How much is your net worth?, gauging your financial performance.

gark
post Oct 6 2010, 02:21 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Oct 6 2010, 02:01 PM)
1) My EPF is low because i worked overseas for 3 yrs which had no income tax and no EPF contributions
2) Go check out the 2nd hand price of a 2003 Toyota Vios 1.5E
3) Yes im driving a cheap car because the car has given me zero problems and i prefer to invest in properties and gold. So unless the car starts giving me any trouble, i dont plan on changing it soon. Maybe next year.
4) My property is not located in Kinrara. That is not a prime area in case u didnt know. I live in an area where market prices are demand driven not market driven. There are only very few areas which can command such demands over a short period.

So before u accuse me know your facts first. From the points u have raised, i can contend that u have very limited knowledge about cars and properties. I dont lie and i dont feel the need to inflate my financial worth above and beyond its actual numbers.

Cheers!
Seems about right, I have almost zero amount in my EPF as well, despite working for a long time laugh.gif.

The house appreciation, is on the high side, but there are some areas in KL which do have that kind of valuation if you bought it before 2008, to get it in 2009, you must have gotten a bargain.

Well liquid net worth of about 400k, seems about right for your age and pay. But I suspect the salary figure you are quoting is fairly recent, otherwise your net worth are going to be much higher.

Anyway kudos for moving up in the world, if what you posted is real. laugh.gif
gark
post Oct 7 2010, 09:19 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Oct 6 2010, 09:59 PM)
car doesn't reflect a person's wealth, u will never know unless u dig out his info of all deposit and real estate

u go kampung, saw one uncle driving honda "kapchai", who will know he is the owner of 500 acre of rubber estate in that state?
same situation in KL, driving big car doesn't mean he is rich
Yeah, buying nice car is a total waste of money, many affluent people can afford to buy it outright with cash, but yet they don't. Car only serve one purpose, which is to get you where you want to go. If it can perform the task with no problems, there is absolutely 0 reasons to get a new one. rclxms.gif Some extremely rich people like the Sam Walton (passed way) drives a 20 years old pick up truck, even when he can afford to buy a car manufacturing company. laugh.gif
gark
post Oct 8 2010, 12:34 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Oct 8 2010, 12:03 PM)
Anyway, on something more constructive, I think I would like some thoughts from yourself too about those two mutual funds that you are heavily into. I am expressing the same request for some opinions from your goodself too on those two funds.
His portfolio if from vanguard, there is only two ways to get in. Either you have an account in the US (which I think Dreamer have), or you willing to invest in their Dublin domiciled offshore fund, with minimum US 100,000 investment. laugh.gif

By the way those are not unit trust, they are low cost index funds, in the case of Dreamers, they are mixed index funds.

This post has been edited by gark: Oct 8 2010, 12:34 PM
gark
post Jan 25 2011, 10:35 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(126126 @ Jan 24 2011, 05:08 PM)
have read this thread with interest.

Here goes mine, pls comment:

Salary: not fixed. But say >700k pa
Field: Own business
Properties: 16m (Loan 13m).
Cash: 2m
Rental income : Approx 300k pa
FD + Unit trust: 200k
Stock mkt: 40k
EPF: 300k
Monthly instalments: 45k (cars + prop)

What would u do if you are in my position? have 3 kids all below 6. can retire or not?
Aiya want to fake, also please do proper calculations. Don't go and live your fantasy behind a nick name. laugh.gif

With your 16million of property, you are generating only 300k of rental, about 1.875%, less than FD. For your 13 million loan even at 4.5% interest rate, at 45 years paying back, will cost you 56,000 a month. If 30 years about 65,000 per month.

This thread is all for those who want to live the fantasy but do not have the means to do so. Go day dream somewhere else. rclxms.gif If it is real, you are one of the worst investor I have ever seen. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 25 2011, 10:39 AM
gark
post Apr 6 2013, 01:09 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 6 2013, 11:00 AM)
hahah  nowday my pay check is another paycheck to other ppl end of days. Must ask my wife - how much my net worth.  rclxub.gif
Got 6 figure or not...?

To see if you have the required networth for your age use the following formula ...

Thomas J. Stanley's and William D. Danko's expected net worth formulas

Formula 1: Expected net worth = age x 0.1 x gross income.
Formula 2: Expected net worth = age x 0.112 x gross income.

Marotta Asset Management's expected net worth formulas

Formula 3: Expected net worth = (adult years / 240 + 0.1) x adult years x gross income; where "adult years" = age - 20.
Formula 4: Expected net worth = [(age / 166) - 0.15] x age x gross income.

Gross income is before tax per year.

You all can calculate if you all pass or fail.... wink.gif

Report here. laugh.gif
gark
post Apr 6 2013, 04:04 PM

12,534 posts

My turn... rclxms.gif

Thomas J. Stanley's and William D. Danko's expected net worth formulas

Formula 1: Expected net worth = age x 0.1 x gross income.
Formula 2: Expected net worth = age x 0.112 x gross income.

Marotta Asset Management's expected net worth formulas

Formula 3: Expected net worth = (adult years / 240 + 0.1) x adult years x gross income; where "adult years" = age - 20.
Formula 4: Expected net worth = [(age / 166) - 0.15] x age x gross income.

F1 : Pass...
F2 : Pass...
F3 : Pass...
F4 : Pass...

+50% or more rclxms.gif
gark
post Apr 6 2013, 04:07 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 6 2013, 02:40 PM)
Wong Seafood, why strain my brain on my off day cry.gif

See la when I free I try tongue.gif

I get your point, Unker gark's formula is like saying, to put it simply, "saving at least 10% of gross income". If we want a more comfortable retirement years, we should do a lot better than that. flex.gif
Thos formula is the MINIMUM asset you should have based on your earnings and age... if below that means you are failing and need to buck up. flex.gif
gark
post Apr 6 2013, 04:07 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Apr 6 2013, 04:07 PM)
notworthy.gif U be in the >=1.49 of Stanley / Danko's stats, the median balance sheet affluence!
Ada meh? I thought need to be >2? sweat.gif
gark
post Apr 6 2013, 09:02 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(newbie99 @ Apr 6 2013, 08:53 PM)
Hi Gark,
What is a good score based on Thomas J. Stanley's and William D. Danko expected net worth formulas?
Can include investment assets like auctionable gems, paintings and work of arts? Or just base on property, cash and shares?
What is the downside of the formula? I asked because mine is almost 5x the value calculated, and I am not feeling  rich.
Liquid net worth. Property, cash, stocks, bonds, ut minus all liabilities.

1x means you just got enough to survive. If yours is 5x means you belong to effluent group.
gark
post Apr 6 2013, 09:09 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(jerrymax @ Apr 6 2013, 07:37 PM)
ha. what pass pass pass? how to get %, why i calculate many zeroes.
Lets say your salary 100k, age 30.

Formula 1 = 100000 x 0.1 x 30 = 300000

If your total net worth is 450k for example, mah 1.5x hence 50%
gark
post Apr 7 2013, 11:14 AM

12,534 posts

This formula not so suitable for prople who just enter employment. But check in often, it is just a challenge to see if you are saving eniugh.for below age 25 use formula 3.
gark
post Apr 7 2013, 11:37 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 7 2013, 11:18 PM)
my networth =  Liquid invesment exp Stock + UT + FD only. Exclude my wife and house.
yes i include my bonus.  rclxub.gif
Networth includes assets but minus liabilities.

Example house worth 500k but loan 400k, then networth is 100k. Networth is all fixed assets and liquid assets minus all loans and liabilities.

Formula 1 and 2 is the highest, the bottom 2 is for younger people below age 25.

If you dcore below 1 then means you do not have enough savings and assets and need to add more tongue.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Apr 7 2013, 11:38 PM
gark
post Apr 8 2013, 09:56 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 8 2013, 12:00 AM)
notworthy.gif  tHANKS...I indeed not enought .... rclxub.gif need to add another rm140k more to reach score 1.
Need to save another 10 year...
The score required will move up as you age, by the time 10 years come, you will need a much bigger figure.

Have you included your EPF & house value (minus loans) ? If included then you might need to rework your budget a bit...

I am surprised a lot of wealthy people around can score 5x on formula 1 here... rclxms.gif
gark
post Apr 8 2013, 10:12 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 8 2013, 10:10 AM)
My salary is slightly below market average, but bonus cover balik the shortfall, if that's what u meant smile.gif

So bila mau make 'partner'... then can belanja minum oh. tongue.gif
gark
post Apr 8 2013, 10:15 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 8 2013, 10:14 AM)
thanks gark,

If i added up the house and EPF is 1x.

the house is my wife and me - so i wont include, sell already no house; got money cant buy with current price. I prefer use liquide asset onli.
EPF i also exlcude, becoz i maybe die before can enjoy the money.
The calculation of for total asset mah, so can include house (your portion only-loans) and EPF. This is just to gauge if you on the right track.
gark
post Apr 8 2013, 10:23 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Apr 8 2013, 10:20 AM)
Agree with you on this. I found that this formula only works if you are property investor, but I don't buy the property investment theory. So, I am also average like you, but with slightly >1 pts. I believe we should look more on liquid assets rather than the non-liquid as the liquid asset is what you can use to spend on stuff. I seriously know some people who invested heavily in property, but because of this, their cashflow kinda clog, which in turns make their life miserable serving the loan.
No this formula does not only favor property investors as you need to minus out the liabilities. If your property is 900k, loan is 800 k, you only have 100k networth.
gark
post Apr 8 2013, 11:22 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Apr 8 2013, 10:35 AM)
Thus, it explains why I say the formula is made for property investors. The house price might go up, but in actual fact, you won't have the money until you sold it, right?
You don't have to sell a property to see the cash. You could leverage your property to obtain cash through re-mortgage, and hence you will have the cash to invest further. I am doing that with one of my property.

So based on this property can be counted as net worth as they are convertible to cash (leveraged) and a 'real' asset.
gark
post Apr 8 2013, 12:06 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 8 2013, 11:35 AM)
If have house and car loan means still negative net worth cos in debt?
You can have negative networth if loan more than asset. Example...

House = 400K
Loan = 350K
Car Loan = 25K
Personal Loan = 50K
CC Loan = 10K
Cash, Investment, FD, EPF = 15K

Total networth = 400K+15K-350K-25K-50K-10K = - 20k networth

This post has been edited by gark: Apr 8 2013, 12:06 PM
gark
post Apr 8 2013, 12:58 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(WintersuN @ Apr 8 2013, 12:31 PM)
wow like dat calculate 1 r.. then based on that my house alone will make me net worth 500k lolololol
No loan meh? Loan must be minus off...
gark
post Apr 8 2013, 02:29 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Halamdar @ Apr 8 2013, 01:29 PM)
Wwwwww.... /cry !

No lah... still need my daily starbuck latte..... my kid come along as well... and he always order food too .... tongue.gif
Wah you so keng ah.. RM 1.50 kopitiam 'kopi beng' not good enough for you ah? tongue.gif

I drink starbucks only like once 1-2 months....otherwise daily i make 3in1 coffee at my workplace... cheaper and nicer laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Apr 8 2013, 02:31 PM

0.0264sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:06 PM