26 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW / USED car?, ASK HERE for recommendation.

zenix
post Jan 9 2013, 03:04 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(hianz86 @ Jan 9 2013, 02:45 PM)
In fact too nice to be true. Itchy and wanna arrange for test drive.
There are a few available for that price range.
Although its cheap now around 70k but remember when new is over 200k.
Don't expect 70k price car spare parts. blush.gif
zenix
post Jan 11 2013, 03:35 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(sense75 @ Jan 9 2013, 02:32 PM)
1. Brand : any brands but not local brands
2. Budget : 90k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New
4. Specs : any
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI : NA
7. Type : Sedan and 4 seater
8. Remarks : Looking for car easy and cheap for maintenance and low FC.
Seriously, I still see the Honda Jazz Hybrid CBU as the best car at this price point being 5 star NCAP wuth 6 airbags and loads of other goodies plus made in Japan.
However, dunno they still selling it or not since CKD version is out and its not a sedan.
Even at 90k there aren't much options.

There is the Honda City, Toyota Vios, Hyundai Elantra, and Kia Forte.
Of the four I think the Forte provides the best package on paper though in real life there are other considerations.
Can't really say much since never really look into these newer Korean cars though I'd prefer the Elantra's looks over the 4 above.

QUOTE(itsipit @ Jan 9 2013, 03:50 PM)
1. Brand: Gen2 or Satria neo or Persona
2. Budget: 10K to 20K The cheaper, the better.
3. New/Used/Unreg: Used
4. Specs: Any
5. Transmission: Auto
6. NA or FI ?
7. Type: Any
8. Remarks: Looking for car easy and cheap for maintenance and low FC. and it will be a good help if there is a loan system for used car like deposit 10% for the total price then pay monthly for the rest.
The round up below is focus more on proton and perodua cars since maintenance wise every workshop can handle them and also spare parts aren't as issue, prices depends on the source some cheap some expensive. FC wise they're all more or less the same.

2007 P2 Kancil - a big problem about Kancils this new is that its pretty expensive because everyone knows these are the last batches of the cheap and cheerful Kancils before the age of Viva thats why the used car market price is considered pretty steep for what you're getting of course older ones you can get much cheaper but I usually recommend try to get as new as possible. Its not the safest car in the world but does a job of getting you from A to B without getting wet.

2006 P1 Satria Neo - cheapest car in this round up, and IMHO its a good buy. Yes, the 1.3 lump ain't gonna be too fun if you like spirited driving but if you're going to be stuck in the traffic most of the time then its a cheap car in the most modern looking bodyshell. Good handling and better safety than other older designs around this price range. You can always transplant a newer more powerful engine into it later but I think its fine as it is.

2007 P1 Iswara - last batch of the Iswara so it has the latest facelift look before they stopped production. For the price it is a decent buy its definitely more spacious than the Kancils, Sutera and Atos all in this price range. Though safety wise its not that much better. You could do alot worst than buying something like this. Eventhough its looks are dated but don't worry about its future with so many Taxi's still using this car, there won't be a shortage of spare parts.

2007 P1 Wira - another last batch of Proton cars, actually by today's design standards it still quite a handsome looking car but the safety features are almost nil. I had a car similar to this once and the thing that irks me most if the 3-speed automatic gearbox, the iswara also has the same gearbox. With only 3 ratio's it sometimes feels underpowered so you really gotta rev it to work and that creates a situation where you're not being economical on fuel. On in all its still a good buy overall for your needs as the Iswara, this is better since its more spacious and sedan versions have a large boot.

2007 P1 Waja - usually this car and age shouldn't be in this price range, its either a lemon unit or the owner really wants to let go fast so put the price down. I think its a good buy but becareful if its a lemon.

QUOTE(drcoolz @ Jan 9 2013, 04:03 PM)
Thank you master zeniz for your recommendation. I come across the Kia Forte. And test drove it. Feels quite solid. May i have your opinion on this? I really like Nissan Slyphy as well. Will be comparing both of this if you can furnish me with your take on the Kia Forte.  biggrin.gif Thanks in advance
TBH I'm not a Korean car fan. Though I heard of alot of positives for the Kia Forte, and on paper it seems to provide the best specs for the asking price.
However, I'd recommend you take the Slyphy simply because comparing them both side to side it comes down to two things.
Forte gives you 6 speed gearbox at a cheaper price.
Slyphy depreciates better but at a higher price.
The rest they more or less cancel each other out.

If you really like the Forte then go for it, because who knows if it becomes popular then it won't depreciate so badly -- this is whats happening for the Ford Fiesta now, usually any car from this brand sinks like rock now the Fiesta is doing quite well, its able to hold its value fairly well like the Ford Ranger.

QUOTE(hackerwayne @ Jan 9 2013, 09:03 PM)
Im really tempted by BMW 320I/D E92 Coupé/ BMW 320i E46 Coupé. Whats the disadvantage of this 2 cars? Im thinking to get a used 07/08 one.
BMW 320i/d e92 coupe? Do you mean the BMW E92 320CI Coupe?

QUOTE(idealmobile @ Jan 10 2013, 12:46 AM)
1. Brand : Japanese/Korean
2. Budget : 30K
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used 
4. Specs : Anything
5. Transmission : Anything
6. NA or FI : Anything
7. Type : Hatchback/Sedan
8. Remarks : Currently Driving Myvi 1.0 Manual(8 Years Old), Prefer Auto. Suitable For Small Family = Me+My Wife+My 4 Months Old Baby.

Thanks in advance
Well for a small family I guess your Myvi is still good but if you intend for more maybe you need to move up a class to C-segment or maybe a MPV? brows.gif

2006 Mazda Premacy - i'm quite suspicious when i see a very good car being thrown at such a low price, sometimes its just that the owner needs cash so has to quickly sell the car even at below market price. Often the case is because the car has some things that needs to be fixed which will cost alot, been through an accident or owner just fed-up fixing the lemon. lets talk about the car, Mazda's are known for their beautiful cars and good engineering but in malaysia its not well supported. being a japanese car maintenance isn't an issue the usual air filter, oil filter, etc. is relatively cheap but the other things like lower arm, coil plugs, etc. will cost a bomb when they die since parts isn't available everywhere for Mazda, not as well supported as Honda or Toyota but in recent times since Bermaz took over things have been getting better for newer models, not too sure how good support is for older models. BUT thinking about it again its a decent buy but be cautious.

2006 Renault Kangoo - okay, its ugly and looks like a bread lorry. don't let that fool you, it is a pretty good car, best safety features than most japanese cars in this price range and age, as with the Mazda above the support and spare parts might be an issue but this is one of Renaults popular models in Malaysia should be well supported.

2007 Nissan Serena - this MPV comes with Nissan's famous SR20 engine, had this car once its really powerful and nice to drive, looks wise it has faded alot over the years this look now is only acceptable for bread vans maybe. Taking looks out of the equation you get a good car with ample seating, enough for small family trips with extended family or in-laws. This is one of the first cars to have captain style seats for the rear passengers, so when folding the rear 3 seater you can fit 4 people comfortably with lotsa cargo space for a trip to hometown. The big engine means fuel economy and relaxed highway driving. Being a Nissan you know its cheap on the pocket for maintenance as well.

2007 P1 Waja Campro - its quite rare to find a beautiful stock example of a Waja Campro, it seems that even uncles and aunties owning this car has gone with the bandwagon of boy racers by adding bodykits and unneeded accessories to their cars. The Waja itself is already a good car, with the Campro engine it is even better. Parts and maintenance is cheap. Value buy.

2007 Chevvy Optra - this is a car with an identity crisis, its an American branded car build by Koreans designed by Europeans. It does have that spacious european feel when you enter the car, it rides pretty well too especially with the 1.8 engine. The 1.8 engine being Korean tech isn't a very powerful lump but is good enough so you don't feel underpowered. There is also a model with a 1.6 engine, don't consider it the price gap is small but performance difference is significant. Parts and maintenance is fair like unpopular Japanese brand or Koreans.

2007 Hyundai Elantra - the competitor to the Chevvy Optra but some how this model is always priced higher in the used market scene when compared year vs year. Not a bad car but its rarity on the roads is a double edge sword. People might think its a new model since they don't often see it but parts are expensive for this exclusivity, because manufactures and shops don't always carry parts for cold cars.

QUOTE(itsipit @ Jan 10 2013, 01:40 PM)

I would like to have an advice. I'm an expat working here in malaysia, for being an expat we aren't sure on how long we would stay here because we can't foretold whats gonna happen. But i would like to buy a car for everyday use and i also like it to be part traveling and part city driving because i would like to explore malaysia too but not often.

so my question is, is it appropriate if i buy a 20k local brand car (proton or perodua) or just choose a 12k or 13k local brand car? and what make/model would you suggest for an expat like me who's not sure for the duration of staying here in malaysia. Thanks in advance smile.gif

Update:

just looking for a used car and an automatic would be great
Would you be taking up any loan for the purchase or outright cash purchase.
I'm not very experience in this matter about foreigners purchasing cars, my expat friends usually get a company car because for the company they can use it for their tax relief and easier on the expat as they don't need to go through any red tape - if any.

I'd suggest requesting for a company car or renting one yourself if you're not going to be here for any period longer than a year.

zenix
post Jan 11 2013, 05:09 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(OldKidz @ Jan 9 2013, 10:56 PM)

Good written up, make me learn more about car. smile.gif

By the way:

Opinions on below:
BMW 318i E46 SHIFTRONIC NEW FACELIFT M-SPORT VER -06 Price RM 55k think is a good grab? Looks like a good buy from the advert. For E46 318 please bear in mind the engine is decent but ....how to put it....isn't a performance engine so if you're looking for a spirited driving experience this isn't it.

Nissan Skyline 2.5 V6 SUNROOF IMPUL 535S VERSION -06 Year 2006, Mileage around 75k, price RM 78k, is the market price? Yes, it is an under appreciated model which is why it is so cheap. After the Nissan Skyline GTR R34 the company direction took the name and split it into two Nissan Skyline became the name for executive saloon/coupe with luxury and performance in mind, while the Nissan GTR is a pure performance minded car. When you tell people you drive a Skyline the vision in their head probably isn't this car.

Mercedes benz clk240 auto uk spec 07 -07 This car for RM100k, worth? Mercs are never cheap, even when they're affordable they're quite old. This particular car is manufactured in 2003, you can still get a loan for it but then would you be happy driving around in a car thats already 10 years old the first day you take the cars to have your first drive as a owner?

Mercedes Benz C240 (A) FACELIFT JAPAN LADY OWNER -07 Year 2001/2007, RM 71k, mileage 70km, good bargain too? Car is good but kinda giving out the Uncle vibe. Plus this car is even older, manufactured in 2001!

Bmw e46 1.9 (a) shiftronic japan spec ac bodykit -06 Oh my, RM45k, can grab this I think? Not much different from the one above. This is Japan spec, that usually means its tuned for Ron97. Bear in mind it is a car manufactured in 2000!

Mercedes Benz C200K Coupe -09 This Coupe Benz Year 2009? Uhmmm looks delicious to me but I wonder is it really year 2009. How to clarify that it a good buy ya? Don't think they still produce C200K Coupes in 2009, it is probably an old recon car registered in 2009. Probably manufactured somewhere between 2000-2004. There is only one way to be certain, the owners manual.

BMW 318CI E46 1.9 Auto M-Sport -05 & BMW E46 (B) 323ci 2door,UK spec -05 Both written that car register 00/05, is it means car manufactured at 2000 but only register n start using at 2005? Or both also a recon car? You are correct. Recon cars usually have dates like that 01/07 means manufactured in 2001 and registered 2007 in Malaysia. If new car in Malaysia no matter when it is manufactured we always follow the date of registration, e.g. Toyota Vios manufactured by UMW in 2012 but sold in 2013 we still call it 2013 Vios. The CI's are rare and beautiful even if you buy an old one it will still look good on the road unlike the sedan which looks very dated.

Volvo S40 2.4 Sports Edition -06 & Volvo S40 2.4i Geartronic,Limited Edition Red -06 What's the different of this 2 Volvo ya? Don't need to compare the Geartronic is taken off the market the advert is no more laugh.gif but essentially they're the same

Toyota Altis 1.8G (A) -03 Year 2003, RM 20k, 50k mileage? Super good grab eh? It sure is a good buy, though unless the car being used by an aunty to just go buy sayur i dun think it will be that low for a 10 year old car.

2001 Merc CLK210K - If you're okay with the uncle look maybe you want to consider this car as well? I ain't too sure if you can get a loan for this car but the rarity and exclusivity for this model is high. Should retain its value very well, mechanically it isn't very different from any other Mercs during that generation so don't need to worry about it breaking down without parts to fix it.

2004 BMW Z4 - there are two versions the 2.5 and 3.0 engine, either one is fine but 3.0 more expensive road tax. Maintenance wise can't run away its going to be costly for things like coil plugs, mountings, and body panels. Engine side isn't hugely different from other BMW's so can use similar oil filters, air filters, brakes, etc.

zenix
post Jan 14 2013, 11:46 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(hackerwayne @ Jan 11 2013, 05:36 PM)
I mean 320 petrol version or diesal version, or in short 320i / 320d
Oh! I don't think there are many 320d coupe for sale in malaysia because of the diesel quality in malaysia.
The 320i coupe is good.

QUOTE(itsipit @ Jan 11 2013, 06:28 PM)
I check some sites like motortrade or mudah. myvi is ranging around 25k to 30k. And I noticed the persona has the same price of myvi. so I'm confused if what to take, either myvi or persona. I heard alot about proton cars being "PROTON" (sucks) because of its quality, but specifically the persona i haven't read any complaints in forums yet.. any advice?
how about myvi and persona compared to neo which one would you recommend, lets say for city and highway driving, what can you say about it? by the way i check some car sellers for 2nd hand, neo and myvi and persona are all in the range of 20k - 30k
i would be taking up loan to get a car. right now im thinking of myvi and persona. which one would you recommend? for city and highway. by the way I'm planning to stay here in malaysia for lets say 5yrs max.
I think the Neo is one of the better ones from Proton.
The Persona is basically a better version of the Gen2.
I think either is fine, both should have decent safety ratings.
Though if you want something safer, should look for used conti.

Myvi is everybody's hero here because its considered...
1. related to toyota/daihatsu
2. fuel saving
3. every workshop can fix
4. parts very cheap
5. handles depreciation well
zenix
post Jan 14 2013, 11:51 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(dust @ Jan 11 2013, 11:44 PM)
hi, newbie here. wanna to ask is it worth to buy a 2003 waja (auto) with price RM18k. I am from Johor.
I will go and test the car tomorrow. anything i need to beware of.
current headache with selection of 2003 waja and 2008 blm. price different around RM5K. another 2009 myvi RM35K, but it is out of my budget.
thanks in advance.
click back a few pages i wrote down some tips icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(sense75 @ Jan 13 2013, 12:25 AM)
Thanks for the information. How about Nissan Almera or Mazda 2? Is it worth to buy compare the rest? Thanks in advance.
I think the Almera is a decent buy.
Its much more spacious than most Japanese/Korean CKD B-segment cars in our market.

QUOTE(ldhong @ Jan 13 2013, 06:24 AM)
Guys,
Any comments on SMART car? SMART Forfour? Wanted to know more about after sales service as in the maintenance and parts.
Jerky AMT-like gearbox sweat.gif

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Jan 13 2013, 12:24 PM)
Interested in W211 mercedes E class E200K or E240.
Local used or re-cond better?
Either is fine.
Make sure find one in good condition, low mileage, low years.

zenix
post Jan 14 2013, 12:52 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(kilazilla @ Jan 12 2013, 01:47 AM)
Hi guys, looking for  a 4wd
1. Brand : any brand
2. Budget : 30k. cheaper the better
3. New/Used/Unreg : used
4. Specs :
5. Transmission : auto/manual doesn't matter
6. NA or FI :  doesn't matter
7. Type :
8. Remarks : need to carry bike around countryside to cycle. hehe. low FC and maintence. not planning to sell it later (use it until to its death) so not worry about resale value.
Any input will be greatly appreciated.Thanks.
Usually this cheap there isn't much to choose from if you're not going to pay by cash, all loanable cars within 2003 are pretty much no good.

2003 Tata Telcoline - cheapest among all that is a proper 4x4, if i am not mistaken it lacks abit of grunt because it doesn't have a turbo. not too sure how FC would be affected. not really familiar with this brand.

2003 Proton Arena - i wouldn't recommend you to buy and drive this, have seen crash test video's of this car and its gory - the weight from the rear will transfer all to the front and basically crush the driver/passengers. look elsewhere.

2005 Mit Storm - problem is, no 4x4.

QUOTE(honghong1989 @ Jan 12 2013, 09:25 PM)
1. Brand: new perodua myvi 1.5 vs 2nd hand peugeot 207 (year 2011, mileage 50k-60k)
2. Budget: 50-60k
3. New/Used/Unreg: new/used
4. Specs: any
5. Transmission: auto
6. NA or FI ? Any
7. Type: -
8. Remarks: wanna have a car for long term use (10 years maybe, even 15 years), which would be more economical, durable, and giving better satisfaction?
New Myvi over 207 any day.

QUOTE(honghong1989 @ Jan 12 2013, 09:28 PM)
1. Brand: proton preve vs nissan almera
2. Budget: 60k-70k
3. New/Used/Unreg: new
4. Specs: any
5. Transmission: auto
6. NA or FI ? Any
7. Type: -
8. Remarks: wanna have a car for long term use (10 years maybe, even 15 years), which would be more economical, durable, and giving better satisfaction?
Either one should be fine but I am leaning more towards Almera just because Nissan usually makes very reliable cars eventhough their technology isn't the latest its very reliable and doesn't cost alot of fix.

Preve is a fantastic car for the price, its actual rivals in terms of technology and class segment would be cars like Pug 308 Turbo and VW Golf TSI.
Though there are still questions marks about proton quality but I think it has been sorted out since the Persona and Neo days, hardly see people complain about quality issues on those cars.
Service center able to support Preve? Don't know how improved their SC has become, hopefully better than my last experience since owning a Proton Wira because the Preve should need very competent people working on it.

QUOTE(NicholasWai @ Jan 13 2013, 06:48 PM)
1. Brand - Doesnt Matter As logn Worth The money
2. Budget - My salary -Rm2500+ ( you do the math ) (Doesnt hope to commit too much)
3. New/Used/Unreg - Doesnt matter
4. Specs - Anything also can
5. Transmission - Prefer Auto
6. NA or FI -Doesnt matter but i hope its fuel efficient
7. Type - I'm 19 years old, man . What do you think suitable ?
8. Remarks -Hope to have some safety features that can last me a couple of years
How much of your salary you intend to use as commitment for cars?
How many years?
How much downpayment?
zenix
post Jan 15 2013, 02:19 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(sense75 @ Jan 14 2013, 05:15 PM)
Thanks for the feedback! I have make up my mind, so will go for Almera then ,...  biggrin.gif (unless Vios 3rd Gen launched with attractive promotion  drool.gif )
yes, its a good buy.

QUOTE(charlieyan @ Jan 14 2013, 09:15 PM)
Hi, may i know if you have any comment on this car? Is this worth to buy?
http://www.mudah.my/Kia+Forte+A+-19811829.htm
1. Brand : any brand
2. Budget : Below 60k. cheaper the better
3. New/Used/Unreg : used/new
4. Specs :
5. Transmission : auto
6. NA or FI :  doesn't matter
7. Type :
8. Remarks : for long term used. prefer car not older than 5 years if used car
May i know any recommendation
The Kia isn't so bad but thats like the low spec version right?

2008 Nissan Latio - why not consider something like this, also 1.6cc so it doesn't hurt your wallet when you do roadtax nor when you send it for maintenance. size wise its a c-segment car in reality but many people mistaken it as a City or Vios rival, but actually the rival for those two cars is the Almera not the Latio. Apart from the uncle looks it should be a good buy in terms of cheap to own, frugal on fuel and maintenance can be done at any workshop.

2009 Suzuki SX4 - this is a more stylish car to be in, however, there is always a risk when going for non-mainstream darlings. although the sx4 is relatively successful and you can see many on the road the shops don't really cater for them, not all shops have spares for this model which will eventually create a cost issue as demand for parts rises as this car gets older.

2008 Toyota Rush - it looks nice and funky but in reality it is just a better looking Avanza. That is a good or bad thing depends on your perception. Of course its not a true blue 4x4 like a pajero and the handling isn't superb. It makes up for all of its short comings by being a Toyota....cheap to own, lotsa spare parts and hassle free maintenance.

2006 Ford Focus - there is always a risk getting conti cars because everyone thinks they need specialize workshops and mechanics to service them, well for ford it isn't such a case for this model because unlike true blue conti's like mercs and bmw this ford is relatively low tech, which translate to easy to maintain and lower cost for parts.

2006 Toyota Yaris - the yaris was suppose to challenge the honda jazz but it didn't do so well and toyota eventually stop selling them, not that its a bad car. its a fully imported model so quality is much better than vios, although you lose the boot space. looks is it stylish and now it is 2013 it doesn't look that much dated, when cleaned nicely it should look new. being a toyota you need not worry about maintenance and parts, all toyota models are well catered for.

QUOTE(ericwen @ Jan 15 2013, 01:23 PM)
Hi everyone,

I am considering to purchase a 2nd car, more to work travels related and sometimes family trip. My 1st car can't do the job.

1. Brand: any brand as long it is good
2. Budget: RM200,000
3. New only
4. Specs: No idea, as long safe to ride (not sporty but comfortable first)
5. Auto only, I can't drive manual
6. NA or FI - no idea what's this
7. Type - hmm no idea too
8. Remarks - for long term used for sure. spacious. Not 7 seaters. 4 doors for sure smile.gif sedan, i need to put luggage for north south travels smile.gif

Any help from your side? Thanks.
I think brand new VW Jetta or Passat would fit the bill perfectly.
Jetta is c-segment car similar to Altis, Civic, Sylphy, etc. but its much more spacious, then price is sub 150k.
Passat is d-segment car similar to Camry, Accord, Cefiro, etc. a 1.8 turbo, very good car.

zenix
post Jan 16 2013, 10:18 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(ericwen @ Jan 15 2013, 03:11 PM)
Thanks for the reply.
But Passat and Jetta look quite ugly .. i tried sitting on passat cc (the higher end), the car seats are rather hard compare to other VW cars.
So Camry and Accord aren't that good compare to VW? how about the resale values? thanks anyway.
If worrying about resale value why not just consider Accord/Camry top spec? icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(OldKidz @ Jan 15 2013, 03:15 PM)
With 200k, there is lots of choice you have man. Merz C180/C200, BMW 318, Volvo S40, Audi A4, Mazda coming skyactiv 6 etc.
Thn why still Camry or Accord? hmm.gif
Second hand is it?
Merc/BMW/Volvo/Audi not sub 200k
Mazda depreciation is okay but not like Honda/Toyota.

QUOTE(blackankh @ Jan 15 2013, 11:20 PM)
Pls help with my preference for car as below.
1. Brand: Any
2. Budget: 30 + k
3. New/Used/Unreg.: Used
4. Specs. Any
6. NA or FI : No idea
7. Type. Sedan
8. Remarks: Crashed My 2002 honda city recently, most likely total lost so need another car.

Altis 2003[cool.gif
I checked with the owner but apparently this car is in UK and he say he will send it from UK with him bearing
all cost to Malaysia. Can this really be done? Wouldn't it be better for him to sell in UK?
Sounds weird and seems difficult.
Kindly advice.

It is a scam.

Don't you think it is funny since....

1. There is no Toyota Altis in UK. It is for SEA region.
2. There is no such thing as G SPEC version in UK. This is Malaysia spec.
3. Nobody going to export a car from SEA to UK then back to Malaysia to sell.
4. You didn't notice the picture it has a Malaysian number plate and the location looks like somewhere in KL?

zenix
post Jan 16 2013, 12:02 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(OldKidz @ Jan 16 2013, 10:49 AM)
err... recon? haha, but dont if wanna spend 200k rather go for conti better?
oh....recon still is a second hand but imported laugh.gif
nowadays recon car importers don't really bother to fix up the cars they sell it 'as is' if the customer isn't too bright to ask for discount or notice the issues its the customers problem.
they just wash (not even wax it) so its presentable.
zenix
post Jan 18 2013, 01:32 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(OldKidz @ Jan 16 2013, 12:11 PM)
Icic, thanks for the clarification, learn new thing as well today.
End up, better equip self with better knowledge to earn a better car ya.
Life is tough, less ppl are so yet be truth in business, wat in their mind is making more money.
Getting sick.
Yeah, if we don't get the correct info later outside get slashed.

QUOTE(b4ka0tic @ Jan 16 2013, 05:35 PM)
Hi please advise..

1. Brand : LOCAL brand
2. Budget : <RM50,000
3. New/Used/Unreg: New. too much trouble using second hand before.
4. Specs: ANY
5. Transmission: AUTO
6. NA or FI : IDK
7. Type: no sedan
8. Remarks: use it to work and hang out only, probably want a car with low maintenance cost and high resale value.
Its going to be either Myvi, Saga or Persona. Take your pick.

QUOTE(blackankh @ Jan 16 2013, 08:28 PM)
Thanks for the feedback, as below kindly advice cars i should consider with requirement as below.
1. Brand: Any (Preferably non malaysian made cars eg. proton/perodua)
4. Specs. Any
7. Type. Sedan
8. Remarks:
2006 Naza Citra - its a rebadge korean car, is it better than a P1/P2 to you? Actually this model by Naza is quite value for money. For the price you get a 2000cc engine car, you get sunroof, you get leather seats and it is a 7 seater. Of course being a korean tech engine its not as fuel saving as japanese engines but it isn't a high fuel consumption car either, just about right.

2003 Honda City - in that budget range you can also get a Honda but bear in mind it is a 10 year old car so although the outlook seems fine you may need to change parts for it sooner or later. The usual suspects will be all sorts of belts, bearings and liquids in the car, usually all these cost can add up to nearly 2-4k depending on the condition of the car.

2005 Honda City IDSI - of course in that price range you can also get the newer looking City, one generation before the current model. this is the IDSI engine version, very very fuel saving car. Make sure the CVT is still in good condition, its the most expensive thing.

2004 Toyota Vios - the rival of the Honda City, not a bad choice either but from here you can see the power of Toyota's depreciation. A 2004 Toyota is more expensive than a 2005 Honda.

2003 Skoda Octavia - value buy brand if you want a conti but don't want to pay alot. The parts and stuff can be sourced from Audi/Vw so maintenance isn't expensive but the problem is badge recognition, nobody heard of this brand except those that like conti cars. As it is it is better than all the cars above but you need to know how to take care of a conti.

QUOTE(CoffeeDude @ Jan 16 2013, 09:40 PM)
I want to sell my year 2003 proton waja 1.6 auto.
What is a fair price for my car?
Search around car websites.
Compare your spec with the ones being advertised.

QUOTE(tanjq87 @ Jan 17 2013, 11:19 AM)
1. Brand: Any
4. Specs. Any
7. Type. Sedan
8. Remarks: Current shortlisted car Persona (2008-2009), Waja CPS (2008-2009), Perdana (2008-2009), Avanza (2007), Honda City (2006), Toyota Vios (2005).
Plan to take about 5 years loan. And thinking to change car in 2015.
Why is Perdana used price same as Persona and Waja CPS? The gearbox problem still exists for the newer Perdana?
It is no secret the Perdana isn't the best choice for a D-segment car.
Its maintenance is quite high for a local car, even government ministers whom were forced to use Perdana's complaint it would be cheaper to have a fleet of Merc C200's.
The Persona and Waja CPS are the better choices, during that time Proton cars have come with better quality.
Avanza is a total disaster don't buy it.
Honda and Toyota's are good if you can find one within your budget at that age.
zenix
post Jan 21 2013, 10:08 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(jasonsot @ Jan 18 2013, 02:50 PM)
I need some opinions.
Im currently considering the new 2.0 Civic @ RM128k but im torn between a new car or a 2011 2.0 Camry/Accord which is being sold around the same.
I foresee maintenance cost to be similar (Consumption might suffer a little with the bigger cars) and the cars are still under warranty.
Legitimate reason enough to give a new car buyer a headache?
actually the vw jetta's after discount should be around that price too.
its almost spacious as an accord/camry.
its also new.

QUOTE(demondomon @ Jan 18 2013, 04:10 PM)
Hi guys! And thanks  rclxms.gif
1. Brand : Now looking at Hyundai i10 1.25L Kappa CVVT
2. Budget : 60k++
3. New/Used/Unreg : NEW!
4. Specs : Full spec
6. NA or FI : lol idk cincai
7. Type : 4 seater
8. Remarks : Actually this is for my mom. Save fuel as save as possible!  thumbup.gif
if you're going to spend that amount of money why not consider also Mitsubishi Mirage?

QUOTE(longpants @ Jan 18 2013, 10:33 PM)
Hey guys. Is this car a good deal. Polo 1.2 tsi
http://m.oto.my/car-for-sale/31584/2010-vo...en-polo-1.2-tsi
How is the maintenance cost for polo?
looks like a decent motor.
although its a b-segment car, don't expect the usual japanese b-segment car part prices.
since this is a 2010 car it should still have the VW 5 year warranty.
so you should still bring it to VW dealership to service.
the maintenance cost for each interval is listed at their service centers.

QUOTE(OnGx2 @ Jan 19 2013, 12:24 AM)
1. Brand: New Viva 660cc/850cc? or second hand car like Myvi
2. Budget: <32k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New or used car below 5 years
4. Specs : as long as got alarm system, dont need full spec
5. Transmission : Manual
6. NA or FI :  ?
7. Type : 4 seater
8. Remarks : Looking for a reliable car for casual and long term drive (up to 10 years or more). Is it worth it to get a new viva 850cc for RM30k+ or a second hand myvi around RM25k-32k? can recommend me other car within my budget also...thanks..
Look back at the previous page I did recommend a few within your price range.

QUOTE(johnlau91 @ Jan 19 2013, 12:47 AM)
1. Brand : any
2. Budget : <60K
3. New/Used/Unreg : new
4. Specs :
6. NA or FI : 
7. Type : sedan
8. Remarks : balance in fuel consumption and performance.
maybe if you able to up another 10k you shoulder consider the nissan almera very much.
zenix
post Jan 21 2013, 03:46 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(iiam @ Jan 21 2013, 12:12 PM)
Hi Zenix,

Hope u can give your opinion on this:

1. Brand: Proton
2. Budget: Around 30k to 50k
3. New/Used/Unreg: Any
4. Specs: Full Spec
6. NA or FI : idk
7. Type: 4 Door
8. Remarks: I like second hand Persona and Gen 2 CPS but is there any major issues with it? maintenance wise? Is it better to take the new Saga FLX 1.3?
9. Concern: maintenance for the used car

Thank you
Okay if you're looking for low maintenance car then you should take your mind off these few cars.
Naza Ria, Naza Citra, Proton Perdana, Any Korean car, and Any China Car in this segment.
The ones you earmarked are good choices too, you can always surf around for the best price of those but then lemme open up the discussion for other options? brows.gif

2012 Suzuki Alto - don't fall into the trap of buying something like this, yes it looks like a good buy being only one year old but then why would someone wanna sell a one year old car. as a used car buyer you don't get much advantage either, the car didn't depreciate alot and yet you're going to have to pay higher interest rates coz it is a used car.

2009 Proton Waja - this car marks the start of proton having cars with up to date technologies and worth to buy. it has the usual safety features of japanese cars of that period, as well as having the updated CPS engine. its not very old yet it is value buy as an executive car, its got leather seats, spacious interior and good handling.

2008 Nissan Latio - so lets say you don't like local cars you can also get japanese cars at this price, 2008 isn't very old, lets say you take a 5 years loan then sell the car after finish loan in 2018 the car is around 10 years old, right time to change it anyway. its a simple choice to choose a latio, spacious, good fc engine and easy on your pocket for maintenance. plus the latio is a c-segment car.

2008 Honda City - that price can also buy you a honda! although its falls under the b-segment car class it is IMHO a very good package you're buying into. powerful engine and gearbox combo with cheap maintenance, everything a honda should be. just remember to make sure the CVT isn't broken then you've got yourself a powerful and fuel saving car.

2010 Mazda 2 - what if you want a japanese brand and also not older than 3 years? well you can consider cars like Mazda and Suzuki. depreciate faster than Honda and Toyota but thats not to say they're bad brands/cars, just that market forces are such. but just like the stock market there are gems to be found. overall this car is a good car, it probably doesn't have the cheapest parts among the round up here but the difference isn't huge especially for usual maintenance stuff like oil filter, air filter, etc.
zenix
post Jan 21 2013, 05:03 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(jasonsot @ Jan 21 2013, 04:42 PM)
Ive been told by vw employees that while vw driving exp may be nice, maintenance can be a real killer esp if replacement parts are involved and warranty is over.
put it this way.
vw gives 5 years warranty.
so you're covered for 5 years.
so within the 5 years you only need to do the scheduled maintenance.
the killer of these would probably be the major service, minor ones aren't a biggie.
of course if you compare a conti's maintenance with that of a japanese thats a totally difference price structure.
zenix
post Jan 23 2013, 10:17 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(ytwee @ Jan 22 2013, 07:55 PM)
1. Brand - Any
2. Budget - Not very sure but if someone could help the calculation, can afford RM600 only per month
3. New/Used/Unreg - New or Used
4. Specs -
5. Transmission - Auto or manual also nevermind
6. NA or FI - NA
7. Type - Hatchback or Sedan
8. Remarks - Low FC is the priority, my job requires me to travel about average 300KM per journey. Easy maintenance.
Currently driving kenari, perform well within city travel, but begin to have minor problem after traveling far for few months.
Thanks in advance and sorry for poor English.
You can always use affordability calculators like THIS.

Lets say RM600 a month * 9 years loan with no downpayment. You can afford a RM46k car.

2007 Toyota Vios - there are alot of 2007/2006 Vios in this price range, look for the cheapest one with lowest mileage.

2007 Honda City - there are alot of 2007/2006 City in this price range also, again look for the cheapest with lowest mileage, and color to your liking. There isn't much difference if you choose IDSI or VTEC versions, both feels very powerful when you drive it. Just make sure the CVT doesn't have any issues.

2007 Nissan Sentra - there would be an odd Sentra or two in this price range, usually the better ones are sold by private sellers as the traders usually want more margin. Buying from trader or private seller is up to you, both have risk. Buying from reputable trader is a better bet than one with only a few cars in an empty car lot.

2008 Nissan Latio - among the ones i've seen in this price range this ie my top pick, looks like a good buy being a 2008 car at a very low price. though i think it is a price too low to be true. maybe there was an issue with the car so the owner wants to get rid of it. sometimes cheap isn't always good. but if this car has no problems then its a real bargain.

zenix
post Jan 25 2013, 10:06 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(JunJunYap @ Jan 23 2013, 11:05 PM)

How much you planning to spend?

QUOTE(Lineage @ Jan 24 2013, 05:21 AM)
1. Brand : Any.
2. Budget : Rm60-70k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : Prefer engine capacity 1500cc and above.
5. Transmission : Auto/CVT
6. NA or FI :  Any.
7. Type : Must sedan
8. Remarks : FC doesn't really big effect on me, as modern car all FC is low..as long as it's better than my current car which is 11km/L then its consider good already..The things that I concern will be the maintenance cost and quality..

Currently looking few cars as below.
Honda City 5G - Like this because of Vtec, other than that I'm not sure what it can compare to other car below..For the performance wise, how is it compare to Vios,Latio,Fiesta,Almera?
Kia Forte 2.0 SX - Price is just nice within my budget and it's 2.0 engine..Segment C..technology is advance, just worry its quality and reliability..how is the maintenance cost?
Proton Inspira 2.0 - Powerful 2.0 Mivec engine, cool feature like auto off light system, auto light sensor, auto rain sensor and etc..although its from Mitsubishi Lancer, but made by Proton, how is the quality?
Honda City 5G vs Vios : Vios is a basic car like Proton Saga. City is much better in every aspect except price but since we're talking about used that should be okay.
Honda City 5G vs Latio : This is where the lines blur abit, the Latio is considered a C-segment car based on its size while the City isn't that much smaller is considered a B-segment car. Either one is fine they're both more or less equal.
Honda City 5G vs Almera : Cannot really compare much, although the Almera is more spacious the City is a better overall car in terms of specs and material quality.
Honda City 5G vs Fiesta : Fiesta has the better technology and build quality but resale value drops like a rock.

Forte is a decent enough car but have no idea on the maintenance issues of this car, shouldn't a big problem since I see many cars on the road. You can always drop by their service center to checkout their maintenance guide for prices.

Pardon my arrogance but I don't think the Inspira 2.0 mivec output of 110hp is considered powerful laugh.gif
Although overall its a very good car with build quality not usually associated with Proton's. As a C-segment car vs against others like Altis, Civic, etc it only lacks vehicle stability control.
If you like Proton's you can consider the Preve (new), its a great car for a value buy price.

2009 Nissan Sylphy - found something within your price range and is a good buy. I've to agree with the complainers that this car looks kinda ugly but it has comfort and low cost of maintenance on its side. Nissan is famous for low noise and frugal engines with low cost of maintenance. I have friends buying this car because the seats are very comfortable.

2008 Toyota Hilux - raining season never seems to end and always going to flood waters? maybe should consider a 4x4. Generally these are workhorse machines so they're built tough so major parts shouldn't need to be replaced until maybe 6-7 years of ownership, normal maintenance is quite low and diesel saves fuel.

2008 Nissan Cefiro - within this price range there would be a few cefiro's to choose from, they're generally good cars. The biggest minus point for me is that this car is sort of ugly and dated, if you buy one you'll feel that the looks is really outdated compared to everything you see on the road. Other than that the engine is rock solid and maintenance is manageable, I'd say manageable because the rest of the cars we've discussed up until now are B or C-segment cars, this is a D-segment car so its parts carry a more expensive price tag for parts when you need to change like coil plug, bearings, belts, etc.

2009 Ford Focus - this is a better car than the Sylphy which is also within C-segment, it has better handling, more powerful engine, rear aircond vents, electric seats, and leather seats. However, resale value of Ford cars are usually very bad, this car when new would have cost rm120k but now is available for almost half that price. Maintenance wise its not as cheap as a Toyota/Nissan but not as expensive as most conti's.

2008 Mazda3 - looks like a well spec car and looks absolutely gorgeous! Similar to the Focus this car doesn't hold its resale value and maintenance isn't the cheapest for the segment.

QUOTE(saifudinsyed @ Jan 24 2013, 08:05 AM)
Hello Everyone! Hope You guys can help me out!
1. Brand : Kia Rio LS/SE
2. Budget : <RM10k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used (2003-2004)
4. Specs : -
6. NA or FI :  -
7. Type : 4 seaters
8. Remarks : I have noticed that the price of the car have dropped, I wonder why? Any Pros and cons? Am thinking of getting one, so what is things that I should pay attention to?
2005 Kia Rio - really? I've only seen one advert for this car around this price. decent car but i guess generally the price drop is due to the new cerato coming.

QUOTE(em0kia @ Jan 24 2013, 02:52 PM)
1. Brand - Any long lasting brand
2. Budget - below rm50000
3. New/Used
4. Specs.
5. Transmission. Auto
Remarks:
Student searching for car.
Must have low fuel consumption and service fees.
And lastly, i am tall so if possible, avoid small cars ><
2007 Ford Ranger - tall guy like yourself should try to stay away from the hatchbacks and other b-segment cars they're just too small for you, unless you like a cozy fit. I'd suggest a pickup because its big and its a brute. It may not be very comfortable but it makes up for this with a powerful yet frugal diesel engine, and 4x4 are built tough so you don't have to constantly worry about breaking bearings while going thru bumps or water entering the engine bay and ruining because of the constant it since it stands taller. Normal maintenance is quite cheap only that the major maintenance might pinch abit especially when you need to service aircond.

2010 Kia Rondo - the attraction for this car it is age, its pretty new and with low mileage. another plus point is that there is no new model yet so this is the most updated look for this model, you won't feel that you bought a used car. i've to admit i've never really checked out this car before so i don't know how frugal the engine is or is it expensive to maintain, it should be pretty similar to the Naza Citra i assume, make sure to check these facts out at the Kia service center or your trusty workshop.

2007 Nissan Latio - i'm thinking you should be able to fit into this car, please read above for details on this model.

QUOTE(sarungman @ Jan 24 2013, 07:12 PM)
i got a deal on a black savvy manual 2005 (80k KM) from someone (not a dealer). Car engine is quite good (i've tested myself). Interior is clean. All seat got PVC cover. The body paint is abit worn out, especially on the spoiler. Front skirt also got scratch. And a small dent at the left rear tire cover. He offer the price as good as RM10800. Similar to the dealer price. Is it a good deal or what? btw im the fourth owner. (two prev owner was a master and Phd student and go back to their country already)
i guess its okay.
zenix
post Jan 25 2013, 02:13 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(ftptwistedclown @ Jan 25 2013, 12:28 PM)
sifus,

Want to ask weather ford focus sedan(ghia) 06/07/08 is a reliable car?
Price should be around 40-50k. maintance i heard ford can be quite pricey? Im looking for big boot space, below 50k(monthly <650).
Key here is reliable for atleast 5 years and low maintance.

thx
The normal petrol variant shouldn't have much issues in terms of reliability, they're built pretty well.
The specs on the cars are also pretty good you get alot for what you pay for because the car depreciated so much in such a short period, to get something similar from Toyota/Honda you'll need to fork out another 10-15k.

Maintenance depends on what you consider pricey.
Normal service items like oil filter, air filter, spark plugs and black oil is more or less the price you'd pay for any car.
Being a conti car you'd need to buy better oil as because instead of 5000kms service intervals it is 10,000kms intervals.....so of course parts are pricier because they need to last longer.

Lets think about options brows.gif

2008 Hyundai Sonata - market forces are so unpredictable isn't it? when this car was new it was aimed to fight toe-to-toe with Toyota Camry's and Honda Accord's. Now 5 years later its a bargain bin D-segment car. For a 5 years old car its looks is still acceptable in 2013, some might even mistake it for a new current model. The only bad thing about owning something like this is the maintenance cost. End of the day even if you buy it fort 50k it is still a D-segment car (flagship of the brand during its time) so parts won't come cheap if you need to replace anything other than minor service parts. Its a 2.4cc engine so roadtax is going to cost you around rm800, this is the limit before roadtax prices goes crazy. All-in-all a buyable car if things like bearing, coil plugs, belts, etc. don't break down all at once.

2006 Nissan X-Trail - i think you've got your heart set for a sedan car but just hear me out. a SUV nowadays is a good option. raining season seems to never end and always going through flood waters - you'd feel more secure doing so in an SUV than in a sedan sitting so low on the tarmac you might stall the engine. This SUV can change from 2x4 to 4x4 with just a push of a button, easy. Alot of newer SUV are permanently either 2x4 or 4x4. 2x4 is good for fuel savings but 4x4 gives you that extra security when going through bad terrain in bad weather.

2007 Skoda Fabia Combi - a stationwagon would give you the boot space you require while still being able to transport 4 adults in comfort. Skoda is a little known gem in our market being unknown means it depreciates like a rock but it is actually a very very good car. It is built for european roads that means its quality, safety features and overall performance are of a higher standard than even the JDM cars we're so used to loving so much. Part wise its on the economical side for conti's since it shares the same platform as VW Polo most of the mechanical parts are swappable.

2008 Nissan Sentra - this is the top spec 1.8cc engine variant of the Sentra. Although this car does everything you expect from it well you can't runaway from the fact that the looks and technologies in this car is dated. Although its a good car, frugal on fuel and cheap to maintain ..... maybe you won't feel you've upgraded yourself when you buy this car as it looks old.

2007 Honda Civic - similar issues with the Nissan although its a good car its 2 generations away from the current model which would make you feel sad paying for an old car with old looks? hmm.gif

2006 Toyota Altis - this car has aged abit better since the current model of the Altis is actually an evolution of this look instead of a revolutionary design as seen in the replacements for the Civic and Sentra (Sylphy). Probably the safest choice in this round up.
zenix
post Jan 29 2013, 10:18 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(phyzoul @ Jan 26 2013, 12:42 AM)
1. Brand: Reliable ones (Toyota, Honda)
2. Budget: 50-70K The cheaper, the better.
3. New/Used/Unreg: Used
4. Specs: Any
5. Transmission: AT
6. NA or FI ? Any
7. Type: Any
8. Remarks: comfort, good space, fuel save
Thanks...
2010 Toyota Altezza - i think this car is a grey import and is much older than 2010, but its a toyota and its relatively cheap for a powerful car. since it is a grey import car you probably only need to worry about parts being worn out as it is old. plus the white bumper suspiciously looks like a frontal accident do check it out. usually i'd recommend imports because of the higher quality and better safety features but if this is a lemon do avoid it.

2008 Toyota Yaris - used japanese import which i think is a pretty good deal. decent safety features, good mileage, good looks. its quite rare on the road so it doesn't look dated and boring like a vios.

2008 Toyota Altis - i'm not too sure why this car is so cheap, could be suspicious, however as is its a pretty good deal.

QUOTE(truelife @ Jan 27 2013, 05:32 PM)
I am planning to buy recon car. Any recommendation for reliable imported used car (unregistered car numbers) dealers in KL, PJ or any place within Klang Valley?
Depends on what car, some just focus on particular models.

QUOTE(demondomon @ Jan 27 2013, 07:56 PM)
1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : +-150k
3. New/Used/Unreg : NEW!
4. Specs : Full spec
6. NA or FI : lol idk
7. Type : 4 Seater
8. Remarks : This is for my mom & she want a Camry but then i suggested  her a Prius coz its look way cooler & hybrid & save fuel & all. Anyway, suggestion please and thanks smile.gif
Prius has better technology and safety features.
If she wants a D-segment car then consider Accord.
If she want conti then consider Jetta.

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Jan 27 2013, 09:33 PM)
1. Brand : any, prefer non-malaysian
2. Budget : any up to 40% monthly payment from my salary of 3k
3. New/Used/Unreg : any
4. Specs : any
6. NA or FI :  any
7. Type : hatchback preferred
8. Remarks : on eye for Polo TSI, but is it worth it?
3000 * 40% = 1200
1200 * 108 months (9 years) = 92k
with no downpayment you're not able to afford a Polo TSI new

2010 VW Polo - this is sort of over your budget. you really wanna buy a car with full loan?

QUOTE(kelvinng01 @ Jan 27 2013, 10:41 PM)
1. Brand : Hyundai Elantra 1.6
2. Budget : 100k
4. Specs : 1.6
5. Transmission : 6-Speed Auto
6. NA or FI :  NA
7. Type : Sedan
8. Remarks : Would this car can close side mirror? Any best suggestion?
Don't know about side mirror, you gotta ask the salesman.
Seriously at that price range look for the Honda Jazz Hybrid CBU its the best there is until stocks last.

zenix
post Jan 29 2013, 10:18 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Cattitude @ Jan 28 2013, 04:31 PM)
1. Brand : Perodua Kelisa
2. Budget : RM18000 & below the lesser the better
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used & Reg
4. Specs : Limited Edition
6. NA or FI : ????
7. Type : Hatchback
8. Remarks : Buy and drive type, reasonable affordable price with goood condition with never burdening loan / direct cash.
2008 Proton Iswara LMST - the last of the legendary iswara, most updated looks inside and outside at a bargain price. parts and maintenance are always cheap and cheerful. better to get a newer car like this than an old kelisa.

2008 Proton Wira SE - although you can find Wira's much cheaper when they're older but the reliability, accident free and parts needing to be replaced will of course be higher, then don't forget older Proton quality issues. like the iswara this is the last of the mitsubishi 4g series era cars, cheap to maintain and parts cheap. with updated looks its not bad looking for the age.

2008 Proton Gen2 - i think you should consider something like this more seriously. a more modern design not only in terms of looks but safety. i don't know about you but i don't think the Kelisa is a very safe car for side impact and rear impact accidents.

QUOTE(freedom8901 @ Jan 29 2013, 02:03 AM)
http://www.oto.my/car-for-sale/20552/used-...r-spec-selangor
Hi zenix,
This babe that you recommended is awesome, honestly i am very attracted by it as I myself am hoping to buy one although it is way over my budget (~50k+) for a new one, that why I am only aiming i10 and mirage, honestly the price do seems a bit unbelievable compared with the other 2010 mazda2, could it be something wrong with it? Maybe due to the high mileage?
could be a pre-reg clear stock.
seriously i10?
you'd be better off buying a Perodua.
zenix
post Jan 29 2013, 11:44 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(freedom8901 @ Jan 29 2013, 11:28 AM)
So master zenix you would take a Myvi than a i10? I am very troubled by P1 and P2 quality issues and I am hoping to get a reliable first car for myself, although I know korean car high maintenance cost and depreciates a lot, is this why you choose Perodua?
A pre-reg clear stock? Can you elaborate more on this?
pre-reg are cars already registered under the company.
usually to hit the targets set by their principle or as demo car.

myvi doesn't have quality issues as far as i know.
zenix
post Jan 30 2013, 09:04 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(freedom8901 @ Jan 29 2013, 12:20 PM)
Hmmm....so seems like i10 is out of the game, i am very tempted to take the 2010 mazda2, I like its design very much and is a sedan and pure japanese car compared with Myvi, but I i will be taking loan after maybe 10k downpayment, so is it worth it compared with a brand new Myvi?
I think that's one way to go about it.
You should really call up the Mazda2 to check if it is still available, as that is the only one going for within your price range.
i10 i think it is an okay car but depreciation and slightly higher maintenance i don't feel it is worth it, however, if you really like it then go for it.
If it is just something you're settling for and don't really like it then I think P2 is better since it won't depreciate so badly you can afford another car in 5-7 years.

QUOTE(cloudstrife07 @ Jan 29 2013, 01:39 PM)
guess i'll take Mitsubishi Mirage then. haha. is it a good buy?
yes it is a good buy.
my cousin has one she says alot about it.
really a big upgrade from her previous car which is a viva.
though if you don't mind local there are cars like Neo and Persona which are quite good too.
I think proton clearing stocks for their waja cps around your budget too, that is a really good car do check it out.
if you got another 10k you should consider the Preve, its a good car.

QUOTE(Cattitude @ Jan 29 2013, 02:07 PM)
LOL... Only Kelisa I will choose bro.  flex.gif  flex.gif
if you really like it, go for it wink.gif

QUOTE(Opa Gangnam Style @ Jan 29 2013, 02:10 PM)
1. Brand : -
2. Budget : -
4. Specs : -
5. Transmission : -
6. NA or FI :  -
7. Type : -
8. Remarks : Rm 1000 per month. down payment 10%
1000 * 108months (9 years) = 76k
downpayment 7k
total = 83k

i think with this budget you can consider a few good cars.

1. Nissan Livina X-Gear - it is a c-segment car with b-segment price, although slightly shorter than the Grand Livina and also missing 7 seats (5 only) and no rear aircond this is a pretty good car. It comes with a 1.6 engine which I think abit of a lazy one it has quite abit of low end grunt so you don't feel like the body is too heavy for the engine. It comes with a pretty funky bodykit and roof rack. IMHO much better looking than the Grand Livina. Being Nissan and not high-tech you're more or less set with low maintenance cost and cheap reliable parts.

2. Proton Preve - somewhere between b and c segment in terms of size this car has everything and more a 100k japanese saloon would offer. It has DRL, Push button start, CVT gearing, Turbo, etc. So well spec its almost a conti. My reservations about this car is that Proton SC isn't still up to standard and might ruin your car so you need to be very diligent on what they do and replace when you bring it to the service center. CVT only can use CVT gear oil, not normal ATF...for example.

QUOTE(demondomon @ Jan 29 2013, 04:18 PM)
she prefer the most fuel saver. maybe a hybrid hatchback? or between prius & insingt which one is better? thanks smile.gif
prius is much better than the insight.
insight is a b-segment car while prius (not prius c) is a c-segment car.

26 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.1382sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:55 AM