Company : MNC
Industry : IT
Tenure : Permanenet
Employment Level : Analyst
Experience before joining : 1+ year
Working hour : Shift work
Education Lvl: BEng
salary : RM4000 ++
wow thats a very good offer leh... I once used to work as a Assistant Manager (IT), in a local branch of a big singaporean bank, back then I had around 2-3 years experience before joining, my position requires me to do mostly sys admin stuff plus system programming (c/c++, shell scripts, java) and they only pay like RM3000, gotta work late nites (2am+) and weekends. Damn cheapskate, after 6 months of probation which also happens to be at the end of the year where increments are given, they gave me zero increment even though my appraisal was good. Guess what, I rejected the confirmation letter and immediately resign and left.
darun
post Jan 24 2006, 02:38 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 9 2006, 08:38 AM)
Well ... for a salary within the range of RM2k to 3k, engineers who studied for 4 years for their degree are not well-compensated in Malaysia. That's what my lecturer told us.

Stitchy® w/o stitches
Yes and sometimes, even if you have masters it wont count. I have specifically experienced this twice once from a manager doing an interview from a bank and once from a HR manager in a local company. They said the salary that they offer is based solely on the candidate's experience and if he/she has a degree, regardless if it is a bachelors or masters degree or if their degree is from a local U or foreign U...
darun
post Jan 24 2006, 02:57 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(=--ChoonG->> @ Dec 2 2005, 01:45 AM)
tut and pkh

yeah... those typical chinaman thinking company is like this one ler... i was in one of the factory also as a technical engineer... wah lau... its a public listed company in KLSE main board somemore... but the pc... man... they are ancients... and the boss... yeah... can use use lah... why buy new one? u know... chinaman thinking... cut costs and stuff... zzz... and then like dont appreciate the employees... as long as the boss got money in the pocket... he cares nothing
Hey hey thats a very common situation, I've personally worked in 3 different chinamen companies, they are the same, one of them is also listed. Work work work, 12 hours a day, 7 days a week, overtime pay if any is like crap, most i got was RM10 for dinner if worked beyond 8pm, weekend is only like RM50 if you prove you worked more than 8 hours. Always more work than can be done, the big bosses keeps promising and making insane deals with insane timelines. Come delivery date, when fire starts its finger pointing and blaming, in the end it is ALWAYS ALWAYS the people at the bottom end of the food chain that gets the most heat, guess what, those are the developers. Right now I'm working for a MNC company with developers in north america, my boss is also from North America. Sure I probably wont be treated as equals to the developers in north america (they'll always have final say in technical matters) but at least I'm treated as a human with decent work hours, load and expectations and not exploited to death.
darun
post Aug 7 2006, 11:12 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(bukhrin @ Aug 6 2006, 07:11 PM)
Job Title : Consultant
Job Desciption : Testing and preparing test specifications documentation on SPN/BSS for mobile telecommunications provider GSM/UMTS (operator)
Years in Company : 6 months
Company : A telecom and solutions company
Industry : telecommunications/IT solutions
Tenur : Contract (Project based)
Employment Level : Contractors
Salary : USD 250 per day (perks include accommodations, per diems and free home trip )
Work : 09:00 - 18:00 (monday - friday), If you're on-the-bench (no work for you on the day) will also got paid.

Downside: No job security, income tax sad.gif
I'd reckon USD250 per day buys you crap loads of financial security... job security? There's no such thing even if you're a permanent employee in a big MNC company.

darun
post Nov 14 2006, 02:46 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(netfan @ Nov 14 2006, 01:34 PM)
Oh well. anybody can be a papercert tech these days.

Try asking your candidates "what if" scenarios and see how they respond.
Yup, a lot of memorizing for certifications, thanks to our education system. Its almost pointless to look at certification because most of the time a lot of people cant even answer simple basic questions even though they have a bunch of certs.

0.0189sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:21 AM