Frequency Response Graph, share here - amateur / enthusiast only

TShtkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 10:24 AM, updated 16y ago

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Since many of us have been doing the FR graph and even waterfall chart, it is better for us to share it here smile.gif .

Also, please share ways / ideas in taming the graph.

Pls also specify the room dimension, any acoustic treatment, etc (if possible)

Mine :

Room size : 10' x 20' (bad room size)
Minimal acoustic treatment with absorption panels and book shelf at the back as diffusor. No bass traps.

Previously

Sorry for the previous image

This post has been edited by htkaki: Sep 29 2009, 11:14 AM
ar188
post Sep 29 2009, 10:56 AM

9,206 posts

what's the red and black line (before /after?)
hsiengloong
post Sep 29 2009, 11:01 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Bro, how come there's a dip at the 48hz range? I believe svs eq1 can help even this out? Maybe you can post a graph pre and post audyssey MultiEQ (using ur denon) and pre and post SVS eq1.

If its not too time consuming tongue.gif Then it will give us laymen a better idea of the true power of ur beast
ar188
post Sep 29 2009, 11:05 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Sep 29 2009, 11:01 AM)
Bro, how come there's a dip at the 48hz range? I believe svs eq1 can help even this out? Maybe you can post a graph pre and post audyssey MultiEQ (using ur denon) and pre and post SVS eq1.

If its not too time consuming tongue.gif Then it will give us laymen a better idea of the true power of ur beast
taiko, when ordering one? thumbup.gif
hsiengloong
post Sep 29 2009, 11:07 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Me no taikor la, young peasant onli hehehe...

Will order when my old one go out then new 1 come in haha...
ar188
post Sep 29 2009, 11:09 AM

9,206 posts

yeah, old one dun go how new one can come (cantonese saying) hehe!
hsiengloong
post Sep 29 2009, 11:13 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

KNN this saying cannt be applied for HT or else forever be poor man leh haha
TShtkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 11:16 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Here's the AS-EQ1 :

hsiengloong
post Sep 29 2009, 11:19 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Impressive... is this the graph of your sub??

Also i am wondering if this is just before and after calibrating usign SVS eq1? No other calibration done? If yes, this gadget is working magic..
TShtkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 11:29 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Jz done the AS-EQ1. I have yet to use 4310 to run Audyysey, which is recommended by most of the avs forummers.

Yes, it is indeed impressive. Here's the review :

http://www.audioholics.com/reviews/acousti...s-as-eq1-sub-eq
hsiengloong
post Sep 29 2009, 11:32 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Thanks! Pls share with us the graph after u run with audyssey (Denon)... I'm still a bit skeptical to run audyssey on my onkyo tongue.gif
ycs
post Sep 29 2009, 11:37 AM

4,239 posts

I posted this comparison sometime ago but was missed by many; so, I'll just re-post here for posterity smile.gif

FR graph using REW to demonstrate the effect of my DIY corner bass trap.

1. All bass traps in place.

2. Remove Front Right corner bass trap.
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 11:57 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Sep 29 2009, 11:32 AM)
I'm still a bit skeptical to run audyssey on my onkyo tongue.gif
Why are you skeptical? Got bad result before?
hsiengloong
post Sep 29 2009, 12:00 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Set my fronts to -5 and set my sub to -15 ><
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 12:06 PM

5,989 posts

You only should be concerned if the setting is at the extreme ends (plus or minus).

In your case fronts at -5 dB is normal. Mine is at -7 dB. However, for your sub at -15 dB is at the extreme end. This indicates some kind of set up issue - simplest thing to try is decrease the volume control on the sub and rerun Audyssey.
hsiengloong
post Sep 29 2009, 12:09 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Sub volume was at 25... Now i have set my sub reference level vol at 20-24... No prob at all.. I might give it another try and see as its quite time consuming and i spend more time calibrating it back to the way i like the sound to be....
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 01:39 PM

5,989 posts

When u rerun Audyssey just use the minimum 3 positions (to save time). This is just to see if it sets the sub trim higher than -15 dB.
hsiengloong
post Sep 29 2009, 01:55 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

OK will try it out during this weekend tongue.gif Pray pray that it doesnt screw it up again...
anfieldude
post Sep 29 2009, 02:20 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Sep 29 2009, 01:55 PM)
OK will try it out during this weekend tongue.gif Pray pray that it doesnt screw it up again...
Actually this is the 2nd time that a Velo owner says that Audyssey sets the trims too low. I suspect its got something to do with the EQ that the Velo applies. I would need to spend some time to investigate this.
hsiengloong
post Sep 29 2009, 02:21 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Appreciate that bro... 1 reason i suspect this could be bcos of the echo in the room causing audyssey to lower my velo trim to d max..
TShtkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 02:45 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Sep 29 2009, 11:37 AM)
I posted this comparison sometime ago but was missed by many; so,  I'll just re-post here for posterity smile.gif

FR graph using REW to demonstrate the effect of my DIY corner bass trap.

1. All bass traps in place.

2. Remove Front Right corner bass trap.
That goes to show how effective a bass trap is. Mind to show the bass trap. IIRC, it's a DIY, right?

Back to trim level, the AS-EQ1 calculated the distance and trim level, which I need to set it to my 4310. Trim is at -4dB.
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 03:02 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Sep 29 2009, 02:21 PM)
Appreciate that bro... 1 reason i suspect this could be bcos of the echo in the room causing audyssey to lower my velo trim to d max..
During the Audyssey calibration, when the test tone is sent to your sub is it very loud? Normally the only reason why Audyssey would set the trim so much to -15 dB is if it thinks the test tone is too loud and it needs to compensate.

I didn't have any trouble with Audyssey with my previous Velo CHT-12Q. I recall Audyssey set the sub trim to -2 dB (and sub volume itself was at 30).
hsiengloong
post Sep 29 2009, 03:06 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

yes i recall that it was quite loud... But at that time i had no room accoustics, nothing... This could be the culprit..
ronnt88
post Sep 29 2009, 03:10 PM

2,353 posts

the only way my audyssey trims my CHT12Q to +/- 2dB is if I set the gain at CHT-12Q to 10 only doh.gif
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 03:39 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Sep 29 2009, 03:10 PM)
the only way my audyssey trims my CHT12Q to +/- 2dB is if I set the gain at CHT-12Q to 10 only doh.gif
I guess different AVR implements it slightly differently when it comes to levels. Either that or there is a lot of gain variance in the Velo subs smile.gif
hsiengloong
post Sep 29 2009, 03:47 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Bro, imagine what Audyssey will do to your submersive?? lol
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 03:55 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 29 2009, 11:16 AM)
Here's the AS-EQ1 :

Looking at your graph again, I think the limit of the EQ1's boost is around +10 dB, which is quite good. Some other devices might be limited to +6 dB or less.

Also, can you check with SVS if the EQ1 equalizes below 20 Hz? I notice the portion below 20 Hz looks about the same as the 'before'. Previously I did ask on AVS if MultEQ XT equalizes below 20 Hz but didn't get any definite answer.
ronnt88
post Sep 29 2009, 03:58 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Sep 29 2009, 03:47 PM)
Bro, imagine what Audyssey will do to your submersive?? lol
i dunno.. i have no idea how 2 setup also & bro anfieldude is not in town to help me sad.gif

guess i'll set the gain on sub to 33% and run Audyssey and live with the result until bro anfieldude gets back smile.gif
hsiengloong
post Sep 29 2009, 04:05 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Wow bro, hope you wont blow ur upstairs roof off lol since ur not able to tame this baby until anfieldude comes back
TShtkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 05:18 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 29 2009, 03:55 PM)
Looking at your graph again, I think the limit of the EQ1's boost is around +10 dB, which is quite good. Some other devices might be limited to +6 dB or less.

Also, can you check with SVS if the EQ1 equalizes below 20 Hz? I notice the portion below 20 Hz looks about the same as the 'before'. Previously I did ask on AVS if MultEQ XT equalizes below 20 Hz but didn't get any definite answer.
I suspect it could be the ugly room nodes since my room dimension s**ks (10' x 20'). But, I will also ask Ed abt the questions that you raised to double confirm
cougar richard
post Sep 29 2009, 05:44 PM

I want money
1,007 posts

may i know u using wat equipment to measure that FR graph?
how much for that thing?

my Denon always give diff setting in dB for sub and speakers when re-run Audyssey. tried 3 times, all diff setting. its kinda hard to set mic at 6 constant position relative to listening area. i guess tis should be the reason behind..
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 07:09 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(cougar richard @ Sep 29 2009, 05:44 PM)
my Denon always give diff setting in dB for sub and speakers when re-run Audyssey. tried 3 times, all diff setting. its kinda hard to set mic at 6 constant position relative to listening area. i guess tis should be the reason behind..
Having different trim settings for speakers is quite common, nothing to worry about. It is not necessary to match the trim setting for your sub and speakers.

Your front speakers are likely different from your center and surround (maybe different brand, different impedance, different sensitivity). For your sub, a lot will depend on how loud you set the gain control on your sub.
ar188
post Sep 29 2009, 07:13 PM

9,206 posts

from the graph 0 db reference level, flat curve... how many db SPL is that in real world loudness? got difference between 80db cheapo yammy sub and 110db like those JL and elite subs..
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 07:39 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 29 2009, 07:13 PM)
from the graph 0 db reference level, flat curve... how many db SPL is that in real world loudness?
I think that depends on the loudness of the test tone sent by the EQ1. If I'm not mistaken the test tone is probably 75 - 85 dB.

That's why on many graphs you sometimes see a statement like "does not denote maximum output".
ar188
post Sep 29 2009, 07:48 PM

9,206 posts

what we should know is how flat at how loud? Not just how flat at 80db. That seperates the pretenders fm the real deal.
TShtkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 07:57 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

The tone is set at 75dB
gocitygo
post Sep 29 2009, 08:26 PM

397 posts

Here is my plot on Velo 12Q (AutoEQ done) with SR6003 (Audyssey done).

Using cheapo RS digital SPL with REW program. Level = 75dBC

Anyone know how to fine tune sub using SR6003 (i.e. EQ)?

Any sifu done FR on the main speakers? Too bad my RS SPL not accurate for high freq.

This post has been edited by gocitygo: Sep 29 2009, 08:27 PM
ycs
post Sep 29 2009, 09:25 PM

4,239 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Sep 29 2009, 08:26 PM)
Here is my plot on Velo 12Q (AutoEQ done) with SR6003 (Audyssey done).

Using cheapo RS digital SPL with REW program.  Level = 75dBC

Anyone know how to fine tune sub using SR6003 (i.e. EQ)?

Any sifu done FR on the main speakers?  Too bad my RS SPL not accurate for high freq.
your chart looks quite good, the Auto EQ doing its job well.

my previous velo 10R also had sound levels falling off rapidly around 25-30Hz but the SVS can maintain sound levels well below 20Hz biggrin.gif

jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 09:27 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 29 2009, 07:48 PM)
what we should know is how flat at how loud? Not just how flat at 80db. That seperates the pretenders fm the real deal.
Yes, I agree that it is more useful info to know what is the max loudness where a sub will maintain a flat graph. However, testing at 75-80dB is the industry standard.

Some time ago a new standard called CEA-2010 was introduced to test subs. You can read about it here: http://www.paragonhometheaters.com/news_info/tab4.htm This measures max clean output (as opposed to max flat output you mentioned). Unfortunately sub makers haven't adopted CEA-2010 when reporting performance specs.
gocitygo
post Sep 29 2009, 09:51 PM

397 posts

wahlau! svs poision. the tot-kong is different category la. notworthy.gif

me still new in HT. man-man lei, enjoy my investment.

one thing i learnt, better moderate or expensive gears, need to find way to optimize and unleash the full potential before jump into next upgrade. at least for me with hard earned $ biggrin.gif

i believe you are master in REW, me still blur rclxub.gif blur rclxub.gif and may get the master input rclxms.gif

QUOTE(ycs @ Sep 29 2009, 09:25 PM)
your chart looks quite good, the Auto EQ doing its job well.

my previous velo 10R also had sound levels falling off rapidly around 25-30Hz but the SVS can maintain sound levels well below 20Hz  biggrin.gif
TShtkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 10:13 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

The graph is quite good considering that it is being done via Auto EQ and SR6003.

jchong,

I have got the answers :

Q1. The dip at 40Hz (must be room nodes) was being rectified to a certain extent; +10dB.

A1 : Yes, it's a room mode. Please try to move the listening position forward or rearward. This is an axial mode and you should be able to move out of it within 2-3 feet in either direction.

Q2: Is there a limit that the AS-EEQ1 can boost; like around 10 dB. Some other devices are very limited to below 6 dB or less.

A2 : Yes, there is a limit; it's 9 dB.

Q3: Does AS-EQ1 equalizes below 20 Hz? I notice the portion below 20 Hz looks about the same as the 'before'. If yes, then what could be the reason of this graph.

A3: Yes, the AS-EQ1 will equalize to 6 Hz with the current firmware/software. Make sure to set your room gain control to Bypass. Also make sure any THX Ultra II boundary gain compensation is set to off/no, and all your speakers are set to Small with 60 Hz for the mains, and 80 Hz for all others. Something else is causing a premature roll-off from 20-15 Hz. The subwoofer should be flat to 15 Hz before roll-off. Move the listening position and try it again.

On the above, I did wrongly set my speakers doh.gif since the front is being set as full range (Large) and 40Hz for center and 60Hz for surr. Lesson learned blush.gif

This post has been edited by htkaki: Sep 30 2009, 08:27 AM
anfieldude
post Sep 30 2009, 03:46 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 29 2009, 10:13 PM)
The graph is quite good considering that it is being done via Auto EQ and SR6003.

jchong,

I have got the answers :
Q1. The dip at 40Hz (must be room nodes) was being rectified to a certain extent; +10dB.

A1 : Yes, it's a room mode.  Please try to move the listening position forward or rearward.  This is an axial mode and you should be able to move out of it within 2-3 feet in either direction.
Q2: Is there a limit that the AS-EEQ1 can boost; like around 10 dB. Some other devices are very limited to below 6 dB or less.

A2 : Yes, there is a limit; it's 9 dB.
Q3: Does AS-EQ1 equalizes below 20 Hz? I notice the portion below 20 Hz looks about the same as the 'before'. If yes, then what could be the reason of this graph.

A3: Yes, the AS-EQ1 will equalize to 6 Hz with the current firmware/software.  Make sure to set your room gain control to Bypass.  Also make sure any THX Ultra II boundary gain compensation is set to off/no, and all your speakers are set to Small with 60 Hz for the mains, and 80 Hz for all others.  Something else is causing a premature roll-off from 20-15 Hz.  The subwoofer should be flat to 15 Hz before roll-off.  Move the listening position and try it again.
On the above, I did wrongly set my speakers  doh.gif since the front is being set as full range (Large) and 40Hz for center and 60Hz for surr. Lesson learned  blush.gif
AS-EQ1 really looks like a class act. I believe more so for people trying to equalize 2 subs..
TShtkaki
post Sep 30 2009, 04:07 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I will do the calibration againto see how the new FR graph will look like. Hopefully that we can see a FR graph of 2 diff makes & models by Sunday.
cougar richard
post Sep 30 2009, 06:16 PM

I want money
1,007 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 29 2009, 07:09 PM)
Having different trim settings for speakers is quite common, nothing to worry about. It is not necessary to match the trim setting for your sub and speakers.

Your front speakers are likely different from your center and surround (maybe different brand, different impedance, different sensitivity). For your sub, a lot will depend on how loud you set the gain control on your sub.
sorry, maybe my reply not clear.
i meant when i run audyssey for 3 times, the setting for each and every speakers are not the same for 3 times.
for instance,

first run: center at +1.5db
second run: center at +1db
third run: center at -1.5db

so as for the rest of the speakers setting.
so everytime got some diff abt the surround effect that surrounding the listening area.

ps: audyssey eq actually quite sensitive, setting tat has been done if simply adjust manually again, then it might turn the audyssey off and need to redo the time consuming process again. quite fade up wif it.
taqies
post Sep 30 2009, 06:17 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(cougar richard @ Sep 30 2009, 06:16 PM)
i meant when i run audyssey for 3 times, the setting for each and every speakers are not the same for 3 times.
for instance,

so everytime got some diff abt the surround effect that surrounding the listening area.

ps: audyssey eq actually quite sensitive, setting tat has been done if simply adjust manually again, then it might turn the audyssey off and need to redo the time consuming process again. quite fade up wif it.
Maybe the background noises were different each time you ran it.
anfieldude
post Sep 30 2009, 06:20 PM

3,858 posts

for instance,

Pretty close results. This was based on how many points (8 points). The reason u get slightly different results is due to different placement of mics each time. I believe the Audyssey mic is +/- 1dB and ur readings are close to that.

Don't worry too much abt it. Is the subwoofer trim also +/- 2dB. If yes, looks good and shd be ok. If u can check with a frequency response curve, it would be best.
cougar richard
post Sep 30 2009, 06:27 PM

I want money
1,007 posts

QUOTE(taqies @ Sep 30 2009, 06:17 PM)
Maybe the background noises were different each time you ran it.
perhaps hmm.gif

Added on September 30, 2009, 6:32 pm
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Sep 30 2009, 06:20 PM)
Pretty close results. This was based on how many points (8 points). The reason u get slightly different results is due to different placement of mics each time. I believe the Audyssey mic is +/- 1dB and ur readings are close to that.

Don't worry too much abt it. Is the subwoofer trim also +/- 2dB. If yes, looks good and shd be ok. If u can check with a frequency response curve, it would be best.
mine low end 1, so 6 points only..
FL,FR,centre almost +/- 2-2.5db
sub forgotten, but it sets the distance to 7.5 meters away. in fact, only 2m++. but manual says normal since it has built in circuit that may cause tis
surr some time can get +3.5db, and it is rite abv sitting area.

how to check FR curve? wat equipment needed and price?

This post has been edited by cougar richard: Sep 30 2009, 06:32 PM
anfieldude
post Sep 30 2009, 06:40 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(cougar richard @ Sep 30 2009, 06:27 PM)
perhaps hmm.gif

Added on September 30, 2009, 6:32 pm
mine low end 1, so 6 points only..
FL,FR,centre almost +/- 2-2.5db
sub forgotten, but it sets the distance to 7.5 meters away. in fact, only 2m++. but manual says normal since it has built in circuit that may cause tis
surr some time can get +3.5db, and it is rite abv sitting area.

how to check FR curve? wat equipment needed and price?
Check ur current post Audyssey sub trim and let me know. The distance for the sub not tallying with actual is ok. The sub generates the low frequencies. What Audyssey is doing by setting the distance setting further than the actual is in fact adding a delay to the sub so that all the frequencies arrive at ur ear (1st measurement position) at the same time. You probably have some parallel walls or something that are causing reflections from the subs to arrive at the primary seating position faster than the rest of the frequencies. Is the sub close to a wall?

How far off from actual are the distances of the fronts? What is the cutoffs that were applied for the fronts?

gocitygo
post Sep 30 2009, 09:24 PM

397 posts

anfieldude, that means we should use the Audyssey sub distance rather than actual distance? for 5.1 level matching using SPL meter, should i use the Audyssey sub distance or actual sub distance from the listening position? still blur blur
anfieldude
post Sep 30 2009, 10:19 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Sep 30 2009, 09:24 PM)
anfieldude, that means we should use the Audyssey sub distance rather than actual distance?  for 5.1 level matching using SPL meter, should i use the Audyssey sub distance or actual sub distance from the listening position?  still blur blur
I'm sorry, I don't understand ur question.

I would say use the Audyssey sub distance and not the actual sub distance.

Level matching ensure that at the listening position the speaker outputs are balanced and matched for output.

The distance setting is to calculate the delay that is to be added induced by room environment.
jchong
post Oct 1 2009, 09:16 AM

5,989 posts

for instance,

This is unusual. When I run Audyssey (using 3 positions for quick runs) the results are quite consistent from run to run.

Maybe as others have said, your ambient noise was different from run to run. Were your mic positions the same?
robinlim
post Oct 1 2009, 09:53 AM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 1 2009, 09:16 AM)
This is unusual. When I run Audyssey (using 3 positions for quick runs) the results are quite consistent from run to run.

Maybe as others have said, your ambient noise was different from run to run. Were your mic positions the same?
Me too
I used it for 6 positions, the results are quite consistent
btw, different height of mic for each position will affect the result also right?
jchong
post Oct 1 2009, 09:58 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Oct 1 2009, 09:53 AM)
btw, different height of mic for each position will affect the result also right?
Possibly. If you have a high back chair and your mic is lower than the back it can affect the results. In those cases you should set the mic higher than the back of the chair.

Otherwise generally the mic should be put at ear height.
TShtkaki
post Oct 1 2009, 03:20 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I put it at ear height and done 32 positions (wt AS-EQ1)
ycs
post Oct 7 2009, 02:38 PM

4,239 posts

anyone else measured their room response? hmm.gif
hsiengloong
post Oct 7 2009, 03:06 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Hopefully to get mine done this weekend when Htkaki drops by with AS EQ 1:P
anfieldude
post Oct 7 2009, 03:19 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Oct 7 2009, 02:38 PM)
anyone else measured their room response? hmm.gif
I posted Ron's room response in the subwoofer thread.
TShtkaki
post Oct 7 2009, 06:46 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Hopefully, there will be more FR graphs in coming weeks, if you know what I mean brows.gif

Anfieldude, I might send the AS-EQ1 to one of my cust in PG first for him to try out. Then, you guys turn to lay hands on it. Ok for you all? smile.gif
gnsumas
post Oct 7 2009, 06:49 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

Can anyone ajar how to read the graph? blush.gif
ar188
post Oct 7 2009, 07:00 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(gnsumas @ Oct 7 2009, 06:49 PM)
Can anyone ajar how to read the graph? blush.gif
a for apple
b for ball.. biggrin.gif
gnsumas
post Oct 7 2009, 07:01 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

teach la cry.gif

TShtkaki
post Oct 8 2009, 05:57 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 7 2009, 03:19 PM)
I posted Ron's room response in the subwoofer thread.
Bro, can post here to 'streamline' it adn easy for others to view? smile.gif

Btw, EQ1 can do time domain.
ar188
post Oct 8 2009, 06:05 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 8 2009, 05:57 PM)
Bro, can post here to 'streamline' it adn easy for others to view?  smile.gif

Btw, EQ1 can do time domain.
wow, need to see how it can suppress those low frequency (10-30hz) response after 300ms which is clouding many sub's waterfall charts..
anfieldude
post Oct 8 2009, 07:15 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 8 2009, 06:05 PM)
wow, need to see how it can suppress those low frequency (10-30hz) response after 300ms which is clouding many sub's waterfall charts..
Actually, maybe gocitygo can post his charts here as well. I have seen his waterfall charts, Audyssey and room treatment, and it is awesome.
anfieldude
post Oct 8 2009, 07:18 PM

3,858 posts

Ron's Submersive curves.
(with Ron's permission)

These are preliminary frequency curves that I took yesterday. I just took some basic measurements and it was done with the RS SPL Meter coz I forgot to bring my connector for the Galaxy CM-140. Will redo and play around with the crossovers to see if I can improve on this. Also this was all with Audyssey only and based on the curves I believe Ron can run the Audyssey again with the tripod for better results (since these results were based on Audyssey mic on the chair which is not correct)

1st chart : This is at reference 75dB. Pretty decent results. Room node of 31.5Hz present. Again need to check this post Audyssey again.

2nd chart : Ron's room is pretty difficult and probably needs to be redone after Audyssey. If still not able might need an AS-EQ1 one to improve on this. His lower frequencies barely settle down at 300ms. In fact they linger around for as long as 1s. In fact at 16Hz there is a pickup after 300ms that u cannot see. I believe I need to redo this with the Galaxy. I also believe this will improve after 2nd round of Audyssey. If this cannot be corrected, then a AS-EQ1 is necessary for further accuracy.

3rd chart: With the volume on AVR turned slightly up only, as I said, easily will hit 110dB with almost no distortion

Its a giant sub and if there is flexibility in placement I believe we could make it even better. Will post the new results once its done.
TShtkaki
post Oct 8 2009, 07:34 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

The EQ1 would be in PG after Deepavali. Eager to see the result.
anfieldude
post Oct 8 2009, 07:35 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 8 2009, 07:34 PM)
The EQ1 would be in PG after Deepavali. Eager to see the result.
htkaki,

He agreed or for someone else to test.....
TShtkaki
post Oct 8 2009, 07:56 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

If the customer keep it after the satisfying result, then I'll send another one up. Just for Ron and you to test it out.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Oct 8 2009, 07:56 PM
ronnt88
post Oct 9 2009, 09:16 AM

2,353 posts

wah... htkaki so kind of u... laugh.gif
ycs
post Oct 9 2009, 09:44 AM

4,239 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 8 2009, 07:56 PM)
If the customer keep it after the satisfying result, then I'll send another one up. Just for Ron and you to test it out.
now poison by post...haha rclxms.gif

based on the reviews, EQ1 will surely produce nearly flat FR; the only issue is whether you like the result or not...and of course, your moneyflies.gif moneyflies.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 9 2009, 09:45 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Oct 9 2009, 09:16 AM)
wah... htkaki so kind of u... laugh.gif
Np, bro. Just that I've a 'hidden agenda' tongue.gif

Dying to see the waterfall chart and the time domain correction that EQ1 is capable of. I don't have such equipment to do so at the moment. So, send to anfieldude and you would be ideal. smile.gif
gocitygo
post Oct 10 2009, 10:13 AM

397 posts

anfieldude, thanks for the compliment, paiseh paiseh. still got a lot to learn from all the sifus. compare to those tok kong sub and sub equalizer, just kacang nia.

i believe the room treatment helps a lot.

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 8 2009, 07:15 PM)
Actually, maybe gocitygo can post his charts here as well. I have seen his waterfall charts, Audyssey and room treatment, and it is awesome.
This post has been edited by gocitygo: Oct 10 2009, 11:54 AM
ar188
post Oct 10 2009, 10:39 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Oct 10 2009, 10:13 AM)
anfieldude, thanks for the compliment, paiseh paiseh.  still got a lot to learn for all the sifus.  compare to those tok kong sub and sub equalizer, just kacang nia.

nice to see most of the bass died down by 300ms...
anfieldude
post Oct 10 2009, 11:40 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 10 2009, 10:39 AM)
nice to see most of the bass died down by 300ms...
ar188,

Actually its all the bass gone by 300ms, floor noise is around 50Hz...
jchong
post Oct 10 2009, 12:13 PM

5,989 posts

So I guess it is ideal to have all the bass gone by 300 ms?

If I'm reading correctly, there's still a touch of bass around at 300 ms at 20Hz, 24Hz, ~50Hz and ~60-70HZ but fairly low amplitude (60 dB and below). Am I reading correctly?
ycs
post Oct 10 2009, 02:08 PM

4,239 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Oct 10 2009, 10:13 AM)
anfieldude, thanks for the compliment, paiseh paiseh.  still got a lot to learn from all the sifus.  compare to those tok kong sub and sub equalizer, just kacang nia.

your chart looks good. mind sharing what you did - super bass traps??
gocitygo
post Oct 10 2009, 02:44 PM

397 posts

bro ycs. no super bass trap la.

got 4 triangle traps at the top tri-corner, 3 rectangle traps at the wall-to-wall corner, 1 rectangle trap at the back listening position and 2 rectangle traps at the side of main front speakers. trap material = 1" thick rockwool (80 kg/m3 density).

plenty of foam traps the wall-to-wall corner. i believe yours no less that me.

next, plan to DIY the diffusor recommended by you smile.gif.
anfieldude
post Oct 10 2009, 05:38 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 10 2009, 12:13 PM)
So I guess it is ideal to have all the bass gone by 300 ms?

If I'm reading correctly, there's still a touch of bass around at 300 ms at 20Hz, 24Hz, ~50Hz and ~60-70HZ but fairly low amplitude (60 dB and below). Am I reading correctly?
Correct, the amplitude of 50-60dB shd be floor noise and is acceptable.
gocitygo
post Oct 10 2009, 06:00 PM

397 posts

how do we measure floor noise?

sorry for noob question.

This post has been edited by gocitygo: Oct 10 2009, 06:17 PM
jchong
post Oct 10 2009, 06:06 PM

5,989 posts

Is this floor noise quite prevalent in all homes/rooms?
anfieldude
post Oct 10 2009, 06:49 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Oct 10 2009, 06:00 PM)
how do we measure floor noise?

sorry for noob question.
Measure ur room noise without any sound playing with the SPL meter.
anfieldude
post Oct 10 2009, 06:52 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 10 2009, 06:06 PM)
Is this floor noise quite prevalent in all homes/rooms?
No it depends on ur own environment. If ur room is quite well soundproofed, then it could be lower.

In my case, during the day, it is around 55dB. At night shd be less. Also if u have the air con on during measurement, then u shd measure the floor noise with it to understand the effect of it.
taqies
post Oct 10 2009, 07:00 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 10 2009, 06:52 PM)
No it depends on ur own environment. If ur room is quite well soundproofed, then it could be lower.

In my case, during the day, it is around 55dB. At night shd be less. Also if u have the air con on during measurement, then u shd measure the floor noise with it to understand the effect of it.
Yerp, just like anfielddude said, floor noise differs, typical living room would be around 50dB-60dB, got that in my room too.
jchong
post Oct 10 2009, 08:45 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 10 2009, 06:52 PM)

I see. I did measure my room using the CM140. At night, when there is little external noise it is about 40-41 dB (this is everything turned off).
gocitygo
post Oct 10 2009, 09:22 PM

397 posts

wow, 40dB is quite low. the next thing you will find the aircond quite noisy, he he smile.gif

btw, is CM140 goods until 20kHz? then, you can measure the front speaker liao.

This post has been edited by gocitygo: Oct 10 2009, 09:24 PM
jchong
post Oct 10 2009, 09:32 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Oct 10 2009, 09:22 PM)
wow, 40dB is quite low.  the next thing you will find the aircond quite noisy, he he smile.gif

btw, is CM140 goods until 20kHz?  then, you can measure the front speaker liao.
Yeah, the air-con is now the weak point in terms of noise smile.gif

According to specs, the CM140 is good up to 8kHz.
wkang
post Oct 10 2009, 10:00 PM

190 posts

Sorry for the noob question. For the yammy 665, lowest manual GEQ is 63hz. But in the absence of lower GEQ, only way to correct the response would be room correction or purchase of svs - EQ1? Or buy an AVR with better GEQ? How low does Audessey allow to adjust?
jchong
post Oct 10 2009, 10:19 PM

5,989 posts

Audyssey does not allow manual adjustment of the EQ. So you will not see any equalizer bands for Audyssey that are user selectable.

However, I understand that Audyssey can adjust down to 20Hz (or maybe even lower).
taqies
post Oct 10 2009, 10:21 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(wkang @ Oct 10 2009, 10:00 PM)
Sorry for the noob question. For the yammy 665, lowest manual GEQ is 63hz. But in the absence of lower GEQ, only way to correct the response would be room correction or purchase of svs - EQ1? Or buy an AVR with better GEQ? How low does Audessey allow to adjust?
No AVR with better GEQ would allow you to manually equalise that low.I don't think AUdyssey ESq1 allows manual adjustment(correct me if I'm wrong), try sms1 or behringer if you would like to tweak the values manually.
wkang
post Oct 10 2009, 10:33 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(taqies @ Oct 10 2009, 10:21 PM)
No AVR with better GEQ would allow you to manually equalise that low.I don't think AUdyssey ESq1 allows manual adjustment(correct me if I'm wrong), try sms1 or behringer if you would like to tweak the values manually.
Tks. Alternative to tat method would be like gocitygo and get an auto eq sub, e.g Velo CHT-10/12Q? Which so far from his graphs are impressive.

OT a bit, 665 GEQ also has quite a large gap between 2.5khz and 6.3khz and straight to 16khz. Am having problems solving spikes above 5khz from all speakers, which is obvious when running linear sweep test tones from REW. Would sifus know how to tame/correct those spikes or am using the wrong tones to test?
anfieldude
post Oct 10 2009, 11:11 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(wkang @ Oct 10 2009, 10:33 PM)
Tks. Alternative to tat method would be like gocitygo and get an auto eq sub, e.g Velo CHT-10/12Q? Which so far from his graphs are impressive.

OT a bit, 665 GEQ also has quite a large gap between 2.5khz and 6.3khz and straight to 16khz. Am having problems solving spikes above 5khz from all speakers, which is obvious when running linear sweep test tones from REW. Would sifus know how to tame/correct those spikes or am using the wrong tones to test?
Can u post ur charts and how u took the measurements? I'm curious. Also the RS SPL Meter is not known to be accurate past 5kHz.

Added on October 10, 2009, 11:12 pm
QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 10 2009, 09:32 PM)
Yeah, the air-con is now the weak point in terms of noise smile.gif

According to specs, the CM140 is good up to 8kHz.
CM140 is spec'ed to 8KHz but its calibrated at the factory and tests comparing to a calibrated mic have shown accuracy up till 20kHz.

This post has been edited by anfieldude: Oct 10 2009, 11:12 PM
anfieldude
post Oct 10 2009, 11:14 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(wkang @ Oct 10 2009, 10:33 PM)

gocitygo's response is good due to a couple of things, room treatment and Audyssey.

Yammy's YPAO is generally not as highly regarded as Audyssey.
ar188
post Oct 10 2009, 11:54 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 10 2009, 11:11 PM)
Can u post ur charts and how u took the measurements? I'm curious. Also the RS SPL Meter is not known to be accurate past 5kHz.

Added on October 10, 2009, 11:12 pm

CM140 is spec'ed to 8KHz but its calibrated at the factory and tests comparing to a calibrated mic have shown accuracy up till 20kHz.
I think RS performs crappy-ly at sub range.. that's why have to put so much weighing correction.. biggrin.gif

these things are more good for measuring relative loudness between speakers (when doing room correction/calibration between main/surround speakers) rather than getting accurate SPL readings of individual speakers....

Added on October 11, 2009, 12:00 am
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 10 2009, 11:40 AM)
ar188,

Actually its all the bass gone by 300ms, floor noise is around 50Hz...
that's what I meant..

the floor is already set as 48dB from the Y axis of the graph.. (not at 0db) so when I said most of the bass has died down (meaning except 45,50 and 65hz) , it means just that.. most of it reached the noise floor i,e, 48db smile.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Oct 11 2009, 12:00 AM
wkang
post Oct 11 2009, 12:03 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 10 2009, 11:14 PM)
gocitygo's response is good due to a couple of things, room treatment and Audyssey.

Yeah, peasant here on both counts cry.gif .

Measurements were just read off the meter as the linear sweep was played between 63hz to 17khz at 75dB for each channel. Was fluctuation between plus/minus 2dB up until 5khz when it went off the analog meter first above 80dB and later below 70dB around 9khz. Roughly the same response for the wideband pink noise played for each channel on the Avia II disc but not sure of the frequencies on those track as not stated.

Havent hookup the SPL meter to the soundcard yet, will try to do so soon.
jchong
post Oct 11 2009, 08:13 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 10 2009, 11:11 PM)
Excellent!
gocitygo
post Oct 11 2009, 08:44 AM

397 posts

Wow, until 20kHz.....sui.

How muchie is CM140?

anfieldude
post Oct 11 2009, 08:49 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Oct 11 2009, 08:44 AM)
Wow, until 20kHz.....sui.

How muchie is CM140?
I think it is between USD130-USD140. Maybe u can snag one for slightly lower if u really look.
TShtkaki
post Oct 11 2009, 10:40 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 10 2009, 11:14 PM)

gocitygo's acoustic treatment is impressive smile.gif With the many bass traps and acoustic treatment, it does eliminate most of the acoustic issue normally found in room.

I agree with you o the YPAO. It's proven with my previous FR chart. nothing much can be done by YPAO esp 'valley' rclxub.gif
anfieldude
post Oct 11 2009, 11:23 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 10 2009, 10:19 PM)
Audyssey does not allow manual adjustment of the EQ. So you will not see any equalizer bands for Audyssey that are user selectable.

However, I understand that Audyssey can adjust down to 20Hz (or maybe even lower).
Audyssey is good till 20Hz for sure.

I believe Denon amps allow u to see the Audyssey settings and u can further tweak them by copying them to a free input. It might only be avail in the ones with Audyssey pro (3808i and above I think). Maybe some Denon users can confirm
ar188
post Oct 11 2009, 08:46 PM

9,206 posts

I think this explaination.. biggrin.gif
taqies
post Oct 11 2009, 09:03 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 11 2009, 11:23 AM)
Audyssey is good till 20Hz for sure.

I believe Denon amps allow u to see the Audyssey settings and u can further tweak them by copying them to a free input. It might only be avail in the ones with Audyssey pro (3808i and above I think). Maybe some Denon users can confirm
As far as I know, you need to buy the license separately if you want to use the MultEq Pro. They come with MultEq Pro ready but not installed, a bit like windows 7 ready logo but windows vista is installed.
gocitygo
post Oct 11 2009, 10:18 PM

397 posts

fuyoh drool.gif Audyssey damn powerfullllll

anyone done the full range measurement before/after Audyssey? perhaps can post the graph for us to 'tai hoi gan kai' rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 11 2009, 08:46 PM)

I think this explaination..  biggrin.gif
This post has been edited by gocitygo: Oct 11 2009, 10:18 PM
TShtkaki
post Oct 11 2009, 10:58 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Waiting anfieldude to come over in few weeks time. I will disengage EQ1 to get 'before' reading and then engage it to have a look at the near flat curve.
hsiengloong
post Oct 12 2009, 11:22 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

I was patiently waiting for HTkaki to come over my hse yesterday to get a graph of my room, pre and post AS EQ 1 but too bad, stg went wrong with my laptop and the graph just didnt show...

Hopefully i have stg to post on here 2 weeks down the road...
cougar richard
post Oct 13 2009, 10:28 AM

I want money
1,007 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Sep 30 2009, 06:40 PM)
Check ur current post Audyssey sub trim and let me know. The distance for the sub not tallying with actual is ok. The sub generates the low frequencies. What Audyssey is doing by setting the distance setting further than the actual is in fact adding a delay to the sub so that all the frequencies arrive at ur ear (1st measurement position) at the same time. You probably have some parallel walls or something that are causing reflections from the subs to arrive at the primary seating position faster than the rest of the frequencies. Is the sub close to a wall?

How far off from actual are the distances of the fronts? What is the cutoffs that were applied for the fronts?
actually I hv been stop using Audyssey for quite some time. coz i had run then for 3 times and every time my father juz go and adjust those setting. coz the sub trim was like -7 to -9db. so actually it is lack of bass. my father like bass gao gao when listening music. the louder it is, the better the sound to him basically rclxub.gif
again, Audyssey is sensitive to adjustment. so i had fade up and stop calibrating it. juz let it be and i will stick to my stereo set when i wanna listen to music.

currently the trim i had manually adjusted to 0db.

the rest remain the same setting as last run Audyssey.

sub and main speakers is abt +/- 30 cm from wall and abt 2m++ from listening area.

i guess this would cause sound to be muddy as lot of reflection plus listening position is stick to the other end of wall. but no choice as due to physical constraints.

as for cut off to the front, i set to 80hz

Added on October 13, 2009, 10:35 am
QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 1 2009, 09:16 AM)

actually abt the same but due to some measuring error, it is not exactly the same for each time for those 6 positions.

for the last run, due to my lazyness and to make thing more easy, i removed the listening area sofa to start mic calibration then afterwards, i place then back to listening position area again blush.gif
then the sound actually quite differ from the very first run.
i know it may gv me undesirable result but as wat i was thinking, the setting will gone again coz my father hand itchy then he will go and adjust bass gao gao back again.
so no point for me to re run this time consuming process again and again yet each time my effort doesnt last for even 1 mth.
after all, my father bought all these equipment, so i cant say too much also.

he pay the money, of course he want the sound to be fit to his ears...

so i wil juz stick to my stereo when comes to music.
but for movie wise, i will still back to his setup coz it has surround.

This post has been edited by cougar richard: Oct 13 2009, 10:35 AM
jchong
post Oct 13 2009, 10:43 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(cougar richard @ Oct 13 2009, 10:28 AM)
my father like bass gao gao when listening music. the louder it is, the better the sound to him basically  rclxub.gif

Yup, bass is a very individual thing. Some people are bass heads and some not.

for the last run, due to my lazyness and to make thing more easy, i removed the listening area sofa to start mic calibration then afterwards, i place then back to listening position area again  blush.gif
then the sound actually quite differ from the very first run.

Moving the sofa away will affect the Audyssey since the sofa acts as an absorber. No wonder the sound in your last run is different. Normally you should leave your room as is.
TShtkaki
post Oct 13 2009, 10:49 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 13 2009, 10:43 AM)
Yup, bass is a very individual thing. Some people are bass heads and some not.
Moving the sofa away will affect the Audyssey since the sofa acts as an absorber. No wonder the sound in your last run is different. Normally you should leave your room as is.
Yes, should leave the room as it is in order to get better result.

Bro, are you in KL tmw?
jchong
post Oct 13 2009, 10:58 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 13 2009, 10:49 AM)
Bro, are you in KL tmw?
Nope.
ckyongs
post Oct 13 2009, 02:52 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(cougar richard @ Oct 13 2009, 10:28 AM)
actually I hv been stop using Audyssey for quite some time. coz i had run then for 3 times and every time my father juz go and adjust those setting. coz the sub trim was like -7 to -9db. so actually it is lack of bass. my father like bass gao gao when listening music. the louder it is, the better the sound to him basically  rclxub.gif
i had a similar experience when i replaced my sub with pb12nsd. did audyssey but the bass was soft. found another place and the lfe and feel is there with SAME trim in setting. maybe you can try "bass crawl". also, did you use a mic / camera stand when using audyssey? also if you have sofa, make sure mic is higher than the sofa. and why need to run audyssey again, cause there is a restore setting? (at least for my denon) hope this helps.

This post has been edited by ckyongs: Oct 13 2009, 02:53 PM
cougar richard
post Oct 14 2009, 10:02 AM

I want money
1,007 posts

QUOTE(ckyongs @ Oct 13 2009, 02:52 PM)
i had a similar experience when i replaced my sub with pb12nsd. did audyssey but the bass was soft. found another place and the lfe and feel is there with SAME trim in setting. maybe you can try "bass crawl". also, did you use a mic / camera stand when using audyssey? also if you have sofa, make sure mic is higher than the sofa. and why need to run audyssey again, cause there is a restore setting? (at least for my denon) hope this helps.
wat is "bas crawl" ? finding another better place to place the sub?
i did use tripod, but i put in on sofa and height i adjusted to abt my ear level high.
the height is above the height of sofa.

re-run 3 times because my father go and simply adjust the setting, he doesnt know how to set n never read user manual.
so chin chai press till Audyssey turned off.
i did read from user manual saying that the restore function can restore setting.
but when i press it, it prompted and say run audyssey.
but i am tired of running again and again.
so i juz left it be

using denon at home.
TShtkaki
post Oct 14 2009, 10:51 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Here :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AV3oLLMgS-M&feature=related
ckyongs
post Oct 14 2009, 12:18 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(cougar richard @ Oct 14 2009, 10:02 AM)
wat is "bas crawl" ? finding another better place to place the sub?
i did use tripod, but i put in on sofa and height i adjusted to abt my ear level high.
the height is above the height of sofa.

re-run 3 times because my father go and simply adjust the setting, he doesnt know how to set n never read user manual.
so chin chai press till Audyssey turned off.
i did read from user manual saying that the restore function can restore setting.
but when i press it, it prompted and say run audyssey.
but i am tired of running again and again.
so i juz left it be

using denon at home.
bass crawl
Step 1. Put sub at your SEATING position
Step 2. Play your favourite content with good bass
Step 3. Crawl around room and find the spot where the bass sounds good
Step 4. Put the sub there

will not create the flattest or most accurate sound but at least you know it is not the "worst" as in my case when the svs sound like my old sub.
more here
http://www.audioholics.com/tweaks/speaker-...oofer-placement
http://www.realtraps.com/art_sub-placement.htm
http://www.realtraps.com/lf-noise.htm

as for audyssey, i always change the settings and use the restore with no problem.
i don't think your dad can clear the audyssey settings, it can only be turned off. there is no clear setting as far as i know.
maybe you want to describe the button YOU push?

This post has been edited by ckyongs: Oct 14 2009, 06:26 PM
anfieldude
post Oct 14 2009, 01:14 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(taqies @ Oct 11 2009, 09:03 PM)
As far as I know, you need to buy the license separately if you want to use the MultEq Pro. They come with MultEq Pro ready but not installed, a bit like windows 7 ready logo but windows vista is installed.
I believe all owners of 3808 can talk to the local dealer to upgrade for free (firmware) to enable the Audyssey pro option.
TShtkaki
post Oct 14 2009, 03:14 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 14 2009, 01:14 PM)
I believe all owners of 3808 can talk to the local dealer to upgrade for free (firmware) to enable the Audyssey pro option.
Yeah, worth a try to contact WKH. Even for a minimum fee (for those units w/o warranty), IMHO still worth it.
taqies
post Oct 14 2009, 08:14 PM

72 posts

As far as I know, Audyssey MultEq Pro is a software installed on your laptop, and the software will communicate with your AVR. Perhaps HTkaki can go ask WKH as Denon 4310 does come with MultEq Pro ready. Apparently, Denon only supports MultEq Pro in AVR made for the USA(previous gen, 3808 & 4308, not quite sure about current gen). Better ask the local dealer for clarification.
cougar richard
post Oct 17 2009, 07:53 PM

I want money
1,007 posts

QUOTE(ckyongs @ Oct 14 2009, 12:18 PM)
bass crawl
Step 1. Put sub at your SEATING position
Step 2. Play your favourite content with good bass
Step 3. Crawl around room and find the spot where the bass sounds good
Step 4. Put the sub there

will not create the flattest or most accurate sound but at least you know it is not the "worst" as in my case when the svs sound like my old sub.
more here
http://www.audioholics.com/tweaks/speaker-...oofer-placement
http://www.realtraps.com/art_sub-placement.htm
http://www.realtraps.com/lf-noise.htm

as for audyssey, i always change the settings and use the restore with no problem.
i don't think your dad can clear the audyssey settings, it can only be turned off. there is no clear setting as far as i know.
maybe you want to describe the button YOU push?
icic, i read tis b4.
but it is very unlikely to put at those "better" position.
need to shift sub far from the main front speakers area and space constraint again.

well...for the Audyssey setting, i tried to use the restore function at setting there, at system setup there. but some how it doesnt come back to Audyssey setting again.
i also found it weird.
hmmm...
TShtkaki
post Oct 29 2009, 07:43 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I am waiting for someone's FR graph yawn.gif

Mine :

This post has been edited by htkaki: Nov 13 2009, 12:37 AM
ycs
post Jan 15 2010, 09:36 AM

4,239 posts

so long no one posted new FR graphs...
TShtkaki
post Jan 15 2010, 09:50 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

They posted at other threads. Better streamline it.

Anfiledude has only one of the graphs. He'll take it again.
anfieldude
post Jan 15 2010, 09:51 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 15 2010, 09:50 AM)
They posted at other threads. Better streamline it.

Anfiledude has only one of the graphs. He'll take it again.
Hopefully next week I can redo the graphs...messed up saving it the last time.
TShtkaki
post Jan 27 2010, 09:00 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Btw, Sound & Vision published a review by Daniel Kumin on AS-EQ1 (Nov '09)

http://www.soundandvisionmag.com/audiovide...-equalizer.html
ycs
post May 8 2010, 08:17 AM

4,239 posts

Room EQ Wizard V5 Beta Released
The new Spectrogram plot
The new RTA Window

Room EQ Wizard is a Java application for measuring room responses and correcting modal resonances. It includes tools for generating test signals; measuring SPL; measuring frequency and impulse responses; generating phase, group delay and spectral decay plots, waterfalls, spectrograms and energy-time curves; generating real time analyzer (RTA) plots; calculating reverberation times; displaying equaliser responses and automatically adjusting the settings of parametric equalisers to counter the effects of room modes and adjust responses to match a target.
New in V5

* Phase, Group Delay, Step Response and Spectrogram plots
* Phase wrap/unwrap, IR minimum phase conversion, IR delay calculation and adjustment
* Separate windows for overlays, RTA and EQ functions
* New algorithms for EQ adjustment offering exceptional tracking of target responses, can be used over any frequency range
* Waterfalls of predicted results of EQ can be viewed in the EQ panel and can update live as filter settings are adjusted
* Support for QSC DSP-30 and Crown USM 810 parametric filters
* "Modal" filter setting provided for parametric EQ filters to aid in correcting modal decay

Link here

TShtkaki
post Jun 21 2010, 08:55 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

A bit embarassing. As to date, I have yet to purchase the XTZ Room Analyzer. Btw, anyone using this?
anfieldude
post Jun 21 2010, 10:25 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jun 21 2010, 08:55 AM)
A bit embarassing. As to date, I have yet to purchase the XTZ Room Analyzer. Btw, anyone using this?
I have been using it, but its still in beta, still using the old one as it is more familiar to me.

TShtkaki
post Jun 21 2010, 11:34 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I am curious to know how does my demo room performs and how well does AS-EQ1 helps.

0.0490sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:56 AM