6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread!, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners!

kazami
post Sep 5 2010, 11:06 PM

2,872 posts

QUOTE(zamanjaafar @ Sep 5 2010, 10:03 PM)
hi guys, fairly new working adult here.  Thinking of getting a 2nd-hand Vios for personal use.

So I heard that the current Vios FC is not so great as "the previous model".

May I know what year of Vios is the best in FC?
1st gen which is year 2003, my friend own it...
he get about 600km while the last bar kept blinking..
using ron97 shell (vpower) while if using ron95 shell, he get about 530km...
depend on car... 60% highway and 40% city... travel alot...

QUOTE(padisawah @ Sep 5 2010, 10:56 PM)
hi just to share. I am driving new vios 100% in city Kl with the massive jam everyday. and my FC averaging around 410KM per full tank of RM65. I think it's quite reasonable.  smile.gif
i think quite reasonable.. i only get 420km max for 60% highway and 40% city..
ron95 since it born until now... 2008 version
kazami
post Sep 17 2010, 12:07 AM

2,872 posts

but once u hit 170... the steering getting lighter...
until now, i still not use to vios yet...
my car lying at home around 1 month... just start it around once a week.. engine oil still havent change and plan to change outside
kazami
post Oct 7 2010, 01:39 AM

2,872 posts

tester, mod vios rim? haha...
u better list out which tyre profile u prefer... more on sporty or comfort?
and 1 more thing, price between 15 and 16 quite a gap...

kazami
post Oct 7 2010, 01:13 PM

2,872 posts

QUOTE(jameslee84 @ Oct 7 2010, 07:48 AM)
yup..
i already see the rim 15 n 16... but dunno which to go.. since my car most of the time fully load. scare 16 not suitable.
sporty n comfort XP.. mostly will try ps3 but den which to choose? 195 or 205?
ur car which spec? running on which size now?
depend on ur budget too... if i were u, i will go for 16"
if u want light weight, get 15" light weight and pair ps3 like u said..
195/50/15 will be able to match the speedo reading.. but since u said full load, the profile is too thin and easily hit curb
Ps3 15" about 250 for tat size... 16" need to add 100+ to get it..

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Oct 7 2010, 09:22 AM)
get 15" lower tire price and lighter wheels weight.
normally max speed is 2000rpm.
if for 15" wheel tire 205 is not easy to get limited maker.
yup... very limited, even if u get 205, the profile will be very high, and non performance tire
kazami
post Oct 7 2010, 08:19 PM

2,872 posts

QUOTE(jameslee84 @ Oct 7 2010, 05:10 PM)
so u suggest me better get on 15"? yes i will go for lighter wheels, which is 1 hand can take up easily.
so mostly all i can get is 195 if on 15"?

i wanna get 16" but coz most of my time i fetch my family out.. so full load will be heavy n the suspension too soft.. tats y i so scare.. den asking advise at here XD
btw thanks for reply me~!

Added on October 7, 2010, 5:13 pm

tats y lor i so scare.. den i get 15" is more suitable for me rite? btw im driving e spec, but add up trd bodykit. rim normal 1, tyre damn news juz claim out from toyota lolx.
195/50 or 55.. i dunno which to go better.. btw ps3 where can find at lower price? around klang or kapar area..
i find the tyre thread dint saw ps3, juz all pp only..
15" taiwan light weight can carry with 1 hand... but with tire, for sure heavier.... recommended to take japan rim
ps3 is better to pp2 as it can brake earlier than pp2...
there is a guy posted some comparison between this 2 tires here...
or maybe u can try out federal 595, not bad as well..
btw, i havent tested ps3 yet... im using re080 185/60/15

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Oct 7 2010, 07:04 PM)
leather is good looking for G spec, but TRD spec it offer sued leather.
running on 15" cause i travel alot and tire cost a bomb, every 1~1.5 year change tire
205 can get this size will be on extreme performance like AD08, R888, R1R.....cost a bomb...
this is 17"

Added on October 7, 2010, 7:08 pm

TRD bodykit becareful ... if not mistaken 1 or 2 design front is very low type, local trd is ok...

u can go klang last week i check ps3 price from RM210~230 per tire from 50~55 series...
got so cheap? tat time i asked, it cost about 240...

can try to ask Hin Leong or Hock Li
both also same row... this 2 shops is the nearest area to klang city... opposite cimb bank only (not directly but further down abit around 30meters)

kazami
post Oct 7 2010, 08:30 PM

2,872 posts

then better to take 195/55 for safety on ur bodykit since u always full load and also fetching family as well..
japan with tire, can carry with 1 hand or maybe 3 to 4 fingers.. around 5 to 7kg only
taiwan with tire, heavier..
kazami
post Oct 7 2010, 10:43 PM

2,872 posts

QUOTE(jameslee84 @ Oct 7 2010, 08:51 PM)
around 5-7kg if +tires? okie next time i go try.. scare ltr kena cheated.. haha..
55 better? or 50? i noe 55 bigger... but when fully load. the tires wont hit on top bonet meh? when little jumping  situation.. haha~~
stock 15 like my S spec is using 60 series lor..
55 wont be thick...
if 16" maybe will hit..

kazami
post Oct 8 2010, 02:01 AM

2,872 posts

QUOTE(jameslee84 @ Oct 8 2010, 12:40 AM)
erm.. some fren ask me to take 50 enough scare 55 will hit..
dunno ler...
for how many inch?
50 still too thin for me for 15"
but overall, still up to u since u r changing.. maybe if u confirm with 15" rim, then u can ask the tire shop to fit in 55 and 50 series... see which want suit u..

kazami
post Oct 8 2010, 05:46 PM

2,872 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Oct 8 2010, 02:16 PM)
Tire question:
The dugong Vios speedo actually show faster than it really is (eg. 90km/h on the speedo is 83~85km/h on GPS).

Is it ok to have 195/65/R15? (stock is 185/60/R15).
65 too thick d...
previous gen camry is using 205/65/15..
and im driving it... very thick... while the rim look small.. look imba...

i have problem on my vios too, i accidentally drifted it...
then when i slow down for bump and accelerate again, it have some ink ink ink sound from the rear...
kazami
post Oct 11 2010, 01:20 PM

2,872 posts

QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Oct 9 2010, 07:45 AM)
For the belt I don't know what they did (Toyota don't let me in the service bay and see) - just complain during service, then ok already.

Absorber, even not raining also got the sound. And not always got the sound also.  rclxub.gif

Added on October 9, 2010, 7:46 am
Too thick as in touch the body? or Too thick as in appearance/beauty?
too thick for appearance...
we r driving a sedan car...
and the tire look like we r on trucker...

QUOTE(han12345 @ Oct 10 2010, 02:49 PM)
Hi All, any idea for the 40k Major service cost in Toyota SC? hmm.gif
if with aircond service, around Rm450 to 600
kazami
post Oct 12 2010, 12:34 PM

2,872 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Oct 11 2010, 06:34 PM)
I just serviced my car few days ago. According to my mechanic, he told me the aircond does not need to be serviced if there's no problem with it. SC that service the aircond and charge a fee for it is just trying to earn some extra bucks.... that's what he told me la... not sure how accurate it is... hmm.gif
how much the charge u for servicing?

i dont plan to do mine too... mine clocking at 33k which next service is 38k but the date for next service due almost 1.5 month ago... only drive 100km for 1 month...
kazami
post Oct 20 2010, 04:18 PM

2,872 posts

i have been called for Wire Harness Inspection...
car clock at 33k+ mileage, next service 40k and my previous service until now already 8 months...
going to bring it in to inspect and service 40k

i check the service book,
they will replace engine oil, plug gasket, oil filter <-- which is a must
follow by differential fluid, power steering fluid, brake fluid, air filter, spark plug and coolant (is it a must to change all or they will check and recommend which is need to change? )
btw, not going for aircond service

edit:
now i check the letter toyota give me for next service
only replace air filter, spark plug and brake fluid
wat spark plug r we using?
normal type or iridium?

This post has been edited by kazami: Oct 20 2010, 04:47 PM
kazami
post Oct 21 2010, 11:49 AM

2,872 posts

iridium cost about 160 to 180 wat about silver?
i told my dad about the car situation, he just ask me to send it for inspection only... dont need to service first because seldom drive the car...
if like this, i might as well buy all the part and get it done from outside the centre
kazami
post Oct 22 2010, 12:11 AM

2,872 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Oct 21 2010, 12:43 PM)
silver plug last time i check is RM180 per set and during early stage of launch was RM240 per set....

air filter is less the RM20, u can purchase at any spare part shop cheaper...
i see... the air filter less than RM20 consider local or imitation...
original cost more than tat
kazami
post Oct 25 2010, 04:47 PM

2,872 posts

QUOTE(Ken @ Oct 25 2010, 11:47 AM)
fren, that day i service in toyota sc and the receipt got 1 safety advisory - no additional floor map on top of the toyota original mat ...

suggest you remove it ... i can't see why need 2 ... it also add some unnecessary weight to the car ...

Added on October 25, 2010, 11:49 am

why don't want service in SC ?

i can't find any workshop that doesn't cut throat 1 unless opened by relatives or close frens ...
they told it to me too regarding the additional floor mat..
if u dont always vacuum the car, it is better to add an additional mat which look like a tray...
the sand come out from it easy...
to me, with floor mat without any problem on my driving condition...
SC said if put floor mat, later when want to press accel pedal will be slow because of additional mat
kazami
post Nov 1 2010, 07:56 PM

2,872 posts

i plan to clay my car...
any brand of clay u guys used before on our vios?

i saw meguiars clay set but quite pricy to me...
i have a review on a brand PG, dont know is poly gaze or perma glass..
not bad as well...
i want to clay because my house paint drop on my car when those worker repaint my house... can scratch by nail but want to try out clay...

kazami
post Nov 2 2010, 02:15 PM

2,872 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Nov 2 2010, 02:11 PM)
u can try soft99 clay it is softer then PG clay...
how much does it cost?
how do we know when the clay we use can throw away?
kazami
post Nov 2 2010, 04:28 PM

2,872 posts

QUOTE(michaelyii1988 @ Nov 2 2010, 02:55 PM)
wad i heard is we can clay as long as we want provided the clay dun drop on floor?
i see.. thanks for the info

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Nov 2 2010, 04:07 PM)
last time i buy from brothers less then RM35
depend on how bad is ur car paint condition the dirt level.... u can learn how to clay from youtube... dont use plain water this will damage ur paint too... use some good car shampoo .... act as lube during clay....u can cut to small pic to use balance keep....
yes, if drop on the floor if maybe can be use need to check condition ....
i see... normally we wash car then only clay?
or clay with shampoo then rinse and dry?
kazami
post Nov 3 2010, 01:38 AM

2,872 posts

QUOTE(weeen11 @ Nov 2 2010, 04:47 PM)
My Vios is going to hit 40k soon, wounder have anyone done their Autogear oil change??? I hv never change it since i bought the car. Do we need to change the gear oil filter also??? Please help...
from wat i heard, old version vios or camry, they dont need to change the ATF filter ( according to my friend's bro who use to be toyota service technician )
some ppl discuss here before that new version vios dont need to change ATF
btw, i think new vios not using T-IV ATF
can someone clarify this?

QUOTE(ako7897 @ Nov 2 2010, 06:07 PM)
i think u better stick to ps3...195/55...really comfort and convincing while rainy
XM1 is more for normal riding and the material is softer rubber...
more for comfort drive...
if ur driving condition is mostly high speed or tackle some corner...
ps3 better as harder side wall
be aware that the noise level is quite high compare to XM1

QUOTE(michaelyii1988 @ Nov 2 2010, 07:30 PM)
did anyone change their speedometer bulb into other color?the yellow one is too dull.  shakehead.gif
which gen vios?
if trd or S spec vios, they r on optitron meter.. can change the led?
kazami
post Nov 3 2010, 02:44 PM

2,872 posts

those that changed the ATF, it is on Toyota T-iv oil or another series?

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0486sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:45 PM