◙PROTON PERSONA◙ V6, our pride n joy

Xefron
post Nov 8 2009, 12:19 AM

2,507 posts

I have been using my Persona for the last 10 days,so far:

1)There's no sound occurred when doing u-turn left or right (mind you that i need to do a u-turn every day when going to office)

2)The famous sound at the back seat,already solved by using PVC tape.

3)The air con is damn cold.I set it at 25 degree celcius with fan speed at 1 click right after u turn it on.So far there's no annoying rattling sound occurred only you can hear the radiator fan kick in sometime.

4)There's rattling sound on the dashboard.Not so obvious when the air cond is on but when u turn it off u can hear it especially on non smooth road.

5)The only major problem is the windshield water injector is not working.

6)Fuel consumption on 100% city driving around RM0.15-RM0.16 per KM.

7)Radio reception and controls are good.

8)The reverse beep is audible ,just nice.

9)Some tips for new Persona owner,check your tire pressure when you received your car.Mine is at 40 PSI when i received it which is not good for driving in KL especially with all the potholes.You absorber can take it but not your interior especially anything inside the dashboard.

10) I spray all the joints and bushing with silicone spray as prevention for any unwanted noise and have been using old Iswara for the past 7 years and already known the famous part that producing any kreokk...or nyet nyet sound.

11)The turning radius is not favor to my taste.

p/s:I think my expectation for this car NVH is too high.Almost off the time i am not realized that I am driving a Proton not a Mercedes S Class.

This post has been edited by Xefron: Nov 8 2009, 12:25 AM
Xefron
post Nov 8 2009, 02:17 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(bryanwong3 @ Nov 8 2009, 11:51 AM)
bro,
for no.1 u need to turn and drive on uneven road, then only got sound.. try maybe multi-storey carpark ramp (up and down), u'll get that sound.

mine same with you on no.5, no water come out! vmad.gif

additional tip on no.9, you must go to do balancing and alignment, if not ur back tyres will botak soon!. on my 1st day, i've went to realign, found out rear left tyre not align! all default alignment sucks! dun trust proton!

mind to share where you spray on no.10? i believe all auto got nyet nyet sound esp when we brake or release brake! hate that sound. makes our car feel damn old!
my office building is build with multi-storey carpark ramp,so far there's no sound with air-cond off.I have been using this one for spraying all the joints.Yo can buy it at Mydin,Carrefour,Giants.They should have this.

QUOTE(rckh @ Nov 8 2009, 01:17 PM)
Have been using my ride for the past 2 mths. Mine is M-Line Auto. What is yours? Fuel consumption for me, is bearable so I don't bother to monitor. I used to drive an old '88 carburetor steel rimed (175 tires)Nissan Sentra 1.5 Auto & the FC is just about so. So no complaints about FC of new 1.6 engine ride with 195 tires & very much heavier body.

Glad to hear you have minimal problems. In fact, very much reminds me of mine. I have so far encountered your problems 2) & 5) only-which is solved.

As for 9) Proton's recommendation Is 210kg(31psi) front & 190kg(28psi) rear when tires are COLD.  I think most of you would check your tire pressure at the petrol  station. So after driving vehicle for about 5km-10Km or so, tires would have heated up & the hot air in the tires would have increase the pressure by at least 4 pounds. I have always measured the tire pressure of my car with my own gauge when tires are hot. Funny for Proton to recommend COLD reading.

So, I think 35 psi (front) & 32 psi (rear) would be OK/ideal if vehicle has been running for some time.  Anything higher would make ride bumpy & will cause unnecessary vibrations in the car which may in turn be bad for some components in the car. But by looking at the hot tires, 35psi(frt) & 32psi(rr) seems under deflated. If you want to sacrifice comfort for better fuel consumption, by all means, inflate tires a bit more but not more than 40psi which I think that's why Proton inflate tires of new vehicles with this pressure.
for me i will just stick to 30-32 PSI.

This post has been edited by Xefron: Nov 8 2009, 02:18 PM
Xefron
post Nov 9 2009, 03:42 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(alienLYN @ Nov 8 2009, 11:40 PM)
Bro, my ride too is having that sound. Mind showing me how you resolve the issue? driving me nuts with the ngek ngek ngek whenever going through bumps  hmm.gif

i just use this kind of tape to wrap the metal bracket.
Xefron
post Nov 10 2009, 08:29 PM

2,507 posts

wahahaha my new persona get her first few scratch on the front bumper.Nice.Not noticeable from far but still sad.gif .Anyway it should has some.Being careful too much ain't good.
Xefron
post Nov 10 2009, 10:54 PM

2,507 posts

RM59,800.
Xefron
post Nov 11 2009, 09:04 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(rckh @ Nov 11 2009, 12:30 AM)
Getting very confused with tire pressure thing. Do you guys feel that Proton's recommendation of 210kpa/31psi (for front) & 190kpa/28ps (for rear) makes your ride sluggish especially going up slopes. The tires looks under inflated with this pressure. This car is really heavy, you can feel the extra weight on the doors due to the safety bars & thick trimboard inside. The bonnet is huge & the boot lid feels heavy. How is the car going to roll smoothly if the tires are under inflated?

The pressure was very much higher when I got the car, but ever since someone here alerted me of the over inflation, I measured the pressure & reduced it to proton spec. Somehow, the feel of the ride is gone with the lower pressure. In fact I feel it is more bumpy with 31psi(frt) & 28psi(rr) Pick up is also bad.

Anybody out there share my experience or is it a psychological thing.
if you put as the Proton recommendation,i feel the ride is more comfort and silent.but don't worry too much as if it around 30-33 PSI should be fine but 40 PSI,way too much.
Xefron
post Nov 11 2009, 01:35 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(NSX_MY @ Nov 11 2009, 01:32 PM)
here is the quick question, does the persona actually has 50L of fuel tank?
i don't think so...looks like 40-45 L to me.
Xefron
post Nov 11 2009, 11:09 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(loong2020 @ Nov 11 2009, 10:47 PM)
what petrol do u guys use eh????....survey survey sikit.....hows the feeling???
currently using Primax 95 so far so good and not bother to use Shell 95.I think it suck.I didn't have the chances yet to try others brand.Btw i think my Persona is already lowered when compared side by side with a Waja.I though the ride is quite height when looking on the internet.

This post has been edited by Xefron: Nov 11 2009, 11:25 PM
Xefron
post Nov 14 2009, 01:12 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(roiss @ Nov 14 2009, 12:23 PM)
Confirmed. My master pump is different from yours. But still, the brake feels spongy.
weird.mine is spongy for the 1st week when i received my car.now it working charmingly rclxms.gif . i suppose the OEM brake pad need bedding to allow the brakes to reach their full potential.
Xefron
post Nov 16 2009, 11:33 PM

2,507 posts

i plan to change my windshield water injection pump.do they provide the replacement pump on-site or i need to wait for them to order a new pump ?
Xefron
post Nov 18 2009, 10:30 PM

2,507 posts

my SA said normally for SE there's no discount given except he or she minus his/her sales commission.
Xefron
post Nov 19 2009, 02:13 PM

2,507 posts

which service center doesn't mind bringing our own engine oil and filter ? mine 1K service is coming soon.thanks.
Xefron
post Nov 21 2009, 01:59 PM

2,507 posts

to all Proton Persona owners have you checked your air cond water hose ? I believed that hose is short and the water will dripping onto the metal part.

I have just checked it start to rust,not really rusting,just the color turning into rust...still fine but i wonder what will happen after 1 year or more ? Mine just changed into longer one.

p/s:Anyone see the new Persona ads ?
Xefron
post Dec 2 2009, 11:35 PM

2,507 posts

hey anyone find their radio reception is not very clear like mine in the first place.i think i found the solution.just set your mode into FM T (FM1>FM2>FM T) with RDS,TA off.

Hope that works.I always get noisy channel when tune into AMP radio station frequency (hitz fm,mix fm,era fm etc).Now there's no more noisy/cross signal anymore.
Xefron
post Dec 10 2009, 12:10 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(mensa @ Dec 9 2009, 05:19 PM)
last service..i'm using shell ultra..but mechanic told me to try  castrol edge 5-40..any comments on this? mine is Persona AT btw

i am currently using this engine oil.i don't think i will changed to another brand or grade.Maybe 0W-40 is exempted.I get around RM0.13 per km. laugh.gif
Xefron
post Dec 10 2009, 01:44 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(dARKaNGEl @ Dec 10 2009, 11:42 AM)
Your's is persona AT or MT?
rm0.13 per km, meaning if i pump rm70 full tank (38.889L), I can travel 538km  shocking.gif

Are you sure you can travel so far with 1 full tank in Persona? my Persona SE highest so far is only 470km per tank.
Mine is auto.Never tried to pump till the tank full.Normally i just pump RM30 and can go until 230KM-240KM
Xefron
post Dec 10 2009, 02:29 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(chteh0721 @ Dec 10 2009, 02:01 PM)
ur one is IAFM or campro kosong ?

which engine oil you use ? city drive or most of the time highway drive?
IAFM-Auto-City Drive-Castrol Edge 5w-40
Xefron
post Dec 10 2009, 02:47 PM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(chteh0721 @ Dec 10 2009, 02:45 PM)
how much is the castrol edge ?

RRP is around RM180.I bought it for Rm155 at my usual spare part shop.
Xefron
post Dec 12 2009, 11:23 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(zepple @ Dec 12 2009, 10:12 AM)
Hi guys, wanna ask a question here, when does Persona production for the year 2010 starts?
hear say said it is around March.
Xefron
post Dec 28 2009, 10:18 AM

2,507 posts

QUOTE(ipohmali70 @ Dec 27 2009, 06:09 PM)
Oh yes forgot to mention:

Labour is for:
To install new spark plugs
To change engine oil (which I brought myself)
To change auto oil
That's all...

They took 2 & a half hours for the whole job while my regular Ah Beng takes max only 30 mins.

For this I get charged RM115.00!!  If that is not daylight robbery I don't know what is....
QUOTE(beemc @ Dec 27 2009, 06:33 PM)
normal service (change engine oil+oil filter) also took them 1hr30mins to finish...
QUOTE(Hypro @ Dec 28 2009, 10:14 AM)
About the brake problem, I have this problem last 2 week, and suddenly my brake come out a metal scrashing sound, but it was not long just few mins then will gone and if you totally stop the car the sound also will gone. Because i was too busy on my work and I have no time to left my car to the stupid proton for checking on my brake so I still driving it to Genting, and when I am coming down, I feel jerking when I am braking.

Last week, I am free and drive to service center for checking in early in the morning 8.30am, I am the 5 person in the que and I just told them my brake problem and my boot can not open and need checking from them, and he reply me  I need time to check and replace the brake pads and I think you can collect your car around 3 to 4 pm.  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif  What is that!!! just small matter need so many hours to check. you think I am sitting there nothing to do and waste all my time for this small little checking is worth??? So i am asking is it possible finish it with an hour and he told me can not.Since there have so many car to but is kind of bull shit. Then I am asking how much for the brake pads, and he reply RM3++ it could be RM380++ because we are using original brake pads. Wowowowoww rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  this is too much. I straight away drive my car to the nearest Ah Beng  Tyre shop to check my problem.

When I park my car at the Ah Beng shop, they straight away serve me and I told them about my problem, they said I can check for you now, just less than 30mins will finish. Now I know what is heaven and what is hell. Some more, I ask how much they will charge for the brake pads and he reply just RM95 only, I am using back the proton original brake pads. doh.gif  doh.gif  I have nothing to said about proton service. What the hell is going on, charge me Rm3++ for the same thing. and Ah Beng shop charge me Rm95. They have open up all the 4 tyre for checking my disc brake and just the front brake pads need to change only. Finally, they have skim my front 2 disc brake for both side, I mean outside and inner side of the disc brake, and it only charge me Rm90. All done within 30mins. Super fast and safe me a BOOM. Now my brake no more problem and I can feel it bite better than before.

So guys, if you want to change your brake pads, don't go back to proton, and brake pads has no warranty on it.
Honestly i never send my car to Proton Service Center for my routine service since my first Proton Saga (8 years problem free except wear and tear parts) car.So far so good.Doing the same with my Persona.Hope it's gonna be ok. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Xefron: Dec 28 2009, 10:19 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0236sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:36 AM