Faulty Denon 1909?, Denon problem

TSalexalex
post Oct 5 2009, 10:14 AM, updated 17y ago

73 posts

Dear Sifus,

Since last week, my Denon AVR having the below problems or could it be other equipment?

- after playing DVD or CD Audio for about 1/2 an hour, the AVR suddenly output very loud sound of "shhh, krak krak" till I have to power OFF the AVR.

- while the DVD player (Pioneer) is playing with its display showing the time lapse running as usual. (no freezing or hang)

- sometimes, my LCD-TV blink display errror message "No input signal " in about every 2 second and the AVR keep on "switching". While my Pioneer-DVD red HDMI LED keep on blinking and my Denon output sound for 1 second, then goes quiet, then output sound for 1 sec and repeatly.

Also, I noticed, if I did not switch ON (or OFF) my LCD-TV, just the DVD player and AVR, no such symptons found but just the sudden "shh krak krak " sound after more than 30min running.

If I directly connect my DVD player to LCD-TV, no such symptons found.

DVD --->HDMI--- Denon AVR --->HDMI---> LCD TV.

To the sifus here,

I am at lost here to troubleshoot further.

What do you think? My AVR spoilt? LCD-TV? Or cabling?

Thank you in advanced.

kianwee
post Oct 5 2009, 10:28 AM

Cube
6,562 posts

Have you tried reset your 1909?
mpyw
post Oct 5 2009, 10:34 AM

3,603 posts

try change to diff HDMI cable
ronaldjoe
post Oct 5 2009, 10:48 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(alexalex @ Oct 5 2009, 10:14 AM)

- sometimes, my LCD-TV blink display errror message "No input signal " in about every 2 second and the AVR keep on "switching". While my Pioneer-DVD red HDMI LED keep on blinking and my Denon output sound for 1 second, then goes quiet, then output sound for 1 sec and repeatly.

Try disable 'video convert'. It might help.
TSalexalex
post Oct 5 2009, 10:56 AM

73 posts

Dear Sifus Mpyw & Kianwee,

I will read up my manual on how to reset my Denon1909. (1st time for me!)

Before I forgot, I will get this sudden loud "shhhh, crack, crack" sound at half way of playing 1 DVD movie or CD audio. (not even reaching 1 hour yet!)

The AVR display the "normal" LED display info, just the speaker output extremely loud "shhhh, crack, klack" sound.

Sometimes, if I played CD-Audio, after about 30min, the AVR output a loud "eeeehhhhhhhhh" while my DVD player still running fine. Just no more music from the 5.1 speakers! (even my original volume was set lower eg. at -35dB) but the "eeeeehh" was way louder!

Symptons Found:

1) sudden loud "shhhh, crack, crack" if playing DVD-Movie, after half way only.
2) sudden loud "eeeehhhhhhhhh" if playing Audio CD, after half way only.
3) If I turn OFF the AVR and ON again, the DVD or CD-A fine for a while before the next error again.
4) My LCD-TV will display "No signal ..." and blank out for about 2 sec, then re-appear with "No signal .....pls check ..."
5) MY Pioneer DVD HDMI LED keep on blinkling ON and OFF while the sound output keep on playing for 1 second, then switch to silent, then back again, repeatly non stop.

Any other Sifus comments?

Over heating AVR?
HDMI cable faulty?

QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 5 2009, 10:34 AM)
try change to diff HDMI cable
anfieldude
post Oct 5 2009, 11:00 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(alexalex @ Oct 5 2009, 10:56 AM)
Dear Sifus Mpyw & Kianwee,

I will read up my manual on how to reset my Denon1909. (1st time for me!)
Before I forgot, I will get this sudden loud "shhhh, crack, crack" sound at half way of playing 1 DVD movie or CD audio. (not even reaching 1 hour yet!)

The AVR display the "normal" LED display info, just the speaker output extremely loud "shhhh, crack, klack" sound.

Sometimes, if I played CD-Audio, after about 30min, the AVR output a loud "eeeehhhhhhhhh" while my DVD player still running fine. Just no more music from the 5.1 speakers!  (even my original volume was set lower eg. at -35dB) but the "eeeeehh" was way louder!
Symptons Found:

1) sudden loud "shhhh, crack, crack" if playing DVD-Movie, after half way only.
2) sudden loud "eeeehhhhhhhhh" if playing Audio CD, after half way only.
3) If I turn OFF the AVR and ON again, the DVD or CD-A fine for a while before the next error again.
4) My LCD-TV will display "No signal ..." and blank out for about 2 sec, then re-appear with "No signal .....pls check ..."
5) MY Pioneer DVD HDMI LED keep on blinkling ON and OFF while the sound output keep on playing for 1 second, then switch to silent, then back again, repeatly non stop.
Any other Sifus comments?

Over heating AVR?
HDMI cable faulty?
Overheating AVR will shutoff.

Sounds like a HDMI handshaking issue.

As mpwy says, try a different cable, or send for check. Might be the hdmi board.
choontoy
post Oct 5 2009, 11:32 AM

837 posts

Check maybe at input ac line above 260vac.If u are not sure better don't do it coz it is dangerous hence will snap u in black.
ronaldjoe
post Oct 5 2009, 12:29 PM

3,569 posts

I solved my HDMI handshake problem in my 4310 by disabling 'video convert' function. I can do 1080p HDMI pass thru in standby mode.
Does 1909 have 'video convert' function?
Possibly it could be the hdmi cable.
TSalexalex
post Oct 5 2009, 01:08 PM

73 posts

Thanks to Ronaldjoe, choontoy and anfieldude.

Sifus pointed to the below.

(1) my HDMI cable problem. (oh no have to buy another HDMI cable?)

(2) my HDMI board! (ohh my god! hv to pay $$$)

(3) my AVR "video convert" function set to disable? (reading the manual now)
ronaldjoe
post Oct 5 2009, 03:23 PM

3,569 posts

You can try another HDMI source.
Does GUI work flawlessly?
TSalexalex
post Oct 5 2009, 03:29 PM

73 posts

Yes, for the Denon AVR, the GUI work fine.

It is just out of nowhere a sudden ear piercing sound emit from the speaker!

I need to turn OFF the AVR and ON again, then back to normal for about 30min before it happens again.

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Oct 5 2009, 03:23 PM)
You can try another HDMI source.
Does GUI work flawlessly?
ronaldjoe
post Oct 5 2009, 03:44 PM

3,569 posts

Do you have:
1) Any other HDMI source to try?
2) Spare hdmi cable to test?
If both fail, it's to be sent back for checking/warranty.

On speakers, what set up are they? Connections all okay? Last month a forum member paired 1909 with pc speakers. His 1909 was sent for warranty. Luckily he got a new unit replaced by WKH.

TSalexalex
post Oct 5 2009, 03:56 PM

73 posts

Dear Ronaldjoe,

Answer :

1) No, I do not have other HDMI source, only from my Pioneer DVD
2) No spare HDMI cable too, have to buy I guess!

Wow, that great, I wish the same as I was not satisfied with my 1909.

I'm using Usher front and Mission Centre but lousy sound!

I wish I can top up and change to HD capable.

Do you know if CMY let me do such request?

ronaldjoe
post Oct 5 2009, 04:09 PM

3,569 posts

Looking at your situation, it is rather frustrating with both video and sound problem.
If you can run GUI more than 30 minutes, then it's source or hdmi problem.
Your DVD player has component output?
How about trying component out to avr for 30 minutes to test out the sound part?

TSalexalex
post Oct 5 2009, 06:17 PM

73 posts

Yes, the GUI is run directly from the AVR front LED display. (since I cannot get my LCD-TV to display the GUI)

It keep on displaying dark screen and "No input....pls check...." and goes blank again.

My DVD is Pioneer DV 420V-K and I believe there is a Component Output but I do not have the Component cables!
ronaldjoe
post Oct 5 2009, 06:21 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(alexalex @ Oct 5 2009, 06:17 PM)
Yes, the GUI is run directly from the AVR front LED display. (since I cannot get my LCD-TV to display the GUI)

It keep on displaying dark screen and "No input....pls check...." and goes blank again.

My DVD is Pioneer DV 420V-K and I believe there is a Component Output but I do not have the Component cables!
GUI should be on tv screen. Wonder what set up you are having now?
Easy way is to bring it back to CMY for checking.
mikapoh
post Oct 5 2009, 08:45 PM

1,263 posts

Bro, one last try is to reset the Amp microprocessor!

From the manual trouble-shooting, it says sometimes external noises can cause the Amp to malfunction. Reset the microprocessor will solve the problem.

Steps? Something like this............press the Power button while simultaneously press Input Mode and Speakers buttons, and release them after the display light flashing for 1 sec. After re-setting, all the settings will become default position. Check the manual for more details.

Last week, my 1909 suddenly does not want to output sound from Right channel or some very soft Hsssss sound from Right speaker. Re-check all connections are correct and this is the 1st time happened to my amp. Send to the shop but they tested No Problem at all. Take back and re-connect and everything back to normal. Dun know what happened? Keeping my fingers crossed that this issue wont happen again..........!!!! sweat.gif

TSalexalex
post Oct 6 2009, 10:00 AM

73 posts

Dear Mikapoh,

Thanks for sharing, I will reset the AVR tonight.

Guessed our 1909 not so stable after all?

Actually I am not satisfied at my 1909, mine a 5.1 setup (Front=Usher, Centre=Mission, SW=Roger) and the sound quality cannot match my RM400 Altec Lansing (when listening to CD-audio)

Maybe something very wrong?

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Oct 5 2009, 08:45 PM)
Bro, one last try is to reset the Amp microprocessor!

From the manual trouble-shooting, it says sometimes external noises can cause the Amp to malfunction. Reset the microprocessor will solve the problem.

Steps? Something like this............press the Power button while simultaneously press Input Mode and Speakers buttons, and release them after the display light flashing for 1 sec. After re-setting, all the settings will become default position. Check the manual for more details.
Last week, my 1909 suddenly does not want to output sound from Right channel or some very soft Hsssss sound from Right speaker. Re-check all connections are correct and this is the 1st time happened to my amp. Send to the shop but they tested No Problem at all. Take back and re-connect and everything back to normal. Dun know what happened? Keeping my fingers crossed that this issue wont happen again..........!!!!  sweat.gif
choontoy
post Oct 6 2009, 10:17 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(alexalex @ Oct 6 2009, 10:00 AM)
Dear Mikapoh,

Thanks for sharing, I will reset the AVR tonight.

Guessed our 1909 not so stable after all?

Actually I am not satisfied at my 1909, mine a 5.1 setup (Front=Usher, Centre=Mission, SW=Roger)  and the sound quality cannot match my RM400 Altec Lansing (when listening to CD-audio)

Maybe something very wrong?
Hello Bro,
Kindly pls take note that yr setup are not bad thus u r using Usher(front),Mission(center) and Roger(sub).Usher had received Award Winner for bookshelf thus SQ are veri details.I'm using this Usher s-520 with my Valve amp setup,soundstage veri wide and details.
U need to alignt for speaker placement inorder to get good soundstage depends with the room condition.
Hope this might help u.
Cheers
TSalexalex
post Oct 6 2009, 07:11 PM

73 posts

Choontoy,

I am puzzled too, my PC 2.1 better than it!

My Front = Usher V-601
Centre = Mission
Surround = Panasonic
SW = Roger

Anyway, maybe I use it in my living room or there something very wrong with my AVR!

0.0283sec    1.06    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:56 PM