Lets Talk Salary! v3
lexiqa
Jun 3 2010, 03:09 AM
inflation in east msia is not that high lar. very slow actually. u dont feel the daily expenses increase so much from the year b4 that much compared to kl. every yr the rent, petrol, toll increase but salary increase by little (if at all!)........ food esply alw increase 10% or more every yr.
im east msian i know. increase kolo mee 10-20sen ppl will complain for a long time.
kk is only exp ard those tourist areas. miri is exp bcoz of bruneians not only bcoz of O&G ler.
elh1220
Jun 3 2010, 08:13 AM
QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jun 3 2010, 03:09 AM) inflation in east msia is not that high lar. very slow actually. u dont feel the daily expenses increase so much from the year b4 that much compared to kl. every yr the rent, petrol, toll increase but salary increase by little (if at all!)........ food esply alw increase 10% or more every yr. im east msian i know. increase kolo mee 10-20sen ppl will complain for a long time. kk is only exp ard those tourist areas. miri is exp bcoz of bruneians not only bcoz of O&G ler. I agree with you. How to survive if the inflation is increased and salary is low, esp KL...Life is so tough due to $$
realventis
Jun 3 2010, 11:47 AM

QUOTE(depster666 @ Jun 3 2010, 12:39 AM) Sure ka? I dont remember KK being *that expensive* when I was based there for a year. In fact, now that I'm based in Miri, I would say Miri is more expensive than KK, almost equal to KL. You stay in KK for 1 year only dude..Try live here for at least 3 years.. QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jun 3 2010, 03:09 AM) inflation in east msia is not that high lar. very slow actually. u dont feel the daily expenses increase so much from the year b4 that much compared to kl. every yr the rent, petrol, toll increase but salary increase by little (if at all!)........ food esply alw increase 10% or more every yr. im east msian i know. increase kolo mee 10-20sen ppl will complain for a long time. kk is only exp ard those tourist areas. miri is exp bcoz of bruneians not only bcoz of O&G ler. Yup..I agree that inflation is slow but it is still high..A huge difference once the price go up in KK.. Btw Miri is expensive due to its OnG industry..You can see Labuan as an example..In year 2008 Labuan food price go up when OnG start to grow rapidly in Labuan in 2008...If you wan to say about Bruneians, well Labuan also famous for them before year 2008 and the food price in Labuan was very cheap that time..
calcom21
Jun 3 2010, 11:58 AM

QUOTE(realventis @ Jun 3 2010, 11:47 AM) You stay in KK for 1 year only dude..Try live here for at least 3 years.. Yup..I agree that inflation is slow but it is still high..A huge difference once the price go up in KK.. Btw Miri is expensive due to its OnG industry..You can see Labuan as an example..In year 2008 Labuan food price go up when OnG start to grow rapidly in Labuan in 2008...If you wan to say about Bruneians, well Labuan also famous for them before year 2008 and the food price in Labuan was very cheap that time.. Actually inflation rate is based on a basket of items. Some of the items are not used to calculate it but is regular use by certain consumers.
depster666
Jun 3 2010, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(realventis @ Jun 3 2010, 11:47 AM) You stay in KK for 1 year only dude..Try live here for at least 3 years.. Yup..I agree that inflation is slow but it is still high..A huge difference once the price go up in KK.. Btw Miri is expensive due to its OnG industry..You can see Labuan as an example..In year 2008 Labuan food price go up when OnG start to grow rapidly in Labuan in 2008...If you wan to say about Bruneians, well Labuan also famous for them before year 2008 and the food price in Labuan was very cheap that time.. Maybe it's true, but even now, on and off I still go to KK and Labuan either on business or leisure, and time permits, I always come back to KL, yet I have not experienced a situation where the CoL is higher than KL.
elh1220
Jun 3 2010, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(lukaka @ Jun 2 2010, 09:34 PM) huh??? RM4500 still complaint underpaid? u shd happy u got this job. But for that job scope, it shud be underpaid...coz of health risk. may get cancer easily de this kind of job...
rosemary
Jun 3 2010, 03:15 PM

QUOTE(MacaroniNcheese @ Jun 2 2010, 10:11 AM) Job Title : Field Engineer Job Desciption : Oil and Gas Offshore and Sub sea installation Years spent in company : 2 Years Company : Oil and Gas Industry : Construction Tenure : Permanent Employment Level : Project Management Experience before joining : Fresh graduate Salary : RM 4500 + Offshore allowance 50 USD/day Degree: Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering Working hours: Office 8am to 5pm Offshore: Fuked up hours. Work until tired sleep everywhere. offshore for months, NO LIFE..... I am totaly under paid........  What??? I'm oso Engineer in O&G for 4+ years. Your Basics is higher than mine leh... Wanna swap?
rosemary
Jun 3 2010, 03:17 PM

QUOTE(elh1220 @ Jun 3 2010, 12:49 PM) But for that job scope, it shud be underpaid...coz of health risk. may get cancer easily de this kind of job... But the allowance is adi USD50 per day at offshore. So, if dun go to offshore, he still have 4.5k in his pocket monthly.
Selectt
Jun 3 2010, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(kidmad @ Jun 3 2010, 12:03 AM) oil and gas + offshore, that is very low. Off Shore jobs are risky and you are away with your families and friends. every few years, people get killed in oil platform. Mostly die from gas explosions.
crave17
Jun 3 2010, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(depster666 @ Jun 3 2010, 12:39 PM) Maybe it's true, but even now, on and off I still go to KK and Labuan either on business or leisure, and time permits, I always come back to KL, yet I have not experienced a situation where the CoL is higher than KL. Sorry to cause misunderstanding..what I mean is that the CoL in KK is almost the same in KL and the most highest in East Malaysia.. and of course KL has higher CoL in Malaysia...
lexiqa
Jun 3 2010, 04:46 PM
my cousin who does nothing now coz he's got health probs is just getting paid to play ps3 at home everyday. 6k++
no need to go oil rig. co canot fire coz of his health probs or will kena shit.
when he was going offshore, it was quite a lot also
depster666
Jun 3 2010, 07:03 PM
QUOTE(Selectt @ Jun 3 2010, 04:20 PM) every few years, people get killed in oil platform. Mostly die from gas explosions. Every year we have fatal road accidents and airplane crashes. I dont see the masses stop using cars or airplane for that matter
kathlynn
Jun 3 2010, 08:50 PM

QUOTE(calcom21 @ May 31 2010, 07:09 AM) Yes there is a difference in salary if you got degree only compared to ACCA. Depending where you going to work. If you gonna work for Big4, ACCA salary is slightly higher than degree (not much). This is because ACCA is a professional paper. I would not suggest you do degree then ACCA. If you wanna do ACCA, don't do degree. That's my advise Added on May 31, 2010, 7:13 amAll degree are the same. I assume you are talking about professional paper? There are a number like CPA, MICPA, ACCA, CIMA, CA, etc. For Malaysia, all qualification papers are the same. But if you go overseas like Australia, CA is more recognise if you work in Accounting Firm while CPA is more recognise in commercial eventhough both CA/CPA is originated from Australia. Bear in mind those oversea paper is recognise in Malaysia while local one will not be recognise in oversea. For example MICPA is not recognise in Australia. For starting pay, it depends whether it's commercial or accounting firm or whether it's big4/ MNC or small company. Small-Medium company pay can start from RM1,500 while big4/MNC start around RM2,500 (big4 might have revise) Hi. Just to add a few more note. There is NO difference in these prof papers in Malaysia at the INITIAL stage, but the difference comes in at a later stage (if all is equal). I can write a lengthy detail to explain why, but that is only if there is any of you who are interested to know more Yes, SME is about RM1.5k, bg4/MNC/mgmt trainee ranges to about RM2.5k-RM3k nowadays. Someone I know started off with the big 4 for mere RM2.1k four years ago. Now qualified, working for commercial gettin about RM6k.
FantasyLife
Jun 3 2010, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(kathlynn @ Jun 3 2010, 08:50 PM) Hi. Just to add a few more note. There is NO difference in these prof papers in Malaysia at the INITIAL stage, but the difference comes in at a later stage (if all is equal). I can write a lengthy detail to explain why, but that is only if there is any of you who are interested to know more Yes, SME is about RM1.5k, bg4/MNC/mgmt trainee ranges to about RM2.5k-RM3k nowadays. Someone I know started off with the big 4 for mere RM2.1k four years ago. Now qualified, working for commercial gettin about RM6k. i'm hope to know more here...if don't mind can tell me abt the details..?? and also the different salary range for the one with either degree, professional qualificaion, or either both...u can also send me through email : ch_low92@yahoo.com...thx...
kathlynn
Jun 3 2010, 11:32 PM

QUOTE(FantasyLife @ Jun 3 2010, 11:09 PM) i'm hope to know more here...if don't mind can tell me abt the details..?? and also the different salary range for the one with either degree, professional qualificaion, or either both...u can also send me through email : ch_low92@yahoo.com...thx...  PMed you!
Vinci777
Jun 4 2010, 01:11 AM
Kath, mind to share me the info as well? thx
cofin
Jun 4 2010, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(depster666 @ Jun 3 2010, 12:39 AM) Sure ka? I dont remember KK being *that expensive* when I was based there for a year. In fact, now that I'm based in Miri, I would say Miri is more expensive than KK, almost equal to KL. i still do think tht KK is more expensive to live in compare to Miri.... in KK the food minimum 5 and above ...theres go ur salary juz by eating....then the places at there are not concentrated it took a long drive from 1 place to another theres go ur salary on petrol where Miri is smaller and cheaper.....but the only well paid job are those connected with Oil and Gas ....
depster666
Jun 4 2010, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(cofin @ Jun 4 2010, 12:30 PM) i still do think tht KK is more expensive to live in compare to Miri.... in KK the food minimum 5 and above ...theres go ur salary juz by eating....then the places at there are not concentrated it took a long drive from 1 place to another theres go ur salary on petrol where Miri is smaller and cheaper.....but the only well paid job are those connected with Oil and Gas .... Except for mee kolo, I seriously doubt you can find < RM5 food in Miri. If you wanna cook yourself, the prepacked (canned, vacuumed, etc) food are more expensive than KL. Fresh produce is cheap. Poultry is similar to KL, beef is double KL's price, if you want the tenderloin, etc. Seafood in KK is way cheaper. Only the petrol is kind to your wallet since Miri is a small city. Thats why I always do my grocery shopping in Brunei, and while I'm there, give my car a fill up as well, since its BD 0.58/liter for RON 97.
kathlynn
Jun 4 2010, 01:02 PM

QUOTE(Vinci777 @ Jun 4 2010, 01:11 AM) Kath, mind to share me the info as well? thx  haha, i dont mind, but i need to know a lil more of ur background bfore i go into details. r u a student/degree holder/workin, etc?
kaiserwulf
Jun 4 2010, 01:13 PM
How do you fill at the subsidized price with a Msian car?