127 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V5

lee_what2004
post Oct 31 2009, 02:06 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

BENQ JOYBOOK S42-LE22 NOTEBOOK
Intel Core 2 Duo P8700 (2.50GHz/3M L2/1066FSB)
14.1" WXGA TFT LCD Display
4GB DDR2 Memory
500GB 5400RPM S-ATA Hard Disk Drive
nVIDIA Geforce 9600M GT (256mb)
8x DVD Super Multi Double Layer Drive
WLAN 802.11a/b/g/n, HDMI Port
Integrated (V.92 Modem / 2.0M Camera / Bluetooth)

can also refer this thread, this user just bought it from a store on lowyat smile.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1203732
and here for some benchmark smile.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1109389

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Oct 31 2009, 02:10 AM
gckhai
post Oct 31 2009, 02:12 AM

15 posts

u mean this is usually bout 3.1k price...that about omost same price with studio 15 p8700 ed rite ?
lee_what2004
post Oct 31 2009, 02:14 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

yeah, but the dell studio wins in term of its on-site warranty.
if want the upmost performance, benq s42 it is.
gckhai
post Oct 31 2009, 02:28 AM

15 posts

thanks alot that...
isit lowyat there is the best place to buy laptop... ?
lee_what2004
post Oct 31 2009, 02:29 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

well, there's always deal to find, and also a lot of shops to browse through.
gckhai
post Oct 31 2009, 02:39 AM

15 posts

thank thank thank alot...benq s42..and dell studio 15...
i will think about this two... =)
KoNz3n
post Oct 31 2009, 03:24 AM

111 posts

Hey guys, my budget is 3.5k and i'm looking for a laptop that's stylish and i use a lot of multimedia programs like photoshop and after effects. I also love to leave the laptop on for days or even weeks so what can you recommend me ? I'm planning on getting http://www.sony.com.my/product/vgn-fw53gf

what do you guys think? thanks a lot smile.gif
Loki[D.d.G]
post Oct 31 2009, 03:34 AM

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
3,648 posts

QUOTE(KoNz3n @ Oct 31 2009, 03:24 AM)
Hey guys, my budget is 3.5k and i'm looking for a laptop that's stylish and i use a lot of multimedia programs like photoshop and after effects. I also love to leave the laptop on for days or even weeks so what can you recommend me ? I'm planning on getting http://www.sony.com.my/product/vgn-fw53gf

what do you guys think? thanks a lot smile.gif
Slightly overpriced. If you can push your budget a lil' the Dell SXPS 16 would make for a brilliant laptop. Otherwise, you may wanna consider the Benq s42 and Dell Studio 15 too.
KoNz3n
post Oct 31 2009, 03:53 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(LokiD.d.G @ Oct 31 2009, 03:34 AM)
Slightly overpriced. If you can push your budget a lil' the Dell SXPS 16 would make for a brilliant laptop. Otherwise, you may wanna consider the Benq s42 and Dell Studio 15 too.
I'm a kinda paranoid with dell coz my m1530 which i bought 18months ago at 4.7k recently had a faulty motherboard prob. I was expecting it to last much longer that's why i invested a lot on it anyway.. Is there any official BenQ store in kl? Yeah vaio kinda overpriced but i believe their quality is really good. what'd you think?

Another thing that;s bothering me is many laptops come with radeon 4570 graphics card. It isn't that good right? correct me if im wrong. I know s42 has the 9600m which is much better

This post has been edited by KoNz3n: Oct 31 2009, 03:57 AM
astria
post Oct 31 2009, 07:16 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

M1530 was becuz of the GPU... other brands like HP, Sony, Apple, Asus, Acer, BenQ all kenna the same problem... i used to own a BenQ S41 with 8600M GS and took it back to service center for 3 times in 1.5yr, all becuz of the GPU... blame Nvidia for all the problems...

anyway, for rm3.5k, i would suggest BenQ S42 for performance, Studio 15 for warranty service, or if u can stretch the budget a bit, BenQ S57 (rm3699 iirc)

as for the performance of HD4570, well, on paper it's weaker than a 8600M GT, but in benchmark and games, they ve roughly the same performance... it's a surprisingly good GPU even though it's suppose to be for the value market...

but of course, 9600M GT has even better performance, even though it has the same spec as a 8600M GT...

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 31 2009, 07:18 AM
alesi616
post Oct 31 2009, 11:33 AM

810 posts

Hi guys,

Need your advice. I am planning to get a laptop for the requirement below:

budget: 1.6k - 2.2k
processor: intel C2D (or Pentium Core Duo, non-AMD processor due to personal preference)
VGA: depends (i'm not sure, see my Casual Task below)
OS: Preferable Windows 7 (no OS is a pain as have to struggle to find drivers, also don't want kacau by Overseas Kastam)
LCD screen: 13 - 14"
RAM: 4GB preferable (minimum 2GB, is it enuf for Windows 7?)
HDD: 250GB (or more)
optical drive: DVD+/-RW (must need optical drive)
Warranty: International warranty preferable (need to carry it to oversea, New Zealand)
Weight: the lower the better (anything less than 2kg with battery will be great! but not compromise a lot with processor power lah)

My Casual Task: online, Facebook, chatting, watch movie, songs, Adobe Photoshop, Dota

Please recommend...thanks!
astria
post Oct 31 2009, 11:35 AM

22,158 posts

hmm... Asus K40In perhaps...

i think it exceeds ur budget a bit, but Asus has 2yrs int'l warranty
yusazie
post Oct 31 2009, 11:47 AM

27 posts

dell studio 15 is rellly cute for mee huargghh
alesi616
post Oct 31 2009, 11:52 AM

810 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 31 2009, 11:35 AM)
hmm... Asus K40In perhaps...

i think it exceeds ur budget a bit, but Asus has 2yrs int'l warranty
bro, any other brand than Asus? kind da hard to find Asus retailer shop & service centre in Penang here...

Also the international warranty period I need is 1 year enough, because I will buy on this November and go NZ for half-year after that......so as long as 1 year international warranty (plus mayb 1-2 years local warranty might be better :-) ) should be ok for me. thumbup.gif

astria
post Oct 31 2009, 11:54 AM

22,158 posts

well, in that case, Acer 4736G, or even, Dell Inspiron series...

Added on October 31, 2009, 11:54 am
QUOTE(yusazie @ Oct 31 2009, 02:47 PM)
dell studio 15 is rellly cute for mee huargghh
there is a thread for comments like this...

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry29616545

this thread here is for qns...

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 31 2009, 11:54 AM
KoNz3n
post Oct 31 2009, 12:13 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 31 2009, 07:16 AM)
M1530 was becuz of the GPU... other brands like HP, Sony, Apple, Asus, Acer, BenQ all kenna the same problem... i used to own a BenQ S41 with 8600M GS and took it back to service center for 3 times in 1.5yr, all becuz of the GPU... blame Nvidia for all the problems...

anyway, for rm3.5k, i would suggest BenQ S42 for performance, Studio 15 for warranty service, or if u can stretch the budget a bit, BenQ S57 (rm3699 iirc)

as for the performance of HD4570, well, on paper it's weaker than a 8600M GT, but in benchmark and games, they ve roughly the same performance... it's a surprisingly good GPU even though it's suppose to be for the value market...

but of course, 9600M GT has even better performance, even though it has the same spec as a 8600M GT...
what about asus? any good ones within that price range? i like the 2years warranty
astria
post Oct 31 2009, 12:17 PM

22,158 posts

rm3.5k... only ve U80Vg for Asus... either T6500 model (rm3199) or P8700 model (rm3599)...

spec wise it's not as yummy as S42... laugh.gif comes with HD4570 DDR2 for GPU, performance is worse than Studio 15 even... but the good thing abt U80Vg is the light chasis (2.1kg with battery, light considering it's a non-CULV 14") and long battery life (users report abt 5hrs, 1 more hr compared to S42 using GMA)...

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 31 2009, 12:17 PM
000hk000
post Oct 31 2009, 12:19 PM

Hello Lowyat!

I am planning to buy a laptop,
Sadly, I do not know much on laptop specs, which is which,
But I've set my eyes on the below due to it's awesome design.
Most importantly, I was wondering if any of you could tell if the below laptop is suitable for
gaming like WoW , movies and work.

Please do suggest on other laptops too ! biggrin.gif
Thanks in advance.

New Dv7

-Hp Dv7 with latest design'moon night black in color including the keyboard'
-Intel Centrino core 2 Dou T9400
(2.53Ghz. 6MB L2 Cache,1066Mhz FBS)
-4gb 800MHz DDR2 ram(up to 8gb)
-Dou HDD 250gb*2 'total 500gb'
-17.3'' HD ready with 16:9 resolution
-8 cell battery
-ATI HD 4650 with 1gb dedicated
-build in subwoffer Altec-Lansing Speaker
-wifi(N),webcam,DVD,HDMI
-Vista Home Premium 64bit
RM4300

astria
post Oct 31 2009, 12:22 PM

22,158 posts

i rather get Dell SXPS 16 or BenQ S57...

SXPS16 has Full HD monitor, while S57 has BD drive for less than rm4k...

or even, Dell Studio 15 if u want BD drive AND Full HD monitor at the same time...

This post has been edited by astria: Oct 31 2009, 12:23 PM
KoNz3n
post Oct 31 2009, 12:25 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 31 2009, 12:17 PM)
rm3.5k... only ve U80Vg for Asus... either T6500 model (rm3199) or P8700 model (rm3599)...

spec wise it's not as yummy as S42... laugh.gif comes with HD4570 DDR2 for GPU, performance is worse than Studio 15 even... but the good thing abt U80Vg is the light chasis (2.1kg with battery, light considering it's a non-CULV 14") and long battery life (users report abt 5hrs, 1 more hr compared to S42 using GMA)...
thx a lot for ur recommendations. i know this isnt the right place to ask but do u think selling my 20months old m1530 with faulty mobo for rm800 is ok? 2.0ghz,160gb hd,2gb ram,8600m gt.

127 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:02 PM