ASUS k40AB/k50AB v2, Good budget laptop w/HD4570

8tvt
post Nov 4 2009, 07:12 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

that's why..
but i do some readings.. on k50ab.. the battery can be used around 1hour 30+ minutes regardless using dgpu or igp..
either got problem with driver.. or hardware related..

so if that's true maybe the best solution just use the dgpu
and asus purposely disabled it..

but the think is on k40ab work fine..
if using igp battery can extend to almost 1hour extra..
GothFebrio
post Nov 4 2009, 07:15 PM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Nov 4 2009, 07:12 PM)
that's why..
but i do some readings.. on k50ab.. the battery can be used around 1hour 30+ minutes regardless using dgpu or igp..
either got problem with driver.. or hardware related..

so if that's true maybe the best solution just use the dgpu
and asus purposely disabled it..

but the think is on k40ab work fine..
if using igp battery can extend to almost 1hour extra..
maybe thats why they remove the new bios from their download site.
8tvt
post Nov 4 2009, 07:19 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

mine came with 216.. so to make sure the bios is not the culprit..
i flashed with 213.. the result still the same..

if want the 216.. it's here..
ftp://ftp.asus.com.tw/pub/ASUS/nb/K50AB/
kuroda1226
post Nov 4 2009, 08:23 PM

203 posts

i using bios of 216 but i can choose between the dgpu and power express mode...there is a option for me.
i download when it release last tm..
NaGeNaZ
post Nov 4 2009, 10:24 PM

MS03-GNX001
783 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Nov 4 2009, 03:56 PM)
@NaGeNaZ: i see... i tried 1.05V... its always my default undervolt.. sometimes it runs fine.. games... etc.. sometimes it will just go BSOD... its weird.. it seems to me like hardware failure... bad set of k50 i got i guess..
Every sets of cpu is unique, some can go 1.025v but thats doesn't mean that yours is bad set. Maybe you can try 1.075v. Its better than the default 1.15v right.
sucka3
post Nov 5 2009, 01:58 AM

F e I c H a I 23
1,199 posts

QUOTE(kuroda1226 @ Nov 4 2009, 08:23 PM)
i using bios of 216 but i can choose between the dgpu and power express mode...there is a option for me.
i download when it release last tm..
mine bios same as his...can choose btween dgpu and igpu...how come dont hav in urs..8tvt sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sucka3: Nov 5 2009, 01:59 AM
8tvt
post Nov 5 2009, 09:10 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(sucka3 @ Nov 5 2009, 01:58 AM)
mine bios same as his...can choose btween dgpu and igpu...how come dont hav in urs..8tvt sweat.gif
haha i cannot find the answer..
as k50ab/k40ab have alot of combination different spec etc..
so a little bit hard to dig the info..

i guess this release just for testing market only sweat.gif
for the next model upgrade and usability according to customers feedback..
Bevan
post Nov 5 2009, 09:45 AM

49 posts

Hi, I just wanted to ask if the K40ab and K50ab prices are the same.
The price i got for K40ab i got is RM1940. Good price? How much is K50ab?
8tvt
post Nov 5 2009, 09:54 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

just same.. different maybe on the hdd size if the price higher..
Bevan
post Nov 5 2009, 10:04 AM

49 posts

Thanks 8tvt. I really wanna get this 15ab. But Dell Studio 1555 is very attractive too. All specs are almost same except Dell's Intel procesor and cost RM500 more. Asus has a nicer built design in my opinion. Any further motivation for me?
kucingfight
post Nov 5 2009, 10:05 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(Bevan @ Nov 5 2009, 10:04 AM)
Thanks 8tvt. I really wanna get this 15ab. But Dell Studio 1555 is very attractive too. All specs are almost same except Dell's Intel procesor and cost RM500 more. Asus has a nicer built design in my opinion. Any further motivation for me?
yeah it's rm700 more, lol..not rm500 laugh.gif
Bevan
post Nov 5 2009, 10:18 AM

49 posts

Kuchingfight: Haha depends on how u customize the dell lor =)
So you're using 40/50ab? Anything i should be aware of? I'm gonna buy it tomorrow.
8tvt
post Nov 5 2009, 11:10 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

the intel proc have better performance that's why pricey..

spec to compare

studio 15
- no num key
- 2 usb
- e-sata
- hdmi
- 2.0mp camera

asus k50ab
- have num key
- 4 usb
- vga
- 1.3mp camera
- have igp - in my case don't have -lol

dell can customize backlit keyboard for additional RM64 i guess..
came with win 7 home premium recently..
but the lack of usb not enough.. if use 1 for mouse then for external drive or others like fan etc?
Batusai
post Nov 5 2009, 11:15 AM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(NaGeNaZ @ Nov 4 2009, 10:24 PM)
Every sets of cpu is unique, some can go 1.025v but thats doesn't mean that yours is bad set. Maybe you can try 1.075v. Its better than the default 1.15v right.
yeah.. but the lower the better wouldnt it be? im on 1.0625 now... well.. sometimes i go to 1.05v... depends on what i am doing with the lappy..
hahaa.. wonder whats so good bout my lappy.. maybe the cooling? hahaa..

Added on November 5, 2009, 11:17 am
QUOTE(8tvt @ Nov 5 2009, 11:10 AM)
the intel proc have better performance that's why pricey..

spec to compare

studio 15
- no num key
- 2 usb
- e-sata
- hdmi
- 2.0mp camera

asus k50ab
- have num key
- 4 usb
- vga
- 1.3mp camera
- have igp - in my case don't have -lol

dell can customize backlit keyboard for additional RM64 i guess..
came with win 7 home premium recently..
but the lack of usb not enough.. if use 1 for mouse then for external drive or others like fan etc?
and to add on.. Dell supports 800Mhz of ram.. its 4570 has faster clock speed.
asus has 2 yrs warranty. lighter.. cheaper of cos..

This post has been edited by Batusai: Nov 5 2009, 11:17 AM
amad108
post Nov 5 2009, 12:55 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

but, dell design is not that attractive.. hehe carbon look a like really tempt me..
8tvt
post Nov 5 2009, 01:16 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Nov 5 2009, 11:15 AM)
yeah.. but the lower the better wouldnt it be? im on 1.0625 now... well.. sometimes i go to 1.05v... depends on what i am doing with the lappy..
hahaa.. wonder whats so good bout my lappy.. maybe the cooling? hahaa..

Added on November 5, 2009, 11:17 am

and to add on.. Dell supports 800Mhz of ram.. its 4570 has faster clock speed.
asus has 2 yrs warranty. lighter.. cheaper of cos..
yup² dell looks bulkier..
sucka3
post Nov 5 2009, 01:26 PM

F e I c H a I 23
1,199 posts

dell got the warranty package while asus 2 years international warranty and of cos the dell build its abit more solid i believe....the keypad in my k50ab is abit too plasticky...
kucingfight
post Nov 5 2009, 02:38 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(sucka3 @ Nov 5 2009, 01:26 PM)
dell got the warranty package while asus 2 years international warranty and of cos the dell build its abit more solid i believe....the keypad in my k50ab is abit too plasticky...
imo, i;ve tested the built of dell, n still the asus's slightly better built. Yup agree the keypad is not my thing, i prefer something like compaq's.
Batusai
post Nov 5 2009, 03:20 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

mac have the best keypad builds.. hahaa.. IMO
User_Xp
post Nov 5 2009, 03:29 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Nov 4 2009, 06:52 PM)
its not there.  shocking.gif
i oso use the 216 bios
but i got the dgpu,power xpress setting...

This post has been edited by User_Xp: Nov 5 2009, 03:29 PM

120 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0326sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:33 AM