Yamaha AVR Thread v2.00, Discussions about Yamaha AVR

K4iz3n
post Nov 19 2014, 12:17 PM

212 posts

Need some advice. My room is about 12 feet x 20 feet. My TV is about 10 feet away.
I am thinking of getting Yamaha RX-A3040. This will be used mainly for movies and TV shows using either BD player and media player.
What speakers are recommended for this set up? Bear in mind that my room is not big. I was thinking to get 5.1 speakers eventhough there are no space behind where I sit to watch TV. The rear speakers will probably placed beside the seating area.

Thanks in advance.
K4iz3n
post Nov 20 2014, 08:56 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Nov 19 2014, 02:48 PM)
Have you considered this?

X-LS Encore

You should also consider Monitor Audios Silver Series

Set a budget and then audition speakers until the cows come home... tongue.gif

Happy Hunting
I actually made a typo in my original post. Looking to get the A2040 and not the A3040.

Any one knows roughly how much are the Monitor Audio Silver series?

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Nov 20 2014, 11:47 PM
K4iz3n
post Nov 30 2014, 11:46 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Nov 20 2014, 11:48 PM)
2K plus for a pair of bookshelf

4K plus for floorstanders

Maybe more now that our Malaysia Ringgit is in the crapper...
Anyone know where I can audition Monitor Audio in KL/PJ?
K4iz3n
post Jan 8 2015, 11:44 PM

212 posts

I recently bought the AX2040 and just realized that floorstands has nominal impendence of 4 ohms while the AVR is rated at 8 ohms. Will this cause any problems?
K4iz3n
post Feb 14 2015, 11:10 PM

212 posts

I read on some forum to leave it at 8 ohms regardless. Mine is on 8 ohm even though my fronts are 4 ohms.
K4iz3n
post Feb 17 2015, 09:41 AM

212 posts

I have A2040 and my front speakers are 4 ohms with 90bD sensitivity. Should I set the speakers on the AVR to at least 6 ohms?

K4iz3n
post Feb 17 2015, 11:32 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Feb 17 2015, 11:10 AM)
According to the manual you should set to 4ohm. The lowest ohm on any spk.u have.
I think for A2040, 6 ohms is the lowest.
K4iz3n
post Feb 19 2015, 10:47 AM

212 posts

I have changed my speaker impendance to 6 Ohms. No option for 4 ohms. These speaker impedance are only for right and left front speakers right?

This post has been edited by K4iz3n: Feb 19 2015, 01:26 PM
K4iz3n
post Mar 12 2015, 08:48 AM

212 posts

For those who owns A2040, do you feel a mild electronic shock whenever you touch any metal parts when the AVR is on?
K4iz3n
post Mar 13 2015, 09:35 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Mar 12 2015, 01:41 PM)
Been using for 1 month no such thing happen. Just curious how much u pay for your A2040.tq
I paid around RM3.7k.

K4iz3n
post Mar 14 2015, 01:14 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Mar 14 2015, 10:30 AM)
Finally got back my avr from Yamaha.  3 days to repair. Good job to yamaha.
That is quite fast turnaround bro. Well done Yamaha.

K4iz3n
post Mar 14 2015, 01:16 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Mar 13 2015, 11:00 PM)
Why so cheap, i though i pay 4600 aldy very chesp n u got even better deal n mine no headphone. Damm got short change.
I didnt get the headphone either.
K4iz3n
post May 11 2015, 10:04 PM

212 posts

This one from Monitor Audio looks nice:

http://www.monitoraudio.co.uk/products/trimless-200/ct265

Just wondering without atmos audio, the ceiling speakers are not used then?
K4iz3n
post May 12 2015, 08:22 PM

212 posts

Currently on 5.1 on yammy A2040. Am thinking of either going 7.1 or 5.1.2. Which would be better?
K4iz3n
post May 13 2015, 12:04 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ May 12 2015, 10:56 PM)
What is the reason for 5.1.2 better?
K4iz3n
post May 13 2015, 08:34 AM

212 posts

Seeing that there are only a few sources for atmos, I think maybe the better choice is to go surround. Unless the overhead speakers can be use as surround as well.
K4iz3n
post May 13 2015, 04:30 PM

212 posts

That's the thing. I am moving to a new house which I will use the family area as a home theater room. So no issue having a speaker on the ceiling. In fact I think possible more room on the ceiling rather additional side speakers. Just wondering which is the better option. Anyone knows how roughly the cost for Monitor Audio CT265 or Monitor Audio Silver 1/2?
K4iz3n
post May 14 2015, 12:09 AM

212 posts

None of my cable are the same length.
K4iz3n
post May 14 2015, 12:11 AM

212 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ May 13 2015, 04:46 PM)
Then,

I ll consider 7.2.2 or even 7.4.2 - remember you will need amplification for de xtra channels [ n not all avrs provide it, maybe nxt genre sets might.. ; so need to consider tat too ]
Oso u dont have to go ceiling spkrs ; height/diffuse channels are ATMOS compliant too [ proper ceiling spkrs would need proper dual driver and tis is harder to fix up on a plaster ceiling ; if its me, lll go height/diffuse channels with maybe, satts - it wont be playing all de time anyway.. ]

O ya.. After all is said n done, in a HT.. a decent sub [or 2] has more impact then 4/6/8 ceiling spkrs..

D
I was planning minor upgrade bro not major upgrade tongue.gif

K4iz3n
post May 25 2015, 09:40 PM

212 posts

I have mine all set to small as well.