Yamaha AVR Thread v2.00, Discussions about Yamaha AVR
ozak
Dec 11 2013, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(cfkian @ Dec 11 2013, 10:37 AM) Well, guess I will have to accept the fact that yamaha receiver doesn't play with subwoofer for stereo mode. But why is it sound when I change the front setting to small? I know this maybe has been discussed in earlier tread but it's too many thread to look back to... Any sifu here can teach me what is this "large" and "small" setup is? Cheers There is a lot of infor back there and detail. If you lazy to read, you loose a lot.
ozak
Dec 26 2013, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(arrsoo @ Dec 26 2013, 06:54 PM) guys, anyone tried the upscaling capabilities of 673/675 equivalent? They are are able to upscale right up to 4k but I'm just interested to know how good are the upscaling from sd to 1080p only, thanks in advance What you mean upscaling? Try 4k video on 4k TV?
ozak
Dec 27 2013, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(arrsoo @ Dec 27 2013, 01:10 AM) one of the feature of 673/675 is as follow: 4K Pass-through and Upscaling Supports Latest High Resolution Video FormatsThis AV receiver's HDMI input/output supports 4K video image pass-through. It also can perform 4K upscaling to boost a lower resolution image to super high-def resolution. This ensures compatibility with the latest super high resolution video formats. my idea is that if the yamaha upscaling technology is good, i can attached a cheapo cinavia free bd or play some 480i rmvb files thru media player and let the avr upscale it to produce good quality 1080p picture. yamaha avr hv their own technology to do the upscaling while the latest onkyo, pioneer avr are using marvell Qdeo to do the upscaling which is more reputable, Sony S790 bd player is using Precision Cinema HD which also well reviewed, just wondering how the yamaha fares against the qdeo in that area. If it is good, then no need to go for bd player like oppo which is now cinavia protected already... make sense right? Thanks for your explain. I understand the 4k pass through. But really got such upscale function? So I can hook a media player, play dvd source but can upscale good quality to 1080p TV? Where is this button hide? I m using 673.
ozak
Dec 27 2013, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(arrsoo @ Dec 27 2013, 11:48 AM) I think you have to set it in the menu setting, try look for upscaling setting in it. Some avr allows you to bypass the upscaling by going "direct as source" while some are auto....do check it out pls, after that do a comparison by hooking up your media player/astro directly to TV compared it with via avr, see which one is better in terms of picture quality. If not mistaken, only hdmi connected player can have this function set. Latest Oppo BD 103D even hv got Darbee as processor but not cheap, yet cinavia protected. Thanks. definitely will try it out. I probably miss this out in the manual. My BD player, media player, TV is connected with 673 through hdmi. For picture quality, BD player have better quality than the media player. Even the source of the media player is BD.
ozak
Feb 17 2014, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(Alexcsyan @ Feb 17 2014, 04:33 PM) amp + sub + speakers = rm1k? Wah, got such a good bargain? RM1.1k I take.
ozak
Feb 18 2014, 08:38 AM
QUOTE(Ngto @ Feb 18 2014, 12:01 AM) You are right  . Maybe I should word it in a better way. Don't worried. Your word is clear. We just joking.
ozak
Mar 1 2014, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(bruce07 @ Feb 28 2014, 11:46 AM) my 1 yr old Yamaha also have to set to -25Db only consider normal and -15Db consider loud d... is it because i'm using their Yamaha satellite speakers??? It is around that range. My range is watching movie around -21 and normal tv is -30. While at night radio is -44.
ozak
Mar 1 2014, 09:31 AM
QUOTE(ivan5805 @ Feb 28 2014, 09:48 PM) would like to ask which one should i get? yamaha a830 or denon x3000 although i know this is a yamaha thread just want to get some opinion from u all . thanks Why not go and try audition?
ozak
Sep 10 2014, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(eastsmile @ Sep 10 2014, 11:04 AM) For watching movies Onkyo AVR is good whilst Yamaha AVR is good for listening to music. How I wish I've the luxury to buy 2 AVR units. Mov_freak what model do you own for both of the AVR units. If you audiophile, you won't buy another AVR for audio.
ozak
Sep 11 2014, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(raif @ Sep 11 2014, 10:58 AM) Hi Ozak! You too are also using a Yammy receiver?  If so, may I ask what model? RX-V673. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1168880/+1180
ozak
Sep 13 2014, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(raif @ Sep 11 2014, 11:30 PM) Surprise, surprise ozak!! I got my v577 just a month back and to boot a Yamaha subwoofer sw-215 (yours better). To top it off, both of these I got from legend sri petaling. Such coincidences don't come often eh? What a coincidentally. Most of us go in specific topic have 1 interest and 1 brand. Some people here also PM me for search the same item and place. There is no better. Different model is to tackle for different size of room and power output. It still work as good as higher model. If you place nicely.
ozak
Jan 10 2015, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(ashley17 @ Jan 9 2015, 09:34 PM) all sifus here, i just got a RX-675 from amazon due to the price is too attractive so i just bought it.  so now i headache that the voltage is different in US n msia and need to get voltage transformer. i found that a 2kW brand TNK voltage transformer i found at ACE hardware shop is about RM400 and a 2kW Teletron brand at jalan pasar is about RM500-600. the price is so much different. is 2kW transformer sufficient?any other transformer brand recommend beside the 2 brand i mention. hope sifus here can give some suggestion. tq That probably too much. Check the manual what is the running watt? Don't think that high.
ozak
Jan 12 2015, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(ashley17 @ Jan 11 2015, 01:20 AM) erm..got only written 120V,60Hz, 400W, 500VA behind, cant find any ampere written. i thk i will go for 1.5kw if the price dint much different with 1kw any recommend on brands or place to buy the transformer? the teletron brand in pasar road is so much exp thn TNK in ACE hardware.  how come a? is teletron brand better? or both just work as same? i just afraid it will burn my avr down  1Kw transformer is good enough. Teletron is from local (segamat). As long as the wattage is correct, it should work fine. Under wattage transformer doesn't burn down your avr. But will blow the transformer fuse if have. Get the 1 which have fuse protection.
ozak
Jan 12 2015, 10:50 PM
If put the PF at 0.9 = 400w/(0.9x120v) = 3.7A.
There is another thing to consider. Here is 50hz. While US is 60hz.
ozak
Mar 2 2015, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(TaiZi@CCF @ Mar 2 2015, 09:44 AM) my RX-V677 received a new firmware 1.50 which unlock 4k/60p 4:4:4. finally! Wah! got new firmware? Tonight go back and update.
ozak
Mar 7 2015, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(TaiZi@CCF @ Mar 2 2015, 09:44 AM) my RX-V677 received a new firmware 1.50 which unlock 4k/60p 4:4:4. finally! Sorry I can't find the upgrade firmware in the setup. Where is the setup?
ozak
Mar 7 2015, 02:55 PM
QUOTE(Ngto @ Mar 7 2015, 02:03 PM) You need to press and hold the 'Straight' button on the receiver when powering up the receiver itself to activate the options. Read the manual. Thanks. I have misplace the manual. Anyway, I DL the manual from net. Than seems like nothing happen after shift over to "update-network." Than I read back here taizi@ccf wrote firmware update ver1.50 ?? But my av firmware is 1.64 ? That is nothing to update right? What is yours?
ozak
Mar 7 2015, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Mar 7 2015, 04:04 PM) Auto update been awhile. My 473 also did auto update before but failed and almost brick it. Lucky can do manual update and fix it. Apa ver?
ozak
Mar 7 2015, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(Ngto @ Mar 7 2015, 10:47 PM) As far as I know the latest FW listed at Yamaha website for RX-V677 is ver 1.50, released 19 Feb 2015. Unless you got your model No. wrong or someone updated the wrong FW for your AVR, I don't know how you ended up with ver 1.64. Or another possibility is when you pressed "update-network" (Assuming you are connected), it updated to a very new FW which has not been listed yet at their website. Sorry my bet. I check wrongly the model. Not RX-677, It is RX-673.  I even DL the wrong manual. But the process update is similar. The new firmware is 1.84 for RX-673.
ozak
Mar 9 2015, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(raif @ Mar 9 2015, 08:54 AM) Ozakkkk!!  He...he.. Nowaday, I only know how to ON/OFF and set volume only. All those setting and what model are already forget liau.