Photography Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 V6, Entry Level Digital SLR from Nikon.

project-o
post Dec 16 2009, 11:25 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Used to have the 18-135 and I prefer the 18-70 to this, but if given a choice between the 2 lenses, the 18-105 is a much better lens.
QUOTE(semaynikonian @ Dec 16 2009, 08:47 PM)
Hi all the sifus,

I'm now deciding to buy either Nikkor 18-105 or 18-135 as a all rounder lens for traveling purposes. Pls give some advise on which lens is better, sharper, built?? pls comment... I understand both price around the same, and can get 2nd hand easily through Garage Sales, jus a bit hard to decide which to take..

Thanks in advance....
project-o
post Dec 17 2009, 09:24 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

If you can afford, take Nikon 18-200VR II or Tamron 18-270VC these lenses will be able to take a bit of everything b'cos of their wide focal range.
QUOTE(mmww104 @ Dec 17 2009, 04:57 AM)
hi everyone here ! i m thinking to get a nikon dslr but don t know wich 1 ... d 90 or d 5000 ? wich lens is good to take some nice micro , protrait n scenery ? pls help ...thx !
project-o
post Dec 17 2009, 05:20 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Anyway to point 2), 18-135,18-105, 18-200 all have pretty bad barrel distortion. The 18-70 has much less distortion compared to the three lenses mentioned.
QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Dec 17 2009, 11:12 AM)
I suggest the 18-105

1) its with VR
2) 18-135mm has too much distortion at the wide
project-o
post Dec 18 2009, 12:02 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Tamron 18-250 no VC but Sigma 18-250 OS HSM has.
QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Dec 17 2009, 09:39 PM)
tamron 18-250 dun have VC?
project-o
post Dec 18 2009, 10:29 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

There is a difference. You can feel it in the build quality and in the colours of the shot. You can check out a brand called Tian-Ya. Quality is not bad and not as expensive as Hoya.
QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Dec 18 2009, 02:09 AM)
Guys, planning to buy a CPL filter. Probably the cheapest one. Can we notice the difference between the cheap ones and the expensive ones? hmm.gif

Added on December 18, 2009, 10:34 amFor the price. Very decent lens.
QUOTE(mmww104 @ Dec 18 2009, 02:39 AM)
ohhh thanks 4 the fast repply zi-tech !! so how a bout the kit lens 18-105 ? is it good to have it too ?
This post has been edited by project-o: Dec 18 2009, 10:34 AM
project-o
post Dec 18 2009, 07:21 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

I have the same lens model as you have. From what I was told, the warranty covers external cleaning only (cleaning only the outer parts of the lens). My advice is check with the service centre or the dealer which you bought it from first. If you do send it in, ask them to do a check on the VR mechanism and the SW-motor as well, these are the most likely parts to fail.

I sent mine in for repairs after having problems with the VR-mechanism. There was no charge for the VR mechanism replacement but I was charged RM80 after requesting for a CLA (Clean, Lubricate, Align) service for the internal parts.
QUOTE(lonewolfchua @ Dec 18 2009, 10:50 AM)
Hey guys, anyone service their lens before? My 18-200VR (first gen) had some dusts inside lens element (might be due to its pumping design), and wondering if warranty covers cleaning it? I emailed Nikon PJ but they nvr replied..

Also anyone ever make a dust reference shot of their D40? I tried once but my Capture NX2 said too much dust to make reference of... How do you make a dust reference shot?
project-o
post Dec 19 2009, 08:20 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Going to get a +10 close up filter. Price less than RM 100. Will let you all know how well it works.
QUOTE(mmww104 @ Dec 19 2009, 01:29 AM)
thanks noobie 1 and project-o ... i think i ll get the d 90with 50mm f1.8 by the way wich lens take nice micro picture ?

Added on December 19, 2009, 8:21 amDepending on the body also, better to test it first. It is a heavy lens and will feel imbalanced on smaller bodies.
QUOTE(zegapain @ Dec 19 2009, 01:37 AM)
im planing to get Tamron AF18-270mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC (Vibration Compensation) LD Aspherical (IF) Macro .. izzit good on tis lens????
This post has been edited by project-o: Dec 19 2009, 08:21 AM
project-o
post Dec 19 2009, 11:24 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

If it doesn't appear in the pics, very likely it is just viewfinder dust. Not sure whether this is covered by the warranty or not. But if it doesn't affect the image, it would be better to just leave it alone.
QUOTE(selinix @ Dec 19 2009, 05:09 PM)
Guys, recently there is a black spot inside my camera. I can spot it on the top left corner while taking picture. I highly suspect is fungus. It don't affect the picture quality though.

I am using D5000 and would like to know can I send to the service center for warranty for fungus?
project-o
post Dec 20 2009, 12:44 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Practically all the copies of this lens come with motor. The model code for the built in motor model is A14NII whereas the older one which has been phased out since last year is A14N. Also look for the "built in motor" wording on the side of the box.
QUOTE(Cwz90 @ Dec 20 2009, 12:11 AM)
Is this Tamron AF18-200mm F/3.5-6.3 XR Di-II LD Aspherical (IF) Macro lens built in motor???
project-o
post Dec 20 2009, 06:39 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Yes it will work with D3000. If your lens is kit lens, this lens will increase the range for your D3000.
QUOTE(Cwz90 @ Dec 20 2009, 02:11 PM)
thanks... but is this suit for Nikon D3000???
project-o
post Dec 21 2009, 07:53 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

How much did the 18-55VR cost you ? Did you buy new or used ?
QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ Dec 21 2009, 05:31 PM)

Added on December 21, 2009, 5:35 pm

18-135 is terrible to me, i sell it and get the 18-55 VR instead cause it way to cheap to resist. I only need it for landscape shots anyway.

Added on December 21, 2009, 7:56 pmQuite a fair comparison. Anyway to me, both are about the same, except for the better build quality and fast AF speed of 18-70 vs VR of the 18-105. Having had the 18-135 for more than a year, I still don't think it is THAT bad a lens but I let it go to buy the 18-200VR which is much better.
QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Dec 21 2009, 07:34 PM)
Found a comparison link between 18-70mm & 18-105mm. Click Here  biggrin.gif
This post has been edited by project-o: Dec 21 2009, 07:56 PM
project-o
post Dec 21 2009, 11:53 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Wide end distortion will be there in most wide angle lenses. Optics are the same in both versions so the distortion should be the same also. Apart from the zoom lock switch and some minor changes, VRII and the older version are the same. It's a trade-off between more distortion vs a longer focal range so the choice will depend on the individual.
QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Dec 21 2009, 10:52 PM)
But the 18-200VR has a lot of distortion right? VRII still have the problem?
project-o
post Dec 22 2009, 09:49 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

From my experience, it is between 18-24 that the distortion looks bad. Anyway don't worry too much about the distortion. This is a lens that once you understand its shortcomings, the more you shoot with it the more you will like it.
QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Dec 22 2009, 03:30 AM)
Oic. I've seen a review that says 18-200mm distortion only can be seen at 18mm. U won't notice is at other focal length.

But nevertheless, 18-200mm is still my dream lens. Dream combo for now: D90 + 18-200mm + 35mm f/1.8 + SB900  brows.gif
project-o
post Dec 22 2009, 09:58 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Yes... 35, 50 and 90 (Tamron SP90f2.8) very nice combination + a 2X teleconverter.
QUOTE(mybiebie @ Dec 22 2009, 12:27 PM)
afs 35mm f1.8 going to be my next lens..to complement my 50mm f1.8.
project-o
post Dec 25 2009, 10:29 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Dec 25 2009, 08:45 PM)
big man toy. brows.gif
Can be a toy or a tool depending on how you use it.
project-o
post Dec 26 2009, 12:15 AM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Or a sign of a boom in the DSLR market until the trend moves on to something else.
QUOTE(mybiebie @ Dec 26 2009, 12:08 AM)
a sign of better economy hopefully.
project-o
post Dec 29 2009, 09:41 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Can try using circular polariser filter to make the grass greener.
QUOTE(syafix @ Dec 29 2009, 12:02 PM)

CnC pls.
still learning.
project-o
post Dec 30 2009, 10:16 PM

PROJECT-O
1,182 posts

Live view is useful to check your composition but for shooting, not that practical as the AF technology for live view isn't that good yet.
QUOTE(noobie1 @ Dec 30 2009, 09:03 PM)

Added on December 30, 2009, 9:12 pm
hmm...sry to say but i dint use any pns...live view..hmm...though i said it earlier..i would prefer viewfinder as the live view teachnology is not so good yet..=)

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top

0.0567sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:04 AM