Compare laptop, Dell brand ...and now benq S42

TSeastwest
post Nov 4 2009, 11:26 AM, updated 17y ago

1,608 posts

Hi all,
I'm currently looking around for a new laptop (previously I want to buy a desktop but now I've decide to get a mobile one).

I've been surveying notebook that can meet my requirements. I've shortlisted two dell notebook as below.(haven't survey other brands).

Choice 1:

I choose p8700 processor because it has intel virtualization technology (vt-x) support and upgrade it to 4gb ram.

Choice 2

Previously Actually I like this one, because this laptop come default with these spec (except windows 7 professional) and lower price than choice 1. But what discourage me to like it tongue.gif is the casing cover. I want black colour but dell don't have it. doh.gif

Choice 3

Now I prefer this!

Which one is better actually? How is the battery life for both notebook?

I want to run the xp mode in windows 7 which require cpu hardware virtualization support and do multi tasking work. Sometimes maybe play games also like CS1.6 and CS source (ya..i know both old game) Thanks.

ps: should I get the full hd(1080p) wled (1920x1080) with true life or just stick with the default choice? Any difference in viewing?

This post has been edited by eastwest: Nov 5 2009, 09:23 AM
lee_what2004
post Nov 4 2009, 12:35 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

remember, to use xp mode, you need windows 7 pro and ultimate smile.gif

1080p would give more workspace but smaller text.
TSeastwest
post Nov 4 2009, 12:58 PM

1,608 posts

Eh, I just noticed it! Thanks... need to fork out more $$$ rclxub.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 4 2009, 01:02 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

I don't quite see the difference between those two except price?
astria
post Nov 4 2009, 01:04 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

y not a Benq S42???

it's freaking cheap now... rm3k and u get P8700 with 9600M GT and GMA hybridgraphic...
TSeastwest
post Nov 4 2009, 01:05 PM

1,608 posts

Yes, the spec is almost the same for both notebook. So, i think I'm ok with it. but What about the design? battery life? Anyone currently/previously own either one?

Actually what is the difference between studio and inspiron?
lee_what2004
post Nov 4 2009, 01:06 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

inspiron is more to the value line
studio for mainstream

@astria, benq s42 can enable VT?
astria
post Nov 4 2009, 01:07 PM

22,158 posts

all C2D P8000, T/P9000 and P7070 ve Intel VT...
lee_what2004
post Nov 4 2009, 01:09 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

yeah, but the bios sometimes can disable it, like the cases on vaio z, it has p8700 and above, but it can't enable VT without modding the bios.
astria
post Nov 4 2009, 01:13 PM

22,158 posts

well, not sure abt S42, but on my old S41, u can choose to enable or disable it in the BIOS...
TSeastwest
post Nov 4 2009, 01:14 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 4 2009, 01:04 PM)
y not a Benq S42???

it's freaking cheap now... rm3k and u get P8700 with 9600M GT and GMA hybridgraphic...
WHere did you quote the price? It doesn't show in benq malaysia website benq s42 Cannot specified my own spec?

it's also using ddr2 667 ram compared to dell 800mhz.

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 4 2009, 01:09 PM)
yeah, but the bios sometimes can disable it, like the cases on vaio z, it has p8700 and above, but it can't enable VT without modding the bios.
Really eh? sweat.gif Other notebook have this problem also?
lee_what2004
post Nov 4 2009, 01:16 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(eastwest @ Nov 4 2009, 01:14 PM)
WHere did you quote the price? It doesn't show in benq malaysia website benq s42 Cannot specified my own spec?

it's also using ddr2 667 ram compared to dell 800mhz.
Really eh? sweat.gif Other notebook have this problem also?
benq s42 in shop around my place is selling for rm 2999
INTEL CORE 2 DUO P8700 PROCESSOR
(2.53GHZ, 3MB L2, 1066FSB, 25W)
2GB DDR2 RAM, 320GB SATA HDD
GEFORCE 9600GT 512MB SHARED
DVD-RW, 56K MODEM, 10/100LAN
14.1" ULTRAVIVID LED SUPER CLEAR
CARD READER,WIFI B/G, BLUETOOTH
LITHIUM ION BATERY, BAG, 2.15KG
INTEL 5300 WIFI-N, HDMI, HYBRID POWER

about the bios, need to ask user, manufacturer usually don't specify it.

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 4 2009, 01:16 PM
astria
post Nov 4 2009, 01:16 PM

22,158 posts

well, lee said the shop near his home is rm2999...

john_jay2 is selling at rm3250 the last i heard... not sure now... got another guy bought for rm2899 but without OS...

Added on November 4, 2009, 1:17 pmbtw, for the RAM speed, 533MHz is also good enuf for Core 2 Duo becuz of the FSB...

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 4 2009, 01:17 PM
TSeastwest
post Nov 4 2009, 01:26 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 4 2009, 01:16 PM)
benq s42 in shop around my place is selling for rm 2999
INTEL CORE 2 DUO P8700 PROCESSOR   
(2.53GHZ, 3MB L2, 1066FSB, 25W)   
2GB DDR2 RAM, 320GB SATA HDD   
GEFORCE 9600GT 512MB  SHARED   
DVD-RW, 56K MODEM, 10/100LAN   
14.1" ULTRAVIVID LED SUPER CLEAR   
CARD READER,WIFI B/G, BLUETOOTH   
LITHIUM ION BATERY, BAG, 2.15KG   
INTEL 5300 WIFI-N, HDMI, HYBRID POWER

about the bios, need to ask user, manufacturer usually don't specify it.
Does the price include OS?

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 4 2009, 01:16 PM)
well, lee said the shop near his home is rm2999...

john_jay2 is selling at rm3250 the last i heard... not sure now... got another guy bought for rm2899 but without OS...

Added on November 4, 2009, 1:17 pmbtw, for the RAM speed, 533MHz is also good enuf for Core 2 Duo becuz of the FSB...
Reading all the replies make me even more conpius and in more delima sweat.gif dell 15.6in vs s42 14.1in.. price difference also..weight..etc

dell/benq have any outlet for me to check the notebook?
lee_what2004
post Nov 4 2009, 01:31 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

not include OS, in term performance, benq s42 wins~
TSeastwest
post Nov 4 2009, 01:43 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 4 2009, 01:31 PM)
not include OS, in term performance, benq s42 wins~
you refering to general performance or gaming performance? 9600m gt is better than 4570? hmm.gif

btw, I saw several notebooks that come with intel SUxxxx processor which claimed to have battery life up to 12 hours and running vista/7. Is it that powerful? because the processor speed is below 2ghz.
astria
post Nov 4 2009, 02:18 PM

22,158 posts

both general and gaming performance, and probably battery life as well, S42 wins...

but Studio 15 is backed by Dell's excellent warranty service...

as for the SU CPU, they are basically the undervolted and underclocked version of the regular C2D... they are good for everyday usage, but dun expect good performance if u want to play games and program...
Swordsmen
post Nov 4 2009, 02:45 PM

Motion Effects Designer & Video Editor
643 posts

SU version is generally design for daily moderate usage, but in term of heavy multitasking its a slow one
tat because its only consume little power, and yeah the S42 is fockin cheap now, i,m bought last year at RM 3499
with linux OS, but now it drop to 2899 without OS.. if included maybe 3100 somethin. but more suprise included
500GB HDD vs mine 320, and P8700 C2D proc. i recomended you to take this one. HD4570 is way to low reaching
9600M GT, i tested friend of mine. it sucks even at medium low (COD4).

Added on November 4, 2009, 2:56 pmAbt Battery life you can reach standard 3.5 hrs of moderate usage,-set power option to power saver - Brightness minimum
and Intel video mode, with this option (Hybrid) you can choose anytime, gaming or moderate use, recomended windows 7.
and benq already update the driver 187 and bios 1.20

This post has been edited by Swordsmen: Nov 4 2009, 02:56 PM
Miyabi
post Nov 4 2009, 03:56 PM

馬鹿じゃない
1,592 posts

tiny VT checker tool: http://www.grc.com/securable.htm
TSeastwest
post Nov 4 2009, 03:59 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 4 2009, 02:18 PM)
both general and gaming performance, and probably battery life as well, S42 wins...

but Studio 15 is backed by Dell's excellent warranty service...

as for the SU CPU, they are basically the undervolted and underclocked version of the regular C2D... they are good for everyday usage, but dun expect good performance if u want to play games and program...
ok, su notebook out already nod.gif

QUOTE(Swordsmen @ Nov 4 2009, 02:45 PM)
SU version is generally design for daily moderate usage, but in term of heavy multitasking its a slow one
tat because its only consume little power, and yeah the S42 is fockin cheap now, i,m bought last year at RM 3499
with linux OS, but now it drop to 2899 without OS.. if included maybe 3100 somethin. but more suprise included
500GB HDD vs mine 320, and P8700 C2D proc. i recomended you to take this one. HD4570 is way to low reaching
9600M GT, i tested friend of mine. it sucks even at medium low (COD4).

Added on November 4, 2009, 2:56 pmAbt Battery life you can reach standard 3.5 hrs of moderate usage,-set power option to power saver - Brightness minimum
and Intel video mode, with this option (Hybrid) you can choose anytime, gaming or moderate use, recomended windows 7.
and benq already update the driver 187 and bios 1.20
Any recomended shop to survey and test benq s42? digi mall got?

QUOTE(Miyabi @ Nov 4 2009, 03:56 PM)
tiny VT checker tool: http://www.grc.com/securable.htm
Cool, thanks...

err, benq s42 notebook got/will have this problem in the near future ? sweat.gif benq s41

This post has been edited by eastwest: Nov 4 2009, 04:03 PM

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:49 AM