126 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

BenQ Performance Center V14, S41, S42, S57... Come in if u own a S...

Dackson
post Nov 5 2009, 10:00 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

performance ram very expensive !!
OC ram need to take care of the voltage as well ... can not exceed the limit >.<
then how to raise the FSB to 333 MHz ??
astria 533mhz for ram not = 266 mhz for real clock ?? then why need to increase the FSB clock to 333 ?? why dont use 266 ??
TSastria
post Nov 5 2009, 10:04 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

and Fan, regarding multiplier, i forgot to mention abt "unlocked multipler"...

some CPU has their multiplier limit unlocked... for normal ones, u can only adjust the multipler to go lower in the BIOS... but for CPU with multiplier unlocked, u can adjust the number to any number u like (meaning it can go up as well)...

Intel call such CPU Extreme Edition, and comes in the form of the most expensive CPU in the product line... think Core i7 975 Extreme, 965 Extreme, Core 2 Extreme QX9750, QX9650, QX6800, QX6700, X6800, etc...

AMD call such CPU Black Edition, but unlike Intel, it comes in the form of both the most expensive and normal priced CPU... eg are Phenom II x4 965BE, 955BE, Phenom II x3 720BE (965BE replaces 955BE, and both exist together with 720BE), Phenom x4 9950BE, 9850BE, Athlon x2 5000+BE (same thing, 9950BE replaced 9850BE, and both exist together with 5000+)...

u ve more fun playing with such CPU, as instead of adjusting the FSB (Intel) or the HT (AMD), which can hit the ceiling pretty fast, u adjust the multiplier instead... i ve played with a Phenom II X3 720BE before... the default clock is 200x14=2800MHz... my max record was 3800MHz or x19... nod.gif the best thing is, i dun need to pay a hefty price for such a CPU, plus the added bonus of unlocking into a quaddie... nod.gif

also almost bought a Athlon x2 5000+BE when i got the 5200+... but heck, they dun come with heatsinks at all, and back then my budget dun allow for a third party heatsink... so didn't go with it afterall... a bit regret though... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 5 2009, 10:15 PM
Fantasia
post Nov 5 2009, 10:05 PM

5,489 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 5 2009, 09:55 PM)
with that we come to the problem of FSB:RAM ratio... that shows the ratio between the FSB clock and RAM clock... these are real clock (or base clock as i ve said earlier, the proper term should be "real" instead) we re talking abt here...

for any Intel CPU still with FSB (ie pre Nehalem CPU), the optimal ratio is 1:1...

first of all we need to find the real clock... u already know how to find the real clock of FSB... how abt RAM???

the RAM that we re using now are Double Data Rate (DDR) SDRAM... DDR means that 2 pieces of data is transmitted in 1 clock cycle... so for DDR2 667MHz, the real clock is 667/2=333MHz...

so for fab's system, E7500 (1066MHz FSB) with DDR2 667MHz... the ratio is 266:333 = 2:3... and thus the FSB is the bottleneck here!!! since the FSB cannot send data as fast as the RAM can receive and vice versa...

thus to eliminate this bottleneck, and thus achieving a 1:1 ratio, we ve 2 options: a) drop the RAM to run at 533MHz instead, or b) raise the FSB to 333MHz instead...

so that's the reason y i suggested oc to 333MHz... nod.gif moreover, CPU is usually easier to OC than RAM, especially when u re using ValueRAM...

for comparison, my rig at home, which is E6550 (1333MHz FSB) and DDR2 800MHz is currently running @ 429MHz (real clock) for both the RAM and CPU... so my real FSB has jumped almost 100MHz, and real RAM clock jumped 29MHz from default setting... gonna try 440MHz when i go back...
mean 1st, i have to oc my processor to a clockspeed to reach certain number of FSB just to match ram MHz?
TSastria
post Nov 5 2009, 10:07 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 6 2009, 01:05 AM)
mean 1st, i have to oc my processor to a clockspeed to reach certain number of FSB just to match ram MHz?
that would be the best case scenario...

at the minimal, u eliminated 1 of the main bottleneck in a Core 2 system...

after that u can try higher if u feel adventurous enuf... laugh.gif

Added on November 5, 2009, 10:11 pm
QUOTE(Dackson @ Nov 6 2009, 01:00 AM)
performance ram very expensive !!
OC ram need to take care of the voltage as well ... can not exceed the limit >.<
then how to raise the FSB to 333 MHz ??
astria 533mhz for ram not = 266 mhz for real clock ?? then why need to increase the FSB clock to 333 ?? why dont use 266 ??
for RAM voltage, i suggest no more than 1.9V for DDR2 (default is 1.8V), especially for Value RAM... any more can fry the RAM modules...

u can raise the FSB in the BIOS... but Intel mobo is never oc friendly... sweat.gif (Skulltrail is the exception though... laugh.gif)

yes, DDR2 533MHz = 266MHz real... but in fab's case, he's already using DDR2 667MHz... no pt lowering the RAM speed to match the CPU FSB rit (266MHz real FSB)??? That would mean he bought the faster RAM but mever utilize the speed... doesn't make sense economically...

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 5 2009, 10:11 PM
Fantasia
post Nov 5 2009, 10:19 PM

5,489 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 5 2009, 10:07 PM)
that would be the best case scenario...

at the minimal, u eliminated 1 of the main bottleneck in a Core 2 system...

after that u can try higher if u feel adventurous enuf... laugh.gif

Added on November 5, 2009, 10:11 pm

for RAM voltage, i suggest no more than 1.9V for DDR2 (default is 1.8V), especially for Value RAM... any more can fry the RAM modules...

u can raise the FSB in the BIOS... but Intel mobo is never oc friendly... sweat.gif (Skulltrail is the exception though... laugh.gif)

yes, DDR2 533MHz = 266MHz real... but in fab's case, he's already using DDR2 667MHz... no pt lowering the RAM speed to match the CPU FSB rit (266MHz real FSB)??? That would mean he bought the faster RAM but mever utilize the speed... doesn't make sense economically...
i got 1 last question..if this question clear, i most probably understand the basic knowledge of OC...ok, how do we increase this number 1066, coz u said that 1066/4 then u get 266.and 266 X (multiplier) to get ur clockspeed. so if we oc to increase our clockspeed, we most probably increase the multipier which quite weird...or we increase clock speed so that if we divide the multiplier then we will get higher FSB?? i try give an example and u judge whether i'm correct or not

intel processor with clock speed 2.67GHz and FSB is 1064MHz. from this 2 value i know that my base FSB is 266 when i divide my FSB by 4 and know my multiplier is 10. and i using DDR2 667MHz

OC: if i OC my clockspeed until 3.33GHZ. then i divide my current clockspeed by the multiplier which is 10 to get 333MHz which match with my ram.

my explanation correct??

p/s :just find out that the value 266 is bus speed XD

This post has been edited by Fantasia: Nov 5 2009, 10:22 PM
TSastria
post Nov 5 2009, 10:25 PM

22,158 posts

correct, but usually we read it the other way...

i oc the FSB from 266MHz to 333MHz, which matches my RAM @ 667MHz to obtain a 1:1 ratio, and the resultant clock speed is 3.33GHz since i have a multiplier of x10...

as i mentioned in the multiplier unlocked post, u can't raise the multiplier higher in most PCU, unless u re using an EE (Intel) or BE (AMD) CPU...

for me, the main aim of oc-ing is to eliminate the bottleneck caused by the FSB... the higher clock is sort of like added bonus... after that any higher is really oc-ing...

i still remember the first thing after installing OS on the E6550 rig is to raise the FSB from 333MHz to 400MHz to match the RAM... laugh.gif no trail and error, juz straight away bump up to 400MHz...
cloudstrife07
post Nov 5 2009, 10:34 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

from chemistry to RAM to overclocking. i guess this is mobile computing's chat thread (similar to animeshrine's pera pera thread) laugh.gif
DoubleU
post Nov 5 2009, 10:56 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

QUOTE(miahahaha @ Nov 5 2009, 08:39 AM)
@double
Got 1.20 lor, why update to 1.16?? hmm.gif..
accident. after than i update to 1.2 then install win 7.

Install the win 7 driver from benQ cause the lappy to BSOD. I had to go safe mode, uninstall, driver sweeper, then install in safe mode.
cloudstrife07
post Nov 5 2009, 10:58 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 5 2009, 10:56 PM)

Install the win 7 driver from benQ cause the lappy to BSOD. I had to go safe mode, uninstall, driver sweeper, then install in safe mode.
i usually download latest driver from the own respective manufacturer. better that way.
DoubleU
post Nov 5 2009, 11:18 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

lol that's latest driver from benQ
cloudstrife07
post Nov 5 2009, 11:20 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 5 2009, 11:18 PM)
lol that's latest driver from benQ
i prefer from their own manufacturer (like Realtek, Toshiba, Intel, ATI/Nvidia) than downloading the latest from BenQ. laugh.gif
DoubleU
post Nov 5 2009, 11:26 PM

2k yo!~
2,708 posts

nVidia don't support hybrid card la.
miahahaha
post Nov 5 2009, 11:28 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

Yup, sadly that hybrid cards seems to neglected by nVidia....so depends on modded/original ones from BenQ lor..cry.gif

Added on November 5, 2009, 11:29 pmOther download latest one from manufacture site lor (like Realtek/Intel/Touchpad) nod.gif

This post has been edited by miahahaha: Nov 5 2009, 11:29 PM
Dackson
post Nov 5 2009, 11:40 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

nite guy ~

Added on November 5, 2009, 11:41 pmi will die for tomorrow !!

This post has been edited by Dackson: Nov 5 2009, 11:41 PM
chiam dar siang
post Nov 5 2009, 11:43 PM

873 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 5 2009, 10:56 PM)

izit if previously install problematic driver, hav to use driver sweeper??
fongzai92
post Nov 5 2009, 11:46 PM

kuli
1,311 posts

QUOTE(miahahaha @ Nov 5 2009, 11:28 PM)
Yup, sadly that hybrid cards seems to neglected by nVidia....so depends on modded/original ones from BenQ lor..cry.gif

Added on November 5, 2009, 11:29 pmOther download latest one from manufacture site lor (like Realtek/Intel/Touchpad) nod.gif
for the hybrid.. go for DOX one... better than benq offical driver.. biggrin.gif
evolution120
post Nov 6 2009, 12:28 AM

In nickel we trust.
4,306 posts

night guys.
Fantasia
post Nov 6 2009, 12:31 AM

5,489 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Nov 5 2009, 11:40 PM)
nite guy ~

Added on November 5, 2009, 11:41 pmi will die for tomorrow !!
good luck

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 5 2009, 10:25 PM)
correct, but usually we read it the other way...

i oc the FSB from 266MHz to 333MHz, which matches my RAM @ 667MHz to obtain a 1:1 ratio, and the resultant clock speed is 3.33GHz since i have a multiplier of x10...

as i mentioned in the multiplier unlocked post, u can't raise the multiplier higher in most PCU, unless u re using an EE (Intel) or BE (AMD) CPU...

for me, the main aim of oc-ing is to eliminate the bottleneck caused by the FSB... the higher clock is sort of like added bonus... after that any higher is really oc-ing...

i still remember the first thing after installing OS on the E6550 rig is to raise the FSB from 333MHz to 400MHz to match the RAM... laugh.gif no trail and error, juz straight away bump up to 400MHz...
thx for clearing my thought ^^.so since u say after i make 1:1 ratio, if i'm adveturous enough i continue OC also make sure the ration 1:1 also??

This post has been edited by Fantasia: Nov 6 2009, 12:33 AM
cloudstrife07
post Nov 6 2009, 12:31 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(DoubleU @ Nov 5 2009, 11:26 PM)
nVidia don't support hybrid card la.
oh i didnt know that.

QUOTE(miahahaha @ Nov 5 2009, 11:28 PM)

wait, if being neglected, means that the Asus that im going to buy also being neglected??it has Geforce 210m. OMG.

Fantasia
post Nov 6 2009, 12:34 AM

5,489 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Nov 5 2009, 10:34 PM)
from chemistry to RAM to overclocking. i guess this is mobile computing's chat thread (similar to animeshrine's pera pera thread) laugh.gif
this is what make this thread so special and of course can change V to V very fast XD

126 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0162sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:07 AM