ASUS k40AB/k50AB v2, Good budget laptop w/HD4570

Krovaxq
post Nov 3 2009, 02:28 AM

Single Ghost
731 posts

i came across this model

ACER Aspire 4736G-654G32

how does this model stands if compare with K40/50 series?

im expecting technical/experience opinions...not fanbois lol
Krovaxq
post Nov 3 2009, 02:50 AM

Single Ghost
731 posts

@craw thanks bro...well, i bet HD4570 > Nvidia g 105M biggrin.gif

from benchmark, i can see 4570 thumping over 105, but i see acer has VHP bundled haha...

but tbh, i never liked acer design =.=... u know i once called acer laptops as 'cash register' i mean, look at the color, the bulkiness haha >.<
Krovaxq
post Nov 3 2009, 10:27 AM

Single Ghost
731 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Nov 3 2009, 08:59 AM)
actual asus cover like carbon fiber.. racing racing..
haha... rclxms.gif
Krovaxq
post Nov 3 2009, 10:51 AM

Single Ghost
731 posts

cash registah!

oh well, when i get to work later, ill read V1 hheheheh

if i can find the new batch of k40ab this friday at lowyat plaza...then that's it!

coz i see ppl still sell ql64 250gb at rm2k also...how can =(
Krovaxq
post Nov 3 2009, 04:54 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

are u yet to own a k series smd88?

coz if u havent, join me XD!! im getting one this weekend haha!

cantttttttttttt waitttttttttttttttt!
Krovaxq
post Nov 6 2009, 01:38 AM

Single Ghost
731 posts

OT :

OEM OS means u can only install on ONE unit?(desktop/laptop)
coz i have a vista premium installed on previous laptop.so if i wanna use the same OS on my k40ab is that possible?

ontopic :

i am tempted with Windows 7, but im not sure if i even fully utilize Vista that i want to opt upgrading. jz that i see the price is quite affordable for the w7p...made me have 2nd thought. if my previous VHP OEM cant install on my new unit, i will either get an activeable-VHP, or just buy W7(fingers-crossed)
Krovaxq
post Nov 8 2009, 03:14 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

Mine's coming... real soon...

Krovaxq
post Nov 8 2009, 06:53 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

QUOTE(Riggo @ Nov 8 2009, 06:41 PM)
i heard that newer batch of this model is assembled with better revision of amd x2 which reduces heat and slightly faster... am i right?

im quite interested in getting this model for medium gaming purpose..but im afraid the heat generated..

Whats the idle and loaded temperature of this laptop with newer proc?
Can any owner or experienced sifu clear my doubt?
I will be getting mine later in the evening, will do a general review on my 40ab smile.gif
when i had a look at the laptop @ lowyat few days ago, I saw this sticker "25% cooler than body temperature"(or something like that)

Ive seen too many posts when they were enquiring about ASUS "Hows the heat?" i mean like..god... that problem was soooooo long ago, they think AMD wont do anything about it meh?

physical review from short glance..the built is solid, i really like the glossy finishing, HP-Pav-alike to me.. but they keypad materials look cheap, i havent really feel all the buttons yet, but they look cheap plastic.

LCD is awesome icon_rolleyes.gif

pls KL dont so jam tonite, haha~
Krovaxq
post Nov 9 2009, 02:54 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

okay fellas, I've got my K40AB smile.gif

I was about to choose in between K40AB or 50AB ..but i chose 40AB in the end (50 is ...idk, too heavy for me I think)

<<Take note that I don't tweak anything, everything is STOCK>>

So, hands on...
I got a standard package with Asus bag + Asus mouse(too tiny >.<) at a really good price, bought from LYPlaza @ john_jay

I am yet to have the budget to get a W7 or Vista Ultimate ..therefore I'm using a pirated Vista Ultimate (probably next month)

And so, this QL65 model comes with a 1-button-click driver utilities DVD..so convenient, all I gotta do is press [Install] (although some unnecessary apps are there too, but since it's my 1st time installation, I decided to just install all.

And NOW, the HEAT issue!
I bought myself a Notepal INFINITE notebook cooler for this k40ab (RM109)
As I'm not an advanced user who would be a 'weather man' to calculate the temperature, I went with my lay-man way of seeing things smile.gif

>> NO significant heats AT :-
- Touchpad area
- Left bottom area
- Right bottom area
- Keypad area

>> Significant heat generated AT :-
- Behind the LCD, there is an air vent, that's where most of the heat felt.
<My preferences for comparison about this in natural way is from my experience using HP Pavillion DV3000, and friend's Compaq CQ40, This Asus is far COOLER>

>> Noise
- Standard, even with my 18db Notepal Infinite, I don't feel bothered much with the sound (Heavy load on intense graphics eg; gaming)

- LOUD, when the Optical DVD drives reading discs.

>> Design
- Sleek, glossy finish, carbon-like.
- Keypad is lame, rough plastic
- Keypad feels, responsive enough, noisy when fast-typing, but the layout is great anyway.

>> Performance(Graphic)
- So far I've tried SUN Online/World of Warcraft/Prototype/Call of Duty 4
SUN Online at Full max setting > Smooth gameplay, amazingly.
World Of Warcraft > Smooth at High setting (without shadow as najmod recommended)
Prototype > High setting achievable, but for awesome gameplay Med-High is the best
Call Of Duty > Perfect, in Multiplayer I think Med-High is good enough

>> Performance(Speed)

With 2GB RAM, and QL65 2.1ghz, No OC of any sorts.
I have been using Intel all my life, and this being the 1st AMD.
I feel like the processing speed is slower than Intel (I know, no doubt about that)
Loading speed, is pretty slow to compare to my previous T5750/T6600..Probably u are right, this processor is about the same par with T4000series.
But as they say, AMD and Intel are good at certain things.
Q: Will 4GB of RAM significantly increase my startup/shutdown/processing?
I have use Windows Defender to manage startups, but still slow.

More of stuffs are yet to be discovered coz this is my 1st day ^^

P/S : So far I never encountered any BIOS weird2 thingy u guys been bashing about, ALL drivers were installed from the DVD they included inside, I didn't install via downloaded drivers from ASUS.com

FOR PEOPLE WHO LAZY TO READ:-

Pros:-
- Nice design.
- No heats issue.
- 4 USB ports onboard.
- Beautiful LCD.
- AWESOME graphic power (switchable 4570/3200).

Cons:-
- Cheap keypad feel.
- No bluetooth.
- Lack of multi-card-reader.
- Slower than C2D.

Note: Almost everything I said are not very technical, just a review from a normal notebook user wink.gif

Krovaxq
post Nov 9 2009, 03:41 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

@astria

thanks for the generous input smile.gif

currently im using

- CCleaner
- IObit Advanced system care
- Norton AV 2008 (comes with the asus dvd, free 90days, so gotta suck it up for now)
- Game booster

will diagnose with CPU-Z now , thx
Krovaxq
post Nov 9 2009, 04:44 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

any recommendations?
paid one, other than kaspersky please.
Krovaxq
post Nov 9 2009, 07:12 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

QUOTE(aiklone1314 @ Nov 9 2009, 05:39 PM)
Krovaxq, how much you buy? look like you buy at very low price?
and also,may i know your bios version?

Astria, i am buying a 2gb kingston ddr2 800mhz ram, can i run dual channel?
I got it at RM1930.

Im using BIOS 213

Added on November 9, 2009, 7:38 pmI have problem with RivaTuner...im using v2.24c ...n thats supposed to be the latest...when i launch the app, it says that the display driver im using now is not compatible/recognized? asked me to dl latest rivatuner, but im already using the latest...

help..

This post has been edited by Krovaxq: Nov 9 2009, 07:38 PM
Krovaxq
post Nov 9 2009, 08:24 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

ah okay >.<

dling that now, i didnt know rivatuner isnt compatible for ATI
Krovaxq
post Nov 10 2009, 10:02 AM

Single Ghost
731 posts

how to check bios version from windows guys?
Krovaxq
post Nov 10 2009, 12:37 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

QUOTE(kowei1989 @ Nov 10 2009, 12:06 PM)
hello i'm sorry to ask here but why is my k50ab doesn't detect hd4570 gc in this lappy? i've alr installed the graphic driver from ati site n its still not working..in fact i installed ati catalyst as well..
i believe some guys at previous posts encountered this issue as well, have u checked 1st post? najmod might have some solutions for it.
i myself a k40ab owner, so far i have no problems with ATI power express. but i disabled HD3200 coz im using AC all time, i dont need power saving that way.

Added on November 10, 2009, 12:38 pm
QUOTE(zax2_z @ Nov 10 2009, 11:06 AM)
darn i still can't connect with public wifi. home wifi is just fine. Is it just me?
my wifi is smooth and fast, detection is snappy as well.
have u tried downloading wifi drivers from asus site?

This post has been edited by Krovaxq: Nov 10 2009, 12:38 PM
Krovaxq
post Nov 12 2009, 09:51 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

Guys, is this the latest 4570 driver?

jz downloaded... i didnt noticed mine been using 8.593.1.0

Krovaxq
post Nov 12 2009, 11:00 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

dang, means mine is still outdated...

but how can, i JUSSSST downloaded the latest from asus.com global... about an hour ago =(
Krovaxq
post Nov 12 2009, 11:04 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

QUOTE(Krovaxq @ Nov 12 2009, 11:00 PM)
dang, means mine is still outdated...

but how can, i JUSSSST downloaded the latest from asus.com global... about an hour ago =(
i jz checked with ATI, i think im using the latest for Windows Vista 32bit...

can any1 confirm this?

Krovaxq
post Nov 13 2009, 12:09 AM

Single Ghost
731 posts

QUOTE(xKAIZERUx @ Nov 12 2009, 11:03 PM)
the asus one is not updated. try download the desktop 4000series driver, and use mobility modder. instruction in first page.

mine is 8.661.0.0
hi, which driver series shud i dl for our machine? (the desktop 1)

i already installed the mod tool.

Krovaxq
post Nov 13 2009, 01:21 AM

Single Ghost
731 posts

need help...

in order to mod the 4570, which chipset driver shud i install...

i dont really understand about mobility modder , except we use desktop and turn it into mobility, but which desktop driver shud i install?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0351sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:51 AM