9,338 posts

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Dec 13 2010, 09:16 AM)
I have about 5 pairs of DMs. IF you guys dont mind 2nd hand pairs go look @
"Kedai Jumble" around KL (Kampung Baru) loads of them there and all
from UK only. I bought 2 pairs recently for only RM350, both mint condition
will post pics later tonight.

My oldest DM was bought way back in 1999, 6 hole, super mouldy cuz forgot
i had them, they were "lost" in the Store room.... wink.gif
I have the same mould problem, now thinking whether i should get them attended too and wear again, cause they are the most comfy pair of boots i ever own cry.gif
attacusatlas
post Dec 13 2010, 02:22 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

i had treated my crazy horse before; the moulding disappeared and appeared again. after a few treatments, i gave up and threw them away.

to prevent it, it is advisable to rotate them, especially leather shoes.
Fei Kei
post Dec 15 2010, 08:15 AM

389 posts

It moulded becos of moisture. Dried it under d sun, it will be OK.
71ers
post Dec 15 2010, 12:18 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Dec 13 2010, 09:16 AM)
I have about 5 pairs of DMs. IF you guys dont mind 2nd hand pairs go look @
"Kedai Jumble" around KL (Kampung Baru) loads of them there and all
from UK only. I bought 2 pairs recently for only RM350, both mint condition
will post pics later tonight.

My oldest DM was bought way back in 1999, 6 hole, super mouldy cuz forgot
i had them, they were "lost" in the Store room.... wink.gif
mydelsol, where exactly in Kg Baru ? would like to look for some DM
mydelsol
post Dec 15 2010, 02:32 PM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

QUOTE(71ers @ Dec 15 2010, 12:18 PM)
mydelsol, where exactly in Kg Baru ?  would like to look for some DM
theres a few there, I meant as in ANY Kedai Jumble that sells shoes, for sure
will carry DMs. If you are in Kpg Baru area, right after the Petronas, keep left,
you wont miss it there are a few in the same row before Naza HQ... rclxms.gif ...

71ers
post Dec 15 2010, 03:46 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Dec 15 2010, 02:32 PM)
theres a few there, I meant as in ANY Kedai Jumble that sells shoes, for sure
will carry DMs. If you are in Kpg Baru area, right after the Petronas, keep left,
you wont miss it there are a few in the same row before Naza HQ... rclxms.gif ...
thanks bro, i hv been to Chow Kit area .. the heat inside was unbearable , so did not really browse much smile.gif
attacusatlas
post Dec 15 2010, 04:52 PM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

QUOTE(Fei Kei @ Dec 15 2010, 08:15 AM)
It moulded becos of moisture. Dried it under d sun, it will be OK.
ain't that easy. i sent mine to a professional cleaner to get my pair done. however after a few months, the mould struck back.

apparently the roots of the mould were planted deeply into the core of leather. it is best treated at the initial stage of moulding.
mydelsol
post Dec 15 2010, 05:04 PM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

QUOTE(71ers @ Dec 15 2010, 03:46 PM)
thanks bro, i hv been to Chow Kit area .. the heat inside was unbearable , so did not really browse much smile.gif
no worries bro, hope you find a good pair, I sure did...

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Dec 15 2010, 04:52 PM)
ain't that easy. i sent mine to a professional cleaner to get my pair done. however after a few months, the mould struck back.

apparently the roots of the mould were planted deeply into the core of leather. it is best treated at the initial stage of moulding.
thanks for the info much appreciated... rclxms.gif

BTW here are the pics of my Brownie & Blackie, used alternate days to work..as well as Mr. Mouldy...circa 1999....sayang wanna throw,
even though can be salvaged IF I send to a good cobbler.. i doubt he will regain his glory.....
both were bought back in 2008 @ Kampung Baru Kedai Jumble @ RM350, they were in mint condition thumbup.gif

btw was told never to use wax on DM, only normal polish, is this true?

This post has been edited by mydelsol: Dec 15 2010, 07:02 PM

ayam001
post Dec 16 2010, 03:01 AM

160 posts

ahh.. DM's tread. smile.gif

well, my DM steel toe 10-holes black now just be a boot 'Ladang'.. sweat.gif

since Skinhead totally is DEAD. sad.gif
Fei Kei
post Dec 16 2010, 08:21 AM

389 posts

Dont buy fr Junk shop in Kampong Baru. Teruk nya condition.
Since most of u here r internet savvy, eBay is d place 2 go thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Fei Kei: Dec 16 2010, 08:24 AM
mydelsol
post Dec 16 2010, 09:27 AM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

not all have bad stuff bro, I got mine near mint condition from a Jumble shop. Buyer must always
look & see wat he is buying, I went to about 6 shops before I got mine wink.gif

QUOTE(Fei Kei @ Dec 16 2010, 08:21 AM)
Dont buy fr Junk shop in Kampong Baru. Teruk nya condition.
Since most of u here r internet savvy, eBay is d place 2 go  thumbup.gif
This post has been edited by mydelsol: Dec 16 2010, 12:33 PM
MeToo
post Dec 16 2010, 10:25 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Dec 16 2010, 09:27 AM)
not all have bad stuff bro, I got mine near mint condition from a Jumble shop. Buyer must always look & see wat he is buying, I went to about 6 shops before I got mine wink.gif
Eh they are used? Ooo.. then have to cancel my plan liao.

I have something against wearing 2nd hand shoes sad.gif
attacusatlas
post Dec 16 2010, 11:48 AM

A Nasty Professional
2,664 posts

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Dec 15 2010, 05:04 PM)
no worries bro, hope you find a good pair, I sure did...
thanks for the info much appreciated... rclxms.gif

BTW here are the pics of my Brownie & Blackie, used alternate days to work..as well as Mr. Mouldy...circa 1999....sayang wanna throw,
even though can be salvaged IF I send to a good cobbler.. i doubt he will regain his glory.....
both were bought back in 2008 @ Kampung Baru Kedai Jumble @ RM350, they were in mint condition  thumbup.gif

btw was told never to use wax on DM, only normal polish, is this true?
glad to be of assistance.

btw, i have a similar black, low cut dm. made in uk, without the yellow thread. how about yours? you got it for rm350 for a used pair??
mydelsol
post Dec 16 2010, 12:35 PM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Dec 16 2010, 10:25 AM)
Eh they are used? Ooo.. then have to cancel my plan liao.
I have something against wearing 2nd hand shoes  sad.gif
no worries... blush.gif

QUOTE(attacusatlas @ Dec 16 2010, 11:48 AM)
glad to be of assistance.
btw, i have a similar black, low cut dm. made in uk, without the yellow thread. how about yours?
you got it for rm350 for a used pair??
mine is all black, bought 2 pairs for RM350 bro smile.gif notworthy.gif
yes used pair... cuz I coudlnt get the size I wanted and hard to come by original
DMs nowdays so thats I Y isettled for used pair... blush.gif
MeToo
post Dec 16 2010, 01:55 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Dec 16 2010, 12:35 PM)
mine is all black, bought 2 pairs for RM350 bro smile.gif  notworthy.gif
yes used pair... cuz I coudlnt get the size I wanted and hard to come by original
DMs nowdays so thats I Y isettled for used pair...  blush.gif
Speaking of original DrMs, I saw quite a few places sellign them when I was in Bangkok a few weeks back. In Msia seems the rage have died.
mydelsol
post Dec 16 2010, 01:59 PM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

yes agreed but did you see the bottom sole? they looked like made in china shakehead.gif
Lot10 Isetan previously used to sell them, nowdays dont see it at all.

Only place i know now is Sg Wang, think the shop is called "_something_" 99 ..heheh...forgot the name
BUT very expensive, cheapest was about RM389/-....

QUOTE(MeToo @ Dec 16 2010, 01:55 PM)
Speaking of original DrMs, I saw quite a few places sellign them when I was in Bangkok a few weeks back.
In Msia seems the rage have died.
This post has been edited by mydelsol: Dec 16 2010, 01:59 PM
Fei Kei
post Dec 18 2010, 09:40 AM

389 posts

all martens made in China or thailand except the Vintage collection.
if u want made in england look for "solovair" this company is the original factory tat produces Dr.Martens.

skuirtgun
post Dec 20 2010, 02:53 PM

15 posts

The new ones in Campbell Complex also made in China/Thailand.
mydelsol
post Dec 21 2010, 08:22 AM

Malaysian
2,105 posts

any1 knows how to differentiate the Made in England from the Made in China/Thailand?

For me, insoles have a Made in UK imprinted on them, any other?.

23 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:59 AM