BlackBerry Bold 2 ONYX 9700, THE NEW BOLD 2 ! =)

TSsira5999
post Oct 13 2009, 07:01 PM, updated 15y ago

492 posts

^^^^^^^^ Brand New latest BLACKBERY BOLD 2 ONYX 9700 ^^^^^^

This is the Latest Blackberry beats out Curve/Bold(1) in every aspect.

SUPER FAST CPU,OPTICAL TRACK PAD,LATEST BB OS 5.0.0.300

The New Improved keyboard is the best keyboard and trackpad i ever used on blackberry device.

very2 angry with blackberry ! =))

Keyboard – The top three rows of the Onyx’s keyboard appear to be identical to the that of the BlackBerry 9630’s, but the bottom row differs in that the keys are a millimeter or two shorter. I don’t think the downsize hurts there use – overall this is a very nice keyboard that should be comfy for everyone. Small hands, big hands or somewhere in the middle, both this keyboard and the 9630’s keyboard are just awesome.

Trackball – The Onyx reviewed has a trackball, but it is possible that by the time it goes into production that it may feature the optical trackpad found on the Curve 8520. I’m realllly in love with the trackpad, so hope it does. But even with the trackball, the navigation is all good.

Battery Cover – Another BlackBerry smartphone, another battery cover design. Seriously, it’s almost shocking how much the battery doors change from model to model. I don’t know if this means they just haven’t got it quite right yet, or if it means they design it last (once they pack all the guts under the hood) and figure out how to make it work. The Onyx features a latch-less design (no buttons to depress). There’s little hooks on the inside of the door at the top that slide into grooves on the phone. You simply apply a little pressure on the battery cover at the top (just under the camera) and slide down and the door comes off easily. It seems to work pretty well.

Battery - The Onyx uses the same battery as the BlackBerry Bold, which it needs to power the processor and radios and provide enough juice to power the unit through the day. On this early OS software the battery is getting drained pretty quick, but am sure by the time the Onyx hits the market battery life will be on par with other models. Under the battery there is room for a SIM card and that's it. It's a very clean design under the battery door.

Camera - You can expect the same quality of photos out of the Onyx as the Curve 8900 (which takes some great snapshots) thanks to its 3.2 megapixel camera with flash and autofocus.

Other Stuff - With the device software being so early stage, it's too soon to start looking at performance type stuff (3G/WiFi speeds) or OS stuff (web browser), but at the end of the day it's clear from the specs and hardware that for those who don't want a touchscreen the Onyx will be the next must-have BlackBerry.

Be sure to click all the images above to zoom in for larger photos. I've let some captions with details as applicable.

So there you have it, a first hands-on review/look at the BlackBerry Onyx, aka the BlackBerry Bold 9700. It's been whispered about for a while now as being a sweet device, and sweet it is. It's definitely the pinnacle of the traditional BlackBerry. But what's really interesting is that this isn't it for RIM... codenames like Magnum have also been floating around for a long-time now which are rumored to be mixing things up and combining a physical keyboard with a touchscreen. It'll be exciting to see how the BlackBerry experience on a device like that will match up with a device like the Onyx. RIM should really just start a BlackBerry credit card already. It would make it easier for all us Crackies to get our hands on the plethora of devices coming out of Waterloo!

I'll be sure to follow up with some more thoughts on the BlackBerry Bold 9700 in the weeks ahead. Until then, be sure to drop your comments, questions and thoughts below or in our new BlackBerry Bold 9700 forum.

This post has been edited by sira5999: Oct 13 2009, 07:04 PM
jamezco
post Oct 13 2009, 07:42 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

Actually I dont see a point why RIM bother releasing this type of phones ...

They are really spamming the market with their product ... like seriously flooding...

First when the Bold came out it was like WOW !!!

Then came the Curve 8900 Was Like WOOOOOT !!!

Then now 8520 is like ah huh ....

Then came Tour which is so obvious is a hybrid of Bold and Curve 8900 ... then now they are introducing the Bold 9700 ?

the only diff is a slight improvement in processor speed and the camera?

This 9700 code name Onyx looks like a hybrid of Bold + Curve 8900 + 8520 ?

Bold keypad + Curve camera wit auto focus wit flash + 8520's trackpad?

Buck up Research In Motion before I decide to go Android...

Release better feature phones rather than to mix and match ...
TSsira5999
post Oct 13 2009, 08:54 PM

492 posts

ya . but onyx does not use trackball .=) .
it use trakpad . i already view the review at youtube =) .
haha ! so owesome la ! very nice phone .
but not worth to buy Rm3999 . haha ! =) .

i very angry the RIM release this 9700 . =(( .
android ? G1 or G2 ?

google very fast to serve internet . =) .
raymondha
post Oct 13 2009, 09:57 PM

2,796 posts

i play teh actual unit last night ... not bad, but damn exp, not worth.. i still stick to my bold better
jamezco
post Oct 13 2009, 10:52 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

yeah ... thats why i said ... it uses 8520's trackpad with bold keypad wit curve's camera then come out 9700 bold...

why angry at RIM releasing this 9700 leh??? coz you just bought your bold?

Bold was released in Msia about Nov last year ma ... so about 1 year d so they upgrade the model..

what you should be angry is that, why do they bother releasing something which is so similar to their previous models ...

thats what u should be angry with ... hehe smile.gif

Android G1 looks kinda ugly le ... is HTC Hero out yet? Looks quite nice ...
Maybe I will try out Android phones after my BB Bold dies ... smile.gif
TSsira5999
post Oct 14 2009, 01:12 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(raymondha @ Oct 13 2009, 09:57 PM)
i play teh actual unit last night ... not bad, but damn exp, not worth.. i still stick to my bold better
Ya. Very expensive lahh. Not worth

Added on October 14, 2009, 1:26 am
QUOTE(jamezco @ Oct 13 2009, 10:52 PM)
yeah ... thats why i said ... it uses 8520's trackpad with bold keypad wit curve's camera then come out 9700 bold...

why angry at RIM releasing this 9700 leh??? coz you just bought your bold?

Bold was released in Msia about Nov last year ma ... so about 1 year d so they upgrade the model..

what you should be angry is that, why do they bother releasing something which is so similar to their previous models ...

thats what u should be angry with ... hehe smile.gif

Android G1 looks kinda ugly le ... is HTC Hero out yet? Looks quite nice ...
Maybe I will try out Android phones after my BB Bold dies ... smile.gif

Ya lor. I know already 1 years but ayoo. Dun know how to xplain. Haha. Lorr. Htc hero good la. But use windows mobile. Not good lah. I dun like htc. N hp use windows mobile. Htc hero very expensive. Hehe

This post has been edited by sira5999: Oct 14 2009, 01:26 AM
zoslan
post Oct 14 2009, 08:30 AM

246 posts

still go for bold smile.gif emmmpphh!!!
CapKapak
post Oct 14 2009, 08:31 AM

240 posts

Hi peeps. At least this model has 3MP cam that the 8900 has. I think this model is what the Bold should have been. Can't wait actually for it to officially come out in Malaysia.

I should not think that the price will be RM3,999 but closer to around the RM2,500 to RM3,000 mark thereabouts. Then again anything is possible.

This post has been edited by CapKapak: Oct 14 2009, 08:33 AM
mybiebie
post Oct 14 2009, 10:12 AM

1,419 posts

i think the price will go down fast....if u want to be the early bird to get this phone...definately must pay for high price.
zoslan
post Oct 14 2009, 10:34 AM

246 posts

wow..the price. shocking.gif
ill wait til it drop like bold price today... heheheh
Brianette
post Oct 14 2009, 02:09 PM

174 posts

where u get to try out the actual unit?
sleepwalker
post Oct 14 2009, 02:33 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Oct 13 2009, 07:42 PM)
Actually I dont see a point why RIM bother releasing this type of phones ...

They are really spamming the market with their product ... like seriously flooding...

First when the Bold came out it was like WOW !!!

Then came the Curve 8900 Was Like WOOOOOT !!!

Then now 8520 is like ah huh ....

Then came Tour which is so obvious is a hybrid of Bold and Curve 8900 ... then now they are introducing the Bold 9700 ?

the only diff is a slight improvement in processor speed and the camera?

This 9700 code name Onyx looks like a hybrid of Bold + Curve 8900 + 8520 ?

Bold keypad + Curve camera wit auto focus wit flash + 8520's trackpad?

Buck up Research In Motion before I decide to go Android...

Release better feature phones rather than to mix and match ...
The reason for all their releases is for them to cover the GSM and non-GSM markets. Verizon subscribers have the Tour but not the 8900. They didn't want to get stuck like iPhone, which is only attached to one phone company. iPhone would have been so much bigger if they can sell iPhone in every mobile phone company.

At the same time they can have a bit of diversity instead of having models like the Storm 9500 and 9530, which is practically the same except for the radio and of course, the mobile companies that sells them.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Oct 14 2009, 02:34 PM
jamezco
post Oct 14 2009, 03:29 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Oct 14 2009, 02:33 PM)
The reason for all their releases is for them to cover the GSM and non-GSM markets. Verizon subscribers have the Tour but not the 8900. They didn't want to get stuck like iPhone, which is only attached to one phone company. iPhone would have been so much bigger if they can sell iPhone in every mobile phone company.

At the same time they can have a bit of diversity instead of having models like the Storm 9500 and 9530, which is practically the same except for the radio and of course, the mobile companies that sells them.
but their improvement from 9000 to 9700 is so little ... Maybe a BB will always "look" and "feel" like a bb ... so i guess no need to upgrade d ... lol =)

If HTC Hero got Android then nice lo ... xD
sleepwalker
post Oct 14 2009, 03:33 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Oct 14 2009, 03:29 PM)
but their improvement from 9000 to 9700 is so little ... Maybe a BB will always "look" and "feel" like a bb ... so i guess no need to upgrade d ... lol =)

It's only been less than 2 years since the Bold 9000 was released. What other features you want? Just like iPhone, there is not much diff between 1st Gen and 3G.. not ground breaking differences anyway.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Oct 14 2009, 03:37 PM
TSsira5999
post Oct 14 2009, 05:20 PM

492 posts

[quote=zoslan,Oct 14 2009, 08:30 AM]still go for bold smile.gif emmmpphh!!!

[/quote]

I like this phone coz the phne use trackpad. Not trackball. Hehe.

Added on October 14, 2009, 5:25 pm[quote=CapKapak,Oct 14 2009, 08:31 AM]
Hi peeps. At least this model has 3MP cam that the 8900 has. I think this model is what the Bold should have been. Can't wait actually for it to officially come out in Malaysia.

I should not think that the price will be RM3,999 but closer to around the RM2,500 to RM3,000 mark thereabouts. Then again anything is possible.

[/quot

u can see the price at lelong.com.my. Someone sell rm3999. Hehe

Added on October 14, 2009, 5:27 pm[quote=mybiebie,Oct 14 2009, 10:12 AM]
i think the price will go down fast....if u want to be the early bird to get this phone...definately must pay for high price.

[/quote]

ya. I think so like bb storm. Haha. Now rm1k only can get. Haha !

Added on October 14, 2009, 5:28 pm[quote=zoslan,Oct 14 2009, 10:34 AM]
wow..the price. shocking.gif
ill wait til it drop like bold price today... heheheh

[/quote]

Yah lor. Just wait the price drop like rain. Haha !

Added on October 14, 2009, 5:33 pm[quote=jamezco,Oct 14 2009, 03:29 PM]

[/quote]

Haha. No lah. Many differences between the bold n onyx. U can see the spec at internet. Hehe.
Ayoo. U like android ha? Haha! Better dun buy la. If the phome break down. Haha ! U must repair the motherboard. Haha! The cost u can buy 1 more phome. Haha!

Added on October 14, 2009, 5:36 pm[quote=sleepwalker,Oct 14 2009, 03:33 PM]
It's only been less than 2 years since the Bold 9000 was released. What other features you want? Just like iPhone, there is not much diff between 1st Gen and 3G.. not ground breaking differences anyway.

[/quote]

Iphone brialliant. Haha! He just upgrade a few spec for the new iphone. Like 3g n 3gs. Wat diff? Only can video call. N the body thin than the 3g. Haha ! Not worth to biy iphone 3gs. Better take iphone 3g 8 gb or 16gb.

This post has been edited by sira5999: Oct 14 2009, 05:36 PM
jamezco
post Oct 14 2009, 08:05 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

QUOTE(sleepwalker @ Oct 14 2009, 03:33 PM)
iPhone / iPhone 3G / iPhone 3GS ... over-hyped till Apple take take chance to chop "Apple Fanboys"... iPhone came out Fuuuuuu Wahhhhhh ..... iPhone 3G .... OMG GOT 3G deii !!! ..... iPhone 3Gs ... errr push mail and faster processor but with the same OS???? xD

Within 2 years the RnD can do a lot of things d ma ... rather than to take 9000 cut paste cut paste wit other models of BB and ..... TAHHHH DAHHHHHH ........9700 ........

Maybe something like Storm 2 but with slide keyboard hidden behind like how G1 did it ... that would be nice ... full touchscreen with physical keyboard ... but the phone have to be slim la ... xD

Added on October 15, 2009, 5:16 ambtw sira5999 ... HTC Hero is Android le ... its not running WM

This post has been edited by jamezco: Oct 15 2009, 05:16 AM
CapKapak
post Oct 15 2009, 10:18 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(sira5999 @ Oct 14 2009, 05:20 PM)
u can see the price at lelong.com.my. Someone sell rm3999. Hehe
I saw it on lelong.com.my and was not speaking of prices that early adopters pay to be first on the block to own a new device. Some of these prices are ridiculous but I guess there's a demand hence the market for it.

I was referring to true prices when the product has been officially launched in Malaysia and rest of the world for that matter.
TSsira5999
post Oct 15 2009, 01:23 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Oct 14 2009, 08:05 PM)
iPhone / iPhone 3G / iPhone 3GS ... over-hyped till Apple take take chance to chop "Apple Fanboys"... iPhone came out Fuuuuuu Wahhhhhh ..... iPhone 3G .... OMG GOT 3G deii !!! ..... iPhone 3Gs ... errr push mail and faster processor but with the same OS???? xD

Within 2 years the RnD can do a lot of things d ma ... rather than to take 9000 cut paste cut paste wit other models of BB and ..... TAHHHH DAHHHHHH ........9700 ........

Maybe something like Storm 2 but with slide keyboard hidden behind like how G1 did it ... that would be nice ... full touchscreen with physical keyboard ... but the phone have to be slim la ... xD

Added on October 15, 2009, 5:16 ambtw sira5999 ... HTC Hero is Android le ... its not running WM
ya ya . =) . wrong . hehe

Added on October 15, 2009, 1:25 pm
QUOTE(CapKapak @ Oct 15 2009, 10:18 AM)
I saw it on lelong.com.my and was not speaking of prices that early adopters pay to be first on the block to own a new device. Some of these prices are ridiculous but I guess there's a demand hence the market for it.

I was referring to true prices when the product has been officially launched in Malaysia and rest of the world for that matter.
ya lah . i think so =) .hahaa !

This post has been edited by sira5999: Oct 15 2009, 01:25 PM
MattJ
post Oct 15 2009, 05:14 PM

769 posts

Guys,

Am also anxiously waiting for Onyx. WIll upgrade no doubt due to better camera and smaller chassis. However heart is torn between this and Storm 2, wonder how Storm 2 touch screen perform, if still like Storm, the whole screen get depressed, then a big No.
CapKapak
post Oct 15 2009, 05:46 PM

240 posts

Just checked in lelong.com.my and the price of that RM3999 Onyx dropped to RM3099 overnight!!
TSsira5999
post Oct 15 2009, 07:13 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(MattJ @ Oct 15 2009, 05:14 PM)
Guys,

Am also anxiously waiting for Onyx. WIll upgrade no doubt due to better camera and smaller chassis. However heart is torn between this and Storm 2, wonder how Storm 2 touch screen perform, if still like Storm, the whole screen get depressed, then a big No.
hahah ! i think storm 2 like storm 1 =)) . hahaha !

Added on October 15, 2009, 7:15 pm
QUOTE(MattJ @ Oct 15 2009, 05:14 PM)
Guys,

haha ! RM3999 right ? hehe =) .
1 week onyx become Rm2500 . haha !

Added on October 19, 2009, 3:45 amI WANT TO USE BB ONYX !! HAHAH ! BUT CANNOT AFFORD ?

This post has been edited by sira5999: Oct 19 2009, 03:45 AM
afag
post Nov 18 2009, 05:08 PM

211 posts

wow..very expensive..better go for Nokia E72..same qwerty keypad and trackpad..price only below rm1.7k..haha
TSsira5999
post Nov 20 2009, 05:42 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(afag @ Nov 18 2009, 05:08 PM)
wow..very expensive..better go for Nokia E72..same qwerty keypad and trackpad..price only below rm1.7k..haha
haha ! bro . buy E72 below 1.7k ? u buy bold also below 1.7k =)) . no need use nokia lah =)) hahah !
little_pixie
post Nov 20 2009, 06:18 PM

487 posts

guys, i ask low yat retailer yesterday about onyx. he quote me rm2500+ for onyx...
seriousam
post Nov 20 2009, 09:54 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(little_pixie @ Nov 20 2009, 06:18 PM)
guys, i ask low yat retailer yesterday about onyx. he quote me rm2500+ for onyx...
bro .. mind to share some info .. which shop and which level .

wanna go shopping this weekend .. hehe

little_pixie
post Nov 20 2009, 09:57 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(seriousam @ Nov 20 2009, 09:54 PM)
bro .. mind to share some info .. which shop and which level .

wanna go shopping this weekend .. hehe
i can't remember which one, but at the handphone level, 2 chinese guy, near the escalator going up.
bearbrick
post Nov 20 2009, 10:47 PM

363 posts

That's cheap but make sure the PIN is free to register smile.gif
mattchin
post Nov 22 2009, 01:17 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

bro, this guys is selling 9700 for RM1900

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1225063&hl=

trustable?

Added on November 22, 2009, 1:20 pmooh yar, the PIN u guys talking about...

it's given by TELCO? or BB itself?

thanks thanks notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by mattchin: Nov 22 2009, 01:20 PM
chialatz
post Nov 22 2009, 02:46 PM

198 posts

every BB has a PIN, just like the IMEI number

wow...9700 for RM1900...too good to be true...hmmm
mikelanding
post Nov 22 2009, 02:48 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Nov 22 2009, 01:17 PM)

trustable?

thanks thanks  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
PIN is device specific. Meaning each BB had it own individual PIN.
PIN also treat as ID for BB Messenger.
mattchin
post Nov 22 2009, 07:27 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

then bb messenger needs to run wif BIS or juz normal WAP will do?

anyway, I haf contacted the seller. his stocks will arrive next week. stay tuned n wait for the results. ha ha......
zDarkForceSz
post Nov 22 2009, 08:02 PM

1,938 posts

trustable?

1.9k omg it is so cheap.
yeah wondering is it safe trader.
mikelanding
post Nov 22 2009, 08:04 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Nov 22 2009, 07:27 PM)

anyway, I haf contacted the seller. his stocks will arrive next week. stay tuned n wait for the results. ha ha......
No BIS = No BBM + many more

PS: corrected.

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Nov 22 2009, 09:47 PM
mattchin
post Nov 22 2009, 09:11 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

do u mean no BIS = no BBM + many more?
beguiler
post Nov 23 2009, 01:40 AM

145 posts

if 1900 is really EXTREMELY CHEAP for bb 2 le!! hope is real !!
aRRrgghh
post Nov 23 2009, 01:41 AM

305 posts

No BIS means NO services that depends on data. AFAIK BB depends on RIM browser / system to enable data browsing / consumption. SO without BIS, can't do. Not worth to use a BB without BIS activated.

Btw, new Onyx OS now is v5.0.0.351! Heard will launch end of December or early Jan '09. Surely the telco will come-out with good affordable price. If not how to sell? =D
beguiler
post Nov 23 2009, 01:51 AM

145 posts

where to get bold 2 in pj and how much ? i dowan seller from forum , their price is way ridiculous
mattchin
post Nov 23 2009, 08:01 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

i blif they haf plenty of bold 9000 and storm 9500 at our telco's warehouse.. haha biggrin.gif biggrin.gif not to forget curve 8900 tongue.gif
Spoodo
post Nov 23 2009, 09:23 AM

130 posts

i heard that celcom will officially launch the Onyx only in January next year. this came from the Head of Enterprise Sales.
mattchin
post Nov 23 2009, 10:41 AM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

ho ho ho...

Any idea what they try to target the price at? but i for sure that it will support BIS from celcom... (for current 9700 available outside there)

This post has been edited by mattchin: Nov 23 2009, 10:42 AM
bearbrick
post Nov 23 2009, 11:30 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Nov 22 2009, 09:11 PM)
do u mean no BIS = no BBM + many more?
Yes no BIS basically ur bb are just anormal phone
mattchin
post Nov 23 2009, 02:41 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

wah.... not even internet/web browsing?
chialatz
post Nov 23 2009, 02:44 PM

198 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Nov 23 2009, 02:41 PM)
wah.... not even internet/web browsing?
u can still browse internet using 3g/edge/gprs. but u will need a 3rd party browser.
mattchin
post Nov 23 2009, 08:37 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

thanks a lot, bro..

any idea what should i do when i am testing this new 9700? (if it is able to support celcom's BIS or even other telco)
Hyde
post Nov 23 2009, 08:41 PM

68 posts

trustable?

That should be the price point. In US, AT&T selling the unit without contract for USD449 only, works out to about less than RM1.8K.
mattchin
post Nov 23 2009, 08:49 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

WOW WOW wow!! those fellas selling near to rm3k... earns plenty...
sakastik
post Nov 24 2009, 09:38 AM

14 posts

is the bold 9700 officially launch yet in Malaysia?

coz i saw couple of fellas in lelong selling it for RM2.5k..
epolmuse
post Nov 24 2009, 10:59 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(sakastik @ Nov 24 2009, 09:38 AM)

nope not yet...yeah i also went there wanted to hold n see the real thing but everybody cakap buy then baru boleh tgk sweat.gif
sakastik
post Nov 24 2009, 11:13 AM

14 posts

oh yea ke?

well some says that it'll be launch by tomorrow..

i want to touch and tgk also sad.gif
domokun
post Nov 24 2009, 11:58 AM

707 posts

QUOTE(epolmuse @ Nov 24 2009, 10:59 AM)
nope not yet...yeah i also went there wanted to hold n see the real thing but everybody cakap buy then baru boleh tgk  sweat.gif
Yakar...hehe

My seller was so friendly...i basically touch all his models leh..from Bold 9000 Pearl White drool.gif to Bold 9700..but end up buying Storm 2 9550
epolmuse
post Nov 24 2009, 12:52 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(domokun @ Nov 24 2009, 11:58 AM)
Yakar...hehe

My seller was so friendly...i basically touch all his models leh..from Bold 9000 Pearl White  drool.gif  to Bold 9700..but end up buying Storm 2 9550
really which seller? so how does it compared to bold9000
domokun
post Nov 24 2009, 05:32 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(epolmuse @ Nov 24 2009, 12:52 PM)
really which seller? so how does it compared to bold9000

Frm Sg Wang..price @ 2K + drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

Spec wise its the same as normal Bold 9000

This post has been edited by domokun: Nov 24 2009, 05:33 PM
mattchin
post Nov 24 2009, 11:27 PM

!ga0 ga0 lik!
1,645 posts

QUOTE(domokun @ Nov 24 2009, 05:32 PM)

Frm Sg Wang..price @ 2K +  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif

OMFG!!! this is goooooooooooooooooooD looooooooooooooooking!!
sakastik
post Nov 25 2009, 12:30 AM

14 posts

how i wish that bold 9700 will be in that color smile.gif

it looks awesome in that!
panasonic88
post Nov 25 2009, 09:57 AM

37,028 posts

Dropping by...

If anyone wanna sell off their BB Bold 9500 for an upgrade, kindly PM me. I'm looking around for a BBB 9500.

Cheers! BB rocks! biggrin.gif
Reuben
post Nov 25 2009, 10:50 AM

Firo
667 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Nov 25 2009, 09:57 AM)
Dropping by...

If anyone wanna sell off their BB Bold 9500 for an upgrade, kindly PM me. I'm looking around for a BBB 9500.

Did you mean the Storm 9500?

As far as I know there's no Blackberry Bold 9500 with the 95xx series being reserved for the Storm.
lankutu
post Nov 25 2009, 10:55 AM

603 posts

hehehe...BOLD only have 9000 and 9700 model... smile.gif
jon_jai
post Nov 25 2009, 02:32 PM

184 posts

People are selling the white one for $400 CND brand new here.
Reuben
post Nov 25 2009, 04:28 PM

Firo
667 posts

QUOTE(jon_jai @ Nov 25 2009, 02:32 PM)
Is that free from contract? I am assuming u're talking about the 9000 Bold right?

CND as in Canadian Dollar?

This post has been edited by Reuben: Nov 25 2009, 04:29 PM
kchow24
post Nov 26 2009, 11:28 AM

40 posts

Looking forward to it....
maxtor1
post Nov 27 2009, 03:07 PM

990 posts

in lelong.com.my u may easier find the bold 9700 is at RM 2500.00

i just bough 8900 3 days ago. also activated the BIS services for prepaid card. 1.5GB data usage. maybe will switch when my fund is enough... but BB is great phone, but the internet speed of GPRS and EDGE is suck !!!

battery life is powerful than any stupid phone...
sakastik
post Nov 27 2009, 04:38 PM

14 posts

well yea i dont think that the price is that high though..

it should be the same exact price like bold..

i mean the price should be around 2k..

but yea..

cant wait to get the phone biggrin.gif
TSsira5999
post Nov 28 2009, 11:17 AM

492 posts

correct . but the phone is ap la =)) .
u want original . below Rm3.5k . =))

Added on November 28, 2009, 11:19 am
QUOTE(bearbrick @ Nov 20 2009, 10:47 PM)
That's cheap but make sure the PIN is free to register smile.gif
yah . correct =)) . but now bold 2 market price already decrease laa . =))
coz ppl dun want buy if the price is RM3k n above .

Added on November 28, 2009, 11:19 am

trustable?

actually . i dont trust ppl sell cheap . hahahha ! but sometimes can trust laa =))

Added on November 28, 2009, 11:20 am
QUOTE(chialatz @ Nov 22 2009, 02:46 PM)
every BB has a PIN, just like the IMEI number

wow...9700 for RM1900...too good to be true...hmmm
waahh ! 9700 RM1900 . i can bid RM2000 . =)) hahaha !

Added on November 28, 2009, 11:20 am
QUOTE(mikelanding @ Nov 22 2009, 02:48 PM)
PIN is device specific. Meaning each BB had it own individual PIN.
PIN also treat as ID for BB Messenger.
that means . that pin is important la ??

Added on November 28, 2009, 11:21 am
QUOTE(mattchin @ Nov 22 2009, 07:27 PM)

haa ? how much ?? is it RM1900 ??

Added on November 28, 2009, 11:21 am
QUOTE(beguiler @ Nov 23 2009, 01:40 AM)
if 1900 is really EXTREMELY CHEAP for bb 2 le!! hope is real !!
haha ! ya lor . ppl sell RM2500 . he sell RM1900 . wah ! i want 1 lorr =))

Added on November 28, 2009, 11:22 am
QUOTE(beguiler @ Nov 23 2009, 01:51 AM)
where to get bold 2 in pj and how much ? i dowan seller from forum , their price is way ridiculous
brooo . sometimes bro seller at forum more cheap than outside =))

Added on November 28, 2009, 11:23 am
QUOTE(bearbrick @ Nov 23 2009, 11:30 AM)
Yes no BIS basically ur bb are just anormal phone
wait . i cant understand with BIS . can u explain ??
im using bb bold n curve 8900 .

Added on November 28, 2009, 11:24 am
QUOTE(mattchin @ Nov 23 2009, 08:49 PM)
WOW WOW wow!! those fellas selling near to rm3k... earns plenty...
hahaa ! at oversea . they sell more cheaper . =)) .

Added on November 28, 2009, 11:25 am

yah ! launched already =)) . i already see the actual phone . =))
but i most prefer bold 9000 =))

Added on November 28, 2009, 11:26 am
QUOTE(domokun @ Nov 24 2009, 11:58 AM)
Yakar...hehe

My seller was so friendly...i basically touch all his models leh..from Bold 9000 Pearl White  drool.gif  to Bold 9700..but end up buying Storm 2 9550
waaa ! u so luckyy =)) . hahah ! but pearl white can change the bezel . =)) hehehe . but Rm200 gone ! hahaha ! wow ! storm 2 odin nice ??? coz i not see the actual phone yet .

Added on November 28, 2009, 11:27 am
QUOTE(domokun @ Nov 24 2009, 05:32 PM)

Frm Sg Wang..price @ 2K +  drool.gif  drool.gif  drool.gif

ya . all functions are same right . but the outlook diff with the normal bold 9000 .

This post has been edited by sira5999: Nov 28 2009, 11:27 AM
TSsira5999
post Nov 28 2009, 11:29 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(mattchin @ Nov 24 2009, 11:27 PM)
OMFG!!! this is goooooooooooooooooooD looooooooooooooooking!!
yah ! very good looking. when u switch on . the trackball blue in colour =)) .
i already see the pictures .very nice .

u can see the pictures when the bold 9000 pearl white switch on =)) . !

Added on November 28, 2009, 11:30 am
QUOTE(sakastik @ Nov 25 2009, 12:30 AM)
how i wish that bold 9700 will be in that color smile.gif

it looks awesome in that!
hahha ! wow ! ur imagination very high . ! ekekeke !
but yalor . very goood looking . but the housing for bold 2 will coming soon . =)

Added on November 28, 2009, 11:30 am
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Nov 25 2009, 09:57 AM)
Dropping by...

hahhaa ! why u want bold 9500 ??? dont want use odin ? 9500 dont have wifi .

Added on November 28, 2009, 11:31 am
QUOTE(jon_jai @ Nov 25 2009, 02:32 PM)
but at where ? can let me know?

Added on November 28, 2009, 11:33 am
QUOTE(maxtor1 @ Nov 27 2009, 03:07 PM)
in lelong.com.my u may easier find the bold 9700 is at RM 2500.00

i just bough 8900 3 days ago. also activated the BIS services for prepaid card. 1.5GB data usage. maybe will switch when my fund is enough... but BB is great phone, but the internet speed of GPRS and EDGE is suck !!!

battery life is powerful than any stupid phone...
yah ! i agree . im using bold 9000 . but the internet speed like sucks . very slow .=)) hahha ! but the battery can tahan lama la . around 3 - 4 days . im using without charge . but tour . im using 1 week without charge . hahaha ! believe it ?

Added on November 28, 2009, 11:33 am
QUOTE(sakastik @ Nov 27 2009, 04:38 PM)
well yea i dont think that the price is that high though..

it should be the same exact price like bold..

i mean the price should be around 2k..

but yea..

cant wait to get the phone biggrin.gif
yah ! bcoz the spec for bold 9000 n bold 9700 actually same .
but 1 or 2 spec are diff .

This post has been edited by sira5999: Nov 28 2009, 11:33 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
kchow24
post Nov 28 2009, 01:17 PM

40 posts

Where you guys saw the Bold 9700 onyx in Malaysia? I'm looking for it...
beguiler
post Nov 28 2009, 05:29 PM

145 posts

seller in forum so expensive , where got cheaper come on? outside selling 100-150 cheaper la ..forumer ketuk 9 9
bearbrick
post Nov 28 2009, 05:48 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(kchow24 @ Nov 28 2009, 01:17 PM)
QUOTE(beguiler @ Nov 28 2009, 05:29 PM)
seller in forum so expensive , where got cheaper come on? outside selling 100-150 cheaper la ..forumer ketuk 9 9
Well the price area fluctuate around 2500~2550 now.
Interested Party can PM me for the latest price smile.gif
Reuben
post Nov 28 2009, 08:05 PM

Firo
667 posts

Just a few days ago it was at 2950 tongue.gif lol

Anyway got my Bold 2. Pretty good phone. although specs are the same my Bold 9000 on the OS5.0 didn't feel as smooth as this particular build.

I'll post a full review really soon.
little_pixie
post Nov 29 2009, 01:39 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(bearbrick @ Nov 28 2009, 05:48 PM)
Please... i want to read the review!!!!
Reuben
post Dec 1 2009, 12:34 AM

Firo
667 posts

As promised the review is available here.
sakastik
post Dec 1 2009, 11:36 AM

14 posts

if i'm not mistaken it'll be out around january/february next year..

and it's kinda long way to go sad.gif

i mean official launch though..
Reuben
post Dec 1 2009, 04:40 PM

Firo
667 posts

QUOTE(sakastik @ Dec 1 2009, 11:36 AM)
if i'm not mistaken it'll be out around january/february next year..

and it's kinda long way to go sad.gif

i mean official launch though..
Celcom plans to release it mid/late jan.
sakastik
post Dec 1 2009, 07:28 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Reuben @ Dec 1 2009, 04:40 PM)
Celcom plans to release it mid/late jan.
it's such a hassle to wait till january though..

by that time i'm pretty sure the price isn't like the one right now biggrin.gif
TSsira5999
post Dec 1 2009, 08:29 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(kchow24 @ Nov 28 2009, 01:17 PM)
in forumer . in mudah also have . =)) .
u can look around .i got bb bold 2 onyx Rm2200 =)) in mudah .

Added on December 1, 2009, 8:30 pm
QUOTE(beguiler @ Nov 28 2009, 05:29 PM)
really ?? i think buy at outside more expensive than from forumer . if u buy at mudah .
maybe more expensive . but if u buy at lowyat . more lower than the others.

Added on December 1, 2009, 8:30 pm
QUOTE(bearbrick @ Nov 28 2009, 05:48 PM)
yah . but i found 1 bold 2 onyx Rm2200 =) in mudah !

Added on December 1, 2009, 8:31 pm
QUOTE(Reuben @ Nov 28 2009, 08:05 PM)

Anyway got my Bold 2. Pretty good phone. although specs are the same my Bold 9000 on the OS5.0 didn't feel as smooth as this particular build.

wah ! nice . is it good ?? compared with bold 9000 . which is more good ?
i think same right ? coz i already hold the bold 9700 =)) .
yah . 5.0 can scroll when u want to see the pics right ? =))

This post has been edited by sira5999: Dec 1 2009, 08:31 PM
-renoma-
post Dec 1 2009, 10:09 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(Reuben @ Nov 28 2009, 08:05 PM)

how much u get and where u bought it from ?

hushymushy
post Dec 1 2009, 10:10 PM

1,708 posts

hey guys.....
sorry i'm noobie when it comes to 9700
recently just got myself the 9700
my unit is from Rogers....which means its unlocked lar
when i sync my BB with my pc or laptop, there's actually software upgrades

need d sifus help here.....can i upgrade those software without risking it locking or something?
Reuben
post Dec 2 2009, 12:00 AM

Firo
667 posts

QUOTE(-renoma- @ Dec 1 2009, 10:09 PM)
how much u get and where u bought it from ?
Price is inside my review. Bought from a lowyat forumer called innov8
TSsira5999
post Dec 2 2009, 01:54 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(hushymushy @ Dec 1 2009, 10:10 PM)
hey guys.....
sorry i'm noobie when it comes to 9700
recently just got myself the 9700
my unit is from Rogers....which means its unlocked lar
when i sync my BB with my pc or laptop, there's actually software upgrades

need d sifus help here.....can i upgrade those software without risking it locking or something?
my opinion . wat for u want to upgrades the software ???
no need le .

Added on December 2, 2009, 1:55 pm
QUOTE(Reuben @ Dec 2 2009, 12:00 AM)
Price is inside my review. Bought from a lowyat forumer called innov8
ohh . yaa . i know him .. hehe =)) . nice2 .

This post has been edited by sira5999: Dec 2 2009, 01:55 PM
sheeppy91
post Dec 26 2009, 07:01 AM

Heys there..

Just got my BB2 from AT&T.
I bought a Kingston 8GB MicroSD card from a lowyat seller but it somehow won't fit?
Any advice?

melthq
post Dec 26 2009, 05:32 PM

613 posts

I'm only selling it for RM2300 with 2gb sd + screen protector + car charger, sim free. No unlocking needed laugh.gif

This post has been edited by melthq: Dec 26 2009, 06:25 PM
outdoorxplorer
post Dec 26 2009, 06:01 PM

~Money Only Bring Pleasures When You Spent It WISELY!~
2,028 posts

QUOTE(melthq @ Dec 26 2009, 05:32 PM)
I'm only selling it for RM2300 with 2gb sd,  sim free. No unlocking needed  laugh.gif
By any chance you also take BB9000 as trade in and top up for BB9700. PM your location and mode of payment.
melthq
post Dec 26 2009, 06:07 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Dec 26 2009, 06:01 PM)
By any chance you also take BB9000 as trade in and top up for BB9700. PM your location and mode of payment.
I don't suggest you to trade-in your phone, as I will accept it at a very very low price tongue.gif . Cash method only
smiley.kambing
post Dec 26 2009, 11:27 PM

97 posts

got my bold2 at sunway pyramid at rm2100
at&t tattoo
silencer
post Dec 27 2009, 01:37 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

whats the diff in terms of warranty between the ap and maxis/celcom/digi set (when it si launched) FOR BOLD 9700. My hands really itchy to get 1 but heard that the launching date for telcos is around the corner on Jan.
theseller
post Dec 27 2009, 01:17 PM

41 posts

Will Celcom/Maxis set be unlocked?
silencer
post Dec 27 2009, 10:05 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(theseller @ Dec 27 2009, 01:17 PM)
Will Celcom/Maxis set be unlocked?
yup..as their previous bb phone....the question now is when it will be launched?
little_pixie
post Dec 27 2009, 10:40 PM

487 posts

Bought mine RM2300 free car charger, free screen protector and I got slide pouch like I want! Tomorrow going to mnp my number and register digi BIS. Yeah!!!!
theseller
post Dec 28 2009, 02:09 PM

41 posts

AT&T Set will work with Celcom/Maxis BIS?
smiley.kambing
post Dec 28 2009, 03:35 PM

97 posts

should be.. just ask the seller and test it out first before buying to confirm

This post has been edited by smiley.kambing: Dec 28 2009, 03:36 PM
theseller
post Dec 28 2009, 03:57 PM

41 posts

I can't test it out, I'm overseas. Also, Celcom BIS can internet teether right?
mzriders
post Dec 28 2009, 07:09 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(theseller @ Dec 28 2009, 02:09 PM)
Should be ok Bro, Some of the local AP unit is a AT&T set. Mine is T-Mobile work like a charm.
The only operator known having compatibility issue with Celcom so far is CDMA unit from Verizon.

By the way i am new Onyx user, upgrade from Bold 9000. So far the extra RAM on board make a lot of difference.
The theme from 8900 and bold 9000 are still usable in Bold 2.
TSsira5999
post Dec 29 2009, 02:27 AM

492 posts

I'm only selling it for RM2300 with 2gb sd + screen protector + car charger,  sim free. No unlocking needed  laugh.gif
wow ! nice price =) . hehe . Rm2300 ..?? cannot nego little bit ah ? ahahaha !

Added on December 29, 2009, 2:27 am
I'm only selling it for RM2300 with 2gb sd + screen protector + car charger,  sim free. No unlocking needed  laugh.gif

Added on December 29, 2009, 2:27 am

Added on December 29, 2009, 2:29 am
QUOTE(sheeppy91 @ Dec 26 2009, 07:01 AM)
Heys there..

Just got my BB2 from AT&T.
I bought a Kingston 8GB MicroSD card from a lowyat seller but it somehow won't fit?
Any advice?
wont fit ? how come ?? bb bold 9700 use microsd lorr . why cannot fit??

Added on December 29, 2009, 2:31 amayoo . many ppl already bought bb 9700 . hahah =) . how about the phone ? any complains ??

This post has been edited by sira5999: Dec 29 2009, 02:31 AM
bearbrick
post Dec 29 2009, 02:33 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(theseller @ Dec 28 2009, 02:09 PM)
Yes,confirm working with Digi/Celcom/Maxis BIS smile.gif
smiley.kambing
post Dec 29 2009, 09:45 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(sira5999 @ Dec 29 2009, 02:27 AM)
ayoo . many ppl already bought bb 9700 . hahah =) . how about the phone ? any complains ??
been using it for almost a week now.. so far no problem with my 9700..
Reuben
post Dec 29 2009, 11:20 AM

Firo
667 posts

Some minor gripes. Have updated my review here.
MattJ
post Dec 29 2009, 11:53 AM

769 posts

QUOTE(theseller @ Dec 28 2009, 03:57 PM)
I can't test it out, I'm overseas. Also, Celcom BIS can internet teether right?
Can tether, already tested my TMobile and was able to tether successfully using Celcom BIS 3G unlimited. thumbup.gif
epolmuse
post Dec 29 2009, 12:09 PM

142 posts

Been using mine for a few days now so far quite impressed with bb bold 2 trying to find out more about bb functio as I'm a new a bb user
melthq
post Dec 30 2009, 10:58 AM

613 posts

QUOTE(sira5999 @ Dec 29 2009, 02:27 AM)
final price RM2250, it is a tatooless model.

This post has been edited by melthq: Dec 30 2009, 10:58 AM
outdoorxplorer
post Dec 30 2009, 01:16 PM

2,028 posts

Got mine tattoless yesterday to replaced the BB9000. Satisfy and getting use to the smaller and faster unit.

This post has been edited by outdoorxplorer: Dec 30 2009, 01:16 PM
bagaxxx
post Dec 30 2009, 05:17 PM

36 posts

best or not huh??
cheewooi
post Dec 31 2009, 01:18 AM

Old Bird
540 posts

guy,
plan too get bb curve or bold..just a questioon
can we use bb as a modem for PC to connect to internet?

I am targeting digi bis
smiley.kambing
post Dec 31 2009, 10:26 AM

97 posts

can use bb as modem.. but if u get digi bis.. they will charge as PAYU if u use it as modem for pc
epolmuse
post Jan 1 2010, 04:10 PM

142 posts

any of u guys using free im apps on bb 9700? tried palringo and instango but they cant seem to work yet, wanna im over wifi
mikelanding
post Jan 1 2010, 04:51 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(epolmuse @ Jan 1 2010, 04:10 PM)
any of u guys using free im apps on bb 9700? tried palringo and instango but they cant seem to work yet, wanna im over wifi
free BB inbuild IM already is free and very good or unless you dont have BIS plan.

I brought the Beejive user license bcoz I like the UI and got 50% discount till 31st Dec 2009

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Jan 1 2010, 04:53 PM
tulipbiru
post Jan 1 2010, 08:55 PM

ur bb is wit or without tatooo??
epolmuse
post Jan 2 2010, 09:57 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jan 1 2010, 04:51 PM)
free BB inbuild IM already is free and very good or unless you dont have BIS plan.

I brought the Beejive user license bcoz I like the UI and got 50% discount till 31st Dec 2009
i know, sori my words are a bit confusing i mean use IMs over wifi only not using data neway i have BIS already
PiggyAikz
post Jan 3 2010, 03:07 AM

193 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Dec 27 2009, 04:37 AM)
whats the diff in terms of warranty between the ap and maxis/celcom/digi set (when it si launched) FOR BOLD 9700. My hands really itchy to get 1 but heard that the launching date for telcos is around the corner on Jan.
Any significant differences in terms of warranty for AP set and Maxis/Celcom set?
kokhoe8
post Jan 4 2010, 03:56 PM

156 posts

I found it selling at ebay . com . my selling at rm1100 ... can anyone believe it?

what you guys think??

Spoodo
post Jan 4 2010, 04:03 PM

130 posts

Head of Enterprise Sales Celcom Sarawak has informed me the tentative date for the official launch of the Bold 2 aka Onyx is January 22nd!!!!!!
yjeen
post Jan 4 2010, 04:11 PM

319 posts

Wow the price is too good to be true...i would be careful smile.gif

QUOTE(kokhoe8 @ Jan 4 2010, 03:56 PM)
I found it selling at ebay .  com . my selling at rm1100 ... can anyone believe it?

what you guys think??
kokhoe8
post Jan 4 2010, 08:22 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(yjeen @ Jan 4 2010, 04:11 PM)
Wow the price is too good to be true...i would be careful smile.gif
oops i forgot to put the link

http://cgi.ebay.com.my/Crazy-Murah-New-Ori...=item3ca8f10db2
En_Chor
post Jan 4 2010, 11:23 PM

42 posts

When is Maxis launching Bold 2?
eviljonz
post Jan 5 2010, 12:42 AM

770 posts

QUOTE(kokhoe8 @ Jan 4 2010, 08:22 PM)
the RM1100 is the starting bid. you will need to bid it for a period of time before it is sold to the highest bidder. i doubt the seller will sell to u at rm1100 ONLY coz it will for sure 'bid' himself to his reserve price tongue.gif
PiggyAikz
post Jan 5 2010, 02:04 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(PiggyAikz @ Jan 3 2010, 06:07 AM)
Any significant differences in terms of warranty for AP set and Maxis/Celcom set?
Nobody got any opinion?
MattJ
post Jan 5 2010, 09:28 PM

769 posts

QUOTE(PiggyAikz @ Jan 5 2010, 02:04 PM)
Nobody got any opinion?
How to give opinion, MAxis/Celcom set not out yet, Haiya...
melthq
post Jan 5 2010, 10:55 PM

613 posts

Let me clarify about AP set between telco set. First of all there is no difference, the device works like it should be. The

only difference for AP set is being brought into the market unofficially by dealers with local warranty which is done by

their technician. Telco set is officially brought into Malaysia but the set is tatooless because the device is

signed under the contract with the telco company by bringing in a large amount of units. They can even tatoo their

respective tatoo like MAXIS OR CELCOM if they want to.

This post has been edited by melthq: Jan 5 2010, 10:56 PM
PiggyAikz
post Jan 5 2010, 10:59 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(melthq @ Jan 6 2010, 01:55 AM)
Let me clarify about AP set between telco set. First of all there is no difference, the device works like it should be. The

only difference for AP set is being brought into the market unofficially by dealers with local warranty which is done by

their technician. Telco set is officially brought into Malaysia  but the set is tatooless because the device is

signed under the contract with the telco company by bringing in a large amount of units. They can even tatoo their

respective tatoo like MAXIS OR CELCOM if they want to.
In terms of after sales warranty, would there be significant difference?

I was informed that AP set does not warranty the handset itself but only certain parts. Where as Maxis / Celcom although they take ages to repair or replace they would fix.
melthq
post Jan 5 2010, 11:02 PM

613 posts

QUOTE(PiggyAikz @ Jan 5 2010, 10:59 PM)
In terms of after sales warranty, would there be significant difference?

I was informed that AP set does not warranty the handset itself but only certain parts. Where as Maxis / Celcom although they take ages to repair or replace they would fix.
sales warranty for AP = Applicable for hardware ( Some other shop don't provide, but I do )

Maxis / Celcom = Same ( They don't compensate any physical damage! )

I am also a dealer, so of course I know everything.

This post has been edited by melthq: Jan 5 2010, 11:03 PM
TSsira5999
post Jan 7 2010, 04:14 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(smiley.kambing @ Dec 29 2009, 09:45 AM)
been using it for almost a week now.. so far no problem with my 9700..
really ?? i think i want buy 9700 =))

Added on January 7, 2010, 4:15 pmAnyone Selling Bb Bold 9700 ?? hahahaha =)) .

This post has been edited by sira5999: Jan 7 2010, 04:15 PM
Spoodo
post Jan 13 2010, 07:49 PM

130 posts

For forumers from Kuching, Sarawak, Celcom will be launching the Onyx Bold 9700 on the 22nd of January, Pullman Hotel 630pm!!!! Next friday!! think it's by invite, there's a pre-cocktail party prior to the launch!
TSsira5999
post Jan 13 2010, 10:27 PM

492 posts

aiyoo ! Kuching ah ? hahahah ! cannot go ah =))
petepix
post Jan 13 2010, 11:08 PM

392 posts

you can now pre-order the Bold 2 9700 from maxis rrp is rm2099
https://www.maxis.com.my/onyx/onyx_signup.asp

now lets wait for celcom n digi's announcement
calmshot
post Jan 14 2010, 09:07 AM

My Name Is ...
2,560 posts

ya maxis and celcom now already bring in the 9700, saw the ads in newspaper today
-Shinjiz-
post Jan 14 2010, 09:18 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(calmshot @ Jan 14 2010, 09:07 AM)
ya maxis and celcom now already bring in the 9700, saw the ads in newspaper today
Omg. It's so delicious! Where did you guys play the actual phone? I want to test it out comparing to my Bold. blush.gif
7thsky
post Jan 14 2010, 10:14 AM

351 posts

hi everyone,
check out this link & go grab one on the 14ht if u're lucky! too bad m away..

http://www.celcom.com.my/biz/promo-newbblaunch.html

cheers!
jianwei87
post Jan 14 2010, 02:06 PM

481 posts

QUOTE(7thsky @ Jan 14 2010, 10:14 AM)
hi everyone,
check out this link & go grab one on the 14ht if u're lucky! too bad m away..

cheers!
But the 50% only for business postpaid user? how much after 50%?
Spoodo
post Jan 14 2010, 07:21 PM

130 posts

hmmm mine is reserved already by the head of enterprise sales....does it mean i'm included in the 1st 150? aha
MattJ
post Jan 14 2010, 10:24 PM

769 posts

Must be pricey. No harm done getting an AP set, now below RM2K except for the warranty pa
sonyclie77
post Jan 15 2010, 12:43 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(MattJ @ Jan 14 2010, 10:24 PM)
Must be pricey. No harm done getting an AP set, now below RM2K except for the warranty pa
I was quoted RM 2,180 for an AP set, maybe the seller don't know that maxis and Celcom sets are cheaper than that now.
epool86
post Jan 15 2010, 07:48 AM

Celcom Fan
1,161 posts

celcom is selling blackberry bold 9700 at the following price

RM1088 (rm250 commitment - 24 month)
RM1188 (rm188 commitment - 24 month)
RM1288 (rm148 commitment - 24 month)

RM1288 (rm250 commitment - 12 month)
RM1488 (rm188 commitment - 12 month)
RM1588 (rm148 commitment - 12 month)

RM1988 (without contract)

but for TODAY (15jan), 4.30pm at KL Pavilion. Get this blackberry bold 9700 at special offer rm988 (limited to first 150 customers ONLY) - no booking/pre-order, u'll get the device on the spot

in conjuction with the launching, celcom also introduce two new service with this blackberry wich is
- Celcom Stock Manager
- Celcom Compass

Celcom Compass provides accurate and up-to-date navigation information for drivers, equipped with turn-by-turn visual and voice guidance, searchable business directory, and free map update

Celcom Stock Manager is a mobile trading solutions, it enables users to keep updated on the latest market news, information, economic analysis and instant real-time market performance.

This post has been edited by epool86: Jan 15 2010, 07:56 AM
mohdadham
post Jan 15 2010, 09:22 AM

QUOTE(epool86 @ Jan 15 2010, 07:48 AM)

in conjuction with the launching, celcom also introduce two new service with this blackberry wich is
- Celcom Stock Manager
- Celcom Compass

Celcom Compass provides accurate and up-to-date navigation information for drivers, equipped with turn-by-turn visual and voice guidance, searchable business directory, and free map update

Celcom Stock Manager is a mobile trading solutions, it enables users to keep updated on the latest market news, information, economic analysis and instant real-time market performance.
Can we get the new service for the existing customer?
epool86
post Jan 15 2010, 09:34 AM

Celcom Fan
1,161 posts

type ON COMPASS and send to 26886
rm3/day or rm12/month
*free one month trial offered to those subscribe to the one month package

type ON STOCK MANAGER and send to 28282
rm20/month (stock trader) or rm12/month (stock monitor only)

This post has been edited by epool86: Jan 15 2010, 09:43 AM
Lazyboy
post Jan 15 2010, 09:36 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(epool86 @ Jan 15 2010, 07:48 AM)
celcom is selling blackberry bold 9700 at the following price

RM1088 (rm250 commitment - 24 month)
RM1188 (rm188 commitment - 24 month)
RM1288 (rm148 commitment - 24 month)

RM1288 (rm250 commitment - 12 month)
RM1488 (rm188 commitment - 12 month)
RM1588 (rm148 commitment - 12 month)

RM1988 (without contract)

but for TODAY (15jan), 4.30pm at KL Pavilion. Get this blackberry bold 9700 at special offer rm988 (limited to first 150 customers ONLY) - no booking/pre-order, u'll get the device on the spot

- Celcom Stock Manager
- Celcom Compass

So as a new celcom subscriber, regardless of which plan I might subscribe, the 9700 is for rm988 for the first 150 units? is the commitment inclusive of the Celcom BIS service (advance)?
epool86
post Jan 15 2010, 09:41 AM

Celcom Fan
1,161 posts

QUOTE(Lazyboy @ Jan 15 2010, 09:36 AM)
So as a new celcom subscriber, regardless of which plan I might subscribe, the 9700 is for rm988 for the first 150 units? is the commitment inclusive of the Celcom BIS service (advance)?
im not sure about that, u may have to contact celcom to confirm. i only share the info i know (but i guess u have to opt the rm250 plan)

for the commitment, YES its inclusive of the Celcom BIS service. (eg, the rm188 package inclusive of P148 + smsPack rm2 + BIS rm38)

This post has been edited by epool86: Jan 15 2010, 09:45 AM
Lazyboy
post Jan 15 2010, 09:46 AM

399 posts

Thanks and appreciate your sharing

Added on January 15, 2010, 9:59 amOK. Just notice the information is now on Celcom website. Thanks.

This post has been edited by Lazyboy: Jan 15 2010, 09:59 AM
ebayer
post Jan 15 2010, 10:43 AM

72 posts

Anyone going for the Celcom promotion in Pavilion? Is it a good deal?
kayanbutter
post Jan 15 2010, 11:36 AM

Validating
78 posts

depends on whether they tie u down to expensive BIS service or not.

Celcom have this funny Blackberry licencing you have to pay which is real funny because on digi ..u don have to?
Lazyboy
post Jan 15 2010, 11:41 AM

399 posts

QUOTE(kayanbutter @ Jan 15 2010, 11:36 AM)
depends on whether they tie u down to expensive BIS service or not.

Celcom have this funny Blackberry licencing you have to pay which is real funny because on digi ..u don have to?
Yeah, what's that all about...licensing ...which is how much exactly? they don't clearly state it in their promo site.
epool86
post Jan 15 2010, 12:16 PM

Celcom Fan
1,161 posts

for Celcom Exec
http://www.celcom.com.my/celcomexec/promotions/bold9700.php

for Celcom Biz
sonyclie77
post Jan 15 2010, 07:55 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

Can I just drop by any Celcom Centres and get a Bold 9700 if I don't want to sign up any plans?
biggirl
post Jan 16 2010, 12:25 PM

25 posts

QUOTE(ebayer @ Jan 15 2010, 10:43 AM)
Anyone going for the Celcom promotion in Pavilion? Is it a good deal?
YeSsss!!!! I bought a brand new bold 9700 at only rm988!!!! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
kapultek
post Jan 16 2010, 07:30 PM

1,376 posts

me too
outdoorxplorer
post Jan 16 2010, 10:51 PM

2,028 posts

What is the catch?
Lazyboy
post Jan 16 2010, 10:54 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Jan 16 2010, 10:51 PM)
What is the catch?
Nice headamp you got there.
little_pixie
post Jan 16 2010, 11:08 PM

487 posts

Guys, I'm experimenting with thye connection. I'm on DiGi BIS, and since I registered to BIS, I only use EDGE as connection, so far, my Bold 2 only can last up to 2 days with HEAVY usage. I never try 3G yet, and I started to try tonight. So, what about you guys?

Bold 2 suck more battery life when on 3G???
weileong
post Jan 19 2010, 12:05 AM

"The Idea Is To Die Young As Late As Possible"
1,720 posts

today i just drop by celcom center and ask for upgrade and purchase the 9700 unfortunately , they rejected me , my celcom line register under company on 2008 and contract is 2 years..so even the contract period if upgrade or whatever reason there is the penalty charges of RM150 or more...but i dont mind to pay for it...the thing is i can't upgrade at all from BE50 to BE250 ?My monthly call at least spend about RM400-500.. WTF celcom!!!!!!!! ..too bad..i had my decision to MNP to Maxis as soon 9700 is available . Say bye bye to celcom thumbup.gif
nazwan88
post Jan 19 2010, 05:33 AM

hey guys, i am planning to get myself a brand new Bold. so can i just drop by a celcom service center and purchase a Bold? just like that?
i am planning to subscribe celcom's BIS too?
or should i stick to my maxis? any suggestins?
kapultek
post Jan 19 2010, 11:17 AM

1,376 posts

my 9700 battery also lasted about 2 day++..without using 3g..way better than my htc magic
killerapp
post Jan 19 2010, 11:10 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(biggirl @ Jan 16 2010, 12:25 PM)
YeSsss!!!! I bought a brand new bold 9700 at only rm988!!!!  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
U got the phone for 988 outright?no need to join their plan?should have went there lo
kapultek
post Jan 19 2010, 11:41 PM

1,376 posts

need to sign 148 monthly
TSsira5999
post Jan 20 2010, 01:50 AM

492 posts

wow ! RM988 for blackberry bold 2 ?? i Wnat i want i want .!! aiyoo . =) my dream will come true .. hahahaha =)) .

but how ??
hnr2802
post Jan 20 2010, 01:56 AM

627 posts

QUOTE(little_pixie @ Jan 16 2010, 11:08 PM)
Guys, I'm experimenting with thye connection. I'm on DiGi BIS, and since I registered to BIS, I only use EDGE as connection, so far, my Bold 2 only can last up to 2 days with HEAVY usage. I never try 3G yet, and I started to try tonight. So, what about you guys?

Bold 2 suck more battery life when on 3G???
maybe i can help.. what os u currently using?
silencer
post Jan 20 2010, 03:11 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

I'm currently using the os version as specified for the maxis carrier:
Software For BlackBerry® Bold ™ 9700 smartphone

BlackBerry Handheld Software v5.0.0.541 (EastAsia)

Package Version: 5.0.0.541
Consisting of:

* Applications: 5.0.0.344
* Software Platform: 5.1.0.96
* File name: 9700jEastAsia_PBr5.0.0_rel541_PL5.1.0.96_A5.0.0.344_Maxis.exe
* File size: 141.07MB
But, i know that there is new os version for this bold 2 as the package version is different for celcom and digi carriers. Mind telling me which os version is more reliable, and would it be compatible with the maxis BIS. Thanks
gmail
post Jan 20 2010, 04:26 AM

Trolling Level
2,597 posts

i'm very new to blackberry platform, here are some questions that i would like to ask before purchasing.

1. if i'm getting my Bold 2 from Celcom, can i use Maxis or DiGi BIS with it?

2. can i just buy the phone outright from Celcom without signing contract with them?
k00Lric
post Jan 20 2010, 09:19 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(gmail @ Jan 20 2010, 04:26 AM)
i'm very new to blackberry platform, here are some questions that i would like to ask before purchasing.

2. can i just buy the phone outright from Celcom without signing contract with them?

1. Yes, provided the phone is unlocked but you already signed up with Celcom, if you terminate the contract within the 12months / 24months, you will need to pay extra for the contract termination. Which is not a wise choice to do it.

2. I don't think it's possible unless they are will to sell it to you without signing up a contract with them but i doubt that.

I think you should just get the BB 9700 from those Mobile phone shops that sell BB smartphones, if wanna use other Telco services.

This post has been edited by k00Lric: Jan 20 2010, 09:26 AM
nazwan88
post Jan 20 2010, 12:30 PM

QUOTE(gmail @ Jan 20 2010, 05:26 AM)

yeah you can buy the phone outright from celcom.
its RM 1988 for the phone only.

hnr2802
post Jan 20 2010, 01:15 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Jan 20 2010, 03:11 AM)
I'm currently using the os version as specified for the maxis carrier:
Software For BlackBerry® Bold ™ 9700 smartphone

BlackBerry Handheld Software v5.0.0.541 (EastAsia)

Package Version: 5.0.0.541
Consisting of:

* Applications: 5.0.0.344
    * Software Platform: 5.1.0.96
    * File name: 9700jEastAsia_PBr5.0.0_rel541_PL5.1.0.96_A5.0.0.344_Maxis.exe
    * File size: 141.07MB
But, i know that there is new os version for this bold 2 as the package version is different for celcom and digi carriers. Mind telling me which os version is more reliable, and would it be compatible with the maxis BIS. Thanks
Im using maxis bis also. these r my findings:

ive tried .423 , .421 , .415 & .405 The best os is .405. no bug & improved battery life. when i changed the network to detect only 2g signal only my battery last 4 days!
gmail
post Jan 20 2010, 02:27 PM

Trolling Level
2,597 posts

QUOTE(k00Lric @ Jan 20 2010, 09:19 AM)
1. Yes, provided the phone is unlocked but you already signed up with Celcom, if you terminate the contract within the 12months / 24months, you will need to pay extra for the contract termination. Which is not a wise choice to do it.

2. I don't think it's possible unless they are will to sell it to you without signing up a contract with them but i doubt that.

I think you should just get the BB 9700 from those Mobile phone shops that sell BB smartphones, if wanna use other Telco services.
QUOTE(nazwan88 @ Jan 20 2010, 12:30 PM)
Thanks for the info guys.

1 more question here. Celcom blackberry is using the vodafone customised OS right??
jonrwg
post Jan 20 2010, 04:59 PM

1,353 posts

RM1988 only? blink.gif
i went a few celcom shop they don sell me the phone only.. sweat.gif
which branch did u went?
Lazyboy
post Jan 20 2010, 05:39 PM

399 posts

so anyone notice any price drop for the AP sets at Low Yat or Sunway?
aKatoRA
post Jan 20 2010, 06:09 PM

248 posts

Just wondering, if i buy original set from outside bb shop, will it be troublesome to claim my warranty later on?
silencer
post Jan 20 2010, 08:23 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(hnr2802 @ Jan 20 2010, 01:15 PM)
Im using maxis bis also. these r my findings:

ive tried .423 , .421 , .415 & .405 The best os is .405. no bug & improved battery life. when i changed the network to detect only 2g signal only my battery last 4 days!
Thnk for your advise, any link so i can download the specified OS..
TSsira5999
post Jan 20 2010, 09:15 PM

492 posts

any Feedback About BlackBerry Bold 9700 ???
i want to change from bb bold 9000 to bb bold 2 9700 =))
any advices?
hnr2802
post Jan 20 2010, 09:29 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Jan 20 2010, 08:23 PM)
Thnk for your advise, any link so i can download the specified OS..
Try this
BlackBerry Handheld Software v5.0.0.645 (Multilanguage)

Package Version: 5.0.0.645
Consisting of:

* Applications: 5.0.0.405
* Software Platform: 5.1.0.112
* File name: 9700M_PBr5.0.0_rel645_PL5.1.0.112_A5.0.0.405_AT_amp_T.exe
* File size: 136.52MB

https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/contac...BF461F302FA1FC4

dont forget to delete vendor.xml first.!
7thsky
post Jan 20 2010, 09:36 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(aKatoRA @ Jan 20 2010, 06:09 PM)
Just wondering, if i buy original set from outside bb shop, will it be troublesome to claim my warranty later on?
pick a reputable seller that you can trust and you should be fine. berrys are robust items in most instances and get abused by owners like nobody's business by the way!

nazwan88
post Jan 21 2010, 12:36 AM

QUOTE(jonrwg @ Jan 20 2010, 05:59 PM)
RM1988 only?  blink.gif
i went a few celcom shop they don sell me the phone only..  sweat.gif
which branch did u went?
try the blue cube.. coz the one in Melaka sold my fren a set
for 1900++...
jonrwg
post Jan 21 2010, 01:15 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(nazwan88 @ Jan 21 2010, 12:36 AM)
try the blue cube.. coz the one in Melaka sold my fren a set
for 1900++...
BLUE CUBE!!
i went to pavalion branch.. and nobody there to service me.. sweat.gif
and they don sell the phone alone.. cry.gif
which part of melaka? shopping mall? biggrin.gif

Added on January 21, 2010, 1:17 am
QUOTE(Lazyboy @ Jan 20 2010, 05:39 PM)
so anyone notice any price drop for the AP sets at Low Yat or Sunway?
just went yday and ask a few shop there.. lowest they quote me is RM2050 which i don rly trust them coz they operate from small shop..
another shop which is quite big (like pdagadget n blue cube but forgot wat name) he quote me RM2300.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jonrwg: Jan 21 2010, 01:17 AM
en_mizi
post Jan 21 2010, 07:54 AM

155 posts

previously using bold 9000 i can easily connect to internet via netbook using vodafone mobile broadband. now, how to thethering using this model using celcom bis? anyone?
silencer
post Jan 21 2010, 09:01 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(en_mizi @ Jan 21 2010, 07:54 AM)
previously using bold 9000 i can easily connect to internet via netbook using vodafone mobile broadband. now, how to thethering using this model using celcom bis? anyone?
Just use the IP modem option in the Blackberry Desktop Manager application...works fine with my maxis ...
rmage
post Jan 21 2010, 10:07 AM

40 posts

Hi All,

New BB user here.

Got the ONYX last month and noticed that the right side convenience key doesn't work for my set. I've set it with camera option but when press it doesn't open it. cry.gif

Wondering if it's because I press wrongly or the key got problem....

Really appreciate it if ONYX user could help provide some advice? icon_question.gif
MattJ
post Jan 21 2010, 10:22 AM

769 posts

Bro,

You can set up with lappie, netbook and Macbooks.
I connect my 9700 as tethered modem for my Macbook pro as well as my office HP laptop. I can also used it for my wifey Dell netbook if wifi is not available. Setup is quite straight and simple, however if you do have problems, just seek answers from the official blackberry site and search for answers n guidance. smile.gif
Reuben
post Jan 21 2010, 10:52 AM

Firo
667 posts

Latest desktop manager can do this.

Added on January 21, 2010, 10:53 am
QUOTE(rmage @ Jan 21 2010, 10:07 AM)
Hi All,

New BB user here.

Got the ONYX last month and noticed that the right side convenience key doesn't work for my set.  I've set it with camera option but when press it doesn't open it.  cry.gif

Wondering if it's because I press wrongly or the key got problem.... 

Really appreciate it if ONYX user could help provide some advice?  icon_question.gif
Have you tried pressing it harder? I note that the right side convenience key is not very sensitive and requires a harder press.

This post has been edited by Reuben: Jan 21 2010, 10:53 AM
en_mizi
post Jan 21 2010, 11:41 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(MattJ @ Jan 21 2010, 10:22 AM)
Bro,

You can set up with lappie, netbook and Macbooks.
I connect my 9700 as tethered modem for my Macbook pro as well as my office HP laptop. I can also used it for my wifey Dell netbook if wifi is not available. Setup is quite straight and simple, however if you do have problems, just seek answers from the official blackberry site and search for answers n guidance. smile.gif
tq bro, i'll try after this. tq
rmage
post Jan 21 2010, 04:01 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Reuben @ Jan 21 2010, 10:52 AM)

Have you tried pressing it harder? I note that the right side convenience key is not very sensitive and requires a harder press.
Hi Reuben,

Tried it and found that it doesn't really open the camera when pressed.

Instead it's mainly helps to focus on the targeted area when pressed. Found this out while opening the camera apps thru menu and pressing the right convenience key. unsure.gif
xander
post Jan 21 2010, 06:04 PM

Finally
836 posts

any1 has the plan n rate n contract duration on maxis? i booked n verified on maxis website going to collect on monday.

any bro did tat oledi?
jonrwg
post Jan 21 2010, 07:27 PM

1,353 posts

the price in maxis website stated Rm2099 is for the phone only or with contract?
sakastik
post Jan 21 2010, 07:51 PM

14 posts

it's without contract smile.gif

yet still expensive tongue.gif
Lazyboy
post Jan 21 2010, 08:03 PM

399 posts

It is without contract but you still have to subscribe to the unlimited BIS for 3 months to get the phone at that price. I am scheduled for a Monday pickup as well. Earliest is starting this Saturday so I imagine no one has got their Maxis set yet.

I will probably pass for that price and condition. I will get my set elsewhere.
jonrwg
post Jan 21 2010, 08:23 PM

1,353 posts

Why izit expensive? i search everywhere the price is almost the same. and is an unlock set rite?
Spoodo
post Jan 21 2010, 08:24 PM

130 posts

picking mine up tomorrow at East Malaysia's launch!! cant wait!!!!

Lazyboy
post Jan 21 2010, 08:25 PM

399 posts

AP sets could be had for around 1800+ (closer to 1900) while Celcom/Bluecube no contract set could be had for around 1988-2000.
zergg
post Jan 21 2010, 09:51 PM

383 posts

just wanna ask for the non contract phone, the rate would be how much ya?
myjfk
post Jan 21 2010, 10:07 PM

QUOTE(Lazyboy @ Jan 21 2010, 08:25 PM)
AP sets could be had for around 1800+ (closer to 1900) while Celcom/Bluecube no contract set could be had for around 1988-2000.
I just called Celcom Bluecube yesterday and the CSO told me cannot buy 9700 without Celcom Blackberry contract!
Anyone know and can confirm otherwise? ohmy.gif

Anyone heard of this from Maxis >>>

Thank you for registering your interest in BlackBerry® Bold™ 9700 with Maxis. You are one step closer to owning The BlackBerry® Bold™ 9700:

Purchase the BlackBerry® Bold™ 9700 for just RM 2,099, without any contract commitment
AND

Enjoy 12 months of BIS Unlimited Plan at only RM360* and save 75% from the normal price (Normal price: RM120 x 12 months = RM1,440).
This offer is only applicable when you purchase the BlackBerry® Bold™ 9700. If you are new to Maxis, subscribe to any of our postpaid plan**, as low as RM30 a month (existing Maxis customers can continue with their current postpaid plan).

If you’ve recently booked your BlackBerry® Bold™ 9700, please click on the button below to choose a Maxis Centre and time slot for collecting your device. Your BlackBerry® Bold™ 9700 will be ready for collection from 23rd to 25th Jan 2010. It’s time to start living life bold!

Wonder if the Maxis Bold 9700 is unlocked unit? Read so many people complaining BAD blackberry service from Maxis!! Anyone who can enlighted us newbies?

jonrwg
post Jan 21 2010, 10:17 PM

1,353 posts

i also wanna know the answer. xD
i went to bluecube at pavalion they told me the same thing..
hmm..
i think tmr i will go KLCC maxis center and ask whether is unlock or nt..
nightrod
post Jan 21 2010, 10:40 PM

34 posts

I've received the email and booked the unit today as well right after some clarification from the maxis personnel...

1. The unit is without contract
2. Its unlocked...meaning that it can be use with other telcos
3. RM 360 for "One" year on BIS Unlimited but they'll charged upfront. Its like pay rm120 for 3 mths then the rest 9 mths is free.

The only dispute which they'll investigate, in my email from maxis, its written that

"* RM360 will be charged into your first month bill.
** Applicable to any principal and supplementary lines.
For company purchase (Corporate/SME), please refer to your Maxis account managers to Pre book."

the maxis personnel mentioned that i need to pay upfront the rm 360 prior to collect the Onyx but its stated differently(see *)....so guys, do call maxis on this if its written clearly on your email before collecting your unit, if not sure can "gaduh" big time at maxis center...

will update once got the answer from them
k00Lric
post Jan 21 2010, 10:49 PM

121 posts

To Bold 9700 user,

How long can you battery last? Mind to share? And how to you prolong the battery usage?
xander
post Jan 21 2010, 11:18 PM

Finally
836 posts

maxis guy keep calling me as i book one wif them online n verified that i will go collect on monday which i won't b going.

just playin wif them

lol
jonrwg
post Jan 22 2010, 12:03 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(nightrod @ Jan 21 2010, 10:40 PM)
I've received the email and booked the unit today as well right after some clarification from the maxis personnel...

1. The unit is without contract
2. Its unlocked...meaning that it can be use with other telcos
3. RM 360 for "One" year on BIS Unlimited but they'll charged upfront. Its like pay rm120 for 3 mths then the rest 9 mths is free.

The only dispute which they'll investigate, in my email from maxis, its written that

"* RM360 will be charged into your first month bill.
** Applicable to any principal and supplementary lines.
For company purchase (Corporate/SME), please refer to your Maxis account managers to Pre book."

the maxis personnel mentioned that i need to pay upfront the rm 360 prior to collect the Onyx but its stated differently(see *)....so guys, do call maxis on this if its written clearly on your email before collecting your unit, if not sure can "gaduh" big time at maxis center...

will update once got the answer from them
* means that when I go and collect the BB I have to pay RM360 on the spot 1st?
Lazyboy
post Jan 22 2010, 12:17 AM

399 posts

I got my 9700 from bluecube, that is why I can say it is possible to get from bluecube without contract. Do note that my set from bluecube is a t-mobile tatoo set.

hnr2802
post Jan 22 2010, 12:59 AM

627 posts

QUOTE(Lazyboy @ Jan 22 2010, 12:17 AM)
I got my 9700 from bluecube, that is why I can say it is possible to get from bluecube without contract.  Do note that my set from bluecube is a t-mobile tatoo set.
t-mobile tatooted??!! shocking.gif

i thought celcom affiliated with vodafone.
jonrwg
post Jan 22 2010, 02:17 AM

1,353 posts

I got my 9700 from bluecube, that is why I can say it is possible to get from bluecube without contract.  Do note that my set from bluecube is a t-mobile tatoo set.
which branch did u went?
sokaik80
post Jan 22 2010, 04:22 AM

149 posts

Hi guys. Anyone interested with a new bold from celcom? I'm a 9700 user. As I'm going to upgrade my call plan soon, I'm entitled to buy a new bold 2 at lower price:) anyone?
syuk
post Jan 22 2010, 08:59 AM

121 posts

better u double check, izit come with i-samart warranty card? coz nomally celcom set is with vodafon and not t-mobile tatoo hmm.gif
nightrod
post Jan 22 2010, 09:37 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(jonrwg @ Jan 22 2010, 12:03 AM)
that's my argument with them...once got the answer from them, will update here
Lazyboy
post Jan 22 2010, 10:13 AM

399 posts

Guess what I am saying is, I went to Bluecube, got a 9700 without contract for non-contract price. I don't give a darn whether it has a tatoo or whether it the same set as what Celcom is selling (vodafone).

Bottom line, I got it without contract, which is what I want.
k00Lric
post Jan 22 2010, 11:37 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(Lazyboy @ Jan 22 2010, 10:13 AM)
Guess what I am saying is, I went to Bluecube, got a 9700 without contract for non-contract price.  I don't give a darn whether it has a tatoo or whether it the same set as what Celcom is selling (vodafone). 

Bottom line, I got it without contract, which is what I want.
Which branch of blue cube you went to and how much did u pay for it? I would like to help my fren to get 1 since no-contract is needed to get the bold 9700.

This post has been edited by k00Lric: Jan 22 2010, 11:38 AM
sakastik
post Jan 22 2010, 12:20 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(sokaik80 @ Jan 22 2010, 04:22 AM)
Hi guys. Anyone interested with a new bold from celcom? I'm a 9700 user. As I'm going to upgrade my call plan soon, I'm entitled to buy a new bold 2 at lower price:) anyone?
how much is the "lower price" that they offer?
zergg
post Jan 22 2010, 12:21 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(sokaik80 @ Jan 22 2010, 04:22 AM)
i want i want..
details pls
sonyclie77
post Jan 22 2010, 12:35 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(Lazyboy @ Jan 21 2010, 08:03 PM)
It is without contract but you still have to subscribe to the unlimited BIS for 3 months to get the phone at that price.  I am scheduled for a Monday pickup as well.  Earliest is starting this Saturday so I imagine no one has got their Maxis set yet. 

I will probably pass for that price and condition.  I will get my set elsewhere.
Actually I think it's an OK price, but that's just me.

And I personally think RM30 x 12 is a deal as well. This would by far be the lowest BIS Unlimited offered by any telco at this point of time. Only catch is that you have to pay RM360 upfront in the upcoming bill.

QUOTE(myjfk @ Jan 21 2010, 10:07 PM)
I just called Celcom Bluecube yesterday and the CSO told me cannot buy 9700 without Celcom Blackberry contract!
Anyone know and can confirm otherwise?  ohmy.gif

Wonder if the Maxis Bold 9700 is unlocked unit? Read so many people complaining BAD blackberry service from Maxis!! Anyone who can enlighted us newbies?
Maxis units are usually unlocked. I don't see why they'll lock it this time. But I shall stand corrected as the 1st batch of maxis Bold 9700 owners will only get their units tomorrow.

And yes, maxis BlackBerry after sales service is bad, real bad. My Bold 9000 maxis unit has been sent for warranty for 10 weeks now. No news as to when it will be out. Sigh. Longest I've heard is a 4 months waiting period for warranty claims!

QUOTE(jonrwg @ Jan 22 2010, 12:03 AM)
You only pay RM2,099 and the RM360 will be charged to your upcoming maxis bill.

Didin't know Bluecube sells AP units as well.

How much did you get yours for if you don't mind sharing? smile.gif
jonrwg
post Jan 22 2010, 04:32 PM

1,353 posts

You only pay RM2,099 and the RM360 will be charged to your upcoming maxis bill.

i just came back from KLCC maxis center to clarify this thing and you know what they told me? LOL
they say the plan for bold 2 is not official yet so the RM360 is not official and he ask me to book the BB and pay RM2099 only.. blink.gif
so what is going on? sweat.gif
and before that i went to One Utama maxis and ask them they say Rm360 will be charged but Klcc maxis say is nt official? so which is true?
StrayLight
post Jan 22 2010, 04:59 PM

50 posts

It seems they have taken down the link to set your date and time of collection as well. I just called them and they said they'll revert back to me :S
nightrod
post Jan 22 2010, 05:57 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(jonrwg @ Jan 22 2010, 04:32 PM)
i just came back from KLCC maxis center to clarify this thing and you know what they told me? LOL
they say the plan for bold 2 is not official yet so the RM360 is not official and he ask me to book the BB and pay RM2099 only..  blink.gif
so what is going on?  sweat.gif
and before that i went to One Utama maxis and ask them they say Rm360 will be charged but Klcc maxis say is nt official? so which is true?
in my case, called their hotline (123) for clarification. They knew and aware on the Onyx promo but just the BIS charges RM 360 they personnel claimed that need to pay on the spot as collecting the phone. To me, i'll adhere to the email as stated which will pay on the 1st month bill rather than 2099 plus 360 on the spot.
StrayLight
post Jan 22 2010, 06:10 PM

50 posts

So is the promotion and offer still valid? Cause the link is broken for me :S If so, I will just pop by one of the Maxis centres.
sonyclie77
post Jan 22 2010, 10:18 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(nightrod @ Jan 22 2010, 05:57 PM)
in my case, called their hotline (123) for clarification. They knew and aware on the Onyx promo but just the BIS charges RM 360 they personnel claimed that need to pay on the spot as collecting the phone. To me, i'll adhere to the email as stated which will pay on the 1st month bill rather than 2099 plus 360 on the spot.
I'll argue that it's supposed to be charged on the 1st bill as written in the invitation to collect the Onyx website. tongue.gif

But well, paying an extra RM360 upfront is OK I guess. hmm.gif
foogie
post Jan 22 2010, 10:20 PM

505 posts

do not trust maxis, been lied to by them countless times adee. especially the staff at maxis center etc. If wanna ask helpline also call and ask from at least 3 different helpline staff and make sure their statements are similar, if not, write down the names of all the staff that u come in contact with and prefrably record the conversation. otherwise they are going to treat u like an idiot
Lazyboy
post Jan 22 2010, 10:38 PM

399 posts

Bunch of jokers! Anyways, nowhere in the website I can read pay RM 360 for unlimited BIS for 12 months! It states 3 months worth only.
jonrwg
post Jan 22 2010, 10:47 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(Lazyboy @ Jan 22 2010, 10:38 PM)
Bunch of jokers! Anyways, nowhere in the website I can read pay RM 360 for unlimited BIS for 12 months! It states 3 months worth only.
but the staff in KLCC n One Utama told me is 12months.. blink.gif
Lazyboy
post Jan 22 2010, 10:49 PM

399 posts

I guess we will find out tomorrow when the first batch of folks go to pick up their 9700s.
sonyclie77
post Jan 22 2010, 10:50 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(foogie @ Jan 22 2010, 10:20 PM)
do not trust maxis, been lied to by them countless times adee. especially the staff at maxis center etc. If wanna ask helpline also call and ask from at least 3 different helpline staff and make sure their statements are similar, if not, write down the names of all the staff that u come in contact with and prefrably record the conversation. otherwise they are going to treat u like an idiot
This I agree. Must get the name of the person who attended to you. At least if anything happens you know who to pinpoint.

QUOTE(Lazyboy @ Jan 22 2010, 10:38 PM)
To quote from the email I received from maxis:

Enjoy 12 months of BIS Unlimited Plan at only RM360* and save 75% from the normal price (Normal price: RM120 x 12 months = RM1,440).

That means you now only pay RM30 per month for BIS Unlimited. That's 75% savings from the usual RM120 maxis users are paying for BIS Unlimited.

If you look at it from another point of view, RM360 (RM30 x12) is equivalent to normal usage's 3 months (RM120 x3).
Lazyboy
post Jan 22 2010, 10:56 PM

399 posts

I read and understand your email and math smile.gif I just don't see that mentioned in the maxis website as part of the promotional condition (it just say 3 months) nor part of the plan webpage.

In any case, we will all get word tomorrow from those who are getting their sets tomorrow.
skydays
post Jan 22 2010, 10:58 PM

32 posts

in maxis website they stated is 3 months, but in the email received is RM 360 for 12 months...
azfaz
post Jan 22 2010, 11:01 PM

139 posts

if u read properly it stated u r paying only for 3 months (120X3=360) but enjoying for 12months free unlimited.

so basically u pay only 3 months for for the 1 year service...
Lazyboy
post Jan 22 2010, 11:02 PM

399 posts

If it is indeed some promotion, then what the email states sounds more like a promotion compared to what is stated on the website (3 months of unlimited for the standard monthly RM 120 rate), which isn't really a promotion but rather a contractual term (as in you have to fork out money for the unlimited BIS plan if you are existing Maxis user or if not existing Maxis user, have to sign up for a mobile plan + unlimited BIS).

Anyways, speculations it is. Things will be clearer tomorrow.

Added on January 22, 2010, 11:04 pmsorry, I do not read the "enjoying 12 months part" on their website. I did not get any emails from Maxis other than the one shared by sonyclie77.

Unless I miss some fine print somewhere on their website.

This post has been edited by Lazyboy: Jan 22 2010, 11:04 PM
sonyclie77
post Jan 22 2010, 11:06 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(Lazyboy @ Jan 22 2010, 10:56 PM)
I read and understand your email and math smile.gif I just don't see that mentioned in the maxis website as part of the promotional condition (it just say 3 months) nor part of the plan webpage. 

In any case, we will all get word tomorrow from those who are getting their sets tomorrow.
QUOTE(skydays @ Jan 22 2010, 10:58 PM)
in maxis website they stated is 3 months, but in the email received is RM 360 for 12 months...
My mistake for not checking maxis's site. Now I see where the confusion is from. Cos all the while I relied on information from the email only.

So it's either those who pre-ordered their Bold 9700 from maxis are entitled to the RM30x12 promotion, or maxis made a typo in their website whereby it should state 12 months instead of 3. hmm.gif
jonrwg
post Jan 22 2010, 11:37 PM

1,353 posts

cant wait for tmr den.. hope everything is clear and i will get mine.. HAHHA
nightrod
post Jan 22 2010, 11:55 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Jan 22 2010, 10:18 PM)
I'll argue that it's supposed to be charged on the 1st bill as written in the invitation to collect the Onyx website. tongue.gif

But well, paying an extra RM360 upfront is OK I guess.  hmm.gif
I agreed, to add another 360 for unlimited usage for the next 12 months, is hell of savings even to compare with digi plan (i would say cheapest rate in town). its just a matter of principle as stated on the email as received. But again if charged 360 on the first bill, at least can default the payment to the following month rclxms.gif

just hope that to those collecting their set tomorrow, pls give some feedback via their new 9700 brows.gif
Spoodo
post Jan 23 2010, 01:28 AM

130 posts

just got back from the Blackberry Bold 9700 Official East Msia Launch...and i got it for RM988!! woohoo!! 1st 50 customers!! i was no. 1!! WHAHAHAH
jonrwg
post Jan 23 2010, 03:03 PM

1,353 posts

anyone got their BB already? xD
chkhoo76
post Jan 23 2010, 03:38 PM

Techie from Earth
1,246 posts

Just got it today from Celcom.... Nice
zergg
post Jan 23 2010, 04:00 PM

383 posts

eh, east malaysia still available kah?
i wanna buy as well..
do you mean the sarawak branach or wat sad.gif
yktan83
post Jan 23 2010, 07:17 PM

257 posts

jz got one from lowyat plaza today, it costs me rm2000 which is SIM-free

i got few questions i hope u all can help to answer:
1) does SIM-free mean it is unlocked?
2) the serial number printed at the battery slot is same as the one printed on the box, so it should be original not AP?

jonrwg
post Jan 23 2010, 08:02 PM

1,353 posts

2000 should be AP coz i went and ask there b4.. they told me tat..
yktan83
post Jan 23 2010, 08:22 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(jonrwg @ Jan 23 2010, 08:02 PM)
2000 should be AP coz i went and ask there b4.. they told me tat..
argh??!! i was told tat it is original, not AP shocking.gif
how to verify if the device is original or AP?

fyi, it comes with 1 year warranty =(

This post has been edited by yktan83: Jan 23 2010, 08:25 PM
jonrwg
post Jan 23 2010, 08:59 PM

1,353 posts

not sure.. that guy told me like this.. LOL..
he quote me 2300 den i say why some shop selling 2000 n less
den he say tat is ap set.. but don noe is true or nt..

got warranty den ok la.. xD
DT8
post Jan 23 2010, 09:18 PM

In Trance We Trust
851 posts

They BS. There's only two different types of BB, imported from overseas (overseas telco unlocked set) or local telco distribution type like Celcom/Maxis sets. They're still original BB.
Alphamania
post Jan 23 2010, 09:38 PM

QUOTE(jonrwg @ Jan 23 2010, 03:03 PM)
anyone got their BB already? xD
Just got my Bold 2 from Maxis KLCC this afternoon. I'm lucky to be the first 300 who pre registered via maxis website. Paid RM2099+RM 360(Advanced 3 mths BIS 120-Unlimited) and i get another 9 mths free BIS 120. Meaning i get full year of Unlimited BIS. I think this is a good deal.... on top of that, the Customer service girl told me i will get the Jabra Bluetooth headset FOC. But the headset will be delivered in later time direct from their supplier.

yktan83
post Jan 23 2010, 09:50 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(DT8 @ Jan 23 2010, 09:18 PM)
They BS. There's only two different types of BB, imported from overseas (overseas telco unlocked set) or local telco distribution type like Celcom/Maxis sets. They're still original BB.
yeah i think u r right, same as wat my fren told me smile.gif
jonrwg
post Jan 23 2010, 09:52 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(Alphamania @ Jan 23 2010, 09:38 PM)
Just got my Bold 2 from Maxis KLCC this afternoon. I'm lucky to be the first 300 who pre registered via maxis website. Paid RM2099+RM 360(Advanced 3 mths BIS 120-Unlimited) and i get another 9 mths free BIS 120. Meaning i get full year of Unlimited BIS. I think this is a good deal.... on top of that, the Customer service girl told me i will get the Jabra Bluetooth headset FOC. But the headset will be delivered in later time direct from their supplier.
damn gud deal la.. rclxms.gif
u noe the promotion until when?
aKatoRA
post Jan 23 2010, 09:56 PM

248 posts

can i ask a ques. When incoming call, your phone ring+vibrate or ring then only vibrate?
silencer
post Jan 23 2010, 10:08 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(aKatoRA @ Jan 23 2010, 09:56 PM)
can i ask a ques. When incoming call, your phone ring+vibrate or ring then only vibrate?
if u set the vibration on..it will vibrate first before the ring+vibration......
StrayLight
post Jan 23 2010, 10:31 PM

50 posts

Hey guys, I haven't set up my BIS yet. Should I logon to maxis.blackberry.com and do it? I got my unit this afternoon from Maxis Pavillion and the attendant said to wait 24 hours. Any advice?
Lazyboy
post Jan 23 2010, 11:01 PM

399 posts

That is good to hear that the email earlier is indeed true and it is indeed a good deal!
xwhizx
post Jan 23 2010, 11:07 PM

135 posts

Hi guys, I havent apply for BIS service.. Is it true that I can't use the WiFi connection if dont have the BIS ? Until now, I still can't online with my wifi. Pls help
Lazyboy
post Jan 23 2010, 11:12 PM

399 posts

Btw, anyone interested in a brand new AP set with 1 year warranty (T-Mobile tattoo) + receipt let me know. I have a friend letting his go for 2K.

Added on January 23, 2010, 11:13 pm
QUOTE(xwhizx @ Jan 23 2010, 11:07 PM)
Hi guys, I havent apply for BIS service.. Is it true that I can't use the WiFi connection if dont have the BIS ? Until now, I still can't online with my wifi. Pls help
Most BB apps and functionality will not work without BIS.

This post has been edited by Lazyboy: Jan 23 2010, 11:13 PM
little_pixie
post Jan 23 2010, 11:18 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(xwhizx @ Jan 23 2010, 11:07 PM)
I think you should know more if you are ready to be BB convert. Ok read carefully :

NO BIS NO EVERYTHING. You only can SMS and call. Don't ask about MMS or Wifi, I stated before in the first sentence.
ezra_29
post Jan 24 2010, 01:15 AM

72 posts

hi all...
i read from other forum it says that
bold 2 OS 5.0.0.726 had launch...
any of u try this???
Reventon
post Jan 25 2010, 01:23 AM

2,921 posts

Just got my unit from Maxis Pavillion today and get the 9700 rclxm9.gif , paid RM2099 for the set + RM360 ( 12 months unlimited BIS ) . No pre order needed and i just walked in to get the set. Earlier went to celcom upstairs but they refuse to sell me the set only without contract. shakehead.gif
nightrod
post Jan 25 2010, 03:01 AM

34 posts

Got my Onyx this afternoon, just pay rm 2459 & an hour later cn use the BIS oredi...infact I'm using my 9700 to type here icon_rolleyes.gif

About the free gift, the staff asked me to click to maxis main site to redeem, but can't find anywhere in their site as claimed!! Those collected their pre book Onyx, cn u guys verify this?
StrayLight
post Jan 25 2010, 04:48 AM

50 posts

How did you get your BIS activated so fast! I was told there's a technical problem so they wouldn't be able to activate mine till tomorrow.. I think it's because I'm on prepaid.
Reventon
post Jan 25 2010, 05:04 AM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(StrayLight @ Jan 25 2010, 04:48 AM)
How did you get your BIS activated so fast! I was told there's a technical problem so they wouldn't be able to activate mine till tomorrow.. I think it's because I'm on prepaid.
My BIS activated almost immediately over the maxis pavilion yesterday. thumbup.gif for maxis
StrayLight
post Jan 25 2010, 05:22 AM

50 posts

Are you on prepaid or postpaid?
Reventon
post Jan 25 2010, 06:01 AM

2,921 posts

Postpaid , as i heard most forummer mention need at least 24 hours , surprised i get it immediately , if not roughly 30 mins after subscribe for it
skydays
post Jan 25 2010, 07:51 AM

32 posts

Hi.. I got my set at maxis KLCC yest. The promotion for pre register in their website is really true. Like others said, juz paid rm2459 n entitle for 12 months BIS. The BIS service activate rite after the guy activated for me. Happy user here..
davehii
post Jan 25 2010, 10:03 AM

Chilling
607 posts

sorry noob question, if i want to buy 9700 in malaysia, what are my choices? can i buy it without any "contract"? what is the price
7thsky
post Jan 25 2010, 11:54 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(davehii @ Jan 25 2010, 10:03 AM)
sorry noob question, if i want to buy 9700 in malaysia, what are my choices? can i buy it without any "contract"? what is the price
hi davehii,
some answers in ealier discussions in this thread and few other; also in 'garage sale' section. in summary, u can purchase non-cotractual unit from telco (1988 celcom, maxis 2099) or resellers (start price from 2k). check the garage sale for forum sellers. double check issues on warranty and PIN release (if from non official unit). pick a good center/seller as they'll make your life easier when problem arises. don't just look at the dollar tag.

happy hunting!
nightrod
post Jan 25 2010, 12:24 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(StrayLight @ Jan 25 2010, 04:48 AM)
I'm on postpaid...my BIS can be use less than 10 mins plus minus lar. I'm very happy now thumbup.gif
7thsky
post Jan 25 2010, 12:32 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(skydays @ Jan 25 2010, 07:51 AM)
Hi.. I got my set at maxis KLCC yest. The promotion for pre register in their website is really true. Like others said, juz paid rm2459 n entitle for 12 months BIS. The BIS service activate rite after the guy activated for me. Happy user here..
hi,
this may sound a little over cautios but did maxis gave u guys any written 'letter'/verification that the '12 month unlimited BIZ is included on the purchase price'? knowing maxis, and the fact that i can't find any statement on this 'bonus' is a puzzle - i believe they would actively promote it as a plus and put it upfont if it's as simple as that..? those who got the emails at least have evident to support possible charges issues later. previous occassions, different centers say different things everytime.

skydays,
sorry to add this on your thread space; m buying for my sis but want to verify this first. cheers!
nikshine
post Jan 25 2010, 01:13 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(7thsky @ Jan 25 2010, 12:32 PM)
hi,
this may sound a little over cautios but did maxis gave u guys any written 'letter'/verification that the '12 month unlimited BIZ is included on the purchase price'? knowing maxis, and the fact that i can't find any statement on this 'bonus' is a puzzle - i believe they would actively promote it as a plus and put it upfont if it's as simple as that..? those who got the emails at least have evident to support possible charges issues later. previous occassions, different centers say different things everytime.

skydays,
sorry to add this on your thread space; m buying for my sis but want to verify this first. cheers!
I am currently using bold 9000 on digi BIS. The package offered by MAXIS sounds good. If I take the package and swap my existing digi SIM, would the new bold 9700 works? I plan to give my bold 9000 to my wife using maxis. Thanks guys n gals.
davehii
post Jan 25 2010, 01:18 PM

Chilling
607 posts

QUOTE(7thsky @ Jan 25 2010, 11:54 AM)
hi davehii,
some answers in ealier discussions in this thread and few other; also in 'garage sale' section. in summary, u can purchase non-cotractual unit from telco (1988 celcom, maxis 2099) or resellers (start price from 2k). check the garage sale for forum sellers. double check issues on warranty and PIN release (if from non official unit). pick a good center/seller as they'll make your life easier when problem arises. don't just look at the dollar tag.

happy hunting!
hi 7thsky, since celcom is offering the lowest price, i think that's the best and official channel to get the unit, any other concern?
raydha
post Jan 25 2010, 01:39 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(nikshine @ Jan 25 2010, 01:13 PM)
I am currently using bold 9000 on digi BIS. The package offered by MAXIS sounds good. If I take the package and swap my existing digi SIM, would the new bold 9700 works? I plan to give my bold 9000 to my wife using maxis. Thanks guys n gals.
nikshine,
i think there is no problem if u swap ur carrier. just change ur apn address.
ur digi bis don hv contract rite?

Added on January 25, 2010, 1:59 pm
QUOTE(Reventon @ Jan 25 2010, 06:01 AM)
Postpaid , as i heard most forummer mention need at least 24 hours , surprised i get it immediately , if not roughly 30 mins after subscribe for it
careful bro,
if they said 24 hours, then it's 24 hrs.
or else they will charge u with GPRS service if u browse to net.
it happen to me.. they said i should wait for 24 hrs before bis is fully activated. even u can see the bb icon on ur home screen. try check ur bill

This post has been edited by raydha: Jan 25 2010, 01:59 PM
mfitri77
post Jan 25 2010, 03:47 PM

1,167 posts

Got it from Bluecube, here in Seremban. BIS activated in 2 minutes. The fact that I am listed as a business customer may have something to do with it, or I am just very-very lucky.
Reventon
post Jan 25 2010, 03:54 PM

2,921 posts

i have check with CS thru 123 , and also the manager at maxis pavilion about the RM 360 for the 12 month unlimited BIS. Everyone is giving the same answer and this offer is valid somewhere in 28 Feb .
beguiler
post Jan 25 2010, 04:08 PM

145 posts

i would like to know is it any day before february 28 i buy bold 2 from maxis ( 2099 + 360 ) i will entitled to whole year BIS unlimited and 9 months FOC BIS unlimited? i am kinda confused and i got a little pull back because i just got my bold back after i sent to maxis for warranty for more than 4 months..thats why need to make it clear..can anyone answer me..as the website stated include 3 months upfront BIS unlimited only..never mentioned about whole year FOC also?

This post has been edited by beguiler: Jan 25 2010, 04:09 PM
StrayLight
post Jan 25 2010, 04:38 PM

50 posts

Sigh, I signed up for the BB 9700 plan under Maxis 2 days ago at Pavillion and they have yet to activate my BIS service.. They keep redirecting me to Hotlink because I'm a prepaid user and Hotlink keeps telling me to call Maxis. Very poor service especially from the CS reps.
nightrod
post Jan 25 2010, 09:48 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(beguiler @ Jan 25 2010, 04:08 PM)
i would like to know is it any day before february 28 i buy bold 2 from maxis ( 2099 + 360 ) i will entitled to whole year BIS unlimited and 9 months FOC BIS unlimited? i am kinda confused and i got a little pull back because i just got my bold back after i sent to maxis for warranty for more than 4 months..thats why need to make it clear..can anyone answer me..as the website stated include 3 months upfront BIS unlimited only..never mentioned about whole year FOC also?
As long u receive the email from them prior your booking earlier, it clearly stated in your personalised email in which the 360 for 12 months, cause in the site will only mentioned 3 months only (120x3)...received call early this morning reg my dispute with them earlier, they allowed me to purchased 2099 and the 360 on the next 1st month bill...anyway its too late since i've collected the Onyx yesterday with upfront 360...cannot "tahan" mah!

Reventon
post Jan 25 2010, 09:48 PM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(beguiler @ Jan 25 2010, 04:08 PM)
You can call up maxis centre 123 to query about that and double check with officer at the maxis center , i have taken up that offer and being told that it was indeed 12 months for RM360 paid rclxms.gif
nightrod
post Jan 25 2010, 09:49 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(StrayLight @ Jan 25 2010, 04:38 PM)
Sigh, I signed up for the BB 9700 plan under Maxis 2 days ago at Pavillion and they have yet to activate my BIS service.. They keep redirecting me to Hotlink because I'm a prepaid user and Hotlink keeps telling me to call Maxis. Very poor service especially from the CS reps.
Just complain to them everyday....

Added on January 25, 2010, 9:51 pmjust wanna check with Onyx users out there, can I install mobile garmin to my phone? at least more accurate

This post has been edited by nightrod: Jan 25 2010, 09:51 PM
notyboysn
post Jan 25 2010, 10:19 PM

93 posts

just wanna check..anybody got the phone without contract from celcom or maxis? paying the full RRP
tabs
post Jan 25 2010, 10:28 PM

Gadget Siao @@
2,587 posts

want to double check how much it cost currently if i buy from maxis?? ned to sign up bis for how long?
Lazyboy
post Jan 25 2010, 10:32 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(tabs @ Jan 25 2010, 10:28 PM)
want to double check how much it cost currently if i buy from maxis?? ned to sign up bis for how long?
I guess if I understood correctly from the various posts here (including my own conversation with a rep over the weekend), there is really no contract as like the offer from Celcom. For Maxis, you pay RM 2099 for the phone and an upfront RM 360 for BIS unlimited service (normally 120/month) for a 12-months worth of service. Technically, you could terminate this service anytime but why would you since you have already paid for the entire years of unlimited BIS service. Make sense?
Reventon
post Jan 25 2010, 10:45 PM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(notyboysn @ Jan 25 2010, 10:19 PM)
just wanna check..anybody got the phone without contract from celcom or maxis? paying the full RRP
I went to celcom , they refuse to sell me the unit without contract , for maxis , yes and in fact they do not have any plan currently for the 9700 onyx . Buy it at RM 2099 .
sonyclie77
post Jan 26 2010, 12:09 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(Lazyboy @ Jan 25 2010, 10:32 PM)
I guess if I understood correctly from the various posts here (including my own conversation with a rep over the weekend), there is really no contract as like the offer from Celcom.  For Maxis, you pay RM 2099 for the phone and an upfront RM 360 for BIS unlimited service (normally 120/month) for a 12-months worth of service.  Technically, you could terminate this service anytime but why would you since you have already paid for the entire years of unlimited BIS service.  Make sense?
Yes absolutely spot on. smile.gif

Nice move of maxis to do so.

Only grasp is that you have to pay RM360 upfront, thus having a payment of RM 2,459 when you purchase your Bold 9700.
Reventon
post Jan 26 2010, 05:51 AM

2,921 posts

Hello BB folks ,

i notice the BB 9700 share similar charger with nokia N97 , will it damage my BB if i use my N97 charger , because i have one Car charger so sharing it will be more convenience on the go.
wintzen
post Jan 26 2010, 08:12 AM

1,416 posts

I think the Maxis promo is quite good for anyone who are getting the Bold 2. Coz RM30 for unlimited, it's quite worth the money. Haha, but why don't they extend this for the rest of the customers.
StrayLight
post Jan 26 2010, 11:27 AM

50 posts

My umpteenth call to Maxis led to the same result as all the previous efforts: "We'll check and update you as soon as possible". This is by far the worst service I've ever encountered. It's Day 3 and I have yet to have my BIS Service activated when those on postpaid can get theirs within minutes. Sigh Maxis.
sonyclie77
post Jan 26 2010, 12:20 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Jan 26 2010, 05:51 AM)
Hello BB folks ,

i notice the BB 9700 share similar charger with nokia N97 , will it damage my BB if i use my N97 charger , because i have one Car charger so sharing it will be more convenience on the go.
I use a car charger intended for the Motorola V8 which I bought some time ago.

Same port as the BlackBerry's port, microUSB. So no issues in charging. smile.gif
nu freedom
post Jan 26 2010, 02:09 PM

just want to ask..if i buy a bb from celcom, can i use maxis bis/bes service on it?
Reventon
post Jan 26 2010, 03:18 PM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Jan 26 2010, 12:20 PM)

Same port as the BlackBerry's port, microUSB. So no issues in charging. smile.gif
Okay thanks , i just worried it will damage the batt because using other manufacturer's charger. hmm.gif
mamakap
post Jan 26 2010, 04:03 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Jan 26 2010, 12:20 PM)

I m using Nokia N97 charger on my Blackberry device. Make sure is the original charger, not like those imitation cheapo charger. It will damage your battery.
sonyclie77
post Jan 26 2010, 04:09 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

What mamakap said is correct.

As long as it's original and the port is the same, you can use it.
sordanny
post Jan 26 2010, 04:57 PM

3,009 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Jan 26 2010, 04:09 PM)

just want to ask
say if i get an Onyx set from Europe (240v)
and if i were to use it in USA (120v), i just have to buy a North American charger and it will charge without damaging the battery or phone?
does this apply to laptops also? (sorry for a bit o.t)

thanks in advance for the help
Reventon
post Jan 26 2010, 11:11 PM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(sonyclie77 @ Jan 26 2010, 04:09 PM)

Okay , thanks , mine is original car charger from nokia , so i will use it with ease biggrin.gif , thanks for the input
7thsky
post Jan 26 2010, 11:19 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(nu freedom @ Jan 26 2010, 02:09 PM)
just want to ask..if i buy a bb from celcom, can i use maxis bis/bes service on it?
if the PIN is released, you can use BIS with maxis or any telcos
sonyclie77
post Jan 26 2010, 11:24 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(sordanny @ Jan 26 2010, 04:57 PM)
just want to ask
say if i get an Onyx set from Europe (240v)
and if i were to use it in USA (120v), i just have to buy a North American charger and it will charge without damaging the battery or phone?
does this apply to laptops also? (sorry for a bit o.t)

thanks in advance for the help
Yes just buy a local charger when you reach North America and you'll be good to go. smile.gif
7thsky
post Jan 26 2010, 11:42 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(davehii @ Jan 25 2010, 01:18 PM)
hi 7thsky, since celcom is offering the lowest price, i think that's the best and official channel to get the unit, any other concern?
slightly lower ya but doubt it u can get one from celcom as its selling like hot cakes n ive heard centers not selling one except with contracts! maxis seems to b giving "12 months' BIS access for the price of 3 months' fees " which if true is cheaper when you add in your bis costs later .
some users had to wait months for the unit repair - maxis/celcom seems especially delayed as 'they have to send unit back to canada'; so if your center /seller is good u'd b given temp unit while yours at workshop.

otherwise, if u've picked a model n r smitten by one, and money in the pocket i'll say go grab one!
weileong
post Jan 27 2010, 10:50 PM

1,720 posts

Maxis win both hand at the moment when u purchase the BOLD 9700 thumbup.gif
sonyclie77
post Jan 27 2010, 11:12 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(7thsky @ Jan 26 2010, 11:42 PM)
slightly lower ya but doubt it u can get one from celcom as its selling like hot cakes n ive heard centers not selling one except with contracts! maxis seems to b giving "12 months' BIS access for the price of 3 months' fees " which if true is cheaper when you add in your bis costs later .
some users had to wait months for the unit repair - maxis/celcom seems especially delayed as 'they have to send unit back to canada'; so if your center /seller is good u'd b given temp unit while yours at workshop.

otherwise, if u've picked a model n r smitten by one, and money in the pocket i'll say go grab one!
It's true. Bought one via Maxis myself. smile.gif

Reventon
post Jan 28 2010, 03:13 PM

2,921 posts

Os 5.0.0.423 , put idled around 7 hours with full charge , energy from 100% dropped to 80% on 3G with everything connected like BBM , MSN , Mail etc..
Is it normal ?
weileong
post Jan 28 2010, 10:36 PM

1,720 posts

yup..is normal same like mine...+- , for USB sync n charge cable , you can use Nokia E71,E72 to Sync n Charge your battery while you using your Desktop/Laptop thumbup.gif
zhou86
post Jan 28 2010, 10:46 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

Hey all,

Wanna ask about the GPS of Bold 2.
Do i have to pay anything extra to use the GPS on the phone? Or is it free with the phone?

Spoodo
post Jan 28 2010, 10:57 PM

130 posts

GPS usage is free, only thing u pay for is the data you use to download the maps if they are stored OTA.
Jason
post Jan 29 2010, 12:28 AM

6,356 posts

question..for Windows Live Messenger on Blackberry.. after you quit the app can you keep your status online and have messages pushed to you?
hnr2802
post Jan 29 2010, 12:55 AM

627 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jan 29 2010, 12:28 AM)
question..for Windows Live Messenger on Blackberry.. after you quit the app can you keep your status online and have messages pushed to you?
no. the only way to do this is by keeping Windows Live Messenger app running. Press End Call button to keep the app running in the bg.
zhou86
post Jan 29 2010, 01:04 AM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(Spoodo @ Jan 28 2010, 10:57 PM)
GPS usage is free, only thing u pay for is the data you use to download the maps if they are stored OTA.
But with Maxis BIS Premium should be able to support without busting the cap right?
Jason
post Jan 29 2010, 01:09 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(hnr2802 @ Jan 29 2010, 12:55 AM)
no. the only way to do this is by keeping Windows Live Messenger app running. Press End Call button to keep the app running in the bg.
i assume that way you would still be connected to 3G? which means additional battery drain? thanks.
quite sucks no PUSH IM then. i'm getting an iphone.
feno
post Jan 29 2010, 11:49 AM

99 posts

my onyx coming with OS v5.0.0.405 (platform 5.1.0.112)
-renoma-
post Jan 29 2010, 01:56 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jan 29 2010, 12:28 AM)
Yes. It will push notification to you as long as you dont sign out from MSN. Many BBians are using MSN and stay connected 24 hours. You can close the MSN but not sign out from it !!
hnr2802
post Jan 29 2010, 02:21 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jan 29 2010, 01:09 AM)
i assume that way you would still be connected to 3G? which means additional battery drain? thanks.
quite sucks no PUSH IM then. i'm getting an iphone.
bro, in any circumstances you will always connected to 3G. Blackberry is an always on internet access. This is needed for any push notification to function. by leaving the app on it ill drain a bit of your battery but not so much. i suggest u try to leave the live messenger on to see how the battery goes.

btw, if you want some extra battery life. try changing the network connection to 2g only. this setting give me almost 4days with moderate use of my bb.

This post has been edited by hnr2802: Jan 29 2010, 02:24 PM
zhou86
post Jan 29 2010, 02:27 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(hnr2802 @ Jan 29 2010, 02:21 PM)
btw, if you want some extra battery life. try changing the network connection to 2g only. this setting give me almost 4days with moderate use of my bb.
But with 2G, still can leave MSN full time on?
-renoma-
post Jan 29 2010, 02:29 PM

430 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Jan 29 2010, 02:27 PM)
Yes. I disabled my 3G.
hnr2802
post Jan 29 2010, 02:50 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Jan 29 2010, 02:27 PM)
Yes u can still receive any push notification on '2g only network' if u r connected to BIS. it will show EDGE/GPRS signal in cap letters.

This post has been edited by hnr2802: Jan 29 2010, 02:57 PM
zhou86
post Jan 29 2010, 02:59 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

Cool, can save more battery. Thx
Reventon
post Jan 30 2010, 04:01 AM

2,921 posts

i updated my os to 5.0.0.442 , significantly showing improvement on battery life compare to previous 5.0.0.344 and also 5.0.0.423.
My benchmark is putting it idling on everything standby like msn, fb , icq, g talk , bbm , and mail.
The difference is around 15% and 20% in around 8 hours time. Tested for 2G and also 3G.
killerapp
post Jan 31 2010, 04:36 AM

84 posts

where is the best place for me to get outright bb 9700?some say celcom does not sell outright and some say there are celcom shops that sells it....which celcom shop sells it?and for maxis,there are ppl who say that there sell it for 2099 but have to subscribe to their BIS.

can anyone let me know which shop sells it(preferably celcom since they are selling the cheapest)?and since celcom sells it for 1998,does anyone bought it cheaper than the retail price?thanks
zhou86
post Jan 31 2010, 10:19 AM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

RM2464 from Maxis...Phone + 12 months BIS. Unless you don't want BIS and plan to use Wi-fi only.
little_pixie
post Jan 31 2010, 11:52 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Jan 31 2010, 10:19 AM)
RM2464 from Maxis...Phone + 12 months BIS. Unless you don't want BIS and plan to use Wi-fi only.
Cannot use wifi without BIS...
xSean
post Jan 31 2010, 02:35 PM

2,773 posts

QUOTE(little_pixie @ Jan 31 2010, 11:52 AM)
Cannot use wifi without BIS...
y cannot use wifi without bis? just very weird how this BB works..
humanjoy
post Jan 31 2010, 03:07 PM

63 posts

You must to subscribe to BIS (BlackBerry Internet Service), there's a monthly fee that you need to pay for this service. Then you can connect to BIS server (from your BlackBerry) either thru GPRS/EDGE/3G/HSDPA or Wi-Fi.

Generally, operators in Malaysia offer monthly fee along with data usage (GPRS/EDGE/3G/HSDPA) as a package. There are packages with limited data usage (e.g. 5MB or 10MB) or packages with unlimited data usage.

Theoretically, if you connect thru Wi-Fi, you only need pay BIS monthly fee (excluding data usage since you are on Wi-Fi). But this don't make a lot of sense because you will loose the "Push" functionality once you step out of Wi-Fi coverage. May be that's the reason why operator ALWAYS bundle data usage into the BIS package. So, when you step out of Wi-Fi coverage, your BlackBerry will automatically switch over to GPRS/EDGE/3G/HSDPA.

Hope that helps. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by humanjoy: Jan 31 2010, 03:09 PM
little_pixie
post Jan 31 2010, 03:27 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(xSean @ Jan 31 2010, 02:35 PM)
y cannot use wifi without bis? just very weird how this BB works..
Read this : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1312282
killerapp
post Feb 1 2010, 02:35 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Jan 31 2010, 10:19 AM)
the thing is i using celcom prepaid currently...not interested in getting a plan because i will be bringing the phone back to Australia...so just wanna get it outright and subscribe BIS is Australia. I went to Celcom Bluecube shop in Sunway Pyramid and they told me they run out of stock and the phone cannot be sold without plan. Anywhere i can get it outright?

jonrwg
post Feb 1 2010, 02:46 AM

1,353 posts

get it from maxis RM2099.. if u don1 the BIS tell them den u just buy the phone only.. i did tat.. xD
killerapp
post Feb 1 2010, 09:59 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(jonrwg @ Feb 1 2010, 02:46 AM)
get it from maxis RM2099.. if  u don1 the BIS tell them den u just buy the phone only.. i did tat.. xD
which maxis shop did u went(with sales rep name will be good)?the one in sunway pyramid don't allow...
Reventon
post Feb 1 2010, 10:42 PM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(killerapp @ Feb 1 2010, 09:59 PM)
which maxis shop did u went(with sales rep name will be good)?the one in sunway pyramid don't allow...
I went to pavilion branch , no problem , you can try over there biggrin.gif
jonrwg
post Feb 1 2010, 11:22 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(killerapp @ Feb 1 2010, 09:59 PM)
i went to maxis centre there in sunway pyramid.. highest floor new wing.. opposite adidas..
ViRaViRa
post Feb 1 2010, 11:30 PM

Think GOOD. Live WELL. Be HAPPY.
4,625 posts

Planning to buy bold 9700 but price very expensive. Now looking for buyer for my current bb 8520. Once sold, then have to buy 2nd hand bb bold only sweat.gif
killerapp
post Feb 2 2010, 12:23 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Feb 1 2010, 10:42 PM)
I went to pavilion branch , no problem , you can try over there biggrin.gif
thanks...will try doing that...thats for maxis right?
Reventon
post Feb 2 2010, 12:31 AM

2,921 posts

QUOTE(killerapp @ Feb 2 2010, 12:23 AM)
thanks...will try doing that...thats for maxis right?
Aye , Maxis set. biggrin.gif good luck

kc_lim
post Feb 2 2010, 10:16 AM

23 posts

Guys,

Need help....I juz bought my Bold 9700 from Maxis last week, the details of my phone is as below,

Platform: 5.1.0.96

I wanna know how can we update the OS and where? Hope someone can guide me thru this since this is my 1st time using BB. Other than that, I have few probs with the device and looking forward for someone to give some useful advise. Thank u

a) How can I get the wi-fi working?

b) I am having difficulty sign-in to Windows Live Messenger, rarely get connected, so far juz manage to connect
twice....alwaz end up with "Internal server error, please try again"

c) unable to open sms chat box even there's a new sms indicator, this happens sometimes especially when the chat
box is long...the only way to read is via "View Folder"

d) poor battery life....mild user (sms, calls, minor browsing)....can last for only 1.5 days, is this normal?

hnr2802
post Feb 2 2010, 03:38 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(kc_lim @ Feb 2 2010, 10:16 AM)
Guys,

Need help....I juz bought my Bold 9700 from Maxis last week, the details of my phone is as below,

OS       : v5.0.0.344
Platform: 5.1.0.96

I wanna know how can we update the OS and where? Hope someone can guide me thru this since this is my 1st time using BB. Other than that, I have few probs with the device and looking forward for someone to give some useful advise. Thank u

a) How can I get the wi-fi working?

b) I am having difficulty sign-in to Windows Live Messenger, rarely get connected, so far juz manage to connect 
    twice....alwaz end up with "Internal server error, please try again"

c) unable to open sms chat box even there's a new sms indicator, this happens sometimes especially when the chat
    box is long...the only way to read is via "View Folder"

d) poor battery life....mild user (sms, calls, minor browsing)....can last for only 1.5 days, is this normal?
Here tutorial for upgrading bb os.

http://crackberry.com/blackberry-101-how-i...ating-system-os

a) manage connections > Setup wifi network > search your wifi network > enter password > DONE!
you r connected to wifi when the wifi logo on homescreen turns to black & white (not dim).

b) no idea? im using ym

c) reinstall os

d) 2 days is exactly normal. try changing to "2G only" network. mine last 4 days. when using this setting. EDGE connections are fast enogh for me. change back to "2G & 3G" when u needed the extra speed.

tested os .423, .421, .415 & .405. the most stable os for me is .405.

This post has been edited by hnr2802: Feb 2 2010, 03:46 PM
AtMostFear
post Feb 3 2010, 05:09 PM

810 posts

I just got a new Storm 2 for half the price for my girlfriend. The thing is, she's not really into touchscreen phones. Do you guys think I would be able to sell off the Storm 2 and get Bold 2 instead without having to top up any money?
Reuben
post Feb 3 2010, 05:23 PM

Firo
667 posts

QUOTE(AtMostFear @ Feb 3 2010, 05:09 PM)
I just got a new Storm 2 for half the price for my girlfriend. The thing is, she's not really into touchscreen phones. Do you guys think I would be able to sell off the Storm 2 and get Bold 2 instead without having to top up any money?
Well on the market, storm 2's price was lower than bold 2 but that might have changed now that BOld 2 is officially launched and Storm 2 is still not yet available from official telco.

so basically worth giving it a try.
Chinoz
post Feb 4 2010, 11:28 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(Reuben @ Feb 3 2010, 05:23 PM)
Well on the market, storm 2's price was lower than bold 2 but that might have changed now that BOld 2 is officially launched and Storm 2 is still not yet available from official telco.

so basically worth giving it a try.
OT but on a related note, saw an ad on today's Star, Celcom having 50% discount launch promo for the Storm 2, much like the promo they had when they launched the Bold 2 smile.gif
Can't remember if it's tomorrow or next Friday though..
7thsky
post Feb 4 2010, 11:33 AM

351 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Feb 4 2010, 11:28 AM)
OT but on a related note, saw an ad on today's Star, Celcom having 50% discount launch promo for the Storm 2, much like the promo they had when they launched the Bold 2 smile.gif
Can't remember if it's tomorrow or next Friday though..
hi, hope this will enlighten all - launch party tomorrow 5th feb 4-10pm @ chinoz klcc; go grab one whomever has time to kill queing up! here's the link: http://www.celcom.com.my/celcomexec/promot...bbstorm9520.php
good luck!
littlewing
post Feb 4 2010, 11:34 AM

246 posts

I just got my new tattooless bold 9700 and its so sexy ! drool.gif
zwansh
post Feb 4 2010, 07:40 PM

228 posts

where u get from? celcom or maxis
killerapp
post Feb 4 2010, 08:19 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(7thsky @ Feb 4 2010, 11:33 AM)
hi, hope this will enlighten all - launch party tomorrow 5th feb 4-10pm @ chinoz klcc; go grab one whomever has time to kill queing up! here's the link: http://www.celcom.com.my/celcomexec/promot...bbstorm9520.php
good luck!
its not outright right?u have to join their plan?

six66
post Feb 4 2010, 08:22 PM

353 posts

any luck with tethering macbook with bold 9700?? im having problems and celcom told me that till now there is no solution .. is that true?

here's what i've done

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1315740

pls help
jonrwg
post Feb 4 2010, 08:43 PM

1,353 posts

hello,

any1 having problem sending/receiving MMS?
i can send MMS but cant receive it.
any idea why?
absan
post Feb 4 2010, 09:02 PM

324 posts

that's becoz ur BIS not activated...
jonrwg
post Feb 5 2010, 12:43 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(absan @ Feb 4 2010, 09:02 PM)
that's becoz ur BIS not activated...
err.. is activated. i chat in the BBM group, fb, etc.. went to maxis centre and ask them to do it..
1st can send.. den they say everything ok, bla bla bla..
when i reach home i try again, fail.. blink.gif

littlewing
post Feb 5 2010, 09:19 AM

246 posts

QUOTE(zwansh @ Feb 4 2010, 07:40 PM)
where u get from? celcom or maxis
got from Singapore unlocked for $398
Reventon
post Feb 7 2010, 03:35 AM

2,921 posts

i got issue regarding google sync contacts , since the first day i download it, it always show sync failed. What is the problem and anyone using google sync here?

Lazyboy
post Feb 7 2010, 07:03 AM

399 posts

I am using with no issue, except for some annoying duplicate entries every time I sync or duplicate phone number and addresses. Been using it for a few months.
Reventon
post Feb 7 2010, 02:43 PM

2,921 posts

mine always failed to sync.. sad.gif , the error message show ,
" sync failed , if the problem persist try to sign out the account and retry.

Even i signed out and in again , it show the same error message too..
Lazyboy
post Feb 7 2010, 02:51 PM

399 posts

Here my own experience: (I wouldn't call it tips smile.gif)

1) It is likely your first sync, depending on how much info it is trying to sync, it may have timed out. Limit your initial sync data volume. Try to sync either only contacts or calendar entry first. For calendar, try to limit it to not sync historical schedule items.

2) Or if you try to sync Contacts only, depending on how large your contact list is, just limit the list to a few samples but including those contacts in "my Contact list" in google account and removing the rest from your "My Contact List" category. I am not ASKING YOU TO DELETE you contacts from Gmail, just remove them from the "My Contact List" category as GoogleSync only sync contacts in the "My Contact List" category.

Give it a try. Good luck.
domokun
post Feb 9 2010, 06:42 PM

707 posts

Guys, which OS are u all using? Feedback pls!

.344 / .423 / .435 / .442

Which is the best so far? I believe all has their pros & cons!
Fits101
post Feb 9 2010, 07:25 PM

damn still expensive. lol
K-Max
post Feb 9 2010, 07:33 PM

35 posts

I have 0 idea about the Blackberry 9700 bold phone, which i am going to receive from maxis package that my company bought me.

Sorry for noob question here. I was using Nokia 5800 all the time, how this phone going to be? BB 9700 bold going to own 5800?

Just the screen smaller compare from picture i view.
DT8
post Feb 9 2010, 08:06 PM

In Trance We Trust
851 posts

,423 here. won't upgrade to .442 until next official OS release and see how first.
domokun
post Feb 9 2010, 09:04 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(DT8 @ Feb 9 2010, 08:06 PM)
,423 here. won't upgrade to .442 until next official OS release and see how first.
DT, hows .423? Battery reasonable?
DT8
post Feb 9 2010, 09:37 PM

In Trance We Trust
851 posts

QUOTE(domokun @ Feb 9 2010, 09:04 PM)
DT, hows .423? Battery reasonable?
I think it's the best atm. .442 is good but consume more batt than 423 that's what make me stick to 423.
domokun
post Feb 9 2010, 09:39 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(DT8 @ Feb 9 2010, 09:37 PM)
I think it's the best atm. .442 is good but consume more batt than 423 that's what make me stick to 423.
Thanks Bro! Will flash .423 now
mikelanding
post Feb 9 2010, 09:55 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(domokun @ Feb 9 2010, 09:39 PM)
Thanks Bro! Will flash .423 now
flash hybrid la..haha.. flex.gif flex.gif
domokun
post Feb 9 2010, 10:38 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Feb 9 2010, 09:55 PM)
flash hybrid la..haha.. flex.gif  flex.gif
Wait la..hehe! I flashed .442 not so good..after CNY maybe try hybrids drool.gif
tat_lee
post Feb 9 2010, 11:59 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(littlewing @ Feb 5 2010, 09:19 AM)
got from Singapore unlocked for $398
Waa....so cheap.... Me also want it....Where in Singapore did U buy?

7thsky
post Feb 10 2010, 12:41 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(K-Max @ Feb 9 2010, 07:33 PM)
I have 0 idea about the Blackberry 9700 bold phone, which i am going to receive from maxis package that my company bought me.

Sorry for noob question here. I was using Nokia 5800 all the time, how this phone going to be? BB 9700 bold going to own 5800?

Just the screen smaller compare from picture i view.
hi k-Max,
u r one lucky exec, must be big company u'r with. anyway, the two are not of same cred. 5800 higlights it's multimedia use, 9700 its communication userability. for on-the-job on-the-minute workahollics, 9700 is their 'bible & addiction'. so it's a total tranformation, totally new world jumpin g in fr 5800 to 9700. only u'll know what it feels to you when u've used it. hate or love, hardly ever neutral.

bb os, faster cpu, more ram, ships with 16gb mc, physical qwerty, fast bes rim compression data transfer & encrypted, smart dialling etc, top rated integration software...bla bla bla..

so, let us know later what's done to you; have fun as it's all taken care of by your company! cheers
carlitofreak
post Feb 10 2010, 01:33 PM

4* M a d r i d i s t a
933 posts

QUOTE(tat_lee @ Feb 9 2010, 11:59 PM)
Ya lah. I also would like to know coz im going to singapore this weekend
littlewing
post Feb 10 2010, 01:46 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(tat_lee @ Feb 9 2010, 11:59 PM)
its from Singtel! starhub also giving same deal but dont know abt the rebate.... got it with a plan but im not using the plan friend using the plan.
its actually s$498 but they gave me a $100 rebate
Lazyboy
post Feb 10 2010, 01:59 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(littlewing @ Feb 10 2010, 01:46 PM)
its from Singtel! starhub also giving same deal but dont know abt the rebate.... got it with a plan but im not using the plan friend using the plan.
its actually s$498 but they gave me a $100 rebate
That is why cannot compare la price. SG always cheaper with taking the phone with plan comparing to MY (no plan or with plan).
littlewing
post Feb 11 2010, 11:47 AM

246 posts

hey guys,

i cant seem to download Opera Mini 4 as well as 5 beta on my BB Bold 9700... blink.gif
it comes up with a msg that say that its not compatible with my model and also they say i can try to dwn it
but then i cant find the link to dwn the browser program

could someone enlighten me ? thanks in advance
7thsky
post Feb 11 2010, 12:05 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(littlewing @ Feb 11 2010, 11:47 AM)
hey guys,

i cant seem to download Opera Mini 4 as well as 5 beta on my BB Bold 9700...  blink.gif
it comes up with a msg that say that its not compatible with my model and also they say i can try to dwn it
but then i cant find the link to dwn the browser program

could someone enlighten me ? thanks in advance
hi,
will these help ?
http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/Bla...TANT/m-p/396493
http://forums.crackberry.com/f146/opera-mi...-9700-a-388952/
http://forums.pinstack.com/f276/opera_mini...700_fix-116606/

share with us & good luck!
mikelanding
post Feb 11 2010, 12:07 PM

2,865 posts

m.opera.com/next
using your phone's default Web browser
littlewing
post Feb 11 2010, 12:13 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(7thsky @ Feb 11 2010, 12:05 PM)
hmm not really ... i set my browser to http://m.opera.com/next and i cant seem to dwn. i dont get the download screen when i follow the link.

tried to dwn it to my computer but the file is not complete. so i really dont know wad to do ...
7thsky
post Feb 11 2010, 01:08 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(littlewing @ Feb 11 2010, 12:13 PM)
hmm not really ... i set my browser to http://m.opera.com/next and i cant seem to dwn. i dont get the download screen when i follow the link.

tried to dwn it to my computer but the file is not complete. so i really dont know wad to do ...
assuming you'r on bis n you've tried as mikelanding's guide n still fails? hmm.., have a look at this - :

http://forums.crackberry.com/showthread.php?t=415872

[ mini.opera.com/next/minibb.jad?act=dl&tag=mini5bb&cert= ] for the JAD file as discussed in there.

cheers!

littlewing
post Feb 11 2010, 01:48 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(7thsky @ Feb 11 2010, 01:08 PM)
assuming you'r on bis n you've tried as mikelanding's guide n still fails? hmm.., have a look at this - :

http://forums.crackberry.com/showthread.php?t=415872

[ mini.opera.com/next/minibb.jad?act=dl&tag=mini5bb&cert= ] for the JAD file as discussed in there.

cheers!
cheers man ... will try out that link
hopefully they will update the opera browser to support bold 9700 soon ...
domokun
post Feb 11 2010, 04:47 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(littlewing @ Feb 11 2010, 01:48 PM)
cheers man ... will try out that link
hopefully they will update the opera browser to support bold 9700 soon ...
FYI. I downloaded Opera 5.2 Beta on my Bold 9700! I do not know whats ur problem but I did not encounter any issues! unsure.gif
K-Max
post Feb 12 2010, 12:51 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(7thsky @ Feb 10 2010, 12:41 PM)
hi k-Max,
u r one lucky exec, must be big company u'r with. anyway, the two are not of same cred. 5800 higlights it's multimedia use, 9700 its communication userability. for on-the-job on-the-minute workahollics, 9700 is their 'bible & addiction'. so it's a total tranformation, totally new world jumpin g in fr 5800 to 9700. only u'll know what it feels to you when u've used it. hate or love, hardly ever neutral.

bb os, faster cpu, more ram, ships with 16gb mc, physical qwerty, fast bes rim compression data transfer & encrypted, smart dialling etc, top rated integration software...bla bla bla..

so, let us know later what's done to you; have fun as it's all taken care of by your company! cheers
arh..... i am more than happy to receive a 9700 for free, but my boss indirectly ask me whether i can let go my 5800 to my colleague. Something like a trade-in and exchange to 5800. The 5800 is full with my products pictures details, with its big screen.

Maybe i can act stupid dun understand what my boss trying to tell, than i will get a 9700 as well as keeping my 5800 ~,~
AtMostFear
post Feb 12 2010, 01:00 AM

810 posts

I bought 2 Bold 9700, one for myself and one for my girlfriend. One is from AT&T and the other is T-Mobile. Is there any difference between these two? I want to choose first before giving it to my girlfriend, hehe.
little_pixie
post Feb 12 2010, 06:45 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(AtMostFear @ Feb 12 2010, 01:00 AM)
I bought 2 Bold 9700, one for myself and one for my girlfriend. One is from AT&T and the other is T-Mobile. Is there any difference between these two? I want to choose first before giving it to my girlfriend, hehe.
Refer http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1312282
azfaz
post Feb 12 2010, 07:17 AM

139 posts

Hi all

Just to confirm again so far only Bold and Bold 9700 supports HSDPA (3G) right?

Storm 2 not?

TIA
7thsky
post Feb 12 2010, 05:11 PM

351 posts

QUOTE(azfaz @ Feb 12 2010, 07:17 AM)
Hi all

Just to confirm again so far only Bold and Bold 9700 supports HSDPA (3G) right?

Storm 2 not?

TIA
storm 2 does has hsdpa support.
azfaz
post Feb 12 2010, 09:35 PM

139 posts

Thx for confirmation
AtMostFear
post Feb 14 2010, 12:05 PM

810 posts

QUOTE(little_pixie @ Feb 12 2010, 06:45 AM)
Yes, I read that before asking my question.

Anyway, here's what I found. T-Mobile set includes a premium headset compared to AT&T set. Plus, T-Mobile set also uses a different 3G frequency compared to AT&T.
sramesh
post Feb 14 2010, 05:54 PM

381 posts

QUOTE(AtMostFear @ Feb 14 2010, 12:05 PM)
Yes, I read that before asking my question.

Anyway, here's what I found. T-Mobile set includes a premium headset compared to AT&T set. Plus, T-Mobile set also uses a different 3G frequency compared to AT&T.
The 3G bands are different. You can check this at setup>options>about. Maxis 3G bands are 1,2,5,6. T-Mobile 3G bands are is 1,4,8.
beguiler
post Feb 14 2010, 07:21 PM

145 posts

any seller based in penang and selling tatooless unlocked set 9700 bold?

PM me pls if got thanks
i need one 9700 brand new and of course price is doing the talk..offer me if u have brand new set
jeffreyee
post Feb 15 2010, 08:42 PM

33 posts

HI All,

I'm a new owner of Blackberry Bold 9700. I have 2 issues w the phone.
1. When I forward an email, I cannot delete those CC and BCC
2. When someone called u, how do you add that numbers to existing Contacts in hp.

Thank you to anyone who hv solutions to the above problem

haVocasta
post Feb 17 2010, 02:37 PM

269 posts

hi guys, im recently upgraded bold 9000 to bold 9700 (bought frm celcom on 12 Feb, via my office package P148)..hurm juz ask u guys since 9700's body is made frm shining metal (same as nokia use for E71?), iz it easily peel of (like bold 9000)? do u guyz use invisbile shield? or juz enuff using the holster..thanx guys..
Reventon
post Feb 18 2010, 05:25 PM

2,921 posts

Guyz , how much memory shows on Option -> status ? Mine is around 79009780 with 6 themes , 10 application downloaded from appworld. Newly bought I saw its 9 digit b
AtMostFear
post Feb 19 2010, 09:38 AM

810 posts

QUOTE(sramesh @ Feb 14 2010, 05:54 PM)
The 3G bands are different. You can check this at setup>options>about. Maxis 3G bands are 1,2,5,6. T-Mobile 3G bands are is 1,4,8.
Thanks for the information. I'm currently using T-Mobile (the phone line) so everything works great now. I'm just concerned whether I will still get 3G service with Maxis when I come back to Malaysia. I noticed that both of them have 3G band of 1, does it mean I can still get 3G coverage with Maxis?
friedbeef
post Feb 19 2010, 09:52 AM

147 posts

Confirmed Digi bringing in Bold 9700!! http://www.digi.com.my/blackberry/app.do smile.gif

seriousam
post Feb 20 2010, 01:23 AM

40 posts

hi guys ..

i am new with blackberry and i am using a bold 2.

i was told that it could be use as a modemn with laptop, could anyone here educate me on what to do?

pls help ..

thank you
auronthas
post Feb 20 2010, 02:46 AM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(seriousam @ Feb 20 2010, 01:23 AM)
hi guys ..

i am new with blackberry and i am using a bold 2.

i was told that it could be use as a modemn with laptop, could anyone here educate me on what to do?

pls help ..

thank you
Refer to post step-by-step procedure on setting up BB as modem (both PC and Mac) for tethering at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1318414

Please note that you should check with your telco on condition of tethering as some of them have a limitation of data usage, as for Maxis, there is no limitation for unlimited data package.

manx
post Feb 20 2010, 06:46 AM

1,849 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Feb 20 2010, 02:46 AM)
Refer to post step-by-step procedure on setting up BB as modem (both PC and Mac) for tethering at http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1318414

Please note that you should check with your telco on condition of tethering as some of them have a limitation of data usage, as for Maxis, there is no limitation for unlimited data package.
are you really sure on that part? There is still an * at the end of the so called unlimited from Maxis. deng!!
* Additional monthly data usages will be charged at RM0.005/kB.
* Prices shown are inclusive of data usages for BlackBerry® services
as well as other internet/WAP services.

Or probably the * is for the 2nd part?? they should put as ** instead.

This post has been edited by manx: Feb 20 2010, 06:47 AM
auronthas
post Feb 20 2010, 07:38 AM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(manx @ Feb 20 2010, 06:46 AM)
are you really sure on that part? There is still an * at the end of the so called unlimited from Maxis. deng!!
* Additional monthly data usages will be charged at RM0.005/kB.
* Prices shown are inclusive of data usages for BlackBerry® services
as well as other internet/WAP services.

Or probably the * is for the 2nd part?? they should put as ** instead.
It surprise me with the table shown, I think there should be double asterisk on unlimited data package (i.e. inclusive internet /wap) as I called Maxis CS last week, they confirmed to me only there will be additional data charge on roaming outside Malaysia. I have checked via *100#, there is no additional charge *touch wood*
manx
post Feb 20 2010, 11:53 AM

1,849 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Feb 20 2010, 07:38 AM)
It surprise me with the table shown, I think there should be double asterisk on unlimited data package (i.e. inclusive internet /wap) as I called Maxis CS last week, they confirmed to me only there will be additional data charge on roaming outside Malaysia.  I have checked via *100#, there is no additional charge *touch wood*
great thumbup.gif || means we will not be charged with any data usage for 1 year rite. This is what the CS guy told me also. Hope there are no hidden charges too.
auronthas
post Feb 20 2010, 12:41 PM

AudiOphiL3
1,346 posts

QUOTE(manx @ Feb 20 2010, 11:53 AM)
great  thumbup.gif || means we will not be charged with any data usage for 1 year rite. This is what the CS guy told me also. Hope there are no hidden charges too.
If they change the plan and condition within the contractual period, I believe, we, consumers have the right to report to MCMC.
AceOfSpades
post Feb 20 2010, 07:18 PM

235 posts

hey just wanted to know, lets say u get an im from msn messenger on your bb, will it notify u on your homescreen straight away, or must u actually go into that app to see if you have a new im?
manx
post Feb 20 2010, 08:42 PM

1,849 posts

you will be notified.
zhou86
post Feb 21 2010, 07:42 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

Hi guys, I'm new to the Bold 9700. Is there any better browser than the original one? Is opera better?
Lazyboy
post Feb 21 2010, 09:47 PM

399 posts

Opera is much better. I also use Bold 1.7 but still prefer the Opera Browser.
zhou86
post Feb 21 2010, 10:13 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(Lazyboy @ Feb 21 2010, 09:47 PM)
Opera is much better.  I also use Bold 1.7 but still prefer the Opera Browser.
Thanks bro, I try find Opera for Blackberry n give it a try.

Edit: Tried Opera Beta 5 don't really like it...

Anymore good browsers? What about Bolt Browser?

This post has been edited by zhou86: Feb 21 2010, 10:49 PM
kynkiez
post Feb 22 2010, 02:14 PM

233 posts

NEW BB bold 2 user in da house!!! hahahahah im enjoying my bb now..
namiaz
post Feb 22 2010, 02:26 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Feb 21 2010, 10:13 PM)
Thanks bro, I try find Opera for Blackberry n give it a try.

Edit: Tried Opera Beta 5 don't really like it...

Anymore good browsers? What about Bolt Browser?
Bolt is useless. no differance from ur stndrd browser.
zhou86
post Feb 22 2010, 05:44 PM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(namiaz @ Feb 22 2010, 02:26 PM)
Bolt is useless. no differance from ur stndrd browser.
Yea, you are right bro. I just tried it and didn't like it too. Can't zoom in the site etc. Switching back to default browser.
multiplexer
post Feb 24 2010, 04:14 PM

393 posts

QUOTE(zhou86 @ Feb 21 2010, 07:42 PM)
Hi guys, I'm new to the Bold 9700. Is there any better browser than the original one? Is opera better?
me using Bolt.. its much faster than opera.. u should give it a try.. rclxms.gif
friedbeef
post Feb 26 2010, 02:26 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(multiplexer @ Feb 24 2010, 04:14 PM)
me using Bolt.. its much faster than opera.. u should give it a try..  rclxms.gif
Some tips... for bolt, use the column view, and turn images to low quality (makes no difference on mobile screen). You'll milk a lot of speed from there.
Darkmage12
post Feb 26 2010, 10:15 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

the camera details is impressive
TSsira5999
post Mar 21 2010, 07:29 PM

492 posts

FINALLY ! I BOUGHT BB BOLD 9700! hahahahah =)) .. very nice n simple .. but bb bold suitable for ladies la =(( .. very small .. happy.gif
lawl
post Mar 21 2010, 09:52 PM

574 posts

Guys, i realise something with my bb. First of all, my set is from Aussie as im studying here. I realise that when i put bb on top of my holster, where both bottoms are parallel (hopefully u guys clear abt my description), it went into slp mode and i cant wake it up even when i press the keypad. And when IM has new msg, it doesnt ring, only vibrates. Same as i put bb inside holster which also wont ring, only vibrates. 2nd, i have problem with my contacts. Before i delete fb, i was able to choose contact by pressing alphabets. Now i cant which after bb restarted after i delete fb apps. Can anyone help me? Is this normal? Thanks a lot for reading my post! Cheers.
mybiebie
post Mar 21 2010, 11:44 PM

1,419 posts

the notification in or out of holster can be different. Check yr profile settings.
rayz85
post Mar 22 2010, 09:39 AM

154 posts

hi i just want to clarify, if i were to purchase from Maxis, at the price of RM 2459, could i pay in 0% installment just like what they are doing with the iphone packages?
d3vilzzzz
post Mar 22 2010, 05:55 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

nops ..no installment plans for the berry biggrin.gif hence i guess most favored the digi's berry plan and all ..another alternative straight out purchase frm celco m which is the slightly cheaper alternative
TSsira5999
post Mar 23 2010, 11:54 PM

492 posts

is it digi plan more cheaper than maxis / celcom ??
coz .. now .. bb n iphone market price very9 decrease ..
n maybe .. after digi launched iphone n bb .. market price
for iphone n bb will increase ..
AtMostFear
post Mar 24 2010, 06:13 AM

810 posts

Another OS leak for 9700!

refer http://crackberry.com/leaked-os-5-0-0-566-...berry-bold-9700
d3vilzzzz
post Mar 24 2010, 09:46 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

QUOTE(sira5999 @ Mar 23 2010, 11:54 PM)
is it digi plan more cheaper than maxis / celcom ??
coz .. now .. bb n iphone market price very9 decrease ..
n maybe .. after digi launched iphone n bb .. market price
for iphone n bb will increase ..
hehe u go to their website den u can see see ..
btw, many hv compared the prices all over this thread edi ..

TSsira5999
post Mar 25 2010, 01:24 AM

492 posts

serious ha ?? but i think .. is still the same la bro .. DIGI also do business .. same like maxis n celcom .. they all doing same business..maybe .. their hp very cheap than maxis n celcom .. but .. they charge at the bill .. such as .. call / sms / 3g / internet service .. happy.gif
rsliew
post Mar 25 2010, 01:21 PM

174 posts

hi guys, mind telling me how is the battery life for BB9700? currently i am using E72, plan to change to BB9700. Any opinion?
TSsira5999
post Mar 25 2010, 09:56 PM

492 posts

hahaha .. battery life ?? very9 good bro .. i call , sms , songs , play poker .. also can use almost 3 days .. =) .. seriously .. im using bb bold 9700 .. very9 god .. u want buy ?? i want to sell .. hahahha ! =)) coz i have an extra..
yewjin
post Mar 27 2010, 11:50 AM

356 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Feb 20 2010, 02:46 AM)

just curious can celcom xpax do tethering?
Patricia8686
post Mar 27 2010, 04:42 PM

35 posts

whats onyx?
mensa
post Mar 27 2010, 05:47 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(rayz85 @ Mar 22 2010, 09:39 AM)
hi i just want to clarify, if i were to purchase from Maxis, at the price of RM 2459, could i pay in 0% installment just like what they are doing with the iphone packages?
u can do that..i did my my installment at maxis pavillion.. the installment can be done for the phone oni..as for RM360..u have to pay and it is not part of the installment scheme
carlitofreak
post Mar 27 2010, 07:04 PM

4* M a d r i d i s t a
933 posts

QUOTE(mensa @ Mar 27 2010, 05:47 PM)
u can do that..i did my my installment at maxis pavillion.. the installment can be done for the phone oni..as for RM360..u have to pay and it is not part of the installment scheme
Owh really. Maybank card is it? or any card acceptable? any how much is the monthly?
SEP910
post Mar 27 2010, 09:30 PM

Desire!!!
1,153 posts

Hi guys,
Want to ask
BB bold T-Mobile(unlocked) version can be register with Maxis BIS or not??

This post has been edited by SEP910: Mar 27 2010, 09:37 PM
little_pixie
post Mar 27 2010, 09:45 PM

487 posts

QUOTE(SEP910 @ Mar 27 2010, 09:30 PM)
Hi guys,
Want to ask
BB bold T-Mobile(unlocked) version can be register with Maxis BIS or not??
Refer http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1312282. Read read read.
SEP910
post Mar 27 2010, 09:48 PM

Desire!!!
1,153 posts

QUOTE(little_pixie @ Mar 27 2010, 09:45 PM)
Thank you for your help bro,
I appreciate it.
xwhizx
post Mar 29 2010, 12:36 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(sira5999 @ Mar 25 2010, 09:56 PM)
hahaha .. battery life ?? very9 good bro .. i call , sms , songs , play poker .. also can use almost 3 days .. =) .. seriously .. im using bb bold 9700 .. very9 god .. u want buy ?? i want to sell .. hahahha ! =)) coz i have an extra..
is dat true arr? how come? mine one.. batt life sucks.. after 2 hours phone calls. den kong edy..
manx
post Mar 29 2010, 10:16 AM

1,849 posts

guys, anybody installed the latest BB Desktop Manager?? There is a new email setting feature included in this new release. My question is, does this email setting option only applicable for those with BES services? If not, what is the cool thing can be done using this feature? Thanks.
czxiang88
post Mar 29 2010, 11:39 PM

17 posts

bold 2 rocks!!!
zhou86
post Mar 30 2010, 12:12 AM

Keroppi!!!
3,616 posts

QUOTE(Patricia8686 @ Mar 27 2010, 04:42 PM)
whats onyx?
Onyx is the codename for Blackberry Bold 9700

QUOTE(xwhizx @ Mar 29 2010, 12:36 AM)
is dat true arr? how come? mine one.. batt life sucks.. after 2 hours phone calls. den kong edy..
maybe you leave too many apps on in the same time? or maybe you left your wifi on?

my bold 2 can last me 4-5 days with Auto On/Off function. I set auto off at 1am, auto on at 7am...can save alot of batt. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by zhou86: Mar 30 2010, 12:13 AM
MattJ
post Mar 30 2010, 09:45 PM

769 posts

QUOTE(yewjin @ Mar 27 2010, 11:50 AM)
just curious can celcom xpax do tethering?
Bro, can tether using celcom. Not sure bout xpax though. I can tether my Bold 9700 with usb for my HP office lappie and bluetooth for my MBP, no problem, but you better be on unlimited broadband otherwise bill will be skyhigh
TSsira5999
post Nov 14 2011, 01:16 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(xwhizx @ Mar 29 2010, 12:36 AM)
lol.. ur abttery why sucks ??? my bold 2 is very9 good .. but now .. im upgrading to bold 3.. the battery life very9 good .. =) heehe
Ji3MOON
post Nov 14 2011, 01:34 PM

Eat Sleep Dive Repeat
1,633 posts

QUOTE(sira5999 @ Nov 14 2011, 01:16 PM)
lol.. ur abttery why sucks ??? my bold 2 is very9 good .. but now .. im upgrading to bold 3.. the battery life very9 good .. =) heehe
maybe his battery kong edi tongue.gif time to buy new battery wink.gif
TSsira5999
post Nov 14 2011, 01:37 PM

492 posts

hahaha.. ya lor .. maybe he must buy a new battery .. =) hehehe..
raja epul
post Nov 14 2011, 02:37 PM

121 posts

maybe it's time to buy a new phone too tongue.gif
TSsira5999
post Nov 14 2011, 03:06 PM

492 posts

hahahaha.. if rich .. can buy lol.... hihihi... raja epul.. u use what phone now? =)
raja epul
post Nov 14 2011, 03:22 PM

121 posts

i'm using bold 2 now..wanna try torch..but money blom cukup lagik.. hehe tongue.gif
wyxyz
post Nov 14 2011, 03:53 PM

730 posts

WTA, any 3rd party battery brand which is good. My bb9700 dried very fast
raja epul
post Nov 14 2011, 03:58 PM

121 posts

sun global i guess..
TSsira5999
post Nov 14 2011, 04:22 PM

492 posts

u try use momax battery.. its good .. =) hehe.. dont buy third part battery.. ur battery will drain so fast.. =) hehe..

Added on November 14, 2011, 4:23 pmtorch also good.. but if 9800 the software very slow compare with 9810 =)

This post has been edited by sira5999: Nov 14 2011, 04:23 PM
raja epul
post Nov 14 2011, 04:55 PM

121 posts

very slow? r u sure? thanks 4 da info.. hehe.. smile.gif
kae7
post Nov 14 2011, 07:44 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(raja epul @ Nov 14 2011, 04:55 PM)
naah.. of course 9810 is better... because has better hardware/spec..

about the firmware/software.. both can use OS7..
raja epul
post Nov 14 2011, 08:08 PM

121 posts

I see.9810 is torch 2 rite?
kae7
post Nov 14 2011, 08:15 PM

10k VIP Club
10,950 posts

QUOTE(raja epul @ Nov 14 2011, 08:08 PM)
I see.9810 is torch 2 rite?
yes it is.. thumbup.gif
TSsira5999
post Nov 16 2011, 11:07 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Nov 14 2011, 07:44 PM)
naah.. of course 9810 is better... because has better hardware/spec..

about the firmware/software.. both can use OS7..
yahhh .. but 9800 cannot be stable like 9810 if u upgrade to OS7 =) hehe// i already do .. n i already used it bfr,.. but .. its very9 not stable for 9800 =(

Added on November 16, 2011, 11:08 am
QUOTE(raja epul @ Nov 14 2011, 04:55 PM)
yahhh .. u also can pm redscorpion ( staff ) to know about that.. he sold his torch also bcoz of that =) hehe..

This post has been edited by sira5999: Nov 16 2011, 11:08 AM
raja epul
post Nov 16 2011, 01:47 PM

121 posts

aiyark..better i use my bold 2 now..no problem at all..hehe tongue.gif
TSsira5999
post Nov 16 2011, 02:16 PM

492 posts

hahaha.. yah i think so =) hehehhe.. but .. if have money.. go for torch 2 9810 =) heheheh nice ....

0.1845sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:05 AM