126 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

BenQ Performance Center V14, S41, S42, S57... Come in if u own a S...

TSastria
post Nov 5 2009, 09:16 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Nov 6 2009, 12:04 AM)
What about the E7500?
Stock clock is 2.93Ghz. Can I ramp it up to 3.2Ghz?
266MHz x11 = 2926MHz...

honestly speaking, if u ve RAM @ 667MHz, 3.33GHz (333MHz FSB) is not a difficulty thing...

man i love the multiplier...

my E6550 only x7... sweat.gif

if u ve good heatsink and 800MHz RAM, can try challenge 4GHz... brows.gif
Dackson
post Nov 5 2009, 09:17 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 5 2009, 09:16 PM)
266MHz x11 = 2926MHz...

honestly speaking, if u ve RAM @ 667MHz, 3.33GHz (333MHz FSB) is not a difficulty thing...

dont need so high ... my ram is 667 unless i buy new ram >.<
use DDR3 ram since it's cheaper ^^
Fantasia
post Nov 5 2009, 09:18 PM

5,489 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 5 2009, 09:13 PM)
ok, for Core 2, the clock speed u see is derived from the base FSB X Multiplier...

and thus, to get base FSB, we need to divide the rated FSB (the 1066MHz, 1333MHz we always see) by 4 (since the FSB is quad-pumped, meaning 4 pieces of data are transmitted in 1 clock cycle)...

for E6300, the rated FSB is 1066MHz, thus the base FSB is 266MHz...

a E6300 runs at 1.86GHz, so the multiplier is x7...

how the multiplier is determined??? it's by the quality of the CPU... the better the quality, the higher the multiplier...

Dackson... if u compare a E6600 (2.4GHz, 1066MHz FSB) with a E6550 (2.33GHz, 1333MHz FSB), the E6600 has higher multiplier (x9 vs x7)

in another word, the C2D with 1066MHz FSB are easier to attain higher clock due to the multiplier effect...
but most of the time we only can see the rated fsb.how to know the base 1?
Dackson

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

Astria had any ideal to run factory image restore from my hp laptop ??
Angelpoli

995 posts

hmm...i know it's a stupid question.....i want to ask when we copy a movie from a folder to another folder la....when we cancel the copy process, where will the half copied movie gone to??it will delete it automatically when we cancel the process????? cuz when we copy a folder which contains many small file, when we cancel the copy process which is running...some copied files still remains there and not deleted....
TSastria
post Nov 5 2009, 09:22 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Nov 6 2009, 12:15 AM)
astria, i guess i decided to buy ATI 4770 + my friend's AMD Phenom 9150e.
well, honestly speaking, i prefer Athlon II x4...

iirc it's also 65W TDP like the Phenom 9150e, and at higher clock as well... with the improved architecture, the lack of L3 cache would not be a big thing for u, especially when u wouldn't be using it for games...

moreover, 45nm means cooler as well... great for HTPC...

and with Socket AM3, it's going to be less hassle in the future... u ve the follow options open for u:
1) use a cheap Socket AM2+ mobo and DDR2 RAM now... in future when DDR3 is cheap, change the mobo and RAM, use the same CPU
2) also use AM2+ mobo and DDR2 now, when AM3+ mobo come out (by then stuff like USB3.0 and SATA3 would come out also), u can also take advantage of that since it's compatible with AM3 CPU...

with Phenom I, u re stuck with AM2+ mobo and DDR2 forever...
Fantasia
post Nov 5 2009, 09:23 PM

5,489 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 5 2009, 09:16 PM)
266MHz x11 = 2926MHz...

mean E7500 is even better than E6600 in term of OC??

QUOTE(Angelpoli @ Nov 5 2009, 09:18 PM)
hmm...i know it's a stupid question.....i want to ask when we copy a movie from a folder to another folder la....when we cancel the copy process, where will the half copied movie gone to??it will delete it automatically when we cancel the process????? cuz when we copy a folder which contains many small file, when we cancel the copy process which is running...some copied files still remains there and not deleted....
wont delete...if u cancel half way, the files u copied will remain...
TSastria
post Nov 5 2009, 09:23 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 6 2009, 12:18 AM)
but most of the time we only can see the rated fsb.how to know the base 1?
Rated FSB divide by 4...

it's always 4... no other number...
cloudstrife07
post Nov 5 2009, 09:25 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 5 2009, 09:22 PM)
well, honestly speaking, i prefer Athlon II x4...

iirc it's also 65W TDP like the Phenom 9150e, and at higher clock as well... with the improved architecture, the lack of L3 cache would not be a big thing for u, especially when u wouldn't be using it for games...

moreover, 45nm means cooler as well... great for HTPC...

and with Socket AM3, it's going to be less hassle in the future... u ve the follow options open for u:
1) use a cheap Socket AM2+ mobo and DDR2 RAM now... in future when DDR3 is cheap, change the mobo and RAM, use the same CPU
2) also use AM2+ mobo and DDR2 now, when AM3+ mobo come out (by then stuff like USB3.0 and SATA3 would come out also), u can also take advantage of that since it's compatible with AM3 CPU...

with Phenom I, u re stuck with AM2+ mobo and DDR2 forever...
does athlon II has am2+ socket? because my current motherboard now is socket am2. from what i see people selling, those phenom II and athlon II only uses AM3 socket sad.gif

and my PSU is CM Extremepower 430w. so that's why i picked that 9150e. and that 4770 has lesser peak load watts than 4830, thats why i chose 4770, though i need to spend extra RM20 to buy 4770.

ps: btw that 9150e is RM150 only.

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Nov 5 2009, 09:27 PM
Fantasia
post Nov 5 2009, 09:26 PM

5,489 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 5 2009, 09:23 PM)
Rated FSB divide by 4...

it's always 4... no other number...
erm... i mean this >>>for E6300, the rated FSB is 1066MHz, thus the base FSB is 266MHz...
TSastria
post Nov 5 2009, 09:27 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 6 2009, 12:23 AM)
mean E7500 is even better than E6600 in term of OC??
wont delete...if u cancel half way, the files u copied will remain...
definetely... the big multiplier is the main reason...

moreover E7500 is 45nm while E6600 is still 65nm... u'll ve better result with E7500...

but heck... having a Core 2 running at 3GHz was blazing fast back then... and till now then ve one running 3GHz default cheap enough for mainstream users...

for u, wat i suggest is u try 333MHz first to match ur RAM speed... if succeed with good temp, then u try to push further...
Fantasia
post Nov 5 2009, 09:29 PM

5,489 posts

the 333MHz is base FSB??
TSastria
post Nov 5 2009, 09:32 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Nov 6 2009, 12:25 AM)
does athlon II has am2+ socket? because my current motherboard now is socket am2. from what i see people selling, those phenom II and athlon II only uses AM3 socket sad.gif

and my PSU is CM Extremepower 430w. so that's why i picked that 9150e. and that 4770 has lesser peak load watts than 4830, thats why i chose 4770, though i need to spend extra RM20 to buy 4770.

ps: btw that 9150e is RM150 only.
well, AM3 (938 pins) has 1 less pin then AM2+ (939 pins) and 2 less pins then AM2 (940 Pins), so logically speaking a AM3 CPU can be used on a AM2 mobo...

but since ur mobo is a nForce5, i doubt it can support AM3 CPU... u can try ur luck and check if there's a BIOS update to support it, but dun bank too much on that... since from wat i know only chipsets that support AM2+ can support AM3 as well, and some older AM2+ mobo can't do so...

ah well, that's cheap for a quaddie, but Athlon II makes it much more flexible and cheaper should u want to upgrade in the future...

more fun with Athlon II x3 since u can probably unlock it to a quaddie... laugh.gif

Added on November 5, 2009, 9:33 pm
QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 6 2009, 12:26 AM)
erm... i mean this >>>for E6300, the rated FSB is 1066MHz, thus the base FSB is 266MHz...
QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 6 2009, 12:29 AM)
the 333MHz is base FSB??
nod.gif for both...

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 5 2009, 09:33 PM
Fantasia
post Nov 5 2009, 09:35 PM

5,489 posts

i mean how u determine base FSB from this value>>1066MHz
(sry ar, i kind a stupid when come to this thing)

TSastria
post Nov 5 2009, 09:36 PM

22,158 posts

1066 divide by 4 would get u 266... laugh.gif
Dackson
post Nov 5 2009, 09:38 PM

Decide to start hunting
6,439 posts

right .. then the ram is 333Mhz >.< !!
But still can change the modo to 266mhz ^.^
use everest help you detect the Ram : FSB ratio .. my laptop is 12:8 = 3:2
that why DDR3 useless ~ in 1066FSB ~
Fantasia
post Nov 5 2009, 09:40 PM

5,489 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 5 2009, 09:36 PM)
1066 divide by 4 would get u 266... laugh.gif
O.o... now i understand...

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 5 2009, 09:27 PM)
definetely... the big multiplier is the main reason...

moreover E7500 is 45nm while E6600 is still 65nm... u'll ve better result with E7500...

but heck... having a Core 2 running at 3GHz was blazing fast back then... and till now then ve one running 3GHz default cheap enough for mainstream users...

for u, wat i suggest is u try 333MHz first to match ur RAM speed... if succeed with good temp, then u try to push further...
y u recommend beginner to try 333MHz?? i thought E6600 with 266MHz is easier for beginner to to start with since u say very ez to reach 3GHz

QUOTE(Dackson @ Nov 5 2009, 09:38 PM)
right .. then the ram is 333Mhz >.< !!
But still can change the modo to 266mhz ^.^
use everest help you detect the Ram : FSB ratio .. my laptop is 12:8 = 3:2
that why DDR3 useless ~ in 1066FSB ~
huh??shit, i blur again...why ram affect OC?? i thought is the processor itself OC, not the ram right?

This post has been edited by Fantasia: Nov 5 2009, 09:42 PM
cloudstrife07
post Nov 5 2009, 09:43 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 5 2009, 09:32 PM)
well, AM3 (938 pins) has 1 less pin then AM2+ (939 pins) and 2 less pins then AM2 (940 Pins), so logically speaking a AM3 CPU can be used on a AM2 mobo...

but since ur mobo is a nForce5, i doubt it can support AM3 CPU... u can try ur luck and check if there's a BIOS update to support it, but dun bank too much on that... since from wat i know only chipsets that support AM2+ can support AM3 as well, and some older AM2+ mobo can't do so...

ah well, that's cheap for a quaddie, but Athlon II makes it much more flexible and cheaper should u want to upgrade in the future...

more fun with Athlon II x3 since u can probably unlock it to a quaddie... laugh.gif
well i had to miss those fun though laugh.gif

probably i'll upgrade the RAM to 4GB and buy 1 tera hard disk after this and then, thats it. after that just buy new pc.
TSastria
post Nov 5 2009, 09:55 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 6 2009, 12:40 AM)
O.o... now i understand...
y u recommend beginner to try 333MHz?? i thought E6600 with 266MHz is easier for beginner to to start with since u say very ez to reach 3GHz
with that we come to the problem of FSB:RAM ratio... that shows the ratio between the FSB clock and RAM clock... these are real clock (or base clock as i ve said earlier, the proper term should be "real" instead) we re talking abt here...

for any Intel CPU still with FSB (ie pre Nehalem CPU), the optimal ratio is 1:1...

first of all we need to find the real clock... u already know how to find the real clock of FSB... how abt RAM???

the RAM that we re using now are Double Data Rate (DDR) SDRAM... DDR means that 2 pieces of data is transmitted in 1 clock cycle... so for DDR2 667MHz, the real clock is 667/2=333MHz...

so for fab's system, E7500 (1066MHz FSB) with DDR2 667MHz... the ratio is 266:333 = 2:3... and thus the FSB is the bottleneck here!!! since the FSB cannot send data as fast as the RAM can receive and vice versa...

thus to eliminate this bottleneck, and thus achieving a 1:1 ratio, we ve 2 options: a) drop the RAM to run at 533MHz instead, or b) raise the FSB to 333MHz instead...

so that's the reason y i suggested oc to 333MHz... nod.gif moreover, CPU is usually easier to OC than RAM, especially when u re using ValueRAM...

for comparison, my rig at home, which is E6550 (1333MHz FSB) and DDR2 800MHz is currently running @ 429MHz (real clock) for both the RAM and CPU... so my real FSB has jumped almost 100MHz, and real RAM clock jumped 29MHz from default setting... gonna try 440MHz when i go back...

Added on November 5, 2009, 9:55 pm
QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Nov 6 2009, 12:43 AM)
well i had to miss those fun though laugh.gif

probably i'll upgrade the RAM to 4GB and buy 1 tera hard disk after this and then, thats it. after that just buy new pc.
well , ur choice...

happy assembling... smile.gif

Added on November 5, 2009, 9:57 pmoh yes, and for beginners, 1:1 ratio is wat u should be aiming for first...

if u get a stable system while maintaining at nice temperature, then u proceed to go higher...

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 5 2009, 09:57 PM
cloudstrife07
post Nov 5 2009, 09:58 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Nov 5 2009, 09:55 PM)
well , ur choice...

happy assembling...  smile.gif

Added on November 5, 2009, 9:57 pmoh yes, and for beginners, 1:1 ratio is wat u should be aiming for first...

if u get a stable system while maintaining at nice temperature, then u proceed to go higher...
thanks astria smile.gif

overclocking phenom 9150e on the way. if i can reach 2.1Ghz consider good already tongue.gif

126 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:36 AM