Lets talk salary!, What is the industry rate, we must unite

bukhrin
post Apr 2 2005, 10:56 PM

104 posts

My first post in lowyat

Job Title : Customer Support System Engineer (Note the 'Engineer')
Job Description : Repair & service photocopier/xeroxgraphic machines (technician lor)
Company : MNC from the land of 'Fuji' mountain (waa.. I gave away too much already lor)
Industry : service/support
Tenur : 2 years contract
Experience before joining : fresh grad
Duration with current company: entering 2 months
Salary : RM 1400 + 100 contract allowance

Saw this one in The Star's saturday pullout in January, later send resume, few weeks later got 1st interview, one week after that 2nd interview. Got the job on the spot. Offered "exec in nature" position as Customer Support System 'Engineer'. The HR girl asked to sign contract on the spot (take it or leave it). Too naive/desperate signed the contract.

Went for first day of job, uh-oh,

1st warning sign

- when people there asked you whether you're staying for a while (blah after training) or the long haul (few months after that) must be something wrong with the company. Company retention is ultra-bad even if compared Ah Kaw & sons company level (were talking about one of those big US-japanese joint venture MNC here). People leaving like someone just farted after eating durian

2nd warning sign
- met x-uni mate from johnson&johnson medical saying the company you're working for just had a strike a few weeks back. Oopss.

3rd warning sign
- Noticed that only you and the other newcomers had a degree in the department (the others are mostly dips and sijils)

4th warning sign
- Technician and engineer means the same thing here. So Customer Suppport System Engineer = technician

summing up

Rushed home like crazy, scanned the contract again and noticed this one clause - "since your position is executive in nature, cannot joined any union , cannot claim OT and all those stuffs". Position is exec in nature but job responsibilities are those of non-exec.

Conclusion

Company employing degree holder, must accept exec-position, but be technician, cannot do claim = company saves a lot of money. Career path is almost non-existent (have to wait 13 years to be team manager?!!). Can get allowance after training, but no employee retention program (so job satisfaction depends how desperate you are for money)

Now already giving away resume like crazy (even any job with less pay is okay).

Just want to know, if other companies are doing the same right now. It's not that I had a grudge agains technicians or anything (my workmates there are super cool). Just that I feel the company should just say Technician and didn't use the 'sign-the-contract-now-take-it-or-leave-it" tactic. Last time I check only those gores and menang scam used that.

So what do you think ?
bukhrin
post Aug 6 2006, 07:11 PM

104 posts

Job Title : Consultant
Job Desciption : Testing and preparing test specifications documentation on SPN/BSS for mobile telecommunications provider GSM/UMTS (operator)
Years in Company : 6 months
Company : A telecom and solutions company
Industry : telecommunications/IT solutions
Tenur : Contract (Project based)
Employment Level : Contractors
Salary : USD 250 per day (perks include accommodations, per diems and free home trip )
Work : 09:00 - 18:00 (monday - friday), If you're on-the-bench (no work for you on the day) will also got paid.

Downside: No job security, income tax sad.gif

bukhrin
post Aug 7 2006, 09:48 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(darun @ Aug 7 2006, 11:12 AM)
I'd reckon USD250 per day buys you crap loads of financial security... job security? There's no such thing even if you're a permanent employee in a big MNC company.
Yeah, but we're paid on days worked, so if you go really sick (like one week, e.g food poisoning - happens a lot or if there's public holiday), so that's it, say bye bye to your gaji.

0.0173sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 01:43 AM