I sold my Pioneer VSX-819, Which is better replacement-919,606,465

TSNgto
post Oct 21 2009, 09:01 PM, updated 16y ago

4,350 posts

Still a peasant but nevertheless need to go one step higher. Which of the following is a better choice (they are about the same price range) :-

1) Pioneer 919
2) Onkyo 606
3) Yamaha 465

I know it's a bit vague and subjective, but leave some thoughts and comments. It's still appreciated.

Google doesn't seem to provide enough help for me to make a choice.
tracktion3
post Oct 21 2009, 09:32 PM

532 posts

denon 1910

Btw.... why u sell your VSX 819?

Im using Yamaha 465. But as u said.. one step higher..

Or try to fing Denon 1909.. now around RM1850.

This post has been edited by tracktion3: Oct 21 2009, 09:35 PM
TSNgto
post Oct 21 2009, 09:58 PM

4,350 posts

Isn't the 1909 already almost extinct hmm.gif Anyway can pls share your thoughts why you think the 1909 is better choice than the others? What are the plus factors?

Can also pls let me know what you think of the 465 that you are using. What are the 17 DSP programmes. Are they really good?

btw, the pioneer 819 calibrated 5 band equalizer not adjustable.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 21 2009, 10:04 PM
tracktion3
post Oct 21 2009, 10:28 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Oct 21 2009, 09:58 PM)
Isn't the 1909 already almost extinct  hmm.gif  Anyway can pls share your thoughts why you think the 1909 is better choice than the others? What are the plus factors?

Can also pls let me know what you think of the 465 that you are using. What are the 17 DSP programmes. Are they really good?

1909 is replaced by 1910. Some still have stock and 1910 is around RM2400. Not much diffrent for me unless u have many device to connect thru HDMI, 1910 got 4, 1909 only 2. If budget allow, go for 1910, dont worry about no S-video for astro. Just cancel and resubsribe to get a new decoder with component out. wink.gif

465 is good if you enjoy concert. I love the DSP, and when I bitstream from my DVD player the DSP really give a great result. It matches the concert and your room enviroment. Can be tuned too. For movies, the Movie DSP is good especially Sci-Fi. I love the effect. It really made movies sound much better than straight. But i guess it depends on individual. I could see my BluRay concert collection will be more than movies as I love concerts. 465 budget level suite my musically incline Wharfedale Diamond 9.1. 9.cs, dfs . Getting my Pana BDP60 soon.

the let down is, the rear only the stereo speaker got binding post. the surround and center use clip. sucks. I bi-wire all my front. Well, many said this avr is light and it may represent its capability. I can't remember where I read a review by a Pro. He was sceptical about the performance due to the weight. But after audition... wow he was surprise.....

Added on October 21, 2009, 10:32 pmoh btw, what speakers u plan or have to drive?

This post has been edited by tracktion3: Oct 21 2009, 10:32 PM
TSNgto
post Oct 21 2009, 10:41 PM

4,350 posts

That's a very helpful feedback. Thanks.

Like I said I am only peasant. Only using some 5.1 Satellite system for now. That's my next upgrade after AVR.
tracktion3
post Oct 21 2009, 10:48 PM

532 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Oct 21 2009, 10:41 PM)
That's a very helpful feedback. Thanks.

Like I said I am only peasant. Only using some 5.1 Satellite system for now. That's my next upgrade after AVR.
Then go for 1910... or if you like punchy for movies, Onkyo 607,

just my 2 cents though. These model is almost 1k extra then 465....
TSNgto
post Oct 21 2009, 11:05 PM

4,350 posts

Thanks, but I also need to apportion some $$ for speakers upgrade. Don't think I will get anything above the three models I mentioned.

Anyone else have comments on the other two i.e Pioneer 919 and Onkyo 606 pls feel free to post your views smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 21 2009, 11:07 PM
kelvinsin
post Oct 21 2009, 11:55 PM

224 posts

if u able to get from sg,the price for 1910 607 665 just below S$700,you can save more money for the speaker set.

Added on October 21, 2009, 11:55 pmif u able to get from sg,the price for 1910 607 665 just below S$700,you can save more money for the speaker set.

This post has been edited by kelvinsin: Oct 21 2009, 11:55 PM
TSNgto
post Oct 22 2009, 12:05 AM

4,350 posts

Too far away from S'pore. Thanks for the suggestion anyway.
bongbo
post Oct 22 2009, 12:45 AM

111 posts

Whats your budget to upgrade?
What do you want to upgrade? Whole set?
How long of a duration of time-line do you want to upgrade?

tracktion3
post Oct 22 2009, 07:46 AM

532 posts

btw. u have not tell us why u sold your Pioneer VSX 819? it should help the sifu here to understand what you need.

This post has been edited by tracktion3: Oct 22 2009, 07:50 AM
sonerin
post Oct 22 2009, 10:11 AM

8,740 posts

819 and 919 is almost the same except 919 is 7.1 and 819 is 5.1
Maybe you should consider other brand since you sold your 819.
aquest
post Oct 22 2009, 10:44 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Oct 21 2009, 09:01 PM)
Still a peasant but nevertheless need to go one step higher. Which of the following is a better choice (they are about the same price range) :-

1) Pioneer 919
2) Onkyo 606
3) Yamaha 465

I know it's a bit vague and subjective, but leave some thoughts and comments. It's still appreciated.

there's a mid-range receiver shootout in whf mag recently between denon, onkyo & pioneer
& the winner is .. http://www.hifiklubben.com/files/Test/Deno...hifi_200911.pdf

khchong81
post Oct 22 2009, 11:51 AM

443 posts

I'm one of the happy Onkyo 606 owner. But i upgrade from those Pioneer HTiB. This amp is really value for money with the feature on it. 4 HDMI in, Audssey, 7.1 channel and most important is the price.
hdwarexpert
post Oct 22 2009, 12:15 PM

1,342 posts

Maybe you can ask from Sifu 'htkaki' about this. Amp needs to pair together with your current speaker set... He can be helpful to you in this way.
TSNgto
post Oct 22 2009, 12:25 PM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(bongbo @ Oct 22 2009, 12:45 AM)
Whats your budget to upgrade?
What do you want to upgrade? Whole set?
How long of a duration of time-line do you want to upgrade?
I have already mentioned the 3 sets as per my topic header. I just want to know which of the 3 sets are better in your (whoever is contributing) opinion. Just some general feedback first.

Don't want to complicate with other matters for now.

Added on October 22, 2009, 12:28 pm
QUOTE(tracktion3 @ Oct 22 2009, 07:46 AM)
btw. u have not tell us why u sold  your Pioneer VSX 819? it should help the sifu here to understand what you need.
I did mention before that the 5 band equalizer cannot be adjusted. I sold because of that. But now that I have decided to get either of the 3 sets, I just want some general opinions, particularly from users of any of the above, so that I can at least now some pros and cons of the diff models.

Again, thanks for your very useful feedback on the 465.

Added on October 22, 2009, 12:34 pm
QUOTE(sonerin @ Oct 22 2009, 10:11 AM)
819 and 919 is almost the same except 919 is 7.1 and 819 is 5.1
Maybe you should consider other brand since you sold your 819.
Thanks for contributing. I had the same idea as you at first, that's why I bought the 819 in the first place.

But know I know better, the 919 has much more than the 819, features wise and espc the ability to save different calibrated equalizer settings and fine tune them to your satisfaction, which the 819 cannot do.

Added on October 22, 2009, 12:38 pm
QUOTE(aquest @ Oct 22 2009, 10:44 AM)
there's a mid-range receiver shootout in whf mag recently between denon, onkyo & pioneer
& the winner is .. http://www.hifiklubben.com/files/Test/Deno...hifi_200911.pdf
Thanks for the link, but I don't find the models I mentioned above listed there. Their price beyond my budget sad.gif

Added on October 22, 2009, 12:41 pm
QUOTE(khchong81 @ Oct 22 2009, 11:51 AM)
I'm one of the happy Onkyo 606 owner. But i upgrade from those Pioneer HTiB. This amp is really value for money with the feature on it. 4 HDMI in, Audssey, 7.1 channel and most important is the price.
I am glad you are happy with the 606. Could you tell me a little more what you like most about the 606 or any features that make it exceptional. Thanks.

Added on October 22, 2009, 12:45 pm
QUOTE(hdwarexpert @ Oct 22 2009, 12:15 PM)
Maybe you can ask from Sifu 'htkaki' about this. Amp needs to pair together with your current speaker set... He can be helpful to you in this way.
Hehe, shy to ask him because I am just asking here as a low end user. I just want to try my luck and buy the AVR first then upgrade the Speakers later on when have the funds (that might not be anytime too soon).

htkaki selling mostly higher end stuff, so I don't think I am in that league blush.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 22 2009, 12:51 PM
echoesian
post Feb 28 2010, 11:58 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(kelvinsin @ Oct 21 2009, 11:55 PM)
if u able to get from sg,the price for 1910 607 665 just below S$700,you can save more money for the speaker set.

Added on October 21, 2009, 11:55 pmif u able to get from sg,the price for 1910 607 665 just below S$700,you can save more money for the speaker set.
Which shops in SG to get for that price?
matyeo
post Mar 1 2010, 01:17 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Oct 21 2009, 09:01 PM)

1) Pioneer 919
2) Onkyo 606
3) Yamaha 465

Bro...my suggestion is batter you buy Pioneer 919...
coz u already know how to use setting and MCACC is good calibration tools...
bro last time i tried to change pioneer VSX-ax2as to Onkyo 876 but i have
problem with "what pioneer MCACC can do and AUDYSSEY can't do"
think about it.... biggrin.gif

Added on March 1, 2010, 1:20 am
QUOTE(Ngto @ Oct 21 2009, 09:58 PM)
Isn't the 1909 already almost extinct  hmm.gif  Anyway can pls share your thoughts why you think the 1909 is better choice than the others? What are the plus factors?

What are u mean by "the pioneer 819 calibrated 5 band equalizer not adjustable".
As i know all pioneer AVR eq can be adjusted

My friend own 817...can adjust maa.. nod.gif

This post has been edited by matyeo: Mar 1 2010, 01:23 AM
TSNgto
post Mar 1 2010, 08:44 AM

4,350 posts

QUOTE(matyeo @ Mar 1 2010, 01:17 AM)
Bro...my suggestion is batter you buy Pioneer 919...
coz u already know how to use setting and  MCACC is good calibration tools...
bro last time i tried to change pioneer VSX-ax2as to Onkyo 876 but i have
problem with "what pioneer MCACC can do and AUDYSSEY can't do"
think about it.... biggrin.gif

Added on March 1, 2010, 1:20 am
What are u mean by "the pioneer 819 calibrated 5 band equalizer not adjustable".
As i know all pioneer AVR eq can be adjusted

My friend own 817...can adjust maa.. nod.gif
817 and 819 is not the same model my friend . I guess you don't know about the 819 then biggrin.gif

btw, did you look at the date of my original post. Someone dig up old post biggrin.gif
matyeo
post Mar 1 2010, 08:58 AM

352 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Mar 1 2010, 08:44 AM)
817 and 819 is not the same model my friend . I guess you don't know about the 819 then  biggrin.gif

btw, did you look at the date of my original post. Someone dig up old post  biggrin.gif
doh.gif old post ka so u buy already la.... maybe i don't know much about 819 but if i look at the number 817 is old one...
sorry ..me start with pioneer only 3 years ago vsx-ax2as now upgrade to pioneer also ,
not enough study about pioneer ... blush.gif

which avr did you choose.....?

0.0222sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:41 AM