ASUS k40AB/k50AB v2, Good budget laptop w/HD4570

saw2001
post Nov 29 2009, 08:54 PM

Chelsea Chelsea
1,192 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Nov 29 2009, 08:28 PM)
nope. when fully charged. power will be directly thru ac input only. heat wont go down at all cos ur not using the battery.
means even i dont plug out my battery also no harm? like the life of the battery will be the same???
kuroda1226
post Nov 29 2009, 08:57 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(saw2001 @ Nov 29 2009, 08:54 PM)
means even i dont plug out my battery also no harm? like the life of the battery will be the same???
wow...really??
TSNajmods
post Nov 29 2009, 09:17 PM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

I rather have the battery to be unplugged when fully charged, because I notice if I kept the battery in and playing games it got slightly hotter than without. Yes it didnt charge the battery but the circuit is still on and it will monitor the battery status ready for charging
Batusai
post Nov 29 2009, 11:41 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

i dont feel any heat on the battery part.. i guess mine wasnt charging.. and from everest.. it doesnt say its charging at all..

well.. just recaliberate battery if got problem.. theres an option on the bios
junkieG
post Nov 30 2009, 03:04 AM

DIGITAL ERA
2,687 posts

so it is ok to have the battery connected while charging?

wont reduce the lifespan of the battery? unsure.gif
TSNajmods
post Nov 30 2009, 03:08 AM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(junkieG @ Nov 30 2009, 03:04 AM)
so it is ok to have the battery connected while charging?

wont reduce the lifespan of the battery? unsure.gif
You should rephrase that question, how can you charge if its not connected? biggrin.gif
NaGeNaZ
post Nov 30 2009, 03:13 AM

MS03-GNX001
783 posts

OK... I just played COD4, forced run it at 0.9v / 1050mhz and get no performance (FPS) difference whatsover compared to 1.05v / 2100mhz with a full load temperature of 68C.

Looks like its possible to run COD4 at half cpu speed (1050mhz, 0.9v ) and still get the same frame rates but enjoy cooler cpu temperature as the game use more gpu processing. (cpu 68c, gpu 93c)

This post has been edited by NaGeNaZ: Nov 30 2009, 03:43 AM
GothFebrio
post Nov 30 2009, 01:59 PM

too long...did not read
1,304 posts

just leave the battery inside. the notebook wont charge the battery when its full. and also. if u didnt use the battery for quite a long time, months maybe. it will damage the battery. so u either use the battery over and over again or u dont use it the battery will goes off. means if u want longer battery life do not use ac all the time, use the battery too.

This post has been edited by GothFebrio: Nov 30 2009, 02:00 PM
TSNajmods
post Nov 30 2009, 02:22 PM

5,211 posts

This is my own way to maintain and use battery:

1) If you use it at home and not move regularly, remove the battery after full charging even though its not charging, the battery DO get hot even if its not charging (this is from my own test)
2) If you want your battery to have a longer lifespan, use it at least half its capacity at least one a months. Lithium ion battery dont need full drain
3) If you plan to not use the battery at all (for some unknown reason, maybe a backup battery) charge the battery till around 40-50%, remove it and keep it at the cool place

Some link to read, here and here
NaGeNaZ
post Nov 30 2009, 02:25 PM

MS03-GNX001
783 posts

I just discharge the battery till 40% percent before storing them if didn't use them more than few days or so.

1) If you use it at home and not move regularly, remove the battery after full charging even though its not charging, the battery DO get hot even if its not charging (this is from my own test)
2) If you want your battery to have a longer lifespan, use it at least half its capacity at least one a months. Lithium ion battery dont need full drain
3) If you plan to not use the battery at all (for some unknown reason, maybe a backup battery) charge the battery till around 40-50%, remove it and keep it at the cool place

Good suggestions. Thanks najmods.

NEW ATI GRAPHICS V8.662 for K50AB @ Asus support site.

This post has been edited by NaGeNaZ: Nov 30 2009, 02:44 PM
TSNajmods
post Nov 30 2009, 03:46 PM

5,211 posts

No problem smile.gif And thanks for telling the update of the new driver on ASUS site.

For anyone who want a louder onboard speaker, you dont need to use SRS anymore. I just use VIA HD Audio Deck equalizer to make it louder, lower the 60Hz and 170Hz a few notches around 10-15 and other frequencies higher to about 23-25, it will make it louder without clipping (dont enable Loudness Equalization)
BlueSpark
post Nov 30 2009, 04:32 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(NaGeNaZ @ Nov 30 2009, 02:25 PM)
I just discharge the battery till 40% percent before storing them if didn't use them more than few days or so.
Good suggestions. Thanks najmods.

NEW ATI GRAPHICS  V8.662  for K50AB @ Asus support site.
whats the use of new drivers? the hardware doesn't change right?
TSNajmods
post Nov 30 2009, 05:06 PM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(BlueSpark @ Nov 30 2009, 04:32 PM)
whats the use of new drivers? the hardware doesn't change right?
The driver is just that, a driver to drive hardware. What's the use of new driver? Adding optimisation for new games, to increase perfromance, bugfixes etc

Please dont ask this kind of question again
Batusai
post Nov 30 2009, 06:42 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

tried dragon age here..

runs smoothly at 15-20 fps.. even at 7fps.. the game is still playable.. not noticeabe lag at all..

settings at all low except texture medium with max screen resolution.

guess our cpu can still support
saw2001
post Nov 30 2009, 07:00 PM

Chelsea Chelsea
1,192 posts

any idea why i cannot launch the game? on my other computer can. cod 6. i cannot even load the game. izzit my drivers?
Batusai
post Nov 30 2009, 07:04 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

launch what game??

any errors or messages? tried reinstalling the game itself?

what os u using?
saw2001
post Nov 30 2009, 07:05 PM

Chelsea Chelsea
1,192 posts

i am using vista.

most of my game on this laptop sure like this problem. maybe its os problem? 1st is the shift. now this. wasted my money leh.

no error message. just keep load and then stop loading. then nothing turn out. so sad.
Batusai
post Nov 30 2009, 07:09 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

hmm.. thats very weird..

tried to format computer and install edi?

my comp previously wont run some games too.. mostly due to phyx problem.. and formatted it.. olaa..

hmm. try reinstalling driver then
TSNajmods
post Nov 30 2009, 07:10 PM

5,211 posts

I have that kind of weird problem too, but what I did is open up task manager, end the program processes and then run it again, and it works. No idea why, but I'll need to change to 7 x64 when I got another 1GB RAM
saw2001
post Nov 30 2009, 07:17 PM

Chelsea Chelsea
1,192 posts

Even if i end also the same. want to ask. is there any driver from asus site for the graphic driver for win 7?? and the new ati where to dl? want to switch to win 7.

120 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0192sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:56 AM