144 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

How much is your net worth?, gauging your financial performance.

xuzen
post Apr 7 2013, 11:51 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 6 2013, 01:09 PM)
Got 6 figure or not...?

To see if you have the required networth for your age use the following formula ...
Thomas J. Stanley's and William D. Danko's expected net worth formulas

Formula 1: Expected net worth = age x 0.1 x gross income.
    Formula 2: Expected net worth = age x 0.112 x gross income.

Marotta Asset Management's expected net worth formulas

Formula 3: Expected net worth = (adult years / 240 + 0.1) x adult years x gross income; where "adult years" = age - 20.
    Formula 4: Expected net worth = [(age / 166) - 0.15] x age x gross income.
Gross income is before tax per year.

You all can calculate if you all pass or fail.... wink.gif

Report here.  laugh.gif
Woo hoo, my actual net-worth is 5 times more than the formula.....

Xuzen
felixmask
post Apr 7 2013, 09:55 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 6 2013, 01:09 PM)
Got 6 figure or not...?

To see if you have the required networth for your age use the following formula ...
Thomas J. Stanley's and William D. Danko's expected net worth formulas

Formula 1: Expected net worth = age x 0.1 x gross income.
    Formula 2: Expected net worth = age x 0.112 x gross income.

Marotta Asset Management's expected net worth formulas

Formula 3: Expected net worth = (adult years / 240 + 0.1) x adult years x gross income; where "adult years" = age - 20.
    Formula 4: Expected net worth = [(age / 166) - 0.15] x age x gross income.
Gross income is before tax per year.

You all can calculate if you all pass or fail.... wink.gif

Report here.  laugh.gif
Happy weekend Gark,

Now only can online after window shopping at paradigm mall.
I calculate how you got percentage ? (= expected net worth / actual net worth )

formula 1= 0.64 less than 1 mean i failed ????
formula 2= 0.57 less than 1 mean i failed ????
formula 3= 1.61
formula 4= 0.74

Am i correct rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by felixmask: Apr 7 2013, 11:56 PM
lazybump_nonsense
post Apr 7 2013, 10:20 PM

Gotta Catch'em All
1,654 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 7 2013, 12:39 AM)
22? Just working not long...check again in a few years wink.gif
Ok! I'll make sure I pass !! biggrin.gif
jasontoh
post Apr 7 2013, 10:20 PM

8,432 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 7 2013, 09:55 PM)
Happy weekend Gark,

Now only can online after window shopping at paradigm mall.
    I calculate how you got percentage ? (= expected net worth /  actual net worth )

formula 1=  0.64 less than 1 mean i failed ????
  formula 2=  0.57 less than 1 mean i failed ????
    formula 3=  2.2
    formula 4= 1.75

Am i correct  rclxub.gif
I think it means you are average. Somehow I see that formula 3 and 4 very high, not sure why. Btw, when you calculate, do you include your "unknown" bonuses, or just the contractual? Cause it will makes a whole lot of difference if I do so compare if I don't
felixmask
post Apr 7 2013, 11:18 PM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Apr 7 2013, 10:20 PM)
I think it means you are average. Somehow I see that formula 3 and 4 very high, not sure why. Btw, when you calculate, do you include your "unknown" bonuses, or just the contractual? Cause it will makes a whole lot of difference if I do so compare if I don't
my networth = Liquid invesment exp Stock + UT + FD only. Exclude my wife and house.
yes i include my bonus. rclxub.gif
gark
post Apr 7 2013, 11:37 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 7 2013, 11:18 PM)
my networth =  Liquid invesment exp Stock + UT + FD only. Exclude my wife and house.
yes i include my bonus.  rclxub.gif
Networth includes assets but minus liabilities.

Example house worth 500k but loan 400k, then networth is 100k. Networth is all fixed assets and liquid assets minus all loans and liabilities.

Formula 1 and 2 is the highest, the bottom 2 is for younger people below age 25.

If you dcore below 1 then means you do not have enough savings and assets and need to add more tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Apr 7 2013, 11:38 PM
jerrymax
post Apr 7 2013, 11:38 PM

310 posts

I've used formula 3 and got 30,000+

Then.. what? rclxub.gif
felixmask
post Apr 8 2013, 12:00 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 7 2013, 11:37 PM)
Networth includes assets but minus liabilities.

Example house worth 500k but loan 400k, then networth is 100k. Networth is all fixed assets and liquid assets minus all loans and liabilities.

Formula 1 and 2 is the highest, the bottom 2 is for younger people below age 25.

If you dcore below 1 then means you do not have enough savings and assets and need to add more tongue.gif
notworthy.gif tHANKS...I indeed not enought .... rclxub.gif need to add another rm140k more to reach score 1.
Need to save another 10 year...
SUStikaram
post Apr 8 2013, 09:12 AM

10,722 posts

Check this out.

Which Social Class Are you?, Are you staying in overprice house?

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2765942
felixmask
post Apr 8 2013, 09:31 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Apr 7 2013, 10:20 PM)
Morning jason toh,

I recalculate my figure...still median point.
alexng2208
post Apr 8 2013, 09:33 AM

Why my warn is 0%? i miss my high warn
4,789 posts

Marital Status: Not Married but got gf.

Asset(s): house 418k but owe 375k

Car loan: bought 90k owe 50k

Insurance: prudential 300 a month.. dunno got what

Investment:
FD: non
Cash in Bank - RM1K
Cash in Hand - RM200
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 8 2013, 09:36 AM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Apr 8 2013, 09:33 AM)
Marital Status: Not Married but got gf.

Asset(s): house 418k but owe 375k

Car loan: bought 90k owe 50k

Insurance: prudential 300 a month.. dunno got what

Investment:
FD: non
Cash in Bank - RM1K
Cash in Hand - RM200
Eee u need more cash in reserve, what if u lose your job? Then your house and car gone case doh.gif

At least 6 months of expenses in reserve needed as u got 2 financial commitments
alexng2208
post Apr 8 2013, 09:37 AM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 8 2013, 09:36 AM)
Eee u need more cash in reserve, what if u lose your job? Then your house and car gone case doh.gif

At least 6 months of expenses in reserve needed as u got 2 financial commitments
i spend 5k a month in everything under the moon

so means i need 30k?

whoa... how to save wor... wait for my bonus to come in
gark
post Apr 8 2013, 09:56 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 8 2013, 12:00 AM)
notworthy.gif  tHANKS...I indeed not enought .... rclxub.gif need to add another rm140k more to reach score 1.
Need to save another 10 year...
The score required will move up as you age, by the time 10 years come, you will need a much bigger figure.

Have you included your EPF & house value (minus loans) ? If included then you might need to rework your budget a bit...

I am surprised a lot of wealthy people around can score 5x on formula 1 here... rclxms.gif
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 8 2013, 10:00 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Apr 8 2013, 09:37 AM)
i spend 5k a month in everything under the moon

so means i need 30k?

whoa... how to save wor... wait for my bonus to come in
When bonus come in, park it aside for emergencies icon_idea.gif
alexng2208
post Apr 8 2013, 10:03 AM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 8 2013, 10:00 AM)
When bonus come in, park it aside for emergencies icon_idea.gif
due to changing jobs, i have not have a solid bonus for 2 years now sad.gif

let's see

do you weigh bonus or higher salary on the "more important" scale?
SUSPink Spider
post Apr 8 2013, 10:10 AM

16,872 posts

QUOTE(alexng2208 @ Apr 8 2013, 10:03 AM)
due to changing jobs, i have not have a solid bonus for 2 years now sad.gif

let's see

do you weigh bonus or higher salary on the "more important" scale?
My salary is slightly below market average, but bonus cover balik the shortfall, if that's what u meant smile.gif

Serious, cash in reserves is very important, start with 3 months maybe, slowly build up to 6 months smile.gif
gark
post Apr 8 2013, 10:12 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 8 2013, 10:10 AM)
My salary is slightly below market average, but bonus cover balik the shortfall, if that's what u meant smile.gif

So bila mau make 'partner'... then can belanja minum oh. tongue.gif
felixmask
post Apr 8 2013, 10:14 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Apr 8 2013, 09:56 AM)
The score required will move up as you age, by the time 10 years come, you will need a much bigger figure.

Have you included your EPF & house value (minus loans) ? If included then you might need to rework your budget a bit...

I am surprised a lot of wealthy people around can score 5x on formula 1 here... rclxms.gif
thanks gark,

If i added up the house and EPF is 1x.

the house is my wife and me - so i wont include, sell already no house; got money cant buy with current price. I prefer use liquide asset onli.
EPF i also exlcude, becoz i maybe die before can enjoy the money.

gark
post Apr 8 2013, 10:15 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 8 2013, 10:14 AM)
thanks gark,

If i added up the house and EPF is 1x.

the house is my wife and me - so i wont include, sell already no house; got money cant buy with current price. I prefer use liquide asset onli.
EPF i also exlcude, becoz i maybe die before can enjoy the money.
The calculation of for total asset mah, so can include house (your portion only-loans) and EPF. This is just to gauge if you on the right track.

144 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0183sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:45 PM