iPhone Club v10 - iPhone related news & Questions, Super-N00b FAQ/Q&A Thread

zaFrOoNaLdO
post Jan 28 2010, 02:51 AM

FM fReaK!
1,508 posts

Hi everyone,

I got an iPhone 3G in July 2009. It was bought in China. I have been wanting to upgrade the software for my iPhone, but I have not updated the software to 3.0 because I was told earlier by sister, who had the first version of iPhone (2G), she tried updating the software and her iPhone ended up being locked!

So what should I do if I want to install the latest software for my iPhone? Btw, even though the phone is from China but I believe it is authentic.

FYI, it's version is 2.2 (5G77).
cic.lemur
post Jan 28 2010, 08:53 AM

376 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Jan 26 2010, 05:33 PM)
Which means you are selling it?! In that case, I'll take it off your hands at RM1.5k.  thumbup.gif

Serously, to get a feel, please check out the GS here and you would know what is an adequate price.
1.5K no thanks la tongue.gif. Thanks for your suggestion, checked out GS, someone sold a 1 month old Maxis iPhone for 2.6K.

Added on January 28, 2010, 8:56 am
QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Jan 26 2010, 08:17 PM)
Nexus one is good. i attracted by its Google voice in GPS and TXTING
Just not so stable yet
Some more if spoilt then DIY =X
and thus i chosen Iphone.
Ya, I have to wait till it officially comes here, I hope soon tho otherwise iPhone resale price will continue to drop. Google voice actually send your speech to the google server via wifi or 3g to be processed at their servers before it returns the text to you, with the quality of internet that we get here, I think can forget about this service.

This post has been edited by cic.lemur: Jan 28 2010, 09:03 AM
Christopher7
post Jan 28 2010, 10:51 AM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

QUOTE(cic.lemur @ Jan 28 2010, 09:53 AM)
1.5K no thanks la  tongue.gif. Thanks for your suggestion, checked out GS, someone sold a 1 month old Maxis iPhone for 2.6K.

Added on January 28, 2010, 8:56 am

Ya, I have to wait till it officially comes here, I hope soon tho otherwise iPhone resale price will continue to drop. Google voice actually send your speech to the google server via wifi or 3g to be processed at their servers before it returns the text to you, with the quality of internet that we get here, I think can forget about this service.
BUT i dun feel like waiting anymore >.<
Im choosing either Iphone 3gs or Nexus One..
thats mean some functions still cannot work in malaysia yet? the N1
Leokid
post Jan 28 2010, 11:53 AM

34 posts

iPhone Generation : 3GS
Locked/Unlocked (or Part Number) : Official Maxis
Current Firmware : 3.1.2 (7D11)
iTunes Version : 9.0.2
Computer Platform : MacOS 10.5.8
Jailbreaking software : Non JB
Problem Encountered : (refer below)
Steps Had Taken (list down) : (refer below)
Problem Screenshot (if any) : per request
Other Info / Remark : -

Hello and good day everyone.

I have an iPhone 3GS bought early this January from Maxis. However, I'm currently using it with Celcom 3G Prepaid simcard.

My problem is related to 3G network.

Previously, all was good. Internet surfing was on 3G network (I subscribed to the celcom daily/weekly broadband).

Then suddenly, my GPS and Compass not working. It happened previously, and as usual I restored my iPhone and the GPS and Compass returned to work normally.

But suddenly, I can't access the 3G network. I have checked the Cellular Data Network to ensure my setting is all correct (APN, etc). When I restarted the phone, at first it detected the 3G network (the 3G appears next to signal bar and telco name), but when i start to get connected, it changed to "o" (GPRS).

I can still surfing the internet with GPRS, but it won't go back to 3G. The 3G is enabled/on, the Data Roaming is set to Off.

So, any hint? I don't think it's location problem, since my Celcom 3G USB Broadband on my macbook can get connected and online normally.

As conclusion, my problem is - Can't get connected to the network 3G, but can only surf the internet using GPRS"

Thanks a lot.

(I've done a lot of searching at LYN and still, I'm clueless. The thread http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/752226 is not helping to my problem at all and just added more to my confusions!)

This post has been edited by Leokid: Jan 28 2010, 12:13 PM
Jobbie123
post Jan 28 2010, 11:59 AM

guys i need abit of help here ..
im using 3gs.. and i am using digi line with the unlimited internet package.

some one using the same package as me ?

peoples are having difficulty in contacting me.
all of thier calls are directed to voice mail.

anyone having the same problem?
issit because of digi or the phone ?

please help out ..

cic.lemur
post Jan 28 2010, 04:56 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(Leokid @ Jan 28 2010, 11:53 AM)

As conclusion, my problem is - Can't get connected to the network 3G, but can only surf the internet using GPRS"
Check your network settings, ensure Enable 3G is on

In Cellular Data Network,
Cellular Data: APN = celcom3g
MMS: APN = celcom3g
MMSC = http://mms.celcom.net.my
MMS Proxy 10.128.1.242:8080
the rest of the fields in this page is blank.
Leokid
post Jan 28 2010, 05:24 PM

34 posts

Thanks cic.lemur for the reply.

After verified the setting APN, i switched off and switched on the iPhone. Unfortunately, it still won't get connected to 3G.

Here's the SS. Take a look at the connectivity indicator, next to the telco name:

iceman31
post Jan 28 2010, 07:53 PM

Mewtwotwotwotwo
2,631 posts

guys... i went to one of the handphone fair at dataran jelatek...

that guy offer me rm1399 for new iphone 3gs... i was shock....

look very real... all the function works...

is it trustable??
harmeet15
post Jan 28 2010, 08:12 PM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

QUOTE(iceman31 @ Jan 28 2010, 07:53 PM)

is it trustable??
na, too good to be true..
probably its a china made set or sm sort of defect..u neva noe..
do urself a favor n get it frm maxis if u really need to buy one now
iceman31
post Jan 28 2010, 08:15 PM

Mewtwotwotwotwo
2,631 posts

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Jan 28 2010, 08:12 PM)
na, too good to be true..
probably its a china made set or sm sort of defect..u neva noe..
do urself a favor n get it frm maxis if u really need to buy one now
i dont really need.... just wondering around and they put the price....

if it is cheap why not get one?? laugh.gif laugh.gif
wewa25
post Jan 28 2010, 08:23 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(iceman31 @ Jan 28 2010, 07:53 PM)

is it trustable??
R u sure u have played with the REAL iphone3gs at Maxis or Machines b4?

my gf's sister's bf bought oso ..coz that guy said "ori ori iphone 3gs...baru baru..32gb for rm1.2k.."

guess what? no search page..in message mode..only can turn 1 side...home button bigger that apple i3gs..n most important..can use bluetooth to send files/photo...STOCK...zzzz

its a !@#$%^ CHINA SET...OMG..even the box is different...the iphone pic POP-UP.. shakehead.gif

So please please..DUN let urself be conned....no such thing as cheap brand new iphone for that price..ever...

BTW...wanna take a guess at the name of Warranty Company?

Apple Service Sdn Bhd....Lowyat address...!@#$%^ rclxub.gif

harmeet15
post Jan 28 2010, 08:30 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(iceman31 @ Jan 28 2010, 08:15 PM)
i dont really need.... just wondering around and they put the price....

if it is cheap why not get one??
  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
QUOTE(wewa25 @ Jan 28 2010, 08:23 PM)

my gf's sister's bf bought oso ..coz that guy said "ori ori iphone 3gs...baru baru..32gb for rm1.2k.."

guess what? no search page..in message mode..only can turn 1 side...home button bigger that apple i3gs..n most important..can use bluetooth to send files/photo...STOCK...zzzz

its a !@#$%^ CHINA SET...OMG..even the box is different...the iphone pic POP-UP.. shakehead.gif

So please please..DUN let urself be conned....no such thing as cheap brand new iphone for that price..ever...

got ur answer @iceman?
bottom line is thr a just too many ppl out thr trying to cash in on the hype coupled with the un-awareness of public..
they mostly get these items anywhr frm 150 to 400 n sell it at triple da price as long as it is lower than da real thing to pull ppl.. shakehead.gif
iceman31
post Jan 28 2010, 08:34 PM

Mewtwotwotwotwo
2,631 posts

QUOTE(wewa25 @ Jan 28 2010, 08:23 PM)

QUOTE(harmeet15 @ Jan 28 2010, 08:30 PM)
got ur answer @iceman?
bottom line is thr a just too many ppl out thr trying to cash in on the hype coupled with the un-awareness of public..
they mostly get these items anywhr frm 150 to 400 n sell it at triple da price as long as it is lower than da real thing to pull ppl.. shakehead.gif
dats why i like lowyat very much... can ask question before buy anything...

u saying that iphone cannot bluetoot?? cuz just my fren transfer his file from his phone to that guy punye iphone...

meaning the iphone is fake??
harmeet15
post Jan 28 2010, 09:58 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(iceman31 @ Jan 28 2010, 08:34 PM)
dats why i like lowyat very much... can ask question before buy anything...

u saying that iphone cannot bluetoot?? cuz just my fren transfer his file from his phone to that guy punye iphone...

meaning the iphone is fake??
thr are many of us here who r ready to help...so no worries..smile.gif
by default, iphone cannot transfer files using BT..
tat doesnt nt mean it doent hv BT or cant do it..
we hv no idea y apple left out such a tool but its ok for most of us here..biggrin.gif
icon_rolleyes.gif
Leokid
post Jan 28 2010, 11:01 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(cic.lemur @ Jan 28 2010, 04:56 PM)
Check your network settings, ensure Enable 3G is on

In Cellular Data Network,
Cellular Data: APN = celcom3g
MMS: APN = celcom3g
MMSC = http://mms.celcom.net.my
MMS Proxy 10.128.1.242:8080
the rest of the fields in this page is blank.
I think it's the location problem, probably. Just now went out to another location, 3G works well. Therefore I assume my location right now that is problematic.

Thanks anyway, and sorry to steal your time here. =)
insane.gamer
post Jan 29 2010, 12:56 AM

944 posts

hey guys
i recently got myself an iphone 3g
basically i dont know anything about it ...
can someone provide me a basic guide about it?
too lazy to read the whole thing ..
harmeet15
post Jan 29 2010, 01:20 AM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(insane.gamer @ Jan 29 2010, 12:56 AM)
hey guys
i recently got myself an iphone 3g
basically i dont know anything about it ...
can someone provide me a basic guide about it?
too lazy to read the whole thing ..
NewBie guide

read tat up n u'll understand the phone better.
N tat is nt much to read. icon_rolleyes.gif
teniqcnerd
post Jan 29 2010, 01:36 AM

134 posts

Dear iPhone users,

I just get my iPhone 3GS and I notice something when I am charging my phone. The apple logo has a "scratch" line from middel left to the top center and when I open the itune and an error message mentioned the app is not available in your country. I bought it through Maxis and activated in the Maxis center.
Seriously I need some giudance through customizing my phone. Hope some can shed a light to me.
1) How am I download photos from my laptop to the phone?
2) Music too.
3) How to make a group in the contact?
Still have many question to ask actually but for time being I think I need to slove those question above.

Thank you.
Christopher7
post Jan 29 2010, 05:13 AM

Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish
1,044 posts

Times Square do not have Iphone 3gs 16gb >.<
32gb only~~
g3n0c1d3
post Jan 29 2010, 10:29 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(teniqcnerd @ Jan 29 2010, 01:36 AM)
Dear iPhone users,

I just get my iPhone 3GS and I notice something when I am charging my phone. The apple logo has a "scratch" line from middel left to the top center and when I open the itune and an error message mentioned the app is not available in your country. I bought it through Maxis and activated in the Maxis center.
Seriously I need some giudance through customizing my phone. Hope some can shed a light to me.
1) How am I download photos from my laptop to the phone?
2) Music too.
3) How to make a group in the contact?
Still have many question to ask actually but for time being I think I need to slove those question above.

Thank you.
read this and this

125 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:04 PM