Debit Card V2

TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 20 2009, 06:59 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(greyskyster @ Dec 20 2009, 06:14 PM)
hi there, im thinking to apply the PB Day2Day VISA debit card .
i got a question here, if i need it for paypal account or swipe the card when i do shopping, how much balance should i have in the card? i mean the minimum amount of money in my account
For PLUS Savings Account, the minimum balance is RM1. The initial deposit however, is RM250.

TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 21 2009, 12:46 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Dec 21 2009, 09:31 AM)
for swipe at petrol kiosk, you'll need RM180-RM200 per swipe if not mistaken
RM200 will be hold until they clear the exact amount.

QUOTE(future80 @ Dec 21 2009, 12:34 PM)
yes. but (at least RM180-RM200 ) + amount of petrol

Not quite right. Only a total amount of RM200 will be temporary deducted from your account. The remaining balance will be refunded to you in a few days.

QUOTE(future80 @ Dec 21 2009, 12:34 PM)
however, buy with one preset amount at and swipe at counter ,  RM180-RM200  not required.
Correct. Pump first, pay later inside and you will only need to pay the exact amount pumped.

TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 21 2009, 06:29 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Dec 21 2009, 03:49 PM)
why they need hold rm200 ?
any rational?
Because they do not know the exact amount worth of petrol you are going to pump. So once they authorized your card at the pump kiosk, they will hold RM200 from your account and the exact amount pumped will be deducted from the RM200 and remaining balance will be refunded to your account in a few days.

TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 21 2009, 08:15 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(greyskyster @ Dec 21 2009, 07:47 PM)
icon_question.gif ! i went to PBB today to open a saving account and i got my debit card as well.
why is my card could not be verified by VISA?
it stated that 'Validation failed, please try again'.
cry.gif  how can i solve this problem?
Did you make sure you have entered all the correct details ? And make sure you have read the FAQ before attempting to register next time.

TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 22 2009, 05:21 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(SurpriseZZZZZ @ Dec 22 2009, 05:11 PM)
Wow, so many banks allow their user to use the balance in their saving accounts? CIMB is currently separating both of the accounts which make it useless. Users have to go through painful process to top-up, and sum more cannot check statement.
Feel free to switch to a non-government controlled bank smile.gif
TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 22 2009, 11:19 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Dec 22 2009, 10:11 PM)
If still cannot verify, better call the customer service hotline.

But all the bank in malaysia is control by government, don't they?
No. Banks in Malaysia are regulated by Bank Negara. Okay, you can say that the government control the banking system in Malaysia as Bank Negara is not really much different from the government as they are under the central government jurisdiction.

However, not all banks in Malaysia are run by the Malaysian government. There are still a few that are privately held and self-run banks such as Public Bank, AmBank, Hong Leong Bank, EON Bank and Alliance Bank (Singaporean government behind it). Besides these local banks that are not run by the government, you also have the options to bank with the foreign banks that the Malaysian government has no interest in such as HSBC, Citibank, Standard Chartered Bank, UOB Bank and OCBC Bank.

TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 23 2009, 01:57 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(greyskyster @ Dec 22 2009, 11:43 PM)
and i have few more question here, how can i get the e-statement?

There is no e-statement for PBB D2D VISA. But you can track your balance and account activity through PBeBank.com. Just select your "depost account".

QUOTE(greyskyster @ Dec 22 2009, 11:43 PM)
i need the code in the statement to verify my paypal linked debit card  rclxm9.gif
I believe the code will appear in your online savings account statement in a few days.

TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 23 2009, 11:35 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(iXora.ix @ Dec 23 2009, 03:47 PM)
Hi Guyz,

Im going Cambodia tomorrow. Since there using USD for local transaction, i planning to bring my ING Public Bank Debit card over there. Did my card certified or ' Laku ' there? cause dun wan bring so much cash in my pocket.

1 more question, let say in my card have RM 350 = USD 100. Did bank will charge us the transaction cost?
Yes. You can use it there. But it is advisable that you give them a call before leaving.

There will be an additional charge of 1.25% for payment made in foreign currency using PBB debit or credit card. Have a good time the Cambodia.

TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 24 2009, 10:36 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(asm@m @ Dec 24 2009, 09:03 AM)
Is BSN matrix a debit card?
Can it be used for online shopping ?

I believe the BSN Matrix VISA debit card cannot be used online. Last time they were issuing VISA Electron but that one can't be used online either.

QUOTE(asm@m @ Dec 24 2009, 09:03 AM)
if not, what debit card suited for a student who have no incone , lol, seriously
Maybank Cherry VISA debit card or Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card. Both cards can be used online from Paypal to www.malasyiaairlines.com and a lot more.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Dec 24 2009, 10:37 AM
TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 24 2009, 10:38 AM

9,301 posts

GHz,

Do you know if the UOB Bank debit Mastercard can be used online ? Such as at www.malaysiaairlines.com.my/airasia.com/genting.com.my etc ? UOB Bank has stopped issuing VISA Electron. The existing VISA Electron card users have also been told to go to UOB Bank to replace it with the new debit Mastercard.
TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 24 2009, 11:23 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Dec 24 2009, 02:23 PM)
Sorry, I do not know about that. blush.gif
It's all right. Sent them an email. Hopefully i'll hear from them by next week.

QUOTE(besiegetank @ Dec 24 2009, 09:35 PM)
Thx for your reply, before i visit my nearby maybank branch, any suggestion on which type of banking acc to open?the most basic one?
Request to open a Kawanku Savings Account. They will ask for RM250 initial deposit. The minimum balance for this account is RM1. Make sure you insist on the annual fee free Cherry VISA debit card because they now give their customers to choose either to pay RM8 per annum for unlimited withdrawal or do not have to pay any fee for the Cherry VISA debit card but you are only allowed 4 free withdrawals a month. Subsequent withdrawals will be charged RM0.50 each time. The RM0.50 penalty fee will be waived if you have more at least RM5000 when you make the 5th withdrawal in a month. Most Maybank branches will tell their new customers that there is no more free ATM card but make sure you contest that.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Dec 24 2009, 11:28 PM
TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 25 2009, 05:45 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(besiegetank @ Dec 25 2009, 01:01 AM)
btw, i just checked from maybank website about the golden savers savings account. It seems to offer higher interest rate as well as free debit card. It didn't state that I must be over 50 years old to apply right?seems too good to be true...anyone apply for it?
Golden Savers Savings and Golden Saver Savings-i are only open to those aged 50 and above.

QUOTE(ccm123 @ Dec 25 2009, 03:35 PM)
Hi people, this is very urgent to me. I have a PB TARC DEBIT MASTERCARD, in which I received it few months ago, and I have never activated nor done anything about it.

Can anyone tell me how to activate it? I remember they once send me the statement for activation and I lost it already..

You need to call Public Bank credit card centre to activate the card. Since it's been a few months since you received the card and did not activate it, the card might already be canceled. Anyway, you can find out the exact status of the card with Public Bank credit card call centre.

QUOTE(ccm123 @ Dec 25 2009, 03:35 PM)
Or can I just transfer fund directly from other bank to that account? Can I do it at the ATM? And it can be used for international transactions right? 
Yes. It can be used overseas. If you have a Public Bank savings or current account, you can transfer money into the debit card account directly from PBeBank.com. You may also transfer the money through ATM or simply by deposit some cash via any PBB cash deposit terminal.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Dec 25 2009, 05:47 PM
TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 26 2009, 03:07 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Dec 26 2009, 01:52 PM)
Another question, is PB D2D Debit Card a replacement card for all PB Bankcard ATM card?  hmm.gif
Kind of ... yeah. But you do not have to switch to this PBB D2D VISA if you do not want to. The annual fee is a bit higher at RM12 compared to the red or blue colored old MEPS ATM card. The annual fee for the old MEPS ATM card is only RM8.

However, one notably difference with PBB D2D VISA is that you get cash rebate when using this card. 0.8% cash back for petrol and groceries and 0.3% for all other transactions. There is no need to enter your PIN number either when purchasing something through the VISA platform. Just give the card to the cashier and and sign the approval receipt will do.

QUOTE(Nidz @ Dec 26 2009, 02:43 PM)
okay, i think now its proven that maybank visa debit can be used for online transactions...
but can it be used for online 'flexi payment' such as available on dell's website? i really hope that i can buy a new laptop with 0% interest monthly payment...
Not. Because it is a debit card.

TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 26 2009, 04:57 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ks98 @ Dec 26 2009, 04:28 PM)
anyone try Citibank debit card? is it good? hardly see ppl talking about it...
I have the blue one. Hardly use it. It comes with my Basic Savings Account that i opened not so long ago. Not really sure if it can be used online.

QUOTE(Icehart @ Dec 26 2009, 03:15 PM)
Can it be used for online transactions then? Despite a higher annual fees, at least it would be better and worth for extra useful functions. smile.gif

(I know that from the brochures, they stated that it can be used for conducting online transactions, but this is a question to reconfirm, because I'm worried it would become like the case of MBB's Visa Card months ago - bearing Visa but cannot be used for online transactions)
Yes. I can confirm that the Public Bank Day2Day VISA can be used online. You can use it at Paypal, Amazon.com, malaysiaairlines.com, airasia.com, genting.com.my and many more.

TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 26 2009, 10:41 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Nidz @ Dec 26 2009, 07:01 PM)
so, there's no debit card that can be used for flexi payment? even PB D2D visa?
No

TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 28 2009, 12:08 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(ck_tonny @ Dec 27 2009, 07:49 PM)
Is there any aannual fees imposed for the basic savings accounts? any minimum amount have to retain for it?
No. No minimum balance fee whatsoever, so i was told. There is no annual fee for their VISA debit/ATM card either but you will need to pay RM8 for only once to apply for the card. I am not sure how much is the minimum balance must be kept at all time i always have more than RM1000 in it. You need only RM20 to open a Basic Savings Account with Citibank.

TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 29 2009, 08:37 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(accutane @ Dec 29 2009, 08:19 PM)
My friend told me that using debit card to pay petrol doesn't need any signature or password. Is it true?
For either a VISA debit card or debit Mastercard, if you pay it at the petrol kiosk, then you do not have to sign anything or to key in your password. RM200 will be temporary deducted from your account. As for why will RM200 be deducted from your account, please go back several pages back. It's been explained many times there.

TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 30 2009, 01:59 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(future80 @ Dec 30 2009, 11:27 AM)
2. go to the 'building' pay at counter, terminal machine
If you pay at counter, a signature is required and only amount pumped will be charged.
TSMilesAndMore
post Dec 31 2009, 05:38 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Shockerz @ Dec 31 2009, 05:14 PM)
I just got my visa electron card [Public Bank] today and was wondering how to check the statement online because I want the confirmation code from paypal to confirm my card as valid or do I need to wait for the monthly statement? That would be a bother  mad.gif

You need to apply for e-banking inside the branch. But all of them are closed for the day. You will have to wait till next week.

QUOTE(Shockerz @ Dec 31 2009, 05:14 PM)
Btw, adding funds from electron into paypal.. possible?
No.
TSMilesAndMore
post Jan 1 2010, 08:35 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Shockerz @ Dec 31 2009, 05:42 PM)
How can I transfer my money from paypal to public bank?

Yes. You can. Just follow the instructions on screen.

QUOTE(Shockerz @ Dec 31 2009, 05:42 PM)
I'm sure that paypal would not recognize our bank because I did that before so no more option for money that straight transfer to bank account. Any other option?
This is now possible since like a few months ago. Minimum amount you can transfer into your Malaysian bank account is RM40 and a minimal service charge apply per transfer (RM3). No service charge if you transfer at least RM400 or more in one transaction.

29 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0436sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:55 AM