129 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Sony Ericsson Satio v2, Enhance the Unlimited Entertainment!

TSnicholasbeh
post Oct 15 2009, 02:10 AM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Oct 15 2009, 01:51 AM)
@nicholasbeh,
But whatever you find that can install on a Nokia Symbian OS should be able to install on SE's Symbian or even Samsungs, no?

Yes, I am aware that Ovi and Symbian belongs to Nokia but Symbian come out a year already now?

Is it safe to say all future Symbian app should work with Symbian OS of any phone?
there are some security restriction on the other brands Symbian.my bro's i8910 fail to install and it appear:certificate error.
Pennywise
post Oct 15 2009, 03:31 AM

5,796 posts

Isnt the certificate part of it common on all other Symbian operated phones? Like if you install an application with an old certificate, even on a Nokia, it wont work.

I had that experience with my N82 and e71. DId you try to install the same app in a Nokia and it works?
nghj
post Oct 15 2009, 08:28 AM

1,790 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Oct 15 2009, 03:31 AM)
Isnt the certificate part of it common on all other Symbian operated phones? Like if you install an application with an old certificate, even on  a Nokia, it wont work.

I had that experience with my N82 and e71. DId you try to install the same app in a Nokia and it works?
both i8910 and n97 are symbian, but nokia symbian with nokia certs wont work on samsung phones.
maybe the cert from nokia brand only allow it to work on own nokia brand phone or
the samsung brand phone dont recognise the nokia cert. dunno which.
panasonic88
post Oct 15 2009, 09:39 AM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Oct 15 2009, 01:51 AM)
@nicholasbeh,
But whatever you find that can install on a Nokia Symbian OS should be able to install on SE's Symbian or even Samsungs, no?

Yes, I am aware that Ovi and Symbian belongs to Nokia but Symbian come out a year already now?

Is it safe to say all future Symbian app should work with Symbian OS of any phone?
according to the taiwanese (that have tested the Satio)

there are some compatibility issue with the OVI Store

- certains apps can be installed successfully, while some cannot.

- initially most 3rd party apps are designed for Nokia phone usage only, when you install it in Satio, it will directly jump out and terminate your installation by saying strictly for nokia phone only (how smart lolz)

- certificate issue (this one can be solved by reformat your nokia phone by keying #*7370#, not sure about Satio)

and lastly,

- Satio cannot log in to OVI Store directly from the phone. means you cannot download apps directly from your phone. (i believe this should be solveable as satio community gets bigger)

read more if you could understand mandarin
http://www.eprice.com.tw/mobile/talk/?prod...e=1&list_page=1
ilovelyn
post Oct 15 2009, 11:36 AM

2,287 posts

satio launched already in malaysia??
Darkmage12
post Oct 15 2009, 12:58 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 14 2009, 11:22 PM)
What I understand is Symbian S60v5 doesn't deliver user touchscreen experience as what HTC and other phone did. Need more enhancement on the UI and touch experience.
Could it be due to the different OS?
Pennywise
post Oct 15 2009, 02:06 PM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(nghj @ Oct 15 2009, 08:28 AM)
both i8910 and n97 are symbian, but nokia symbian with nokia certs wont work on samsung phones.
maybe the cert from nokia brand only allow it to work on own nokia brand phone or
the samsung brand phone dont recognise the nokia cert. dunno which.
I thought certs are released by the developer of the application? That's why sometimes we wanna install those (forgot the suite name) but it's some tools for memory management and checking if all apps been closed on a Symbian, we get error because the cert has expired due to the application been released a long time. Or even a trial freeware, it's the same, after the trial period you can no longer install it as a freeware but rather a shareware.

I'm not a pro at this but this is just my assumption. A certificate should allow the app to work on all brands of phone that is running Symbian OS, no? Hope some expert can advise.

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Oct 15 2009, 09:39 AM)
according to the taiwanese (that have tested the Satio)

there are some compatibility issue with the OVI Store

- certains apps can be installed successfully, while some cannot.

- initially most 3rd party apps are designed for Nokia phone usage only, when you install it in Satio, it will directly jump out and terminate your installation by saying strictly for nokia phone only (how smart lolz)

- certificate issue (this one can be solved by reformat your nokia phone by keying #*7370#, not sure about Satio)

and lastly,

- Satio cannot log in to OVI Store directly from the phone. means you cannot download apps directly from your phone. (i believe this should be solveable as satio community gets bigger)

read more if you could understand mandarin
http://www.eprice.com.tw/mobile/talk/?prod...e=1&list_page=1
Hahaha... pana pana, thanks for your update. Unfortunately, I fail in Mandarin so tarak pass, cannot understand.

OVI Store is recently launched by Nokia, isnt it? Just want a quick check with you, is it exclusively for Nokia phones or all Symbian phones? Yes, I agree eventually when more SE phones uses Symbian and Satio gain more popularity, there may be some form of firmware updates that will fix the issue or Ovi probably open up to other brands of phone to gain more biz.

Assuming Satio runs on Symbia, the *7370# might work on it also but too bad we dont have phone to try.

QUOTE(ilovelyn @ Oct 15 2009, 11:36 AM)
satio launched already in malaysia??
26 October they said.
panasonic88
post Oct 15 2009, 04:51 PM

37,028 posts

OVI Store : https://store.ovi.com/

i never try to download & install via website

me download directly from phone

recently i installed the KL-TRAFFIC application on my S60V5, could be handy especially for those ppl who are always on the run. biggrin.gif
whoopa
post Oct 15 2009, 06:35 PM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

will they launch this phone together with aino ??? hmmmm dun think it will clash ah ?
aruja_69
post Oct 15 2009, 06:47 PM

3,786 posts

they suppose to launch aino, satio and yaki in the same time. Midlands got aino and satio and Thorus got yaki or yori if i not mistaken. Hehehe
panasonic88
post Oct 15 2009, 07:15 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Oct 15 2009, 06:47 PM)
they suppose to launch aino, satio and yaki in the same time. Midlands got aino and satio and Thorus got yaki or yori if i not mistaken. Hehehe
it is Yari, adoi laugh.gif
jagadis
post Oct 15 2009, 07:56 PM

Aspire to Inspire before we expire
1,107 posts

so whens the date?
alfredtwl
post Oct 15 2009, 09:33 PM

2,013 posts

26th this month ??
jaej00Ng89
post Oct 15 2009, 09:42 PM

113 posts

confirm 26th this month..? i'm looking 4wd 2 get 1..
TSnicholasbeh
post Oct 15 2009, 09:47 PM

4,518 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Oct 15 2009, 02:06 PM)
I thought certs are released by the developer of the application? That's why sometimes we wanna install those (forgot the suite name) but it's some tools for memory management and checking if all apps been closed on a Symbian, we get error because the cert has expired due to the application been released a long time. Or even a trial freeware, it's the same, after the trial period you can no longer install it as a freeware but rather a shareware.

I'm not a pro at this but this is just my assumption. A certificate should allow the app to work on all brands of phone that is running Symbian OS, no? Hope some expert can advise.
Hahaha... pana pana, thanks for your update. Unfortunately, I fail in Mandarin so tarak pass, cannot understand.

OVI Store is recently launched by Nokia, isnt it? Just want a quick check with you, is it exclusively for Nokia phones or all Symbian phones? Yes, I agree eventually when more SE phones uses Symbian and Satio gain more popularity, there may be some form of firmware updates that will fix the issue or Ovi probably open up to other brands of phone to gain more biz.

Assuming Satio runs on Symbia, the *7370# might work on it also but too bad we dont have phone to try.
26 October they said.
pennywise,now only u get my point.OVI store is just exclusively for Nokia phone.thats why i said Nokia Symbian phone got a lot of advantages when compare to other brands symbian.those application in OVI store cant use in Satio.my bro's i8910 too.
Darkmage12
post Oct 16 2009, 12:16 AM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Oct 15 2009, 07:15 PM)
it is Yari, adoi laugh.gif
You forget there is another Naite.....they launched it all together lolz
Pennywise
post Oct 16 2009, 12:22 AM

5,796 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Oct 15 2009, 09:47 PM)
pennywise,now only u get my point.OVI store is just exclusively for Nokia phone.thats why i said Nokia Symbian phone got a lot of advantages when compare to other brands symbian.those application in OVI store cant use in Satio.my bro's i8910 too.
Yes yes, this part I know Ovi is for Nokias but then I just havent seen Ovi store far enough to impress me. I am thinking whatever they might have, we shd probably be able to find the same freeware/cracked version out there.

I use a e71, Symbian also but I only install a few applications on it. Most important is Garmin nia and for Satio, most important for me is to couple Garmin + the camera is enough liao. I dont really install much app on the phone, I feel it will cause lag and other problems.
TSnicholasbeh
post Oct 16 2009, 12:34 AM

4,518 posts

actually a lot of software from OVI store very useful.u should try it out.E71 support OVI store too.a lot of freewares there.yeah,can get the cracked version but u have to search hardly from google.
alfredtwl
post Oct 16 2009, 07:40 AM

2,013 posts

QUOTE(jaej00Ng89 @ Oct 15 2009, 09:42 PM)
confirm 26th this month..? i'm looking 4wd 2 get 1..
me too ~ just hope can get a.s.a.p ~ drool.gif
TSnicholasbeh
post Oct 16 2009, 09:15 AM

4,518 posts

i will wait for red colour.it won't launch at this month.

129 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:20 AM