Mountain Biking Heaven V12, Live to Ride, Ride to Live

Lord_darkslide
post Oct 22 2009, 09:46 PM

537 posts

congrats... to all spammer... lol.... ver 12 edi... hehehhe rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 22 2009, 07:12 PM)
Expecting a barrage of new bike/gear pic spam soon since everyone's in the buying mood.
sniper... i start....since my rim bengkok again... 3 front rims bengkok in my 10 month old mtb exp.....now i got new rims...
never knew in a dark corner in ipoh shop... got a white SPANK spike35 DH rim... selling for rm250 only... yeay~~!!!!

By lord_darkslide, shot with DMC-FX8 at 2009-10-22

http://www.spank-ind.com/
Lord_darkslide
post Oct 22 2009, 10:51 PM

537 posts

QUOTE(Syphon @ Oct 22 2009, 10:34 PM)
heavy or not?
hmmm... didnt weigh exactly... but lighter than mavic XM317 by the touch/feel....

edit: mousepad...i am surprised too... and more suprised to find spank here in ipoh... at 1st i am thinking to contact agsuspension the dealer/distro for spank to get the subrosa rim,(coz i thought spike is more expensive....)....and just my luck... yeay... so happy today...

This post has been edited by Lord_darkslide: Oct 22 2009, 10:56 PM
Lord_darkslide
post Oct 23 2009, 10:03 AM

537 posts

erkk...
need help...
wat kind of lubricant is suitable for the fork stanchion?
Lord_darkslide
post Oct 23 2009, 12:23 PM

537 posts

QUOTE(ober @ Oct 23 2009, 10:09 AM)
silicone. if ure talking about the outter part. hehe.
yup... thanks ober...

QUOTE(M@r0R! @ Oct 23 2009, 12:15 PM)
got squeaky sound already?
yup.. and the stanchion is kinda dry....
here's what i found on web...

http://www.utahmountainbiking.com/fix/
Lord_darkslide
post Oct 23 2009, 02:05 PM

537 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 23 2009, 01:24 PM)
I'm using Finishline Stanchion oil... one drop and smooth smooth.

http://www.finishlineusa.com/products/stanchion-lube.htm
i wish they sold this in ipoh.... haihz...
Lord_darkslide
post Oct 24 2009, 04:46 PM

537 posts

QUOTE(mousepad87 @ Oct 24 2009, 02:53 PM)
thanks maxguy.

just finish today ride under Woah Hijau event. for rm15 we got tshirt-cycling malaysia mag-lunch-100plus -water-roti hahaha

4 police escort.
imagine at famous Bukit Bintang junction all car and people stop and wait and look for us slowly pass haha.
wow...nice...

puick up any utim chicks?? rclxms.gif drool.gif brows.gif
Lord_darkslide
post Oct 26 2009, 11:08 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Oct 26 2009, 09:38 AM)
You got SPD shoes or not?
Mallet like the name implies.. just add weight niah.
For platform... Wellgo MG1 is the lightest.
+1 for wellgo mg1...

wellgo mg1 user here....puas hati....rm190 i bought in sri manjung, perak.... again... in some dark corner shop that i didnt expect to carry wellgo pedal... hehehe
QUOTE(ober @ Oct 26 2009, 09:40 AM)

wooo hoooo the carbon suzue hub right?? how does it perform... hmmm... compare to ur previous macmahon (ke syncros... aku luper dah...)?? hehehhehehe......
thinking to change hub also... hehehhe

p/s: i used to use suzue seal bearing hub for my BMX waayyyyyyyyyyyy back then....and its gooood.... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Lord_darkslide: Oct 26 2009, 11:09 AM
Lord_darkslide
post Nov 5 2009, 10:19 AM

537 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Nov 4 2009, 11:43 PM)
Of course... they should've banned carbon fibre from formula one ages ago man... and go back to aluminum construction.  whistling.gif
erkkk my 2cent... in formula 1... i tot they change the monoque every 2-3 race.. and the wings are adjusted differently in every track.... so no age limit issue for carbon in F1 or in any other professional race... since no team in F1 still using their 5 year old wings or monoque... hmmmmmm...

korek me if i am wrong...

same as the phrase (in street modified cars)"if this turbine is not good then y the GT japan use it?" then i asked " how many time in a year the gt japan team service the ball bearing turbine? "

edit: in MTB context.... yes there is a DH carbon bike... but those sponsored team... did they still use the same frame in the next 5 years.... and yes... if u can afford to change ur frame every 5 years.. (heck... some of us got poison... change frame every 3 month also have....)...so go carbon...

carbon is good... lighter... and stronger than alu....... but the only draw back is... it loses it strength over time....

but of course carbon technology is getting better and the construction/strength is depending on how it is manufacture.....

but comparing an average comsumer with a pro team....... biggrin.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by Lord_darkslide: Nov 5 2009, 10:28 AM
Lord_darkslide
post Nov 5 2009, 12:28 PM

537 posts

there's nothing wrong with carbo or alu... its just the worry issue is there...

In terms of crash worthiness.....Assume same thickness:
- Aluminum is easier to dent... if it loses shape.. it snaps (not bend like steel)
- Carbon fibre is harder to dent but if does crack the weave... it will also snap.

sorry in advance...but i wanna quote this...

same thickness and form... in a compression test....

alu let say at 50N (thats means 50 newtons of force)... it will deform...then we know the alu is not safe to use anymore....
but carbon fibre... at the same stress level... it still can resist the force..... so carbon good....no doubt about it... but...
the main worry/dilemma is...carbon will fail with out notice...it just snaps.... when it reach the ma stress level...

let say...
1 alu bar than can withstand 50N pressure...
compare with
1 carbon bar that can withstand 50N pressure also.....

of course the carbon bar is lighter/smaller... but NOT stronger since is it design to fail at the same level of stres...
but we came to the main issue... how carbon react to stress and how it fail... carbon shatters/snap when reach the max level pressure.. but alu will crumble... (again in compression test)... at the 1st point of crumble... we can already tell the alu bar is not safe edi... but the carbon bar only can be seen by naked eye when it snaps...

oh... again.. mtb and airplane and f1... dont compare... even alu used in airplane is different grade than mtb...
same as carbon... space grade, military garde... and so on is different....

i have to check the design of the wings of plane using carbon... because what we learn at uni last time.. aircraft designer prefer alu because of the flex characteristic and great cold/thaw characteristic....

Added on November 5, 2009, 12:38 pmadd:

i have no grudge agains alu or carbon... nor i have preference on both...
is just that even alu break...and carbon break... shit happens... we all sakit 1....hehehehe

just my 2 cent worth of exp and 1 time lab exp... didnt show which 1 is superior than which... every compound have it strength and weakness.... just ask the $$$ and how u r using the material.... then u'll find the best material for you... be it scandium, tataniam, carbon, alu or wood... etc

than... it all back to...... how the material is manufacture... and how confident r u to use it... thats all....

This post has been edited by Lord_darkslide: Nov 5 2009, 12:38 PM
Lord_darkslide
post Nov 5 2009, 02:38 PM

537 posts

rad...
hell yeah.... +1.....dun sleep in class like me.. later cant explain to ppl properly... heheheh...

yeah... used to study that subject... but now after working... the only important knowledge to have is...... how to "fan" the boss.... wahahahaha......j/k

back to mtb...
what do you guys think of mud guard/crud catcher? any 1 use them..? any good?
Lord_darkslide
post Nov 5 2009, 10:51 PM

537 posts

this on HT... look weird?
Lord_darkslide
post Nov 6 2009, 02:18 PM

537 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Nov 6 2009, 02:11 AM)
for bike high, the bike upper frame should have 2-3 inches clearance from ur crotch when u standing with both feet flat on ground n bike between the leg.

<1k u probabily can get a very entry lvl bike aka "sport utility bike", unless u get a 2nd hand.

IMHO if getting a new bike, get one without any suspension since u probably get a poorly made front suspension for bike <1k.

Added on November 6, 2009, 9:22 amGuy, FB Group is up

"LYN Mountain Biking Heaven"
lyn mtb heaven in fb?? im in...

pic spam... today on leave... so go for a short ride... sejukkk ooooo...

Lord_darkslide
post Nov 6 2009, 07:06 PM

537 posts

sniper: hhmmm...last time check with gps..around 420m... maybe..
technodude: it just near my house... kledang hill, ipoh.
Lord_darkslide
post Nov 8 2009, 07:42 PM

537 posts

hmm... DH race took 2hrs? biar betul ini "bernama"

Lord_darkslide
post Dec 6 2009, 04:34 PM

537 posts

QUOTE(Syphon @ Dec 6 2009, 03:50 PM)
Not they don't speak english, is they hate you.
lol..... i do that also if some random foreigner kid ask me about my bike...

0.0516sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:23 PM