Pioneer - Sound, Vision & Soul, Pioneer AMP User Pls COME IN !

paskal
post Dec 31 2010, 06:40 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(HW-Racer @ Dec 31 2010, 05:09 PM)
saw the following Coutrs promotion in todays STAR paper :-
1) Pioneer HTPR 55  (AV receiver + 5.1 speakers) at RM2999
    free panasonic 32" LCD TV THL 32C26K worth RM1399  + HDMI cable

2) Pioneer HTP520 SW (AV receiver + 5.1 speakers) at RM3299
    free Samsung 42" plasma TV PS42C430 worth RM2499 + HDMI cable
Package consists of:

VSX-520 – Multi-Channel AV Receiver

S-ES3TB – Speaker System

S-RS3SW – Power Subwoofer
do you think is a good  deal ?? I am interested in the Package no 2 (with free samsung 42" plasma TV)

brows.gif

http://www.pioneermalaysia.com.my/product_details.php?id=393
they advertise the free things for installment payment only. if you calculate back the total that you're paying for the item, you're actually paying more for the price of the free items itself.
paskal
post Feb 5 2011, 09:48 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Feb 5 2011, 06:15 PM)
but 920 definitely over my budget... sweat.gif
maybe you should try looking at some other options like onkyo 308 and 508 and yamaha rx-v367 and 467. or even denon 1611. all are very good alternative with different sound signature.

a cousin had bought a new setup after auditing a few different setup with me at a few shop. in the end we decided on onkyo 508 after auditing the yamaha, denon and pioneer.
the pioneer entry level sounded a bit bright and unrefined. and yeah we brought our own cables and speakers to make sure those don't affect the sound so much.
paskal
post Feb 6 2011, 07:54 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Feb 5 2011, 10:04 PM)
actually i prefer 5.1 instead as i will locate it at living area only...
may worse that i may locate all 5 speakers on top of my TV cabinet... that why i dont think for 7.1... sweat.gif

or i should go for Onkyo HT-S3300 instead? but bad that it come with passive sub...  sad.gif

as your experience, can i pair 580 with onkyo skf 330f? any possibility bottleneck 580's performance? i read thru the pioneer catalaog which i got from harvey norman, seem todoroki setup seem should be cheaper but i dislike floor stand design and used some space... still prefer alike S3300's speaker size...
haha. now that you mentioned the skf 330f. it's the same exact unit i brought over with my cousin for testing.
and as i've said to him, that little bugger have better clarity than most cheap floorstander. and like most people, he's skeptical with my statement. so i brought the bugger to a shop that have the vsx520 and 820 to let him hear it.

skf 330 with pioneer 520 and 820 sounded a wee bit bright compared to onkyo 308 and 508. didn't pair it with the onkyo 608 as it would hit pass RM3k for an avr and a sub. with the 508 it sounded smoother overall and more pleasing to the ears. well at least to my ears. you might find it otherwise. so do test for yourself.

the skf 330 is small enough to be hidden somewhere behind your sitting position. we mounted my cousin's on the ceiling. and you don't need 7.1 unless you have a large audience so go with 5.1 first. later on you can always add another 2 channel if you find there's a vast improvement. i don't.

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Feb 6 2011, 07:30 PM)
r u joking?  sweat.gif

i tried to use media player > HDMI > TV > RCA > Hifi, the audio quality very unclear
end up, i do direct from media player > RCA > Hifi, the audio quality crispy than TV 1000% even though stereo mode

hence one of my neighour used high end 3.1 floor stand speaker paired with AV receiver (cost him Rm8k last 2 year ago as info), the audio quality definitely enough to posion me... unless i have a dedicated AV Room for sure will located surround speaker at other location...
some (most) tv speakers are not really good. if you have the space a proper setup would be best. else everything located in front is also fine. you'll lose the surround effect (which is really nice with movies) but you gain the omphh from the sub. i rate the surround effect (from proper placement) higher than extra omphh from sub. but yeah that's just me.
paskal
post Feb 7 2011, 07:15 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Feb 6 2011, 10:00 PM)
yup as what my neighbour comments, some of small speaker are stronger and louder than floor stander, but still small speaker lack of drivers to create different frequencies with proper sound... correct me if wrong... anyway, i still prefer small speaker as i dont need the loudness and look neater...

but i guess i have no choices for surround effects with 2 rear speakers unless i can mount both speakers on my ceiling but the height almost 11 feet, wondering i can heard anything or not...  sweat.gif but if i install with speaker stand, i worry my baby may hurt accidentally...  sad.gif any advice?
i have no other choices lo bro... i looking for the receiver which can support HDMI IN and most of them support 5.1 and above, dont have any 3.1 or 2.1... unless i planned for clean music only for vocal/concert type like Teresa Teng type, i will go for tube amp which only 2.0/2.1 but for sure cost a bomb easily if planned for good vocal, as heard from my boss that hi-end cable can cost easily Rm2k-5k and one of his business partner spent RM200k-300k for AV whole system...  sweat.gif  rclxub.gif

anyway, i did a survery around and most probably end up with pioneer HTP-820SW, is it good enough to start with? i guess i have no other choices as budget constraint, otherwise i will go for better & smaller speaker ...
you don't have to be like them. implement some restraint and you should be fine. better still, implement some knowledge and facts with it. RM5000 cable will never sound 1000 times better than RM5 cable. you're just paying 1000 times more for less than 10% 20% improvement.

if you can't hear the surround from the ceiling then mount it on the wall. get a mounting bracket and fit it to the wall. tho i doubt you won't be able to hear the surround speakers if it's hanging from the ceiling.

pioneer htp-820sw is good enough for most beginner. but the performance is nothing to shout about. you would get better performance buying piece by piece. and the pioneer floorstander & speakers in that package ain't really good to begin with. the onkyo 330 have much better clarity tho you must cross the sub at 120-150Hz to cover the lack of bass from the satellite. and i have to say, the onkyo sat have higher distortion when driven at high volume. yeah you win some, you lose some.

QUOTE(fit @ Feb 6 2011, 10:25 PM)
Hi mate, Pioneer 820 vs Onkyo 508 , which one give betetr sound quality ? How much is Pioneer 820 now ?
i wouldn't call it better, but i find that the onkyo have smoother overall sound compared to the 820. the pioneer have more emphasis on treble which could compliment laid back systems better. clarity and detail are somewhat similar but the 820 have better surround effect. the onkyo can't really project the surround space as good as the pioneer.
paskal
post Feb 7 2011, 09:14 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Feb 7 2011, 07:55 AM)
my sofa seat located at the middle of living area, so no wall behind the sofa and it is walking area, that what i afraid of the speaker may hurt someone if it fall down...  sweat.gif

u means 3300 or 330? about the cross u means the audio crossover? still learning here... tongue.gif  as refer to the 3300's manual, frequency range of sub between 80-150hz and speaker between 80-20khz... so thought that 120-150hz can generate from sub and speaker right?

actually htp-820sw's ES3 speaker have any differences with todoroki speaker? as i know todoroki more for explosion which wasnt my taste... as checked the latest catalog of pioneer, seem the specification no different at all between ES3 and torodoki, so wondering the ES3 will have more clarity since it located at different category?

actually i looking at onkyo 308 previously, but all of onkyo required to get additional dock for iphone/idock and cost some money there... so i maybe rather invest it into 820 as it built in... hence quite difficult that to find good speakers with reasonable price to pair with 308... hence, i'm noob... so that why i go for htp-820sw... sweat.gif
330 meaning the skf 330f satellite. i'm not fond of the onkyo 3300 set as you're limited by the puny passive sub. and to top it off, it doesn't even have a preamp out for an active sub. so you're screwed if you have plans to upgrade. which you will in a few months time. or days if you happen to audit a friend's setup.

if you're afraid the surround speaker might fall down, then don't use a large, heavy speaker as surround. or don't buy some cheap and flimsy mounting bracket. whichever suits you.

i've written down my impression on the es3 in previous post. the torodoki ain't that far behind. get the cheap skf330 satellite, bring it over to a shop that have the torodoki/htp-820sw on demo and swap them with the puny satellite. change the crossover to 120Hz/150Hz and sit back and compare for yourself. if the puny satellite sound that much worse, can always throw them into the river on your way back. they cost that much. biggrin.gif

but if you rate the ipod dock as an absolute essential, then by all means do get the pioneer. it's not a bad choice either.
paskal
post Feb 10 2011, 05:27 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Feb 10 2011, 05:07 PM)
i did a fast audition 2 channel stereo between
onkyo 508 + MS carnial set + good cable
Pioneer 520 + todoroki set + stock cable
with same CD music...

508 + MS: music quality quite adequate, vocal and bass quite balance, impressed for this setup...
later i try 520 + todoroki, the bass damm deep even though without subwoofer and cant heard the vocal clearly too, my ear felt a bit unwell bcos of the deep bass from front speaker only...  sweat.gif

wondering will the amp (508 & 520) & cable (stock & good) made the huge differences?
or what i heard from audition is the real differences between MS carnival and todoroki?
cabling wouldn't made as much difference as changing the amp.
the onkyo 508 although is much smoother than the pioneer 520 (the pioneer is more detailed), the torodoki is far worse than the MS carnival didn't have as much clarity as the MS carnival.

MS speakers generally have a smooth and laid back signature. do try the carnival with the pioneer amp next time. they could compliment each other better.
style laser should have both the carnival and pioneer on demo.
paskal
post Feb 10 2011, 06:01 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Feb 10 2011, 05:38 PM)
i did try at style laser just now... but 520 located at the groud open area, quite shame if asked to move 520 to 1st floor to test with carnival... chinese young guy (Lee as believe) said that the 508 is almost same quality with 520/820... so nothing i can comments much as he is the expertise in this field...

anyway, no understand for this statement "the torodoki is far worse than the MS carnival didn't have as much clarity as the MS carnival"... u means have pros and cons between both? as tested carnival have more clarity (maybe bcos of 508?) compare with todoroki, but todoroki more for louness and bass (wasnt my taste)... but of cos over my budget seriouly with pair with carnival... need few months saving from now...  sweat.gif
it's quite easy to move the amp upstairs. you should have asked them to demo the carnival with the pioneer. it won't take more than 15 minutes to move it upstairs.

what i meant was, torodoki floorstander sucks. it didn't have as much clarity as other proper hifi speakers. it lacks detail and sounds muddy across the freq range. the bass as you've said it, is deep. but i have to say that it's not controlled and sounds more like a boom boom box.

the pioneer have more detail and treble emphasis compared to the onkyo, and the MS speakers generally are laid back and smooth. so the marriage of the carnival and pioneer maybe will sound better. tho i wouldn't know as i've never heard the carnival before. a suggestion for you to test it out before buying.
paskal
post Apr 20 2011, 02:38 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(rgchai @ Apr 20 2011, 01:16 PM)
The Sub I used is come in standard package from htp-rs55. The model of Sub is S-RS3SW. It comes with 2-pin power cord only.

The humming noise is there also even the source cable from AVR is unplugged, and the power cord length is just standard length, don't think is >20ft. I had tried to connect it using other power point in my house (without source cable plugged in), same humming noise also.

One thing I noticed is that if the source cable is plugged in, the humming noise changed a bit, something like softer. If I touch the screw of the Sub, nothing change on the humming noise. But when source cable is unplugged and when I touched the screw, the humming noise become louder. According to technician that this is caused by grounding problem.  I don't know anything about grounding.  Is this the truth that caused by my house grounding problem or the technician just bluffing to me... sad.gif
set the bypass switch on the sub to 'OFF'.
paskal
post Oct 2 2011, 02:54 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Oct 1 2011, 06:55 PM)
Oops...i mean Pioneer

Added on October 1, 2011, 7:06 pm

That is what I thought too.  But I just notice it do not have Audyssey but Pioneer's own MCACC.

What I like it that it have iControlAV2 for iPhone and iPad and supports AirPlay.  It even have bluetooth.

But how is the Class D Direct Energy HD amplifier?
xt32 would *maybe* be beneficial if you have a very poor room with lots of room gain over the freq range.
but if you have a decent room large enough not to have a dramatic gain then i would say go with a better sounding receiver.
paskal
post Oct 19 2011, 12:16 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 19 2011, 11:19 AM)
For any room correction solution there are normally 4 adjustments needed:

1. Distance
2. Crossover (related to bass management)
3. Trim or dB level
4. Equalization

I know MCACC does 1-3. Does it do 4?
then the ARC has a major flaw. it doesn't do distance measurement.

QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 19 2011, 08:03 AM)
The benefits of XT32 are not only limited to "a very poor room with lots of room gain". All rooms, even a larger one will cause some variation in the freq response. Have you ever used a tool like REW to graph your sub/room? Quite interesting.

Also, you shouldn't only be looking at the issue of room gain but also freq dips. Both should be addressed. One thing I would check with MCACC is whether it even equalizes the sub, some say it doesn't. Some say it only equalizes down to 60Hz. If true that is a major limitation to me. I'm not arguing about whether MCACC or Audyssey is better but just about functionality; if MCACC doesn't eq the sub then that is a major loss of functonality (like the low end Audyssey 2EQ).

You're assuming the LX75/85 is the better sounding receiver. No doubt being the top end Pioneer models they can sound good. But would it sound better than equivalent Denon/Onkyo models, I don't know. Have not compared them.
again, i'm suggesting to go with the better sounding receiver. i didn't specifically say that the pioneer is a better sounding receiver, i just said to go with a better sounding receiver. whichever that might be, i leave it to the listener's ear.

i've heard the 4311's xt32 a few times before in different setup. i'm not impressed by it. specifically, i'm not impressed by the xt32 capability. so i choose to go with a different route. some might get high be impressed by just reading about the xt32 and choose the 4311. i won't argue about their decision. their choice is their own. i'm just suggesting for people to trust their ears.

then again, i'm not overly impressed with the mrx300 either. if i were, i wouldn't have chosen to modify it after a week's time.

This post has been edited by paskal: Oct 19 2011, 12:43 PM
paskal
post Oct 20 2011, 05:26 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 19 2011, 02:55 PM)
Was about to ask u if u like the MRX but knowing that u hv certain standards for music am not surprised to hear that u are modding the MRX.

Its the same here. I am yet to find a multi channel AV amp that can come close to a proper pre/pro combination for music. Thats my opinion.

On the multiple approaches for room equalization that yamaha, pioneer, onkyo, denon, anthem all take....all the solutions try to address one thing, how to compensate for the typical person on the deficiencies of the room. Most 2 channel purist will not use them for serious listening and will rather try to fix it via room treatment of positionining whenever possible.

In my opinion, unless u hv a crap room, the area where the equalization can play a part is in the low end. A lot of detail is lost when the subwoofer or the low end is set up wrongly. Now, the setting of the phase knob in subwoofers is typically the same as the distance that most AVRs have. The distance setting is most important in multiple channel setup so its interesting how ARC does not set distance, so I will need to read up on that. Also in my opinion, trying to equalize above 2kHz is meaningless.

Each one of the equalization methods have their pros and cons, Audyssey seems to do a good job in the low end compared to the rest of them. MCACC has the ability to tailor a lot of stuff after the auto correction is done, YPAO I am not so sure as I hv not seen it used in a long time. ARC seems to also very good especially the one that comes with the D2V.

I never use the Onkyo (nor the Marantz/Denon for that matter) that I hv for serious 2 channel music. It just sounds so flat and digital (with or without equalization). For 2 channel music integration of the sub to my mains, I use the phase knob on my sub to ensure proper integration. It is good to understand the limitation of ur mains to get the sub integrated well. The F15 that I hv does it pretty well in my ears...

For movies, dual subs make it difficult not to use at least an EQ to at least ensure that they are both in phase (of course this can be done manually, but its a real pain trust me). Getting the phase of both subs playing together is crucial to ensure u are actually benefitting from dual subs compared to just having 1.

Auto EQ is also a marketing tool, some of the lower end ones don't do much its just another 3-4letter word that manufacturers stick on the amp to show that they have more features.

Audyssey has its drawbacks and is far from perfect. It has difficulties is finding the -3dB of the subwoofer and has been known to boost below the -3dB point in the subwoofer. Its implementations of the Dynamic Vol,EQ has been known to pass excessively high SPL signals to the subwoofer channel that causes pops, plus in my opinion it does not do a post equalization ping of the speakers to see if anything is out of the ordinary.

ARC - I'm not sure. I am tempted by the D2V to see if it is neutral for 2 channel listening compared to my pre-amp.

MCACC does not do too much equalization in the low end but is also known to boost low end to cause bottoming out of the subwoofer channel.

EDIT: I just read that u would need to set the speaker distances manually in the Anthem Amps...so that makes sense.
if u happen to be up north in alor setar again, do spare maybe 15 minutes to visit my place. have a listen to how the anthem handles music now.
and probably next month i'll be finishing up the move to an active system.
the upgrade to the anthem is a significant one. but not as significant as moving to an active system. that opened up a new world of possibility as tweaks could be done (electronically) to specific frequency range.

we hold frequent gathering to make sure i'm not the only one hearing improvement after each upgrade process. last gathering takes place last sunday.
paskal
post Oct 20 2011, 09:02 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(BOTBOTCHAI. @ Oct 20 2011, 08:09 PM)
Yup!  smile.gif He is very impressive with your system and always ask me why the gun shot in Die Hard 4 can't shake the couch in his setup( avr 4311 and also dual sub ). I just tell him that he is audition the one of the best setup in this forum ( The LFE in Htkaki system is thumbup.gif ) . You never know what you are missing until you audition the good one . icon_idea.gif
the dormitory scene?

sometimes it seems bizarre to me why most people in this forum choose to pursue LFE more than everything else. more than detail, more than depth, more than naturalness, more than other areas which are also deemed important.
i see the lot going after dual subs and upgrading their avrs to be able to handle dual subs rather than upgrading to power amps, floorstanders for surround, bi-amping, tri-amping, active systems etc.

i'm running the arc which is said to be better than xt32 for single sub and still i find it's more rewarding to upgrade to an avr with better sounding preamp section rather than pursuing better eq capability.
paskal
post Oct 22 2011, 01:41 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 20 2011, 10:20 PM)
+1

Expensive avr (not mine. Later kena tembak) does come with better DSP chips.
ah.. DSP chips.
there's a clear red line when dealing with DSP chips as it goes over the diminishing return faster compared to other any other chip inside the avr.

DSP chips does have an impact on the audio performance, but insignificant less significant compared to any other section. the benefit of a better DSP is outweight by let's see; the power section, better capacitors, signal decoupling methods, better DAC, better preamp.
DSP chips are not made the same. but the improvement from the use of a higher grade DSP compared to a medium grade DSP costing 1/3 of the price is less significant than upgrading the DAC or any of the above.

i may not know much about subs or speakers or cables. but embedded systems IS my field. and i do work with FPGA, DSP, Micro-P, Micro-C, SBCs and the such. better DSP with twice, triple, quadruple processing power and resolution is a pure marketing gimmick.
but then again, i may just be talking crap. biggrin.gif and adding those technical jargon just to look cool. tongue.gif

if only the decoding algorithm to DTS format, AC3, DTS-HD, TrueHD and the such are non-proprietary and freely available to the DIY community. i'm sure DIYers would be able to come up with a freaking superb multichannel decoders and preamp module. it would definitely bring commercial products to shame.
paskal
post Oct 22 2011, 02:56 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 22 2011, 02:33 PM)
aw.... That's too bad. Ain't it?

It is about time that we need talented people like you to show those Japanese and Western countries of what we are capable of producing rather a bunch of clowns that our country is well known for.

We should seriously come out with a stereo int amp or say pre power (since those dunno wot algorithm ain't available) that could put those high end brands to shame. Send a unit to Stereophile and let them be surprised by what we , err others here ( I know zero abt DIY ) can do with the skill and deep knowledge.

It is about time for one truly Malaysia Boleh!
i did one, documented there in the DIY section of hifi4sale. or you can't decipher the jargons posted there? maybe i should use more audiophile term to make it easier to understand? here if you can't find it.

i wouldn't call a bunch of clowns because some high end avr are made in malaysia. can't say about most other makers but i do know sony develop all the series from bottom low to top of the line in malaysia, using malaysian people. if you turn the back of the amp and see it's made in malaysia then there's a good chance a malaysian engineer design and built that.

stereophile? i reckon i did posted a link about how a gainclone trumps a krell sometime before. or maybe you missed that too?
paskal
post Feb 29 2012, 11:49 AM

2,801 posts

$hit i posted my lx55 finding on the wrong thread. haha
paskal
post Apr 5 2012, 11:53 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Kamj69my @ Apr 5 2012, 10:23 PM)
Please let me know the contact to buy the pioneer sc lx85. I'm keen to buy
hivizone hong kong is selling the lx85 for USD$1.7k-something. lots of SG guys are importing it from hivizone. they charge USD$100 for shipping to singapore. should take around the same price to ship to malaysia.

if you're keen might wanna try contacting hivizone. but yeah got the risk of getting taxed
paskal
post Oct 1 2013, 06:24 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Oct 1 2013, 05:44 PM)
Wow... LX-87 is really something... Its output power is awesome (among the highest).... but run so much cooler as compare to Onkyo 5010  thumbup.gif
Pioneer really know how to make magic...  thumbup.gif
it's not quite magic. it's science.
it's what happens when the efficiency goes over 90%
paskal
post Jan 9 2015, 07:14 PM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Jan 9 2015, 05:07 PM)
Haha,

U can quell an upgrade urge once or twice but AFAIK, once u start tinking abt it - its bad news liao..
I 'pendam' my urge for an XT32 audyssey processor [AVR] solely cos I hv 2 subs n 'feel' like l needed an avr wif one but wif ATMOS - l aint even tinking abt it..
Tinking abt tat.. de multiple sub EQ feature is now no longer a feature anymore since ATMOS came ..

How tastes change..
D
does atmos somehow allows you to magically eq those two subs independently?
paskal
post Jan 12 2015, 08:06 PM

2,801 posts

wait till new generation equipment support dts:x.
then nobody mention xt32 and atmos.

that time xt32 and atmos is outdated and no longer needed. kah kah kah
paskal
post Jan 13 2015, 08:19 AM

2,801 posts

QUOTE(Topet @ Jan 12 2015, 10:44 PM)
non upgradeable by updating firmware....demmmm
already confirmed?
the hoo haa before is that current gen atmos will be software upgradeable to dtsx.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0384sec    1.08    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:29 AM