ASUS k40AB/k50AB v2, Good budget laptop w/HD4570

Krovaxq
post Nov 13 2009, 04:17 AM

Single Ghost
731 posts

Im sorry, I am stucked at this part.

3: Download the newest desktop drivers from www.ati.com (or get them from Driver Heaven Downloads). If you are using Windows XP make sure to download .net framework from Microsoft (this is built into Windows Vista so there is no need to install it).

The newest desktop driver (what does this mean?, which 1 shud i dl?)

so sorry for the trouble...n thanks in advance.
Krovaxq
post Nov 13 2009, 12:55 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

am so dead... i did the mobility modder.....followed every instructions as told

now my machine doesnt detect my 4570 yawn.gif

ati express no see , now im on 3200 ... i really regret doing this =\

Added on November 13, 2009, 12:56 pmso, shud i just uninstall catalyst n re-do the process?

n yeah, i downloaded the radeon 4550 driver

This post has been edited by Krovaxq: Nov 13 2009, 12:57 PM
Krovaxq
post Nov 13 2009, 01:08 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

do i have to uninstall my current CCC or anything or i can just overwrite it?

here's what i did.

1. Turned off UAC
2. Reboot
3. Downloaded Catalyst 9.9 (although,i checked ati there is 9.10..so which actually?)
4. Downloaded Latest Radeon 4550 from ATI
is this correct? ^
5. I ran the driver, extracted into (ATI/Support) and when it comes to the next part , i canceled it.
6. Ran the Mobility mod, Browsed through the C:/ATI/Support, and Modify.
7. Ran SETUP.exe and done.
8. Reboot, (UAC Still OFF btw) and ATIexpress no longer detect my 4570.

which part did i do wrong here?

cool.gif cool.gif cool.gif

Added on November 13, 2009, 1:09 pm
QUOTE(xKAIZERUx @ Nov 13 2009, 01:01 PM)
hm... what os do you use? if win7, go inside bios, just use dGPU mode.
Windows Vista Ultimate 32bit, sir.

This post has been edited by Krovaxq: Nov 13 2009, 01:10 PM
Krovaxq
post Nov 13 2009, 01:29 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

QUOTE(Krovaxq @ Nov 13 2009, 01:08 PM)
do i have to uninstall my current CCC or anything or i can just overwrite it?

here's what i did.

1. Turned off UAC
2. Reboot
3. Downloaded Catalyst 9.9 (although,i checked ati there is 9.10..so which actually?)
4. Downloaded Latest Radeon 4550 from ATI
is this correct? ^
5. I ran the driver, extracted into (ATI/Support) and when it comes to the next part , i canceled it.
6. Ran the Mobility mod, Browsed through the C:/ATI/Support, and Modify.
7. Ran SETUP.exe and done.

Report:-

8. Reboot, (UAC Still OFF btw) and ATIexpress no longer detect my 4570.

which part did i do wrong here?

cool.gif  cool.gif  cool.gif

Added on November 13, 2009, 1:09 pm

Windows Vista Ultimate 32bit, sir.
This post has been edited by Krovaxq: Nov 13 2009, 01:40 PM
Krovaxq
post Nov 13 2009, 02:08 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

Update:-

I still can't get my 4570 detected, so I jz go to BIOS(using 203, is upgrade recommended here?) and set display to dGPU...n rebooted, now ATIeXpress doesnt show anymore(I hate it anyway xD) and it is on 4570 now...

but 1 thing though...

although I have downloaded from webbie, even at ati modder site, it appears that my driver isnt updated as some1 here claimed they have above 8.6...8.7..

Here's mine:-

Im using Vista 32bit, probably this is the latest? i am yet to try out the newly installed driver, will try with Borderlands/F.E.A.R see if there is any significant improvement wink.gif

(currently sucking bad at Borderlands which I shouldnt, FPS drop even at 640x480, unbelieavable,hope my 1 night struggle worth it)
Krovaxq
post Nov 13 2009, 03:11 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

=x seems like so ma fan using w7...

jz now i flash to 213 (from 203) now windows sot sot adi haha...

graphic driver went missing la this la that la... now reinstalling CCC 9.10 n modder...hopefully after reboot everything will be fine =x
Krovaxq
post Nov 14 2009, 06:16 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

QUOTE(20v_ke35 @ Nov 14 2009, 03:32 PM)
Just become an owner of K40AB with QL65, 4G ram.

I want to ask, if any one know....

While I was playing Company Of Heroes: Tales of Valor in LAN mode, suddenly my laptop become laggy and sound become cracking. After that, there a warning said ".....audio and video setting are too high...". FYI, I play COH with my friend that also have the same K40AB spec, and game setting are also the same. This problem does not occur to my friend lappy.

Care to explain???
probably ure not using the latest ati driver?
Krovaxq
post Nov 14 2009, 08:08 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

Here's mine.

Apps running, MSN, UTorrent, Firefox.

No coolers, closed covers, with AC.

Krovaxq
post Nov 14 2009, 08:29 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

yah, that was default state only... will load up games that i have later ^^

Added on November 14, 2009, 8:44 pmwith Borderlands game on, it was 75C only oh -.-

Here's the result for Performance test 7.0

This post has been edited by Krovaxq: Nov 14 2009, 09:19 PM
Krovaxq
post Nov 14 2009, 09:23 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

so low @@....

najmods, may i know which version is the latest ATI driver for our laptop? after modder lor coz i believe urs modded punya..

This is after modding, but IDK if this is what I should have..

dled latest ATI, did the modder... with 213 bios
Krovaxq
post Nov 14 2009, 09:46 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

dang -.- why i am not getting 8.661 =.=! the past 2 days have been so shitty for me, i did this modding for dono how many times!

still getting 8.631.

im using 9.10 catalyst too, dled the package from ATI website. dled Radeon 4500 and modded. n updated bios to 213, and had problems with ATI till i had to turn off expressATI from bios, using the lone dGPU.

sir, please help me...

n btw, how significant is between this 8.631 and 8.661? this might be very technical, but lay-man way of speaking how does this improve overall?

Krovaxq
post Nov 14 2009, 09:59 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

ooo okay ^^

well, after tweaking Borderlands, I manage to get 25-30fps for the game... still satisfying.

thanks najmod ^^

p/s: i wonder, what najmod stands for, just some random name from ur head? or it represent something? lol sry kepoh >.<
Krovaxq
post Nov 14 2009, 10:05 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

define 'some' biggrin.gif

i wanted to mod stuffs, but im too scared coz im not very IT literate, can u recommend me any good sites where i can learn to cook...

or u can be my sifu xD
Krovaxq
post Nov 14 2009, 11:55 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

"It is highly recomended that you provide sufficient airflow when overclocking. And for best speed, even overclocking the memory is sufficient enough for quite a boost in performance as this is equipped with slower DDR2 memory."

@najmod, about providing sufficient airflow, can u explain which is just fine? will having a good laptop cooler, fan/aircond room enough? coz if sufficient means opening up the back cover, i will not consider doing.

thanks ^^

Krovaxq
post Nov 15 2009, 12:04 AM

Single Ghost
731 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Nov 15 2009, 12:03 AM)
it has already been discussed, laptop cooler doesnt bring any effects/little to the K series design. so it's practically useless
oh...okay, sorry. well, OCing is pretty much a dream for me then. thanks kucing
Krovaxq
post Nov 16 2009, 12:02 AM

Single Ghost
731 posts

QUOTE(20v_ke35 @ Nov 15 2009, 11:43 PM)
I installed the v9.9 which i got it for the ati website and then mod it. Or everyone here using another version? icon_question.gif
i used 9.10, n i still can mod
Krovaxq
post Nov 16 2009, 04:48 AM

Single Ghost
731 posts

anyone of u guys have tried NFS:Shift on this laptop?

i tried with full (1366res)max setting = less than 3 fps lol (totally unplayable)
(1280res)med setting = less than 10~11 fps (big ouch)
(1024res)low setting = not more than 15fps

800x600res (cheapest) = not more than 20fps...

so, this game is totally unplayable for my k40ab ^^; thank you
Krovaxq
post Nov 16 2009, 04:32 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

the vga driver from asus isnt up to date if im not mistaken.
Krovaxq
post Nov 16 2009, 04:37 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

This is the default engine/memory i checked through AMD GPU clock...

its soooo low right!!?

when i refer to page 1 najmod's config to put as 700/600..it says config failed. sad.gif

is this the reason why NFS Shift is totally unplayable for my k40?

This post has been edited by Krovaxq: Nov 16 2009, 04:39 PM
Krovaxq
post Nov 16 2009, 04:43 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

I did, and this comes out.

any ideas how this happened? and how do i rectify this issue ya?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0470sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:52 PM