255 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW / USED car?, ASK HERE for recommendation.

Chester
post May 16 2010, 06:22 PM

2,380 posts

alcatrez, heard civic 2011 is coming soon? might wanna hold your horse than got an outdated version biggrin.gif if the real 1 is really coming out lah, im waiting also haha
alcatrez
post May 16 2010, 10:00 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(Chester @ May 16 2010, 06:22 PM)
alcatrez, heard civic 2011 is coming soon? might wanna hold your horse than got an outdated version biggrin.gif if the real 1 is really coming out lah, im waiting also haha
Chester,

thanks for the info.

if i do choose the civic, i will wait.

Hope that it is a much better car.

alwiser
post May 17 2010, 07:22 PM

735 posts

Hey guys,

I hear Perdana has lots of problem (gearbox etc)

What do you think?

1. Perdana 2005 for RM 47,000

or

2. Perdana 2006, reg 2007 for RM 55,000

What do you think?
wookp
post May 18 2010, 02:56 PM

497 posts

Hi guys,

I can't decide between these 3 cars. My choice would be:

1. Mazda 3 2008 RM80k (Used)
2. Honda City 2010 RM90k (New)
3. Naza Forte 1.6 RM83k (New)

Anybody care to give me any advice on these 3 cars, especially in terms of reliability and maintenance costs.
alcatrez
post May 20 2010, 07:53 AM

543 posts

QUOTE(wookp @ May 18 2010, 02:56 PM)
Hi guys,

Anybody care to give me any advice on these 3 cars, especially in terms of reliability and maintenance costs.
Buy new.

No headache.

Got good warranty.

Still a virgin car.

Honda's value is good.

IN terms of performance, you cannot compare mazda 3 and city coz they are not in the same class. For performance, my vote is MAzda 3.

I cannot comment on NAza coz i'm not a fan of Kia due to their bad history. Let's see what happens to the Forte first in the next few years. too early to tell.

regards,

aniqshamsul
post May 20 2010, 10:19 AM

53 posts

1. Brand: swift/jazz/satria neo/myvi
2. Budget: 70k-80k and 700-800/month
3. New/Used/Unreg: used for jazz and new for others
4. Specs: 1.5/1.6 engine
5. Transmission: auto
6. NA or FI: -
7. Type: -
8. Remarks: low fc, plan to use it for 8-9 years. does swift have a good fel consumption?
srkk
post May 20 2010, 05:21 PM

1. Brand : New Saga/ Myvi/ Viva
2. Budget : max. 45K
3. New/Used/Unreg : New
4. Specs : Standard or full its ok
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI : ?
7. Type : sedan
8. Remarks : low cost + nice

Tq!
wiLzz
post May 20 2010, 06:13 PM

Hi everyone,

Appreciate if some of you here can gimme valuable advice

Budget: 60K-70K
Car brands: no preferences (new or used)
type: sedan (or suvs)
transmission: auto
Usage: mainly city -driving, once a while outstation
Specs: safety features, with low maintenance cost, reliable, spareparts affordable, low FC

plan to keep car for at least 10 years. currently am looking at 05 CIVIC or ALTIS, together with the new Persona. Any other cars to recommend? what about nabira1.8?

appreciate your valuable advice, thanks.
Rishy
post May 21 2010, 10:02 AM

Starry Starry Night...
691 posts

1. Brand : Not Proton or Perodua
2. Budget : 100k
4. Specs : Any
6. NA or FI : Any
7. Type : 4 door
8. Remarks :
chickenducksoup
post May 21 2010, 02:46 PM

I'm so GAY
1,298 posts

hi
btw this 2 which 1 is petrol saver?
>honda city
>toyota vios
otherwise
post May 21 2010, 05:06 PM

496 posts

which car better to buy for fuel consumption...2nd hand honday jazz 1st gen or kia forte 1.6?
alcatrez
post May 22 2010, 07:15 AM

543 posts

QUOTE(LYR @ May 15 2010, 11:06 PM)
Wira aeroback 1.5L fuel injection auto
- 11 years old car
- well maintained (no leaking, no black smoke)
- nice outlook (no major accident before)

it's being offered RM12500 though i already negotiated from RM13.5K.

does it worth to buy?
what's yr budget?

2nd hand cars can have low price. But they could also have high maintenance.

Sometimes, with the slightly expensive installments that you pay for new cars, it is still much cheaper after you consider the maintenance part also.

There are some wear and tear that you can by checking out the engine such as absorber mounting, engine condition etc...

But there are some wear and tear which cannot be detected until it is too late. Like the gearbox. I bought a 2nd hand once and the gearbox cost me about rm2k for my car. My previous audit manager bought a 2nd hand e30 bmw and the gearbox cost him 16k.

I'm not sure about the 1.5 gear box.

This is to share my experience.

I'm not saying that all cars are bad. just risky. my first 3 cars were all 2nd hand and from the problems and repairs i've experienced, it has taught me a lot of things about car maintenance for short and long term.

If you don't have a good mechanic and you don't mind investing in extra time, don't buy a 2nd hand.

Added on May 22, 2010, 7:33 am
QUOTE(Rishy @ May 21 2010, 10:02 AM)
1. Brand : Not Proton or Perodua
2. Budget : 100k
6. NA or FI :  Any
7. Type : 4 door
8. Remarks :
Toyota rush?

A forgotten CBU....

Added on May 22, 2010, 7:43 am
QUOTE(aniqshamsul @ May 20 2010, 10:19 AM)
1. Brand: swift/jazz/satria neo/myvi
2. Budget: 70k-80k and 700-800/month
3. New/Used/Unreg: used for jazz and new for others
4. Specs: 1.5/1.6 engine
5. Transmission: auto
6. NA or FI: -
7. Type: -
8. Remarks: low fc, plan to use it for 8-9 years. does swift have a good fel consumption?
What is your driving style and what is the purpose of the car?

You like good torque? You always step the gas pedal alll the way down?

Is it for city driving? Highway?

Going to work? Family?

Satria neo is good for highway driving. Very economical. But not for city driving. For city driving, it is just horrible.

No offense but i hate Myvi handling over long distance but It is a good city driving. Very practical.

To me swift is just overprice. The interior is too boring for the price.

Honda's price is just too expensive. Even 2nd hand. That's why i prefer to buy new than to buy 2nd hand. But a new one is totally out of your budget.

For 70k per month, the installment will be higher than your 800 per month.

regards,

This post has been edited by alcatrez: May 22 2010, 07:43 AM
keii-kun
post May 23 2010, 06:03 PM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(LYR @ May 15 2010, 11:06 PM)
Wira aeroback 1.5L fuel injection auto
- 11 years old car
- well maintained (no leaking, no black smoke)
- nice outlook (no major accident before)

it's being offered RM12500 though i already negotiated from RM13.5K.

does it worth to buy?
first, avoid the 1.5L (check if the engine is 4G15). auto gbox is 3-speed, petrol consuming.
with that budget, you can actually get those 1.6L auto ones or those converted to mitsubishi 1.5L auto. (better pickup and petrol consumption).

like alcatraz said, 2nd hand car is unpredictable, UNLESS the owner have full service history. i bought a satria 1.6 auto 1995 this year . rm7500. gbox died after 4 mth. fork out rm1k to change gbox. my fault cos blinded by the cheap price. did not notice it during test drive.

Added on May 23, 2010, 6:11 pm
QUOTE(wookp @ May 18 2010, 02:56 PM)
Hi guys,

had the same car discussion with wife. she was into mazda3 2009 new from bermaz but considering honda city 2009 new.
naza forte wasn't here yet.
both of us test drive mazda and honda city.

my opinion
mazda
- unless u get the 2.0 version, the 1.6 made u feel cheap inside. 2.0 have much better finishing
- good in cruising, but no rush feeling. 4 spd autobox
- far to service. service center in KL, we are from melaka.
- nice option of rm5k free service and maintenance.

honda city
- ok finishing. good features.
- better cruising : 5spd auto gearbox
- paddle shifting/semi auto - push the car to 7k rpm.
- near service center / factory laugh.gif
- ok for the maintenance price. so far no issues but did complaint on the steering cover not fit nicely. SC said its normal. wtf? checked the test drive car and found it was perfect. check other newly arrived car, oso got gap. SC change new one, little gap.

my opinion for your choice, if the rm80k was for mazda 3 2.0, with very low mileage, and you are from KL. it might be a better choice since you are paying real market value compared to honda city.

Added on May 23, 2010, 6:14 pm
QUOTE(wiLzz @ May 20 2010, 06:13 PM)
Hi everyone,

Appreciate if some of you here can gimme valuable advice

Budget: 60K-70K
Car brands: no preferences (new or used)
type: sedan (or suvs)
transmission: auto
Usage: mainly city -driving, once a while outstation
Specs: safety features, with low maintenance cost, reliable, spareparts affordable, low FC

plan to keep car for at least 10 years. currently am looking at 05 CIVIC or ALTIS, together with the new Persona. Any other cars to recommend? what about nabira1.8?
appreciate your valuable advice, thanks.
60k-70k , plan to keep 10years, get persona lah. cheaper and cheaper to maintain. low FC compared to civic 2.0 in city driving.
nabira 1.8, better avoid, later less than 10yrs u want to sell. parts are quite expensive.

This post has been edited by keii-kun: May 23 2010, 06:14 PM
sgmati
post May 23 2010, 10:40 PM

182 posts

1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : 60k
3. New/Used/Unreg : used also okay
6. NA or FI : Any
7. Type : Sedan
8. Remarks : Prefer 2.0 car, used or new also okay. Used car acceptable, concern is main on performance.

Thank you!

alcatrez
post May 24 2010, 09:52 AM

543 posts

QUOTE(sgmati @ May 23 2010, 10:40 PM)
1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : 60k
3. New/Used/Unreg : used also okay
6. NA or FI :  Any
7. Type : Sedan
8. Remarks : Prefer 2.0 car, used or new also okay. Used car acceptable, concern is main on performance.

Thank you!
Friend,

I think we may need more information.

For RM 60k, you can get a Mitsubishi FTO 1996, Skyline R33 (4 doors). Go a bit higher and you can get R33 2 doors.

A good Honda Accord yr 1996 costs less than RM 30k (with a H22A inside).

Are these the cars you are looking for?

sgmati
post May 24 2010, 03:32 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(alcatrez @ May 24 2010, 09:52 AM)
Friend,

I think we may need more information.

For RM 60k, you can get a Mitsubishi FTO 1996, Skyline R33 (4 doors). Go a bit higher and you can get R33 2 doors.

A good Honda Accord yr 1996 costs less than RM 30k (with a H22A inside).

Are these the cars you are looking for?
Hi bro!

I would like to add one more requirement ,maintenance cost should be within minima range.

example 100 per month,the estimated mileage usage is around 1,000 km per month, cuz it's weekend car and i drive at weekend only.

The car you mention above quiet okay, but due to the tight budget I have to avoid maintenance billed shocked.

How's FTO or GTO?

nita
post May 24 2010, 10:02 PM

Dear All,

How about
new Saga (about 40K)
vs
4 yrs Myvi (36K)
vs
new Myvi (50K)

personally i prefer 4 yrs Myvi (36K) which cost me lower and can clear the loan in shorter period. but the whole world advise me to get a new car.. any advice?
jing_kohkoh
post May 24 2010, 10:06 PM

Let's kick some AutoBUTTs
650 posts

any sifu here provide used car inspection service? I am hunting around but lack confidence to judge if the car is safe to buy. thanks
hanieyf
post May 25 2010, 12:07 AM

X-alienware m17x soldiers
1,698 posts

1. Brand : proton/ perodua
2. Budget : around 500 permonth
3. New/Used/Unreg : depend
4. Specs : standrd
5. Transmission : manual
6. NA or FI : ??
7. Type : sedan
8. Remarks :plan to trade with kancil 850cc..still student... but can get around 2k permonth from my side business
HouHouSek
post May 25 2010, 07:47 PM

LoveToEat
923 posts

Hi sifu's around.

I'm in midst of deciding to buy and S or E spec New Honda City.
Price wise i think the difference is around RM5k.
Difference is actually mainly the paddle shift, reclining seats, fog light, steering audio and umbrella compartment.
Actually my question to NHC passenger is the reclining seats is really comfy?

255 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0266sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:16 AM