ASUS k40AB/k50AB v2, Good budget laptop w/HD4570

TSNajmods
post Dec 6 2009, 01:11 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

QUOTE(BlueSpark @ Dec 6 2009, 12:56 PM)
question about k10 stat, on the second tab, (p-state) when i choose P0, the frequency is 2100, but when i choose P1, the frequency is 1050? is it normal. both voltage is 1.15
When asking question, put the question mark in right place. That is correct, for 2100 set to 1.05V and for 1050 set to 0.9V
NaGeNaZ
post Dec 6 2009, 02:44 PM

MS03-GNX001
783 posts

Lots of unwanted PC Fair stuff questions which is quite irritating.

Anyway there is a new ATI Graphics Driver Version 8.662 update 3/12/09 at Asus support site.
It solves the screen blank problem with Power Xpress mode. icon_rolleyes.gif
Muhammad Syukri
post Dec 6 2009, 03:06 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(destee88 @ Dec 6 2009, 10:40 AM)
anyone got expereince before open a drop list item will be very slow it execute display the result ... jux like very lag method when u c it... actually what is the problem ??? the GC or the RAM it show not smooths enough in display something ...  Besides in using windows xp SP3 rite now . dunno what happen like dat .. or is it not compatible with this OS ??
and where can i get latest graphic drivers for this the auss one since updated a few months ago ...
come one,go to 1st page & u get your answer for question number 2,the 1st 1 couldnt help since im not using xp OS.

QUOTE(NaGeNaZ @ Dec 6 2009, 02:44 PM)
Lots of unwanted PC Fair stuff questions which is quite irritating.

Anyway there is a new ATI Graphics Driver Version 8.662 update 3/12/09 at Asus support site.
It solves the screen blank problem with Power Xpress mode.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Did you try go to sleep mode??
NaGeNaZ
post Dec 6 2009, 03:51 PM

MS03-GNX001
783 posts

I tried and it works fine. But i don't think the fan bugs still works with the latest ATi driver.
TSNajmods
post Dec 6 2009, 04:12 PM

5,211 posts

In AMD GPU Clock Tool there is 1.2V option but I'm unable to select it, but I found a bug how to do it, find the limit of your GPU clock, run it a while until it hangs, if it manage to recover that hang without reboot it will run at 1.2V all the time after that!

I'm testing the GPU at 760MHz now, no kidding. I've tested 3DMark06, the scores dont increase much though, only breaking the 3500 barrier. Looks like its starving on memory bandwidth rather than fillrate
NaGeNaZ
post Dec 6 2009, 04:17 PM

MS03-GNX001
783 posts

The advantage of DDR3 over DDR2 comes to play now. The Core of HD4570 is merely crippled with the slower DDR2 in order to save the production cost.
TSNajmods
post Dec 6 2009, 04:27 PM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(NaGeNaZ @ Dec 6 2009, 04:17 PM)
The advantage of DDR3 over DDR2 comes to play now. The Core of HD4570 is merely crippled with the slower DDR2 in order to save the production cost.
Yes exactly. It would be good if I can change the memory voltage and timing though, maybe I can at least squeeze to 625MHz and got at least 10GB/s bandwidth
cmj1982
post Dec 6 2009, 05:47 PM

70 posts

What is the different between ATI Catalystâ„¢ Display Driver Ver.9.9 and Asus VGA ATI Graphics Driver V8.662? Which one best for install? or both?
astria
post Dec 6 2009, 05:55 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

both are the driver for the graphic... but for K40Ab/K50Ab, better that u stick to the one from Asus due to the use of hybrid graphic...
8tvt
post Dec 6 2009, 06:19 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

don't confuse on driver version and catalyst..

Catalyst v9.10 consist of v8.661 driver
so that v8.662 should came with catalyst v9.11
then it's newer..
tictac
post Dec 6 2009, 08:40 PM

2,520 posts

ati catalyst 9.11 came with 8.671 driver smile.gif
8tvt
post Dec 6 2009, 09:12 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

QUOTE(tictac @ Dec 6 2009, 08:40 PM)
ati catalyst 9.11 came with 8.671 driver smile.gif
my bad..
coz still using catalyst 9.10.. v8.661
so it's in the middle? haha tongue.gif
Batusai
post Dec 7 2009, 01:17 AM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

went to pc fair ystdy.. and well.. been eyeing on 3 lappies at the same price range with asus k40ab..

first is lenovo G450. tried it.. kinda sucky to me i'd say.. heat at the palm rest felt.. asus is way way way better at this.. and got a asus laptop booklet.. its asus insulator technology which made the palm rest cool. bravo!

acer aspire 4540.. HD4300.. 256mb.. sucky i guess.. score on WEI oni 3.4.. acer is out as soon as i saw that.. as for lenovo.. design.. quality wise.. i think asus stilll wins.. and considering gaming capability.. i believe asus wins alot.. G210M just doesnt seem convincing..

on overall.. thumbs up to asus k40ab.. i actually tot of changing to lenovo.. but the hot palm rest area.. change my mind. haha..

and btw.. theres a shop at hall 3 sellin 2.2Ghz turion model of k40ab.. its rm2099..

Added on December 7, 2009, 2:00 aminstalled the latest driver from asus website..

not working too well.. switching process having some bit problem still.. my comp hang when switching back to power gpu.. so.. reverted back to older one..

This post has been edited by Batusai: Dec 7 2009, 02:05 AM
NaGeNaZ
post Dec 7 2009, 02:15 AM

MS03-GNX001
783 posts

Oh my god. Did'nt saw the Turion models. Only manage to get the QL-65 model.

Try clean uninstall the driver. First I got some problems (artifacts, screen blank), after re installation its working properly for now.
Anyway i installed the new driver for a friend of mine who just got a K40AB, seems to working without problem.

This post has been edited by NaGeNaZ: Dec 7 2009, 02:20 AM
Muhammad Syukri
post Dec 7 2009, 06:39 AM

821 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Dec 7 2009, 01:17 AM)
went to pc fair ystdy.. and well.. been eyeing on 3 lappies at the same price range with asus k40ab..

first is lenovo G450. tried it.. kinda sucky to me i'd say.. heat at the palm rest felt.. asus is way way way better at this.. and got a asus laptop booklet.. its asus insulator technology which made the palm rest cool. bravo!

acer aspire 4540.. HD4300.. 256mb.. sucky i guess.. score on WEI oni 3.4.. acer is out as soon as i saw that.. as for lenovo.. design.. quality wise.. i think asus stilll wins.. and considering gaming capability.. i believe asus wins alot.. G210M just doesnt seem convincing..

on overall.. thumbs up to asus k40ab.. i actually tot of changing to lenovo.. but the hot palm rest area.. change my mind. haha..

and btw.. theres a shop at hall 3 sellin 2.2Ghz turion model of k40ab.. its rm2099..

Added on December 7, 2009, 2:00 aminstalled the latest driver from asus website..

not working too well.. switching process having some bit problem still.. my comp hang when switching back to power gpu.. so.. reverted back to older one..
Yay welcome to the club!Opposed by G450 owner club here said ASUS k40ab palm area more hotter.(i loled).Btw i think previous version of K series like mine without the IceCool Design sticker also have cool palm area just without those fancy sticker...lulz.
kucingfight
post Dec 7 2009, 08:40 AM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(NaGeNaZ @ Dec 7 2009, 02:15 AM)
Try clean uninstall the driver. First I got some problems (artifacts, screen blank), after re installation its working properly for now.
Anyway i installed the new driver for a friend of mine who just got a K40AB, seems to working without problem.
yeap, i'm using the latest driver from Asus's Site. no problems as of now..switching works well. Bios 218.

NaGeNaZ
post Dec 7 2009, 12:59 PM

MS03-GNX001
783 posts

QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ Dec 7 2009, 06:39 AM)
Yay welcome to the club!Opposed by G450 owner club here said ASUS k40ab palm area more hotter.(i loled).Btw i think previous version of K series like mine without the IceCool Design sticker also have cool palm area just without those fancy sticker...lulz.
The palm area of the K series will get hot only when the battery is charging. Guess he test it at that time. Although the G450 have respectable specification, design wise it so child like (keyboard letters are quite huge) and looks cheap.
BlueSpark
post Dec 7 2009, 01:29 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Dec 7 2009, 01:17 AM)

does the turion model comes with windows 7 home premium?
kucingfight
post Dec 7 2009, 01:33 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(BlueSpark @ Dec 7 2009, 01:29 PM)
does the turion model comes with windows 7 home premium?
nope, it's FREEDOS. u won't get any Win 7 for this kind of price
NaGeNaZ
post Dec 7 2009, 02:30 PM

MS03-GNX001
783 posts

For those who thinks that the competing T6600 Core 2 Duo are superior in all ways compared to our QL-64,QL-65 & Turions... Here is a point to consider...

The competing T6600 doesn't comes with Hardware Virtualization whereas ours does.

What function it does ? Windows XP mode for Windows 7 Pro & Ultimate.

This post has been edited by NaGeNaZ: Dec 7 2009, 02:42 PM

120 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:59 AM