post Dec 5 2009, 12:38 AM

1,419 posts

The lump on the side of Motorola XT701 makes it look weird
fender
post Dec 5 2009, 01:05 PM

255 posts

The Motorola XT701 looks very nice but very iPhone look-alike. Yes, it is a Xenon flash i think.
corez
post Dec 5 2009, 06:51 PM

Glory Hunter
2,018 posts

Are they available anywhere in KL?
lek_e30
post Dec 7 2009, 10:55 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

even droid not reach here yet doh.gif doh.gif
kiwlm
post Dec 7 2009, 11:06 AM

978 posts

today only released in germany, wait a while lor
exentric_nova
post Dec 7 2009, 11:22 AM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

Should be around this month~
fender
post Dec 8 2009, 12:53 AM

255 posts

Most online shops are beyond their stock for this phone. Majorly, customers who pre-ordered will receive their phones a little bit late because of the high demand. Read it somewhere yesterday..
Try order this phone from the Europe, they are probably cheaper than our coming onshore price.

This post has been edited by fender: Dec 8 2009, 12:54 AM
kiwlm
post Dec 8 2009, 08:59 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(fender @ Dec 8 2009, 12:53 AM)
Try order this phone from the Europe, they are probably cheaper than our coming onshore price.
Be careful though, our customs might tax you. My gf's company just received a parcel from their Europe office of the Hero and Tattoo phones, and the custom tax them RM400 a phone!

exentric_nova
post Dec 8 2009, 09:38 AM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

Android 2.0.1 brought down onto Droid

The "coming weeks" timeframe that Verizon had promised for 2.0.1 to start pushing to Droids has been mercifully condensed down to just a few days, because a number of folks are starting to report that they're receiving the update on their retail units today -- and we've been able to confirm with the company that it's going down. That's great news for a Monday, we'd say, and if you haven't gotten the update just yet, Big Red has now posted update instructions and details on the Droid's support site that should be enough to tide you over for a few minutes. In brief, this looks like bug-fix nirvana with improved stability and battery life, better camera and call quality, faster visual voicemail, and a host of other goodies -- anyone hoping for new features is probably primed for disappointment, but we'll take what we can get. Keep an eye on your Droid today, owners, and let us know how the experience treats you.
Source: Engadget

Changelog:
Enjoy improved performance with these OS enhancements.
Verizon Wireless is pleased to announce new software enhancements for your DROID by Motorola smartphone. The Droid by Motorola software
version AP:ESD56/BP:C_01.3E.01P update includes numerous improvements.

The following enhancements to the Droid by Motorola have been made:
xx OS stability is improved.
xx Battery life is improved.
xx Camera auto focus functionality is improved, and time between
shots is reduced.
xx Enhancements for three-way calling.
xx Audio for incoming calls is improved.
xx When receiving a call on call waiting, the speakerphone now
remains on.
xx Bluetooth® functionality is improved; background echo is eliminated.
xx Improved Bluetooth phone book transfer of contacts to in-vehicle
Bluetooth solutions.
xx After closing a GPS application, the GPS icon will now automatically
be removed from the notification panel.
xx Users can now receive SMS and MMS messages after an EMS
message is received.
xx SMS and MMS may now be sent to seven-digit addresses.
xx Google® contact merging has been updated to accommodate
seven-digit numbers.
xx Visual Voice Mail notices now arrive instantaneously.
• The corporate calendar widget user interface is updated.
Source: http://learning.verizonwireless.com/learni...ware_Update.pdf

New Home Screen?
Source: Phandroid

This post has been edited by exentric_nova: Dec 8 2009, 09:55 AM
lek_e30
post Dec 8 2009, 11:04 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

anyone here going to import this babe??
mikelee
post Dec 8 2009, 11:15 AM

1,419 posts

I think some of you may have known this but I am posting it anyway. Expansys Singapore is selling it @ SGD$896.49 and there is a discount if you purchase more than 5 units.

http://www.expansys.com.sg/d.aspx?i=192413

This post has been edited by mikelee: Dec 8 2009, 11:16 AM
mark
post Dec 8 2009, 02:23 PM

866 posts

896.49 Singapore dollars = 2 191.87349 Malaysian ringgits

So tempted!
mikelee
post Dec 8 2009, 02:52 PM

1,419 posts

QUOTE(mark @ Dec 8 2009, 02:23 PM)
896.49 Singapore dollars = 2 191.87349 Malaysian ringgits

So tempted!
However there is a risk of either customs or warranty issues.

By the way, here is a video quick review of the Android 2.0.1 update on Droid:

This post has been edited by mikelee: Dec 8 2009, 03:50 PM
mark
post Dec 8 2009, 03:20 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ Dec 8 2009, 02:52 PM)
However there is a risk of either customs or warranty issues.

By the way, here is the video review of the Android 2.0.1 update on Droid:

Yeah... and after looking at this thread I think I'll stay off Expansys.

Does anyone have idea if it's out on retail stores in Singapore?
exentric_nova
post Dec 8 2009, 04:10 PM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(mikelee @ Dec 8 2009, 02:52 PM)
By the way, here is a video quick review of the Android 2.0.1 update on Droid:

Seems quite a good update drool.gif
limkoksoon
post Dec 8 2009, 07:59 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(eq8all @ Oct 15 2009, 07:40 AM)
user posted image  user posted image  user posted image
user posted image  user posted image

Pics from BoyGeniusReport and Mobilecrunch.

Tentative specs' sheet (Mobilecrunch):-
According to the super secret document that found its way to AndroidAndMe, the Tao will purportedly be the “world’s thinnest” slider QWERTY phone at 13.7mm thick. Yes, please! Other juicy tidbits include: a 3.7″ 16:9 touch screen display, 16GB built-in storage, 5MP camera with dual LED flash, full HTML browser with Flash support, and supposedly the next generation of Android, the big 2.0.

Here are the rest of the leaked specs:

* OMAP3430 – 600 MHz ARM Cortex A8 + PowerVR SGX 530 GPU + 430MHz C64x+ DSP + ISP (Image Signal Processor)
    * Dimensions 60.00 x 115.80 x 13.70 mm
    * Weight 169 g
    * Battery Li-ion 1400 mAh.
    * Standby 450 hours, talk time 420 minutes
    * 3.7-inch touch-sensitive display with a resolution of 854×480 pixels, 16 million color depth. Physical screen size is 45.72 mm by 81.34 mm.
    * 512MB/256MB ROM/RAM
    * microSD / microSDHC expansion slot
    * Camera: 5.0 megapixel with autofocus and video recorder
    * Connectivity: USB2.0, 3.5mm audio jack, Bluetooth 2.0 + EDR, Wi-Fi
    * Operating System: Android 2.0 (with Eclair, no Motoblur)
    * Package Contents: Phone Motorola Sholes, battery, charger, USB cable, 8GB MicroSD memory card and other literature.
damm, they never sell the droid in malaysia.. no fun at all la...
exentric_nova
post Dec 8 2009, 08:01 PM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

QUOTE(limkoksoon @ Dec 8 2009, 07:59 PM)
damm, they never sell the droid in malaysia.. no fun at all la...
huh? Somebody already said it's coming this month.
limkoksoon
post Dec 9 2009, 02:14 AM

327 posts

still not sure yet la.. coz when droid came out last month, they say only meant for the west side. never mention about the east la.. damm sad...

so do u guys think droid better then Zii Trinity?

making me headache la..
just bought hero. now they say wanna bring droid in pulak.. my wallet all dry up.. kanasai.
exentric_nova
post Dec 9 2009, 11:33 AM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

Droid has been rooted!
Every time an Android phone launches, a stopwatch quietly starts ticking, because we all know it's just a matter of time before the thing gets rooted. This time around, it's a big one: it appears that the mighty Droid has fallen to the hands of hackers looking to drop whatever they please onto the phone's firmware -- and anyone enjoying Cyanogen's works over in the HTC world understands full well the benefits of being able to do this. We'll hold off on cracking open the bubbly until we start to see some practical benefits to the root, but this is a stellar way to start if it's legit and functional.
Source: Engadget

HOWTO: AllDroid.org
QUOTE(From AllDroid by Zinx Verituse)
I've rooted the Droid;

md5sum of initial exploit zip: 94a0c30ea9104c2776d042e760bfd716

URL: http://rapidshare.com/files/318204448/droid-root.zip.html (Down now?)
URL2: http://www.4shared.com/file/168496608/8fa2...roid-root.htmll (thanks, blunden)
URL3: http://www.mediafire.com/?ydaqjmditjh (thanks, blunden)
URL4: http://www.multiupload.com/XYPZLK4K22
Also attached in a thread post.

The exploit provides a /system/bin/su from AOSP (that is, you can only use it from adb shell).
Other payloads can be arranged, but I'm too lazy to make them myself.

Provide a decent payload and I will turn it in to an update.zip that the Droid will apply.
Restrictions: The payload zip must be <63k
I can add files already in the official update to it (update-binary).
QUOTE(From AllDroid by jimmydean)
In my extremely limited analysis, it seems he used the actual official 2.0.1 update but stuffed in custom su and the custom update instructions (which simply copy su). The .zip file is 10.2mb (roughly the same size as the 2.0.1 update but su and the update scripts are less than 1mb themselves...
QUOTE(From AllDroid by Ted417)
Ok... I have read the thread up to here... and here's my understanding...
1.) You can root your Droid... but you can't install apps that need root access... like the Wi-Fi tether app...
2.) You can only use ADB with this root...
QUOTE(From AllDroid by Konan128)
Su is working in adb only. Not really useful for average users as posted above. But its a step down a slippery slope that will be root and custom recovery and roms.. Be patient I would imagine a recovery image will be written within 24 hours. Custom rom may take a little longer.. But not long. Patience people

QUOTE(From AllDroid by esper256)
QUOTE(SeraphimSerapis)

Hello everyone,

I tried to root my german motorola milestone with the file provided (named to update.zip),
but it fails to flash.

I hope there'll be a nice developer that helps the european users as well smile.gif
I assume the Milestone is flashed using updates signed with a different key (probably a different key for each carrier). Most likely the same kind of attack would work on the Milestone but my guess is that first someone needs to intercept a genuine signed Milestone over-the-air software update. Apply the same kind of magic that this hack used to create a rooting update.

Of course, now that this hack is out, they might try to create an update which also fixes this issue. However, my guess is that if you don't have any updates right now, there is no way they can stop this attack from being successful without updating your phone, which should mean that once a Milestone update is released, it will get rooted.
This post has been edited by exentric_nova: Dec 9 2009, 11:46 AM
benlye
post Dec 9 2009, 02:17 PM

The alternate person
1,670 posts

QUOTE(limkoksoon @ Dec 9 2009, 02:14 AM)
still not sure yet la.. coz when droid came out last month, they say only meant for the west side. never mention about the east la.. damm sad...

so do u guys think droid better then Zii Trinity?

making me headache la..
just bought hero. now they say wanna bring droid in pulak.. my wallet all dry up.. kanasai.
Droid is called Milestone for the GSM model.

126 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0158sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:08 AM