Why did u choose the Wii over ps3 and 360, not everybody can buy all 3

TSramz
post Oct 25 2009, 12:19 PM, updated 16y ago

21,324 posts

I have ask a few, and usually their reasons are not the same as mine. so i like to gauge the common reasons

As for me, here are my reasons:

1. i am a family man, so when i make decisions, i need to think about everybody and not just me. I need a console where everbody can play together. I need my wife to play too. She is super anti gaming (nope, if u think your gf/wife is more anti gaming, i will introduce u to my wife then only u know). but with the wii, she plays boogie superstar, RB beatles, and wii sports resort. if ps3/xbox360, i can only see her playing rb beatles. actually i have been contemplating of getting a ps3 long time ago, but it would be selfish of me. so i am waiting for the moment when ps3 can become more family friendly.

2. I hate the analog stick when playing fps. I can't play fps on ps3/xbox360. Its so hard to aim. I prefer point and shoot. I always wonder why ps3/xbox360 after all these years still stick to analog stick for fps. its so unnatural.

3. I like the idea of it doubling as a fitness gadget. dancing, tennis, and even drumming will make u sweat like a pig. oh, and after playing mario kart wii for an hour, u notice how painful your arms get from holding the 'steering' on the air without any support. yes, i get maro kart wii aches too.

EDIT: as of today i have both ps3 and wii. i would say they don't really compete which each other, rather they make gaming more complete. after 5 months, i must say the above 3 points still wins on the wii. ps3 is for me and me only (not for my kids), and i still hate the ps3 ds3 controller (although i am getting d hang of it now), and i don't have any fitness games on ps3. but ps3 have very good mature games. and amazing graphics.

This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 10 2010, 08:49 AM
gundamalpha
post Oct 25 2009, 12:22 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Can't comment since they are all equal in my book tongue.gif
yangkuo
post Oct 25 2009, 01:22 PM

90 posts

i got it first out of my 2 consoles (excluding DSes) mainly because i love Nintendo made games.

then there was the "innovation" which i believe could benefit a number of game genres. some of the initial DS games made me believe.

i must admit though not many developers have taken good advantage of the "new control" and made it shine.

i own a PS3 too and it's mostly the same reason. for the games i like to play eg. Final Fantasy, Devil May Cry, etc.etc
jooku1
post Oct 25 2009, 03:14 PM

704 posts

Motion control...'nuff said.
PS3 and Xbox playing catch up now.
TenSou
post Oct 25 2009, 03:23 PM

48 posts

I bought mine for only 1 game. Personally, I'm not a huge fan of preset waggle controls but to each to their own. whistling.gif
Kyoyagami
post Oct 25 2009, 08:37 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Nintendo equals difference. That's what I have always felt after the DS came out. I choose their consoles above everything else first. And now, I'm playing catch up with the PSP. hehe.
prominen
post Oct 25 2009, 09:58 PM

290 posts

simple answer, I don't choose...I bought them all...so no need to picky in term of games...
LYNsucks
post Oct 26 2009, 01:14 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Oct 25 2009, 12:19 PM)
2. I hate the analog stick when playing fps. I can't play fps on ps3/xbox360. Its so hard to aim. I prefer point and shoot. I always wonder why ps3/xbox360 after all these years still stick to analog stick for fps. its so unnatural.
If console come out with mouse and keyboard dont ya think the console is slowly turning into pc? The purpose of console is to keep it simple; insert the game and play straight away. Since the introduction of xbox the console indeed have slowly become a pc, like the introduction of media playing capability etc. Good idea for console turning into pc? I dont think so! Now ps3 is said to be able to run linux, so wat's next? Windows 7 on next gen console? Play fps with mouse n keyboard? Install game into console and......oh my, just call it a pc then.
PhoenixByte
post Oct 26 2009, 05:53 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

i chose Wii first coz it was cheap among the others at that time...and I fall for its wiimote and nunchuck gimmick. My wife doesn't play games but she doesn't mind me playing it too. Sometimes she plays those puzzle game and sudoku on the DS.

As for the Wii after a while it gets old and new games with the genre i like rarely came out and more ppl i knew are online on the other console.

So i got PS3 after that. If got extra money i'll get the 360 too.

Now i'm just keeping the wii so that someday, my daughter can play it with me. Before that time, it just sits there smile.gif
Mayomythical
post Oct 26 2009, 01:03 PM

48 posts

Ramz, my reasons are exactly the same as yours. Although in my case, my wife doesn't mind me playing games, but I thought I must be considerate as well, and buy a machine that both of us can use.

Try playing Tiger Woods 10 on the Wii. That'll give you a good workout, not to mention improving your golf swing!
FlakCannon
post Oct 26 2009, 01:10 PM

reasons

1. Price
2. Mario
TSramz
post Oct 26 2009, 02:21 PM

21,324 posts

QUOTE(LYNsucks @ Oct 26 2009, 01:14 AM)
If console come out with mouse and keyboard dont ya think the console is slowly turning into pc? The purpose of console is to keep it simple; insert the game and play straight away. Since the introduction of xbox the console indeed have slowly become a pc, like the introduction of media playing capability etc. Good idea for console turning into pc? I dont think so! Now ps3 is said to be able to run linux, so wat's next? Windows 7 on next gen console? Play fps with mouse n keyboard? Install game into console and......oh my, just call it a pc then.
consoles are here to stay, coz pc is very leceh la, kena install driver la, tengok specs ngaam dengan game atau tidak la, dan sebagainya. pc gaming is like gaming on a modded wii, minus the motion controls, hehe. but i must admit, if u play nothing but fps, pc is very attractive even with all the lecehness.
PhoenixByte
post Oct 26 2009, 05:33 PM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

pc is good for RTS n FPS..other than that, can opt for consoles. smile.gif
XEN -v- gK
post Oct 26 2009, 06:55 PM

137 posts

Virtual Console & Wii Shop.
I know, I know, there are emulator and Rom for PC, but its just not the same for me.

Also, Zelda: Twilight Princess.
kokokranc
post Oct 28 2009, 07:23 AM

223 posts

1- price

2- innovation - conroller rclxms.gif

3- choice of games (for everyone)

4- can gamecercise! who says a gamer should be a fat dude! see wii fit girl - google "Lauren Bernat wii fit girl" lol drool.gif

5- ps3 + xbox = all brawn and power. like PC
wii? simply art. like a console should be icon_idea.gif
bose00
post Oct 30 2009, 11:32 PM

214 posts

1. wii new gameplay - nunchuk + wiimote
2. Mario
3. Luigi
4. super smash bro brawl
5. zelda
6. metroid prime

This post has been edited by bose00: Oct 30 2009, 11:33 PM
paige.pc
post Oct 31 2009, 03:11 AM

120 posts

I bought Wii bcos of MARIO < main reason
Others are Supporters for me
figure8
post Oct 31 2009, 09:10 PM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

1. got a lot of exclusive games
2. unique gameplay
3. price is cheaper than ps3/xbox360
4. homebrew
5. not hd ready/full hd capability
Voxdei
post Nov 6 2009, 01:46 AM

108 posts

for me, it's mainly the titles.

-there are a lot of niche-import games for it, and since development costs is cheaper for the wii compared to the other current-gen consoles, a lot of smaller studios can produce games for it. Guys like Suda51, the people at Xseed and occasionally Atlus are eager to provide the titles for it.
yeah shovelware comes with lower development costs, but it is only an issue for the less-discerning gamers (i.e clueless parents). There are tons of brilliant titles for the wii that most people give a miss for lazy-waggle-input-carnival-games.

-Backwards compatibility: I haven't had a Nintendo Console since the SNES, and with Gamecube BC, the wii has a much more expanded library, compared to the ps3 which decided to forgo BC for some retarded reason. also VC allows me to catch up on the great nintendo games I missed throughout the years.

And of course, most titles available for the ps3/360 are available on the PC. I have a decent PC running for my current gen fix.
hmwong
post Nov 11 2009, 08:51 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(TenSou @ Oct 25 2009, 03:23 PM)
I bought mine for only 1 game.  Personally, I'm not a huge fan of preset waggle controls but to each to their own. whistling.gif
What game is that? What are the other games worth getting for kids between 9 - 15?

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:46 AM