LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread!, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners!

kenji1903
post Feb 17 2011, 10:48 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Stanzo @ Feb 17 2011, 10:24 PM)
DO NOT BUY TRD type shakehead.gif Buy the J type and mod it according to your taste. There's tons of bodykit outside wub.gif , i can recommend u to my friend if u having trouble looking for it. Change the suspension, slam in prettier rims, and u will have a stunner. thumbup.gif  No need to mod the engine as it will kill our car's SUPERB FC. I think there should be a new model by 2012. hmm.gif
by the time CKD in malaysia should be around 2013/4 already... time to change car, wahahahah rclxms.gif
Stanzo
post Feb 18 2011, 12:03 AM

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Feb 17 2011, 10:48 PM)
by the time CKD in malaysia should be around 2013/4 already... time to change car, wahahahah rclxms.gif
Vios to new Vios ? rclxms.gif But our car actually very light, cruising at 180-200km/h felt like flying liao laugh.gif Maybe next Vios make it more like Yaris and more stable. Dun befooled, for normal driving Vios's an excellent car rclxm9.gif
pepper99
post Feb 18 2011, 12:21 AM

203 posts

does tat mean it wont come out tat fast ? at least after 2012 ? coz so far no spy shots n things rite ?

means that trd is not a good buy ? wat bout G ? its either G or trd.. coz i wont be modding adi.. lol..
michael9413
post Feb 18 2011, 06:28 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

DO NOT BUY TRD type shakehead.gif Buy the J type and mod it according to your taste. There's tons of bodykit outside wub.gif , i can recommend u to my friend if u having trouble looking for it. Change the suspension, slam in prettier rims, and u will have a stunner. thumbup.gif  No need to mod the engine as it will kill our car's SUPERB FC. I think there should be a new model by 2012. hmm.gif
you change your rims u will have FC increase also... but if you change to proper lightweight wheels then it is different story... but paired with a higher end tires with high rolling resistance ur FC will inscrease also...

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Feb 17 2011, 10:48 PM)
well now Vios is assembled in Shah Alam already... fully CKD might be soon, most probably next model kua...

QUOTE(Stanzo @ Feb 18 2011, 12:03 AM)
Vios to new Vios ? rclxms.gif But our car actually very light, cruising at 180-200km/h felt like flying liao laugh.gif  Maybe next Vios make it more like Yaris and more stable. Dun befooled, for normal driving Vios's an excellent car rclxm9.gif
if you mod the suspension (change front shocks and springs) and with proper tires u will amaze what they can do in the corners... 180~200km/h duh... watch your safety, i do not even dare to go further than 170km/h on my 1.3 tonne old toy... my 1.3 tonne old toy has 4 Airbags, ABS and of course proper performance tires, i also normally drive 130km/h~150km/h at highway... coz it is very dangerous for other ppl also, since the Malaysian driving style sweat.gif u know la...

drive safely... cheers... remember how u mod it also u need good good tires in dry and wet...

*don tell me u use tires like Bridgestone MY-01, Dunlop D-01, Silverstone M5, Falken 912, Nankang, Komet and some others... while you mod ur car like a racing car, that is what i call stupid...
Berserker
post Feb 18 2011, 09:19 AM

i'm lovin' it
2,144 posts

Dun forget that modding will void the warranty for example changing rims since it's not the original spec for your car.
Have to check with the SA or warranty to know more.

But do keep the ori parts to claim warranty just in case anything happens.

Added on February 18, 2011, 9:31 am
QUOTE(pepper99 @ Feb 18 2011, 12:21 AM)
does tat mean it wont come out tat fast ? at least after 2012 ? coz so far no spy shots n things rite ?

means that trd is not a good buy ? wat bout G ? its either G or trd.. coz i wont be modding adi.. lol..
G model can say include all the accessories minus the body kit of trd. the trd spec is overpriced in my opinion.
Since you won;t be modding, either E or G is enough. If leather seat, chrome etc. attracts you, go for G spec.

This post has been edited by Berserker: Feb 18 2011, 10:05 AM
kenji1903
post Feb 18 2011, 09:39 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Berserker @ Feb 18 2011, 09:19 AM)
Dun forget that modding will void the warranty for example changing tires/rims since it's not the original spec for your car.

G model can say include all the accessories minus the body kit of trd.  the trd spec is overpriced in my opinion.
Since you won;t be modding, either E or G is enough.  If leather seat, chrome etc. attracts you, go for G spec.
sure ar boss? changing tires also void warranty? doh.gif

kantoi like that... which tire can last 100000km/3years? doh.gif
McRyan
post Feb 18 2011, 09:55 AM

539 posts

hey guys, do u know which shop in cheras/kajang area provides nice n cheap installation for ABS TRD skirting?
Berserker
post Feb 18 2011, 10:05 AM

i'm lovin' it
2,144 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Feb 18 2011, 09:39 AM)
sure ar boss? changing tires also void warranty? doh.gif

kantoi like that... which tire can last 100000km/3years? doh.gif
Hi kenji, should be only rims.
Sorry for the wrong info. tongue.gif

Thanks for highlighting.

kenji1903
post Feb 18 2011, 10:22 AM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(Berserker @ Feb 18 2011, 10:05 AM)
Hi kenji, should be only rims. 
Sorry for the wrong info.  tongue.gif

Thanks for highlighting.
rims also will void warranty? is it stated in the warranty book or is it by the SA?
cos planning to change 14" to 15" when i get my car later...
vios2002
post Feb 18 2011, 11:32 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Feb 18 2011, 10:22 AM)
rims also will void warranty? is it stated in the warranty book or is it by the SA?
cos planning to change 14" to 15" when i get my car later...
last time i got ask SA his comment is will void the warranty due to the size of rims and tire is not same will cause the speedometer not accurate reading....

for the tire warranty if where is no checking or advise done in SA warranty will not proceed this apply to all and warranty had been revise.

kenji1903
post Feb 18 2011, 12:28 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(vios2002 @ Feb 18 2011, 11:32 AM)
last time i got ask SA his comment is will void the warranty due to the size of rims and tire is not same will cause the speedometer not accurate reading....

for the tire warranty if where is no checking or advise done in SA warranty will not proceed this apply to all and warranty had been revise.
then i better clarify with them before buying... changing rims will void warranty is total crap... changing from stock 14" to anything 16" or more maybe but changing to 15" also will void? their G and S is also using 15" rims...
GEFORCEXTREME
post Feb 18 2011, 12:32 PM

60 posts

kenji,

I'm not sure but void warranty means you can't claim warrantee on that part only. A Suzuki SC tell me if change rims, the absorbers and cannot claim when leaking and maybe other related things like bearing. I said oh cool, didn't know wear and tear things also cover. Check with the SA or SC to get more info.
LS_Ngu
post Feb 18 2011, 12:36 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Stanzo @ Feb 18 2011, 12:03 AM)
Vios to new Vios ? rclxms.gif But our car actually very light, cruising at 180-200km/h felt like flying liao laugh.gif  Maybe next Vios make it more like Yaris and more stable. Dun befooled, for normal driving Vios's an excellent car rclxm9.gif
Actually new gen of Vios = Yaris sedan, which available at europe country. tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by LS_Ngu: Feb 18 2011, 12:37 PM
michael9413
post Feb 18 2011, 12:47 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(Berserker @ Feb 18 2011, 09:19 AM)
Dun forget that modding will void the warranty for example changing rims since it's not the original spec for your car.

G model can say include all the accessories minus the body kit of trd.  the trd spec is overpriced in my opinion.
Since you won;t be modding, either E or G is enough.  If leather seat, chrome etc. attracts you, go for G spec.
QUOTE(GEFORCEXTREME @ Feb 18 2011, 12:32 PM)
kenji,

I'm not sure but void warranty means you can't claim warrantee on that part only. A Suzuki SC tell me if change rims, the absorbers and cannot claim when leaking and maybe other related things like bearing. I said oh cool, didn't know wear and tear things also cover. Check with the SA or SC to get more info.
yes changing your rims will void certain parts warranty... mostly it is related to the wheels... like bearing, shocks... call to ask SC or Toyota Helpline to verify properly...
kenji1903
post Feb 18 2011, 01:01 PM

3,785 posts

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Feb 18 2011, 12:47 PM)
yes changing your rims will void certain parts warranty... mostly it is related to the wheels... like bearing, shocks... call to ask SC or Toyota Helpline to verify properly...
changed tires won't right? cos i changed my City's 185/55 to 195/55, bearing spoiled just before 100k km, just nice for replacement...
vios2002
post Feb 18 2011, 01:40 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Feb 18 2011, 12:28 PM)
then i better clarify with them before buying... changing rims will void warranty is total crap... changing from stock 14" to anything 16" or more maybe but changing to 15" also will void? their G and S is also using 15" rims...
most of the us not clear about warranty.... alot of us only know 100k mileage or 3 years for new car....

the last discussion with the SA, they comment some parts warranty only cover for 40k mileage, as every 1 remember last time vios07 provide goodyear GTS tire got problem so they replace that tire to better model. after that any user complain on tire uneven wear this issue will not be replace unless u got check at SA.
michael9413
post Feb 18 2011, 01:47 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Feb 18 2011, 01:01 PM)
changed tires won't right? cos i changed my City's 185/55 to 195/55, bearing spoiled just before 100k km, just nice for replacement...
Kenji no worries on your size coz i changed the tire already and i still manage to claim warranty for the rear absorbers before it expired...
Stanzo
post Feb 18 2011, 06:43 PM

QUOTE(michael9413 @ Feb 18 2011, 06:28 AM)
you change your rims u will have FC increase also... but if you change to proper lightweight wheels then it is different story... but paired with a higher end tires with high rolling resistance ur FC will inscrease also...
well now Vios is assembled in Shah Alam already... fully CKD might be soon, most probably next model kua... 
if you mod the suspension (change front shocks and springs) and with proper tires u will amaze what they can do in the corners... 180~200km/h duh... watch your safety, i do not even dare to go further than 170km/h on my 1.3 tonne old toy... my 1.3 tonne old toy has 4 Airbags, ABS and of course proper performance tires, i also normally drive 130km/h~150km/h at highway... coz it is very dangerous for other ppl also, since the Malaysian driving style  sweat.gif u know la...

drive safely... cheers... remember how u mod it also u need good good tires in dry and wet...

+1

If u change your rims or change to lowered spring, it will void your suspension warranty, not the engine warranty. It's case to case based. If u got a good relation with the SC or got a friend working in one, u can always change back to stock and claim the warranty. It's all based on what they write in their report biggrin.gif If u wanna be safe, drive for a year to make sure everything works, then mod your car. Or u can keep everything stock for 3yrs. A matter of preference for everyone biggrin.gif
Kelrys
post Feb 18 2011, 07:37 PM

55 posts

Regarding top speed, I floored it yesterday at highway, when car hits 180km/h, feels like car lift up from the road. I can't reach 200km/h. Donno why.

Regarding warranty issues, I contacted SC before installing fog lights.

Edit: For your body kit references:
http://www.nextversion.com.my/vios08/

This post has been edited by Kelrys: Feb 18 2011, 07:39 PM
TStravis_ckf
post Feb 18 2011, 08:13 PM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

Guys, time for version 2 for the Vios thread. So who wanna take over?

Kindly create one so I can close this thread. Cheers smile.gif

130 Pages « < 127 128 129 130 >Top

0.0210sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:45 AM