125 Pages « < 27 28 29 30 31 > » Bottom

DELL Studio XPS™ 13 & 16 Notebooks [V2], Welcome to the new thread.

Loki[D.d.G]
post Nov 7 2009, 12:52 AM

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
3,648 posts

QUOTE(DoomGuard @ Nov 6 2009, 07:34 PM)
ya sure.. when i bought it i got 2 years mcafee.. can have both MSE and mcafee installed and running on background? just wonder.. and i have microsort firewall turned on with mcafee firewall together. am i stupid? haha
Don't use two different AV solutions together. But I personally feel that even though I've paid for McAfee it isn't worth the trouble I have to put up with to continue using it. But it isn't my money we are dealing with here, is it? So, I suppose just stick with whatever that pleases you most.
Fantasia
post Nov 7 2009, 01:33 AM

5,483 posts

QUOTE(zombieleex @ Nov 7 2009, 12:38 AM)
Woo, tis is de last msg from me at Vista OS

Next msg would be Win7 d ... i am going to install my Win7 NOW - clean installation~
tell us after u install it
helldagger
post Nov 7 2009, 02:15 AM

148 posts

guys what is the latest non problematic driver from ati?cz i think i might have breakdown issue for ragonage
Charcoal
post Nov 7 2009, 02:51 AM

137 posts

Got my Windows7 Disk as well and did a fresh install on my PC last night... I must say I'm loving 7. The taskbar took some getting used to but overall performance from boot up to normal operations certainly feels much faster and snappier. Not to mention the themes are gorgeous.

Here's a guide for those who want to do a fresh install:

1. Backup all your important info.
2. Insert Windows 7 Upgrade disk into your drive when it boots
3. Hit F12 when the Dell logo pops up (this is actually pretty fast so I actually recommend you let you lappie boot up normally first, insert the disc, then restart and hit F12).
4. At the Boot up menu selection, pick "Boot from CD ROM"
5. Let Windows 7 Load and it will eventually show a menu with 2 Options - Upgrade and Custom.
6. For Fresh Install, select Custom
7. It will show all the drives you have including partitions, the C: OS drive should be selected but if not, select it.
8. Here is one important part, make sure you click the extra disk options button. This will unhide the Format option.
8. Format the C drive (Erases Everything!). If you miss this step, it will actually copy all your old Vista files into another folder then install on top and is not 100% clean.
9. After Format, proceed next menu and let Windows 7 run its installation. Took me only around 15-20 minutes to get the OS installed.
10. Once installed, you will get prompted for user name, password, network setup. Its pretty straightforward.
11. Boot into Windows 7 and admire its beauty!
12. First step you should do now remove the Win7 upgrade disk and put in the Dell Win7 driver/software disk.
13. Go through and install all the drivers from the disk as needed. It pretty much covers the main drivers and programs (Quickset, Touchpad, IDT audio, HDMI audio, PowerDVD, FaceAccess). Some drivers not included are basic hardware drivers - graphics, card reader, etc but Windows 7 will actually update these automatically so you actually don't need them. They work right off the boot up :].
14. Oh yea... don't forget to update Windows 7. As mentioned, Win7 will also update some of the hardware drivers like graphics driver so you should review the updates and uncheck if you are using your own.

Potential Problems:
OS unable to boot. This has higher chance to occur with upgrade or not formatted install. Solution is simple, just follow exact same steps above again to format and reinstall OS.

This post has been edited by Charcoal: Nov 7 2009, 02:57 AM
DoomGuard
post Nov 7 2009, 08:05 AM

338 posts

QUOTE(Charcoal @ Nov 7 2009, 02:51 AM)
Got my Windows7 Disk as well and did a fresh install on my PC last night... I must say I'm loving 7. The taskbar took some getting used to but overall performance from boot up to normal operations certainly feels much faster and snappier. Not to mention the themes are gorgeous.

3. Hit F12 when the Dell logo pops up (this is actually pretty fast so I actually recommend you let you lappie boot up normally first, insert the disc, then restart and hit F12).
5. Let Windows 7 Load and it will eventually show a menu with 2 Options - Upgrade and Custom.
7. It will show all the drives you have including partitions, the C: OS drive should be selected but if not, select it.
8. Here is one important part, make sure you click the extra disk options button. This will unhide the Format option.
8. Format the C drive (Erases Everything!). If you miss this step, it will actually copy all your old Vista files into another folder then install on top and is not 100% clean.
9. After Format, proceed next menu and let Windows 7 run its installation. Took me only around 15-20 minutes to get the OS installed.
10. Once installed, you will get prompted for user name, password, network setup. Its pretty straightforward.
12. First step you should do now remove the Win7 upgrade disk and put in the Dell Win7 driver/software disk.
13. Go through and install all the drivers from the disk as needed. It pretty much covers the main drivers and programs (Quickset, Touchpad, IDT audio, HDMI audio, PowerDVD, FaceAccess). Some drivers not included are basic hardware drivers - graphics, card reader, etc but Windows 7 will actually update these automatically so you actually don't need them. They work right off the boot up :].
14. Oh yea... don't forget to update Windows 7. As mentioned, Win7 will also update some of the hardware drivers like graphics driver so you should review the updates and uncheck if you are using your own.

Potential Problems:
OS unable to boot. This has higher chance to occur with upgrade or not formatted install. Solution is simple, just follow exact same steps above again to format and reinstall OS.
woot.. thanks. you provide the step by step to fresh install window 7. i am so exciting to go back home to do my fresh install also le. the upgrade kid has reach my home but i am currently study outside so have to wait.. biggrin.gif
SUSadrian7386
post Nov 7 2009, 11:24 AM

628 posts

anyone have a screen shot for the new win 7 ?
Fantasia
post Nov 7 2009, 11:50 AM

5,483 posts

QUOTE(Charcoal @ Nov 7 2009, 02:51 AM)

Potential Problems:
can TS stick this in the 1st page?? this is very infomative
kheechun
post Nov 7 2009, 02:32 PM

Custom member title
544 posts

Just installed the win7 over RTM this morning. Didn't format my primary drive because I don't have disc space to backup my stuff, but other than the windows.old created, it's a clean install smile.gif Didn't notice any difference from the RTM.
weingseen
post Nov 7 2009, 03:55 PM

Wooot!
603 posts

Which means you can actually install Windows 7 without reformatting everything?
kheechun
post Nov 7 2009, 04:35 PM

Custom member title
544 posts

Yeah, the remnants of the previous windows will be stored in a folder, which will not affect the operation of the new installation.
Charcoal
post Nov 7 2009, 05:20 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(kheechun @ Nov 7 2009, 04:35 PM)
Yeah, the remnants of the previous windows will be stored in a folder, which will not affect the operation of the new installation.
If you have some other folders in your C drive, I believe it also remains there if you use custom option but skip the format. Could be useful if you don't have space else where to backup your files since it will copy the old Vista to another folder and keep other folders that existed in C before.

Personally I did encounter boot up problems with this method. I suspect the issue is caused by those other leftover folders having old drivers etc that may cause issues when you start reinstalling your drivers and software over. I would recommend creating new partitions (ex. partition F), then copy backup data to the new partition, then formating the old one when u install win7 for clean install.

Anyway, if you don't want to backup, don't want to partition and just want a new OS, try the method to do and install without format. If you get any issues, then just follow the same steps but format the second time.

This post has been edited by Charcoal: Nov 7 2009, 05:24 PM
kelvin_hata
post Nov 7 2009, 07:23 PM

V.S.O.P
2,696 posts

QUOTE(kheechun @ Nov 7 2009, 02:32 PM)
Just installed the win7 over RTM this morning. Didn't format my primary drive because I don't have disc space to backup my stuff, but other than the windows.old created, it's a clean install smile.gif Didn't notice any difference from the RTM.
If u not wish to keep the windows.old files, then jus run disk clean wizard. smile.gif

xaiemanx
post Nov 7 2009, 10:06 PM

Quadruple OS User
1,390 posts

from readin all of the posts,
now i dont dare 2 buy sxps 16...
TAKOT!!!! cry.gif

Added on November 7, 2009, 10:07 pmbtw, -kytz- i oni use dis AVATAR durin xm week oni...aftr fnsh xm i'll change..dun wori wink.gif

This post has been edited by xaiemanx: Nov 7 2009, 10:07 PM
SUSadrian7386
post Nov 7 2009, 10:16 PM

628 posts

any problem with it ??why takot...

anyway i just demand a full refund from dell oz....and change to alienware...lol
xaiemanx
post Nov 7 2009, 10:53 PM

Quadruple OS User
1,390 posts

i dn hv $$ 2 buy alienware gua... cry.gif
Charcoal
post Nov 7 2009, 11:24 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(xaiemanx @ Nov 7 2009, 10:06 PM)
from readin all of the posts,
now i dont dare 2 buy sxps 16...
TAKOT!!!! cry.gif

Added on November 7, 2009, 10:07 pmbtw, -kytz- i oni use dis AVATAR durin xm week oni...aftr fnsh xm i'll change..dun wori wink.gif
Why scared? i love my XPS! Its sleek, speedy, runs everything i can throw at it and has a beautiful screen tongue.gif. I've not had any issues so far! The current price 3999 base is the best for XPS16 so far with the new Gcard and processor.

This post has been edited by Charcoal: Nov 7 2009, 11:51 PM
Fantasia
post Nov 7 2009, 11:42 PM

5,483 posts

agree agree
Polaris
post Nov 8 2009, 12:13 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

About the Windows 7 Premium free upgrade eligibility, I bought this notebook about 2 months ago and registered for the upgrade, but till now... no news in my email..??

What is happening? Aaaaaargh...!!!
Fantasia
post Nov 8 2009, 12:17 AM

5,483 posts

did u order?
xaiemanx
post Nov 8 2009, 12:18 AM

Quadruple OS User
1,390 posts

honestly,
i really <3 dis sxps 16...