Frequency Response Graph, share here - amateur / enthusiast only

jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 11:57 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Sep 29 2009, 11:32 AM)
I'm still a bit skeptical to run audyssey on my onkyo tongue.gif
Why are you skeptical? Got bad result before?
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 12:06 PM

5,989 posts

You only should be concerned if the setting is at the extreme ends (plus or minus).

In your case fronts at -5 dB is normal. Mine is at -7 dB. However, for your sub at -15 dB is at the extreme end. This indicates some kind of set up issue - simplest thing to try is decrease the volume control on the sub and rerun Audyssey.
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 01:39 PM

5,989 posts

When u rerun Audyssey just use the minimum 3 positions (to save time). This is just to see if it sets the sub trim higher than -15 dB.
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 03:02 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Sep 29 2009, 02:21 PM)
Appreciate that bro... 1 reason i suspect this could be bcos of the echo in the room causing audyssey to lower my velo trim to d max..
During the Audyssey calibration, when the test tone is sent to your sub is it very loud? Normally the only reason why Audyssey would set the trim so much to -15 dB is if it thinks the test tone is too loud and it needs to compensate.

I didn't have any trouble with Audyssey with my previous Velo CHT-12Q. I recall Audyssey set the sub trim to -2 dB (and sub volume itself was at 30).
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 03:39 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Sep 29 2009, 03:10 PM)
the only way my audyssey trims my CHT12Q to +/- 2dB is if I set the gain at CHT-12Q to 10 only doh.gif
I guess different AVR implements it slightly differently when it comes to levels. Either that or there is a lot of gain variance in the Velo subs smile.gif
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 03:55 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 29 2009, 11:16 AM)
Here's the AS-EQ1 :

Looking at your graph again, I think the limit of the EQ1's boost is around +10 dB, which is quite good. Some other devices might be limited to +6 dB or less.

Also, can you check with SVS if the EQ1 equalizes below 20 Hz? I notice the portion below 20 Hz looks about the same as the 'before'. Previously I did ask on AVS if MultEQ XT equalizes below 20 Hz but didn't get any definite answer.
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 07:09 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(cougar richard @ Sep 29 2009, 05:44 PM)
my Denon always give diff setting in dB for sub and speakers when re-run Audyssey. tried 3 times, all diff setting. its kinda hard to set mic at 6 constant position relative to listening area. i guess tis should be the reason behind..
Having different trim settings for speakers is quite common, nothing to worry about. It is not necessary to match the trim setting for your sub and speakers.

Your front speakers are likely different from your center and surround (maybe different brand, different impedance, different sensitivity). For your sub, a lot will depend on how loud you set the gain control on your sub.
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 07:39 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 29 2009, 07:13 PM)
from the graph 0 db reference level, flat curve... how many db SPL is that in real world loudness?
I think that depends on the loudness of the test tone sent by the EQ1. If I'm not mistaken the test tone is probably 75 - 85 dB.

That's why on many graphs you sometimes see a statement like "does not denote maximum output".
jchong
post Sep 29 2009, 09:27 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 29 2009, 07:48 PM)
what we should know is how flat at how loud? Not just how flat at 80db. That seperates the pretenders fm the real deal.
Yes, I agree that it is more useful info to know what is the max loudness where a sub will maintain a flat graph. However, testing at 75-80dB is the industry standard.

Some time ago a new standard called CEA-2010 was introduced to test subs. You can read about it here: http://www.paragonhometheaters.com/news_info/tab4.htm This measures max clean output (as opposed to max flat output you mentioned). Unfortunately sub makers haven't adopted CEA-2010 when reporting performance specs.
jchong
post Oct 1 2009, 09:16 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(cougar richard @ Sep 30 2009, 06:16 PM)
sorry, maybe my reply not clear.
i meant when i run audyssey for 3 times, the setting for each and every speakers are not the same for 3 times.
for instance,

first run: center at +1.5db
second run: center at +1db
third run: center at -1.5db
This is unusual. When I run Audyssey (using 3 positions for quick runs) the results are quite consistent from run to run.

Maybe as others have said, your ambient noise was different from run to run. Were your mic positions the same?
jchong
post Oct 1 2009, 09:58 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(robinlim @ Oct 1 2009, 09:53 AM)
btw, different height of mic for each position will affect the result also right?
Possibly. If you have a high back chair and your mic is lower than the back it can affect the results. In those cases you should set the mic higher than the back of the chair.

Otherwise generally the mic should be put at ear height.
jchong
post Oct 10 2009, 12:13 PM

5,989 posts

So I guess it is ideal to have all the bass gone by 300 ms?

If I'm reading correctly, there's still a touch of bass around at 300 ms at 20Hz, 24Hz, ~50Hz and ~60-70HZ but fairly low amplitude (60 dB and below). Am I reading correctly?
jchong
post Oct 10 2009, 06:06 PM

5,989 posts

Is this floor noise quite prevalent in all homes/rooms?
jchong
post Oct 10 2009, 08:45 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 10 2009, 06:52 PM)
No it depends on ur own environment. If ur room is quite well soundproofed, then it could be lower.

In my case, during the day, it is around 55dB. At night shd be less. Also if u have the air con on during measurement, then u shd measure the floor noise with it to understand the effect of it.
I see. I did measure my room using the CM140. At night, when there is little external noise it is about 40-41 dB (this is everything turned off).
jchong
post Oct 10 2009, 09:32 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Oct 10 2009, 09:22 PM)
wow, 40dB is quite low.  the next thing you will find the aircond quite noisy, he he smile.gif

btw, is CM140 goods until 20kHz?  then, you can measure the front speaker liao.
Yeah, the air-con is now the weak point in terms of noise smile.gif

According to specs, the CM140 is good up to 8kHz.
jchong
post Oct 10 2009, 10:19 PM

5,989 posts

Audyssey does not allow manual adjustment of the EQ. So you will not see any equalizer bands for Audyssey that are user selectable.

However, I understand that Audyssey can adjust down to 20Hz (or maybe even lower).
jchong
post Oct 11 2009, 08:13 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Oct 10 2009, 11:11 PM)
CM140 is spec'ed to 8KHz but its calibrated at the factory and tests comparing to a calibrated mic have shown accuracy up till 20kHz.
Excellent!
jchong
post Oct 13 2009, 10:43 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(cougar richard @ Oct 13 2009, 10:28 AM)
my father like bass gao gao when listening music. the louder it is, the better the sound to him basically  rclxub.gif

Yup, bass is a very individual thing. Some people are bass heads and some not.

for the last run, due to my lazyness and to make thing more easy, i removed the listening area sofa to start mic calibration then afterwards, i place then back to listening position area again  blush.gif
then the sound actually quite differ from the very first run.

Moving the sofa away will affect the Audyssey since the sofa acts as an absorber. No wonder the sound in your last run is different. Normally you should leave your room as is.
jchong
post Oct 13 2009, 10:58 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 13 2009, 10:49 AM)
Bro, are you in KL tmw?
Nope.

0.0243sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 08:46 PM