Sharp New LED LCD TV, LC40LE700M and LC40LB700M

TSkevinc66
post Nov 5 2009, 03:13 PM, updated 16y ago

197 posts

Sharp just rolled out 2 new LED LCD TV.
One of the model comes with detachable BLURay player...look cool.

40" FULL HD AQUOS LED LCD TV
2 Mega contrast
Fine motion advanced 100/120Hz
10 bit Signal Processing
X-GEN LCD panel from Sharp Kameyama Japan LCD Plant
4 HDMI Terminals
AQUOS-Link function enables integrated operation among other AQUOS Link enabled product
Elegant Black Piano Finish Design
Dynamic Contrast Ratio 2,000,000:1
High Brightness 450 cd/m2
Viewing Angle H/V 176°
Advanced Optical Picture Control
Crystal Clear Technology

This post has been edited by kevinc66: Nov 5 2009, 03:17 PM
ronnt88
post Nov 5 2009, 03:19 PM

2,353 posts

nice... more LED backlit TVs smile.gif

what's the biggest size available?
localized dimming?
RGB LEDs?

apexg2
post Nov 5 2009, 03:22 PM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

and oso, wuts the price and is it selling in malaysia market?
TSkevinc66
post Nov 5 2009, 03:22 PM

197 posts

Just heard that only 40" available now.
hsiengloong
post Nov 5 2009, 03:23 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

I've seen an ad few days ago i seen this ad of the Sharp LCD tv with In-built BD player...Wonder how much..

Also i wonder if it's able to bitstream HD Audio to the AVR...

If only using the TV speakers, really wasted
apexg2
post Nov 5 2009, 03:25 PM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

let see the market price...worth like pana or sammy or not..hehe
TSkevinc66
post Nov 5 2009, 03:31 PM

197 posts

RM 5999.00 for the one without BD player + Sharp air purifier KC-930E worth about RM899.00. However not as slim as Samsung LED LCD TV. Apparently the backlit for Samsung is at the side, whereas Sharp is inside, hence thicker than Samsung. Higher contrast level.
ar188
post Nov 5 2009, 03:32 PM

9,206 posts

at least they are honest about the technology.. by still calling it LCD TV..
aeiou228
post Nov 5 2009, 03:38 PM

5,871 posts

what is the main advantage led lcd has over normal lcd ?
Riddhy
post Nov 5 2009, 03:41 PM

1,956 posts

sharp colors and super brightness low power consumption
apexg2
post Nov 5 2009, 03:46 PM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

LED LCD is like the same sammy 6 series rite?noob question..
anfieldude
post Nov 5 2009, 03:50 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Nov 5 2009, 03:19 PM)
nice... more LED backlit TVs smile.gif

what's the biggest size available?
localized dimming?
RGB LEDs?
I believe the lower end ones use white LED. Their flagship model supposedly uses RGB backligthing.

Same, the higher end ones will have local dimming. Also their local dimming algo is supposed to be pretty good.
kianwee
post Nov 5 2009, 03:50 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

I will take this Sharp anytime compared to Samsung's "LED"
Lone*Wolf
post Nov 5 2009, 03:53 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Nov 5 2009, 03:22 PM)
Just heard that only 40" available now.
40" manyak pendek, and considering people who are interested in these models are video enthusiasts, they shud come out with something closer to 50".
ar188
post Nov 5 2009, 03:54 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Nov 5 2009, 03:50 PM)
I will take this Sharp anytime compared to Samsung's "LED"
this one not like sammy edge lighting type right? I can't see how edge LED lighting can pull the light effectively to the centre of the LCD panel...
backlight should be kept at the back of the panel not at the edges..
anfieldude
post Nov 5 2009, 03:57 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 5 2009, 03:54 PM)
this one not like sammy edge lighting type right? I can't see how edge LED lighting can pull the light effectively to the centre of the LCD panel...
They do it quite well under the circumstances. There are some uniformity issues as the panel becomes bigger though.

However, remember there are a lot of people who put style above substance. So that ultra slim HDTV on the wall is a fashion statement. To he*l with the PQ I say.
low98944
post Nov 5 2009, 04:06 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

I wonder why will Sony introduce their LED LCD TV to Malaysia, like this one?

Bravia ZX5 LED TV (By the way, is this true?)

TSkevinc66
post Nov 5 2009, 04:10 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 5 2009, 03:50 PM)
I believe the lower end ones use white LED. Their flagship model supposedly uses RGB backligthing.

Same, the higher end ones will have local dimming. Also their local dimming algo is supposed to be pretty good.
Comfirmation from Sharp, it's white LED not RGB LED.

Added on November 5, 2009, 4:11 pm
QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 5 2009, 03:54 PM)
The backlit is inside the back panel, not at the edge like Samsung. It produces higher contrast level than Sammy.

This post has been edited by kevinc66: Nov 5 2009, 04:12 PM
apexg2
post Nov 5 2009, 04:14 PM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

so the pq is more sharper than sammy with the lower price..
ar188
post Nov 5 2009, 04:19 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Nov 5 2009, 04:10 PM)
Comfirmation from Sharp, it's white LED not RGB LED.
yeah should be white, due to mid range series..

not their flagship XBR series..

Added on November 5, 2009, 4:20 pm
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 5 2009, 03:57 PM)
They do it quite well under the circumstances. There are some uniformity issues as the panel becomes bigger though.

However, remember there are a lot of people who put style above substance. So that ultra slim HDTV on the wall is a fashion statement. To he*l with the PQ I say.
if for fashion statement, then Jap brand name like pioneer or Sharp would " shine" brighter across the living room? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Nov 5 2009, 04:20 PM
anfieldude
post Nov 5 2009, 04:22 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 5 2009, 04:19 PM)
yeah should be white, due to mid range series..

not their flagship XBR series..

Added on November 5, 2009, 4:20 pm

if for fashion statement, then Jap brand name like pioneer or Sharp would " shine"  brighter across the living room?  biggrin.gif
eh, u confused lah..."reflection" is a no no...
ar188
post Nov 5 2009, 04:23 PM

9,206 posts

mirror series mah.. when not in use TV become mirror.. like some handphones.. tongue.gif
anfieldude
post Nov 5 2009, 04:23 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(apexg2 @ Nov 5 2009, 04:14 PM)
so the pq is more sharper than sammy with the lower price..
Why is that so?
kianwee
post Nov 5 2009, 04:52 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 5 2009, 04:23 PM)
Why is that so?
I think our member there got confused with white and RGB LED.
richard912
post Nov 6 2009, 08:49 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

Surprised to notice its only 100/120Hz instead of 200Hz
anfieldude
post Nov 6 2009, 09:17 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Nov 6 2009, 08:49 AM)
Surprised to notice its only 100/120Hz instead of 200Hz
As long as it does 24Hz well and can do proper processing of 50Hz to 100Hz, shd be good to go.

200Hz/240Hz looks overprocessed to my eyes, too much artifacting and soap opera feel to movies.
richard912
post Nov 6 2009, 09:25 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 6 2009, 09:17 AM)
As long as it does 24Hz well and can do proper processing of 50Hz to 100Hz, shd be good to go.

200Hz/240Hz looks overprocessed to my eyes, too much artifacting and soap opera feel to movies.
hahaha.....I'm glad I stuck to my decision with Plasma but the pricing for this Sharp LED LCD (priced around RM5k for a 40" I think) is gonna lead the way for price drops across the LCD segment
syumul
post Nov 6 2009, 09:29 AM

215 posts

u know what..the engine for this sharp LED LCD tv is made in Sungai Petani..hehe i must say it is the best..n one more info, sharp is the sole maker of LCD tv..the first company to built LCD and all other brand including sony n samsung bought the LCD engine from sharp..
anfieldude
post Nov 6 2009, 09:42 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(syumul @ Nov 6 2009, 09:29 AM)
u know what..the engine for this sharp LED LCD tv is made in Sungai Petani..hehe i must say it is the best..n one more info, sharp is the sole maker of LCD tv..the first company to built LCD and all other brand including sony n samsung bought the LCD engine from sharp..
Are you saying that only Sharp makes all the LCD panels for the other guys?
ar188
post Nov 6 2009, 09:50 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Nov 6 2009, 09:25 AM)
hahaha.....I'm glad I stuck to my decision with Plasma but the pricing for this Sharp LED LCD (priced around RM5k for a 40" I think) is gonna lead the way for price drops across the LCD segment
so should we still consider buying LED TV instead of this (if choosing between this 2 model series) ?
medan78
post Nov 6 2009, 08:45 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Nov 5 2009, 05:06 PM)

it's coming.. probably by next year before world cup..
brows.gif
jimmyteng18
post Nov 7 2009, 10:55 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Nov 5 2009, 03:31 PM)
RM 5999.00 for the one without BD player + Sharp air purifier KC-930E worth about RM899.00. However not as slim as Samsung LED LCD TV. Apparently the backlit for Samsung is at the side, whereas Sharp is inside, hence thicker than Samsung. Higher contrast level.
Harvey Norman QM selling rm4999 for LC40LE700M. Nice design tho.
TSkevinc66
post Nov 7 2009, 11:37 AM

197 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Nov 7 2009, 10:55 AM)
Harvey Norman QM selling rm4999 for LC40LE700M. Nice design tho.
RM 4999.00 without air purifier?? It shouda be RM 5999.00 list price.

jimmyteng18
post Nov 7 2009, 11:52 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Nov 7 2009, 11:37 AM)
RM 4999.00 without air purifier?? It shouda be RM 5999.00 list price.
rm4999 without free gifts
Lone*Wolf
post Nov 7 2009, 12:39 PM

1,442 posts

har, really? I tot all Sharps are Made in Japan. If locally assembled, then I think they need to re-look into their pricing.
ar188
post Nov 7 2009, 12:42 PM

9,206 posts

no la sharp LCD TV also got made in malaysia sticker wan.. (assembled here)
Lone*Wolf
post Nov 7 2009, 12:46 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 7 2009, 12:42 PM)
cheh.. they always differentiate their products as Made in Japan ... mebbe for the more premium models la... hmm.gif
ar188
post Nov 7 2009, 12:54 PM

9,206 posts

I think maybe the panels are made there...
richard912
post Nov 7 2009, 04:17 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 7 2009, 12:42 PM)
"assembled" in Malaysia for tax purposes
Lone*Wolf
post Nov 7 2009, 04:38 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Nov 7 2009, 04:17 PM)
yeahlo, dats why i said shouldnt their LCDs be cheaper then?
bsa12
post Nov 7 2009, 06:03 PM

562 posts

panasonic also assembled in malaysia
Lone*Wolf
post Nov 7 2009, 06:23 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(bsa12 @ Nov 7 2009, 06:03 PM)
dats why their FHD TVs so affordable and best sellers now smile.gif
ar188
post Nov 7 2009, 06:31 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Nov 7 2009, 04:17 PM)
what kind of tax purpose? to benefit local consumers in terms of tax savings or benefit the manufacturer?
Lone*Wolf
post Nov 7 2009, 06:35 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 7 2009, 06:31 PM)
what kind of tax purpose? to benefit local consumers in terms of tax savings or benefit the manufacturer?
of coz benefit to manufacturer themselves la, those selfish suits. fully imported tax heavy mah, some people pandai-pandai break down imported units at the border, ship in as seperate components, then assemble balik after the border, treat as buatan tempatan = less tax!
richard912
post Nov 7 2009, 06:35 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 7 2009, 06:31 PM)
TV's imported in CBU form attract a higher duty rate but "assembled" in Malaysia, the savings can be quite substantial. Alas, those savings goes to enlarging their pockets instead of being fully passed on to the consumers doh.gif
TSkevinc66
post Nov 7 2009, 06:54 PM

197 posts

Already order 1 set from Sharp and will arrives on Monday. Gotta test the set and compares the different against Plasma and LCD. Will post some pictures later.

regards

Added on November 7, 2009, 6:55 pm
QUOTE(richard912 @ Nov 7 2009, 06:35 PM)
TV's imported in CBU form attract a higher duty rate but "assembled" in Malaysia, the savings can be quite substantial. Alas, those savings goes to enlarging their pockets instead of being fully passed on to the consumers doh.gif
Semi knock-down, very low tax.

Added on November 7, 2009, 6:57 pm
QUOTE(bsa12 @ Nov 7 2009, 06:03 PM)
panny plasma made in singapore

This post has been edited by kevinc66: Nov 7 2009, 06:57 PM
syumul
post Nov 7 2009, 07:03 PM

215 posts

i goes like this..all the engine for whateva sharp LCD is made in malaysia either in SP or Batu Pahat..only the engine..then this engine been ship out to kateyama(largest factory in the world) for assemble the LCD panel and fully combined..i work for sharp in SP and the LED engine is like hot goreng pisang..this month only sharp SP produce 100K++ unit..huhuhu ot byk..

and yes all other brand buy LCD engine from sharp..sharp the only have the trademark pattern la..sumting like that la..
ar188
post Nov 7 2009, 07:10 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Nov 7 2009, 06:54 PM)
Already order 1 set from Sharp and will arrives on Monday. Gotta test the set and compares the different against Plasma and LCD. Will post some pictures later.

regards

so panny plasma from SG got reasonable low prices approaching overseas low prices, but CKD sharp got normal malaysian type of retail prices? hmm.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Nov 7 2009, 07:13 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Nov 7 2009, 06:54 PM)

regards

Hi! Looking forward to ur comparison test between Plasma & LCD. I am most interest to know if there are any 'blurring' effect on LCD due to the slow reaction time in LCD. That is 0.02ms for LCD vs 0.0002ms for Plasma. Especially on fast moving scene. Tq very muck. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Nov 7 2009, 07:22 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Nov 7 2009, 07:13 PM)
Hi! Looking forward to ur comparison test between Plasma & LCD. I am most interest to know if there are any 'blurring' effect on LCD due to the slow reaction time in LCD. That is 0.02ms for LCD vs 0.0002ms for Plasma. Especially on fast moving scene. Tq very muck.  biggrin.gif
har? 0.02mS for LCD.. wow..
TSkevinc66
post Nov 7 2009, 07:30 PM

197 posts

Yah.... that what i wanted to see too and as well as watching Astro, whether any different between normal LCD.
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Nov 7 2009, 11:22 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 7 2009, 07:22 PM)
har? 0.02mS for LCD.. wow..
Ops.........typo mistake, for LCD the fastest respond time now is 2ms ( correct me if I am wrong, Sharp LCD Tv don't mention on its respond time ) whereas for Plasma it is 0.001ms. smile.gif
ar188
post Nov 8 2009, 10:22 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Nov 7 2009, 11:22 PM)
Ops.........typo mistake, for LCD the fastest respond time now is 2ms ( correct me if I am wrong, Sharp LCD Tv don't mention on its respond time ) whereas for Plasma it is 0.001ms.  smile.gif
panny plasma got mention response time wan ar? I didn't know that..
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Nov 8 2009, 02:39 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 8 2009, 10:22 AM)
panny plasma got mention response time wan ar?  I didn't know that..
Got mention lah, old catalog when people r still undecided to buy LCD or Plasma. For me since I watch mainly 'action' movie with lotsa of 'action' tongue.gif motion blurring is a very big issue.........that is why I only go for Plasma. But not sure about the new LCD, perhaps this motion blurring as being solved.

That is why I look forward to the comparison between LCD & Plasma. nod.gif
andrewnib
post Nov 8 2009, 11:52 PM

176 posts

I just ordered my Sharp LED TV today... I ordered the model which comes with the BD...
But i got to wait till next month only i can enjoy it...he he ..
Initially just aimed for the normal LCD 42" (A77) ... Even thought i did saw this Sharp's LED TV brochure while i am shopping for my LCD...
I told myself it must be very expensive like those from Sammy so i just forget about the LED TV ... Mana tahu, when i got to know about the price and
saw the picture quality, it is really not bad ... (Don't know yet lah how it really performs .. hopefully it is good) .. 1st reason i buy it is due to the pricing and can actually sees the clarity and contrast difference compared to the normal LCD ...

Cheers...
Andrew
apexg2
post Nov 9 2009, 08:28 AM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

monday oledi...just wait for kevin review..maybe 2morrow...hehe
TSkevinc66
post Nov 9 2009, 12:50 PM

197 posts

Hopefully coming in today. Too bad Sharp is not giving me a display incentive. Otherwise cheaper some more...hehe

Call salesman, comfirm coming in today, can't really wait to test it out.
dynamike
post Nov 9 2009, 01:54 PM

115 posts

hi kevin,so are you going to sell the sharp LED? Please PM the price,best price.....i have a friend interested with the LCD LED...........
TSkevinc66
post Nov 9 2009, 07:55 PM

197 posts

Didn't exactly try out the TV fully yet, Just play a couple of movies, a big notice of deep black rendering definately better than other Sharp model. The black level is black unlike greyish metalic black. Sharp contrast and dynamic color. Almost 3D like and picture are popping out. Tested with Transformer, very sharp and concentrated color though some grainy parts that is not so grainy in other LCDs. Still some slight lagging during scene like helicopter hovering past at fast speed and capturing scene below ground.

Might have some problem with slightly glossy screen. While playing some movies can see some slight reflection. A big lowdown od the audio part. Increases the bass, and during high bass scenes, the speaker sounded like cheap minicompo. Breaking sound. So get prepares for some HTS to match with it.

Hasn't try Astro yet.

My 2 cents.

Lone*Wolf
post Nov 9 2009, 08:13 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Nov 9 2009, 07:55 PM)
sorry, bro, but your spoiler is, err..., spoiled .. tongue.gif
richard912
post Nov 9 2009, 08:45 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

Works fine for me....3 pix in total
de_lasoul
post Nov 9 2009, 08:52 PM

624 posts

Nice, got optical digital output and S video input ler... beats Sammy at connection options....
Vinceyang
post Nov 9 2009, 09:30 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 9 2009, 08:52 PM)
Nice, got optical digital output and S video input ler... beats Sammy at connection options....
So this LCD is better deal than Sammy LED TV? In term of pricing and input/output
iamsobloodysick
post Nov 9 2009, 10:42 PM

2,006 posts

anyone knows the lifespan of the organic LED inside the LCD tv?

PDP panel is claming 100,000 hours
Fluorescent tube backlighted LCD panel is claming 60,000 hours
LED backlighted LCD panel is ...... ?
ar188
post Nov 9 2009, 11:17 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Nov 9 2009, 10:42 PM)
anyone knows the lifespan of the organic LED inside the LCD tv?

PDP panel is claming 100,000 hours
Fluorescent tube backlighted LCD panel is claming 60,000 hours
LED backlighted LCD panel is ...... ?
LED TV dun use organic LED lor..

as mentioned. OLED is real LED TV, samsung's LED TV is using LED backlight...

OLED forms the video images so that;'s a type of LED TV

samsung's version is actually LCD...

so if you are asking what is the yellow phosphor based blue LEDs used to make white color backlight.. I would say much shorter lifespan..

also they tend to change color when they age, as the phosphor degrades... so it may be blueish...

iamsobloodysick
post Nov 9 2009, 11:26 PM

2,006 posts

is Sharp applying OLED or LED backlighted LCD tv?
ronaldjoe
post Nov 9 2009, 11:28 PM

3,569 posts

when it comes to LED noone can 'fight' taukeh ar
too technical for noobie like me doh.gif
ar188
post Nov 9 2009, 11:30 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Nov 9 2009, 11:26 PM)
is Sharp applying OLED or LED backlighted LCD tv?
this series sharp along with samsung LED TV is using phosphor based white LED backlight (fake white, yellow phosphor + blue LED).. less color gamut..

their high end models use R/G/B LED to make white ... more superior color gamut,.. usually cover over 100% of the NTSC range..

This post has been edited by ar188: Nov 9 2009, 11:33 PM
de_lasoul
post Nov 10 2009, 09:53 AM

624 posts

QUOTE(Vinceyang @ Nov 9 2009, 09:30 PM)
So this LCD is better deal than Sammy LED TV? In term of pricing and input/output
Sharp looks like a better deal at the moment. However, Sammy does include free gifts on their "LED" LCD TV such as netbooks, BD player, etc...

On the PQ side, no comments as have yet to seen any. Don't even bother to compare AQ, all flat screens have crap speakers. Worst for the thinner ones.

Was wondering the output connections for the Sharp with integrated BD player... Could they output HDMI to a receiver? Or only optical?

Last, I notice Sharp came up with 40" for this "LED" backlight series, whereelse all their previous models are all 42". As far as I know, only Sammy & Sony produces 40" size. Could Sharp be buying panels from Sammy for this models? whistling.gif
anfieldude
post Nov 10 2009, 09:56 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 10 2009, 09:53 AM)
Sharp looks like a better deal at the moment. However, Sammy does include free gifts on their "LED" LCD TV such as netbooks, BD player, etc...

On the PQ side, no comments as have yet to seen any. Don't even bother to compare AQ, all flat screens have crap speakers. Worst for the thinner ones.

Was wondering the output connections for the Sharp with integrated BD player... Could they output HDMI to a receiver? Or only optical?

Last, I notice Sharp came up with 40" for this "LED" backlight series, whereelse all their previous models are all 42". As far as I know, only Sammy & Sony produces 40" size. Could Sharp be buying panels from Sammy for this models?  whistling.gif
Sharp does not buy panels from anyone as far as I know. Could be the other way around.

Panel sizes depend on plant yields. If you are seeing them move to another size, more likely that they are getting better yields on this size.
de_lasoul
post Nov 10 2009, 09:58 AM

624 posts

yea, makes sense.

Added on November 10, 2009, 9:59 amany displays of these models in Penang? Might make a trip to take a look.

This post has been edited by de_lasoul: Nov 10 2009, 09:59 AM
ronnt88
post Nov 10 2009, 10:01 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 10 2009, 09:58 AM)
yea, makes sense.

Added on November 10, 2009, 9:59 amany displays of these models in Penang? Might make a trip to take a look.
dude.. u r representing pg mah.. u should go survey & share with the rest of us whistling.gif

agreed guys? rclxms.gif
de_lasoul
post Nov 10 2009, 10:06 AM

624 posts

hahaha... u represent Pg... more like it. Only Elites are eligible state representatives

This post has been edited by de_lasoul: Nov 10 2009, 10:07 AM
Dickong
post Nov 10 2009, 10:40 AM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 10 2009, 09:58 AM)
yea, makes sense.

Queenbay mall at harvey norman n senq is displaying this model but pricing is different.
Vinceyang
post Nov 10 2009, 10:47 AM

189 posts

hmm... I tot the top 3 panel manufacturer is Samsung, AUO and Chi Mei... Not??

This post has been edited by Vinceyang: Nov 10 2009, 11:26 AM
nomar
post Nov 10 2009, 12:03 PM

132 posts

Went to look at this tv yesterday at HN thinking of upgrading my 32" Pana lx800 but the screen reflection totally turn me off cause I still have to use it for daily (normal ) viewing .
wackojacko
post Nov 10 2009, 12:04 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(Vinceyang @ Nov 10 2009, 10:47 AM)
hmm... I tot the top 3 panel manufacturer is Samsung, AUO and Chi Mei... Not??
i always tot samsung got their panels from sharp?
TSkevinc66
post Nov 10 2009, 01:11 PM

197 posts

Not a major problem of the reflection. Try to position your LCD out of bright lights...Not as bad as Plasma glass panel.....
ian2000
post Nov 10 2009, 06:10 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Nov 10 2009, 01:11 PM)
Not a major problem of the reflection. Try to position your LCD out of bright lights...Not as bad as Plasma glass panel.....
What's the going rate for this 40" LED LCD? How is this model compared to the Aquos A77 series in terms of picture quality? Almost plunged to get the 46" A77 for about RM5200 last week. Now holding out to see how this new "LED" LCD series from Sharp performs although it's only 40".
TSkevinc66
post Nov 10 2009, 06:59 PM

197 posts

Can't made the comparison because don't have 46A77M here.

de_lasoul
post Nov 10 2009, 07:18 PM

624 posts

Frankly speaking, the A66 & A77 PQ not really that good even comparing with Sammy CCFL LCDs ler....

I did considered the A77 in the beginning... but did not really impress a peasant like me ler..
ar188
post Nov 10 2009, 08:37 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 10 2009, 07:18 PM)
but did not really impress a peasant like me ler..
where you peasant , elite la.... rclxms.gif biggrin.gif
de_lasoul
post Nov 10 2009, 10:25 PM

624 posts

Must own 15" Sub only can be considered elite ler... whistling.gif
ar188
post Nov 10 2009, 10:37 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 10 2009, 10:25 PM)
Must own 15" Sub only can be considered elite ler...  whistling.gif
wah so big ar 15inci? liddat those own normal SVS cannot become elite also? biggrin.gif
ian2000
post Nov 11 2009, 08:52 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 10 2009, 07:18 PM)
Frankly speaking, the A66 & A77 PQ not really that good even comparing with Sammy CCFL LCDs ler....

I did considered the A77 in the beginning... but did not really impress a peasant like me ler..
So you reckon the new LED LCD from Sharp is much better than their A77 series? Ok, with a budget of about 5.5k what would be suitable choices for someone that watches BDs and Astro all the time? Comments would be much appreciated.
TSkevinc66
post Nov 11 2009, 11:21 AM

197 posts

A little bit difficult on the Astro side. Already tested it with Astro....nay just like normal LCD.

If you are playing DVD or Bluray..well no problem.
de_lasoul
post Nov 11 2009, 11:51 AM

624 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 10 2009, 10:37 PM)
wah so big ar 15inci? liddat those own normal SVS cannot become elite also?  biggrin.gif
okok, I take back... 12" and above shall be considered ELITES... with exceptions for SVS users.. they automatically qualify.. rclxms.gif

Added on November 11, 2009, 11:57 am
QUOTE(ian2000 @ Nov 11 2009, 08:52 AM)
So you reckon the new LED LCD from Sharp is much better than their A77 series? Ok, with a budget of about 5.5k what would be suitable choices for someone that watches BDs and Astro all the time? Comments would be much appreciated.
I have not seen the LED series from Sharp yet.. so hard to comment. I will go to QBM somewhere this week to take a look. However, I think the LED series will definitely have better PQ compared to the CCFL due to LED advantages over CCFL. But again, I reckon the LCD panel they apply for the LED "backlight" series are normally better. Sharper images.....

But with the price of RM5.5K for an LED "backlight" LCD (if the PQ as good as Sammy), then you have a good price there. Months back, you need to pay >RM7K for a similar Sammy LED of same size. Furthermore, it is Japanese which many claimed to have better reliabilities.

This post has been edited by de_lasoul: Nov 11 2009, 11:57 AM
wackojacko
post Nov 11 2009, 05:27 PM

207 posts

to be honest, i have seen the Sharp, Samsung and Phillips LED tvs at Harvey Norman in Pavillion and found that the Phillip ones offers the best PQ. Dun quite remember the prices tho as i was mostly window shopping
de_lasoul
post Nov 11 2009, 07:43 PM

624 posts

Philips LED backlight LCD launch dee ah?
ar188
post Nov 11 2009, 08:23 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(wackojacko @ Nov 11 2009, 05:27 PM)
to be honest, i have seen the Sharp, Samsung and Phillips LED tvs at Harvey Norman in Pavillion and found that the Phillip ones offers the best PQ. Dun quite remember the prices tho as i was mostly window shopping
correction.. only samsung has LED Tvs.. the others are not LED tvs.. biggrin.gif
de_lasoul
post Nov 11 2009, 09:20 PM

624 posts

whistling.gif rclxms.gif doh.gif
ar188
post Nov 11 2009, 09:49 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 11 2009, 09:20 PM)
whistling.gif  rclxms.gif  doh.gif
since they insist it's new tech LED TV so just go with (marketing) flow.. biggrin.gif laugh.gif

anyway UK watchdog already sounding samsung for misleading words.. biggrin.gif

de_lasoul
post Nov 11 2009, 09:52 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 11 2009, 09:49 PM)
since they insist it's new tech LED TV so just go with  (marketing) flow..  biggrin.gif  laugh.gif

anyway UK watchdog already sounding samsung for misleading words..  biggrin.gif
yea, i guess it is a matter of time....
ar188
post Nov 11 2009, 10:01 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 11 2009, 09:52 PM)
yea, i guess it is a matter of time....
biggrin.gif kena rotan..

wackojacko
post Nov 12 2009, 01:31 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 11 2009, 08:23 PM)
correction.. only samsung has LED Tvs.. the others are not LED tvs..  biggrin.gif
wats the diff then? as long as its not a CCFL backlight then it should be considered LED TV rite? Or are u referring to OLED which is a different ballgame alltogether?
ar188
post Nov 12 2009, 01:45 PM

9,206 posts

see u also kena misled. To qualify to be led tv the pixels have to be led or a variant like oled. If they are really led tv why still use lcd panel?
As for my comment, was just joking due to samsung insistance of being called led tv

This post has been edited by ar188: Nov 12 2009, 01:47 PM
wackojacko
post Nov 12 2009, 01:51 PM

207 posts

ok makes sense, but i believe its called LED LCD TV and not LED TVs right?

and yea, the panels i guess are the same but the only diff is just the backlight then? Am i right so far?

i believe actual LED and OLED tvs are far too expensive to be manufactured for commercial use still right?
de_lasoul
post Nov 12 2009, 02:17 PM

624 posts

Moral of the Story... do your homework rather than listening to marketing names....

that is why we have this nice forum, where we got so many ELITES to give their reliable and true inputs...
low98944
post Nov 12 2009, 03:33 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 10 2009, 10:25 PM)
Must own 15" Sub only can be considered elite ler...  whistling.gif
No need 15" la. Some 12" already cost more than RM1XX,XXX to 3XX,XXX if not mistaken. tongue.gif That I believe, if you got, you are elite to me. laugh.gif
Dickong
post Nov 12 2009, 09:44 PM

1,689 posts

Just bought The Sharp LED LCD TV for RM5000, RM1 more expensive than Harvey Norman but package with Sharp HDMI cable n Gourmet 10pcs knive chopboard n entitle to buy Panny BD60 for RM500 foc Sharp HDMI cable, any comment on this buy. tq

This post has been edited by Dickong: Nov 12 2009, 09:46 PM
ar188
post Nov 12 2009, 11:17 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 12 2009, 02:17 PM)
Moral of the Story... do your homework rather than listening to marketing names....

that is why we have this nice forum, where we got so many ELITES to give their reliable and true inputs...
and you are one technical sifus in LED process .. notworthy.gif must learn from you more.. thumbup.gif
de_lasoul
post Nov 13 2009, 11:05 AM

624 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Nov 12 2009, 09:44 PM)
Just bought The Sharp LED LCD TV for RM5000, RM1 more expensive than Harvey Norman but package with Sharp HDMI cable n Gourmet 10pcs knive chopboard n entitle to buy Panny BD60 for RM500 foc Sharp HDMI cable, any comment on this buy. tq
U buy dee ler.. asking for comment ar? I also do not dare to give negative comment lar like that..

But anyway, it is a good buy... nod.gif If you do not want the Panny BD60, let me have it.. whistling.gif
formalin
post Nov 13 2009, 05:22 PM

114 posts

Sharp to Introduce New LX Series “LED AQUOS”

Sharp Corporation will introduce into the Japanese market four models (60V-inch, 52V-inch, 46V-inch, and 40V-inch*1) of the LX Series “LED AQUOS” LCD TVs from November 10, 2009. Coming on the verge of 2010, the tenth anniversary of the first AQUOS LCD TVs, this series employs a newly developed LCD panel and an LED backlight.

Further advancements in the LX Series give it both improved image quality and environmental performance. Newly developed panels incorporate Sharp’s proprietary UV2A*2 photo-alignment technology for bright whites and extremely deep blacks; and the LED backlight offers highly precise control of the light output. In addition, the combination of these newly developed panels and the LED backlight gives the LX Series high energy efficiency that results in the industry’s lowest level of energy consumption*3.

The LX Series offers a further evolution in digital image processing performance thanks to Sharp’s AQUOS High-Picture-Quality Master Engine image processing chip for highly precise reproduction of fast-moving images. The new Preferred Image Sensor not only adjusts to the room viewing environment and the on-screen content; it also automatically adjusts image and sound quality to the viewers’ personal preferences. In addition, the new AQUOS Familink II makes it even more convenient to access the relevant functions of peripheral devices and thus easily control them while watching TV.

The LED AQUOS represents the coming-together of Sharp’s years of expertise and knowledge in LED and LCD, along with its vertical integration in which all processes from device development to final product manufacture form a virtuous upward spiral. Since introducing the AQUOS as the TV for the 21st century in January 2001, Sharp has always aimed for the pinnacle of flat-screen TVs. Sharp will release the LED AQUOS globally in an effort to bring a new TV lifestyle to people around the world.
http://sharp-world.com/corporate/news/090929.html
dopp
post Nov 15 2009, 10:11 AM

1,733 posts

good to know more LED option coming
de_lasoul
post Nov 15 2009, 08:10 PM

624 posts

Are the Sharp both models edge or backlighting... anyone can confirm?
TSkevinc66
post Nov 15 2009, 11:42 PM

197 posts

it's located at the back not at the edge like samsung. Comfirmed by sharp.
ar188
post Nov 16 2009, 12:00 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Nov 15 2009, 11:42 PM)
that's good to know.. thumbup.gif
anfieldude
post Nov 16 2009, 09:42 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 15 2009, 08:10 PM)
Are the Sharp both models edge or backlighting... anyone can confirm?
Sharp is not going the edge lighting route I believe.

The Korean manufacturers are really pushing this technology.
iamsobloodysick
post Nov 16 2009, 12:22 PM

2,006 posts

all current LED LCD tv is equipped with the LED at the edge and using mirror to reflect the light to the center.
de_lasoul
post Nov 16 2009, 01:12 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Nov 15 2009, 11:42 PM)
No wonder so thick.... whistling.gif
TSkevinc66
post Nov 16 2009, 01:16 PM

197 posts

Thickness almost like normal LCD, disappointing for a LED LCD TV.
anfieldude
post Nov 16 2009, 01:23 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Nov 16 2009, 01:16 PM)
Thickness almost like normal LCD, disappointing for a LED LCD TV.
There are actually uniformity problems with the edge ligthing based LCDs. When the display becomes larger the centre of the display becomes difficult to illuminate thus making them non uniform in black levels.

Why dissapointment? Is the panel thickness so important to the people who come to ur shop? Whats another 2-3 inches if u r wall mounting? Anyway, I agree some people would favour style over substance, and a lot of people could not care less of image fidelity.
lightning69
post Nov 16 2009, 02:14 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 16 2009, 01:23 PM)
There are actually uniformity problems with the edge ligthing based LCDs. When the display becomes larger the centre of the display becomes difficult to illuminate thus making them non uniform in black levels.

Why dissapointment? Is the panel thickness so important to the people who come to ur shop? Whats another 2-3 inches if u r wall mounting? Anyway, I agree some people would favour style over substance, and a lot of people could not care less of image fidelity.
Fully agreed. I think the thickness thing is just nonsense for tv these days. So what if the tv is world slimmest? I watch my tv by looking at the image from the front of the screen and not from the side so an inch or two extra has absolutely no difference to me. And some more the price of these slim tv is just ridiculous.

ar188
post Nov 16 2009, 02:33 PM

9,206 posts

I tot you were so interested in the samsung LED TV?
Lone*Wolf
post Nov 16 2009, 04:17 PM

1,442 posts

Dun forget, most of us here buy TVs for their 'performance'. Most others will buy a TV based on aesthetics reasons smile.gif
braveheart
post Nov 16 2009, 04:35 PM

208 posts

Not really, more of a mixture of all factors and maybe more.

This post has been edited by braveheart: Nov 16 2009, 04:40 PM
sky heart
post Nov 16 2009, 06:06 PM

71 posts

LG LED-LCD TV also coming to town soon ...

don't know how is the perfomance ?
TSkevinc66
post Nov 16 2009, 07:58 PM

197 posts

That what i am meaning to say. Being super slim is one of the selling points for me. As a user i would definately go for the better PQ and performance rather than style or design.

Heck, i am still using Panasonic 29" tv at home. Excellent PQ with Astro....
ar188
post Nov 16 2009, 08:38 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Nov 16 2009, 07:58 PM)
That what i am meaning to say. Being super slim is one of the selling points for me. As a user i would definately go for the better PQ and performance rather than style or design.

Heck, i am still using Panasonic 29" tv at home. Excellent PQ with Astro....
wah panasonic 29in CRT? that's like 20inches thick? kennot!! you need 1 inch thick LCD TV.. thumbup.gif tongue.gif
de_lasoul
post Nov 16 2009, 08:41 PM

624 posts

no no... the thicker, the better.... thumbup.gif
ronnt88
post Nov 16 2009, 10:48 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 16 2009, 08:41 PM)
no no... the thicker, the better.... thumbup.gif
that's what all my g'friends tell me laugh.gif
ar188
post Nov 17 2009, 12:20 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Nov 16 2009, 10:48 PM)
that's what all my g'friends tell me laugh.gif
usually when people post this kind of thing is to make of for deficiency in something else? hmm.gif

Added on November 17, 2009, 12:20 amcabuts tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Nov 17 2009, 12:20 AM
daijoubu
post Nov 17 2009, 02:10 AM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Nov 16 2009, 12:22 PM)
all current LED LCD tv is equipped with the LED at the edge and using mirror to reflect the light to the center.
By all current, do you mean all current in market minus discontinued, or you mean, ever? Because i recall there are quite a number of direct LED back lighted LCD panels besides edge tongue.gif.

I totally agree with you. But then again, you gotta see the demographics of the buyers. In different coutries, the major purchasing force of LCD tvs differs. While there are some technical, geeky, well versed in the technogical aspects of all LCD related stuffs that buys these tvs, a rising major force is the average housewife, which to them, the first thing they usually want to know, is what size tv fits their decor. Once they got a inch decided, they then proceed to see what design goes well with their home. Nope, PQ is towards the very back of the selection criteria xD. To them, TV is a TV, if can watch show, then its doing its job. Just make sure it looks well in the house.

So yeah, these 'rising force' is gonna sooner or later dilute the PQ of LCD tvs because the manufacturers will then start to put more emphasize on physical form over performance.

Pity huh.
arc_archive
post Nov 17 2009, 04:28 PM

386 posts

Today i had a chance of viewing both samsung n sharp led tv.as always,i had an awe while visualize the vivid color of samsung led.comparable wif sharp,the color not as vivid as samsung but the black is dark enough for me compared wif normal lcd(though,dunno the black much darker than plasma).one thing ive learned today,samsung panel does produce heat if u touch the screen, but sharp didnt produce any heat at all!but 4 me,screen heat wont be much prob as much of my lcd do produce heat at the screen.samsung panel had an edge while playing any 3d or real movies.wut u see on the screen are like real life!while sharp not as much excel on this part.love seeing the FFIIIX trailer on samsung..their movement are so smooth without any frame lagging.as for me,i ought to go for samsung led as i favor color richness and smooth motion..

Thats juz my 2cent..
Dickong
post Nov 20 2009, 04:58 PM

1,689 posts

After having the Sharp led lcd tv for 1 week, i feel Sharp had a better edge than my samsung in term of PQ but appearance wise my samsung win.The samsung plastic side feel solid compare to my sharp. I am comparing between my two 40in Sharp n Samsung. That is my own opion only becos i know a lot of sammy fanatic will say differently.
de_lasoul
post Nov 20 2009, 08:43 PM

624 posts

WAH!! u got 2x LED BACKLIGHTING LCD ah???
anfieldude
post Nov 20 2009, 08:43 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Nov 20 2009, 04:58 PM)
After having the Sharp led lcd tv for 1 week, i feel Sharp had a better edge than my samsung in term of PQ but appearance wise my samsung win.The samsung plastic side feel solid compare to my sharp. I am comparing between my two 40in Sharp n Samsung. That is my own opion only becos i know a lot of sammy fanatic will say differently.
Can you elaborate in what sense it is better in PQ?
ar188
post Nov 20 2009, 08:55 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Nov 20 2009, 08:43 PM)
WAH!! u got 2x LED BACKLIGHTING LCD ah???
if the TV got local dimming with >512 zone RGB LED backlight LCD then only becomes interesting.. if just plain LED backlit LCD.. normal la..
arc_archive
post Nov 20 2009, 09:13 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Nov 20 2009, 04:58 PM)
boss..still remember me??i sold you my ASUS 8800GTS to u last time.. tongue.gif

anyway...why did you said that??as for my viewing between sharp n samsung,i felt that the samsung does a better job when it come to color vividness..as for sharp,it does have a solid color all n all but not as much as vivid as samsung..dunno either the samsung demo unit already being altered the color setting into such mode like "Dynamic"...

anyway...kudos to sharp for it affordable price in its LED LCD TV range... rclxms.gif
Dickong
post Nov 21 2009, 08:04 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(arc_archive @ Nov 20 2009, 09:13 PM)

anyway...why did you said that??as for my viewing between sharp n samsung,i felt that the samsung does a better job when it come to color vividness..as for sharp,it does have a solid color all n all but not as much as vivid as samsung..dunno either the samsung demo unit already being altered the color setting into such mode like "Dynamic"...

anyway...kudos to sharp for it affordable price in its LED LCD TV range...  rclxms.gif
Yes i can still remember u but the 8800gts already gone somewhere long time already. Anyway come back to the topic, as said earlier the review done with my own opnion n setting for color is on standard to standard n not dynamic. Many might not agree becos my eye viewing might not be your liking.The black n white plus color view with 24p blu ray is really sharp n solid. Again that is my own viewing review no hard feeling for sammy fanatic.
squall_12
post Nov 22 2009, 09:18 AM

1,779 posts

wait till samsung b8500 series released in asia then u will get to know the best tv u seen yet which seen to beat all the competitor even sony based on user exprience who purchased it...
arc_archive
post Nov 22 2009, 11:01 PM

386 posts

last time i went to QB Mall, Harman Kardon selling 1 Samsung 9 series...actually a fatter version of LED for RM7K+..if not mistaken,the size would be of 46"...but the price slash only valid for the display unit.. sad.gif
DarkNite
post Nov 23 2009, 07:33 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(arc_archive @ Nov 22 2009, 11:01 PM)
last time i went to QB Mall, Harman Kardon selling 1 Samsung 9 series...actually a fatter version of LED for RM7K+..if not mistaken,the size would be of 46"...but the price slash only valid for the display unit.. sad.gif

QB Mall as in Queensbay Mall in Penang? I couldn't find Harman Kardon shop in Penang.

ronnt88
post Nov 23 2009, 08:12 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Nov 23 2009, 07:33 AM)
QB Mall as in Queensbay Mall in Penang? I couldn't find Harman Kardon shop in Penang.

must be on his next shopping list.. thinking of it so much he can't sleep tongue.gif
arc_archive
post Nov 23 2009, 10:50 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Nov 22 2009, 09:18 AM)
wait till samsung b8500 series released in asia then u will get to know the best tv u seen yet which seen to beat all the competitor even sony based on user exprience who purchased it...
will it be a local dimming LED TV? hmm.gif

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Nov 23 2009, 07:33 AM)
yups...Queensbay Mall..ive been there to view both sharp n samsung..the 9 series they are selling quite intriguing as it is a 46 inches model...but the fact that it is a display model had me
thinking twice.. sweat.gif
ronnt88
post Nov 23 2009, 12:21 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(arc_archive @ Nov 23 2009, 10:50 AM)
will it be a local dimming LED TV?  hmm.gif
yups...Queensbay Mall..ive been there to view both sharp n samsung..the 9 series they are selling quite intriguing as it is a 46 inches model...but the fact that it is a display model had me
thinking twice..  sweat.gif
bro, it's Harvey Norman... not Harman Kardon... i think ur dreaming of HK products too much liao tongue.gif
Vinceyang
post Nov 23 2009, 01:12 PM

189 posts

I love harmon kardon amp... especially logic7 mode.. lol tongue.gif
arc_archive
post Nov 24 2009, 07:52 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Nov 23 2009, 12:21 PM)
bro, it's Harvey Norman... not Harman Kardon... i think ur dreaming of HK products too much liao tongue.gif
Oppsiee!!i might dreaming too much..its harvey norman actually...tongue.gif

Thanks for d correction... tongue.gif
mynewuser
post Nov 28 2009, 10:13 AM

2,549 posts

How much the cheapest price for sharp LB700? (Without Blueray Player attach)

This post has been edited by mynewuser: Nov 28 2009, 10:16 AM
TSkevinc66
post Nov 28 2009, 01:09 PM

197 posts

LC40LE700M without Buray player. RM 4300.00 without freebies.
de_lasoul
post Nov 28 2009, 02:03 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Nov 28 2009, 01:09 PM)
drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
accs_centre
post Nov 28 2009, 02:47 PM

4,840 posts

Saw this LCD last week, the only drawback is its thickness.. sad.gif
ar188
post Nov 28 2009, 03:32 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Nov 28 2009, 02:47 PM)
Saw this LCD last week, the only drawback is its thickness.. sad.gif
if you want thin then backlight performance will be lacking..

you need the LEDs to be located behind the LCD panel, not at the edges of the panel and have to rely on some sheet of light guide to transmit the pseudo white light to the centre (pseudo white light cos they are using white LED rather than RGB LED to make white color , i,e. doesn't have the full spectrum of white )
bsa12
post Nov 28 2009, 05:40 PM

562 posts

was in harvey norman look at LC40LE700M. yes it is quite thick, about an inch. couldn't notice much different on the PQ even it is display side by side with samsung LA46A850S1R. However, one thing i found is the sharp panel was not warm at all, even compare to this samsung.
Dickong
post Nov 28 2009, 06:21 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Nov 28 2009, 01:09 PM)
Are u sure its 4300 without freebies n which shop is selling, i just got it 2 weeks ago for 5k n that is the best i can bargain.

This post has been edited by Dickong: Nov 28 2009, 06:22 PM
mynewuser
post Nov 28 2009, 07:02 PM

2,549 posts

Where can get 4300? Please introduce?
Dickong
post Nov 28 2009, 07:05 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Nov 28 2009, 07:02 PM)
Where can get 4300? Please introduce?
I remember one forunner selling 4700 or 4800 n that is the cheapest n this guy simply say 4300 thats why i am asking where to find.
aneip
post Nov 28 2009, 10:11 PM

2,466 posts

kevin66 is the shop owner.. can order directly from him..
braveheart
post Nov 28 2009, 10:45 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(bsa12 @ Nov 28 2009, 05:40 PM)
was in harvey norman look at LC40LE700M. yes it is quite thick, about an inch. couldn't notice much different on the PQ even it is display side by side with samsung LA46A850S1R. However, one thing i found is the sharp panel was not warm at all, even compare to this samsung.
An inch thick is fantastically thin already. What more could you possibly ask for? I wonder. At such profile you don't even need to think twice for such a low price and real bargain from Japan manufacturer.
Babablacksheep
post Dec 2 2009, 02:06 AM

852 posts

Sharp needs to move to trendy and fashion design to capture young markets.
Why? To show off to friends once they look at it.. LOL
nimrod323
post Dec 2 2009, 11:54 AM

Macster/Gunner\Autobot /Alphaman\
2,664 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Nov 28 2009, 06:21 PM)
Are u sure its 4300 without freebies n which shop is selling, i just got it 2 weeks ago for 5k n that is the best i can bargain.
of course he is sure, he sells the item at that price check his website on his avatar
chinyew
post Dec 7 2009, 12:22 PM

15 posts

So guys. which LED to get?

40" Sharp LE700M (without Bluray)

or

40" Samsung LED B6000

?

How much is Sharp?

Legend at Old Klang Road giving me
the Samsung LED for RM5,600.

I prefer picture quality over everything else.

-chinyew

Budget not more than 6k.
Dickong
post Dec 15 2009, 03:18 PM

1,689 posts

Hi, i was offer by SEC to have a free check or service this coming Wednesday, i wonder why? Got a feeling Sharp led tv is having some problem if not why such service for no reason. Anyone using this tv given this so call free service.
ckl1998
post Dec 19 2009, 12:53 PM

225 posts

Hi, you can check it out the comparison of some other LCD TVs vs this LC40LE700M.

http://reviews.cnet.com/4321-6482_7-6661380.html

Well, if you asked me. in principal, Sharp hold patent for LCD whereas Panasonic for plasma. However, as of today, LCD panel volume wise, Samsung is No. 1 while LG will be taking the 2nd place soon. Thus, it is a Korean world. By the way, Samsung (51%) and Sony (49%) have joint venture forming S-LCD. Both of them taking the LCD panel from there on top of purchasing from other OEM, e.g. Sharp. For plasma, Sharp has bought Pioneer TV (plasma) business segment. Thus, plasma and LCD game are still on.
low98944
post Dec 19 2009, 01:15 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(ckl1998 @ Dec 19 2009, 12:53 PM)
Hi, you can check it out the comparison of some other LCD TVs vs this LC40LE700M.

Well, if you asked me. in principal, Sharp hold patent for LCD whereas Panasonic for plasma. However, as of today, LCD panel volume wise, Samsung is No. 1 while LG will be taking the 2nd place soon. Thus, it is a Korean world. By the way, Samsung (51%) and Sony (49%) have joint venture forming S-LCD. Both of them taking the LCD panel from there on top of purchasing from other OEM, e.g. Sharp. For plasma, Sharp has bought Pioneer TV (plasma) business segment. Thus, plasma and LCD game are still on.
This war will not end until OLED arrive and available to general public on reasonable size at reasonable price.
kelvin
post Dec 19 2009, 02:08 PM

467 posts

Wonder why Sharp not came out 42" LED LCD TV ...
TSkevinc66
post Dec 19 2009, 02:50 PM

197 posts

No idea too about 40" rather 42" LED.
ckl1998
post Dec 19 2009, 10:43 PM

225 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Dec 19 2009, 01:15 PM)
This war will not end until OLED arrive and available to general public on reasonable size at reasonable price.
The game is quite complex. Though Samsumg and Sony have joint venture, leading to S-LCD, Sony on the other hand, also joint venture with Sharp to compete with Samsung. For OLED, though patent is hold by Kodak, Philips, GE and DuPont but in TV segment, it will be again Samsung vs Sony as these are the 2 companies heavily invested and developed OLED TV.
rann
post Dec 21 2009, 05:04 PM

Here said not local dimming:

http://gizmodo.com/5309570/sharp-aquos-le7...e-local-dimming

Which is true? Edge or local dimming?
aneip
post Dec 21 2009, 05:17 PM

2,466 posts

Both nothing to do with this sharp unit.

Edge is the placement of back light.

Local dimming is not the backlight placement..
ar188
post Dec 21 2009, 06:15 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Dec 21 2009, 05:17 PM)
Both nothing to do with this sharp unit.

Edge is the placement of back light.

Local dimming is not the backlight placement..
of course they are related.. how on earth to make local dimming Edge back light?
you can only have local dimming behind the panel not at the edges.. so yes local dimming is backlight placement.. specifically directly behind the LCD panel backlight placement.
cheers! biggrin.gif
rann
post Dec 22 2009, 08:27 AM

Huh? Both nothing to do with this sharp unit? Expert pls clarify...

Local dimming vs edge lit

Edit:
OK, I read the article it said:

A third version is also available, but from only one manufacturer so far. Sharp's LC-LE700UN series uses LED backlights without local dimming that are arranged behind the screen instead of along the edge. In the Sharp's case, the LEDs don't have much on an impact on picture quality.

Does that means the LED doesn't turn off meaning it's on all the times...? There will be no blooming effect, black level will not be that good?

This post has been edited by rann: Dec 22 2009, 08:54 AM
aneip
post Dec 22 2009, 10:30 AM

2,466 posts

Does that means the LED doesn't turn off meaning it's on all the times...?
--> it's dimming as whole not portion.

Reviewer said the only advantage this unit have is better power consumption coz LED used lower power.
ar188
post Dec 22 2009, 10:35 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rann @ Dec 22 2009, 08:27 AM)

Edit:
OK, I read the article it said:
Does that means the LED doesn't turn off meaning it's on all the times...? There will be no blooming effect, black level will not be that good?
I'm sure those LED will be able to control the dimming, except it wont be "local" rather it's "global" or whole panel...
fx_53_xt
post Dec 22 2009, 11:03 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Nov 5 2009, 04:06 PM)

Sony was the first to introduce LED LCD TV. Dated back to as early as 2006/2007, the Bravia X300 series already using LED as backlight. It's just that Sony never bother to market the them as LED TV like samsung did. Even today's X450/XBR/ZX1/ZX5, Sony is still calling them LCD TV.

The ZX5 is real. If i'm not mistaken, this model wont make it to our shore

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Nov 7 2009, 12:39 PM)
har, really?  I tot all Sharps are Made in Japan.  If locally assembled, then I think they need to re-look into their pricing.
QUOTE(syumul @ Nov 7 2009, 07:03 PM)
i goes like this..all the engine for whateva sharp LCD is made in malaysia either in SP or Batu Pahat..only the engine..then this engine been ship out to kateyama(largest factory in the world) for assemble the LCD panel and fully combined..i work for sharp in SP and the LED engine is like hot goreng pisang..this month only sharp SP produce 100K++ unit..huhuhu ot byk..

and yes all other brand buy LCD engine from sharp..sharp the only have the trademark pattern la..sumting like that la..
Sharp is the inventor of liquid crystal display, but never the sole maker of LCD TV or panel. Samsung/LG/Sony have their own plants. Regarding the processor (engine), sony/samsung never bought it from sharp. Get your fact right as a sharp employee.

As for the panel, it is true that Sharp made them all back in Japan, but the TV is assembled in Malaysia. Nowadays most of the TV is made in SEA to avoid heavy taxing.

QUOTE(wackojacko @ Nov 12 2009, 01:51 PM)
ok makes sense, but i believe its called LED LCD TV and not LED TVs right?

and yea, the panels i guess are the same but the only diff is just the backlight then? Am i right so far?

i believe actual LED and OLED tvs are far too expensive to be manufactured for commercial use still right?
Its true that OLED is too expensive to be manufactured. LED (i'm saying semicon LED) on the other hand is cheap to produce, but not suitable for use as pixel matrix in small scale display. that's why they are not used as the display panel in TV.

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Nov 16 2009, 12:22 PM)
Not all. Proper real planted LED arrays has been around for some time, and still there now. Those edge lit LED is not using mirrors. They are using diffusion sheet to diffuse the light, hence different unit of same model TV has different uniformity issue randomly on the screen.

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 20 2009, 08:55 PM)
if the TV got local dimming with >512 zone RGB LED backlight LCD then only becomes interesting..  if just plain LED backlit LCD.. normal la..
afaik, the only TV every landed in malaysia with 512 zones RGB dynamic brightness LED is the Bravia X450 series. Even samsung was using white LED all the way.

QUOTE(arc_archive @ Nov 20 2009, 09:13 PM)

anyway...kudos to sharp for it affordable price in its LED LCD TV range...  rclxms.gif
When comparing LCD TV, do take note that besides the source and setting, environment is also very important. A very brightly lit environment (which shop front isn't nowaydays anyway) will convince your eyes that a BRIGHT display looks brilliant, while home environment often is only moderately lit, which caused different picture quality (at least that's how ur brain interpret it).

That's why glossy screen like the samsung LED TV series always awe the customer during the first impression at shop front.

This post has been edited by fx_53_xt: Dec 22 2009, 11:05 PM
ckl1998
post Dec 23 2009, 08:01 AM

225 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Dec 22 2009, 11:03 PM)
Sharp is the inventor of liquid crystal display, but never the sole maker of LCD TV or panel. Samsung/LG/Sony have their own plants. Regarding the processor (engine), sony/samsung never bought it from sharp. Get your fact right as a sharp employee.
To correct the above. Sharp is not the inventor of LCD. Sharp in 1987 created a TFT LCD module containing 92,160 pixels, the most in the industry, and incorporates it into an LCD color TV. Since then, Sharp hold selected technical patents on the LCD technology.
de_lasoul
post Dec 23 2009, 11:20 AM

624 posts

So, suddenly so many SIFU...
fx_53_xt
post Dec 23 2009, 12:35 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(ckl1998 @ Dec 23 2009, 08:01 AM)
To correct the above. Sharp is not the inventor of LCD. Sharp in 1987 created a TFT LCD module containing 92,160 pixels, the most in the industry, and incorporates it into an LCD color TV. Since then, Sharp hold selected technical patents on the LCD technology.
Thanks for the correction.
Nevertheless, i'm eagerly awaiting for the sharp UV2A panels that uses UV light to twist the LC. rolleyes.gif
yslysl
post Dec 23 2009, 07:17 PM

313 posts

how is the deep black of this new Sharp LED LCD compare to normal LCD and Panny 42S10K? is it better?
what about PQ? is it better too?

This post has been edited by yslysl: Dec 23 2009, 07:26 PM
Eoma
post Dec 27 2009, 01:35 AM

- ,. -
4,603 posts

Just got the LC40LE700M from Harvey Norman, Curve for RM4,999 minus freebies. Arriving this Tuesday. GF gets that, I inherit the 37" LC37A65M. wee.
aneip
post Dec 27 2009, 11:23 AM

2,466 posts

you should get from our forumer here.. 4300-4500 only..
leng2
post Dec 29 2009, 01:18 AM

モデレーター
603 posts

does the LC40LE700M have the motion enhancement feature? i've tried playing around with the tv's setting but i just don't seem to be able to get the anti-judder feature on.
TSkevinc66
post Dec 29 2009, 01:24 AM

197 posts

under Menu-Advanced control.
leng2
post Dec 29 2009, 11:57 AM

モデレーター
603 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Dec 29 2009, 01:24 AM)
under Menu-Advanced control.
what's the name of the option? i only able to try this at the shop so i can't really remember all the menu. the salesperson and i tried all the options, just couldn't get the motion enhancer feature on.

senq is dropping a RM4,2xxk (hdmi & s-video cables freebies) for this model, so guys if you wanna get, this is the time. i need to go try the tv again before purchase this.

edit: just found out that the 40incher doesn't come with the dejudder feature! no wonder i can't find it! READ HERE

This post has been edited by leng2: Dec 29 2009, 11:39 PM
C'va
post Dec 30 2009, 09:03 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(leng2 @ Dec 29 2009, 11:57 AM)
what's the name of the option? i only able to try this at the shop so i can't really remember all the menu. the salesperson and i tried all the options, just couldn't get the motion enhancer feature on.

senq is dropping a RM4,2xxk (hdmi & s-video cables freebies) for this model, so guys if you wanna get, this is the time. i need to go try the tv again before purchase this.

edit: just found out that the 40incher doesn't come with the dejudder feature! no wonder i can't find it! READ HERE
Guys just today I wend to SEC Penang here and the lowest price for sharp LED LC40LE700M is RM4999.00. I almost place the order but still hold it to survey on other outlet. Since senq is dropping RM4,2xxk plus freebies I should get it frm here. As I read all comment here, still confused on which brand to choose. Samsung LED or sharp. Please advice. Thx.

This post has been edited by C'va: Dec 30 2009, 09:04 PM
HW-Racer
post Dec 30 2009, 10:33 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(C'va @ Dec 30 2009, 09:03 PM)
Guys just today I wend to SEC Penang here and the lowest price for sharp LED LC40LE700M is RM4999.00.  I almost place the order but still hold it to survey on other outlet.  Since senq is dropping RM4,2xxk plus freebies I should get it frm here.  As I read all comment here, still confused on which brand to choose.  Samsung LED or sharp.  Please advice.  Thx.
Are you sure RM4,2xx can get a sharp LED model ????????
leng2
post Dec 30 2009, 11:14 PM

モデレーター
603 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Dec 30 2009, 10:33 PM)
Are you sure RM4,2xx can get a sharp LED model ????????
yes, confirm x100! but the promotion is only for the LC40LE700M model only and it's till 31 Dec 2009. But i tell you, it doesn't have the dejudder feature for the 40incher, only the 46" and 50" has it.

Added on December 30, 2009, 11:17 pm
QUOTE(C'va @ Dec 30 2009, 09:03 PM)
Guys just today I wend to SEC Penang here and the lowest price for sharp LED LC40LE700M is RM4999.00.  I almost place the order but still hold it to survey on other outlet.  Since senq is dropping RM4,2xxk plus freebies I should get it frm here.  As I read all comment here, still confused on which brand to choose.  Samsung LED or sharp.  Please advice.  Thx.
if you have the budget, i think samsung led is a good choice. so far the reviews i've read, samsung has quite good feedbacks.

This post has been edited by leng2: Dec 30 2009, 11:17 PM
kelvin
post Dec 31 2009, 08:36 AM

467 posts

QUOTE(leng2 @ Dec 29 2009, 11:57 AM)

Hi, what is dejudder function?
de_lasoul
post Dec 31 2009, 02:10 PM

624 posts

Is it really that bad without the de-judder function?
C'va
post Dec 31 2009, 03:55 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(leng2 @ Dec 30 2009, 11:14 PM)
yes, confirm x100! but the promotion is only for the LC40LE700M model only and it's till 31 Dec 2009. But i tell you, it doesn't have the dejudder feature for the 40incher, only the 46" and 50" has it.

Added on December 30, 2009, 11:17 pm
if you have the budget, i think samsung led is a good choice. so far the reviews i've read, samsung has quite good feedbacks.
OK then I will check the Samsung LED TV. Since this LED TV still new in the market and dunno much about the features as I own panny plasma for quite sometime and the same thing happend during buying the plasma. That time Plasma vs LCD, now Plasma vs LCD vs LED!!!!. Hope Samsung LED TV can impress me as PQ for Sharp LED really good as what I viewed. Thank you very much guys for all the info here.......go to see all sharing, especially about the LCD history related to sharp, panny, samsung and sony...thanks.
mynewuser
post Dec 31 2009, 09:32 PM

2,549 posts

I owner of this LED LCD. Since I had no other LCD to compare, nothing to comment on the PQ.
Any how I think it should depend on the video source. If watch normal TV / ASTRO. All model also same.
C'va
post Jan 1 2010, 01:48 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Dec 31 2009, 09:32 PM)
I owner of this LED LCD. Since I had no other LCD to compare, nothing to comment on the PQ.
Any how I think it should depend on the video source. If watch normal TV / ASTRO. All model also same.
I had placed the order for Samsung LED LCD Series 6 6000 40 inch UA40B6000 with good offer RM5150.00 (NRP RM6999). As I already viewed Sharp PQ, what I can say Samsung PQ much better with vibrant colors. I will get the LED LCD today evening and will check/compare the PQ again with my 42” panasonic plasma.

Today 2010 and it’s my 15th years since I start show interest and start my Home Theater. And still never stop from upgrading my HT. Next I’m planning to upgrade my YAMAHA Amp and will se how the July/August KL International AV will keep the ball rolling.

Last but not least thank you very much for all the comment that posted here. Hope we share more about LED LCD in future.
leng2
post Jan 1 2010, 03:26 PM

モデレーター
603 posts

QUOTE(kelvin @ Dec 31 2009, 08:36 AM)
Hi, what is dejudder function?
a dejudder function is what they call it MotionFlow (Sony), Fine Motion Enhanced (Sharp), Auto Motion Plus (Samsung). it's a kind of feature which nowadays hdtv used to create additional frames in between the original frames in a motion picture. it is for these additional frames, the movie that you see on the screen will appear smoother, no more choppy motion in a fast action scene. go to a store and try out how these dejudder works

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Dec 31 2009, 02:10 PM)
Is it really that bad without the de-judder function?
well, i for one enjoy watching movie judder-less. it's a different of experience. it does make the movie more enjoyable although some may argue that it will spoil the director's original intentions in his/her movie. but i enjoy it smile.gif

soya_sejuk
post Jan 5 2010, 08:54 PM

30 posts

can somebody especially who own this model tv.
any response when u turn on/off the "black level"?
bcoz my tv doesn't any response when i turn it on/off.
plz help ya..

Dickong
post Jan 5 2010, 09:50 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(soya_sejuk @ Jan 5 2010, 08:54 PM)
can somebody especially who own this model tv.
any response when u turn on/off the "black level"?
bcoz my tv doesn't any response when i turn it on/off.
plz help ya..
I own one but i cant understand what u are asking, can u be more specific.
soya_sejuk
post Jan 5 2010, 09:58 PM

30 posts

from the Picture menu, go to "Advanced". then go to "Black Level Expansion Settings".
Anything happen if u turn it on/off?
just wanna confirm my tv are good or not good.
Dickong
post Jan 5 2010, 10:10 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(soya_sejuk @ Jan 5 2010, 09:58 PM)
from the Picture menu, go to "Advanced". then go to "Black Level Expansion Settings".
Will let u know tomorrow becos presently with my sammy tv.
lightning69
post Jan 5 2010, 10:29 PM

2,298 posts

Saw the review of the current Sharp LED LCD tv and the PQ is no improvement over the normal LCD. So is local dimming LED better than the edge lighting LED from samsung? Obviously not. Samsung somehow manage to make better looking egde lighted LED LCD TV that turns head at the showroom.
ar188
post Jan 5 2010, 10:39 PM

9,206 posts

current sharp LED LCD has local dimming??
lightning69
post Jan 5 2010, 10:43 PM

2,298 posts

They are definitely not edge lit...maybe they are just LED backlit no local dimming?
ar188
post Jan 5 2010, 10:53 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jan 5 2010, 10:43 PM)
They are definitely not edge lit...maybe they are just LED backlit no local dimming?
yes they are not edge lit, back lit LED, but not local dimming.. IIRC no way you get local dimming for below 5k local prices..
Dickong
post Jan 6 2010, 07:38 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(soya_sejuk @ Jan 5 2010, 09:58 PM)
I can see some slight different on the black colour, slightly darker compare to off
deejay_krish
post Jan 7 2010, 09:30 AM

You're Just Another Part Of Me
1,022 posts

How reliable is this sharp brand that u wanna spend that much to buy this LED TV?
MonsterJ9
post Jan 7 2010, 04:27 PM

244 posts

How much is the Blu-ray model?

I was quoted RM4700 in Penang.
de_lasoul
post Jan 7 2010, 04:33 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(MonsterJ9 @ Jan 7 2010, 04:27 PM)
How much is the Blu-ray model?

I was quoted RM4700 in Penang.
where?
MonsterJ9
post Jan 7 2010, 04:43 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Jan 7 2010, 04:33 PM)
where?
king wah campbell street
de_lasoul
post Jan 7 2010, 04:49 PM

624 posts

how much do u think we can get for the model without the build in BD player at the same King Wah Campbell Street?

thinking to get this for my dad...
MonsterJ9
post Jan 7 2010, 04:55 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(de_lasoul @ Jan 7 2010, 04:49 PM)
how much do u think we can get for the model without the build in BD player at the same King Wah Campbell Street?

thinking to get this for my dad...
dont knw la..
TSkevinc66
post Jan 7 2010, 06:00 PM

197 posts

At RM 4700 for LC-40LB700M is mighty cheap there.
C'va
post Jan 7 2010, 08:05 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Jan 7 2010, 06:00 PM)
At RM 4700 for LC-40LB700M is mighty cheap there.
It should be without build in bluray....please confirm 1st. The best offer I get for Sharp LED w/o bluray is 4899 at SEC Penang.

Check the picture quality too with Samsung LED TV which I feel more better and the PQ with astro b'yond really excellent.
gocitygo
post Jan 7 2010, 08:19 PM

397 posts

U should try SenQ. Their price is abt RM4.3k (no free gifts)

This post has been edited by gocitygo: Jan 7 2010, 08:20 PM
MonsterJ9
post Jan 7 2010, 08:21 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(C'va @ Jan 7 2010, 08:05 PM)
It should be without build in bluray....please confirm 1st.  The best offer I get for Sharp LED w/o bluray is 4899 at SEC Penang. 

Check the picture quality too with Samsung LED TV which I feel more better and the PQ with astro b'yond really excellent.
its with blu-ray.
C'va
post Jan 7 2010, 08:50 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(MonsterJ9 @ Jan 7 2010, 08:21 PM)
its with blu-ray.
Then u should go for it.....good offer....SenQ I don't thick they give RM4.3K....
Anyway try view the picture quality between Sharp LED and Samsung LED. Sasmsung price a bit higher and w/o BD player. For me I prefer Samsung....but the only thing worry is origin is Korea. But now now days Korea Samsung getting good review in US with winning same awards too.
zweimmk
post Jan 8 2010, 12:54 PM

512 posts

Between the Samsung and the Sharp Unit. I actually think the Sharp unit is sharper than the Samsung LED.

However, the Sharp unit suffers from one critical problem. Some movies will suffer from periodic frame stuttering. It's very brief but very annoying. This problem becomes awfully noticible the moment you turn of motionflow. Motion blurring is not a significant issue for this TV.

The odd thing is I've never been able to figure out why this stuttering happens, and it only happens to certain movies and dvds. Initially I suspected the problem to be due to the AC Ryan media player that was plugged in. Maybe it doesn't have enough processing power and then this problem pops up when I play some DVDs as well on my xbox360. Games do not suffer this problem. When I pop in Inglorious Basterds Blu-ray, there is no such problem as well. Chinese movies such as fearless, dragon tiger gate also do not suffer this problem. So I'm scratching my head right now. Is the stuttering/juddering because file encoding or the way it was filmed or because the unit does not have a powerful enough motionflow engine?
csng
post Jan 8 2010, 01:00 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jan 8 2010, 12:54 PM)
Between the Samsung and the Sharp Unit. I actually think the Sharp unit is sharper than the Samsung LED.

However, the Sharp unit suffers from one critical problem. Some movies will suffer from periodic frame stuttering. It's very brief but very annoying. This problem becomes awfully noticible the moment you turn of motionflow. Motion blurring is not a significant issue for this TV.

The odd thing is I've never been able to figure out why this stuttering happens, and it only happens to certain movies and dvds. Initially I suspected the problem to be due to the AC Ryan media player that was plugged in. Maybe it doesn't have enough processing power and then this problem pops up when I play some DVDs as well on my xbox360. Games do not suffer this problem. When I pop in Inglorious Basterds Blu-ray, there is no such problem as well. Chinese movies such as fearless, dragon tiger gate also do not suffer this problem. So I'm scratching my head right now. Is the stuttering/juddering because file encoding or the way it was filmed or because the unit does not have a powerful enough motionflow engine?
Could it be the problem of upscaling dvd content?
zweimmk
post Jan 8 2010, 01:07 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(csng @ Jan 8 2010, 01:00 PM)
Could it be the problem of upscaling dvd content?
No idea, maybe I'll buy another Blu-ray (Star-Trek) to test it out. If that works flawlessly, then the problem must be isolated to either the upscaling or the processing power of the media player.

csng
post Jan 8 2010, 01:19 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jan 8 2010, 01:07 PM)
No idea, maybe I'll buy another Blu-ray (Star-Trek) to test it out. If that works flawlessly, then the problem must be isolated to either the upscaling or the processing power of the media player.
Can u disable the upscale feature in your lcd and try it out?

Appreciate your input again as this is also one of the led tv in my shopping list.
C'va
post Jan 8 2010, 02:47 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(C'va @ Jan 7 2010, 08:50 PM)
Then u should go for it.....good offer....SenQ I don't thick they give RM4.3K....
Anyway try view the picture quality between Sharp LED and Samsung LED.  Sasmsung price a bit higher and w/o BD player.  For me I prefer Samsung....but the only thing worry is origin is Korea.  But now now days Korea Samsung getting good review in US with winning same awards too.
Same thing I went thru. Though PQ Sharp very good but after read all the posting here, I went and view/compare PQ between Sharp and Samsung. Samsung PQ more crisp and sharp/dynamic. Me too not prefer the Korean brand but after vie the PQ and the features, go for Samsung LED as this is my first Samsung gadget in my home now. Hope no reliability problem!!

This post has been edited by C'va: Jan 8 2010, 03:17 PM
fakey
post Jan 8 2010, 03:15 PM

I am trying to get 1 myself... so...

conclusion = samsung>sharp?
MonsterJ9
post Jan 8 2010, 03:31 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jan 8 2010, 12:54 PM)

Playing 360 on this tv ok ah??
kelvin
post Jan 8 2010, 08:21 PM

467 posts

Just ask the shop locate at Jalan Tengah near Bayan Baru area last night. Without Blue-Ray model sell at RM4500 (no free gifts).

This post has been edited by kelvin: Jan 8 2010, 08:33 PM
lightning69
post Jan 8 2010, 08:52 PM

2,298 posts

The review for the new LED sharp is not very encouraging. On the hand the Samsung LED has got rrave reviews all over the world.

If I would to chose between the 2, i would go for the samsung as i have seen the picture quality and is as good as the plasma.
C'va
post Jan 8 2010, 09:09 PM

88 posts

Yes, agree with you. You guys can read the review whereby US AV expert also give good review. Really hard to make decision between Sharp and Samsung, but after gone thru all the review and personally went shop check the PQ for both, finally choose Samsung. Recommend, if you have enough budget then go for Samsung LED TV 7 series- more features.
hide88
post Jan 9 2010, 12:54 AM

22 posts

Obviously Sharp came out with their 'LED' tv is because they wanna steal the LED market from samsung,
seing how well samsung r doing with their LED tv.
But too bad Sharp has fail so much. Their LED model is incomparable to samsung's LED model in any way.
Only thing it's cheaper but it is because its THICKER n not vry convincing PQ.

One thing we must know tat is, the market for LED tv customers r usually video enthuasist, or rich ppl.
who demands the best quality for any unreasonable price. It is why for this vry reason, Sharp did not release its
46' LED tv in Malaysia. Because when it goes up to 46', its a total loss for Sharp. Customer who buys a 46' LED will
mostly choose Samsung because its different in class is vast. Imagine buying a Sharp LED n ppl comes to ur house
n ask, 'its that a LCD?' 'no, its LED' 'Why is it so FAT? mine is so slim!' Its not something to show off at all, for a rich
person who likes to show off.

While other brands r making their TV slimer, Sharp decided to launch their FAT LED TV.
Bad marketing really

ar188
post Jan 9 2010, 01:03 AM

9,206 posts

must be very naive to think LED TVs are not at the end of the day just LCD.. LOL..

buy 5k TV want to show off to be "rich".. ?? haha!
hide88
post Jan 9 2010, 01:15 AM

22 posts

Tats y sharp only realease their 40' model. Cos their aim is towards medium class user, who wants better quality compared to LCD, for a lower price. And also samsung sells more 46' n 55' led compared to their 40'. Its 2 vry different type of product, Samsung n Sharp LED one is high end, and another is not so vry high end when compared together.

No one really cares LED tv actually using LCD panel. LED tv is the face of samsung now, its something they came out first beating other comepetitors. Meaning they can do it but evryone else cant!

ar188
post Jan 9 2010, 01:21 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(hide88 @ Jan 9 2010, 01:15 AM)
Tats y sharp only realease their 40' model. Cos their aim is towards medium class user, who wants better quality compared to LCD, for a lower price. And also samsung sells more 46' n 55' led compared to their 40'. Its 2 vry different type of product, Samsung n Sharp LED one is high end, and another is not so vry high end when compared together.

No one really cares LED tv actually using LCD panel. LED tv is the face of samsung now, its something they came out first beating other comepetitors. Meaning they can do it but evryone else cant!
the only thing first is calling their LCD TV as LED TV. they are not the first to make LED backlight LCD TV. that is the QUALIA 005 SONY which came out in 2004 and use RGB LEDS. not the inferior white LEDs used in these LED TVs....

obviously you dun know what you talking about.. u sound like some samsung salesman.. biggrin.gif
hide88
post Jan 9 2010, 01:24 AM

22 posts

But they are the first to make edge lighting LED, n realease it with success. Hence its the face of samsung currently, IMHO

I am dealer btw. sry to dissapoint u.
ar188
post Jan 9 2010, 01:27 AM

9,206 posts

edge lighting is only good for thinness,, every one knows direct backlight with local dimming is the best for video quality.. since you dealer, maybe you should know cos samsung 8500 is the best of their range.. and it doesn't use Edge Lighting!! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 9 2010, 01:31 AM
hide88
post Jan 9 2010, 01:32 AM

22 posts

True, but u must know wat type of customer we have in msia.
Backlit LED failed in our market alrdy. It was a good try for sharp to release it again, but dissapointing to be honest.

I think edge light LED is more suitable to sell in Msia. Samsung also has backlit LED, but i think they're smart enough
not releasing it here in Malaysia. LED 9 series if im not mistaken, because got a customer once ask me to order this model brows.gif but i called samsung salesman n he say not available in msia..cant order

This post has been edited by hide88: Jan 9 2010, 01:36 AM
ar188
post Jan 9 2010, 01:45 AM

9,206 posts

dealers making good sales with samsung LED TV now.. tongue.gif got discount ar?
hide88
post Jan 9 2010, 01:50 AM

22 posts

brows.gif drool.gif sure..sharp or samsung also can haha

but this is not sales thread..so pm me if really wan whistling.gif

This post has been edited by hide88: Jan 9 2010, 01:55 AM
zweimmk
post Jan 9 2010, 10:48 AM

512 posts

First of all. Playing games on the Sharp TV is fine. In fact, the xbox360 or PS3 works flawlessly on the set. I have absolutely no issues here at all. Motion blur is still present if you were to nitpick but acceptable.

2nd, after testing the movies again. I do not experience any problems with blu-ray so this problem is very likely due to the upscaling component of the AC Ryan media player or the movie file itself.

PQ wise, I looked at Samsung and I looked at Sharp. At the end of the day, I preferred the Sharp because the Clarity was better to me. In fact, I didn't even bother to read the reviews from various AV sites before doing this purchase. It was after the purchase that I did do the reading and found out about Samsung's better score. Better score or not means nothing, at the end of the day, it's what you prefer.

If I had to do it all over again, I might not have chosen the sharp but I still wouldn't have bought the Samsung LED either. My likely purchase would have gone to LG's new Borderless LED TV which btw, is not yet available in Malaysia.

Btw, if Sharp was really that bad, Sony wouldn't have sign an agreement with them to use their panels. Go google it up.
TSkevinc66
post Jan 9 2010, 12:53 PM

197 posts

Powerful statement here and i seconded that. Buy with your own instinct and preference.
Dickong
post Jan 9 2010, 01:13 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jan 9 2010, 10:48 AM)
First of all. Playing games on the Sharp TV is fine. In fact, the xbox360 or PS3 works flawlessly on the set. I have absolutely no issues here at all. Motion blur is still present if you were to nitpick but acceptable.

2nd, after testing the movies again. I do not experience any problems with blu-ray so this problem is very likely due to the upscaling component of the AC Ryan media player or the movie file itself.

PQ wise, I looked at Samsung and I looked at Sharp. At the end of the day, I preferred the Sharp because the Clarity was better to me. In fact, I didn't even bother to read the reviews from various AV sites before doing this purchase. It was after the purchase that I did do the reading and found out about Samsung's better score. Better score or not means nothing, at the end of the day, it's what you prefer.

If I had to do it all over again, I might not have chosen the sharp but I still wouldn't have bought the Samsung LED either. My likely purchase would have gone to LG's new Borderless LED TV which btw, is not yet available in Malaysia.

Btw, if Sharp was really that bad, Sony wouldn't have sign an agreement with them to use their panels. Go google it up.
I strongly agree with your statement, buy what u like n not the review, becos i have another sammy n if u ask me, i still prefer sharp.
csng
post Jan 9 2010, 02:19 PM

106 posts

I've looked at some place in shopping malls around kl/selangor.

However, its really difficult to judge since they are using different content to show in each different units(samsung showing 1 content linking to all samsung lcds while toshiba showing toshiba content in thoshina lcds..)

I'm looking for a place that shows off the same content in the Sharp and Samsung LED TV sitting side by side.

Anyone know of such a place?

accs_centre
post Jan 9 2010, 06:33 PM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(hide88 @ Jan 9 2010, 12:54 AM)
Obviously Sharp came out with their 'LED' tv is because they wanna steal the LED market from samsung,
seing how well samsung r doing with their LED tv.
But too bad Sharp has fail so much. Their LED model is incomparable to samsung's LED model in any way.
Only thing it's cheaper but it is because its THICKER n not vry convincing PQ.

One thing we must know tat is, the market for LED tv customers r usually video enthuasist, or rich ppl.
who demands the best quality for any unreasonable price. It is why for this vry reason, Sharp did not release its
46' LED tv in Malaysia. Because when it goes up to 46', its a total loss for Sharp. Customer who buys a 46' LED will
mostly choose Samsung because its different in class is vast. Imagine buying a Sharp LED n ppl comes to ur house
n ask, 'its that a LCD?' 'no, its LED' 'Why is it so FAT? mine is so slim!' Its not something to show off at all, for a rich
person who likes to show off.

While other brands r making their TV slimer, Sharp decided to launch their FAT LED TV.
Bad marketing really
Do u really know Why Sharp LED is fat?
Dickong
post Jan 9 2010, 07:26 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Jan 9 2010, 06:33 PM)
Do u really know Why Sharp LED is fat?
Becos he doesnt know how is full array led is been constructed, n say Sharp is bad at marketing. He only know better on Sammy.
mynewuser
post Jan 9 2010, 07:36 PM

2,549 posts

Sharp bet samsung when come to heat. The tv still feel cool even on whole day.
Dickong
post Jan 9 2010, 08:07 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Jan 9 2010, 07:36 PM)
Sharp bet samsung when come to heat. The tv still feel cool even on whole day.
Not only beat sammy by heat but by power usage, thats why its cooler
C'va
post Jan 9 2010, 11:56 PM

88 posts

3D TV is very hot in US now day which due to release for marketing in Q2 2010. As of January 2010, Toshiba, Samsung, Sony, Panasonic, and LG all had plans to introduce 3D capabilities (mostly in higher-end models) in TVs available sometime in 2010. 3D Blu-Ray players and DirectTV broadcasts are also expected in 2010. Philips is developing 3D television sets available for the consumer market by about 2011 without the need for special glasses. Worth for wait as you will have the latest technology but make sure you have big budget too. Initiall launch will see the price really high and will subsequently lower after 2 years.

This post has been edited by C'va: Jan 9 2010, 11:56 PM
zweimmk
post Jan 11 2010, 08:00 AM

512 posts

Ok, I just installed a home theater system around my Sharp.
Denon AVR 1910 amplifier
Audio Pro Black Pearl 5.1 speakers + subwoofer set.

Result: Beautiful sound and picture.

I had some problem initially when the TV gave a message of incompatible audio received, but easily resolved once you set the TV volume down to zero and the message disappears. It's a minor bug in all of Sharp TV panels but nothing to get worked up over.

The movie picture stuttering is pretty much gone so it's definitely either due to the upscaling or improper caliberation of the movie viewing settings. Either way, I'm really pleased with the picture output.
MR_alien
post Jan 14 2010, 02:18 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

want to ask
how long is the warranty for sharp TV
1 year?
and the 46" A77 is so expensive in sabah (sen heng) = RM65XX
it's more expensive than the LED one which is RM5999 plus free stuff
the 42" A66 is RM4999...why is it so expensive?

Dickong
post Jan 14 2010, 03:02 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jan 11 2010, 08:00 AM)
Denon AVR 1910 amplifier

I had some problem initially when the TV gave a message of incompatible audio received, but easily resolved once you set the TV volume down to zero and the message disappears. It's a minor bug in all of Sharp TV panels but nothing to get worked up over.

The movie picture stuttering is pretty much gone so it's definitely either due to the upscaling or improper caliberation of the movie viewing settings. Either way, I'm really pleased with the picture output.
Bro, do u encounter this problem when u off the tv with the HT on the sound of the HT switch off, but if tv put on stand by the HT sound still there.
de_lasoul
post Jan 14 2010, 06:09 PM

624 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Jan 11 2010, 08:00 AM)
Denon AVR 1910 amplifier

Bro, how much u got for the Audio Pro Pearl 5.1 and subwoofer?

Added on January 14, 2010, 6:10 pmAny pictures?

This post has been edited by de_lasoul: Jan 14 2010, 06:10 PM
pigfile
post Jan 19 2010, 03:50 PM

I'm already buy Sharp LC40LE700M yesterday cost RM 4250, FOC HDMI Cable, Towel, and 1 etc
SQL INJECTION
post Jan 19 2010, 03:53 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Nov 5 2009, 04:06 PM)

ko tunggu sony nak released LED 3DTV icon_rolleyes.gif
andytan18
post Jan 19 2010, 04:14 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(pigfile @ Jan 19 2010, 03:50 PM)
I'm already buy Sharp LC40LE700M yesterday cost RM 4250, FOC HDMI Cable, Towel, and 1 etc
mind to share where you bought it from?

Added on January 19, 2010, 4:16 pm
mind to share where you bought it from?

This post has been edited by andytan18: Jan 19 2010, 04:16 PM
zweimmk
post Jan 20 2010, 01:55 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Jan 14 2010, 03:02 PM)
Bro, do u encounter this problem when u off the tv with the HT on the sound of the HT switch off, but if tv put on stand by the HT sound still there.
Hmmm, no - I don't experience any of the problem that you have.

de_lasoul

I got my set c/w with the AMP and QED cables for RM8420 inclusive of installation etc.
darenlks
post Jan 20 2010, 03:11 PM

639 posts

wow......this thread has become war zone between Sharp vs Samsung doh.gif
pigfile
post Jan 27 2010, 09:12 AM

Venue: 黄电器, Serdang, Jalan Besar
rstusa
post Jan 27 2010, 09:49 AM

1,798 posts

As i know, LED TV got 2 types, Dynamic RGB LEDs and white Edge-LEDs. The Sharp & Samsung are using white Edge-LEDs? Dynamic RGB LEDs should be consider in less power consumption. So far any Dynamic RGB LEDs TV selling in Malaysia?
fx_53_xt
post Jan 27 2010, 10:19 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Jan 27 2010, 09:49 AM)
As i know, LED TV got 2 types, Dynamic RGB LEDs and white Edge-LEDs. The Sharp & Samsung are using white Edge-LEDs? Dynamic RGB LEDs should be consider in less power consumption. So far any Dynamic RGB LEDs TV selling in Malaysia?
Sharp is full screen white LED, not edge.
The only dynamic RGB LED available in M'sia is the Bravia X450 series.
rstusa
post Jan 27 2010, 10:25 AM

1,798 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Jan 27 2010, 11:19 AM)
Sharp is full screen white LED, not edge.
The only dynamic RGB LED available in M'sia is the Bravia X450 series.
I'm confusing by this 2 types, which one have the more advanced technology or better in image quality? So if I'm looking to buy an LED TV, either white LED or dynamic RGB?
Dickong
post Jan 27 2010, 11:02 AM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Jan 27 2010, 10:25 AM)
I'm confusing by this 2 types, which one have the more advanced technology or better in image quality? So if I'm looking to buy an LED TV, either white LED or dynamic RGB?
The RGB led cost u a bomb, so if u have the budget go for it, if not white led is good enough.
ar188
post Jan 27 2010, 11:06 AM

9,206 posts

dynamic or RGB LED is better.. if you don't mind the cost..

now latest model even have 4 colors, not just RGB
fx_53_xt
post Jan 27 2010, 12:05 PM

2,048 posts

of course dynamic RGB is better, but as dickong mentioned, it cost a bomb.

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 27 2010, 11:06 AM)
dynamic or RGB LED is better.. if you don't mind the cost..

now latest model even have 4 colors, not just RGB
what is the 4th color?
ar188
post Jan 27 2010, 12:06 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Jan 27 2010, 12:05 PM)
what is the 4th color?
SHARP® EXPANDS THE LCD COLOR GAMUT WITH A GROUNDBREAKING TECHNOLOGY IN THREE NEWLY DESIGNED AQUOS® LED LCD TV SERIES

• Revolutionary four-primary-color technology enables more than one trillion colors

• Three UltraBrilliant Edge-lit AQUOS LED LCD TV Series with sizes ranging from 40- (40" diagonal) to an industry-first 68-inch (68 1/32" diagonal) screen class

• Newly developed dramatic, contemporary design sets the standard

• Flagship LE920 Series offers AquoMotion 240 for clearer fast-moving video

• AQUOS Net™ adds streaming video for enhanced home theater enjoyment

LAS VEGAS, January 6, 2010 – Sharp unveils three new AQUOS LED LCD TV series, breaking new ground in LCD technology and design. Premiering in the U.S. in early 2010, this next-generation set of UltraBrilliant Edge-lit AQUOS LED LCD TVs unveils a revolutionary technology, introducing never-before-seen colors to the TV industry. Unveiled by the company at the 2010 International Consumer Electronics Show (CES), Sharp's proprietary four-primary-color technology enables more than a trillion colors to be displayed for more sparkling golds, Caribbean blues and sunflower yellows.
"As a pioneer in the LCD industry, Sharp continues to advance the technology, introducing it's first LED-backlight LCD TV on the market less than two years ago and paving the way for larger screen sizes, thin designs and Internet connectivity," said Mikio Katayama, president and chief operating officer, Sharp Corporation. "We have changed the way an LCD TV produces an image with the new four-primary-color technology, allowing us to broaden the visual experience and immerse consumers in a new world of color."

Four Primary Color Technology
This four-primary-color display employs a four-color filter, for the first time in the industry, that adds the color Y (yellow) to the three colors of R (red), G (green), and B (blue). This combination expands the color gamut, faithfully rendering nearly all colors that can be discerned with the unaided human eye. Four-primary-color technology enables the display to reproduce colors that have been difficult to portray using conventional LCD displays, such as the golden yellow color of brass instruments.
When combined with Sharp's 1080p X-Gen LCD panel, which incorporates UV2A Technology, the displays offer dramatic reduction in energy consumption compared to conventional fluorescent-backlight LCD TVs.
Continuing Sharp's history of innovation and originality, the new AQUOS LEDs offer a stunning new contemporary design that pushes the envelope for flat-screen television artistry. At only 1.6-inches thin, the full-front panel glass (on the LE920 and LE820 series) extends to meet the slim border for a subtle edge that befits the elegance of a modern home theater.
These advanced AQUOS LED LCD TVs also include Sharp's newest version of AQUOS Net, which delivers streaming video with Netflix®. AQUOS Net gives users instant access to customized Web-based content as well as AQUOS Advantage Live real-time customer support. The new AQUOS LED LCD TV product lines are all compliant with Energy Star® Version 4.0 standards which become effective in May 2010 and are equipped with Sharp's OPC function that automatically adjusts the unit's brightness based on the lighting of the room.

rstusa
post Jan 27 2010, 12:11 PM

1,798 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Jan 27 2010, 01:05 PM)
what is the 4th color?
Do computer LCD with the function of LED?
ronnt88
post Jan 27 2010, 12:13 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Jan 27 2010, 12:11 PM)
no i don't think so... handphones yes
ar188
post Jan 27 2010, 12:14 PM

9,206 posts

yes, now start to have more LCD monitor with LED backlights.. infact laptops are leading the sales in these LED LCD screens..
fx_53_xt
post Jan 27 2010, 12:17 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 27 2010, 12:06 PM)
SHARP® EXPANDS THE LCD COLOR GAMUT WITH A GROUNDBREAKING TECHNOLOGY IN THREE NEWLY DESIGNED AQUOS® LED LCD TV SERIES

• Revolutionary four-primary-color technology enables more than one trillion colors

• Three UltraBrilliant Edge-lit AQUOS LED LCD TV Series with sizes ranging from 40- (40" diagonal) to an industry-first 68-inch (68 1/32" diagonal) screen class

• Newly developed dramatic, contemporary design sets the standard

• Flagship LE920 Series offers AquoMotion 240 for clearer fast-moving video

• AQUOS Net™ adds streaming video for enhanced home theater enjoyment

LAS VEGAS, January 6, 2010 – Sharp unveils three new AQUOS LED LCD TV series, breaking new ground in LCD technology and design. Premiering in the U.S. in early 2010, this next-generation set of UltraBrilliant Edge-lit AQUOS LED LCD TVs unveils a revolutionary technology, introducing never-before-seen colors to the TV industry. Unveiled by the company at the 2010 International Consumer Electronics Show (CES), Sharp's proprietary four-primary-color technology enables more than a trillion colors to be displayed for more sparkling golds, Caribbean blues and sunflower yellows.
"As a pioneer in the LCD industry, Sharp continues to advance the technology, introducing it's first LED-backlight LCD TV on the market less than two years ago and paving the way for larger screen sizes, thin designs and Internet connectivity," said Mikio Katayama, president and chief operating officer, Sharp Corporation. "We have changed the way an LCD TV produces an image with the new four-primary-color technology, allowing us to broaden the visual experience and immerse consumers in a new world of color."

Four Primary Color Technology
This four-primary-color display employs a four-color filter, for the first time in the industry, that adds the color Y (yellow) to the three colors of R (red), G (green), and B (blue). This combination expands the color gamut, faithfully rendering nearly all colors that can be discerned with the unaided human eye. Four-primary-color technology enables the display to reproduce colors that have been difficult to portray using conventional LCD displays, such as the golden yellow color of brass instruments.
When combined with Sharp's 1080p X-Gen LCD panel, which incorporates UV2A Technology, the displays offer dramatic reduction in energy consumption compared to conventional fluorescent-backlight LCD TVs.
Continuing Sharp's history of innovation and originality, the new AQUOS LEDs offer a stunning new contemporary design that pushes the envelope for flat-screen television artistry. At only 1.6-inches thin, the full-front panel glass (on the LE920 and LE820 series) extends to meet the slim border for a subtle edge that befits the elegance of a modern home theater.
These advanced AQUOS LED LCD TVs also include Sharp's newest version of AQUOS Net, which delivers streaming video with Netflix®. AQUOS Net gives users instant access to customized Web-based content as well as AQUOS Advantage Live real-time customer support. The new AQUOS LED LCD TV product lines are all compliant with Energy Star® Version 4.0 standards which become effective in May 2010 and are equipped with Sharp's OPC function that automatically adjusts the unit's brightness based on the lighting of the room.

that's 4 color filter, not 4 color LED. doh.gif the TV in this article is still white LED based since it is edge-lit.

yes
ar188
post Jan 27 2010, 12:31 PM

9,206 posts

ops.. tongue.gif
isma45
post Jan 27 2010, 12:35 PM

- rocking the highway -
582 posts

this tv is the best led tv or what?
accs_centre
post Jan 27 2010, 01:17 PM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jan 27 2010, 12:13 PM)
no i don't think so... handphones yes
Samsung has started to sell its LED backlit 23" LCD Monitor for Malaysian market..XL2370
ar188
post Jan 27 2010, 01:20 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Jan 27 2010, 01:17 PM)
Samsung has started to sell its LED backlit 23" LCD Monitor for Malaysian market..XL2370
even dell got biggrin.gif
rstusa
post Jan 27 2010, 02:50 PM

1,798 posts

Actually computer LCD better in graphics or LCD TV?
isma45
post Jan 27 2010, 03:17 PM

- rocking the highway -
582 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Jan 27 2010, 02:50 PM)
but the setting is not same aite??

sory if im wrong..noob here tongue.gif
de_lasoul
post Jan 27 2010, 04:06 PM

624 posts

All laptops had started to adopt backlit LED for their LCD since it influences the battery life.

marky
post Jan 27 2010, 04:08 PM

xoxo
893 posts

extra 1k from a77m makes it really hard to choose!
fx_53_xt
post Jan 27 2010, 05:38 PM

2,048 posts

LCD monitor emphasize more for static picture and text etc.
LCD TV emphasize more on video.
ar188
post Jan 27 2010, 06:57 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Jan 27 2010, 05:38 PM)
LCD monitor emphasize more for static picture and text etc.
LCD TV emphasize more on video.
nope, liddat PC computer games must use TV to play? hmm.gif

LCD monitor got high end and cheapo low end resolution and panels IPS/TN LED/CCFL backlight, 2ms/4ms etc... so too general to say..

some go up to 2560x1600 rez also...even more hi def than LCD 1080p TVs..

fx_53_xt
post Jan 27 2010, 08:23 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 27 2010, 06:57 PM)
nope, liddat PC computer games must use TV to play?  hmm.gif

LCD monitor got high end and cheapo low end resolution and panels IPS/TN LED/CCFL backlight, 2ms/4ms  etc... so too general to say.. 

Computer games is CG, not video. There's no noise problem to take care of, the upscaling, resolution matching, frame rate is all taken care by graphic card.

LCD monitor regardless of high or low end, IPS, TN or VA panel, there will be none video processor built in, unlike HDTV.

Resolution as high as 2560 x 1600 will not do any good to TV in such a small size, heck you wont even notice the extra pixel. But for graphic usage, text reading, you'll highly appreciate that extra bit of pixels.
ar188
post Jan 27 2010, 10:17 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Jan 27 2010, 08:23 PM)
Computer games is CG, not video. There's no noise problem to take care of, the upscaling, resolution matching, frame rate is all taken care by graphic card.

LCD monitor regardless of high or low end, IPS, TN or VA panel, there will be none video processor built in, unlike HDTV.

Resolution as high as 2560 x 1600 will not do any good to TV in such a small size, heck you wont even notice the extra pixel. But for graphic usage, text reading, you'll highly appreciate that extra bit of pixels.
the way you say as though I can't get a 24inch FULL HD LCD monitor and plug to my 1080p Media player via HDMI..

you are generalizing other people's usage..
rstusa
post Jan 28 2010, 08:21 AM

1,798 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 27 2010, 07:57 PM)
nope, liddat PC computer games must use TV to play?  hmm.gif

LCD monitor got high end and cheapo low end resolution and panels IPS/TN LED/CCFL backlight, 2ms/4ms  etc... so too general to say.. 

If you said LCD monitor more high definition than LCD TV 1080p, then why we watch blue ray or DVD in LCD TV look more sharper than LCD monitor?
ar188
post Jan 28 2010, 08:53 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Jan 28 2010, 08:21 AM)
If you said LCD monitor more high definition than LCD TV 1080p, then why we watch blue ray or DVD in LCD TV look more sharper than LCD monitor?
I SAID IT"S TOO GENERAL TO SAY.
COS TOO MANY MODELS LCD MONITOR VS LCD TV TO ASSUME UNDER A GENERAL STATEMENT ON WHICH IS BETTER.

understand?? smile.gif

Added on January 28, 2010, 8:58 ambesides are you refering to a 30inch 2560x1600 LCD top of the range LCD monitor vs your normal 42inch LCD TV?

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 28 2010, 08:58 AM
anfieldude
post Jan 28 2010, 09:48 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 28 2010, 08:53 AM)
I SAID IT"S TOO GENERAL TO SAY.
COS TOO MANY MODELS LCD MONITOR VS LCD TV TO ASSUME UNDER A GENERAL STATEMENT ON WHICH IS BETTER.

understand??  smile.gif

Added on January 28, 2010, 8:58 ambesides are you refering to a 30inch 2560x1600 LCD top of the range LCD monitor vs your normal 42inch LCD TV?
Careful, a guy with wierd english grammar could now come in ask u to go for anger management class. BTW, that guys has not shown up in a long time...
ar188
post Jan 28 2010, 10:28 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 28 2010, 09:48 AM)
Careful, a guy with wierd english grammar could now come in ask u to go for anger management class. BTW, that guys has not shown up in a long time...
when going for that special class? I come look see look see.. biggrin.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Jan 28 2010, 10:45 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 28 2010, 09:48 AM)

i see you are out of anger rehab oledie tongue.gif
fx_53_xt
post Jan 28 2010, 12:49 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 27 2010, 10:17 PM)
the way you say as though I can't get a 24inch FULL HD LCD monitor and plug to my 1080p Media player via HDMI..

you are generalizing other people's usage..
yes you can, but u lose all the video enhancement goodies u could get from a TV. Noise reduction, double/quadruple frame interpolation, black frame insertion, black corrector, color/contrast management from frame to frame, MPEG artefact reduction, all via onboard video processor. Name me one LCD Monitor that has at least 1 of these features built in.

I'm just telling what those device are designed to do the best job. No one says u cant use a kancil to pull a caravan. It's just that they are not designed to do so and the result wont be ideal.
ar188
post Jan 28 2010, 03:00 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Jan 28 2010, 12:49 PM)
yes you can, but u lose all the video enhancement goodies u could get from a TV. Noise reduction, double/quadruple frame interpolation, black frame insertion, black corrector, color/contrast management from frame to frame, MPEG artefact reduction, all via onboard video processor. Name me one LCD Monitor that has at least 1 of these features built in.

I'm just telling what those device are designed to do the best job. No one says u cant use a kancil to pull a caravan. It's just that they are not designed to do so and the result wont be ideal.
if you want to get ideal best results from a TV, you won't be using a LCD TV.. u be heading the way of plasma.. name me which LCD which has better PQ than the best plasma?

Added on January 28, 2010, 3:03 pm
QUOTE(fx_53_xt @ Jan 28 2010, 12:49 PM)
Noise reduction, double/quadruple frame interpolation, black frame insertion, black corrector, color/contrast management from frame to frame, MPEG artefact reduction, all via onboard video processor. Name me one LCD Monitor that has at least 1 of these features built in.
anyway my 19inch LCD Monitor from 3years ago has that TV input and can do color/contrast, got builtin speaker...
so again you are generalizing... although not exactly videophile quality, but it's there.. so please dun assume there is a very distinct line between LCD TV and LCD monitor..

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 28 2010, 03:15 PM
apexg2
post Jan 28 2010, 03:08 PM

Lotus F1 Fans..haha
1,241 posts

long live plasma....im always choose plasma even got burn in problem...haha
darenlks
post Jan 28 2010, 04:11 PM

639 posts

PQ is very subjective to individual as there is no standard measurement on PQ but in the eyes of the beholder, so isn't it generalising on the PQ ? whistling.gif
anfieldude
post Jan 28 2010, 04:26 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(darenlks @ Jan 28 2010, 04:11 PM)
PQ is very subjective to individual as there is no standard measurement on PQ but in the eyes of the beholder, so isn't it generalising on the PQ ?  whistling.gif
Actually, PQ has standard measurements (ie, black levels, peak white, greyscale, gamma/luminance, colour (CIE chart)). Sharpness does not have measurement, but it is definable. Also the viewing environment has general guidelines (see SMPTE). Whether u like it or not is different. The standards exist for different encodes ie, Rec709 for HD, PAL and NTSC for SD.

Its AQ that is subjective.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Jan 28 2010, 04:51 PM
darenlks
post Jan 28 2010, 04:53 PM

639 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 28 2010, 04:26 PM)
Actually, PQ has standard measurements (ie, greyscale, gamma/luminance, colour (CIE chart)). Sharpness does not have measurement, but it is definable. Also the viewing environment has general guidelines (see SMPTE). Whether u like it or not is different. The standards exist for different encodes ie, Rec709 for HD, PAL and NTSC for SD.

Its AQ that is subjective.
Agreed that there is measurement if breakdown into individual component level like waht you mentioned above but talking about PQ which is a generic term for everyone to describe the end result of a display on the tv screen, it tends to be varying from one to another. So end users like us will have a different preference and judgement on the PQ and this is why all the TVs has provided the user menu to allow the tweaking on the settings until they are happy with PQ rolleyes.gif

anfieldude
post Jan 28 2010, 04:56 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(darenlks @ Jan 28 2010, 04:53 PM)
Agreed that there is measurement if breakdown into individual component level like waht you mentioned above but talking about PQ which is a generic term for everyone to describe the end result of a display on the tv screen, it tends to be varying from one to another. So end users like us will have a different preference and judgement on the PQ and this is why all the TVs has provided the user menu to allow the tweaking on the settings until they are happy with PQ  rolleyes.gif
True, there are standards and there are standards. Having a display calibrated to a standard, ensures that the director's intent is preserved and u r watching what he intended. However, there is no rule that u need to like it that way, u can adjust ur set any way u want...it is ur set!
ar188
post Jan 28 2010, 05:18 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 28 2010, 04:56 PM)
True, there are standards and there are standards. Having a display calibrated to a standard, ensures that the director's intent is preserved and u r watching what he intended. However, there is no rule that u need to like it that way, u can adjust ur set any way u want...it is ur set!
who knows maybe some people like incorrectly flag "vibrant" HD video fed into Sigma chipset.. biggrin.gif
fx_53_xt
post Feb 3 2010, 02:06 PM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 28 2010, 03:00 PM)
if you want to get ideal best results from a TV, you won't be using a LCD TV.. u be heading the way of plasma.. name me which LCD which has better PQ than the best plasma?

Added on January 28, 2010, 3:03 pm

anyway my 19inch LCD Monitor from 3years ago has that TV input and can do color/contrast, got builtin speaker...
so again you are generalizing... although not exactly videophile quality, but it's there.. so please dun assume there is a very distinct line between LCD TV and LCD monitor..
err, how bout bravia X450 that is once rated almost on par with pioneer kuro?
does ur "best result from a TV" includes maintainence factor?
does randomly happens IR even on latest plasma TV considered as one of the "best result"?

There's no "best" in AV, there's only "optimal" for different usage and different people.

wait, i might be wrong. I'm generalizing. The next time you go on a display shopping, go get a LCD monitor to connect to ur TV channels and get a LCD TV for ur regular PC usage.

Happy ending.
cyanide
post Feb 3 2010, 02:45 PM

193 posts

IPS panel is ???

different from CCFL backlight?

C'va
post Feb 3 2010, 08:10 PM

88 posts

What ever it is, currently LED TV which use LED as a back lite is best interm of PQ compare to normal LCD and plasma. The real LED TV will out sooner or later, but will cost u ver high as whar plasma cost on initiall launch. My advice, go and view yourself the PQ between plasma, LCD and LED TV. I prefer Samsung 7 series LED LCD.
rstusa
post Feb 3 2010, 09:02 PM

1,798 posts

QUOTE(C'va @ Feb 3 2010, 09:10 PM)
What ever it is, currently LED TV which use LED as a back lite is best interm of PQ compare to normal LCD and plasma.  The real LED TV will out sooner or later, but will cost u ver high as whar plasma cost on initiall launch.  My advice, go and view yourself the PQ between plasma, LCD and LED TV.  I prefer Samsung 7 series LED LCD.
Why Samsung 7 series nor the 6 or 8 series?

This post has been edited by rstusa: Feb 3 2010, 09:05 PM
z3171600
post Feb 3 2010, 10:11 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Feb 3 2010, 09:02 PM)
Why Samsung 7 series nor the 6 or 8 series?
Probably the best bang for buck without compromising too much quality/feature? I agree that you have to view/test whatever item you want to buy, but for LED(LCD) TV, honestly the price is still too expensive. I shudder at the thought of spending RM10k on this piece of electronic. Someone mentioned some time ago that come April, new generation LED TV will be more cheaper. Hopefully he was telling the truth.
rstusa
post Feb 3 2010, 10:22 PM

1,798 posts

I saw samsung website about the LED TV, it seems got a software like windows media center, is it we can do online internet on the TV?
C'va
post Feb 3 2010, 10:56 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(rstusa @ Feb 3 2010, 10:22 PM)
I saw samsung website about the LED TV, it seems got a software like windows media center, is it we can do online internet on the TV?
Yes, you are right. Samsung LED TV 7 series with wi-fi which able to online internet. I go for 7 series b'coz more features then 6 series. As this LED TV (not real LED) still new in the market, so the prize till high. For the brand you need go and check the PQ then you know the diferences, Example Samsung more slim and the PQ better then Sharp LED. Actually I not prefer Samsung brand. I more prefer Japanese brand, but since I the PQ more better then other brand like Sharp and LG, I go for it. This my first Samsung brand appliance in my home.

Added on February 3, 2010, 11:06 pm
The latest Apple Mac Book or iMac display are LED backlit. Same as TV...you need go and view the display quality by yourself....For the the Mac product the display totaly diffrent from others.. and with LED backlit its really amaz..

This post has been edited by C'va: Feb 3 2010, 11:06 PM
rstusa
post Feb 3 2010, 11:52 PM

1,798 posts

QUOTE(C'va @ Feb 3 2010, 11:56 PM)
Yes, you are right.  Samsung LED TV 7 series with wi-fi which able to online internet.  I go for 7 series b'coz more features then 6 series.  As this LED TV (not real LED) still new in the market, so the prize till high.  For the brand you need go and check the PQ then you know the diferences, Example Samsung more slim and the PQ better then Sharp LED.  Actually I not prefer Samsung brand.  I more prefer Japanese brand, but since I the PQ more better then other brand like Sharp and LG, I go for it.  This my first Samsung brand appliance in my home.

Added on February 3, 2010, 11:06 pm

The latest Apple Mac Book or iMac display are LED backlit.  Same as TV...you need go and view the display quality by yourself....For the the Mac product the display totaly diffrent from others..  and with LED backlit its really amaz..
So the MAC display with LED backlit same like Samsung LED TV? If i use Samsung LED Series 6 6000 32 inch to be use on computer, is it great?
fx_53_xt
post Feb 4 2010, 12:51 AM

2,048 posts

QUOTE(C'va @ Feb 3 2010, 10:56 PM)
The latest Apple Mac Book or iMac display are LED backlit.  Same as TV...you need go and view the display quality by yourself....For the the Mac product the display totaly diffrent from others..  and with LED backlit its really amaz..
The LED backlit itself does not make the mac looks this good. I believe they used some high quality LCD panel that makes the display looks good, not to mention glossy screen treatment do attract our attention more than matte screen. There's dozens of laptop out there with LED backlit but in the end it is still a good panel plays a more important role than backlit.

QUOTE(rstusa @ Feb 3 2010, 11:52 PM)
So the MAC display with LED backlit same like Samsung LED TV? If i use Samsung LED Series 6 6000 32 inch to be use on computer, is it great?
watching from a distance, it will look great. Using it as a monitor at near distance, you'll suffer.
justone
post Mar 21 2010, 01:18 PM

justone
1,067 posts

i'm not sure mac laptop's lcd panel type...but for their monitor, they're using ips panel and i believe they had a very fine factory tune on their color reproduction which made all their displays a step ahead others
-kytz-
post Mar 23 2010, 08:30 PM

12,573 posts

Planning on getting a Sharp 46" LED backlight....SenQ quoted me RM7449...Tempting drool.gif especially with that built in BD player

So how is Sharp's quality?Hard to do comparison in TV shops doh.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Mar 23 2010, 08:32 PM
DarkNite
post Mar 23 2010, 08:39 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Mar 23 2010, 08:30 PM)
Planning on getting a Sharp 46" LED backlight....SenQ quoted me RM7449...Tempting drool.gif especially with that built in BD player

So how is Sharp's quality?Hard to do comparison in TV shops doh.gif
Also additional question is Sharp's after sales service?
I was also very impressed about this model but apprehensive about Sharp's after sales service.
Read about it here
-kytz-
post Mar 23 2010, 09:26 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Mar 23 2010, 08:39 PM)
Also additional question is Sharp's after sales service?
I was also very impressed about this model but apprehensive about Sharp's after sales service.
Read about it here
What's the standard warranty duration for TVS for most brands?I thought it's normally 3 years hmm.gif SenQ mentioned that warranty is provided by them but the unit will be sent back to Sharp

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Mar 23 2010, 09:30 PM
junwei
post Mar 23 2010, 09:34 PM

252 posts

A bit regret in getting LE700M. Picture isn't as great. Plus I am having problem with ghosting effect and burn in problem. It's odd to happen on LCD tv with backlit LED.

at first i thought it's my media player or receiver or the movies I'm playing (Matrix Trilogy). Try using other movies and it's the same. I can see almost 4 to 5 duplication when Neo is swinging his arm towards the enemies. Also the images stay for a sec to two sec before it refreshes. I'm wondering if this is a defect or it's a "feature".

When displaying on my showroom, switching to USER mode....it keeps switching back to DYNAMIX (FIXED) mode after a while (15 to 30 minutes). Had to manually switch it back to USER mode using the remote occasionally.

I will give it a few more days before calling Sharp service center to come take a look themselves at my showroom.

Should have kept my Panny S10 and save the $$$.

Anyway, for info purpose, I got my LC40-LE700M for less than 4K.
-kytz-
post Mar 23 2010, 09:51 PM

12,573 posts

OMG so sad to hear your problem.Have u sent it back for repair?

E700M is supposed to be RM4K+ hmm.gif
junwei
post Mar 23 2010, 10:20 PM

252 posts

not yet, coz i just got it last Friday. Didn't play with u a whole lot coz i just hang it up on my showroom's wall n run my media whole day (11am to 830p) daily. Only notice the problems today.

I got it below 4K with 1 year warranty. Don't ask me why tongue.gif
Got another unit for sale brand new in box with warranty from sharp.

Added on March 23, 2010, 11:35 pmanyone knows how to get into the sharp LE700M service mode with the 3 digits code?

This post has been edited by junwei: Mar 23 2010, 11:35 PM
Dickong
post Mar 24 2010, 11:54 AM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(junwei @ Mar 23 2010, 09:34 PM)
A bit regret in getting LE700M. Picture isn't as great. Plus I am having problem with ghosting effect and burn in problem. It's odd to happen on LCD tv with backlit LED.

at first i thought it's my media player or receiver or the movies I'm playing (Matrix Trilogy). Try using other movies and it's the same. I can see almost 4 to 5 duplication when Neo is swinging his arm towards the enemies. Also the images stay for a sec to two sec before it refreshes. I'm wondering if this is a defect or it's a "feature".

When displaying on my showroom, switching to USER mode....it keeps switching back to DYNAMIX (FIXED) mode after a while (15 to 30 minutes). Had to manually switch it back to USER mode using the remote occasionally.

I will give it a few more days before calling Sharp service center to come take a look themselves at my showroom.

Bro, i have been using this Sharp LED lcd tv for 4.5 months now n i dont encounter this ghosting n burn in effect, maybe u can call for service.
sky heart
post Mar 24 2010, 02:31 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(junwei @ Mar 23 2010, 09:34 PM)

i think because of u set the location "SHOP" in ur tv...so ur tv always set to dynamic (fixed) picture setting....
junwei
post Mar 26 2010, 10:52 AM

252 posts

QUOTE(sky heart @ Mar 24 2010, 02:31 PM)
i think because of u set the location "SHOP" in ur tv...so ur tv always set to dynamic (fixed) picture setting....
I did set it to SHOP but it shouldn't be bringing the mode back to Dynamix(FIXED) if I've set it to USER mode.
To resolve this, I had to switch to MOVIE mode, then made the changes I wanted and it seems to be okay now. Just try to stay away from USER.

For the ghosting effect, I've found the problem. My Tvix6500 contrast is set too high for some reason when I got it from the supplier. Didn't know it has been set (expected it to be 0 for all values). I changed the values to 0 for brightness, contrast ....n it seems to be okay now.
However, I still do notice a little bit of ghosting effect (not very obvious unless you stare at the picture very near).

So, I guess it's okay for now. Still waiting for the Sharp service code so that I Can do some tweaking on the video setting.

thanks guys.
htkaki
post Mar 26 2010, 12:26 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Boss, dunno whether you had read this b4 or not :

http://www.avforums.com/reviews/Sharp-LC-4...DTV-Review.html
junwei
post Mar 26 2010, 05:43 PM

252 posts

hi bro, seems like the local version doesn't has the Advance menu like the one mentioned. Seems convenient to calibrate using the standard menu.
The one we have here requires 3 digits code to access the service menu.
htkaki
post Mar 26 2010, 10:34 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Salesperson said unable to get from the Tech. Sigh.....
C.T. Seong
post Mar 26 2010, 10:54 PM

494 posts

-

This post has been edited by C.T. Seong: Mar 26 2010, 10:59 PM
junwei
post Mar 27 2010, 10:23 AM

252 posts

Maybe I gotto try from 000 to 999

z8net
post Mar 29 2010, 11:47 AM

39 posts

whoaa very informative la all the elites n the sifoos... kudos to everyone rclxms.gif

just booked LC40LB700M for RM4.5k from Courts promotion at Home Deco Fair (Stadium Melawati Shah Alam) yesterday. suddenly when i read through this topic, i was like errr shud i still go with it...

actually my budget was just like below RM3k... any good recommendation/offer which brand n model shud i go for this budget?

notworthy.gif newbie here icon_question.gif
energy
post Apr 4 2010, 09:42 AM

49 posts

Planning to buy Sharp's 46" LED TV.
Should I wait for Sharp's new models?
If not, any recommendation on where to get cheapest price in PJ/KL?
I heard Desa Home Theatre in Kepong? What about Legend, Toong Hing in PJ?

Please advice.
rexa13
post Apr 4 2010, 12:25 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(junwei @ Mar 23 2010, 10:20 PM)
not yet, coz i just got it last Friday. Didn't play with u a whole lot coz i just hang it up on my showroom's wall n run my media whole day (11am to 830p) daily. Only notice the problems today.

I got it below 4K with 1 year warranty. Don't ask me why tongue.gif
Got another unit for sale brand new in box with warranty from sharp.

Added on March 23, 2010, 11:35 pmanyone knows how to get into the sharp LE700M service mode with the 3 digits code?
are u sure u get new unit? or used one/display unit
TSkevinc66
post Apr 6 2010, 08:25 PM

197 posts

Yah...Sharp LCDs come with 2 years warranty being the first year covered by all-risk insurance.
scFoong
post Apr 10 2010, 03:29 PM

616 posts

Hi Kevin,

My Sharp LED TV just having an auto shutdown issue (2months TV)..So, according to the procedures, are you the one who help call or i need to call myself?
For the first 1 year, its free even for the labour charge?

thanks.

Added on April 12, 2010, 4:14 pmThanks Kevin for the followup...i am waiting SHARP techs come over my apt for checkout smile.gif

This post has been edited by scFoong: Apr 12 2010, 04:14 PM
benjaminn78
post May 22 2010, 01:10 PM

57 posts

Sharp LED is using full LED backlight, while Samsung LED is using EDGE, is that mean Sharp is more better? some more the price is more cheaper than saumsung LED>

podrunner
post Jun 13 2010, 10:02 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Apr 6 2010, 08:25 PM)
Yah...Sharp LCDs come with 2 years warranty being the first year covered by all-risk insurance.
My SIL's 3 month old Sharp LC40LE700M is having the auto turn-off problem as well. It powers up and then it switches off in under 10 seconds. This happened the first time two weeks ago, and the set was taken away, brought back two days ago, and the tech said "no problem, only reprogram". Today, it happened again. Have read in some forums that Sharp models that has come out in the last 18 months have problems with the AV board. Can someone confirm this?

Sharp is kinda crappy!!

Added on June 13, 2010, 10:07 pmThe following quote is from :
http://forum.ecoustics.com/bbs/messages/2/164664.html

"This is more of a tip than a complaint about Sharp tvs, which have a life span of a Chinese light bulb. 1st tip, don't buy Sharp. 2nd tip, if you own a model that was released within the past 18 months, i.e., a newish model, and you are having an issue with just the red power L.E.D. flashing on and off continuously, with the tv not swiching on at all, the fault is with your AV board. (The board that facilitates HDMI, Component, audio etc connectivity). The fault is not with the power supply, back light inverter, screen scan card or other. I buy faulty tvs and repair them. I have come across numerous Sharp tvs with this problem and the only effective repair was to replace this board (Models include UK versions LC42B20E, LC42DH77E, LC46DH77E & the new LED tvs LC40LE600E & 700E). I have had over 20 tvs come to me in less than 6 months with this problem. To prove my point, I have used identical modles, swopped over each & every board to confirm in every instance that the fault was with the AV board. Trying to find spare boards is difficult unless you can get one off ebay (tv with a broken screen)"

This post has been edited by podrunner: Jun 13 2010, 10:07 PM
bahathir
post Aug 29 2010, 12:20 AM

1,200 posts

Ooo.. that bad ...
Actually, I wanted to buy lc40le700M ... Caerefour sells at MYR3599 and Harvey Norman at MYR 3700.

PQ wise, it is very competitive with other much other branded ones. I love the low power consumption and full LED backlight.

Mmm.. But, I found the LC-LE705 series, the updated version of the LE700. I don't know whether that we can get the model over here....

http://www.flatpanelshd.com/review.php?sub...l&id=1267795029

The model has DVB-T tuner module, and Malaysia already have the DVB-T test transmissions. So, I don't have to buy another settop for DVB-T in very near future... (2012).

I also think to get the LE820M ... but, the price..... smile.gif Not quite justified...

Thank you.

This post has been edited by bahathir: Aug 29 2010, 12:21 AM
Jojo
post Sep 24 2010, 09:23 AM

204 posts

Anyone has the best display setting for this LED tv? Our version in Advance column doesn't have much feature? How to get it?
Dickong
post Oct 10 2010, 07:54 PM

1,689 posts

Have u guys find any motion blur problem, mine recently facing motion problem, how to solve this, i've try the fine motion advanced setting but still the same. Is it due to the led problem. tq

Added on October 26, 2010, 4:07 pmSeem that they are changing my lcd panel for me n this is strange becos first time come across panel got problem

This post has been edited by Dickong: Oct 26 2010, 04:07 PM
mynewuser
post Dec 11 2010, 10:45 AM

2,549 posts

My 12 month old Sharp LC40LE700M is having the auto turn-off problem as well.

Who should I contact for this support? Can we DIY or need to send back?

This post has been edited by mynewuser: Dec 11 2010, 10:45 AM
TSkevinc66
post Dec 11 2010, 12:02 PM

197 posts

You can't DIY. Called up Sharp at 1800-88-8678 for servicing. Happened before, the tech will adjust the service menu in the tv. Nothing major.

Kevin
mynewuser
post Dec 11 2010, 02:46 PM

2,549 posts

Thank for the help. I can enter the services menu. But don't know what to change. Any one can help.

LCD TVs :

* While the LCD is on, unplug the power cable.
* Then while pressing the {INPUT} & {VOL -} buttons on the remote, plug the power cable back into the outlet.
* When it powers up you will see a little "k" appear in brackets.
* Then on the TV, press and hold {VOL -} & {CH -} down and release.
* The Service Menu will be displayed.
* Use {CH+} {CH -} buttons to navigate
* Use {VOL+} {VOL -} buttons to adjust the value.
* Turn the set off to exit the Service Menu.

This post has been edited by mynewuser: Dec 11 2010, 02:47 PM
skyzai
post Dec 11 2010, 03:16 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Dec 11 2010, 02:46 PM)
Thank for the help. I can enter the services menu. But don't know what to change. Any one can help.

LCD TVs :

* Then while pressing the {INPUT} & {VOL -} buttons on the remote, plug the power cable back into the outlet.
it's not a nice move if u want to change service menu by urself..

better u call Sharp service centre..they will come to your house for repairing within 2 days..
mynewuser
post Dec 11 2010, 04:59 PM

2,549 posts

Today and sunday will be their holiday if I'm not wrong.
happyprince
post Dec 11 2010, 07:22 PM

224 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Dec 11 2010, 04:59 PM)
Today and sunday will be their holiday if I'm not wrong.
Then wait for Tuesday..
mynewuser
post Dec 12 2010, 12:08 PM

2,549 posts

Some forumer say this auto off occur very offen. So it better to DIY. One warranty expired. Their service will be chargeable.
lonely_dream
post Dec 12 2010, 12:13 PM

533 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Dec 12 2010, 12:08 PM)
Some forumer say this auto off occur very offen. So it better to DIY. One warranty expired. Their service will be chargeable.
Sharp LED-lcd tv is 2 years warranty..So Sharp won't charge u anything regarding your TV problems.
SUSMatrix
post Dec 12 2010, 02:11 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Dec 11 2010, 02:46 PM)

LCD TVs :

Can pls clarify??

Do you mean switch off the main power and unplug the power cord?
mynewuser
post Dec 12 2010, 02:21 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 12 2010, 02:11 PM)
Can pls clarify??

Do you mean switch off the main power and unplug the power cord?
For me, I do not unplug. I just power-off and power-on while press the key.
Dickong
post Dec 12 2010, 08:19 PM

1,689 posts

My stupid motion blur is back after changing the panel for few weeks only, is it becos as mention a few thread ago, they change me a refurbish panel. Will call for repair again tomorrow. Really disappointed with Sharp brand tv no more sharp brand in future.
qwertyuiop
post Dec 13 2010, 11:03 AM

63 posts

I watch Sharp LCD and LED for Astro non HD. It's suck. How about you guys?
SUSMatrix
post Dec 13 2010, 05:30 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(qwertyuiop @ Dec 13 2010, 11:03 AM)
I watch Sharp LCD and LED for Astro non HD. It's suck. How about you guys?
All Astro non-HD sucked on LCD regardless of brand...some sucked even harder... What is there to complain? Actually, it looks better than some other TV on my Sharp coz it has S-VIDEO. Some LCD today dun have S-VIDEO anymore. You can try changing to S-VIDEO connection if ur running on composite. It's the only option there is.

Added on December 13, 2010, 5:32 pm
QUOTE(Dickong @ Dec 12 2010, 08:19 PM)
My stupid motion blur is back after changing the panel for few weeks only, is it becos as mention a few thread ago, they change me a refurbish panel. Will call for repair again tomorrow. Really disappointed with Sharp brand tv no more sharp brand in future.
You should make an official complaint, write in to the MD/GM whoever head honcho. Sometimes it depends on luck...my old Sharp 32" LCD running 3 years..still works great. Just got a new 40"...no problem except the back plastic looks a bit discolored...Sharp people coming to see tmrw.(yeah, yeah...i am nitpicking, but hey, i paid for it! And i demand service!! biggrin.gif )

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 13 2010, 05:33 PM
mynewuser
post Dec 13 2010, 07:23 PM

2,549 posts

Call saturday. They need to wait till wed only can come to my house.
Now using old TV. Guest what. Picture quality much more better than LCD TV.

This post has been edited by mynewuser: Dec 13 2010, 07:24 PM
Dickong
post Dec 15 2010, 04:57 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 13 2010, 05:30 PM)
All Astro non-HD sucked on LCD regardless of brand...some sucked even harder... What is there to complain? Actually, it looks better than some other TV on my Sharp coz it has S-VIDEO. Some LCD today dun have S-VIDEO anymore. You can try changing to S-VIDEO connection if ur running on composite. It's the only option there is.

Added on December 13, 2010, 5:32 pm
You should make an official complaint, write in to the MD/GM whoever head honcho. Sometimes it depends on luck...my old Sharp 32" LCD running 3 years..still works great. Just got a new 40"...no problem except the back plastic looks a bit discolored...Sharp people coming to see tmrw.(yeah, yeah...i am nitpicking, but hey, i paid for it! And i demand service!!  biggrin.gif )
The Sharp Technician just call me n say will report my case to their HQ KL, n dont bother to come n have a look. Will wait for 1-2 days before i call him for any respond i not i will report to their hq directly.
mynewuser
post Dec 15 2010, 06:51 PM

2,549 posts

My Sharp TV successfully repair. They changed the board. Luckily they bring the board and equipment and repair my house.

Guess what, If not under warranty, it may cost more than RM 1000 for this repair.

This post has been edited by mynewuser: Dec 15 2010, 06:51 PM
Dickong
post Dec 15 2010, 07:28 PM

1,689 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Dec 15 2010, 06:51 PM)
My Sharp TV successfully repair. They changed the board. Luckily they bring the board and equipment and repair my house.

Guess what, If not under warranty, it may cost more than RM 1000 for this repair.
What board are u refering to, is it the pc board or the panel. Actually ther are 3 pc board inside the casing, one for the colour control, one for the power supply, n one for the sound system n last to change is the panel.
mynewuser
post Dec 18 2010, 11:20 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Dec 15 2010, 07:28 PM)
What board are u refering to, is it the pc board or the panel. Actually ther are 3 pc board inside the casing, one for the colour control, one for the power supply, n one for the sound system n last to change is the panel.
I think it should be power supply panel. Because it auto off when Ion the tv.

0.1232sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:01 PM