7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 V6, Entry Level Digital SLR from Nikon.

project-o
post Sep 10 2009, 12:34 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Glad to see V6!!!! I would like to be added to the D40 list too.
project-o
post Sep 11 2009, 12:54 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

I agree.... which is why I find the 35 f1.8 much improved that you can see the sharpness wide open and at f3.5 (1 stop) you can really see how sharp it is.
QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Sep 11 2009, 12:29 AM)
50mm at f1.8 is soft...i have 1, i find it soft at 1.8..sharp at 2.5 onwards.

Added on September 11, 2009, 12:55 pmThe f number is the aperture size. The larger the aperture the smaller the F-number.
QUOTE(ReasonsofThanatos @ Sep 11 2009, 11:39 AM)
actually wat's f1.8 n so??mind 2 teach teach =p noobie here..
This post has been edited by project-o: Sep 11 2009, 12:55 PM
project-o
post Sep 11 2009, 07:10 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

If you can afford the Nikkor AF-S 50mm f1.4 I suggest you test the Sigma 50 f1.4 first before buying. I tested and liked it but I decided to go for the Nikkor 35 f1.8 as a cheaper alternative.
QUOTE(General_Nic @ Sep 11 2009, 06:09 PM)
around RM800 only, the cheapest prime lens with built in motor for Nikon...
as for good or not, i'll say it's good for a lens this cheap
but like posts earlier said, it depends whether the bokeh & sharpness satisfy u o not
for me im disappointed with its bokeh, so now ikat perut longer to get the AFS 50mm...
project-o
post Sep 11 2009, 07:37 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Price of the Sigma is slightly higher (around RM 100-200) at around RM 2000 than the Nikon. Yes... I feel the Sigma IQ is better which is why I suggest you test this one first to compare. Anyway it is pretty big too.
http://www.sigmaphoto.com/lenses/lenses_al...54&navigator=17

50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM
QUOTE(General_Nic @ Sep 11 2009, 07:13 PM)
Sigma got 50mm oso?  blink.gif
never seen it b4, i only knew about the 30mm
price same as Nikon 50mm AFS?
from the your words, u r saying Sigma IQ is better?
This post has been edited by project-o: Sep 11 2009, 07:38 PM
project-o
post Sep 11 2009, 10:54 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

The lens is quite new, if I'm not mistaken it was launched last year and before the Nikon 35 f1.8 was launched. AF speed pretty fast as it is a prime lens. Anyway, as I said.. if you have a chance test the Sigma 50 f1.4 you will see what I mean when you see the sharpness, bokeh and colour tone of the lens. Only problem was I found the size of the lens a bit of a problem for the small D40 body and grip. The Nikons are much smaller.
QUOTE(General_Nic @ Sep 11 2009, 07:50 PM)
went Sigma website earlier
the lens jz enter market not long rite?
if local price around RM2k still ok, cos at 1st i convert the USD730...  sweat.gif
how's the AF speed compare to Nikon?
but even extra RM100-200 still difficult la
i oredi gonna to have hard time convincing my dad buy the AFS 50mm, add budget like overdoing it  sweat.gif
n harder still is to convince my dad 3rd party brand can be better than Nikon  doh.gif
project-o
post Sep 12 2009, 01:16 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Nice.... next to come... 55-200VR and flash. smile.gif Happy Shooting
QUOTE(Zi-Tech @ Sep 12 2009, 02:26 AM)
got at price 2080 only including postage....

got free bag and 4gb memory card (from nikon)

some pic of the camera....

project-o
post Sep 12 2009, 03:29 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

At that price range, no doubt go for the Nikkor. It is still better than the other 2 as it has VR. Alternatively, sell your kit lens and go for the Nikkor 18-105VR.
QUOTE(ajoy_sempoi @ Sep 12 2009, 01:40 PM)
lol...help!!!

cannot decide which one is better suite...so noob
-nikkor 55-200
-sigma 70-300
-tamron 70-300( that can autofocus with d60)

what is the best choice for camera & money?
budget RM800-RM900

wanna do some macro also
project-o
post Sep 12 2009, 03:39 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

No AF with the 50mm f1.8 Nikkor. For D3000 you will have to go for the 35mm DX f1.8 AF-S.
QUOTE(Ryou @ Sep 12 2009, 03:31 PM)
Hi ! I'm curious to know that, can 50mm f1.8 be autofocusing no D3000 which doesn't have a built-in Motor?
project-o
post Sep 15 2009, 11:06 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

AF-S = Auto Focus Single shot
AF-A = Auto Focus - Auto Select which means that it switches automatically between AF-S when taking single shots and AF-C (continuous) when taking continuous shots. Setting in AF-A lets the camera decide.
QUOTE(tplcaik @ Sep 15 2009, 04:47 PM)
What is the meaning of AF-S and AF-A found in Nikon D60? I always set at AF-A with origin 18-55mm. Any diff between both mode? Ori lens supported?

Added on September 15, 2009, 11:11 pm
QUOTE(General_Nic @ Sep 15 2009, 02:56 PM)
i still negotiating with my dad to get me the 50mm f/1.4 AF-S >.<
really wan to get it, wish me luck guys!  wink.gif

Haha... I guess you had the same impression as me especially with the smaller grip cameras like D40/40x/60/5000/3000. Hope you get your new lens soon.
@project-o
i tested the Sigma 50mm, n it is really huge n heavy
heavier than kit lens...  sweat.gif
the filter size so big, 77mm  blink.gif
optics i cant really say which is better, cos limited time n subject to test
but i feel then Nikon AF-S 50mm AF speed is faster
so i still prefer Nikon
This post has been edited by project-o: Sep 15 2009, 11:11 PM
project-o
post Sep 16 2009, 09:53 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Can also try the "tupperware" diffuser. It should help to soften the light.
QUOTE(heLLtuRt @ Sep 16 2009, 07:05 PM)
thanks for the advice.. thumbup.gif
i did use the built-in difuser but the light still kinda harsh...
maybe should use the fill-in reflector next time  sweat.gif

Added on September 16, 2009, 9:55 pmThere is a new version of the 17-50 f2.8 that is out with VC (Tamron version of VR). Not sure when it will reach here but there should be improvements to the lens.
QUOTE(faiz92 @ Sep 16 2009, 05:34 AM)
Im using it right now.
Tamron have abit of problem when it comes to low light shooting.(focusing problem)
Compare to Nikon f2.8, its much faster in focusing and very good in low light shooting.
but the price tag is.. cry.gif
rm5000+
hhahahaha
This post has been edited by project-o: Sep 16 2009, 09:55 PM
project-o
post Sep 17 2009, 10:18 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

In fact the kit lens for any lower end camera is just a "starter" lens in the most useful range (28-70 film equivalent). We must also bear in mind that lenses are made in pairs (1 wide + 1 tele) example 18-55 + 55-200 or 18-107 + 70-300. The 18-200VR and VRII is an example of a super zoom lens which works in between 2 lens focal ranges with some compromises. Ultimately it boils down to budget also to mention the new 18-200VRII price can almost get you 18-105+70-300VR.

By "Tupperware" I mean the "Sto-fen" type that looks like a tupperware cover not sure whether it is "mangkuk" or not.

There are some photographers do prefer super wide angle and others do not. Some like to use a telephoto lens for many functions.
QUOTE(General_Nic @ Sep 16 2009, 11:22 PM)
the expensive price tag is coz of its body, so wat if its kits lens zoom is lens is less than normal cams?
the main thing is wat DSLRs can do wat basic cams cant do, that is full control of settings
n y u nid big zoom for landscape photography??
the reason y kit lens zoom is limited is cos for daily normal photography wide lens is the 1 needed
if u really wan big zoom, n jz wan to buy the body(only D5000 got sell body only at around RM2.5k),
get 18-200, cos its like 1-11x optical zoom
70-300 zoom is bigger but u can do very wide shots at 70mm, no way u can take group shots or have difficulties getting whole landscape in the pic
My suggestion,
1) buy D5000 body only + 18-200mm VRII lens (RM2.5k + RM2.7k = RM5.2k)
or
2) buy D5000 with kit lens + 55-200mm VR lens (RM2.7k + RM900 = RM3.6k)
or
3) buy D3000 with kit lens + 55-200mm VR lens (RM2k + RM900 = RM2.9k)

dun get the 70-300mm cos it has no VR
VR is like anti-shake mechanism on normal cams
got 70-300mm VR but that cost RM1.9k...
hope this helps  icon_rolleyes.gif
u mean the "mangkuk" diffuser?  tongue.gif  laugh.gif
project-o
post Sep 17 2009, 11:19 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

18-135 (ipoh shop) selling new with warranty card RM 960. Used between RM 600-750 depending on condition.
QUOTE(ajoy_sempoi @ Sep 17 2009, 10:02 PM)
haha...mggu lepas survey camera shop , nk survey harge  lense ( typical 18-135...i wonder it's still exist?)
lepas tu , jumpe satu kedai ni , luar dier nmpk buruk , mcm nk roboh
tp bile masuk je kedai...pergh..terbaik!!

lense berlambak , tersusun je kat rak
lense 18-135 pon ader...lepas raye mau beli la...
camera pon ader...

haha..luar cam setinggan , dalam mcm kondo
project-o
post Sep 19 2009, 11:52 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

I feel that to say that the 18-135 is "not sharp" would be an understatement. Having used it for more than a year I feel that it is one of the more consistent lenses and is sharp at practically the whole focal range. To me I feel it should read "not as sharp as some better (maybe also more expensive lenses)".

project-o
post Sep 19 2009, 09:28 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

There are many kinds of filters. It depends on what kind of filter different filters are for different purposes.
Briefly:

Protective Filters - UV/Skylight/Clear - protects the front element of the lens from dust, grit and damage.
Exposure Filters - ND(Neutral Density)/CPL (Polariser) - reduce brightness of scene so that lower shutter speed can be used.
Colour Correction filters - Change the colour of the final photo (DSLR has white balance so this is not useful).
Effect Filters - Centre spot,wind,diffuser,star etc... - produce artistic effects
Gradient filters - Filter 1/2 the scene eg. Sun on horizon to get better exposure balance.

QUOTE(andychan @ Sep 19 2009, 08:17 PM)
please add me in the list TQ ^^

want to ask is it good to put a optical filter?
project-o
post Sep 21 2009, 11:13 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

No hard and fast rule as the algorithms for noise reduction are changed between models. Generally the newer the model the better.
QUOTE(The Apprentice @ Sep 20 2009, 03:26 PM)
Any D40/D40x/D60/D3000 owners has a D70/s? Which ones has better noise control? Found that noise control is very poor. Thanks.
project-o
post Sep 24 2009, 09:57 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Nikon, unlike Canon doesn't allow the buyer to choose a kit lens. If Nikon were to come up with such a kit like D3000+ 18-105VR or even the older 18-135 I feel it will be a best seller among the entry level kits.
project-o
post Sep 24 2009, 06:50 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

If Nikon gives a choice of kit lens it would be good as in 2 packages D3000 + 18-55 or D3000+18-105. But the main reason I feel is that if they do so the 55-200VR lens will not be able to sell well.
QUOTE(noobie1 @ Sep 24 2009, 11:10 AM)
come on..i think nikon said it was entry level because the body+lens will be cheap...so if thy make D3000 with 18105, the price would most likely ard 3k++...so most of the people would go for canon or sony as their entry are more cheap by that time...

lets say nikon entry level price at 3k
then sony and canon entry level price ard 2k or less

which would u choose if u r jz new to photography??
of course is 2k or less one,right? that the term for "entry level" =)
project-o
post Sep 25 2009, 09:22 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

But if you have 18-105, not likely you will buy the 55-200. The 70-300 is a better match for the 18-105 but it is much more expensive.
QUOTE(The Apprentice @ Sep 25 2009, 12:14 AM)
The 18-105 & 55-200 range is very different... right?

Added on September 25, 2009, 9:24 amRM 20 to me is reasonable for a whole day workshop.
QUOTE(Zi-Tech @ Sep 25 2009, 02:59 AM)
no la... need to pay 20rm....

more info here .... www.nikon.com.my
This post has been edited by project-o: Sep 25 2009, 09:24 AM
project-o
post Sep 25 2009, 11:38 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

In my opinion the 35 f1.8 enables higher shutter speeds and lower ISO also less flash power needs. I would go with that + a combination of a standard wide zoom (18-70/18-55). Anyway... I just started using the Nissin Di-622 the performance is pretty impressive and should have enough power.
Guys, am a D40 user and gonna shoot my company event next week in a hotal ballroom. Would like to ask for you guys opinion for which combination is most suitable for the event:-

1. Di622 with 18-55
2. Di622 with Sigma 18-200
3. Di622 with 35 1.8

Thanks in advance.
This post has been edited by project-o: Sep 25 2009, 11:42 PM
project-o
post Sep 26 2009, 12:16 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

I'm not sure about the newer versions of Metz flashes build quality but I have a really old Metz flash which is more than 10 years old (not sure of exact age) and still works well till today. The thing I like most about this flash which is use as an extra fill slave is that it gives off a soft-ish light even without a diffuser smile.gif

What I'm interested in the Di866 besides the power is how well the "sub" flash works. This is used in the Metz 58 series and earlier Nikon flashes to have a built in fill light.
QUOTE(raptorclans @ Sep 25 2009, 11:42 PM)
thanks for the opinion... kinda leaning towards the Di866, as my budget is around rm900+ i like it's features but heard the build qualitry of the metz is good... wonder which will be the best bang for the money...

my usage is quite varied, from night-time club events to outdoor/indoor events and even food reviews. kinda tricky to decide tongue.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:26 AM