoken Nani played down row with Sir alex Got fined by FA now Wiley wanna sue SAF too. Alan Wiley could sue Sir Alex for Defamation |
Nov 13 2009, 08:15 PM
12,754 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Nov 13 2009, 08:03 PM) whats wrong with this Wiley fellow? He got nothing better to do than wasting his time to fight for something that is like so long ago. or maybe... just maybe.. some *erm* payed him to do that If you read the actual article, its not from Wiley himself:QUOTE Alan Leighton, national secretary for referees' union Prospect, said: "One of the things we are saying is, is there a case these comments are defamatory? I intend to talk to Alan Wiley to see if he wants to sue on the issue. Red Devils linked with duo QUOTE Reports in France suggest that Sir Alex Ferguson is keen to bring in Bordeaux's Marouane Chamakh and Marseille's Benoit Cheyrou. The Manchester United manager was said to have been impressed with Chamakh's performances against Bayern Munich in the UEFA Champions League in recent weeks - in which the striker scored in the 2-0 win at the Allianz Arena last week. The 25-year-old was strongly linked with moves to Arsenal and West Ham in the summer but could now sign a new deal with Les Girondins in the coming weeks. Cheyrou, younger brother of former Liverpool midfielder Bruno, was rumoured to have been watched by Red Devils scouts during last weekend's thrilling 5-5 draw at Lyon. The 28-year-old defensive midfielder has a contract until 2013 but Marseille could look to cash in on the player to fund prospective targets in January. Settled well Meanwhile a Frenchman already at Old Trafford, Gabriel Obertan, admits he has had no problems settling into life at United. "It has been easy to adapt, but being at the right level is another problem." he told L'Equipe. "Playing 20 or 25 minutes in the Premier League is already difficult. Alex Ferguson is a normal man, very easy to get on with. "On a mental level, I believe I have improved." http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_5692384,00.html This post has been edited by alien2003: Nov 13 2009, 08:25 PM |
Nov 13 2009, 08:51 PM
Another midfielder? probably Fergie wanna cut down playing time for Scholes and Giggs in order to keep them fresh. i hope Fergie really go for Chamakh. saw the game against Bayern. chamaks played really well.
Obertan said Fergie is a normal man? try to go against nani eh? |
Nov 13 2009, 08:52 PM
4,017 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Mont Kiara, KL |
Why would we need another defensive midfielder when we've got Fletcher and Hargreaves well capable of playing there? Paper talk me thinks.
Nov 13 2009, 09:22 PM
115 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
we cant always depend on fletcher all the time right, how if he gets injured? while hargreaves is hargreaves, too fragile. i wont be sad if nani leaves, more playing for obertan if it happen
Nov 13 2009, 11:26 PM
4,174 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Gua |
United get fewer penalties than Arsenal and Liverpool, and score fewer than Chelsea
August 23, 2009 QUOTE There's a fantastic statistical snippet in today's Sunday Times, showing the number of Premier League penalties that top sides have been awarded over the past ten years, and how successful they are at converting them. Here are the stats for the "top four": Manchester United Penalty success rate since 1999-2000 season: 78.3% Penalties awarded: 46 Penalties scored: 36 Liverpool Penalty success rate: 75.5% Penalties awarded: 53 Penalties scored: 40 Chelsea Penalty success rate: 94.9% Penalties awarded: 39 Penalties scored: 37 Arsenal Penalty success rate: 81.8% Penalties awarded: 55 Penalties scored: 45 So we've been awarded fewer penalties than both Liverpool and Arsenal, but no-one comes close to Chelsea's daunting 94.9% success rate. Pete http://mustbered.typepad.com/home/2009/08/...an-chelsea.html |
| Change to: | 0.0312sec
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:19 AM |