Enquiries/Recommendations Did anyone claim free repair for benq's joybook ?, GPU prob due 2 defective nvidia chipset

TSwavemech
post Aug 28 2009, 12:12 AM, updated 17y ago

34 posts

hii everyone my benq joybook s41 was died last week and after i did my research in last week i knew it it GPU's problem due to defective chipset of nvida geforce 8m series...so i wonder so any benq joybook do really received a free repair for this prob, in m'sia i think..

as i know,changing the mobo will cost me 1.5k.this is insane!!

so any1 did receive free repair from benq malaysia,do let me know and tell me how to let them do a free repair for me.

one more,can the benq joybook s41 just change the gc chipset instead of replace the mobo?

or can i ask them to change the gc to nvidia 9m series since the 8m is faulty,then if they change the same defective chipset for me,in case i pay for the service i will also face the same problem again in the future just like a time bomb!!

I really hv no money..considering should i sell it after do the repair...

This post has been edited by wavemech: Aug 28 2009, 12:21 AM
astria
post Aug 28 2009, 12:51 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

yes me... but in Singapore...

anyway, basically the thing is, i ve extended warranty (standard 1yr int'l, + 2yrs extended), but after the satandard one has expire, and i send the laptop to service, the BenQ staff never ask me or check anything regarding warranty... they juz take in the laptop, no qn asked...

2) impossible, since the graphic card is soldered onto the mobo... u either dun change or change both...

3) changing to GeForce 9M, or rather, S42 mobo and graphic card, is for very jialat case only... so far only heard 1 case of such... spoilt 4 times in less than a year...
miahahaha
post Aug 28 2009, 08:41 AM

Beru
7,558 posts

maybe you can try talk to the SC personnel...there are such cases that already like yours one..maybe they can change the GC for free lor...because the problem is not the laptop but the GC itself...

*try talk to them change to S42 Mobo lor..
wiseryfendy
post Aug 28 2009, 11:18 AM

Can change to S42 modo? Mine change already.. That defect problem la.. Now I have heat problem.. What to do lor? Any Idea?
TSwavemech
post Aug 28 2009, 01:47 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(miahahaha @ Aug 28 2009, 08:41 AM)
maybe you can try talk to the SC personnel...there are such cases that already like yours one..maybe they can change the GC for free lor...because the problem is not the laptop but the GC itself...

*try talk to them change to S42 Mobo lor..
ya i heard there were ppl really did claim it for free..but some do,some donot ..

so i m kinda worry now..
1 weeks edi and they hvt call me back!!!

arghhh

Added on August 30, 2009, 2:15 amgood news,ytd i emailed benq and they replied that they wil fix joybook that affected with no cost.

now the problem is i still duno the exact problem for my lappy

This post has been edited by wavemech: Aug 30 2009, 02:15 AM
thilanesh
post Nov 4 2009, 10:13 AM

64 posts

finally did they replace for u?
one0202
post Nov 4 2009, 12:01 PM

429 posts

i also afraid this will happen to me next time....
im using my S41 since march 2008 until now.
it working fine untill now....but feel like time bomb la.
everyday afraid gc will faulty....
now, planning to sell it before anything happen to me....heheh.

but, let say it happen, and my 1 years warranty is finished already.
can i claim for free???? and where is BenQ service centre???
astria
post Nov 4 2009, 01:15 PM

22,158 posts

there's quite a number of cases where the warranty is over and BenQ replace for free....

juz tell them that it's the GPU gone case already, most of the times they wouldn't ask anymore qns...

got rid of my S41 6mths ago... :nod;
lunlun2488
post Nov 16 2009, 04:00 PM

hi...can u guys help me on this...
im using s41...when i turn on,it display nothing but some horizontal and vertical line...
is this the symthomp of GPU problem u guys mentioned...???
or what should i do now...???
astria
post Nov 16 2009, 04:29 PM

22,158 posts

yes it is...

send it to repair, it's the only way...
lunlun2488
post Nov 16 2009, 04:49 PM

ooo....
like wat u guys mentioned above....
means i still can get free replacement at the service centre even though my warranty period has over..??

astria
post Nov 16 2009, 05:05 PM

22,158 posts

from the many cases i ve seen, yes, FOC...
lunna06
post Nov 16 2009, 10:33 PM

smile.gif Yeah, my benq S41 died also but i took it to the service center and they did it for me for FOC jus in 2 weeks time.
dineshmike
post Dec 17 2009, 04:08 PM

344 posts

Mine is dead too and the warranty is finished. Is there anyway I can get free repair?
Fantasia
post Dec 17 2009, 04:20 PM

5,493 posts

benq will help s41 user to repair for free
123joe
post Dec 19 2009, 06:22 AM

PHONE AND TABLET ACCESSORIES
2,894 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Dec 17 2009, 04:20 PM)
benq will help s41 user to repair for free
as long as the notebook still got warranty or not? how bout if the warranty expired? do they charge us and is it expensive? hmm.gif
reevephon
post Dec 19 2009, 07:33 AM

I'm a tech Freak
1,719 posts

QUOTE(123joe @ Dec 19 2009, 06:22 AM)
as long as the notebook still got warranty or not? how bout if the warranty expired? do they charge us and is it expensive? hmm.gif
No, they won't charge you any single cents even though your warranty expired, as long as it's really your GPU problem then they would change you for FREE, else it gonna charge you like normal, I mean other parts defect not GPU.
123joe
post Dec 19 2009, 08:15 AM

2,894 posts

wow. great things frm benq. like to hear it.
nicks
post Dec 23 2009, 01:47 AM

TC
2,070 posts

may i know where benQ service centre? or where u send those faulty GPU?
123joe
post Dec 23 2009, 04:49 AM

2,894 posts

i dont know, u can seek at benq laptop and discussion area.

0.0204sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:25 PM