5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

How do you buy a game?, Review? Ratings? how?

PhoenixByte
post Apr 27 2010, 08:18 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

game reviews on youtube...there are lots these days smile.gif
ik3da
post Apr 27 2010, 12:01 PM

Poisoned, broken, and definitely poorer.
545 posts

I tend to head over to GameFAQs and looked up the game forums. Based on the questions asked and reviews given, can roughly get an idea how the game is like. Of course, YouTube makes it much easier to have a feel too.

Metacritic is good for a general idea on how well the game is received by the game reviewers.

In the end, sometimes it still depends on myself though. GOW series dominated a lot of score charts and gotten more than enough fans, but I have yet to actually ever play it at all. Instead of getting GOW for my PS3, I ended up getting Disgaea 3 (loving it madly) which is far less valued so far.
aiyish
post Apr 27 2010, 01:46 PM

Ryan Gosling
1,537 posts

Go to shop, ask for the game, the game on the counter, pay money, go home and play game. That's how i buy games.
alcohol
post Apr 30 2010, 04:46 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(aiyish @ Apr 27 2010, 01:46 PM)
Go to shop, ask for the game, the game on the counter, pay money, go home and play game. That's how i buy games.
look in forum. call ben. eat. sleep. watch tv. watch porn. go toilet. walk the dog. cut grass. water flowers. pay ben at doorstep. play new game. That's how I buy games

lol
TSchipmunkey1992
post Sep 13 2010, 10:46 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(alcohol @ Apr 30 2010, 04:46 PM)
look in forum. call ben. eat. sleep. watch tv. watch porn. go toilet. walk the dog. cut grass. water flowers. pay ben at doorstep. play new game. That's how I buy games

lol
I approve!
kirakosmos
post Sep 14 2010, 12:36 AM

506 posts

the game come from the series i love
ramz
post Sep 14 2010, 07:44 AM

21,375 posts

how i buy wii games: browse for new games, read preview, love it, place order with anyone selling in LYN, delay, go online on PlayAsia, so expensive, wait till my next oversea trip, buy game overseas.
penman
post Sep 14 2010, 11:52 AM

142 posts

use money~loh.

apa then? barter trade?
joejee
post Sep 15 2010, 06:03 PM

228 posts

www.gamespot.com rating 9.00 above
TSchipmunkey1992
post Sep 15 2010, 09:10 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(joejee @ Sep 15 2010, 06:03 PM)
www.gamespot.com rating 9.00 above
9.00 above? abit high right ur expectation? shocking.gif
cesc85
post Sep 16 2010, 02:41 AM

I alwiz bought a game which rated 8.5 and above coz sometimes certain website does not rate japanese game fairly..ex:WE is much better than FIFA but its rating is lower. vmad.gif

Also bought only long playing time game to get full use of my money nod.gif
danger46
post Sep 16 2010, 03:19 AM

123 posts

how i buy a game?

1stly, super cool game box cover!
2ndly, check review
3rdly, search the game length and replay value
4th, if all good and nothing to play atm, buy

p/s: i buy prototype solely because of the game box cover
TSchipmunkey1992
post Sep 16 2010, 03:27 AM

198 posts

QUOTE(cesc85 @ Sep 16 2010, 02:41 AM)
I alwiz bought a game which rated 8.5 and above coz sometimes certain website does not rate japanese game fairly..ex:WE is much better than FIFA but its rating is lower. vmad.gif

Also bought only long playing time game to get full use of my money nod.gif
this one i agree! they are biers to japanese/american games shakehead.gif

Added on September 16, 2010, 3:28 am
QUOTE(danger46 @ Sep 16 2010, 03:19 AM)
how i buy a game?

1stly, super cool game box cover!
2ndly, check review
3rdly, search the game length and replay value
4th, if all good and nothing to play atm, buy

p/s: i buy prototype solely because of the game box cover
Ahahahahhha! you sound like me too my freind biggrin.gif
i buy a few games cause the trailer/cover looks cool..then i end up regretting doh.gif

This post has been edited by chipmunkey1992: Sep 16 2010, 03:28 AM
joejee
post Sep 17 2010, 09:54 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(chipmunkey1992 @ Sep 15 2010, 09:10 PM)
9.00 above? abit high right ur expectation?  shocking.gif
9.00 and above already have more than 10 games... thumbup.gif
danger46
post Sep 18 2010, 12:19 PM

123 posts

that why my prototype sell after 2 days LOL
sw1tchm4st3r
post Sep 20 2010, 01:53 PM

The buying process seems pretty consistent for most, but it really depends on how much time you have on your hands.

In my case, I always checkout game reviews before I buy them and considering I don't have that much time to play them, I tend to only get games that are rated >= 8.5 on Gamespot. On the rare occasion I might get a game if I like the subject matter, i.e. Forced Unleashed.

Also, I know what games I like and am also conscious of how much time a particular game will take to play and because of that I stay clear of RPGs.

Since I'm a completionist, I tend to try my level best to get all achievements (guess you know which console I prefer) for the game that I'm playing before moving on to another game... this way I feel that I've got my monies worth.

So for me its about how much quality entertainment and fun I get for the amount spent.....

orang90
post Sep 25 2010, 07:08 PM

192 posts

youtube..
trailer trailer trailer...
thats how..
if the trailer look cool and awesome..
look for dad...
hahaha...
dady! buy me this lor!
then got smack at the head..
hahah...
TSchipmunkey1992
post Sep 26 2010, 12:44 AM

198 posts

QUOTE(orang90 @ Sep 25 2010, 07:08 PM)
youtube..
trailer trailer trailer...
thats how..
if the trailer look cool and awesome..
look for dad...
hahaha...
dady! buy me this lor!
hahah...

dady! buy me this lor!

WIN rclxms.gif
BlackAura
post May 26 2011, 06:03 AM

Validating

Hmm... I normally don't trust the reviews (everyone has different taste tongue.gif) So, I check up for gameplay, trailer etc
neogeocdz
post May 26 2011, 01:20 PM

698 posts

Noticed it on Kotaku, watch trailer, read review, buy from Play-Asia, send to office.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0276sec    1.04    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:58 AM