Why did u choose the Wii over ps3 and 360, not everybody can buy all 3

TSramz
post Oct 25 2009, 12:19 PM, updated 16y ago

21,318 posts

I have ask a few, and usually their reasons are not the same as mine. so i like to gauge the common reasons

As for me, here are my reasons:

1. i am a family man, so when i make decisions, i need to think about everybody and not just me. I need a console where everbody can play together. I need my wife to play too. She is super anti gaming (nope, if u think your gf/wife is more anti gaming, i will introduce u to my wife then only u know). but with the wii, she plays boogie superstar, RB beatles, and wii sports resort. if ps3/xbox360, i can only see her playing rb beatles. actually i have been contemplating of getting a ps3 long time ago, but it would be selfish of me. so i am waiting for the moment when ps3 can become more family friendly.

2. I hate the analog stick when playing fps. I can't play fps on ps3/xbox360. Its so hard to aim. I prefer point and shoot. I always wonder why ps3/xbox360 after all these years still stick to analog stick for fps. its so unnatural.

3. I like the idea of it doubling as a fitness gadget. dancing, tennis, and even drumming will make u sweat like a pig. oh, and after playing mario kart wii for an hour, u notice how painful your arms get from holding the 'steering' on the air without any support. yes, i get maro kart wii aches too.

EDIT: as of today i have both ps3 and wii. i would say they don't really compete which each other, rather they make gaming more complete. after 5 months, i must say the above 3 points still wins on the wii. ps3 is for me and me only (not for my kids), and i still hate the ps3 ds3 controller (although i am getting d hang of it now), and i don't have any fitness games on ps3. but ps3 have very good mature games. and amazing graphics.

This post has been edited by ramz: Jun 10 2010, 08:49 AM
TSramz
post Oct 26 2009, 02:21 PM

21,318 posts

QUOTE(LYNsucks @ Oct 26 2009, 01:14 AM)
If console come out with mouse and keyboard dont ya think the console is slowly turning into pc? The purpose of console is to keep it simple; insert the game and play straight away. Since the introduction of xbox the console indeed have slowly become a pc, like the introduction of media playing capability etc. Good idea for console turning into pc? I dont think so! Now ps3 is said to be able to run linux, so wat's next? Windows 7 on next gen console? Play fps with mouse n keyboard? Install game into console and......oh my, just call it a pc then.
consoles are here to stay, coz pc is very leceh la, kena install driver la, tengok specs ngaam dengan game atau tidak la, dan sebagainya. pc gaming is like gaming on a modded wii, minus the motion controls, hehe. but i must admit, if u play nothing but fps, pc is very attractive even with all the lecehness.
TSramz
post Nov 11 2009, 01:29 PM

21,318 posts

ironic init? the availability of myr10 games seems to be the main factor to determine a console's popularity on these shores.

>> don't think it has to do with that. ps3 is the most popular console on these shores actually. it is simply marketing. to malaysians, sony is a household name. nintendo is a kiddy name.

for people who choose not to spend on ori games there is the wii, and to a lesser extend, the 360.
TSramz
post Nov 15 2009, 10:43 AM

21,318 posts

just google "comparison wii ps3 360" and there will be about a dozen articles. but not many sites will justify your instinct. trust your instinct.

but from your requirements about your parents and nephew want to join in the fun, assuming they are new to gaming, then u can't go wrong with the wii.

the graphics is better then ps2 overall, somewhere between ps2 and ps3/360. for the same game that exist in ps2, the graphics is better. and this is even without component cables. remember u can further improve graphics to about 0.5HD with component cables

TSramz
post Nov 16 2009, 10:11 AM

21,318 posts

hehe, i was in your shoes before i bought my wii. i was a graphic whore too because during my childhood i play fps on the pc, so the choice was really though. but i thought playing fps on analog stick is a step backwards from the mouse. and there is this 'family' factor that is forcing me not to choose ps3, so i chose wii. i don't regret, but i sure do miss HD graphics. but i do enjoy fps on the wii tremendously, even if its not 'in' to play fps on the wii. ps3 is stilll under consideration, just that i can't find a compelling reason other then there are games in ps3 that i can't find in pc. but the damn analog stick i hate......
TSramz
post Nov 24 2009, 04:07 AM

21,318 posts

QUOTE(hmwong @ Nov 23 2009, 11:04 PM)
Great hearing feedbacks.

Thinking of getting a Wii for my 3 boys (10-15 years) who have been  playing PS2. Would they like Wii games as they got used to PS2? Or would I be selling them later othewise collecting dust?

What's your opinion?
remember u r hearing this from a wii fan, but not a blind wii fan.

nintendo nail it by making it the best family console ever. ps3/360 can't beat that family appeal. just imagine playing modern warfare 2 with your kids? u kidding right. but playing wii sport resort with your kids is really a great memorable time with them. so if u have a family, u can't go wrong i promise u. in fact i bet the reason u still thinking of a ps3/360 is because of yourself. u want it for yourself. but thinking of the family u know the wii is more appropriate.
TSramz
post Nov 25 2009, 07:50 AM

21,318 posts

QUOTE(hmwong @ Nov 24 2009, 11:09 PM)
That's it. Mind made up. Be getting one ASAP (kids getting restless 2 weeks into the holidays).

Best price seems to be in LYP (RM950/- for modded with extra set of controllers + 10 games). Any better offers than this?
my preference is unmodded wii. i won't sound bias, so i will just give u the facts, focusing on what sellers won't tell you:
1. like your ps2, modding a wii allow u to play pirated games (the 10 games u getting). unmodded wii plays originals only.
2. modded wiis are not perfect, so usually sellers will give u simple instructions like never do a wii system update yourself through wi-fi connection. that is good advice, unless u dig deeper into the world of modding. but by not updating, you will miss all the future updates with new features, and services which newer games will use at some point. nintendo releases about 2 to 3 updates a year average.
3. the wii comes out of the factory unmodded. so your wii is already tampered, or worst - used. the seller will of course always say it is new.
4. depending on your mod setup, some games (especially newer/future ones, and definitely not the 10 games u be getting) won't work. i can't give u the exact list coz it depends on your mod setup. U can choose to just ignore and don't play those games.
5. wii shop channel allows u to download games u can't find on the shelves or anywhere else. that channel either doesn't work now, or will not work in the future (when nintendo releases an update).
6. the above problems can be overcome, but its technical and requires hassle on your part. or u can just accept these shortcomings for a modded wii.

for alternative sellers, u can approach mr kyoyogami (he needs a better nickname)
TSramz
post Nov 27 2009, 09:33 PM

21,318 posts

QUOTE(FlakCannon @ Nov 27 2009, 08:06 PM)
i bought it coz Shay Laren played it. 

with no clothes on.

my god, no other console can do that.
hehe. but don't rule out ps3. chicks love big black ones too.
TSramz
post Feb 6 2010, 05:11 PM

21,318 posts

kesian. so sorry to hear ps3 still can't hack. but rzio, i heard ps3 can hack soon....so hang in there son. i'll keep u posted on that.

this message will self-destruct in 5 seconds.
TSramz
post Feb 10 2010, 06:28 AM

21,318 posts

QUOTE(aleluya @ Feb 9 2010, 05:32 PM)
I have a wii, a ps3 and a gaming pc..

so far I am still on wii :-
1. I play 3 players mario kart, and it gives hell of excitement and funs, never got bored from the team race.

2. It has a lot of cooperative game; compare to ps3, unless you have another ps3 at home, your family/gf only able to look at you playing and unable to participate with you together.

3. Wii has different variety of game plays for which it doesn't exist in Ps3, PC or Xbox : Try Macara/ Trauma Center and you'll know what I mean.

4. Wii brought laughter to my family, I hardly see my family laugh or feel excite when I am beginning my ps3 (Except for Uncharted 2); but with wii, my whole family sits at the living room and laugh together because of our action and the sports game are funny

5. Lucky for me, I've updated and managed to configure wii to latest patch (able to play all pirated games) and I still have like 30+ titles haven't been completed. OMG

6. With wii, I have never feel boring while gaming (have you played FF13 a while and feel like, ah it's so boring that I am alone here, better go out). The boring gone as I play with my family members and best, my friends and girlfriend smile.gif

So I choose Wii, I am not bias towards PC or PS3, but their games, are getting dull with good graphic, but similar gameplay
ask u. would u have bought the games if u can't pirate? i am sure its a yes. just like how u bought your uncharted 2. my wii is not modded, and u r not making it easy for me to have those games available to me. and try not to be proud of pirating. i know lots do it, but at least they not proud about it, and that is a good start.

TSramz
post Mar 3 2010, 05:29 PM

21,318 posts

i have wii and ps3 now. wii is great for the 1st party made by nintendo games. i play ps3 now coz my wii is away from me most of the time (long story), but i really, really miss my mario kart and my music games, and my dancing games.

but ps3 can kick ass too. i love gaming and i don't care which console entertains me.
TSramz
post Mar 3 2010, 07:21 PM

21,318 posts

yeah, but not with u. sorry. i'm sure u'll find a good man soon.

TSramz
post Mar 18 2010, 08:29 PM

21,318 posts

its a myth that buying original is expensive. its not. really.

1. u don't need to play the whole wii catalog to be happy. i have only 10 games and i am satisfied. i haven't played the 1000++ remaining games, and i don't need to.
2. u can trade your used games. u buy 2nd hand or just trade with games u don't fancy anymore. i am still dreaming the day wii games can be traded like ps3 games.
3. u save time debugging and tinkering your wii. time is money. some people pay maintenance fee to some lucky shops to do this when your wii should be maintenance free. also all those trips back to the shop coz your pirate game don't work is also money.
TSramz
post Mar 19 2010, 09:45 AM

21,318 posts

wii will always be different because of he wii exclusives. ps3 will have its own motion contol next year. but nothing of inrerest so far. semua wii copy cat. only the fighting game is unique, but that also its not 1 to 1 (meaning its predefined move base on certain gestures u perform). so, what sony showed last gdc on motion games are boring so far.
TSramz
post Mar 23 2010, 05:50 PM

21,318 posts

QUOTE(Yuki Ijuin @ Mar 23 2010, 02:34 PM)
Well, I didn't buy the Wii, my brother did, he wanted something the whole family can enjoy.
then i promise u he made d right choice. u have a wider choice of family games on d wii. and the excellent ones are mostly wii exclusives u can't find on other consoles.
TSramz
post May 18 2010, 04:31 PM

21,318 posts

QUOTE(lilko @ May 18 2010, 03:12 PM)
Wii and DS wins cuz of the extreme cute family freindly design and advert approach... Parents allow their kids to play cuz u dun need parental control..U dun need to watch out at what they play or even they curi curi buy game.. The games available are just for kids even though some of the game are indeed epic.. but too less... To gurls they look very in! yay... Moving around with their "suprb" looking body.. Even nicole kidman love DS~~ It just look like pda...

PS3 are trying to make it more approachable but the price is too high and it looks bit hardcore to girls.. Cuz its black and not slick..

XBOX on the hand are too manly, hardcore and violent...

PS: I hate super mario... very much!!
hehe. u funny. but yeah, when i play alone, i like my games with lot of blood, gory, and disgustingly evil. if got hentai in there even better. dono y, maybe just my manly hormones at work. but if i with my kids i play those primary colored games. all consoles have its place. but i wish just one console can cater for all - save money
TSramz
post Jun 17 2010, 03:43 PM

21,318 posts

let me see:
kinects: good for dancing, the rest gimmicky.
move: overall goodness. but shine in position sensitive game types. but for most part its just a wii hd
wii: overall goodness, some game types would be better on move, and they are kind of 1.5 years ahead.

so my perdictions: kinects would die (who would want to pay so much just to dance), move will gain some market share from wii. but wii although less market share will still lead. winner wii.
TSramz
post Jun 30 2010, 08:09 AM

21,318 posts

for wiimote there is a cable between d left hand and right. u can use that cable in many creative ways.
TSramz
post Jul 21 2010, 04:28 PM

21,318 posts

where is the old fashion girls follow me home to have a go at me. btw, does kinect register licking? please treat this quesiton seriously. i need to know
TSramz
post Jul 22 2010, 10:12 AM

21,318 posts

i did some reading. cannot. kinect recongize 20 joints of a human body. and the tongue is not one of it (neither is your d*** - so sorry about it not fulfulling your xxx fantasy)

0.0267sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:19 PM