7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 22/10 CSKA Moscow v Man Utd | 00:25 ESPN

Wan
post Oct 2 2009, 11:45 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Berba: My hell as a Utd flop
Ignore the title.. it was Neil Custis of The Sun.
DIMITAR BERBATOV admits he was a failure in his first season with Manchester United and the stress of it all gave him sleepless nights. In his most revealing interview yet, the Bulgarian striker also describes how self doubt and the spectre of legends at Old Trafford have plagued him.

Berbatov, 28, said: "In my first year I was disappointed in myself. I need to say that. "It was a big pressure for me and maybe I failed myself. I think I wanted to prove myself to these supporters. "You must remember, they are used to Best, Charlton, Cantona. I am just Dimitar. "I got a number of assists, but I must score more goals."

Berbatov admits things got so bad for him last season as the critics began to round on him that he would lie awake at nights. He added: "I don't know what I am doing wrong sometimes. Maybe it's luck, maybe it's me... who knows? "At nights I have stayed awake thinking, 'You could have done this instead'."

The former Bayer Leverkusen ace also concedes he struggled to control his nerves. He said: "My nerves were too much and that is my responsibility."

Berbatov has made 53 appearances for United - scoring 16 times - since his £30.75million switch from Tottenham on transfer deadline day in August last year. Two months into his second season he still splits opinion among United fans, with some seeing the clever flicks as inspirational and others seeing his languid style as just plain lazy. The accusations he was not trying reached him, though, and began to affect him to the point he had to check the statistics to see if it was true.

Berbatov revealed: "I will be honest. This criticism did affect me, but not in a negative way. "I looked at our ProZone stats and saw that I was ninth in distance covered. "I am kind of a nerd. I looked at them too much, maybe. By the end of the season I was fourth. Maybe this season I will be first!" But Berbatov has failed to shrug off the reputation of being lazy on the pitch. He said: "This is my style of play. I don't run for no reason. I am always alert and ready."

But Berbatov recognises some fans have not been happy with him since he arrived and insisted: "That is my fault, not theirs. It is me who must change. "Manchester United are their club. They have treated me perfectly since I came."

Berbatov scored his second goal of the season when crucially breaking the deadlock at Stoke last Saturday. United went on to win 2-0 at the Britannia Stadium to go top of the Premier League. But while he is more satisfied now with his game in general, he admits the goalscoring tally must increase. He added: "I am more pleased with my overall game in this second season already. "I feel that I have integrated myself better into the team. I am much stronger, much fitter. But I still wish I could score more."

Berbatov says the pressure does not come from his huge price tag because he believes it is totally unrealistic. He said: "Who can live up to that sort of money? Nobody can. If I think about that money it is crazy to me. I can't believe it." The striker often looks as if the weight of the world is on his shoulders but he maintains that inside he is enjoying himself.  He added: "I am a footballer playing for the best club in the world. "I am playing with legends like Scholes, Giggs and Rooney. Being coached by a man like Sir Alex Ferguson. How can I not be happy?"

Berbatov may not have won over all the supporters but he certainly has impressed strike partner Wayne Rooney. The England star is full of praise for Berbatov and said: "He is playing some good football and has had some unfair criticism. "Sometimes with his body language it doesn't look as though he's working but he is. And he showed some fantastic touches and created some great opportunities for our team against Wolfsburg when he came on."

Rooney also insists United have shown their critics there is life after Cristiano Ronaldo. And he believes the squad have responded to the wing wizards's £80m departure to Real Madrid by playing more as a team. He said: "Yes, we lost to Burnley but we have won every game since and yet this week still got criticised. "We are playing different football. Obviously last season the team was based a lot around Cristiano but this year there are a few more players chipping in with goals, which is great to see."

And Rooney said: "It's no surprise to see how well Cristiano is doing at Real. He's rightfully the best player in the world and I'm sure he'll continue to do well."

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport...a-Utd-flop.html

This post has been edited by Wan: Oct 2 2009, 11:52 AM
Wan
post Oct 2 2009, 08:32 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Tevez should have learn from Carrick what it means to be at United. The squad we've assembled over the last few years have fantastic mentality. They want to win, and just like Redknapp said, they'd go crazy if we score/won games even if they don't play. Good to know.
Wan
post Oct 2 2009, 09:34 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Oct 2 2009, 08:50 PM)
hard to believe that only a few years back..we wwre ahving a severe headache in our midfield area up to the point where we were forced to play oshea and giggs there..boy was tha ta torture to watch...
We started our renaissance with those two in the middle. That half season with both playing centrally, we were the best in form team in the league. It was the combinations before that that were horrible..

Still, it's great to see almost all our CMs options, except for Gibson(only played once) and Hargreaves(recovering) are in good form. If Ando keeps this up throughout the season and take a few step here and there, nobody will mention buying another CM ever again.
Wan
post Oct 2 2009, 10:59 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

I'll be doing his highlights.. hopefully, along with his part 5 youtube thing. Stay tuned! biggrin.gif
Wan
post Oct 3 2009, 03:57 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

From the official site newsletter..

Added on October 3, 2009, 4:02 amI still remember that draw in 06. They got the lowest number of points at that point I think. We were 2nd in the league still with a chance of catching Chelsea, and we were predicting a trashing.. their GK played like a god. And thus, predictions before a game became a taboo here soon after that. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Wan: Oct 3 2009, 04:02 AM
Wan
post Oct 3 2009, 04:26 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(IcyDarling @ Oct 3 2009, 07:05 AM)
ferdinand used to be a forward until SAF discover his talent in defends position. correct me if im wrong

btw, its the game tonite or sunday nite? 12.30am, dunno its today or tomorrow le

Added on October 3, 2009, 7:11 amTM-Astro fight for English Premier League football rights costing RM500m

imagine if TM won the bid, i would probably stop watching epl because my internet is too slow to even load
Say no to TM please! Let ESPN/Astro handle them where we can watch multiple games on weekends. Plus with TM, you would feel only a few selected places can have access to that IPTV thing.

Rio Ferdinand was a striker/midfielder in his youth days, which was with West Ham. Not sure when he moved to CB permanently buy if I'm not mistaken he started his career in the first team as a CB for them and stayed that way till we bought him from Leeds.
Wan
post Oct 3 2009, 05:22 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Wan
post Oct 3 2009, 08:13 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(avars @ Oct 3 2009, 07:51 PM)
lol at the picture, u made it urself?
Found it on RedCafe.net

TM is rolling out HSBB soon that's why they want that tv deal I guess. But only a few places would have that HSBB at the start..
Wan
post Oct 8 2009, 09:50 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

I've switched to the other side.. this is goodbye. That draw was disgraceful! Torres4Eva!

Added on October 8, 2009, 9:52 pmThey're fishing for new deal lah. Can't believe we're in for them, although I'm sure they're on our radar, like the other good players. Their GK is the real deal.. superb. Though I hope we sort of keep it with Foster.. in two years he should be there if he's still with us that is.

This post has been edited by Wan: Oct 8 2009, 09:52 PM
Wan
post Oct 9 2009, 02:27 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Beckham left, shortly after that Veron left too. A few months after that we lost Ole, almost forever except for a few cameos!. We had to rely on the inexperience teenagers in Ronaldo and Fletcher for the right side of midfield. Keano getting old. Djemba2 and Kleberson show just started. Butt in decline form.. Phil Neville a fixture in the middle for us. We could easily went for Carrick that time(in Div 1?) who a year after that went to Spurs for under 3m. Hindsight huh? Rio got banned for 8 months, and the defence fell to pieces. Howard, Barthez, Carroll show. God.. those were awful years if we look into it. But only a few years later with a little addition to the squad and a few left, VDS, Park, Saha, Carrick, Evra, Vida.. we got the title back. They don't cost a lot too.

We're more exciting to watch this season so far. Hopefully we'll do better defensively and get a bit more luck.

Nani just need to play like how he did at the start of the 2nd half against Sunderland. He was beating his men, crossing.. no bullshit. More of that please!

Wan
post Oct 13 2009, 01:35 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

http://www.justin.tv/vip_boxing_4/popout

Obertan.. tissue ready!

Added on October 13, 2009, 1:51 amHis head is shiny.. look pretty cool in a red shirt. biggrin.gif
Rare occasion.. both Da Silva on the same pitch side by side! Let's hope I don't jinx anything before the game starts.

This post has been edited by Wan: Oct 13 2009, 01:51 AM
Wan
post Oct 13 2009, 01:59 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

http://www.ultrareach.com/
download and run that.. it will open IE, open that stream link in that. If use normal, after a while justin.tv will dc saying our country have reach max user blabla something.
Wan
post Oct 13 2009, 02:24 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(Characuta @ Oct 13 2009, 02:05 AM)
Hmmm mmk.. thanks. I guess I need to reboot 1st then.

Edit: I dont know why but I run it, choose not to use IE in the option, tried to open the FF browser for the match and got the same msg moments ltr. IE on the other hand was working fine o.o
Just use IE.. open that, and use FF for surfing normal stuff. biggrin.gif

If you still want ff, have to install plugin/extension I think.
See here.. http://www.ultrareach.com/download_en.htm

Added on October 13, 2009, 2:25 amIt was Hewson who got the 2nd I think.. Fabio played it across the goal and Hewson just have to stand there and the ball hit him and went into the net.

This post has been edited by Wan: Oct 13 2009, 02:25 AM
Wan
post Oct 13 2009, 02:32 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Obertan have two good through balls now, and his link up play is good. But you can tell he's new.. it seems the game goes past by without him involve, but when he does get involve, he's been pretty good. Not out of this world yet, but decent start. He's very fast, and just made a cheeky pass.. biggrin.gif
Wan
post Oct 13 2009, 02:34 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

He's good at close control play.. play one two.. short, simple passes and movement.. only 30mins so far, but looking good. Getting better and better.

Added on October 13, 2009, 2:34 amBrandy and Hewson.

This post has been edited by Wan: Oct 13 2009, 02:34 AM
Wan
post Oct 13 2009, 01:04 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(rayz1031 @ Oct 13 2009, 09:37 AM)
Wow, I missed Obotak first reserve game and after reading the match report, I really regret for not streaming the match last night. Did he looks sharp? Fit? I don't wan to jinx him by comparing him to any players, Obotak is Obotak, love him the way he is.
His first game for us, and his first after missing out 3 months of football.. wasn't a big 'wow' performance. He played the first half, and was taken out at HT. It was shown he was new at times in the game. His teammates don't find him, and he doesn't know what to do at first. But he gradually got better as the game went on and got more involve. He was very good at link up, close control play. Playing one two etc. Didn't run at people as much like a 'Ronaldo' would. He would cut in and run a bit before always passing the ball. He made two great trough balls in that game that set someone up clear through goal. Wasn't selfish at all that's for sure unlike the reports we read about during his transfer saying he was greedy, typical winger running down blind alleys. He was very fast.. wasn't that much successful of beating the fullbacks(both side) though. Would like to see more of him. Here's a piece of skill..

Added on October 13, 2009, 1:07 pm

This post has been edited by Wan: Oct 13 2009, 01:07 PM
Wan
post Oct 14 2009, 01:28 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Ronaldo made his debut against Bolton. We're playing Bolton next and Obertan just got back from injury. biggrin.gif But with the strength of our squad these days, he might not even make the squad for the game.

As for Maicon.. save the money and use it elsewhere. With the talented Rafael around, and countless others who can cover for RB, we don't need another one to block his way. Not that I don't want him, but if Maicon as the starting RB, Wes, O'Shea etc as the preferred backups, and Rafael looking on from the stands.. I don't want that.
Wan
post Oct 14 2009, 03:06 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(Sheep319 @ Oct 14 2009, 01:49 AM)
We have much more low-profile right/left backs.

Woot.

But my only concern is to replace Rio. He doesn't drink Anlene much.

Who do we have as replacements in the middle?
Yeah, a bit worried now. It won't get that much better with his age. He's 31 next month. And here I thought he's still in his late 20's or something. Already here for 7 seasons.. 2002 doesn't really felt that long. In Evans we have a very dependable backup. Vida is going strong(hopefully those rumours of him wanting to go ain't true at all). O'Shea and Wes is around too. Short term, it's pretty good. We shouldn't be too worried. But I guess we should prepare for the worse. We signed those two Italian defenders recently, and also that Mginty guy from Charlton youth or something.. we'll deal with that when the time comes. Hope he last just a bit longer before Evans take over full time and he can be the squad guy..
Wan
post Oct 14 2009, 04:42 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Kaka, Ronaldo, Zlatan all went around that price, if not more. God knows how much it would take to take Messi away from Barca. And he's regarded as the best winger outside of Ronaldo/Messi, so he would cost around that much if someone is willing to pay that much to get him. That's why we got Valencia instead.

Just focus on our(and the world, one of the best certainly) best GK in there. Wonder if he would survive if there was internet back then. All GK makes mistakes, no matter how good they are.
Wan
post Oct 15 2009, 06:29 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Tosic, Nani, Berba.. anyone else scored?

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1947sec    1.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:02 AM