QUOTE(astria @ Sep 4 2010, 01:16 PM)
as long as u launch a fullscreen 3D application, Windows Aero would switch to basic automatically...
No not really. Some games do, some don't.ASUS k40AB/k50AB v2, Good budget laptop w/HD4570
Sep 4 2010, 02:50 PM
5,211 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Konohana |
Oct 23 2010, 01:22 AM
I'm surprised there are still some posting in here. I have updated the Mobility driver to the latest 10.10 on first post. I'm downloading right now.
Nov 23 2010, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(ilovemaja @ Nov 22 2010, 09:47 PM) Hey guys. Im new on this forum, but i have this notebook for more than a year. Im mostly very happy with my choice, but i do have one problem. Link here. Hope that helps.Vmware workstation dont work on this notebook, you can install it, but when you start new vm you get bsod everytime. This is a known bug, even on vmware forum. The problem seems a bios version for what i understand from one russian forum, ONLY version 2,03 of bios work ok for vmware workstation(player), other bios versions till 220 dont work. IT would be great if someone can attach 203 bios, so i can try, or if someone know another fixed bios version based on 220. Thanks. Guys I have sold my k40AB. I had enough of this laptop. Battery life is woeful, so does its gaming performance so I looking for something smaller and longer battery life, and game on my desktop instead. Maybe Nile or Zacate when it out |
Nov 23 2010, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(ilovemaja @ Nov 23 2010, 09:22 PM) Thanks for your contribution in this thread in general. Im sorry to hear your changing notebook, but i understand it. Im very happy with performance and especially that is almost silent, contrary to many other notebooks i tried (my gf intel is like train). I will try the bios, hopefully it can fix the issue. The laptop is indeed quieter than most other laptop but also noticeably hotter as well, internally that is, the palm rest area and keyboard are quite cool to touch, only area around power socket are a bit hot under use (there is PWM circuitry and southbridge there, so beware)I still provide Q&A in this thread even after I bought new laptop so no worries |
Nov 24 2010, 01:36 PM
Sold it for RM1k to my friend. He playing DOTA most of the time so he pretty happy with it.
No I no longer thinking of buying 'gaming' laptop anymore, because its useless. I need long battery life and mobility, and all gaming laptop are heavy and short battery life. Like I said I put all gaming duty on my rig, which is sufficient for all current games that I playing. Also I have low budget (under RM2k) so small screen subnotebook like Dell m101z, ASUS 1015T or Fujitsu PH520 are my target, but no stupid Atom CPU since its too slow for anything, even web browsing. |
Dec 15 2010, 01:19 PM
I forgot where I download mine. Maybe you could try this
Dec 23 2010, 08:59 AM
Mobility 10.12 added to front page
Dec 27 2010, 02:00 AM
QUOTE(guilt @ Dec 24 2010, 09:28 PM) anyone know how to remove the hard drive? i already unscrewed all of the screw, but the lower right part was stuck, the metal house that stick out 1... Easy, slide the harddisk out of its SATA socket. Slide it to the right, gentle but firm. It should come out nicely |
Dec 28 2010, 01:04 AM
QUOTE(guilt @ Dec 28 2010, 12:01 AM) Thanks, Firstly, sleep don't work well with k40AB, it will never seems to be able to wake again. The brightness issue is because you using ancient BIOS. Download latest one and you should be good to gojust managed to remove the hard drive and installed a new one few hours ago, for anyone who are having the same problem as i had, after u slide the hard drive off, u would have a part of the hard drive stuck with the sata socket of the laptop, just move it up&down a little bit, then it would come off.. (i dont think i explained very clearly here, will upload photos when i got time) and when u buy hard disk, take notice of the plastic near the sata drive, i bought one that is closed, so i had to cut the "cage" off a little bit to make it fit.. (again, i dont think i explained clearly, will upload photos when i got time) btw, i just finished installing windows 7 64 bit, there is an unknown device on the device manager, what device is this? edit: forget the unknown the device, it is ACPI, btw, when i set the laptop to dGPU mode, i had some trouble with changing the LCD brightness in real time ( i need to restart for the changes to take effect), and when i put the computer to sleep, the LCD wont turn back on, anyone had the same trouble as me? |
Jan 3 2011, 11:42 AM
This isn't a recommendation thread, this is the thread to ask. I suggest you wait for Bobcat to arrive. Netbook is really slow for doing anything
Jan 16 2011, 07:15 PM
Have you checked first page before asking?
Feb 7 2011, 09:37 AM
Its normal and only for a while before Windows loads
May 16 2011, 06:49 PM
QUOTE(haydor @ May 16 2011, 05:38 PM) my laptop used 16 month also but now the heat rising to 110++C now... Same like my friend k40AB, but I guess there must be lots of dust inside. Only thing is he too busy gaming for me to clean it have anyone get the same like me??? |
Jun 7 2011, 01:52 AM
Nah I think it can handle more than that, Crysis 2 isn't that demanding. Download Crysis 2 advanced graphics config and disable some stuff like shadows and AA, that should improve framerate a bit
Jun 29 2011, 11:11 AM
QUOTE(opethbleed555 @ Jun 29 2011, 04:58 AM) hie, i just want to ask from sifus around here, my asus k40 could be turned on but lcd is blank and when i plugged in into a monitor via vga cable, theres nothing on the screen as well. thx for the help in advance Something like that have a lot of possibilities. Something prevents the laptop from booting. It could be improperly plugged or defective RAM, dead CPU, or worse dead GPU/chipset |
Jul 6 2011, 10:38 AM
Uninstall the driver and reinstall it should fix the problem.
Jul 20 2011, 01:19 AM
My pleasure, not much people do what I did because of the difficulty. I'm glad that my finding actually helps others
Aug 7 2011, 07:48 PM
It was pretty bad in my experience as well, it took me a couple of weeks to get the motherboard replaced (its not k40AB though but A42Je) and when I got it the GPU overheated (idle 75C and just after 5 minutes in CoD4 it reaches 100C when I alt-tab to Windws to check the temps), and I definitely don't want it to be another couple of weeks just because some idiot technician forgot to fasten the screw properly so I resorted to disassemble the laptop myself and properly repaste and retighten the heatsink to the GPU.
My friend also complaining on his K40IJ which overheated and having problems running games after it back from Service Center for no reason. Take it back to service center and it took another 3 weeks just to get it fixed. |
Aug 19 2011, 06:07 AM
QUOTE(NaGeNaZ @ Aug 18 2011, 03:28 AM) Guys is there any link that we can compile for the latest drivers for our laptop. For an example Atk & power4gear software. Well if you want ASUS stuff you can try looking at ASUS newer laptops, sometime its compatible. I doubt there will be any gain thoughAsus stop updating the k40/50 support page since early 2010. Typical Asus, wont care about past products. |
Aug 29 2011, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(tolong_saye @ Aug 29 2011, 11:35 PM) hello there, i want to ask, why my asus k40ab have very high temp at idle... Dust is the most probable cause, my friend k40AB idles around the same temp as well but he's too busy playing games to let me clean up the gunk around 90-100c please, i afraid it will fried my motherboard.. thank you |
| Change to: | 0.0542sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:45 PM |