464 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Smurf Village |
Oct 7 2009, 12:11 AM
2,313 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Oct 7 2009, 02:50 AM
377 posts Joined: Mar 2008 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
I'm a cheapo and a cheapo will always look for the cheapest solution to things. Guys, anyone here got any idea where I can find play sand that are cheap? I'm looking to rehouse my Nebo Hierichonticus and I don't really need that much sand hence the reason why I'm not planning to spend on exoterra's desert sand.
And oh yes, has anyone tried using those river bed sand that you can buy from gardening shops? The RM1 for a full big pack of em. The person that was selling it claimed that they were harvested from the river and hence the name. I have doubts and I need advice. And by the effing way, nice picture you have there Ryo, I'm more keen to look at the setup though. This post has been edited by Kar: Oct 7 2009, 02:53 AM |
Oct 7 2009, 03:18 AM
502 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Dun think there is any problem wiv the sand....Just take precaution to eliminate potentially harmful organism in the sand and can be use ady
Ow ya...remember no added chemical or anything This post has been edited by HyourinMaru: Oct 7 2009, 03:19 AM |
Oct 7 2009, 08:55 AM
453 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: Between Reality and Fantasy |
yes kar i think it can be use. just get some and sift them through a coarse sift to get the contaminents out then microwave them to kill off any microbes that may be lurking inside there and u are set to go.
i like ur thinking. i'm on the same brainwave as u are. the thing is stuf are harder to come by here in sibu then in kl. so most of the items i use have to be a)improvise b)diy c)breed myself. cost are going up but there are ways of reducing the impact of the price hike via sensible and creative thinking. |
Oct 7 2009, 11:53 AM
49 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Malaysia / USA / Scorpion Land |
seems like a good idea .... lol ....
microwave... i do that to my coco-fibre .. always |
Oct 7 2009, 01:26 PM
Yes, akagi I do agree that everything should be improvised and DIY-ed if it is possible. I mean true that we as keepers should probably invest more in terms of housing these beautiful looking creatures but I do believe as well that we should find the cheapest yet best solution out of everything because we can't exactly just keep one, we need more and MOAR!!
Oct 7 2009, 01:35 PM
239 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Bandar Baru Bangi, Cyberjaya, United Kingdom |
this will never stop... the urge of collecting many diff sp are spontaneous... for me i spent much on the invert it self but try to minimize on their enclosure and sometimes resulted me in many DIY projects... like OHP Paper as their enclosure... lol cost me less tan RM10 so thats something... double lol
Oct 7 2009, 02:28 PM
I collected beach sand, thinking to use it for future desert scorp
But then again i still got a lot exo terra sand left after my A.Australis and P.Pallidus died Will take pic of my L.Mucronatus setup later at night |
Oct 7 2009, 05:37 PM
What?!!! Did I hear EXTRA SAND?!!
I want some pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee |
Oct 7 2009, 06:02 PM
Yea sure if u pay me
If u wan lil bit only, sure, if u drop by my area lol Btw the damm headlamp i bought that day rosak one, fark |
Oct 7 2009, 08:45 PM
Cis! Kawan yang sungguh jahat!! D:
Headlamp rosak? Come over again lah to change and bring the sand muahahahahhaha Why didn't u try it first that day? D: |
Oct 7 2009, 10:21 PM
Oct 7 2009, 11:39 PM
409 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
i would like to ask all pro here wat do i nid to feed my 2nd-3rd instar AFS
Oct 7 2009, 11:41 PM
49 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Malaysia / USA / Scorpion Land |
some pieces mealworm and cricket(small) seems okie
Oct 8 2009, 12:05 AM
Oct 8 2009, 12:14 AM
QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Oct 8 2009, 12:05 AM) I feed mine half dead mealworms Dude have you ever thought of using clay bowls or something like that for your water dish? The plastic spoils the view imho. Overall, very beautiful enclosure you have there.Anyway just finish setup 1 of my afs enclosure using coco fibre,potting soil,pebbles and exo terra moss... ![]() The multilayer ![]() |
Oct 8 2009, 12:21 AM
If i got i sure will use dat
| Change to: | 0.0307sec