Bluray Movie, Noise Reduction

azbro
post Oct 12 2009, 12:40 PM

4,403 posts

Yeah..so far The Dark Knight is surprisingly grain free.
gnsumas
post Oct 12 2009, 04:25 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Oct 12 2009, 12:40 PM)
Yeah..so far The Dark Knight is surprisingly grain free.
Dark Knight is filmed with Digital cam 100% ma whistling.gif
milo-o
post Oct 17 2009, 01:22 PM

37 posts

i think it is LCD's problem, bcuz i am using Samsung LCD, with Sharp BD-HP20, no problem watching The Dark Knight. My fren bought a new Panasonic LCD that time, and i brought my Sharp player together with same HMDI cables to play the same movie on his Panasonic LCD to let him feel the HD sensation, however the picture appeared to be grainy, very obvious. May be it's the setting of LCD, i dun know, but i'm very sure that same BD disc, same cable, same player, played on Panasonic it became grainy.

ar188
post Oct 17 2009, 01:28 PM

9,206 posts

TV/display also can be the source to accentuate the grains..
cos it also has it's own video post processing/scaling
cloud4822
post Oct 17 2009, 01:29 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(milo-o @ Oct 17 2009, 01:22 PM)
i think it is LCD's problem, bcuz i am using Samsung LCD, with Sharp BD-HP20, no problem watching The Dark Knight. My fren bought a new Panasonic LCD that time, and i brought my Sharp player together with same HMDI cables to play the same movie on his Panasonic LCD to let him feel the HD sensation, however the picture appeared to be grainy, very obvious. May be it's the setting of LCD, i dun know, but i'm very sure that same BD disc, same cable, same player, played on Panasonic it became grainy.
Samsung series 5&6 should be better for the noise&grainy problem!
Maybe try set ur DNR to "High" when u play those movies!

Yea.. The Dark Night PQ is amazing!
mynewuser
post Oct 17 2009, 03:17 PM

2,549 posts

I notice they play the original BD in the show room connect to all type of LCD. All LCD TV will show the noise. Suspect it due to the movie when record initially already not in HD format.
Ngto
post Oct 17 2009, 05:48 PM

4,350 posts

Generally if the movie already has noticeable grain, any adjustment (whether at the TV level or the Blu-ray player level) won't make a big difference. The grain will still be seen clearly.

Needless to say, the higher the sharpness adjustment the grainer it will be. Similarly the higher the Noise reduction set, the less noise there will be, but then the picture will have a softer texture, less sharp.

Up to each individual to balance it to their satisfaction.

This post has been edited by Ngto: Oct 17 2009, 05:52 PM
cloud4822
post Oct 17 2009, 10:53 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Oct 17 2009, 05:48 PM)
Generally if the movie already has noticeable grain, any adjustment (whether at the TV level or the Blu-ray player level) won't make a big difference. The grain will still be seen clearly.

Needless to say, the higher the sharpness adjustment  the grainer it will be. Similarly the higher the Noise reduction set, the less noise there will be, but then the picture will have a softer texture, less sharp.

Up to each individual to balance it to their satisfaction.
nod.gif
TSchengkl8
post Oct 18 2009, 11:28 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(milo-o @ Oct 17 2009, 01:22 PM)
I try this movies - The Dark Knight - is totally no grain/noise at all, perfect with IMAX - Philips LCD TV.

R U sure tis movies appear grainy at Panasonic LCD TV?? Suprise!!

0.0149sec    0.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:51 AM